Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Downe Arms Country Inn 4 stars

Main Road, Wykeham, YO13 9QB, United Kingdom

#1 of 1 hotels in Wykeham

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 178 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.8

  • Free WiFi

    9.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    9.6
    Great value for money for a fabulous stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff are all '5 star' , friendly, hardworking, professional and helpful . Lovely building in fabulous location . Great dinner menu ( even for vegetarians ) and really inviting and well thought out breakfast options too (ditto)

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    10
    A very pleasant experience that would have been better with more attention given to the food quality
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Shower cubicle rather cramped and meant I kept knocking the shower rail and temperature control and altering the water temperature - a hazard - needs attention. Food not great - had cooked breakfasts and one evening meal.

    Bed extremely comfortable and room and bathroom clean and tidy. Room facilities good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    8.3
    i found it a relaxing place to stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast,but only because it was not cooked to my liking.In fact it was barely cooked at all.

    i found it a relaxing place to stay..The room i had was a single.But even for a single i found very small.Restaurant meal very good.Staff very attentive.Church bells wonderfull to hear.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    8.8
    Great location and home made food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Church bells ringing on the hour and quite a noisy road - disturbed sleep.

    Great food in restaurant at reasonable price - best fillet steak I've had for a long time! Freshly cooked breakfast with plenty of choice. Good location for walks and an easy 6 miles into Scarborough. Outside terrace for drinks in the sun. Staff very pleasant and welcoming.Value for money.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    10
    North Yorkshire stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have been good to have some bottled water in the room.

    The room, food, service and surrounding area are all outstanding. David in the bar and restaurant along with his staff made sure everything was catered for in a very friendly and polite manner. The whole hotel is clean, fresh and not at all tired. It's excellent. A small issue with our final bill was resolved very effectively. Thank you to all the staff for a wonderful stay. We will be back.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    9.6
    Our first choice when in the area, comfy, relaxing and great value too
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    5 star staff, friendly and helpful. Great location and building with comfy rooms . Lovely dinner menu ( in restaurant or bar) Super breakfast . Really excellent value, booked again already!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    8.3
    Good for a short break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Service a bit slow at times Room facing onto main road with heavy lorries going past despite request for quiet room Shower unusable on one day due to no hot water - had to use shower in another room. Room small compared to other rooms in hotel but ok

    Food was good Walking in area good Good base for exploring local area

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    7.5
    Brilliant weather and in an excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was nice - lovely views and location. Food was nice, Staff friendly. However, there was just one thing - its next door to a church and whilst this should not be a problem they don't turn the chimes off at night so if you are in close proximity you will hear the chimes going off EVERY hour.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    8.3
    A very good stay, comfy, nice people, great food - All good except for the bells!!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My room was within 20 years of a church bell tower which chimed on the hour every hour through the night - not good!!

    Just simply a nice place and the food was exceptional - very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    7.5
    The shower in the bathroom was almost non existent- the only...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower in the bathroom was almost non existent- the only downside of the experience. Plus nobody asked me if everything was ok when I checked out

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    10
    Idyllic break to recharge our batteries
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have appreciated bottled water in the superior bedroom

    Beautiful location and everyone is very efficient but more importantly, friendly without going over the top.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    8.8
    Quirky room with everything we needed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We could smell oil or fumes in our room until we had opened the window. Think this may have been the wind blowing fumes from the boiler house?

    Quirky room with everything we needed.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    10
    We thought that all the staff were excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We thought that all the staff were excellent Every body was help full and plesent the food was excellent as well we will book hear again 10 out of 10 Gordon &Becky

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    9.6
    A little disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My breakfast wasn't up to standard...black pudding hard as a hockey puck and egg undercooked..staff not around to send back to kitchen.

    Lovely decor and very comfortable room.bed was a delight

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were very welcoming, the food was excellent especially the breakfast 😊😊. We found the hotel to be very clean and the decor up to a good standard. Would recommend this hotel and we would look to stay again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    5.8
    Not very well this time won’t use this hotel again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very quiet when we stayed there.

    We stayed in a family room which was far to small electric sockets in wrong place to be able to use the bath room was also very small and not very clean this bathroom only had a shower cubicle and no both with children you need a bath not a shower, there was no were to put your washing items ie soap toothbrush,toothpaste etc .the food menu could also do with a rethink.we have stayed at this hotel before without children and was fine. This hotel has only one family room and I cannot Reco end it for a family be wormed.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    9.6
    I booked this hotel based on the location and experience of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. This hotel gave me exactly what I hoped for.

    I booked this hotel based on the location and experience of having dined there in the past. The receptionist was welcoming and was able accommodate my request for room location. The property is older and my room was smaller but very clean and comfortable. The overall ambiance and comfort of this hotel is exceptional.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    7.1
    We would stay here again as we had a nice time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The only thing that spoilt the stay was the bedroom could have been a lot cleaner, eg thick dust in wall lights next to the bed, rings where glasses had been on the glass tops next to the bed, by the people in the room before us, also shower cubicle round the edge was very dirty. We told reception about these when we left

    Everything was very good, food etc, resterant staff, bar staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    9.2
    good venue to see the area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    chicken supreme meal on meal deal was not as ordered . Just a plain grilled piece of chicken served with the gravy that was the same as the steak pie ( which was excellent) Just frozen peas as veg bit disappointing.

    loads of parking. Large room with good facilites and view.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    10
    Would thoroughly recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny criticism. Mattress and pillows to hard.....bùt I realise it is down to the individual sò it had no impact on and absolutely superb hotel and facilities.

    Beautifully kèpt Hotel. Lovely staff. Best Sunday dinner we have had in years !! Fabulous breakfast. X

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    5.0
    Disappointing. We didn't feel welcome but 'farmed out' because the hotel was full.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When we arrived at the hotel the receptionist could not find our booking. After 10 mins she decided we had been put in the B&B which was a cottage some distance down the road. We had taken our luggage out of the car so we had to put it all back and drive to the cottage. The facilities were average, perhaps 3 star but not the 4 star hotel room we expected and indeed booked! We had to walk back to the hotel in the morning for breakfast. We should have been informed when booking either by you or the hotel that we were in a separate cottage some distance from the hotel. Perhaps some form of recompense is in order??

    Not a lot!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    7.5
    The sunday night rate made the hotel value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a bit of a trek to the second floor, having no lift but luckily we did not have much luggage. The breakfast could have been a little better as the bacon and egg were overcooked.

    The large bed was extremely comfy and also a good sized flat screen tv.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    7.5
    Enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We have had better breakfasts, but for the price we are not complaining.

    We enjoyed our stay, the bed was comfortable the staff pleasant, nothing to complain about, we will stay again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    10
    excellent, good value, lovely location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, everything we wanted.

    Comfortable bed, extra touches like the bathrobes and the coffee machine in the superior room. Lovely décor. Breakfast very good and a good selection of well cooked evening meals. The staff very friendly and helpful. Will definitely stay again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    5.8
    Mediocre and disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to have window open as no air con and kept awake all night by traffic past window which rattled when large trucks went by. Breakfast was mediocre

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    9.6
    Overall one of the best places I have stayed in Yorkshire
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No lift access, should really have been mentioned in description.

    Excellent evening meal , special offer steak night. Room very comfortable but some traffic noise. No phone in room , that was a bonus . Very good breakfast quickly served although hotel was busy.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    10
    Holiday in North Yorkshire.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast didn't start until 8.00, 7.30 would have been more convenient especially as kids on holiday are raring to go by 7.00.

    Great location for Scarborough and surrounding countryside, plus NYMR. Very comfortable hotel well maintained, great restaurant menu catering for children as well as adults.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    10
    Loved it, want to go back, excellent value for money
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Loved this place, a stress free stay and we had 2 children under 4! The rooms were super comfy and lovely clean modern bathrooms. Nothing was a problem and the staff were the best thing about the stay, heating up bottles for the kids, any special request met without hesitation. There is also a lovely little nature walk starting from the car park, kids loved it. Thank you Downe Arms

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    9.6
    You can relax here !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There's nothing not to like - but if there's a problem the great staff sort it

    Stayed several times before mainly because of the 5 star staff , lovely rooms , great location , nice dinner and breakfast menus ( even for veggies like us)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    5.0
    over priced stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were quite uncomfortable, on booking the room I filled in the special request section! The trip was a surprise for my fiance who's birthday it was on the date of arrival. I asked if there was any chance of putting something a little special in the room for my partners birthday i.e. rose petals on the bed etc. I sent 2 emails to see if this could be done. I received an email back saying "if i was to send something that it would be dealt with" what was the point of asking if there were any special requests if you wernt prepared to follow through with said request? Also breakfast wasn't what we were expecting for £88.00 a night. The choice was none exsistant as in a few cereal choices, 1 yogurt, some fruit and fruit juices. There was 1 young girl to attend to orders until I take it the manager helped. The coffee was awful! I asked for wholemeal toast, we got 2 wholemeal and 2 white to which all were cold. We love going scarborough and come at least 4 times a year, sad to say as much as the hotel looks lovely it's over priced at £88 a night.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    9.6
    Good value for money at a quality hotel in an excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When you're looking forward to a good shower it's very disappointing to find that it lacked decent water pressure and was more of a dribble. The only other issue was due to the weather being warm, we had to leave our bedroom window open. Unfortunately, as our room was at the front of the hotel facing onto the main road, passing traffic was quite noisy throughout the night and particularly early morning when it got busier. The upside of this though was the wonderful views through the curtains as dawn broke!

    We stayed just the one night. The hotel's location was excellent for what we wanted to do in and around Scarborough. Our room (207) was clean and presentable and the bed was very comfortable indeed. The full English breakfast was 'top drawer' using quality fresh produce.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    7.9
    Scarborough cricket festival.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel were offering a deal of three nights for the price of two. We had booked a three night stay through booking.com but we were unable to benefit from the offer meaning we paid £80 more than other guests. We raised the issue with a number of staff but they would not budge. All that they offered was a free bottle of wine. The room cleaning was not the best as we found the shower screen to be smudged and the washbasin had scum around the upper edges. The complimentary bathroom products were not routinely replaced, complimentary biscuits not always replenished, and we had to ask for a towel on one occasion as it had not been replaced. Our room was supposed to be a superior room which included bathrobes, but we did not have them in our room.

    Large spacious room which was quiet giving a restful nights sleep. Breakfast was excellent with good quality sausages and food was well cooked. The restaurant served good quality a la carte food.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    8.8
    Very enjoyable stay but grumpy manager
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Manager was rather rude to us when we returned back from concert at dalby forest at 11.50 and told us off like naughty school girls for waking him up. (All ladies in our 50's). This despite us explaining to the reception that we would be returning late and she said was fine and would leave the door open for us.

    Whole place lovely and food in bar and at breakfast good

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    6.7
    What a shame!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were very hard working and endeavoured to be helpful. They really did try hard but need to be better trained. Wrong wine, not letting someone taste the wine first before pouring a glass, wrong starter, long wait for room, long wait for drinks at the bar, wrong room initially. ( A bit of a shock for the guest there.) I feel there needs to be someone very experienced heading operations and adequate training for those who need it. So until this is sorted we wont be returning

    The room was fine. Bed was comfy. The food was mostly tasty and well cooked and priced as I would expect.. The room had all the things you would expect and they worked. Although the toilet kept running until the ballcock was sorted. They were able a ble to accommodate dietary requirements at breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    10
    Lovely peaceful rest
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was ideal as we had been to Whitby on our way to Hotel then on way home we went into Scarborough. The setting is idyllic, next to a Church and open views to the Countryside. The staff were very polite and nothing was too much trouble. Vicky on reception was a Star and very polite and professional. The restaurant is lovely and the food,service was excellent.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    8.8
    Great bar/restaurant with live music.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedding had a plastic feel and had a plastic rustle (possibly bed protectors?). Bathroom uses 'Saniflo' which is very noisy when somebody goes to the toilet at night. Room walls are thin, we were woken by next door snoring!

    Great bar/restaurant with live music. Food was superb and the staff were very friendly! The location is ideally placed between Sacrborough and Flamingoland.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    5.8
    Nice hotel in pretty location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was incredibly uncomfortable, hard and possible to feel every metal spring. Had to sleep on top of the duvet cover to get any sleep at all. Buffet breakfast very mediocre compared to other hotels in similar price category.

    Nice hotel in pretty location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    9.2
    Comfortable room,lovely views from bedroom window.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower in bathroom needed a bit of tlc.Otherwise all was ok for our needs.

    Comfortable room,lovely views from bedroom window. Restaurant was very nice with good choice on menu,reasonable prices.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    10
    Excellent stay with comfy room and good food and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Very friendly Staff nothing too much trouble. Upgraded room 203 four poster bed which was very comfy. Food excellent. Plenty of onsite Parking. Would stay again if passing.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    10
    The Downe Arms - a cracking place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    loved everything about the hotel

    Grateful to be provided with a full bath rather than just a shower, as I requested. Good food and very pleasant staff.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    10
    Excellent stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in room 204 which is near the main road so was quite noisy.

    Breakfast was tasty & plentiful,we also ate at the restaurant on the evening that too was very tasty & great value.All staff were friendly and attentive.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    7.5
    The location as I was attending a dinner held there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being served Kippers without a fish knife. No warning about the church clock bells outside my window. The room was quite small for a double. There is no sitting room other than in the bar or restaurant areas.

    The location as I was attending a dinner held there.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    6.3
    Room was nice, breakfast was plentiful with a good variety.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thought it was expensive for what it was and some of the staff weren't very friendly

    Room was nice, breakfast was plentiful with a good variety. Our breakfast waitress was very good also.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    10
    Great location & very comfy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A small negative was the proximity to the road & the road noise - not really an issue as we were out during the day so it was only first up in the morning.

    The greeting/check in was warm & friendly. We stayed in 206 & the room was spacious with a large & very comfy bed. The ensuite was also spacious with a roll top bath & separate shower. The food was very good. - especially the breakfast!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    10
    Very pleasant well run establishment with professional staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent staff

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    10
    Full of character.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Full of character.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    10
    Very pleasant place to overnight. Close access to Pickering and Forge Valley.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very good food

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    10
    Very enjoyable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    Good food, comfortable rooms , very approachable staff and easy access to coastal areas .

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    2.5
    This should be a ZERO
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Terrible customer service. The front of house team don't value long-term customer relations, only immediate sales.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful place, beautiful building, friendly staff. Excellent

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    8.8
    Friendly staff, nice and clean, good food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff, nice and clean, good food

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    7.9
    No air conditioning
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    10
    The staff were very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very friendly. Room was lovely and very clean. Great wee atmosphere in the bar. Food was great.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    Room 204.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room 204. Traffic noise at night

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    9.2
    Good value for money, excellent breakfast and welcoming staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom needed a good airing

    Friendly welcoming staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    9.2
    I would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Road noise a bit noisy,but did not spoil our stay

    Beautiful room Bar area ,atmosphere and service was excellent

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    10
    Work trip
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great location, excellent food and drink and very friendly and helpful service

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    10
    Enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The church bell chiming every hour

    Friendly atmosphere

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    10
    Clean room, fantastic food and lovely staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean room, fantastic food and lovely staff. Definitely planning another trip back!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    Perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We held our wedding at the Downe Arms and it all exceeded our expectations. Every thing was perfect.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    8.8
    Lovely country inn
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a little small

    Great bar abs restaurant

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    7.5
    The church bells!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The church bells!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    10
    We came to the Downe arms for a family funeral and wake everything all was well planned
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    Room amazing. Breakfast brilliant. Staff very friendly.the whole hotel is well decorated and very clean

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    9.2
    Good all round trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good

    Great food, top breakfast

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    9.6
    Unbelievable value, the quality was something you would expect from a 5 Star
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing I didn’t like

    Fantastic value for money

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    8.8
    The food was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was excellent.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    8.8
    Fantastic trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything was fantastic, room, bathroom, bed, etc...

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    7.5
    walked into four poster in the dark = 2 black eyes :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    some cobwebs and under bed was very dusty

    good breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    8.8
    Great value for money.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy- nearby church bells chimed every hour throughout the night.

    Comfy bed. Great value for money. Lovely food.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    7.1
    Nice inn tasty food stairs a problem with luggage
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Odors in bathroom

    Breakfast food was good but not well organized

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    9.6
    Very comfortable and good food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough staff at breakfast

    Comfy bed

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    7.5
    Very good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food was very good

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    10
    Great location for visiting Scarborough and Whitby.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Everything was great.

    Lovely staff, very friendly. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    10
    Staff very friendly and food was excellent
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff very friendly and food was excellent

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    10
    Relaxing stay in the heart of north Yorkshire.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Being on the A170 extremely useful to getting to many places of interest. Excellent value for money, staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: