Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Drimsynie House Hotel 3 stars

Drimsynie Estate, Lochgoilhead, PA24 8AD, United Kingdom

#4 of 4 hotels in Lochgoilhead

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 227 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7

  • Free WiFi

    4.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Television in room didnt work with remote and even manually usibg tge television was poor quality picture . bathroom shower head was covered in some slimmy goo and pubic hairs on shelf next to sink which were there on arrival no air con and could only open window slightly .

    Food was excellent

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning in room but asked for a fan as it was very warm and immediately got one to the room which made all the difference. In bathroom would have been nice to have soap rather than having to go into shower cubicle to get from dispenser.

    Hotel was excellent very clean and tidy staff very pleasant .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service was slow and poor. Ran out of staple goods eg bread for toast in morning. Breakfast dining was awful, no clean cups, glasses. No orange juice untill asked to fill it. Cereal table was a disaster, no hot water for tea. One boy trying to do everything by himself. No clean tables. All round disaster

    Surroundings were beautiful. Hotel was lovely.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service from the kitchen very bad my wife asked for a salad in place of chips what she got was a bunch of leaves. the waiter did get it sorted out I asked for no mushrooms which was .fine but they also missed out the onion rings again waiter got it sorted . chair in room was in a dangerous state property decor very tired looking decor needs done

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The building work going on they did not say anything about this when i booked it, was woken at 7.45am with diggers machinery etc I know work has to take place to expand the facilities and accommodation but had i kniwn i would not have booked.

    Bed very comfy leisure facilities excellent ha a great swim and sauna

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed in the hotel and walls paper thin. Didn't know they had entertainment and if you are in hotel dont expect sleep until it is finished! Food was also very poor. On the plus side manager refunded us which was appreciated.

    Scenery is really lovely

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    staff were not helpful, I complained on several occasions that the TV in my room didn't work but no one turned up to repair it. the bar below my window was noisey till very late. room wasn't clean. food was terrible

    Cant think of anything I liked

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No spa treatments available Rustics restaurant closed Karaoke advertised but did not happen

    Comfortable room robes toiletries etc. Good food at Rob Roy bar and nice staff. Pool and jacuzzi good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast wasn't great on our first morning. The window rattled in the window. Room 8 main castle.

    If you took kids there was a fair bit for them to do. Not for the young, we were staying for a wedding offsite so didn't spend much time at the hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room needed significant refurbishment. Breakfast was low quality. On-site restaurant is expensive and poor quality.

    Location is picturesque. Plenty of parking.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can only get free WiFi in the bar and restaurant in the hotel. It should be free in rooms also

    Room was lovely, spacious and comfortable. Perfect for a romantic getaway

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although it is 3 star. It is in need of decoration. I was told they provided gluten free items for breakfast but this was not the case. Breakfast orders came out wrong. But we would stay here again.

    Staff pleasant and helpful. Amazing location.hotel was clean despite its overall decoration.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Construction work for an extension, however work didn’t start until 9am. Decor a little tired.

    Great location, lovely views over the loch. Use of the facilities included in stay in the house. Swimming pool good size. 9 hole golf course included but unfortunately did not play due to rain.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bar prices - both alcohol and soft drinks.

    The beds were so comfy with lovely pillows and lots of hot water.. Room very clean - shabby chic. Had family staying in a lodge so spent time with them. Area not great for small children - lots of water but you know that from web-site, before booking. Bar prices too high, even for soft drinks and makes for expensive week-end, especially when children want to spend time at evening entertainment. However very enjoyable stay overall.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I feel that how the hotel is shown on your website is very misleading. The hotel is attached to & very much part of a holiday complex & not what I expected as a couples getaway. Although breakfast was included, on the first morning we very much felt like we were a burden on certain staff. It wasn't explained how the breakfast was served, we continually had to ask for certain items, which only made us feel like we were being a nuisance. We did not use the facilities as the set up of the swimming pool etc was more placed for a haven style holiday. Although the house hotel was lovely, the room could certainly do with some improvement, for eg the shower head should be replaced as it was black with mildew, amongst other things which would take too long to write.

    Beautiful location & surroundings.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Were given no info at check in about the restaurants etc. Went to the bar and had to wait 15 mins to be served, went for food and waited far too long although what was served was good. Had to ask 3 times for our bill. Breakfast was terrible ordered a cooked breakfast and had a 45 minute wait. Sausages were cold and service was poor. had booked up to go in January but now cancelled after the rubbish break we had.

    The bed was comfy and robes were a nice touch. Looked out onto a building site and got woken up at 8am on the Monday morning.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The weather! No mobile phone signal whatsoever. (This could be a good thing!!!) WiFi is available in the public areas BUT if you want WiFi in the hotel rooms then you have to buy a voucher. The food in the restaurant was mediocre. If you are hungry its OK. Just OK. The hotel is a little dated but its clean, warm and comfortable.

    Lovely BIG room, high ceilings and really comfortable BIG bed. The hotel was set up many years ago and over time it has developed into a leisure resort. A tiny bit like Buttlins, but better. Lovely setting and very popular in the children's school holidays. If you stay in the hotel then all the facilities are included in the price. If you stay nearby in a self catering accommadation you will have to pay to use the facilities on the leisure resort. You can hire a bicycle to ride around the Loch or hire a Kayak to go paddling on the Loch. We enjoyed our stay but if you are looking for peace and quiet then this is NOT a holiday for you.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived at the hotel at 1835 after a long drive and because the reception was closed we needed to go in the hotel to find a member of staff. This gentleman we saw first directed us to a table and told us to wait and he'll find someone to help us with checking in. After waiting for half an hour I complained by the gentleman at the bar and within 5 minutes the manager came to check us in. She told us that there was a 70 pound balance on our account but this was booking.com fault. With breakfast I choose continental breakfast but I wasn't impressed with that either, croissants to hard you don't have a choice you just get served. It was also our anniversary weekend away and I let the hotel know months in advance, but there was nothing to make our trip worthwhile.

    The swimming pool and sauna where good temperature. Plenty of activity to do. Dinner was good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is our favourite hotel, one which we plan on returning to whenever we can. There really is something for everyone at Drimsynie; peace and relaxation or action and activities all in beautiful surroundings. The "four poster" rooms are well worth treating yourself to if you are traveling as a couple 🙂

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A great place for your holiday no matter what you want to do. Golf, swim, hike, eat, massage, kayak, crossbow etc. you'll find it all in this wonderfully hidden location. Highly recommended!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heater in room did not work , kettle was dirty , tv turned on but only one channel, no robes on bed ,No hot water in morning for wash at sink , managers attitude was a bit abrupt making out as if even although I had told him a list of problems he was acting as if it was still worth the money , waterlogged when playing golf , breakfast & coffee amenities poor.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything is very dated and run down, from the public spaces, bar, restaurants etc to the room we stayed in within the hotel. Damp patches and stains are visible on ceilings, walls and floors. Furniture has seen better days and the bathroom was in need of an entire overhaul. The lady that checked us in at reception was very friendly, however the staff in the bars and at breakfast seemed to be over stretched with some members of staff openly arguing and berating their colleagues in front of guests. This didn't create a very good impression and seemed very humiliating for those members of staff on the receiving end. Overall we were disappointed with our stay with the accommodation, service and particularly food not matching up to the stunning surroundings. For the cost we would have expected much better.

    The location is great as the scenery is very good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This beautiful building is on a holiday park and our room looked over the area with bar/ live entertainment/disco etc which carried on till 1am, we were not warned about this. Ruined the stay. Also leisure facilities shared with the holiday park. Staff rude and unaccomodating, breakfast poor, reception not open when advertised as being open.

    Room was lovely but smelled damp

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a construction site plus a a gaming center surrounded by A frames. The estate was once great whoever did this was either desperate or had no taste. Very deceiving in the pictures which shows you none of this.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No where to have a proper meal for special occasions we have been going for 18yrs this was the worst year building work spoils the view from hotel only area to eat was beside the entertainment hall.... Kids bingo... Other lounge available ..bar was closed... Upstairs dinning room only open Fri/Sat night? Very disappointing few days.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant was noisy from kids entertainment. Bed was very hard. No lift - lots of stairs (no prior notice) Breakfast - servicevwas very slow and eggs were undercooked (whites were transparent)

    Great feel of space - high ceilings. Loved the pool. Staff were wonderful. Very fast cheap wifi

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Noise from entertainment lounge till 1am, stayed in family room with 2 year old grandson, i say noise because you cant hear music or singing only the thump thump thump of the base beat and slight vibrations. we will be back again but not in hotel with children.

    Stayed on estate at least a dozen times, this was our second time in hotel, we like Leisure facilities, quiet location and peaceful surroundings.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no relaxation room in the spa area. Sometimes there were too many children running around, especially in the diner, and so it could get very loud.

    The main part of the hotel (where also the normal hotel rooms are located) is a beautiful castle/mansion. The ambiance and decorations bring you back to the days when the castle was build, but nevertheless the rooms don't lack any modern comfort and were very clean and spacious. However, the property also offers budget/camping accommodations, so there are a lot of children running around in the common areas (which could get very loud sometimes). The property offers an Italian restaurant (which we didn't try), a pub only for adults (which unfortunately was closed), a diner, a huge game area, and free spa area (swimming pool, Jacuzzi, Finnish sauna, steam bath).

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Possibly the offer of our cases being carried to our room. It was a struggle for us in our seventies. We managed!

    All staff were very helpful and friendly. Lovely choice of fish on the breakfast menu and Gluten Free bread was available. Very straightforward checking in and out. Lovely evening meal but I would say the portions were too large for me. It is a good complaint for some people but for anyone who doesn't have a big appetite I would advise to go for something lighter. All in all,we enjoyed our stay. Thank you.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no indication when booking that there was major construction underway at this otherwise beautiful location. We booked into the hotel on the understanding that the chalet development was located nearby. In fact it surrounded us and the shared 'entertainment and catering' facilities were attached, our room overlooked all this so we had noise and construction activity invading our supposedly tranquil break.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not for couples. Breakfast was served by the play area which was noisy. Took an hour or more to have breakfast. I had to ask for the meny both mornings despite sitting for 10mins. Construction was on front of the view from room.

    Room was lovely and spacious. Reception staff lovely.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was fabulous. In a moderately quiet area. There were pastoral views which were stunning . A very comfortable and warm stay from the minute we arrived at the reception up until check out. A very suitable location for families and couples. Worth every penny. A car is a must in order to get there.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Building works

    The staff were brilliant - really couldn't fault them! The biggest problem was it was such a beautiful and remote location but currently spoiled by building works taking place on site. Our room was very dated and not worth the £120 price tag for the evening as the view was ruined by the building works and a disco was happening till the wee hours downstairs. This really should have been relayed before booking as i wouldn't have booked it if i had known of this in advance . Thankfully we were there only 1 night as wasn't the romantic get away I had hoped for from the website pictures. As it was we just got on with our stay and reception, bar and restaurant staff were all very friendly and attentive. If you were going with a family you would have a great time but it isn't a destination for couples.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Construction happening, hotel outdated but also charming. Staff was great but service was a bit slow because they seemed understaffed, especially at breakfast. Had to pay for wifi in the room but there was wifi everywhere else so it wasn't a problem-I actually liked it but I'm sure not everyone would. Beds were very hard but were comfy and had comfy pillows. Overall very happy!

    Loved having everything you needed right there-place to eat, entertainment, drink, games, pool/spa, and a shop. Staff were VERY helpful and nice and it wasn't too crowded. There are only 8 hotel rooms but guests from cabins/caravans much come over bc it's a good enough crowd at night. Plenty of places to hang out/nooks. Hotel room was clean and quiet and room service was good. Wifi throughout the building. Spa/pool very clean and the game room was huge and very fun!!! Staying at the hotel gives you access to a private snooker room also which we really enjoyed!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On booking.com form I stated I would arrive when we did, at 7ish. Reception was closed and we didn't receive info of how we could access facilities. Check in was poor.

    Bed massive and comfy, and was pleased with quietness and peace of room.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The 'hotel's' computer system could not cope with the single room we booked on Booking.com so they charged us for a double room. I use the word hotel loosely as it was a building with eight rooms in it. No lift, no reception and no lounge but it did have a building site outside. There was only one restaurant open, which was in an open plan room with the entertainment area for the holiday village, people traipsing by your table on their way to the bingo. So eating your dinner to the sound of someone calling bingo numbers. Again there was no mention whilst booking of having to share all the facilities with a poorer relation to Centre Parcs. To get from the room to the swimming pool it involved seven flights of stairs - so there needs to be some mention of not suitable for people with limited mobility. The reason we booked a weekend away here was we wanted a spa type weekend. Got a phone call before we went to remind us to book treatments on arrival - nooooo there were no treatments available at all oh and the steam room wasn't working either. I could go on .......

    The property is situated in stunning scenery. The Staff were all friendly and helpful

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Food was terrible. we tried difficult dishes on night 1, and had to move to margarita pizza on night 2. even that was horrible. thankfully breakfast was good.

    It was children's paradise, specially since many of the items like play areas and swimming pool was included in the costs.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were very disappointed on arrival, we were not made aware of the very noisy & messy work that is being carried out. When we entered the hotel there was stuff all over the front entrance (I presume from the musicians that had been on over the weekend) The corridor leading to the bedrooms was very untidy with chairs stacked up & a very large poster across the floor, as I was on crutches this didn't make thing very easy (This wasn't moved at all for the duration off our stay). There was entertainment advertised but nothing came on, we had dinner & retired to our room to watch TV (not the overnight getaway we had planned for). Also the pool closed early due to no staff to man it.

    We used the pool & spa faculties in the early afternoon & this was great. We also had a nice meal in the evening & great breakfast before we departed, the staff in the restaurant were very nice. *****

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are clean and fresh towels were supplied. But rooms were a bit dated but would not stop us from returning

    As a returning customer I was happy once again. At dinner we were served with Gary and Kayleigh where nothing was a problem to them. Used the leisure facilities which where clean. Will defo return.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived around 2PM went for walk around Loch and come back.Because we want to go to spa and swim. Unfortunately it was close. Shut at 5. Nobody told us not even on website. We had litlle paper in our room with openings hours and it's says open till 20:00. But it was close. Next day we wake up big earlier phone reception and asked what time they open spa today Manager said 09:00. We went there and ask some maintenance guy if they are open he said he is going to get somebody. The woman come and it was same woman who told us last night thy shut at 5PM. She said they not open till 1PM so couldn't get in. I only booked this place because of spa wich we didn't use at all. Hotel inside looks like nobody cares about it. Bags with old towels and laundry were next to our room when we checked in and they were there still when we checked out.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Butlins like atmosphere. It is being expanded into a full family fun park and has destroyed any ambience of the original area. The house is being allowed to degenerate into a ruin. The ridiculous fire door access at the top of the stairs is a joke. The adult bar downstairs was closed the night we were there so you are in the main cafe with the kids. Wifi works in public areas but not your room without an exorbitant charge. The view from our room used to be the lovely village and is now a 1 acre tin roof over the pool and kid game zone.

    The views of the loch and mountains. The food was good. The local pub in the village was friendly and great food.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was often a bit cold n had to send back our orange & leomonade drinks. Although we did get asked how our food was we never said anything. Not sure if we took our teenage girls if they would like it thou .

    Swimming pool ,sauna , jaquzzi , steam room , & think our kids would really like the fun house.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not mention on website that construction work was happening first room given rain was pouring in through ceiling reception is in a porta cabin and not manned all the time so couldn't pay for WiFi for room as duty manager could not help bathroom floor in room onr has a gap of about one inch from skirting board really disappointed

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was hard, I bought a portion of haggis pakora and got three tiny pieces which cost 4.50, tried to buy a bigger take away but the had no cutlery to take to our room. They are understaffed when busy, they should hire more staff.

    The staff were excellent, very friendly and courteous, always smiling when approached, the breakfast was good, the shower was excellent. The room was warm and cosy. The cleaning lady was more than helpful.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds and pillows in room were far to hard and the building site out the front very disappointed as it was our tenth wedding anniversary also rooms were far to cold in hotel

    The swimming pool and food

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Duvet on bed was a bit small but I'm just nit-picking. Drinks in the bar were really expensive.

    Lovely setting. Staff were friendly and helpful. Danielle in Rob Roy was very friendly and approachable as was the receptionist at check in.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of hanging space in room..having to lock room door to remain shut...vegetarian breakfast requested on 2day due to super sausages but only to find been given potato scone instead no given option :(

    Staff friendly & helpful ..vegetarian sausages were super dooper :)...senery spectacular!!!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    organisation at Reception was a bit disappointing. Room was not inspiring. Restaurant in hotel closed, had to use the food outlet in the leisure complex next door which we were not informed of.

    Quiet Location, pleasant position away from it all.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Building work right outside bedroom window, plus £20 more than Argyll holidays. Staff didn't know what they doing most of the time. Open fire was a joke, not one member of staff could light a fire. Poor lighting around the grounds, and after asking for directions to the small town, and set off it became clear a touch was required but no one thought to tell us that important point. Not happy about my stay, was told we could have a late check out, then to be told later that evening no, the member of staff shouldn't of told us yes! Poor service in the bar, seemed to be all new staff with no training and no interest.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place is geared up for families so a lot of the facilities weren't of much use to us but that's not a negative of the hotel

    The staff were really friendly & helpful

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms in hotel could do with a renovation. Although new extension to hotel and facilities are taking place just now

    Good location for a night away within an hours drive from Glasgow. Scenery spectacular if the weather is good.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Enjoyed my breakfast but it would have been extra special if it was served in the original hotel building ;rather than in the coffee shop.

    Beautifully furnished room in an idealic setting.😊

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dampness in the 1st room & hvn to move rooms on a short stay

    There was dampness in the 1st room bt the staff couldnt apologise enough & we were given another room imediatley

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was disappointed the indoor bowls is gone ☹️

    The staff were all friendly and helpful especially an Australian girl named Mel who went above and beyond to help us 😂 On site entertainment excellent for adults and children 👍

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not really a hotel more like serviced rooms in a large leisure complex. Room was a little dated, damp on walls and not very warm. View was of the leisure complex roof! Better to stay in a lodge I would think.

    Breakfast was good although service a little hit and miss and you did have to sit in the leisure complex. Beautiful location right on the loch with mountain views, nice short (10 mins) walk to local pub (our dinner was great and staff very welcoming). We were staying there for 2 nights for a wedding further along the loch so didn't really spend any time there other than sleeping and breakfast so can't comment on the leisure facilities.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No free WiFi, had to buy super fast WiFi that did not work. The Italian restaurant was closed. The hotel was in the middle if refurbishment and this was not reported to us prior to visit.

    The scenery and activities.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not made aware of building work.hotel in desperate need of make over. No place to relax and enjoy a quiet meal or drink as Fireside bar and Italian restuarant closed. Very disapointed as we have been here on many occasions before andthoroughly enjoyed ourselves. this was not a memorable stay, and we had to go off site to be able to enjoy relaxing meal and drink for our anniversary. Certainly not value for money on this occasion as we had to spend a lot of our time outwith the complex. Very disapointed.

    Location very good . Staff at reception very friendly .

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is a building in the middle of a caravan site, with a portacabin for reception, and the Restaurant is closed. The woman on reception suggested we could drive to the local pub for dinner. And to finish off there is a building site. The "hotel" pictures are totally misleading, I suggest you ask for up to date pictures before you book this accommodation.

    The bedroom was ok, the bathroom needs maintenance.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel is centre piece of a holiday village which we were aware of. Thankfully there was a restaurant within the hotel which served evening meals and was excellent. Disappointing was that breakfast was only available within the holiday complex dining facilities which lacked atmosphere and food was typical mass produced.

    Stayed in Drimsynie House Hotel, lovely setting, atmosphere, and room.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift. Fortunately the receptionist helped me carry baggage up the stairs to my room.

    The friendliness of all the staff, my cleaner in particular. She was very attentive & efficient. The great Scottish breakfast, set me up for the day. The rooms are very comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was dated bed was very uncomfortable restaurant was shut because the chef never turned up they tried to put is in the bar for our meal when the meal came food was awful

    Nice scenery

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    You could have told us before we booked about the building work there was no view from anywhere in your dated dingy hotel . I am so disappointed with the beautiful Scottish landscapes and outstanding Loch we had no view of it from our Hotel and our room was overlooked by CABINS at the back of our room (8)and horrible rusty water tanks

    Nothing

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything went down hill from the moment we got there. There was no free WiFi in the room, check in was terrible, had to go back to the reception to ask where everything was. The sauna, hot tub and pool advertised as being exclusively part of the hotel was actually part of the holiday village. Being able to have a romantic holiday went out of the window when you look forward to relaxing in a hot tub with your partner and a family of 4 join you with 2 screaming kids. There was no mention of having to book somewhere to eat until we were told the restaurants were fully booked 3 hours later when we wanted a meal. I would say to advertise the hotel for what it is , is probably close to false advertising.

    The location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds extremely hard and uncomfortable, feel there could have been more outdoor activities

    Everyone very friendly, location was great, prices weren't excessive, the checking in and out was very easy, staff very helpful,

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The hotel is beautiful inside and out, the staff were really friendly and helpful. I loved the 4 poster bed, it was super comfy. The location of the hotel is beautiful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Prior to arriving we hadn't realised that there were so many facilities and variety of options for meals available.

    The availability of a wide range of facilities for families. "Rusty" was an amusing addition for small (and older) children.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress was far too soft and gave me a bad back and the food was dreadful which was a shame

    The room was lovely and large and there was a comfy sofa.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Needs a little TLC. Painting the hall would make such a difference to the flaking wallpaper on left going up the stairs. Also towels should be replaced. Went out to eat because the restaurant wasn't open due apparently to no chef.

    Loved the building. It has such potential. Comfortable room. Thank you for the tea, coffee, water and biscuits. Nice touch.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food is truly terrible, at all their different locations. Take a BBQ or be prepared to travel. Drinks completely uninspiring. They seem to be expanding but the hotel is looking tired and in need of freshening up.

    Happy & friendly staff, beautiful location.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wi if. ..in this day n age..shocking to say least. Cost of drinks too much. Fireside bar poor lighting too strong...no ambiance wouldn't recommend at all.

    No wi if in hotel. It's trying to be too many things..hotel not clean and very dated towels frayed and bedroom stained. Staff pleasant but won't return. Like a holiday camp very chea. .poor overall

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    An empty hotel bar on a Saturday night. Why? The pub in the village was very busy and with a great atmosphere.

    Room was very comfortable. Check in was simple.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My wife and myself came for our anniversary for the weekend the door keeper on our door was only attached with 1 screw the lighting in the bathroom was terrible the sink was all water stained when we went in the room the arial lead for the TV was not long enough when u lye in bed the post of the bed is right in the centre of the tv making it impossible to watch the vinyl in the bathroom had a big wrickle in it we stayed in room 4 the breakfast was burnt and hard the potato scones were dripping with oil my wife had the brushetta which is tradionally served and a toasted bread u served it on normal bread and all the ingredients made the bread soggy and totally unedable I'm really sorry but we would not recommend this to anyone or be returning ourselfs it says 3 star I think this needs to be re thought am sorry but I was really dissapointed and was expecting more for the 190 pound I paid for 2 days and there is no mention of construction work happening on ur site so getting woke up at 8 on a Saturday morning with a stihl saw going wasn't my idea of relaxing

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The water was brown during our stay which did put us off going in the shower! I never had breakfast but my partner did and he said it was terrible.

    The location was beautiful and very scenic. Room was fine and perfectly adequate.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All indoor facilities under one roof with no windows. All open plan made it very noisy, with games machines, juke boxes next to badminton, table tennis, children's play area and had to walk round twice to find entry to swimming pool. Better planning and, use of space could have made very mediocre facilities into a great sports complex. The breakfast was very poor. We were offered juice, cereal and a plate from 3 heated trays containing bacon, sausage and black pudding, no fruit, no yogurt, no patisseries. However there was a menu on the table so we asked for the smoked haddock and poached egg for two and one croissant. We also had to ask for toast. Half an hour later we asked for another cup of coffee, more toast and a yogurt. Then 45 minutes after we had ordered we were given two plates with white haddock (not smoked) and poached egg, one yoke hard, one soft but with rubbery white egg, and one plate had a dry croissant beside the haddock. We complained, asked for a discount as rate for B&B was not cheap but when asked at reception to leave a note with full credit card details including 3 digit code to be left lying around for the manager to deal with later and refund £20 for 2 breakfasts we refused. The problems lie with the management. Standards need to be increased, staff need to be given basic materials and training to provide a better quality of service..

    Room was nice. Lovely location and lots of facilities

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lighting in room was poor. Didn't like it was joined onto a Butlins type resort. The hotel should be separate with own dining facilities. Slow waiting staff in coffee shop where we had our breakfast- waited 10 minutes before I had to actually go and ask one of the 3 members of staff if we could order breakfast. Only 2 other tables in at the time and the 3 staff members were messing around and not actually paying any attention to their job. Will not return.

    Comfy bed, helpful staff at reception/check in desk

    Stayed in July 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: