Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Dovey Inn 2 stars

Sea View Terrace, Aberdyfi, LL35 0EF, United Kingdom

#5 of 6 hotels in Aberdyfi

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 606 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    8.8
    The staff are great, friendly and helpful. The breakfast is very good and the rooms are comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    would have loved some croissants at breakfast. I have also mentioned on other reviews that the window frames need replacing as they are dirty peeling with paint and just need new ones. The floor boards are extremely creaky and I suggest next time you have new carpet the floorboards are nailed down.

    I've stayed many times at the Dovey, the breakfasts are excellent and the croissants are delicious unfortunately there was no this time as the oven was broke

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    7.9
    Happy with stay and convenient for the local golf course.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Poor parking availability.

    Staff overworked but nevertheless excellent and personable. Air conditioning would have been an advantage in our room. Difficulty with parking should be highlighted on the advertising with information about what to expect on arrival.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.9
    Ideal place for a short break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Property would benefit from a makeover but lack of this would not stop me staying here again. Obviously due to central position on a busy road not a quiet hotel.

    Delicious veggie breakfast. Lovely sea front position. Booked a small double room which was spacious with crisp clean bedding. Super location would recommend a sea view room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    6.3
    Good for a very short overnight stop.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast. Unfortunately when we came down to breakfast all the tables had been cleared, although we were still within the time allocated for breakfast. Had to wait for a table to be set which was quite embarrassing . Food very bland.

    The location, fantastic sea view. The room was a good size with two chairs and the bed was comfortable. Nice to have a bath and a shower.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    7.5
    Very good staff- couldn't be faulted compliment this with better decor. A winner!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel needs a refurbishment. It is of poorer quality to its sister hotel the Penhelig. However The Dovey is considered an Inn the other a hotel. The Penhelig is not in a central position like The Dovey. If a refurb was done by the chain it's owned by The Dovey would command an outstanding rating.

    Location. We had a sea view that was lovely. The staff were very helpful & very good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    8.3
    Wonderful location but the stay was spoilt somewhat by avoidable problems
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Menu suffered from too much 'non-availability - it appeared that inadequate stock had been provided. My preferred beer became unavailable because the beer engine developed a fault that was not fixed during our stay. Stairs to the accommodation are steep and a challenge to those with mobility limitations.

    Excellent location, wonderful views.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    6.7
    Overall satisfaction but improvement required
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom window didn’t open so no fresh air, light on shaving mirror, didn’t work. Breakfast very average to disappointing paint flaking from wardrobe doors

    Beautiful location excellent views, comfortable bed

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.6
    A great break in fabulous weather.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was excellent. Lots of drawers and comfy chairs by the window with a lovely view over the estuary. We had great service and enjoyed both evening meals and breakfasts.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    7.5
    Staff very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Window very dusty and needed cleaningSpoilt the sea view.Bathroom too big .Old wooden furniture. Highly spiced mushrooms and barbecue flavour to tomatoes and bacon.

    Staff very friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    7.5
    Our stay was made very enjoyable and would be happy to re-visit in the future.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not anything to dislike but climbing stairs to the rooms may be problematic for some.

    The Dovey inn is most welcoming and the staff very cheerful and friendly. The breakfast is very good and plentiful. Ideal for setting off to visit the area and North Wales. The bar is excellent and locals make it friendly for a chat. The rooms are very clean and offer a lovely view over the sea and boats. Very central in the village.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    7.5
    Basic pub hotel room
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise!!! asked for quite room, was given room 2 directly above entrance. People departing at closing time after a few or more drinks .enough said not only but also seemed that i was bombarded from all directions .the guy on the microphone earlier in evening. Could go on but wont. L OVLEY staff BUT whilst on a rant.Single occupants surely should have a reduced rate. as only 1 b/fast /towel etc.

    View

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    9.6
    Great friendly centrally located place for a family weekend...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only issue was with the mandatory new green lights at fire exits, under stand the need for these but it was was right over the first bed so impossible to sleep in that bed without eye patch or cover over head as shine right in face, we had 3 persons in our party so we left that bed free.

    Great friendly centrally located place for a family weekend overlooking the sea

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    10
    Amazing location by the beach, quiet family room, bathroom...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing bad to say for a one night stay.

    Amazing location by the beach, quiet family room, bathroom clean and tidy. Coffee, tea and biscuits supplied in the room. Breakfast included.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    7.5
    Pleasant hotel in an excellent location near to everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very noisy at night time & you could hear the raised voices of people shouting & cackling until the early hours of the morning.

    Family room was spacious & had what we needed. Breakfast was of a normal standard. The location was excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    6.7
    Overpriced room, you pay for the location only.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was shabby, poorly furnished, although bed was comfy, the carpet was old & stained, window blind broken. The shower had no pressure & water luke warm. No designated parking.

    The staff were pleasant & helpful. The breakfast was very good and the room was clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    6.3
    Enjoyed the stay apart from the above comments.Parking is a bit of a problem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel looks "a bit tired" and would appreciate some TLC. Our allocated room was very "worn" and the toilet did not work. We were moved to another room which was much better in every respect.

    The location was good,breakfast was good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    9.6
    A short but perfect stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing We had a wonderful stay and we shall be back.

    Really friendly staff and a hotel in a perfect position Our room was with a sea view to die for! The bed was really comfortable too. We ate outside at the hotel in the evening, as the weather was wonderful. Our food was quickly prepared and was very good. Breakfast was outstanding and the staff went out of their way to make sure that we had what we wanted.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Excellent weekend away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One more chair and small table would have made it perfect

    Comfy bed slept well, room would benefit from extra chair [only one in room] and small coffee table,nowhere to put your drink when appreciating the magnificent view from your window,

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    Loved location, accomadation and would love to go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the sign attached to building was out side our room and banged all night as it was windy so didn't get a very good night sleep but don't let that put you off staying here

    Staff very friendly and helpful, food was good and value for money, good location for quiet get away . Views from room were fantastic. Took a bottle of wine to room and just loved sitting watching the sea

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.2
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was very cold.

    Great location, easy to find, nice view. Rooms clean and spacious. Breakfast very good and nice lady serving it. The pub is on the ground floor and you can have a delicious dinner there.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.5
    The staff were very friendly and helpful and the location is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The window in our room did not open making the room rather hot and stuffy. There was an air conditioner but this was quite noisy. Breakfast was very good quality but there could have been a bit more choice. Continental breakfast was on the menu but not available when we were there for 3 mornings.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful and the location is excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    7.5
    Great location and a stylish room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could've been cleaner. The only window doesn't open but there is ac - not sure that actually brings in fresh air. No carpark. Challenging stairs.

    Great location. Lovely view from our very comfortable room. Very stylish bathroom. Good breakfast, served swiftly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    9.2
    Absolutely loved our stay here & would come again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpets in the bedroom were a little worn & stained. Nothing to lose any sleep over though, didnt take away from our mini break at all, just an observation.

    The bed was very comfy, the breakfast was yummy & the lady who was serving was very hardworking & attentive. Great to have the option of croissants, fruit etc as well as a cooked brekkie! The location is amazing. You can't fault beautiful Aberdovey! The pub food was as you would expect. The service from all the staff was brilliant. Our bathroom looked brand new & was very clean. The chairs in the bedroom looking out over the view were a lovely little touch. Always good to have tea & coffee making facilities in the room so we were happy to find those provided!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    7.9
    Excellent location. Staff very pleasant. Rooms clean and the decor tasteful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    At breakfast, the yogurts and milk were not refrigerated or put in ice. At dinner, a member of out party who is a chef commented that the spicy soup appeared to be powdered soup with too much water in it. A member of our group in Room 11 told us that the kettle in their room was placed under the T.V. and as it boiled the steam went straight into the workings of the T.V.

    Bed linen clean and crispy. Towels fluffy and soft. The Inn offered lovely views from many windows as it's location is so good. We felt Room 7 was particularly nice. The view from the window was like a picture frame.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.2
    Lovely relaxing stay with friendly but quick serving staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only the parking situation was a bit hit and miss!

    The room was lovely with very comfy bed. The staff were brilliant, pleasant and helpful. Especially the lady serving breakfast she was nice and helpful with great service!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    5.8
    Friendly staff and great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bins hadn’t been changed. Toilet didn’t flush. No breakfast for additional guests even though they were willing to pay. No hotel parking. Staff were friendly.

    Fantastic view from the room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    10
    our lovey dovey stay at dovey inn ,peaceful,friendly,amazing helpful and friendly staff amazing view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing

    we loved everything about the dovey inn very friendly comfortable and amazing helpful friendly staff ,especially staff member lumi who looked after us for our breakfasts very bubbly and helpful ,also mark again friendly and helpful made our stay personal and we definately will be going back 😃the view from our room was amazing and the food very good !!!! staff helpful in giving tips and were to visit and get around we wanted a lovely relaxing holiday and that is what we got thankyou for our lovely stay xx

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    4.2
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was dirty, as well as the greasy marks on the window. Also the toilet cistern is continually filling, so is wasting an immense amount of water, and is always noisy. Bathroom door needs to be closed to sleep. P.S. no toilet rolls in the bathroom on arrival.

    The view was great

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    9.2
    Value for money and an outstanding location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    More attention to the small detail in places - eg bathroom.

    Friendly and helpful staff. Peaceful despite its in village location. Very clean room. Lovely view over the estuary. Excellent off-season price. Substantial breakfast with a good choice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    8.8
    Will stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Large stain on bedroom carpet.

    Very good value for money in a good location. Lovely view. One of the best breakfasts I've had in a hotel. Friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    6.7
    Disappointing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn’t like being kept awake until 12.45am by very noisy customers in the beer garden, noise that started around 5pm in the afternoon! We could not close the window in the room to shut out the noise because it was too warm and stuffy. Bar staff made no effort to apologise to us for the disturbance and did not ask their customers to ‘tone it down’ and be more considerate to residents. Not a lot to see in Aberdyfi apart from estuary/beach, very limited choice of restaurants. We were supposed to have a spectacular view of the estuary from our room but we could just about see it if we craned our necks LOL!

    Full veggie breakfast was tasty but limited choices for breakfast buffet. Staff at breakfast were very helpful and attentive. Room was clean and parking was available close by. Had an evening meal there too and that was nice and very good value.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    8.8
    Enjoyed our stay very much(helped by excellent weather) and will be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    View from the room. Chairs so you could sit and enjoy the view. Secondary double glazing kept the room quiet at night but could be opened for ventilation.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    9.6
    Everything really , excellent food , stunning location ,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have done with a shelf in bathroom Excellent , friendly , gorgeous place

    Everything really , excellent food , stunning location , friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    9.6
    Excellent - would return
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The service was very good and the staff couldn't have been more friendly - would return anytime - it was good value for money. The situation was excellent for the town and the estuary.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    5.8
    Basic!
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We arrived to be told the double room I booked had been changed to the night after by staff so had to have a twin room. The room was basic, I found someones pill (medication on the floor) not good if a child had been there and picked it up. the wind howled around the windows and kept us awake most of the night, the floor boards creeked like mad. when we finally go to sleep an alarm went off (4am) for about an hour. The shower ran cold, id pay the extra and stay somewhere else I'm afraid

    Great breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    5.8
    Room cost £120 for one night which I thought was expensive for the quality of the room.
    • Couple
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed in Room 5 which had 4 beds which was very good for 3 adults. There were 2 beds in 2 rooms separated by an open door. It was spacious. My husband and I found our beds comfortable but my daughter found hers hard and lumpy. Wardrobe space limited with just a few hangers. Plenty of drawers. Tea, coffee and biscuits. Carpet grubby and not hoovered. Room a bit shabby. Bathroom had bath and was spacious but floor stained due to previous leak which made it look grubby. Hot water ran out in the morning after a bath. There was a lot of noise from upstairs from guest walking around probably due to creaking floor boards.

    The pub was central on the seafront so the location was excellent. Car park nearby but expensive if you need to part for long periods of time. Breakfast had plenty of choice and was of good quality and served in pleasant dining area of the pub. Service friendly and helpful. Croissants, fresh fruit, yogurts, cereals, fruit juice, tea, coffee, choice cooked breakfast which was nicely cooked. Lovely waitress.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    10
    Brilliant, comfortable, relaxing stay☺
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Only thing I'd change is an up grade of curtains and soft furnishings in room.

    Lovely appointed family room and bathroom with fantastic views. Breakfast, brilliant. Lovely croissants and great breakfast and service. Would really recommend☺

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    10
    Really enjoyable stay, fantastic location and views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was all fine.

    Stayed in the Dovey before. Nicely furnished rooms and bathrooms. Lovely and clean with awesome views. Great food, bar and hospitality. Will book again. Breakfast fabulous especially the vegetarian option.☺💖

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    7.1
    Warm, comfortable room with sea view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A vegetarian breakfast was advertised, but they had run out of veggie sausages. The rest of the items were, however, excellent.

    Warm, comfortable room with sea view. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    8.3
    All the staff were very good as was the room,need someone organising the kitchen.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The restaurant could have been better organised I don't know how Friday could be steak night with no steak available we got something to eat after our third choice, I had plastic in my sorbet which they took off the bill.

    The room and staff were very good and good sea view.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    10
    Lovely two days over xmas. Everything we expected
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower pressure was hit and miss. Heater in room was clicking all the time due to being an electric/oil heater.

    Friendly staff, lovely food and view from our room was great. Very clean and welcoming.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    7.5
    Perfect location and good hospitality.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our roast dinner was lacking a little and didn't excite even with the paid for extra side. Our room was lovely but some parts of the room needed a lick of paint .

    The breakfast was really fresh and tasty and there was plenty of it. The bed in our room was really comfy and I had an excellent sleep. The location is fab and nice to be able to get to the beach so quickly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    8.3
    Lovely village and a nice hotel with really friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Evening meals were average.

    Really friendly staff, excellent cooked breakfast, sky sports, Tuesday night quiz, and we were fortunate to be upgraded to a sea facing room which had fantastic views across the bay.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    9.2
    A lovely relaxing stay in tranquil Aberdovey
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We honestly cannot think of anything that we didn't like during our stay at the Dovey Inn.

    Wonderful English breakfast but would have liked more choice of cereals.Bedroom was clean and comfortable with a lovely view over the estuary.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    9.2
    enjoyed comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    we were kept awake by the person above us walking up and down from 4 o clock every morning on the very creaking boards. the window rattled when it became windy. I have mentioned it before on feedback about the creaking floorboards

    I have stayed here many times and the staff are very friendly specially the guy behind the bar nicknamed Disco and the polish lady called Rumy who served the delicious breakfast each morning. We had a lovely view from our room which was very clean and the beds were comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    8.8
    The location right opposite the beach and the age of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress was so uncomfortable and the Windows rattled. Not a good night's sleep !

    The location right opposite the beach and the age of the building.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    9.2
    Lovely 2 day break
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have been better if there had been a member of staff there for the booking in. Poor woman had to man the bar take orders for food and then come to the other end of the bar to give us our key act

    Room with view over the estuary

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    10
    If we are ever back we will surely return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to not like

    Welcome to a demanding industry. We have every confidence you will make the desired improvements that are close to your hearts very soon. You have made an impressive start with less than a week of having your first guests. Your desire to help, ready smiles and ease of handling guests shines like a bright beacon. Well done.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    10
    Loved it staying with my daughter who had flown in from Switzerland
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really we enjoyed the two days very much when I stay again perhaps I would take a lower floor due to having a bad back and aviod the stairs

    Brilliant cosy room with a view across the bay of Aberdovy lovely food and helpful staff.mn

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    6.3
    The rooms were comfortable and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ordering dinner from the bar is a rediculous requirement and involved unnecessary queueing.

    The rooms were comfortable and clean. The breakfast was good and the service was friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    8.3
    Convenient, great view, good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Could do with a decorate

    Good Breakfast and lovely service Deco could do with a 'spruce' but good value for money only downside (noisy toilet flush)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    7.1
    Not prepared to offer breakfast at 6.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not prepared to offer breakfast at 6.30 am even during the week . Packed lunch was a sandwich, some crisps . We had to provide our own milk and juice for breakfasts as they were not allowed to leave milk and juice available overnight .

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    9.2
    enjoyed the weekend and the peace and quite for a family life
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the parking and the number of dogs in the bar area and the stairs to the rooms

    the room was great and was a lovely bathroom, staff welcome us ok , but the breakfast was no in our room which is on the web site we had to go down to the bar and have breakfast and a hour to service breakfast was not long 8.30 to 9.30 at all the we place the bath towels in the bath as they said to the maid to change them but on our return the towels where still in bath no water or biscuit where refill so we had to inform them that evening when we went down for dinner cant not fault them on the food planty hot and enjoyable

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    7.1
    Bucket in the bathroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small and the decor was dated. Pine furniture, small tv, floral curtains with tie backs. The beds were basic and a bit too hard. All this could be overlooked but the large green illuminated fire exit sign in the room meant the room was not dark enough. I’ve never stayed in a room with the sign actually in the room. They are usually outside on a landing ? Also the towel warmer in the bathroom had a leak and the staff had placed a bucket there to catch the drops. We had to empty it to stop it overflowing during the night.

    Lovely location and the room looked out over the estuary. We enjoyed our evening meal in the Dovey Inn and the breakfast was very good too. Good service at breakfast and for our evening meal but a bit slow at the bar, although the pub was extremely busy.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    10
    Excellent stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spot on, no complaints.

    Staff really friendly & helpful. Rooms clean and spacious, with comfortable beds. Breakfast was excellent. Would recommend this Hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    9.2
    On the whole a relaxing break, and some lovely walks in the neighbourhood
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a shame that other guests were not considerate, of other guests requiring a good nights sleep.

    A very friendly and helpful staff, and central location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    8.3
    Good value bed and breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is a problem as it's only free street parking between 6pm - 9am. There is a large pay and display carpark

    Breakfast was good, great location to play Aberdovey Golf course

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    8.8
    Staff, location and general ambiance covered all the bases.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rattling windows in our room. Beer mats handy. Toilet seat which had a mind of its own. (Strange but true) Shower was a trickle but hot.

    Warmth of our greeting.Friendly and good communication skills from the moment we booked in through to evening meal and breakfast. Made our short stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    5.0
    Adequate for the short time we were there
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No sea view from the room . No Television. Drawer broken. Bedside lamp did not work( lose wire?) Leg on chair wonky. No gluten free food available. Parking time restrictions( move after 45min)

    The Inn is right opposite the sea. It was clean

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    10
    Excellent value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    nothing

    Excellent value for money and perfect location. All the staff were delightful, the room was spotless, spacious and very comfortable, and the food was good. We would definitely stay there again

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    9.6
    Great place to stay with family
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The evening meal was poor, the menu has too many dishes ( as the hotel inspector would say!) The table was alo very sticky. This was such a shame as overall the stay was brilliant. We would like to come next summer but no availablity which is sad.

    The room was great we stayed with our 3 year old grandaughter and had room 3, 2 interconnecting twin rooms - perfect!The breakfast was great too, with plenty of choice. The breakfast service was friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    9.2
    Good value and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would have preferred a king size bed in the room and the shower was a bit of a dribble.

    In the same chain as the Penhelig Arms, where we had booked to eat. By staying at The Dovey Inn we saved £50.00 compared to the Penhelig Arms and the walk between the two did us good!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    8.3
    The price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The price. I paid Booking .com was 178.00 for 2 people for 2 nights this was advertised has the best price. When I arrived and checked in the room rate was advertised as 80.00 per night total of 160.00 I queried this and was told that because I had booked via Booking .com it could not be altered, Booking direct with the hotel would had saved me 18.00 pounds Disgruntled customer.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    4.6
    Beautiful area, shame about the accommodation, wish we had booked the Penhalig.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Paying £7 a day parking, never got the room with the sea view we thought we were booking, room dirty and in need of decorating, smelled of deep fat fried food in the room and corridor, the bathroom flooring was awful, grimey. The pub food was not what we expected.

    The location, morning staff were lovely.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    4.6
    Average. Wouldn't stay again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower was terrible. Couldn't wash my hair, because the shower merely dribbled. Food in the bar downstairs was awful. Food came out cold and incomplete. Zero care taken towards presentation. Breakfast on the other hand was great! Couldn't fault it!

    The bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was great!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    8.3
    A happy stay in Aberdovey
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As intimated above, bathroom looked great but not very clear how things worked, and small shelf for soap.shower gel, would have been appreciated in shower. But in general eveything fine. We managed to park along road where parking unrestricted and free but got the last space. Would not have been happy if had to pay hefty fee for car park.

    Very comfy bed, state of art bathroom (though would have helped to have some instructions as to how to run bath!). Lovely view. Plenty of space for clothes and other belongings. Staff freindly. Breakfast good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    5.0
    Staff and stay very average
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were not over helpful Did not mention at book in about booking a table Tried to eat at 8pm but full up Came back at 9pm to be told stop serving food Nowhere in town to eat after 9pm- no convenience store even open Went down to bar at 10.15 to find a full scale fight and shouting- verbal and physical violence Don't expect that from a family pub No apology for behaviour Room overpriced should be £75 Staff were not great - attentiveness was nil Basically staff were just average

    Position of hotel

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.2
    Really liked it and hope to return!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A couple of the bathroom fittings were not good, and we brought these to the staff's attention on checking out. I hope these will now have been fixed.

    Our twin room with a view had lovely comfortable beds, and chairs where we could sit and watch the world go by. Our bathroom had a full-size bath, with reasonable shower as well. The breakfast was freshly cooked and with good quality ingredients. We were not aware at any stage that our room was above a pub.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    8.3
    Lovely place for an overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning unit was noisy - it keeps clicking every couple of minutes. One rather grumpy barmaid, but staff were generally good.

    Lovely big free standing bath in our bathroom.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    Beautiful family room with connect ing door.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good,no complaints.

    Beautiful family room with connect ing door. Picturesque arched window with view of the beach and window seat. Inn below for a meal and a drink.Good cooked breakfast and public parking close by. Charming town and shops.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    7.9
    The room was lovely, the location perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The speaker for the pub music was right outside the bedroom window and was put on early in the morning.

    The room was lovely, the location perfect. Haven't been to abwrdovey since I was 9 it was for my dad's birthday we had a lovely time and were treated so nicely by staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    7.1
    Views in Aberdyfi
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing in particular although the bathroom could probably do with a makeover.

    This was basically a pub. The staff were ok, pretty much what you'd expect for pub accommodation. Breakfast was good. The view makes up for everything else though - you look straight out to the sea!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    7.1
    Good location. Lovely sandy beach 200m away. Spacious bedroom with view of the harbour.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Outer sash window needs looking at. Quite a danger hazard in my opinion.

    Lovely view of estuary and harbour. Short, level walk to a sandy beach. Lovely spacious room with large bathroom.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    9.6
    Lovely Aberdyfi
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The radiator in the bathroom! It was permanently on, so very hot and no means of opening a window. By switching it off the floor flooded. The parking was not good.

    The hotel was in excellent position , but on website it said there was parking, we managed ok but in the busy period it would be a nightmare. The room was really comfy and decorated to a modern standard. Breakfast was excellent and the staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    8.8
    Great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower did not work well, water dribbled rather than sprayed.

    Great location - right opposite the sea. Comfy bed, tea & coffee facilities in room, cute little side window with view of beach, friendly staff and relaxing atmosphere.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: