Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Downsview 4 stars

Willesborough Road, Ashford, TN24 9QP, United Kingdom

#2 of 20 hotels in Ashford

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 788 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    9

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hiccups with breakfast.

    Good value for money. Just a few hiccups with breakfast but sorted out eventually and they were very busy. When it came. Breakfast was tasty. The apartment is great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    liked it all

    very clean and friendly guesthouse, Good facilities, even a fairly well stocked bar. With in walking distance of a pub for bars meals. Breakfast is plentiful to set you up for the day.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was hot but we had a fan which really helped! Also other occupants in the Apartment suite above us were a little noisy which kept us awake. I woke up to a lot of stomps.

    We had a lovely welcome from the receptionist and the House was stunning

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The final night of my stay,i fancied a pint from the bar so i rang the bell twice but no one came to serve me,the water flow of the shower was very weak and was very hot. The room wasn't cleaned on the last day of my stay .

    The beds where comfy,there was plenty of milk,tea and coffee,there was an electric fan to help keep the room cool as it was hot and even a small fridge for chilling cold drinks. The breakfast was very good. The large back garden with a great view of the Kent downs.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very close to reception and therefore noisy as anybody speaking on arrival or with any requests could easily be heard. So any chance of sleeping in late is impossible.

    Nice situation. Good size room with adequate shower room en suite. Very welcoming & charming temporary staff (owners were away). Large garden at the rear of property.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The temporary staff manning Downsview in the absence of the owners away on holiday at the time we stayed couldn't have done more for us, they were lovely, helpful and polite and really made us feel welcome. The breakfasts were really lovely and I really liked the personal touches in the rooms. We booked here due to attending an event at the athletics centre 1 minute away, will most certainly be using again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really. Although we struggled to use the bar onsite.

    We had family room 9, it suited us perfectly, comfy beds & quiet. Set in beautiful grounds. It had everything we needed for a nights stay. Martin & Sue are very warm & accommodating.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The people arriving (even) later than us in room above were very noisy - could hear them clearly and curtains did not keep all the light out.

    Really friendly owners - could not be more helpful even when we arrive late. Very good price. Great location for Eurotunnel. Clean and warm.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn’t like how we were treated by a particular member of staff. He was very unfriendly and didn’t make us feel welcome at all. We felt that being a family with children we were unable to relax. He wouldn’t let us go into the breakfast area bare foot. Our son is only 3 and autistic so had a huge meltdown about the shoes which meant he was screaming at breakfast. We then explained to the man about his autism but he didn’t listen and replied by saying that he didn’t want the noise interrupting the guests. He only had a meltdown because he wouldn’t let him go bare foot. We won’t be going back again. It is not a family friendly place!

    We loved the views from our room. It was also very spacious and clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    3 of us in room first night 3 mugs for a drink second night returning late only 2 mugs despite knowing 3 in room. Bizarre.

    Great room plenty of space. Great beds. Lovely breakfast and a nice friendly team

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The full English breakfast is sooo worth it. You will be so full! Everyone is soooo very friendly and helpful. We loved the garden views, the chickens, and the location. The beds were comfy and our room was awesome.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stained bed sheet and duvet. Check out time at 10am which is too early.

    Good place to crash after shopping at Ashford Designer Outlet. Friendly staff and quick check in. Large room with plenty of amenities.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Problem with Ashford, not Downview, but the accommodation in the Town Centre is a disgrace. If I could pick up Downview and move it a mile closer to town it would be perfect.

    Comfortable and fairly laid back.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hosts really helpful and welcoming, property immaculately clean. Stayed because we were getting the ferry in Dover early the next morning. It was the perfect place to stay would definitely use again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    We stayed in the self contained apartment - perfect for a family of 5. Very well appointed and comfortable. Staff very friendly and welcoming. This was our 2nd stay here and we would stay again

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Early departure for meeting meant that I didn’t have time to enjoy good breakfast facilities, obviously not the hotel’s fault but my disappointment. Will have to stay again!

    Friendly, very helpful with late booking and leaving key out for me.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked my stay at Downsview at the last minute due to a family member being taken into hospital, the hosts were very welcoming and friendly and we're happy to be there for my late arrival. The room was very comfortable and the breakfast was very good. I would recommend Downsview for a business or pleasure stay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Actually everything was ok, but when I must say something: the bathroom was rather small. But again... this is just to say something!

    The breakfast was just perfect. We slept very well becuase the back side is realy quiet.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is about 2-3 miles out of Ashford town centre which could be inconvenient for some although public transport nearby seems pretty good and taxi fares very reasonable. It's also very good if one has a car as the road it's on bypasses Ashford. Please note that there is no restaurant in hotel but a good pub/hotel nearby serving a good menu.

    Very pleasant and quiet unpretentious guest house.Very comfortable bed, warm room with pleasant views over the Stour valley.Staff and owners very friendly,approachable and relaxed. Good atmosphere and to be highly recommended for an excellent value stay.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great, friendly hosts. The property is easy to access with good parking and nice pub/restaurants nearby. We'd certainly be happy to stay again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Arrived late and the heating was on, which would have been lovely if we hadn't needed to go straight to be ready for an early start. As it was we couldn't cool down the rooms quick enough and all had trouble sleeping.

    Very welcoming and lovely facilities, plenty of space for all of us. Would definitely come back for a longer stay if we wanted to be in this area again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can’t really think of anything... but if I was pushed and I would be being very picky... I would say that the carpet was not to my taste (a bit of a garish and old fashioned pattern) and I would have liked the use of a DVD player... but nothing really.

    Staff were friendly, room was clean and well furnished and there was good fast free unlimited WiFi. All-in-all it was a comfortable night and great value for money. If I went back I would definitely stay there again. And would certainly recommend it.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, except breakfast included possibly, even just a continental one.

    Room, excellent bath/showerroom. Warm. Nice outlook. Friendly helpful owners.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the twin beds was very uncomfortable, seemed to be a damp issue with mould patches on window frames.

    Friendly hosts, good breakfast value, guest kitchen a bonus, quiet location, good parking, mostly high standard of cleanliness.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Large room and good bathroom, good heating and lighting, good breakfast. Very convenient for business meeting in nearby hotel and only a short distance to the bus to Ashford International station. Quiet and comfortable, certainly my choice for further bookings.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    The location was excellent and although we arrived there pretty late in the evening, the welcome was so warm and personal. The room was very large, with a great sized bathroom (shower and bath option) - perfect for a family. Beds were super comfy too- the kids even slept longer than they normally do :)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    We enjoyed our stay here. The owners are very polite and they left us to wait in the villa for a 4 hours after our booking expired. If you want to feel the English atmosphere than Downsview is the answer.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were exceptional. We were running late and didn't arrive to the property until after midnight. Even though it was very late they were there help and made sure we settled into our room 10/10

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were warmly greeted by managers Yvonne & Paul who went the extra yard to ensure our stay was enjoyable and comfortable. The facilities are very good and the breakfast was first class. Given the cost of accommodation in this area Downsview offers excellent value for money.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    none

    There were 9 of us, It was so much better than we thought. Great accomodation especially with a big group, we were in the top rooms with kitchen facility !, good size of dining room. Highly Recommended to stay here.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything.

    Lovely room on ground floor with access to terrace. Continental breakfast with many selections. Nice restaurant within 5 minute walk. Another restaurant in a 3 minute drive. Very convenient after a long day of touring.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to say.

    We only stayed for one night. In that time the owners were very nice people. I had forgotten by cufflinks and they came to our help. Wonderful Andy & Penny

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not applicable

    Large comfy family room with double and two single beds. Beds very comfortable. Modern ensuite bathroom. Excellent breakfast. Staff extremely friendly. Would definately use again if staying in the area. Ideal location for Channel Tunnel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our shower head could do with replacing to give it some more power (rm2)

    Attractive from outside, with very friendly and welcoming owners on the inside. Bedroom very spacious, super king bed which was comfy, lovely extra touches that I would only expect in 4-5star hotels and plenty of storage and hangers for clothes. All very clean and plenty of plyg sockets too! Dining room was bright, well equipped and had so much choice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We phoned and asked if had a travel cot the owner said yes no problem would put one in our room. When we paid the bill we were surprised to have been charged £10 for one nights use. Felt this was a high amount as had not used 2 beds in the Appartment as there were only 6 of us.If had of known the charge would of taken our own.

    We stayed in the Appartment which was amazing all the beds were comfy. Having the kitchen facilities was great as had a toddler too. The owners are lovely and the grounds are great lots of space for the children. Breakfast was excellent value.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Owners are always really friendly and helpful. We've stayed several times on the way to France and it's a perfect location. Parking, large clean rooms and lovely breakfast. Everything you need!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The matresses are the most uncomfortable that we have ever slept in. The rooms were too hot to sleep, but that is personal. Surprised that quarter for deposit was taken from account 5 months prior to stay. Although owners were away when we stayed, we left for Eurotunnel next day for 2 weeks. Downsview left messages on Home phone in England for 2 weeks and contacted Booking.com for remainder of payment. If they had organised better, should have left bill in envelope with key for room. We believe that they were going to extract payment like previously. This made us feel like criminals who were avoiding payment. People stay at Downsview to use the Eurotunnel to travel to Europe for holidays or business and may not have internet connection or wish to use access their emails for 2 weeks.

    The location to the Eurotunnel. The cleanliness and space. The lovely bedsheets. Tea facilities.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really. Only thing was sign outside possibly needs updating and brightening up. We had issues finding it even with Sat Nav as sign was bit dull.

    Super comfy bed. Great friendly helpful staff. Wonderful Breakfast !!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cooked breakfast lovely. Staff very friendly and helpful. A little bit odd to decide what you want for breakfast on arrival but saved time the next day. :-))

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Very helpful - we had a late arrival and an early start, and it was not a problem. Clean room with very nice bathroom. Convenient for Dover - and a place that you wished that you could stay longer. Parking was easy.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room could have been a little cleaner. I do try to be as honest as I can, it's a shame I had to put that as the rest of the stay was very nice and we would go back.

    The staff are very welcoming, nothing seems to be a problem. And it has an amazing garden with great views, the garden is free to be used.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very clean and comfortable room. The owners could not have been more helpful. Great views over the Downs. We stayed one night before catching the Chunnel but we would have happily stayed longer.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For me Spiders lots of skinny house spiders for my partner and boy not a problem

    Size of car park very big ,friendly , welcoming tea and coffee supplied in room always a positive

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was extra long as indicated but too narrow for 2 people. On our first morning we placed our wet towels on the floor. Instead of being removed they were rehung wet on the towel rail. Also the bathroom was not cleaned for 2 days. We complained and service was restored to a normal level. Breakfast is an additional cost which raises the cost to that of a 4 star hotel not a B&B. The bread was brown low quality bread and cereal choice was from packets. Bathroom is tiny and shower is noisy. Towels are moderate quality. The local road was closed and instructions to arrive at Downsview were poor. This further should have reduced price. In short, the owners should understand that they need to pay more attention to housecleaning issues and price the property in line with a B&B and not a 4 star hotel

    The room was of medium size. Car park was large. The whole place was recently decorated. Although the room view was restricted, a walk in the large garden revels a splendid view of the Downs. Wifi was good. I believe that a Fridge in room is the item that makes this 4 Star. Bottle water was provided. The owners provided almond milk for my wife's porridge and it was cooked nicely.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent freshly cooked breakfast. Availability of fresh milk and a fridge to put it in for early morning tea. Comfortable bed. Nice garden to sit in with lovely view of Downs. Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Warm welcome from the owners who saw me to my room and explained all facilities available. Room was large, bed very comfortable and bathroom clean. Downsview is set well back from the road and my room overlooked the garden and fields beyond. No traffic noise could be heard. There was a small bar with a good selection of drinks. Breakfast choice was excellent and when it arrived it was very hot.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The kitchen was really grubby. Obvious black marks that easily wiped off on the cream cupboards and white kettle. Had to clean the oven before I used it. Grease all over the top of the hob. 4 bottles of water for 5 guests, 2 pkts of biscuits and 2 hot chocolates. I glass for 5 guests.

    The size of the apartment was great. The look of the apartment was great.lovely bathroom.spacious family friendly garden.good location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Upon arrival after being confirmed via email of an early check in we were told we could not check in early. However they did turn the room around very quick for us. The man on arrival was also a bit rude although he was nicer on our next encounter and the lady was lovely.

    Everything was beautiful clean and the apartment was amazing!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a little odd, you pick from a selection of sausage, bacon, egg, beans, etc however if you only pick two items you get one of each rather than filling the plate with what you'd chosen

    Good value for money, great for families with young children

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing!

    Quiet. Comfortable bed, clean room and ensuite. Tea tray was well stocked and a small fridge kept our drinks cool in the hot summer weather. Plenty of parking with a good size garden looking out over fields with children's outdoor games but we had a go at the Swingball tennis - couldn't resist a few games!! TV and bar area. Didn't try the breakfast as we left too early in the morning but the dining room looked neatly laid out ready.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to not like

    The apartment we stayed in was very clean and tidy and very comfortable. The staff are very welcoming and very helpful and polite. We would book again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not the property's fault but the rd we needed to travel on to get to the Eurostar quickly was closed. I would also advise booking taxi before your stay.

    Large back garden great for kids. Kind and helpful owner.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sumptuous beds and bedding had an excellent night sleep. Superb breakfast. The hosts were amazing great customer service skills. Would highly recommend.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pleasant outlook and surprisingly quiet and peaceful. Tim was very helpful in his suggestions on where to have dinner and we consequently took his advice and went to the "Old Mill" and we were very pleased with this choice. Would highly recommend Downsview.Friendly helpful

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All needs were catered for,my only criticism would be the check in time of 16.00. I had to kill time after a long tiring drive.

    Very comfortable bed,room was lovely,welcoming host,bathroom was of a very high standard. Would certainly book again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, perfect as always!

    Stayed here a few times before and always a great place to stay when in the area. Great garden, very comfortable rooms and the hosts are very helpful. First choice in the area.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    We didn't exactly get for breakfast what we ordered, but we didn't complain as it was no big deal. Apart from that we had a very good full english breakfast.

    Sufficient parking possibilities in front of the house and a wonderful garden and view.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, this is a gem of a hotel

    The location is excellent for road links but is quiet and secluded enough not to be troubled by road noise. The breakfast is excellent with plenty of choice for either hot or continental, staff and owners very welcoming and views across the garden down to the River Stour valley are simply beautiful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had to check in without the owner of any staff. Breakfast charged separately (some people may prefer this). Unfortunately (nothing the owner could prevent), our bedroom was under a room with children in it, who were quite noicy. We even had to ask the owner if he would ask the parents (at 10.00 pm) to keep the children quiet.

    Carpark has ample space, everything you need in the room. No food wastage as one chooses the breakfast the night before. Beautiful garden. Dinner facilities in the neighbourhoud (walking distance), owner has menu on site.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower wasn't very powerful but it was certainly adequate

    Located easily off M20, very good choice of breakfast, room was very comfortable. Staff very pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nobody there when I arrived you had to pick a phone up and press a number I did that put it down and waited thinking it was an intercom system and waited for someone to come owner sped up in his car and repeatly said I just put the phone straight down and didn't speak? How was I to know I had never stayed there before he was really quite rude I thought. But was ok after that

    Lovely and peaceful good views from the garden

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely hotel in a good position. Plenty of eateries nearby. Very comfortable, like home from home. There was a little kitchen so we could help ourselves to tea, coffee, water etc, besides there being facilities in our room.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We thought we were booking for bed AND breakfast, but realised breakfast was extra. Staff were all delightful, but they were obviously "stretched" in view of the week being a bank holiday with a lot of guests. (This is no criticism of them, more that we felt a bit sorry for them)!

    Quiet. View from window and sitting in the garden (in sunshine). Lovely free and easy way we could make drinks or food in the guest kitchen.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent breakfast- cooked to order. Room comfortable & nicely equipped. We were en route to France via Eurotunnel so location was good for us- about 15 minutes in morning rush hour. Felt parking was very safe

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walk in shower was a plus but was a very small bathroom

    Clean and tidy. On site licenced bar. Good on site parking. Helpful staff. Was a good place for an overnight transit stop.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This was a lovely place to stay , the rooms were spotless and very comfortable beds , I would not hesitate to book this hotel if I'm ever down that way again

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    It was the little things that i was impressed with, like the fact that fresh milk was available for tea and coffee in your room. There were also plenty of tea and coffee sachets in the room. The toiletries were lovely. The full English breakfast was wonderful, freshly cooked and all local produce. The staff were very helpful, chatty and courteous. I would definitely recommend it.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower room a little tired, but absolutely fine. Electric shower not great (not bad for an electric though)

    Breakfast good, room large, comfy bed, tea and coffee making, fridge, nice welcome

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Everything, staff and service were excellent, accommodation first class. Would recommend to anyone wanting a stay in Ashford. Good location, quiet and peaceful area.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!!!

    Fabulous apartment with lots of great little touches to make the stay really comfortable and a great garden with toys and games for the little ones to run about in! Martin and Sue were very friendly and helpful owners and always on hand if needed.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bar with juke box we sat next to but could not hear the music having paid to play songs. It was turned down ridiculously low and we were told they have bedroom next door and up above and night work guests staying. We were paying guests and wanted to listen to music but that did not count!!! You have to pay extra for breakfast. Duvet and sheets were very very creased up had not been ironed. We were offered and accepted a drink by way of apology landlady said.

    Pleasant enough place nice room with lovely view, fridge, tea, coffee, shower. Very nice breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved everything about Downsview. The room was massive, beds extremely comfortable, bathroom also very spacious. Everything was immaculate and the room well equipped. Also lovely garden and view as well as breakfast room. Didn't want to leave.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    there was a bright spot light in the garden shining directly into the room which made it harder to sleep.

    lovely room, very clean, very quiet hotel. The bed was very comfortable. Staff helpful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedding wasn't ironed or at least didn't look it. Bathroom could have been cleaner. It would be nicer with feather quilts and pillows,

    The owners were extremely friendly and welcoming. Amazing views. Fantastic breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Staff very helpful. Shower was nice and warm, in excellent working order. (I stay away a lot !).plenty of parking for vans cars . Nice bar area .big tv ,

    Stayed in March 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Downsview traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: