Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Drakes Hotel 4 stars

43-44 Marine Parade, Kemptown, Brighton & Hove, BN2 1PE, United Kingdom

#12 of 60 hotels in Brighton & Hove

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 374 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning wasn’t great but they provide a fan so that was good. Stairs bit of a hike - no lift.

    Very welcoming and cosy. Staff couldn’t do more to help.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillow was too soft, making my neck kinda painful in another morning. There is no view for those normal standard room. Room is a bit tight and the air-conditioner was no strong and cold enough.

    Staffs were super friendly, room is quiet, location is great, breakfast was very delicious

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air con in the room didn’t work so ‘slept’ with windows open. Not the most restful night. Certainly not as luxe as purported to be. Tired furniture. We didn’t complain so can’t grumble but expect more for £160 for a midweek night - bed only!

    Location on the front - great views but traffic noise horrendous.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I’d say is that it was a little noisy as the building is old so it creaks a bit

    The made my boyfriends 18th birthday exceedingly special!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good

    Nice room good view of sea noisy road. Nice touch with bath in room to have a drink in and take in view of sea and people going by on bus while soaking! Nice wet room and shower but make sure you have done your constitutionals first!! Didn’t eat in restaurant as booked with large party but the Witchez restaurant just along road a pleasant experience. Make sure you book. Didn’t have breakfast as expensive for what we would eat in mornings. Few good cafes in St James st behind depending on your taste.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked this wonderful hotel for our 5th anniversary celebration. We have booked a room with a sea view and freestanding bath, was a very romantic atmosphere. Team made an effort of arranging beautiful rose petals decoration and a lovely card in the room. Everyone was very friendly and helpful with the restaurant reservation and parking. Definitely will be back!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air con wasn't great, and the walk in shower was a weird experience in the middle of the bathroom. Not what was expected

    Friendly staff, good location, room was nice layout and decoration.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Windows didn’t open properly, that’s probably because the view from the slight opening was off a very unloved, dirty building next door. I appreciate Drakes have no control over their neighbours.

    Good location, easy parking. Helpful staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We weren't impressed by having to pay £15 for parking as the hotel room itself is already expensive enough as it is. Our Air con was very strong and kept turning itself off, but having air con is a luxury anyway. Also there aren't any lifts, so bear that in mind when booking - not ideal for wheelchair users. Breakfast isn't included and will cost £20 per person.

    Very impressed by the staff themselves, we didn't have any hot water on the morning we left, but the staff were very helpful in solving this issue. The free standing bath tub was a delight! Very accessible to Brighton town centre and most places walkable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was incredibly impressed with how upmarket the room was. It was like a very posh and modern penthouse suite and completely exceeded my expectations- Would highly recommend. Staff also very friendly and professional. Amazing stay!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was so cosy, bed super comfy and the bath was so relaxing. Made it difficult to want to leave the room at all, especially with the rain hammering at the windows! The staff were really friendly, really attentive and made the whole experience even nicer than I was expecting (and obviously you always have high expectations!)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The a/c in our ground floor room didn’t work well at all, room got very hot and stuffy and made it hard to sleep. Only solution we were offered was Adan, which wasn’t v effective. Wasn’t made clear breakfast was extra cost, if we’d known we would have gone elsewhere as selection was limited and service slow. Also weren’t told price of parking until end of stay, so unexpected costs. A bit disappointed overall

    Very clean accommodation, welcoming staff, great location, nice enough breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A pair of socks from the last resident in the room on arrival. Food very good but a little expensive.

    Room bed and the staff excellent. A good location on the front close to the Center.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They didn't explain charges very well online or on the phone. When you get there we had to pay a £50 pending fee which we were not aware of. Not a problem but needs to be better communicated.

    The location was fabulous and they have allocated parking which is great. The bed was very comfortable and the bath was amazing. Staff all very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room was billed as luxury double, it was about the size of a single and the TV didn't work and behind the TV, where the cable connected, it was filthy

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are too small for two. The shower/wc arrangement does not work, everything you leave in the bathroom is wet after having shower.

    Great location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room looked a little tired in some areas but as we booked on the day we got a good deal.

    Excellent location and friendly staff. Room service was great.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    WE had a brief overnight visit on a rainy day, and because of a last minute booking, we managed to get the last room, which we knew in advance wouldn't be the best in the house. However, bed was very comfortable, room was clean with good amenities.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sadly we could not get the water hot enough to enjoy a soak in the feature roll top bath in our room. We were shocked to notice our duvet & pillows were stained yellow where the covers gaped. No pillow protectors used.

    The staff were very courteous & attentive. Especially in the restaurant. Brilliant service. And the sea view from our room was lovely.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing!

    Parking on forecourt for 2 nights. Friendly helpful staff and Tom the bar manager was excellent. Very good dinner. Warm on a very cold few days. Right on the seafront. Comfortable room. Very good shower. No stairs with a ground floor room!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We have been to Drakes before and were blown away by the level of quality and service. Staff were attentive and friendly, food was outstanding and the room was lovely. We will definitely be back!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom in room didn’t provide much privacy, very close to bed with swing glass doors

    Room with free standing bath were amazing, breakfast, bar were lovely

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Next time would rather pay a little more and get a room with a sea view as ours had no view on the ground floor

    Staff are so friendly and our room was spacious and cosy, lovely location with everywhere we needed in walking distance also the cocktails were great. Would stay again

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smallest room we ever stayed in. Everything looked tired. Did not use shower or bath(stayed only one night!) as both were inadequate. Bed excellent.

    Very friendly staff. Beautiful position. Excellent food

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We absolutely loved this hotel and will definitely be back. The staff went above and beyond, so friendly and helpful. Loved our room with the wonderful sea view. The restaurant was stunning. We had the tasting menu with wine pairing, superb.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was in room 202. The robes and towels all had stains on them. Not enough toiletries provided The bath had hairs inside and a red stain on the edge. The toilet/shower room was a disgrace the monsoon shower never existed it was a shower head on the ceiling, if u even used the shower you was practically touching the toilet bowl as it is all squeezed into a room the size of a phone box (no exaggeration) The sink was blocked an full of dirty water when i arrived and it stayed blocked even once i was ready to check out. It says full sky package included but some channels where unavailable..?? Toilet in my room had stains in the bowl

    The location was great and the staff were polite. Complimentary rose petals free of charge (as i requested) Check out moved from 11am to 12pm (as i requested)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the furniture was a little old and tired looking could do with replacing

    The staff were very attentive, the room had amazing views and was very comfortable

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The stereo in the room is a little outdated as isn't bluetooth and docking connector is for old iphone.

    Great view. Great bath. Really well treated by staff. Great restaurant. Really happy we chose to stay here.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think perhaps breakfast should be included in the stay, the rooms are wonderful but you are paying such a high amount to stay there even for one night. Maybe that could be something you can add in for a small fee with the room rather than paying it on top of the room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift but there’s not room for one

    Really friendly staff. Very comfortable room and bed. Proper sized bath. Lovely toiletries. Excellent restaurant. Cosy bar. What’s not to like?

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee could have been better. Breakfast was ok. Burnt toast. Also. Hotel was pretty pricey for a small room. Maybe because of sea-view.

    Comfy bed. Excellent bath and shower. Best I’ve had in any hotel and great idea to have sky inhouse. Staff were very accommodating and nice

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bath in front of the window was very nice to look out onto the beach and sea however the two rooms to the side of you could see you sat in the bath if you didn’t close the shutters, we wanted them open so you can see all the views around

    Bed was really comfy and the room had everything you needed. Staff very very friendly and informative with the room beautifully designed

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sarah was incredibly helpful, the heating wasn't working in our room, so we were offered an upgrade straight away. The cocktails were fab, we were also given some great advice where to get authentic Turkish food from Kathryn. We would definitely recommend Drakes, and again would like to mention amazing customer service from Sarah and Kathryn.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing

    We Loved everything from the amazing Staff , a beautiful room with a fabulous bath! We enjoyed fantastic room service, massive compliments to the Chef for their completely delicious Pumpkin soup and incredible sandwiches! The atmosphere and elegance of this modern contemporary hotel is wonderful and nothing was too much trouble at Drakes...thank you!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room (Town View)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The ambience of the room and the bathroom facilities were excellent. No lift because of the listing meaning that although well lit the bathroom was on a separate level (down) from the bedroom. The Restaurant food was very good but the choice available for a continental breakfast was a little sparse. Better for younger people, I would say. A quiet room at the back of the hotel meant no night time disturbances. they turn down your bed at night!+

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were super friendly and helpful on arrival, lovely hotel and the room was perfect for a couple on a romantic get away. Roll top bath in the room was a lovely added touch, helped by the mood lighting. Good size room with the an extremely comfortable bed. Little bit of rock available in the room, with fantastic coffee and a morning paper slipped under the door. Full sky TV available. Will defiantly stay again

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't anything I could fault.

    I couldn't fault the service, we was shown to our room and given a run down. Nothing was too much. Would highly recommend to others and would happily stay again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Photos of room were slightly deceptive and we were disappointed by size and lay out of Yin and Yang room. It really is one room cut in half with a bath in the middle of it. Not even room for a comfy chair, shower and toilet tiny and bed is in a slightly pokey alcove. View great but don’t put pictures on website which makes room look nicer than it is.....

    Staff, location views and bar

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We're not fans of the toilet/shower, nor the bath in the room, but we'd still re-book!

    Very comfortable bed and quiet location as room wasn't sea view so we had a wonderful night's sleep

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff sitting on stairs outside our room chatting while waiting for people to check out, don’t think very professional , Room very small but adequate, got given free breakfast to compensate though

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked everything.

    We loved the free standing bath and view looking out over the sea! The hotel is in the perfect location with only a short 5 minute walk to the pier.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property itself was fine. My room was the issue. There was a bug and someone else's hair in the bathtub. My tea kettle had serious calcium build up (comimg out of the spout), which indicated that it was not cleaned often. I asked for a replacement but it too needed cleaning. Quarters are tight so you hear neighboring guests pretty easily through the adjoining room doors.

    Staff was very friendly and location was convenient to sites and train station. The bar/lounge area had an easy-going feel to it. Cocktails were nicely crafted.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel room was spot on the bath in the room was so lovely the room was very clean and the bed was so comfy . I liked the fact how you have sky and free film channels . I was very pleased with my stay and would be more than happy to stay again .

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Problems with car parking even after being told we would have a space the day before. Cellar location of room,general cleanliness of room,non working Aircon/heater dirty towels. Having to move room at 12.15pm when the room was at 80 degrees as the Aircon was not fixed after notifying the front desk. Never got asked in the morning how was our stay? On there web page it does mention the scaffolding but fails to say that the workman scruffy vans would be the ones who take up all of the parking with three vans occupying four spaces. Be careful if you call them Crapy vans you will have to answer to the manager apparently this is abusive language!!

    Location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I felt the place was pretty dated for the price. The restaurant food was ok but the chef seemed to be trying too hard.

    The view was good, but there was scaffolding out the front of the building. Close to town without being right in the middle which suited us.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    No lift, so it was quite a trek up to the top floor.

    The staff were friendly and helpful, a little beyond what I would have expected. I treated myself to a meal in the restaurant, which was excellent - one of the best meals I have ever had.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Be aware that some room windows have obscured glass, for very obvious reasons, if this isn't something you would like be sure to book a room with a view.

    The staff really make this hotel! Everybody appears genuinely warm and friendly, nothing seems too much trouble, and they are always available to offer assistance. The excellent breakfast in bed is an added bonus.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely hotel, beach right across the street. Room was excellent. Our room was walk-in level, no stairs, so on this level, view looked out to a few parking spaces...but no complaints, since view across to water was wonderful and we could close lower part of shade if needed. Everyone who worked there was exceptionally nice and helpful, and provided local info. Highly recommend!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A couple of minor issues. The breakfast was okay but not quite as good as we'd expected. We had a wonderful seaview but the windows were quite dirty so we couldn't see the view clearly.

    We stayed in one of the beautiful feature rooms which had a free standing bath and the largest and most comfortable bed we have ever slept in. The staff are friendly and couldn't do enough for us. In the evening we spent a few hours in the bar where we sampled some exceptional cocktails. We will definitely stay again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No value for money whatsoever, dirty toilet, closets shelves, and curtains pretending closet door, the room is made of loft over the 3 ed floor in old building, tiny ,no lift, you have the bar and the reception together, the parking space is rented to van rental company so you will Park 2 building further.

    Location was nice close to the centre

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No atmosphere in bar and very small, weird blue lighting in bathroom (and whole hotel) kept us awake as it shone through into the bedroom, eventually turned itself off, one member of staff not very helpful

    One member of staff very friendly, nice bath in room, comfy bed, spacious room

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    disappointed we didnt have a view. had frosted windows that opened on to a courtyard in the middle of the building. but we did get the last room so was too late for the view ones i guess. however the description and photos (of a view) didnt say that there wouldnt be one. there was a car park but wasnt the easiest to get in to, luckily i wasn't driving!

    the room was lovely and of high standard. really enjoyed the free standing bath and the bed was so comfortable. there was sky tv which was nice for the evenings and room service was lovely. i paid extra for petals and prosecco which was a lovely touch. had a very nice and comfortable stay

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not convinced about wet room - needed to be slightly bigger just so towels etc don't get soaked

    Lovely bed and great room service for breakfast in bed x lovely toiletries and bath robes

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Temperature control in the room, however it wasn't bad enough to even say anything to the staff.

    The staff are absolutely fantastic at this property, the owners should be very proud. Breakfast in bed option was lovely. Pillows/bed were great.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    So cute, quaint and perfect location

    Everything from start to finish. Having our bag carried to our room on arrival and the paper outside our room in the morning.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ground floor room lacked privacy when showering without closing window shutters. Also inevitably noisy on ground floor room.

    The bed and coverings were excellent. Soft and comfy. Nice ground floor room. Radio/docking not easy to get working. Likewise tv channels nothing special. Free papers nice touch. Dressing gowns/slippers/toiletries thoughtful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff are not help full and dont have service mind. I paid £20 to get the sea view room but i got the room on the first floor ( people are walking out side and can see us) while my friend paid less than me and get the room with nice sea view on the 3rd fl.

    The bed is very comfotable...

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    We visited 5 years ago and on returning it had maintained the same extremely high standards. Fantastic staff, superb restaurant food, very friendly atmosphere and efficient service. One of the best hotels we have ever stayed in, here or abroad

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As above

    We had a really lovely stay and got a good price as we stayed on a Sunday night however if somebody was paying the usual rate for a Saturday night for example I really don't think it was worth the money, the location and he views were amazing, have the freestanding bath in the room overlooking Brighton seafront was also amazing however he room itself was very basic and very small and not overly clean.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The so called superior luxury room on top floor was approx 10ft by 6ft with a bath that took up half the room and an en suite that measured 4ft by 3ft and tried to be a wet room. It was : using the shower soaked everything in there including toilet roll(s), bathroom toilet entries etc. An absolute joke. At £150 it was really poor value for money. Parking was going to be an extra £15 but the staff on duty waived it. We wont be back

    Location is good and staff were understanding

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing I didn't like everything was perfect!

    The bed was so comfortable and the room was very clean and love the bath being at the window looking over the sea thankyou:)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I liked everything.

    The facilities were fabulous but the restaurant food was superb. I would highly recommend eating at the hotel even if you are not staying there. Breakfast was gorgeous too.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfortable stay bed was lovely. Provided with dressing gowns and slippers as well as toiletries. Staff really friendly and go out of their way to ensure a comfortable stay. Very welcoming and helpful. They left a lovely birthday card in our room for when we arrived as it was my partners birthday which was a really lovely and thoughtful touch. We had breakfast in bed :). Beautifully presented and well worth the money. Will definitely return. Thank you Drakes.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lay out of the property with no lifts

    Nothing the drakes hotel room was very poor in its efforts to be a sea view super deluxe ,The room was at the top of what felt like climbing six flights of stairs ,with its dirty beds ,dirty cups that needed cleaning , the only way to have a cup of tea was to put the kettle on the floor with the lead not being long enough to be left on a shelf or cabinet To have to wait four hours to be checked into our room at the drake hotel , after arrivng at check in time between 11am-12pm, after receiving a courtesy call from the night before asking me what time I would be arriving.I was then told my room would be ready at 2pm, then to wait two more hours, to finally at 4pm my room is then ready , then leaving at 11am on Sunday there was also ,clicking noise at night while trying to sleep it was just terrible No wardrobes to hang me and my girlfriend's clothes that we had brought with us, to wear on our romantic night out in Brighton We had to pay £30 for breakfast which was cold, £15 parking, I was so in shock of the poor standard of room and customer service, no offer of a change of room for the clivlibg sound during our one night stay ,

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Other than the pigeons being noisey in the atrium outside the window, the room was nice.

    Bed was very comfortable and the room bath was a quirky touch.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room cleaning could have been better. There was a mysterious pistachio nut on one of the chairs in the room, presumably from the last guest. Tiring climb up stairs to top floor.

    Location, helpful staff

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    there was a bit of a mix up about our booking between the restaurant which kept on telling us we had paid for our meal in a package although we said we had not and the reservation side which said no when we came to pay our bill.we had to pay an extra £117 for the meal. Basic breakfast was just that and scrambled eggs were an extra.

    the location was excellent. we had a lovely room with sea view. the bathroom was a wet room a bit difficult to hang wet towels but we asked to have clean ones and they were brought to us immediately. staff was friendly and helpful

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was so comfy and the whole room felt cosy like I was at home still. The sky movies were not working and the lady with the short hair (cannot remember her name sorry) was very quick to respond and offered us complimentary drinks and even free parking which I was very impressed with. Cannot beat the location. Would definetly book here again if I'm in Brighton. Didn't try out the food but will next time

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The dinners did not measure up to our expectations. The chefs' presentations were unusual but did not add anything to the pleasure of eating. The vegetables tended to be undercooked and chewy. If the chefs used herbs, they were certainly not noticeable. The meals could best be described as bland. The bath should be taken out of the bedroom. In any case, it does not look as if it has ever been used. Indeed because of its dimensions, it would be quite dangerous to use. The hand basin taps are difficult to turn off when one's hands are wet. The wet room is fine provided you are prepared to move everything out of the way to stop it getting wet - it could have been better designed. The bedroom windows should be, at least, double glazed to minimise the disturbance from traffic noise. The bedroom lacked cupboard space. The designers could easily have provided this. A cupboard with a mirror could have been substituted for the standalone mirror.

    The bed was comfy. The armchairs in the bedroom were good additions

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked a city view superior room but when we saw the room it had misted glass as there was a free standing bath positioned in front of the window! We couldn't see anything at all out of the windows. Also, the bathroom was a wet room so we intended to use the shower anyway. The bath dominated a large area that could have usefully been used for a sofa. The receptionist was extremely polite, professional and dealt with our complaint very well. She apologised and tried to move us to the last remaining room in the hotel that was available that had a sea view but it had been let in the time we had taken to discuss our room. She also offered to cancel our booking but we didn't want to do that as we really liked the hotel.

    The staff are brilliant and very welcoming. The hotel has a warm relaxed atmosphere and is excellently located on the seafront. We managed to get parking right outside, although it costs £15.00 overnight.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were things like paintwork chipped and the bedside tables very worn down due to use. I think it just needs a bit of updating in its paintwork and furniture.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is a very expensive place to stay, I know it was a bank holiday weekend, but the cost didn't even include breakfast, that was an extra £15 per person, hence why we had breakfast out at a very nice local cafe instead on the first morning (total cost £21). We could have done with some more standard pillows (not the load of cushions you seem to get these days, pretty but useless).

    Had the luxury of a bath with a sea view in our bedroom, nice change. The en-suite wet-room was small (and I don't usually like wet-rooms) but this was good in that no water leaked out, and it also dried very quickly. Staff were all very friendly and helpful. Comfy bed. Great cocktails in the bar, and you can even get them delivered up to your room. Decoration to the building and rooms was done very sympathetically , and the overall effect was great.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are a little small but design is creative and everything seems to work out...

    Breakfast beyond superb. Creative cookery. Everything well thought out and pristine. Staff wonderful. Location. Couldn't be better. Everything within walking distance... Would def. return. Brighton has a myriad of things to offer. Wonderful environment....

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wardrobe space was very limited

    The staf were consistently welcoming friendly and professional The view from the bath must be one of the best in Brighton !

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Given its period credentials, not for those who don't do stairs. Parking might also be a headache

    Right on Brighton seafront with easy access to the city, this hotel offered modern hospitality with friendly, personal attention. We were upgraded on arrival to a sea view room with hilltop bath, wet room and huge bed. Lovely period details, great cocktail bar (Tom the bartender loves making cocktails to order). Great breakfast. It was a perfect 60th birthday surprise for my husband. We are Brighton residents living away for now so this was a treat and with an upgrade even greater value.

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Drakes Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: