Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Donnington Grove and Country Club 3 stars

Grove Road, Newbury, RG14 2LA, United Kingdom

#6 of 12 hotels in Newbury

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 520 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The smell, the cleanliness and the mattress.

    The hotel is old and is not well cleaned. Rugs had marks of water. The window went half way. The mattress springs were loose. I had to sleep on the half of the bed, as there were spuds in the middle. The bathroom was not completely white (black stains of mould in bath tub).

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Manor House
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything.

    The room was very nice with beautiful views. Food and drink were reasonably priced. The full English breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The WiFi did not work in the room. I was in room 101

    An excellent place to stay, convenient for business meetings or stay over for a meeting in Newbury. Quiet and comfortable. Would recommend as have used this location on several occasions.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The basin and loo and the glass in the shower were clean but the shower was far from clean, there was a massive build up of soap scrum on the walls and on the floor and the grouting in the corner of the shower was far from clean, the whole shower looked like it needed a jolly good scrub We had booked a twin room but on arrival it was a double which seemed to be a problem at reception

    The bedroom roomy and very comfortable, the bathroom had plenty of room but little room for wash bags etc. the storage space for these articles not adequate

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Update bedrooms, able to turn off bathroom light and heating. A bar, room service...anything after 10pm

    Lovely grounds, good sized but basic room which was stifling. No bar/food/drink available after 10pm. Doesn’t feel welcoming and not wishing to play golf or fish, as a hotel it doesn’t work for us

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing .

    The grounds were lovely. Our room overlooked the lake which was very pretty. Loved the room bed was so comfy we had a very good nights sleep. Would definitely book this hotel again, very relaxing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is perfect, the scenery was the most beautiful and peaceful place to be on the day I stayed, the sun was shining and the people were happy, I enjoyed my stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The post code given took us to a no through road no where near the place. When we rang them they gave us the correct post code. They should just advertise / send customers the correct one !!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Summer House
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We like everything g. Would like to be sent special deals for our loyaltythough like dinner bed and breakfast deals.

    We have stayed here several times we love it 😁particularly the Summer house which we always request.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Manor House
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very unwelcoming receptionist on arrival. Didn’t acknowledge us and passive aggressively scolded us by loudly declaring to the other guests ‘it’s only me on reception and people (us) will just have to be patient’. At this point she hadn’t even said hello to us and we hadn’t said a word, never mind been impatient. There was no hot water to have a shower! There was no ice at the bar. Invasion of privacy - housekeeping entered our room twice (long before the check-out time) despite us shouting we were still in there when they knocked.

    Location, exterior, setting. Very friendly receptionist on checkout - stark contrast to the one on arrival.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Summer House
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location was very nice and scenic, evening meal was outstanding and the breakfast was very good as well. stayed in one of the summer house rooms and it was very nice. large bathroom with excellent walk in shower.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower area in the en-suite bathroom had discoloured tiles on the floor and the chrome shelf fitting was disgusting and needs replacing.

    Good breakfast and dinner.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very disappointing to be given a little chalet type room away from the main hotel. It was a birthday treat for my mum who is in her eighties. The view was of another building instead of the lake or the golf course. Never had to drive to breakfast before, breakfast was also disappointing as they had no croissants for my mum.

    The staff were friendly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room - Manor House
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds could be of better quality. We stayed in a family room with three single beds. The beds were a bit too narrow for me (6ft), and were a bit too springy for comfort

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room - Manor House
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For the price, I would have expected a better selection of breakfast items, but it might just be a matter of personal taste.

    The building and gardens are really beautiful, it feels like staying in a castle, wish I had more time to explore the grounds. The beds were comfortable and the staff was very polite, had a great stay here.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast very good except the full-English which was precooked and lukewarm, fried egg was hard, bacon cold, beans lukewarm, mushrooms and tomato lovely but not very warm. Coffee was full of grounds.

    Main light okay, bedside lights too dim, tv great, wi-Fi excellent, kettle coffee tea milk perfect, electrical equipment excellent, bed comfy, pillows very good, bathroom fantastic with lots of hot water, evening meal in the restaurant was very tasty.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room - Manor House
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Difficult to open windows when too warm and tricky as sash windows low to ground with small children a worry

    warm rooms and very helpful staff, peaceful location good tea and coffee facilities in room. lovely experience could not fault staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely staff, great room and very clean and comfortable. We were the last people to check in and the receptionist was waiting for us. Great room in lovely Conversions of summer houses . Really nicely decoratec to a high standard with great bathrooms . Staff stayed in the bar serving us and we really chatty and welcoming. A really good find, good value for money with a personal service, great staff and a great location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought the room was poor and over priced. The shower did not work ( we had to leave quickly next morning and could not report it) It was in need of decoration and needed mixer taps as water was very hot or cold. We have stayed in many local hotels and paid much less for a better room.

    The venue and party we attended were excellent, a lovely marquee and dance area. Plenty of food and a good group and music to dance to.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not so great for business use as the wifi is terrible

    Great staff, shabby old fashioned hotel but clean. perfect for a golfer who has drunk a bit too much at the 19th hole

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room - Manor House
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was too hot and breakfast room also very hot

    Great buffet (evening function), staff very attentive, interesting building and site + excellent breakfast

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A make up mirror in the bathroom, also the automatic lights and fan in the bathroom was a bit annoying.

    I think we had a "scaled down" breakfast as it only cost £10 and there were no croissants etc. Also we were not in the main building although everyone else in our party(a 50th wedding celebration) was. But everything was fine. The drinks were not too pricey either.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only minor thing the water was too hot for comfort.

    All very comfortable clean and warm, food was excellent we had the breakfast and there was such a huge choice. Staff were very friendly and efficient. We were there for friends 50th anniversary a lovely event.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-Fi had horrible signal. Room wasn't that clean. The hotel is a bit far from Newbury and any source of fun/entertainment or shopping.

    Accommodation was very good. Same goes for the in-room amenities and room service (although the menu in my room didn't have all the food options and I found an extra charge for each of my orders on the final invoice; extra charge that wasn't mentioned anywhere).

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Summer House
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room only had underfloor heating which hadn't been turned on prior to my arrival, the room was cold and obviously took an age to warm (by the following morning it was comfortable), the hotel had no fan heaters to offer, i was offered a move to the house but to be honest the room was so nice i didn't want to move, not the best plan when the hotel clearly knew i was arriving and the allocated room it should have been nice and warm ready for my arrival

    The hotel is well placed in the Grounds of the Golf Course, i stayed in the Summer House (Room 5), the room was lovely, spacious and well layed out

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Summer House
    • Stayed 1 night

    the shower in our bathroom flooded when it was on, the drainage system needs sorting out!!

    We love this hotel, the views over the lake, the gorgeous summer room we stayed in is just fabulous, I love the private outdoor area, it's perfect for drinks on the patio before dinner

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Décor in the main hotel is tired, bathroom needs updating, no ice available in the bar, limited choice of gins and tonics, no nibbles.

    It is a great location, the staff are generally friendly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Manor House
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I paid full rate for my first night to a hotel advertised having a restaurant, but that was closed and I was offered the option of ...take away. 1 available power plug in the room to charge mobiles, tablet, laptop No thermostat in the room Diarrhea after breakfast the first morning (remember I didn't have dinner) Presentation of uneatable dinner worse than canned dog food.

    There was nothing to like

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As always there is nothing to dislike about the place.

    Have stayed here on a number of occasions and have never been disappointed, as always you cannot fault the hotel. Would recommend to anyone without hesitation.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to dislike about the place

    The place has a very comfortable atmosphere about it, breakfast and dinner menus offer value for money. Staff are very attentive.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything... A total delight from discovering it was the best deal to the walk up the drive. The upgrade to a lodge room with a filtered water rainforest shower was incredibly healing after a long illness & the rooms were immaculate. The staff were a pleasure & exceptionally courteous. I am very much looking forward to being able to stay longer & especially enjoy the whole place & the very tempting room service next time I'm available & in the area. Thanks for being so fantabuous folks! A dream stay indeed!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Donnington Grove and Country Club is delightful with an interesting main building, glorious lake and grounds and several separate buildings of accommodation. Our room was very comfortable with a lovely outlook. We ate at the restaurant in the evening and the service was attentive, the food delicious and the setting was lovely. I would recommend highly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Manor House
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing not to like about the place.

    Room was good size, comfortable bed, friendly staff and good food in the restaurant. The added bonus was the place itself, as although the paintwork is a bit tired the place is full of character.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff very helpful especially with suitcases. Very efficient check in and check out, my sister, niece and cousin all enjoyed their stay and the lovely surroundings

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room - Manor House
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff at reception seemed very unhappy both at check in and check out. I didn't feel especially welcome, also one of the doors near reception had a rough edge to it. And upon shutting it ripped my shoe open. I was pretty upset as I'd only had them for a month.

    The surrounding scenery. Very picturesque with a drive to the property that makes you feel as if you are staying in a castle. The lake was stunning, the golf course was beautiful. The size of the bathroom was very spacious the overall space in the room was more than adequate.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was rude. The bathroom was more like a wetroom, after shower the whole floor was wet, and had to use the towel to dry the floor. Had to stay in a separate building to what was advised on the site.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property needs freshening up. We were in Lakeview, number 13, which is misleading because it was not a Lakeview room. Cleaning services left a bit to be desired. Used glasses were not replaced, tray on which ice bucket sits was not dried off (We had ordered ice and there was condensation water on it from night before). In all, a sloppy job. Bottom line, it just misses being a great place to stay.

    Beautiful property and surroundings. Bathroom had under floor heating which was lovely but the room is too small for a wet room so there is need for more towels, mats etc., to dry floor. Reception staff very welcoming and friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Was not impressed with this hotel, we had 2 rooms booked, the heating was on full blast all night, the windows were nails shut, this is a fire hazard as they were only on the ground floor. The heat in the room was so unbearable 1 of the guest actually had to get up at 2am and leave the property. The beds were tiny, décor mega dated.

    nothing

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room - Manor House
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very grubby bathroom. Didn't want to use bath or shower! Needed a thorough clean! Room didn't smell very nice either.

    Location great. Receptionist was very pleasant.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No interduction to the hotel I.e. Hotel restaurant & bar - in the end we ate elsewhere - we have stayed in many hotels but have never felt so alone !! They said we were upgraded but I think that was because there was something bring held in the main hotel the second night. When we took the key back to the reception there was no how did you enjoy ? Just thanks goodbye - not impressed & more upset because the was 2 nights away for our Ruby wedding anniversary celebration - wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone - beautiful setting but again no advise where we could walk because we were surrounded by a golf coarse ( we knew this when we booked) but in other places like this we could walk in certain areas but this one had a green right outside the room!! This is a hotel for seminars & weddings only not for couples to chill out & enjoy the facilities as there none .

    Just the accomodation !!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately, woken at 6.00 am Sunday morning by hotel staff beginning their working day. Sounds of distant doors slamming for the next 2 hours as well as footsteps racing along corridors.

    Beds very comfortable - we had a twin room in the main building. There was a wedding party that night but despite our proximity to the hotel bar being used by wedding guests, our area was suitably sound-proofed. Made use of the golf driving range and enjoyed it.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We would never book a standard room at this establishnent as they are sub-standard and we were ready to leave again. standard room was absolutely not in line with description or photo representation on the booking.com site.

    Liked the fact that the Manager addressed really difficult issues well. Handled very professionally and moved us to a different room which was a good size and comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room - Manor House
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cooked breakfast was very disappointing. However after complaining the hotel didn't charge us. Rather dated room Hair drier lead not long enough to see in the mirror!

    This is an hotel set in a golf course but non the worse for that. If fact quiet with a good view across the course. Excellent very helpful staff. Comfortable very soft beds. Evening meal was very good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was a bit limited e.g. fresh fruit a bit tired, poached egg soggy and tasteless. Breakfast ended at 10.00 and we didn't get down until approx. 9.40 so maybe things were just finishing off

    Lovely big bed in a cosy lakeview room. Beautiful surroundings

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception attitude , room was very basic and shower room had nowhere to place any toilet bag etc , room was cold and no indication on how to put the heating on

    Location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If l were to be very picky, the wet room grouting could be cleaned more throughly.

    Very accommodating , staff very attentive. Slightly tired decor but very clean, the good points vastly outweigh any negatives. We would definitely stay again especially if it were in the main hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My room didn't have any view as it backed straight onto a hedge at the back of the hotel. But then I had specified a room on the ground floor.

    Staff couldn't do enough fo me. Super responsive and lovely.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We were in a seriously huge room with a great comfortable bed however maintenance was lacking (bathroom) and wooden windows are rotting on the outside. The place had been allowed to age ungraciously with worn out window drapes. The dining room was very noisy as it is shared with the adjoining Country Club golfers celebrating! Needs some tender, loving maintenance! A shame really.

    Brilliant location in the middle of a 18 hole golf course and a trout river running through the grounds. Beautiful old, one time gracious house where reputedly 'Beau Brummel' had lived as a boy. Within easy reach of Heathrow airport. Nice restaurants in the local town of Newbury which is a 5 minutes drive.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room - Manor House
    • Stayed 1 night

    A fantastic experience of living the hotel! The building looks like a palace, a so large garden around the building. The evening meal is great, especially bread of starts!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Could not fault anything about our stay

    Staff were incredible. The location was lovely. The room we stayed in had a fabulous view over the on site lake. Food was very good and the room was comfortable with great facilities and extras.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room - Manor House
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor was a little tired and the corners needed to have the cobwebs cleared, but otherwise it was a lovely place

    Setting was great and it was easy to find. Nice quiet, peaceful property

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Summer House
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When we retired that night it was apparent that the mattress on one side of the bed was broken. When we spoke to reception the following morning the receptionist said that she didn't think they had any spare mattresses but would report it. It became apparent that night that the mattress had not been replaced. We felt that, as most of wedding party had checked out on the Sunday morning, we could have been offered another room or a mattress could have been taken from one of the rooms to replace ours. On the Monday morning when we checked out we were asked if everything was OK. The receptionist looked at my husband and said quite abruptly "we already know about the mattress". At no point did anyone apologise or appear to be concerned about our comfort.

    We had booked a Lake View room thinking that we could spend time at the apartment, or sit outside in the evening and have a nice view. However we were directed to the Summer house. Although this appeared to be a lovely room we returned to reception to query the booking. We were told that we had been upgraded (which we thought was a bonus) but that it was the only room available. We enjoyed a very nice lunch in the bar and the staff in the bar and reception were very friendly and helpful despite being very busy as a wedding was being held at the venue.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    room setting and views slightly disappointing compared to old castle setting

    setting with wild geese and ducks, Walking distance to Donnington Castle ruins.Pleasant safe walk to family member nearby,

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really, it is comfortable but not modern.

    A comfortable and quiet location. Nice room, good restaurant, secure parking, nice parkland environment and helpful staff. I would certainly return.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The evening meal seemed to have been entirely microwaved -although this could have been entirely to do with the catering effort being put into the evening events. I sent back the bread rolls because they had been frozen and unfrozen so many times that the middles were permanently rock hard. There was no bitter lemon for a gin and bitter lemon. There was no venison although service had only opened a few minutes earlier and it was on the menu. My starter sounded marvellous but was essentially mini-scotch eggs on a bed of leaves in a very inappropriate overly-narrow container. The restaurant is essentially the club house for the attached golf course.

    A school prom was on both nights of my stay so I was upgraded to a room in a separate building. It was a very good room indeed, and I could also enter from a different route and park by it.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    One of the towel was dirty, the shower cap wasn't clean. Menu options are limited if you're a vegetarian.

    comfy bed, excellent view and free wi-fi. Big portions of food. :)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very difficult to find your way round. When i checked in I was told I had to drive to somewhere else on the grounds for my room, where there isnt a bar or eating facilities, plus room service would come out.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Manor House
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Could do with a lick of paint here and there and a little maintenance

    Lovely building in terrific surroundings. Great to go for walks around the grounds.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room - Manor House
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms were warm. We were there during a heat wave though, so maybe it is not always like that. I wish we could have opened the windows but we could only open one small window a couple inches up. It was stuffy and hot. There was only one small fan that did not work well. Then we had some drunk golfers set off the fire alarm at 3 am. I know this wasn't the property's fault but it was very unsettling and I did not sleep well the rest of the night.

    The best part of the place was the lovely location...beautiful, quiet, serene grounds. Breakfast was nice too.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant. The staff didn't know what they were doing. It was trying to be a country club with working men's club decor and the food was all warmed up.

    The food in the restaurant was not good. Breakfast was microwaved and inedible.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room - Manor House
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room had lots of dust and cobwebs, plugs not working well. Average food in bar and average breakfast. Staff at breakfast standing around chatting in full view of customers.

    Nice size room and close to Newbury town centre. Pretty building and surroundings.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a little pricey since it was a golf club resort.

    I loved the location and the peace and quiet of a country club atmosphere. The restaurant served fabulous dinners in a serene atmosphere. Great place to go for a weekend splurge with your partner. I will come with my husband so that he can enjoy playing golf while I visit nearby castles.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Summer House
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is a golfing venue, no gym or pool.

    The venue is ideal for golfers and those looking for a quite break in a pretty country setting. The staff and service was excellent, the food was very good. Nothing was any trouble.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above- all of it was poor The bath was like a bucket seat - horrendous.

    It was extremely disappointing stay. When I checked in the man was busy eating food. I didn't want to stay off the hotel as I had unpacked my car and alone women so not comfortable. He told me he would upgrade me to a room in the hotel. Well it was not an upgrade but a downgrade. The Tolkien was too difficult to flush, the noise was hurrendous evertind you used the water. It was a loud churning nose echoing for long periods of time. I could here next door so clearly all there conversations. I had to go to sleep with my headphones on. I could still here the snoring so loudly I couldn't sleep. At 2pm next doors mobile rang and I then had to listen to 30minutez of his conversation before he continued to snore. I was leaving early did work and no tea or coffee faculties to make a drink at 5am. I complained but not heard back. I would not recommend if every stay there again. I soent £100 in the room for no sleep, no service and I wished I had just stayed at home.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bacon could have been cooked to order and the beans and toast were not hot enough for me.

    Check in process was good, lovely room with great bed. Lovely location.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very greasy not to my taste. Not all items on menu for self service were displayed such as cold meats cheese and compot had they been there I would have chosen this rather than cooked

    room was lovely we were in one of the summer rooms

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rm 114 INCREDIBLY NOISY. Awful - heard the parties breaking up and guests hollering greetings in the wee hours. The bathroom had 1 door hook and 1 cup hook - not kidding - by the bath to hang anything on, including towels. No useful horizontal shelving. Light over sink didn't work, paint on shelves badly chipped. No hair dryer. Roman shades in both bath and bedroom in serious disrepair. Mattress soft as a wet sponge, reading light about 30 watts. No full length mirror or anything close. Mismatched chairs, not charmingly so. Nice tea set-up, once we found it in a drawer. At check-out, receptionist did not inquire about our stay. Would neither recommend nor return.

    I didn't expect much, had a feeling it wouldn't be swank, altho' in a historic building. Drive-in lovely, via a beautiful golf course with water feature and water fowl. After that, dismal. Asked @ reception if we needed to book in the dining room; "no, we're not busy tonight". Get to the d.r. at 7pm and are told there will be no food service until 8:30 due to a private event upstairs, and the first available table - for 2! - was at 8:45. Had a drink and a bag of crisps - all the food available at the bar - this is a country club?? We dined off-site for dinner and breakfast, after a rather snippy reply to my question upon our return from dinner as to the time breakfast service began. Staff at bar were very pleasant, though. When we asked how the food is, our waiter told us that in the last 2 months, he'd had only 4 returns - stay away from the stir fry, very salty. I wasn't impressed with those statistics.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No food available after 9 other than sandwiches - room service finishes at 9

    Traditional hospitality with a sense of established staff and understanding client needs

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room - Manor House
    • Stayed 1 night

    If you love golf you'll be in heaven. It is more a golf hotel than anything.

    Breakfast is lovely. Beds wonderfully comfortable. Charming hotel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Summer House
    • Stayed 1 night

    Didn't like the bar and restaurant being on the lower ground floor, it seemed to cater more for the golfers using the golf course. Would have been nice to have a restaurant in the main level of the main building which seemed to cater more for conferences.

    Location was excellent, lovely grounds. Accommodation in Summer house room was great

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Reception staff was very bland and not even a smile. Would have expected better for such a nice place.

    The location was great. Plenty of greenery and places to casually walk about.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a golf tournament on when we went, they were very rude people and ruined our stay, pushing in at bar while I was being served, which bar staff then served them instead of finishing off my order, didn't know if my table was booked for restaurant as another one pushed in while I was booking table. They were very roudy in the restaurant and rude to restaurant staff which was unnecessary, I was glad they arrived as we were finishing our meal. I felt staff put these guest first before us, everybody should be treated equally as we are all paying guests.

    The restaurant food was nice and liked the added extra of donnington spa water in the room and ice on request. Beautiful grounds.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room - Manor House
    • Stayed 1 night

    Awesome drive up, with large rooms, heated floors, a big bathroom, and comfy beds. This old castle is a lovely oasis away from the crowds. The nearly town of Newbury is just gorgeous with great shops and restaurants.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Manor House
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some features are a bit dated (e.g. the hairdryer and some bathroom appliances...) but we liked the overall "old world feel" of the house and the decor nonetheless.

    Had some issues with the WiFi in the room were were originally in. We were then given another room on the 3rd floor which was very nice and much larger as well. The staff were very friendly and really made sure everything was to our satisfaction afterwards. The beds were large and comfy and it was very quiet, too.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room - Manor House
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very cold in the bar and bedroom again. The variety and quality of bar meals has fallen in the last 12 months

    Location, golf course and the rooms were comfortable and clean

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Donnington Grove and Country Club traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: