Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Drovers Arms Hotel

Lammas Street, Carmarthen, SA31 3AP, United Kingdom

#12 of 14 hotels in Carmarthen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 384 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    5.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast room was dark and wifi limited to bar only.

    It was comfortable, clean. Great location. The proprietor was very nice. Nice little bar to have a drink.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Fan in our room wasn't working at all The Quilt in our room was very heavy on our beds and for there time of year that we went and it was really was hot and the quilt on our bed shouldn't be lighter

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very well priced good location centre of town also nice breakfast included in price only thing I would say let the stay down was parking very small free parking at rear . Apart from that excellent pleasant staff to

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty, bed seen better days. Breakfast ... We came down at 9am coffee was cold. No juice. Only one person serving. When asked about coffee and juice was told well breakfast finishes at 10am

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is parking at the rear but if you have a big car it can be quite tight.

    The hotel is functional. It has comfy beds, good bathrooms and the breakfast is great. It’s listing is 2 star so it’s not luxurious but for a one night stopover it was fine.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Signs on the bathrooms saying ‘anyone with drugs will be barred’.. felt a little uneasy about the company they may attract or perhaps it was just the street they are located on through no fault of their own.

    The staff were lovely and friendly, couldn’t fault them at all. Room was clean and very very comfy, shower was great. Asked for the heating to be turned on and it was a cosy room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds !!!!!!!

    Beds need looking at as they dip big time in the middle So not very comfortable night sleeps Rooms basic but nice & clean just the divans need looking at All staff members where very helpful polite Breakfast was nice (sausages bit mushy) but some folk might like that but everything else was good and freshly cooked Location perfect for in town Tv stopped working but one of the young girls corrected the situation

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very Noisy alnight till gone 1 am & at 4 am guests/staff stomping around on floor above. Breakfast was late, no staff till 8:45 am turned up. Stated 8 am. Blocked in car park & could not leave till 11

    Comfortable & Clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fell over the lip/step entering bathroom. Towels just thrown on bed not neatly folded. Lighting poor.No tomato on the breakfast looked very brown.

    Bed was comfy bathroom clean breakfast good lager downstairs fine and staff friendly. Bedding clean and towels.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    light above the wash hand basin not working had to wait for someone to arrive to start breakfast on Saturday morning

    nice hot shower plenty of milk, tea and coffee in my room

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice chilled vibe, parking, right in the town center, very clean & the staff, Emma & Luke were spot on, very friendly, welcoming & very accommodating & helpful.. lovely Vodka too 👌🏼

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I know it couldn’t be helped but we couldn’t have the window open to freshen the room. It rained all weekend and the down pipe on the adjoining property leaked which meant it was too noisy to have window open.

    Very friendly reception on arrival. Room clean and tidy.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrible noise outside in a car park.Our room was above this area.this noise was at 4am! People were drunk falling on the floor from a broken chair. I found the broken chair in the morning still on the floor outside when we were leaving.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could only use internet in a grubby bar with drunken men around room was very basic breakfast was discusting milk was off and didn’t stay to eat anything else ended up going to mc Donald’s for breakfast

    Nothing

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You get what you pay for and this is a budget option, does what it says on the tin, no ,more no less, breakfast was ok, room was ok, bed was ok, all just ok.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was poor with no coffee option.The bar was poorly stocked.There was no atmosphere.There were small black flies buzzing around the bar and there was a smell in the corridors.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There seemed to be fruit flies in the bar and at breakfast. Some of the items on the breakfast menu were unavailable, such as caffetiere coffee and there wasn't a great selection of cereals to chose from. The mattress seemed to be very old and saggy.

    The toilet and bathroom were very clean and the shower worked well. The poached eggs on toast were cooked perfectly.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    only thing I didn't like was the orange juice but I am fussy with orange juice

    the service was great even phoned before I got there and from that point it was great

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing

    took my mother here for her 70th birthday,as my mum was from carmarthen,we did know alot of the area all ready.The Drovers arms is lovely,room nice and cosy,very warm.The staff cant do enough to help you,lively girl behind the bar.Also the lady who cooks breakfast,full english was lovely.As its right in the town,you have access to all facilities. will be staying here again for sure,next visit to carmarthen.Thankyou all for a lovely stay xxx

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was everything you could ask for at the reasonable price.

    Perfect budget accomodation in convenient location. Great young woman Libby working in bar.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast finished at 9 and checkout was 11 both of which I thought were quite early.

    Character of the building . Good freshly cooked breakfast with a good choice . Comfortable bed and the rooms were quiet . temperature of the room was very comfortable. Staff were welcoming

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have been nice for there to have been some more easy chairs and soft lighting in the in the lounge to make it a bit more welcoming.

    Quiet room, even though it was located in the town. Bathroom nicely tiled with good shower and bath facilities. Comfortable bed. The room was clean and for a two night stay it was very adequate.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress is due for retirement, and some of the decor is in need of updating (sealant going black around bathtub)

    Friendly reception,clean room, excellent central location, perfect fried egg with breakfast! Nice powerful shower.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just the stairs- older people with heavy bags.....not a complaint but an observation.

    Comfortable clean room, with ensuite bathroom. Quiet, great breakfast.central in town, walking around the streets to view local attractions was easy and felt safe.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mouldy silicone in the bathroom needed a refresh

    The staff there are very friendly & welcoming. They were fantastic to offer support where needed.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unfortunately, one of the two rooms we got had been used by a smoker and no matter how much we tried to shut it out, we couldn't sleep well because of the smell. There is definitely parking at the property but it's around the back and actually a bit tricky to manoeuvre into if you have a big car.

    Staff are very helpful and courteous. We have a baby daughter and asked for a room away from noise and they certainly did that. We had problem with one of the rooms (see below) and when we asked the staff to change not only the bedding but the pillows too that fixed the problem so we slept really well the second night. There were no problems with the other room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom needed some cosmetic work and there was a noisy leaking gutter on the next building.

    The staff were really friendly and helpful. Breakfast could be anything you wanted. The location was central for Carmarthen but also a good base to explore the Pembrokeshire Coast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    My sister's bed was infested with bugs, ours did not seems to be so. The heating was turned off and after complaining three times was it turned on and not all the time during certain hours. Breakfast was nothing much with choice being very limited, but it seemed to be cooked there and then. I was promised an email to show that infestation has been dealt with, this was no forthcoming.

    The receptionist on arrival very welcoming. Location was very central.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was the third time we stayed in this hotel and gradually everytime we went the breakfast menu has been degrading since we first came. The options are not as great as before. There used to be biscuits and snacks next to tea which were not there this time. Plus the portion of the breakfast was getting smaller. There was only one staff to serve the whole restaurant so we had to wait quite a long time for our meal. Adding staff and better food menu will be a great advantage to restore its lost reputation.

    The bed was comfy and property very easy to find.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking very limited also food choices very limited cooked breakfast very nice but seemed to be only food available

    Friendly staff and close to shops and restaurants

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The included breakfast was made by ordering from the staff, rather than having a buffet to pick from (because the hotel is so small, a buffet doesn't make sense), so socially anxious people should prepare to interact a little. Also, I didn't know if I was allowed to order seconds at breakfast or if I should just order everything I want on the first go.

    The atmosphere was very intimate (in a good way), as can be expected for a roughly 20 room hotel. The staff was extremely friendly. The location is right in the middle of everything, with public transportation and shops within easy walking distance. The premises show age but in a charming wooden building sort of way, not in a moldy or falling-apart way.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower in bathroom was exceptionally hot even on lowest setting and were woken up at 3am by very noisy people in smoking area outside our window and kept us awake for at least 30 minutes until gentlemen in next room shouted at them to shut up

    Very clean room and bathroom friendly lady who checked me in good breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Service and WiFi.

    Only WiFi in a small noisy bar. Breakfast room was extremely dingy. Even had to ask for some toilet paper!! Very poor for the price, definitely will not be returning.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could have done with more power points in the room.

    Very comfortable beds, private parking, substantial breakfast, well kept beers, but most of all, brilliant, friendly staff!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view was dismal... just a back alley but not really a problem as the hotel was just a base and we were out all day. The hotel us dated and in need of redecorating but was very clean.

    The bed was comfortable and facilities in the room, were excellent and it was a good size with a good ensuite

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place was a bit smelly .... Needs updating if I'm being honest , hot tap on the sink was hot and cold tap was hot too . Breakfast was left to one person and needed someone else to help in the kitchen as she was clearly under pressure . Don't ask for scrambled eggs :-/ ....

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast taste was terrible. There was only one lady preparing and serving 5 families and she was obviously overloaded and understandably turned rude to everyone. She needs to respect vegetarians and not use the same beef/bacon handled hands to prepare vegetarian meals. Not at all respected !! The kitchen and all the cutlery was horribly unhygienic and not surely washed atleast to a decent level ! Will never ever stay there again or will recommend this to anyone ! They need to improve loads on cleanliness of the kitchen and cutlery which is currently 0 out of 10. The staff were not so friendly and parking was ridiculous. She said there is only space but would be problem since I would have been contacted everytime someone want to take their vehicle out which is ridiculous. had to park opposite on the road which I did not like to do but no other option as I did not want to get disturbed 1000 times everytime someone wanted to remove my car !

    Rooms were adequately spacious and shower was excellent though tad bit small. Location is outstanding with lots of shopping around !

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were friendly and helpful, Emma was a hoot, she was so funny, I had a good stay here, the rooms are clean, warm and smell nice, tea and coffee making facility in the rooms, bed was ok, also shower products in the bathroom. Breakfast was great, cereals,toast and the usual bacon,eggs, sausage beans etc etc brilliant. Will defo stay here again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    mis-communication over the end time of breakfast rather spoiled the experience, otherwise everyone was most friendly and helpful finishing time for serving breakfast at 9am is too early for us

    beds were very comfortable, particularly for my husband's back, which needs a soft mattress

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    gutter on adjoining property was broken and the waterfall kept the missus awake two nights. Not entirely their fault!

    I noted that I am gluten free but they were not aware on arrival. Remedied easily though. Breakfasts were good and everfing you would need was there , including GF bread for toast - always a bonus. Comfortable spacious room with TV. Don't ask for a room with a view - they all face the wall next door!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    First time ever people next door very noisy and they were booking out at 3am!!!

    Stayed hete several times and always get great welcome. Breakfast was basic but thats what I like.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fairly basic hotel and a little tired in places but overall okay. No evening meal but there are a lot of eating places close by.

    Good location and the room was clean and comfortable. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A map showing how to get to the car park would be handy.

    Good location in the middle of the town. Even though the bar can get noisy, the rooms were quiet even with the window open.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Four people in bar when we arrived late at night - looked as if they had been drinking all day - made some unwelcome derogatory comments about our stay, which the member of staff had to correct immediately. The member of staff, was very helpful, courteous and professional - at all times (Thank You).

    Location. Convenient for Ferry to Ireland.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were amazing. Location spot on. Good beer. Plus the special one-off deal of complimentary belts in every room was a nice touch. Would definitely recommend The Drovers.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It stinks, it is damp in all rooms, especially in the hallways and the room: carpets all over. The breakfast room is dark, much too big, a cold atmosphere. The WiFi is only working around the bar, not in the breakfast room, nor in the rooms. The window can't be opened, there is no view at all (next wall...).

    People at the reception were really nice. It is very quiet and in the middle of the town.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Attitude of staff. Made me very uncomfortable because for some reason although our credit card info was done on line to book, it apparently did not get to the hotel. I was made to feel that I was staying without paying.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Enough parking for the guests, Cleanliness must be improved, No hashbrowns or Tomatoes in the vegetarian breakfast - leaves with a very less option for vegetarians. Not worth for the money.

    Staff were very friendly, location is very accessible.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You get what you pay for and the overall stay was very good for the price, any nitpicking would be no toast available for breakfast otherwise, all good!

    Amazing welsh hospitality with friendly staff and Bar open till late.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car parking was limited and hard to find at rear of hotel. Beds were a bit low. Hotel a bit noisey......people talking loudly outside bedroom window in early hours. No sweeteners for tea and coffee.

    Staff were very helpful and friendly. The cooked breakfast was good and my wife's special requirement for breakfast was catered for. Located in centre of town. There was a problem with tv but staff fixed it quickly and efficiently with no complaint.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    An option to either have breakfast later or something small delivered maybe?

    We were given a key to the front door so that we could come and go as we pleased. We didn't get back in till gone midnight

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was really not good. Being vegetarian had a vegetarian sausage and beans. No fruit or selection of croissants or rolls. Only plain white or brown bread

    Like the shampoo. And staff ok

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property was too hot, there was a problem with the heating. The breakfast was well cooked but there was only cheap instant coffee and the member of staff was on her own so the milk was not refilled and only tea bags in a jar to make the tea in the cup. The entrance was through the bar area and this was not very welcoming as I thought looked run down. I would not recommend this hotel to my friends as the price did not reflect the standard, over priced.

    The property was conveniently placed in town. The receptionist was friendly.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Radiator in the upstairs hallways can't turn off, making it very hot in the corridors, rooms not too hot though.

    Staff were very nice and keen to help, breakfast was freshly cooked with plenty of choice.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could turn the central heating down a little but no real problems.

    Enjoyed the stay for 3 nights. Staff very helpful and had good times at the bar with the locals. Good central location both in town and for the surrounding district.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi doesn´t reach the rooms (or only partially).

    Nice staff and good location. Carmarthen doesn´t really have many options so I was glad to find one that was good value for money.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The tub was not clean and it got loud in the middle of the night with people in the hall way. Someone tried to open the door to my room several times, waking me up and startling the bejeuzus out of me.

    The landlady is wonderful, the pub is full of history.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was minimal, facilities very old and in need of lots of refurbishment. Was fine for one night but I don't think I would stay there again

    Convenient location, friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms are above the function room so if there is a party on you are awake til midnight. Best to check with hotel first unless you are a late night person and it wont bother you.

    Very friendly and helpful staff, excellent breakfast & great location

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty mop left in bucket in breakfast room creating a very strong smell of disinfectant not pleasant when your eating food.

    Staff were friendly hotel in good position

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom in the accommodation was discussing with others pubic hair left in the bath around the bath and near the sink. Could not have a shower due to this. The upstairs corridor and rooms smelt really nasty like an eggy smell. After rushing in to the room and needing to leave straight away for a funeral we did not have time to see how discussing the bathroom was or I would not have paid or stayed there. We were asked to pay cash upfront which now I believe was because I would have refused to pay in the morning. My husband did not want me to confront anyone so we left as soon as we woke. We did not entertain any breakfast. Obviously the stay was due to a funeral so not the time to create and cause a scene.

    There was not a lot to like, the location was central.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noisy location with a badly sealed window overlooking the outside smoking area for the pub patrons. The noise then increased at around 2am when we realised just how thin the walls were and how much our neighbours were enjoying their stay.... With the noise and uncomfy beds we wont be rushing back to stay here.

    Free parking and central location.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were poorly made/designed/previously fixed and both fell apart during the stay, the bathroom was not clean and the shower was falling apart, there was no lock on the window and we had to use a coat hanger to prop it open.

    Fresh towels were provided daily. The room was very peaceful, with little to no disturbance from other guests.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing we disliked about this bed and breakfast.

    The location of the Drovers arms carmarthen, friendly staff, wouldn't stay anywhere else.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fresh drinks toast served to table no thought in serving the scrambled eggs wait until finished the cereal

    The bathroom lighting was poor to hide fact the shower panel was dirty the duty chef was mopping the floor in her chefs clothing before cooking breakfast we had cereal but two mouth full into it our scrambled egg on toast arrived not good the toast was like a wet sponge did not enjoy water in the elect waterern was not hot to make tea etc

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to dislike about the stay

    The friendliness of the staff and locals was first class was made to feel like one of them Ray and Susie the owners top class people made New Year's Eve Fantastic

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult to find parking area at rear of hotel.

    Very friendly welcome. Staff most accommodating. Large rooms and bathrooms. Centrally located for town and facilities. Free parking at rear of hotel a bonus. Plenty of selection at breakfast freshly cooked.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to use Pay and display parking. It's free between 6pm and 8am which meant having to get up a bit early to put money in the meter

    A nice old property with friendly staff and a comfy bed. Well placed property that's easy to get too. The room had a bath as well as a shower, which is a bonus these days.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    No wifi available except in the pub area, which was often full of people. I would loved to have wifi available in the rooms, or even in the dining area next to the pub. I had business work to attend to during the trip and found it difficult to manage.

    Good hot breakfast every day included. Friendly place, rooms very nice in the European style. It was everything we needed. Excellent location for us.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom above kitchen area, slightly annoying AC unit going on and off.

    The room was clean and comfortable, staff were very helpful, breakfast was good.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My partner found it difficult to climb the stairs to the third floor

    The staff and the regular customers were very friendly Having been there on previous occasions I was pleasantly surprised as it looked as if it had a make over The bacon for breakfast was something to die for.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Postcode takes you past the pub on a one way street system, so took a while to find it. First impression not good as have to walk through pub.

    Very good cooked breakfast. Staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was not free wifi anywhere near the room. If I wanted to work, I had to take my laptop downstairs and work among many people who were watching TV and having a beer in the pub bupe lobby. Most of the facilities were outdated and bliek. Arrived at about 10:30pm and apart from a overpriced nearby third class fish and chips there was nothing to eat.

    It was near the centre...

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Instant coffee and not very clean breakfast place.

    We got another room after we complained that the bathroom in the first one wasn't clean (tooth paste traces and hair in sink + hairpin and hair on the floor...

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Took a while to work out that there was a switch behind bed that powered the shower.

    Basic room with a very comfortable bed. Plenty of tea and coffee in room. Good flat screen TV with DVD. Made to feel welcome when we arrived. Breakfast was good with some choice. A really good central location and we would stay here again.

    Stayed in September 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: