Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Doxford Hall Hotel And Spa 4 stars

Chathill, Chathill, NE67 5DN, United Kingdom

#2 of 5 hotels in Chathill

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 578 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Coach House Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    We had a one night stay in one of the three Coach Houses which are a two minute walk from the main hotel. Fabulous room really spacious, very well appointed & quite private. The bathroom was fabulous & Moulton Brown toiletries were a nice finishing touch. We had evening meal & breakfast in the main hotel and were able to take our dog in there with us, there are two separate rooms to eat near the restaurant which are dog friendly. The food was very good and our evening meal was reasonably priced, just over £60 for two courses and a bottle of house red. The Hotel is one mile from the A1 but there is nothing else around (no other pub within safe walking distance) but only a short drive from many other great places to visit. Doxford Hall is a stunning property set in extensive & beautiful gardens - we enjoyed finding our way in and out of the on-site maze. Staff were all very friendly and courteous. Would definitely recommend.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Coach House Double
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room not ready when we were directed to it. Arrived couple of hours after check in time. Only 2 ceiling windows which closed automatically when it rained. No other ventilation no air con. V warm ,& uncomfortable. No full length mirror in room. Plug sockets scant ,& not user friendly for hairdryer etc. Gas problem ,& no hot water. Not informed prior to telephoning reception to enquire why cold bath. !! Moved to another room. No full meal service due to gas. £40 refund to compensate. Very poor communication reflecting Very poor management.

    Situation ,& friendly staff. Excellent food.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Coach House Double
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like the coach house it needed lots of attention with the decor and maintenance . There was no phone signal or wi fi there . Cob webs were on the beams and there was no seat in front of the dressing table which made it difficult to fix hair styles . Staff put us in another room in the main building which was good . Staff need to be better trained in skills needed for their respected area .

    I liked the building which was lovely . The food was very good but expensive . I enjoyed the peaceful setting .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The weather ! There is very little to complain about at Doxford Hall. The hotel, the lounges, the library, and the gardens are all lovely. It is a little difficult to find, but not really a problem.

    The whole stay was perfect. The room was lovely, and quiet, as we had asked. The quality of the food was sublime. Bravo to the chef ! We will be back next year for another lovely visit.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Coach House Double
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Menu in restaurant was a little overpriced and little choice if you like plain fare.

    room was excellent, quiet and the terrace was a lovely suntrap, would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very disappointed with our stay. Poor service on several occasions. Worst of all we were slap bang in the middle of a wedding party. We didn't get any sleep on one of the nights. I can't explain just how dissatisfied we were, a very special birthday trip became something of a nightmare.

    Very nice location. Spa facilities and the general surroundings were great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Service seemed to be a little stretched at times - waiting a while for wine at the table for example.

    Room was lovely and staff were very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    An increased range of spa appointments would have improved our stay: it was fully booked on the day of our stay.

    Staff were really professional and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was very cold when we arrived and a little tired looking. The shower room, though very clean was very small. We could have done with more than one pillow each too! We felt some of the staff, especially those at breakfast, were a tad condescending and at times made us feel quite uncomfortable, both in their dealing with us and with what we overhead with other people. We felt the place was a little pretentious which let it down, after all it is only 4 star rated! We doubt we will return.

    Doxford Hall is in a lovely setting and is quite impressive on arrival and the staff were efficient. The swimming pool was very nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Coach House Double
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely no negatives

    Stayed in Aln cottage it was absolutely superb, relaxing, comfortable and quiet with a great outlook and only a couple of minutes walk from the main hotel through lovely surroundings.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Coach House Double
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have been cleaner. The beams were very dusty and the bedside table very grubby

    Beautiful location, very helpful with my gluten free requirements, gorgeous grounds, lovely comfortable bed

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable seats were just in the sunshine, would have liked to sit in the shade on comfortable seating.

    Spacious, comfortable rooms Pool area very relaxing Staff friendly and efficient

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Liked everything ... although changing area and showers in pool area a bit basic.

    Lovely comfy bed. Huge room. Moulton Brown toileries. Love escaping to Doxford to recharge my batteries. Plus beautiful countryside and beaches nearby.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Coach House Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food in restaurant is monstrously over priced. The pork was dry, the rabbit Bon Bon unseasoned and my husband’s steak had to be sent back since it was practically raw when he asked for it medium rare. Our breakfast took forever to come and when it did it was cold.

    The room was very comfortable and staff very friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Coach House Double
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could possibly put some lights up down the driveway to the three cottages

    Food was very good, just one slight negative, we had fish on one evening which had contained a couple of fish bones

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Expected more given the price. The spa bath had been disconnected and the TV was the smallest I have seen in a hotel room and badly positioned in the corner. Food options were expensive - we ate in the bar which was not the nicest of rooms. No staff in the pool area and Jacuzzi on a 7 minute on/ 7 minute off cycle. More a venue for weddings than a luxury spa.

    Beautiful grounds, comfy bed, Molten Brown toiletries, nice breakfast, pool, sauna and steam room

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Changing facilities at the spa were not very comfortable, with only 2 changing cubicles to be shared by both sexes.

    Bed very comfortable, good breakfast and excellent location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic spa hotel with great evening restaurant along with other facilities. Would recommend this to anyone wanting a weekend break or short holiday.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Coach House Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    no wifi coverage in the coach house room - pretty much an hotel necessity these days I feel

    We stayed in a coach house room , separate from the main building - superbly appointed, really nice experience overall

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bar prices, as so often, rather excessive. Supplement charges on some breakfast dishes seemed rather penny-pinching.

    Staff were great, public rooms fabulous, grounds/gardens tremendous.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very trivial matter - the coffee

    Overall very pleasant comfortable stay with very nice food - steak cooked to perfection and nicely presented - pleasant staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was an issue with the extractor in the bathroom. It came on a 7am and sounded like a jet engine. There was no way to turn it off.

    Staff were lovely. The spa was great and the building is fantastic.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were late arriving and was disappointed with the selection of draft beers available and the bar food was not the best, but although cool the pork I had was really nice.

    The approach to the departure the ground settings and the ambiance was truly wonderful, on arrival the dog had its own towel for muddy paws with a biscuit as a bonus. Breakfast was a delight.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Coach House Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    one of my friends as single and when we asked if we could have a table for 3 the waitress declined then when she asked if she could sit at the table next to us the waitress declined that, I then went and sat with her and my partner then sat on his own, we did tell the reception staff which they apologised

    the stay was perfect

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was good but service was a little slow. A lot of guests must have arrived at the same time for breakfast.

    Use of the pool and sauna. Nice and quiet, no events. lovely room. pleasant staff and ambience.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Three-Bedroom House
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    House could have been cleaner. Dead flies on all windowsills, dusty pot pourri and ornaments. Only bathroom downstairs. Breakfast service erratic. Only given one toast rack with 6 half slices between 4 people. Asked for more 3 times and waited over half an hour. Also cooked breakfast orders muddled on both mornings. Breakfast staff lacking customer service skills, avoided eye contact and never checked if we needed anything. We had to get up and go to them to ask for assistance. They were abrupt and never apologised.

    Lovely spa. Having the privacy and space of a 3 bedroom house. Reception, bar and spa staff very pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Three-Bedroom House
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very nice but took over 45minutes to arrive, by this point we weren't fussed about having anything.

    Beautiful location, lovely staff, great spa and treatments.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The fact that there was only 1 vegetarian option which I really couldn't eat. Absolutely no alternative was offered, I had to suggest that I took a starter instead. I was left feeling uncomfortable and a little embarrassed.

    Facilities were good, comfortable room, beautiful surroundings, spa facilities were quite small but well maintained and clean. Spa treatment was very good and lady friendly. Seats could have been a little more comfortable but ok. Overall happy with treatment.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did request a twin room but got a double was with my daughter so didn’t mind but if I came back with a friend wouldn’t have liked it then

    Spa was lovely ,

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A guest who was complaining about everything for no reason.

    Beautiful period property with lots of rooms to relax in. Extremely comfortable bed and spotlessly clean rooms. Friendly welcoming staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Three-Bedroom House
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stunning property in grounds that were impressive even in early spring. Head Gardner's three bedroom house is ideal for spending time with friends or family. Little walk from main building but the cottage was very cosy and comfortable

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would have liked to have seen a few more staff in the bar and restaurant area instead of having to go hunting for someone to take an order.

    We were only there for one night while attending a wedding nearby. We didn't have time to even see the spa but the hotel itself was beautifully decorated and with very nice public spaces. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom was well stocked. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Coach House Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just the walk up and back to/from the main hall for the main dining room, bar and spa, as weather was awful, but nothing could be done about that!

    The whole stay at Doxford hall was excellent. We did not have evening dinner there but had lunch and it was fab. Breakfast was also great. We stayed in the stone buildings down from the main hall and these are exquisite.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a twin room (19) but the headboards were screwed to the wall so when the beds were separated to twin beds they didn’t line up with the headboards. Also the light switches for the bedside lamps were obviously there before the headboards as I had to squeeze my hand down the back awkwardly to reach it. Switch needs to be relocated.

    Very helpful staff. Breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    The whole hotel is beautifully decorated. Our room was very spacious with an extremely comfortable bed. The staff were extremely pleasant and helpful. The swimming pool and spa facilities were very good. Location is excellent for exploring Northumberland. We would have no hesitation in booking again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service overall was very poor. Staff seemed to be extremely overstretched both at breakfast and dinner times were n the restaurant and at dinner time in the bar to the point of service completely breaking down at times.

    The building itself was wonderful. The staff were very friendly and did their best to provide reasonable service levels.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing not to like.

    A wonderful property, with all the luxury of a 4 star hotel within a historical building. Amazing large bedrooms and fantastic gardens.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we booked was the executive double with spa bath but none of the spa baths are in action due to safety issues. We would have just booked a room without a spa bath and saved the money had we known before.

    The hotel and room were very clean, staff were polite and friendly

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    service was amazing. staff extremely friendly and went the extra mile (such as preparing sandwiches for us so we can eat at the hotel as arrived at midnight). amazing room and country side, the maze is terrific.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Coach House Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect

    Excellent hotel.. rooms perfect Staff great .. lovely atmosphere and grounds .. we were there in the bad snow .. which still made it homely but I’d love to go again in the summer see the amazing grounds

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Coach House Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing I didn't like.

    We stayed in the coach house away from the main hall and the room was absolutely gorgeous. And so quiet, which was just what I needed. And the spa facilities were wonderful. Great short break.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Coach House Double
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfasts - not all pastries, no croissants, pan au chocolate, pain au raisin available at 9.15am (just over half way through service), very slow service. Standard much higher on Saturday than Sunday. Velux blind broken - light shone in on first morning. Asked for it to be fixed at 9am. Still not fixed when we returned at 4.30pm. Spa busy with all beds 'reserved'. Only two changing rooms.

    Comfortable

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too many chemicals in pool and jacuzzi. Made eyes nip! Also no assistance when clearly struggling in with luggage on arrival.

    Lovely furnishings in room and throughout hotel. Restaurant fabulous.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Coach House Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The showers at the spa are a bit more like the ones I used with school council facilities, and no real communication of what was there, I would have expected shampoo and conditioner, I feel cheeky mentioning this as we got a ridiculously deal but of such a calibre hotel and spa that's what I'd expect.

    The quality of the whole magnificent building, gardens and rooms and the lovely staff! Dan at breakfast particularly and Keira at reception, the cleaners were so jolly and smiley too!! The food was also great

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was so much noise coming from above us that we had no sleep. Probably one of the worst night sleeps I’ve ever had. There was a staff room above and all we could hear till about 2 in the morning was chairs being moved constantly; was very loud! This seems very inconsiderate to guests that they would be moving furniture around until so late. There was also a lot of noise from the corridor and doors opening and closing all night so all in all made it impossible to sleep!

    Room was lovely and big and the bathroom was really nice. Hotel itself is in really lovely grounds. We took our dogs and dog treats were provided in the room which was a nice touch.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Coach House Double
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot water on the second morning as the boiler broke down The velux blind remote control did not work Cold eggs on the breakfast both mornings Cold chips served in the bar meal

    Everything

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Coach House Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Prior to arriving we hadn’t been advised that our room was in separate building not attached to main hotel. The bed left my partner inching during the night as he had been bitten and the showers in the spa where freezing cold.

    Staff where very friendly and beautiful location!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Coach House Double
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coach House is away from hotel and poorly lit at night. Wasn’t easy to visit the spa and return to room so missed that experience. Found a lot of dust in the room. Didn’t really offer vegetarian options or vegan without specially ordering in advance.

    The spa facilities, bathroom with heated flooring, comfortable bed.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Coach House Double
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Apartment away from the main hotel was lovely but not convenient for spa facilities. To see the hotel residents wandering from their hotel rooms in dressing gowns to the spa seemed very relaxed, unfortunately that was not possible in the Annex. Walking to and from the hotel for dinner in the dark up a muddy lane or over the wet grass was not ideal we did ask the barman for a torch which he said he would supply but he never came back to us. Lucky for us we had torches on our phones. Buffet breakfast was as expected but cooked breakfast was disappointing, bacon crispy and poached egg was obviously precooked, cooled then reheated. Egg yolks were pale indicsting inferior eggs. We had to hunt for bar staff to get served and on the Monday to Wednesday the barman was not very attentive, Thursday staff were much more experienced.

    Peaceful, most staff very professional and attentive

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Coach House Double
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Doxford Hall is a beautiful building in extensive grounds well positioned as a base for exploring the local villages, castles, museums and coastal scenery. The cooking is excellent, and the staff helpful and courteous.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Coach House Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    The elevator music in the dining room has not changed since we first visited two years ago - it's dated and a bit cheesy!

    Our third visit to Doxford and again had excellent service and quality of accommodation and spa facilities.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Coach House Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    the spa -the rail to the jacuzzi was loose and held in by rusty bolts that have stained the steps into the jacuzzi itself(looks horrendous!!)-inside of jacuzzi was dirty and distastefull-sauna dirty on the floor at the sides ,looked liked it hadnt been cleaned for weeks-the spa let the whole experience down -i did not go back in the spa following morning!

    the hotel itself the room was fantastic -we got upgraded-staff very helpfull-overall very happy

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I could not fault this hotel on anything whatsoever.

    What is there not to like about this hotel? Ok, we went for an executive room, we'd not been away for ages so decided to spoil ourselves. I'm so glad we did. The location is excellent if you're keen on visiting historic buildings, there's so much to see around there you can't physically squeeze it in to one weekend. The staff are welcoming and friendly, the hotel itself is stunning. Everything is spotlessly clean, spacious and luxurious. The food was excellent too. We'll certainly go back, and maybe take advantage of the spa next time around. If you're planning a wedding and you live not too far away, it's perfect.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike but I did think they were a little short staffed. Everybody was working very hard.

    Great room especially bathroom. Food very good, particularly breakfast

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service in restaurant good but on our first night our dishes were not taken away,we were going to have dessert but walked out

    Very comfortable,pool facilities excellent,reception helpful and friendly staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the rooms could have been cleaner

    The food was outstanding both at dinner and breakfast. My room was fine but my friend commented that the carpet and chairs in her room needed cleaning / replacing

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bar was a little quiet no one was using it during our stay although it was a very nice looking and relaxing area

    a very good relaxing 2 night stay. I enjoyed the maze managed to get to the centre and out without the map. Pleasant walk round the grounds and lake. The breakfast was spot on couldn't have asked for more. Enjoyed the green figs.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The stay was excellent however, there was an issue with the sash windows in our room, on what was a particularly windy evening. They were banging in their frame despite wedges that appear to have been put in place to stop this happening. Not a huge problem fro me as I sleep like a baby but the wife did suffer some broken sleep as a result.

    A long list but highlights include the quality of the public rooms. In particular the Georgian Room,where we took our after Dinner Coffee and Petit Fours in front of the Log Fire. The Pool & Sauna facilities appeared to be well maintained and unlike other hotels I have stopped at, the complimentary Robes, Slippers & Towels were readily available. Will definitely be back.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Really enjoyed everything about our stay -the location, the welcome, our room, delightful staff, very good quality food, attention to detail in many respects. The hotel was very comfortable, peaceful, the setting delightful even in winter. A special occasion. Would not hesitate to recommend or return !

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although they had a problem with the gas supply, the chef still managed to provide an almost full menu. The staff were incredibly friendly. The building is beautiful and well appointed.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Coach House Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    It was our anniversary- which staff knew and we were then upgraded by 2 rooms which was fabulous (Arno extra cost) we had a card saying congrats From the staff too! We had an amazing big room with lovely views of the garden by all windows, comfy bed, luxurious soaps / bathroom. The spa area was quiet and very relaxing!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor noise insulation between interconnecting rooms. Every little sound can be heard from the room next door. Only one staff member in bar (working very hard) so when busy, service was quite poor. No bar snacks/nibbles!

    Lovely looking venue in very pleasant location, great for exploring the area. Attentive staff. Good Wi-Fi. Excellent parking.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really poor choice of BEER in the bar no real ale on draught or in bottle, only lager.surely you are missing a trick by not stocking some of the fabulous ales brewed by some of our local northumberland micro breweries.

    Superb breakfast

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was not always warm enough for cold January days and nights. There was no light above the dressing table mirror. We enjoyed our meals in the evening, but there could have been more vegetarian options, one was rather limiting. I didn't appreciate being woken at 4 am when a member of staff pushed an A4 size paper beneath the door informing me of that day's weather and announcing which members of staff would be working that day.

    The room was very spacious and the bathroom was inviting. Enjoyed the swimming pool. The breakfast was excellent with lots of choice to suit everyone.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Coach House Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The general manager was atrocious, rude and lacked any customer service skills. We were staying for a spa night, and we're given rooms along that corridor. There were men in rooms either side of us who were there for a hunting trip and kept shotguns within their rooms. I queried this with the general manager advising that this made us uneasy and he absolutely dismissed our anxieties as disproportionate with his exact response being that we 'wouldn't know is anyone had a gun in their pocket'... not very reassuring!! I asked he consider this and perhaps retract his response however he refused to do so. Absolutely outrageous! We were told the hotel does have a gun storage room however only 2 Guns had been booked into that and there were at least 5 men walking armed in our corridor, they confirmed they kept the guns within their bedrooms, and this is not monitored by the hotel. If it were my establishment then I would be making sure all weapons were accounted for on arrival...There was a gun dog barking all evening then we were awoken by the 'hunters' who went out at 4am! They returned at 7am and woke us again. Trails of mud were outside our bedroom door also on their return. Nothing relaxing about our stay. The rest of the staff were lovely too, and very apologetic about their incompetent general manager... I would not stay with my children due to the hotels lack of policy on persons carrying arms!! And I would not return personally due to the unprofessionalism and appalling attitude of the general manager.

    The room was lovely however we did not get a good nights sleep!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Coach House Double
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room 43 was cold (huge vaulted ceiling so underfloor heating really insufficient) but the staff responded quickly with an extra heater and quilt. Problem solved.

    We stayed in room 43 - one of the coach house rooms. It was fabulously quiet, which is what we wanted. The setting was also exceptional, with a great walk to breakfast!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Arrived early at 2pm but room still Not ready at 3.20,after having a drink and a cream tea, room still not ready so given another room, excuse was the last room user stole the pillow cases !!! Silliest thing I have ever heard. Maybe the house keeping team just can't handle a Saturday wedding and a busy Sunday ??. We were told we could use the spa facilities while we waited,,don't think so. prefer to unpack and have a shower first !. Meals too expensive.

    Marked down because of poor check in.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Asked for milk to accompany tea at breakfast and it was served in a teacup (made us chuckle) because of the exceptional surroundings of the dining room.

    Amazing Hotel and Spa, staff were superb. The decor throughout was in keeping with a hotel of this standard. Room was spacious with all of the normal facilities you would expect.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Being a stately building some of the hotel was inaccessible to me as a wheelchair user I couldn't access reception area, if travelling alone as a wheelchair user this could be problematic. Simiarily, swimming pool not accessible

    Great stately home hotel in lovely countryside. Great en suite bedrooms extra big beds, one of the best accessible wetrooms I had come across (pictures included) Great cocktail bar gin martinis to kill for and a world class restaurant

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Full kitchen in room with nothing in it glasses and ice would be a nice touch plus no mini bar again would have been nice. Had to wait until 4.15pm to get into room even though we requested early check in. Nice hotel with a lot of tacky additions that could be changed ie cocktail bar plastic tables not fitting with hotel. Not worth the price we had the king suite and have had better service/room for half the price same time of year.

    Big spacious room with kitchen and large bathroom. Beautiful grounds Staff were very nice and accommodating

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Coach House Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was fine.

    Staff were excellent. Evening meal good but expensive. Rooms excellent and the pool and spa areas very good. A beautiful tranquil setting.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Coach House Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No footway lighting at night to offsite rooms?? No electric sockets beneath room mirror!!

    Location is fantastic Facilities and food is excellent Staff are helpful, professional and friendly

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Coach House Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was told check-in was 3pm I arrived just after and was told our room wasn’t ready so they gave us complimentary drinks. An hour had passed and the cleaning service hadn’t even made their way to the area we were staying. 2 hours later we eventually got into our room at 5pm (not good at all). I appreciate that it was a busy time however having to wait 2 hours for a room was a bit of a joke.

    The staff were very friendly and the breakfast was lovely. The room was amazing and the beds were very comfortable. Very comfortable rooms and very clean rooms. I probably would stay here again but not at a busy time of year, and would arrive later than 3pm just to be safe.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely big bedroom with comfy chairs though TV was a little small and stuck in a corner. Comfortable rooms to sit and relax in although library was a little cold. Restaurant was excellent and very romantic setting.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Power sockets in v awkward spots for plugging in kettles & hairdryers. Also, rooms a bit noisy.

    Spa was lovely but unisex open changing room a bit of a surprise

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: