Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Dryburgh Abbey Hotel

St Boswells, Melrose, TD6 0RQ, United Kingdom

#6 of 8 hotels in Melrose

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1409 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2018

    7.1
    A gracious but outdated hotel with varying degrees of service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant manager had a rather brusque and ungracious attitude ( bistro ) though the other members of staff were pleasant. The bedroom was rather chilly. My alarm call did not materialise.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2018

    4.2
    Would not return. So disappointed, it was our wedding anniversary.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Abbey Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was smelly, dirty cups, poor facilities, bed and furniture had seen better days. We were up graded to a delux room. Spiders webs in room and the bathroom needed totally replaced. We went down for dinner, ordered 2 steaks and a bottle of wine, cost just over £60, food was stone cold, sent it back, my steak had just been put on the grill again, was burnt on outside, not medium rare as I ordered. We complained again, no charge for dinner, I didn’t eat mine. No where else to eat Swimming pool was tiny, didn’t bother using it.

    Location, although there was nothing around the hotel like pubs, restaurants etc. Once you arrived at the hotel if you wanted to enjoy a glass of wine, you were stuck there and had to use their restaurant. Breakfast was lovely

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    7.1
    Staff were friendly and we did have a relaxing break.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bathrooms could have been cleaner, We only ate in the hotel on one night, the food was good but portions were small and pricey. Charged £30 for our very small dog which I thought was over the top when you don't get anything for the price, all food, bedding etc is provided by ourselves. I understand a cleaning charge but really! I know not everyone has small well behaved dogs but I think this should be taking into account.

    We asked to be moved to another bedroom, the first one was very small and did not match the price we were paying (this is putting it nicely). Second room was much better and was more like what we had expected. breakfast was lovely with plenty of choice.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    8.3
    The hotel is located in a pleasant environment with a garden...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was totally inadequate lighting in the room, the lamps on the sides of the beds serve only as decorations, to read etc. can not be done with them.

    The hotel is located in a pleasant environment with a garden next to the nearby Dryburgh Abbey.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    7.5
    We would definitely visit the area again but not to your hotel, not good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel looks and feels 'tired'. Much of it is in need of a sprucing up. Dirty cloths were on the floor in the foyer when we arrived carpets were stained in places and our bathroom door could not be closed. In addition, the photos of the pool area make it look much more inviting than it was, we did not choose to use it. Our friends were very disappointed with the views from their bedroom and did not feel they had value for money. We were upgraded and enjoyed lovely views.

    The surrounding area is beautiful.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2018

    9.6
    Charming stay in a beautiful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Abbey Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thought hotel guests should have free access to the abbey ruins, however the complex was fenced off and required payment for entry.

    Beds were so comfy and the breakfast was amazing. The location was so picturesque and peaceful.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    6.7
    Pleasant enough
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom Floor was not totally clean, hair etc not ours Our room, room 5 had dampness / mould on one wall. Some of the staff could do with more training (Big guy in Bistro / Bar)

    MEALS, LOUNGES, GROUNDS & VIEW STAFF WERE FRIENDLY ENOUGH.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    9.6
    Dryburgh Abbey Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Abbey Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cooked breakfast was the worst I've experienced, quality of the produce, the preparation and cooking was awful. Very limited vegetarian options full stop.

    The breakfast buffet selection was good Evening dinner excellent Staff were excellent Setting excellent Fabulous location and hotel for the dogs Room size and location of room excellent Porridge was excellent.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    4.2
    Not as good as previous years
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Abbey Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of wine knowledge in bar staff. I lost a favourite brown felt hat from Montana which has not yet turned up. Where is it?

    Good food well presented but a knowledge of wine essential in bar staff and non existent. Also restaurant bill for 4 not 2 and inaccurate

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    7.1
    Lovely location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was small and quite cold. Used heater found in wardrobe. Much condensation on window with black mould at base. Reported this at reception. Man’s shirt found on hanger in wardrobe. Bistro dining room cold especially on first night . One guest sat in their coat.

    Lovely location. Easily accessible parking.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    5.8
    Disappointing for a spa hotel. The Village chain offers better to be honest
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Abbey Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    View from rooms offered. First and second rooms offered were poor and small for a property of this market level. View was a car park for a room at a £150 Rooms were small and not really what I’d expect from a property of this standard. I was surprised then to be charged more for a room which was just ok. By comparison we had a room for £50 less at Doxford Hall which was a different level of spa hotel altogether. The pool and sauna are tiny and the sauna was not on. Changing area was poor and dirty and most lockers didn’t work

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    7.5
    Great location and good facilities. Staff are friendly and efficient
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel needs a little refurbishment and updating. It is a beautiful location and the staff are on the whole very good however if you are looking for fine dining you will be disappointed. Overall a nice hotel

    Beautiful restaurant however the food if fairly ordinary although its not too expensive either. Service is very good

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    9.2
    A lovely two night stay to re-charge the batteries.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Abbey Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No grumbles. All was good.

    Always a pleasure. As a family we have been coming for over 20 years. It is comfortable, welcoming and has a lovely location.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    9.2
    Very comfortable, quiet and relaxing.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Abbey Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    More variety of tea and coffee options in room. Increased selection of evening meal menu. Cleanliness. There were some coffee marks on the throws on the bedding.

    Very comfortable, quiet and relaxing. Staff were very friendly and accommodating. Excellent Breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    8.0
    Overall had a nice long weekend at Dryburgh abbey hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lift broke which highlighted how problematic it would be to get my elderly parents , who we had taken there, out of the building in case of a fire. Doesn’t seem to have a policy in place for evacuating less able bodied guests. Corridors, doors & public areas could do with painting. Looking very tired & lots of dirty marks on paintwork.

    The staff were friendly and gelpful

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location, food and staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately our room door rattled whenever someone near closed their door! The bed was comfy but a little saggy in the middle

    It was excellent. The food was excellent, snack and dinner.... The staff were friendly and prompt with their service. The pool as small... but was quiet and wonderfully warm. It was a great stay

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    9.6
    Just whT we wanted
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Abbey Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower

    Very comfortable. Pleasant staff. Lovely location. Excellentt food - big breakfast menu, freshly cooked and served at the table. Good evening meals in the Bistro.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    6.3
    stay was nice but new mattress needed in room 223
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    bed was very uncomfortable new mattress needed in room 223

    breakfast was very good staff were polite and helpful room was ok nothing was to much trouble hotel was a little dated

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    7.5
    Most enjoyable. Would definitely stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Being stuck in the lift.

    The bed was very comfortable and the pillows were just great. The view at breakfast was wonderful looking out on to the river Tweed. The breakfast was very good too.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    7.9
    One-night stay for abbey visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    These rooms are TINY. Plenty of room for two people, if you don't have a bunch of luggage with you--but if you've got two big suitcases, there's nowhere to walk in the room. If you've only got baggage for a weekend, I'm sure it's fine. Our dinner experience was not very charming. We were told we needed reservations, but when we showed up promptly to the empty restaurant, it took a while to catch someone's attention to be seated. Menu had changed from the one posted online--I asked if I could get the "superfood" entree that was no longer listed. The waiter went to enquire and the response from the manager (kitchen manager? whoever?) was awfully vehement and loud enough to us to hear. So whereas a polite, "No, I'm sorry that's not available anymore" from the waiter would have been fine, I felt a bit put off by the pissy response we overheard. The food we got was fine, though the tiny size of the sticky toffee pudding was shocking for the almost 7 pound price. Admittedly, it was one of the best sticky toffee puddings I've ever had!

    Perfect location! Very cool old building. Amazing breakfast included (both a continental buffet AND a choice of items cooked to order--including haggis!). Very pleased with these things, and the counter staff was helpful (even calling us to let us know our car windows were down when it started raining). Really a lovely place.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    3.8
    see above.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Menu choice was the same for every day except the soup and Roast dinner on sunday which I could have used to sole my shoes. I am gluten free and brought my own bread which they gave to someone else leaving me with only my own cereal to eat. The bar staff were incapable of completing there job properly and charged us for two meals and wine that we had already paid on the night. I was disgusted that we were not escorted to our room or to our table for dinner. The fine dining experience was nil as it was the same menu only in the breakfast/dining room rather than the bistro. I could go on, but I will never recomend them to anyone and the whole weekend was a waste of money.

    We thought the Dryburgh had undergone renovation and we were very disapointed as it was the same.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    10
    Style and comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Abbey Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A beautiful period property but still clean and modern amenities . Small indoor chlorine free pool and sauna a bonus. Delicious meals in the elegant dining rooms. Lovely grounds and view of the Abbey

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    5.8
    Stay
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room, especially the bathroom was unclean. Hairs in the bath and on the floor, appeared to be a streak of blood down down the bath. Breakfast was cold and services times were not great. For £108 I expected much more.

    Staff were friendly, I like that it is dog friendly. The ground were nice .

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    9.2
    A very comfortable hotel, bit old fashioned - but in a good way
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Abbey Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast food a bit hit and miss, shower in bath erratic,

    Large comfortable room, comfortable bed, clean, good lounge area, efficient staff, mostly friendly staff., beautiful location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    6.3
    Great location and building, let down by a lack of investment on the inside and poorly trained staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Abbey Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The interior is quite dated, not in a "we have made every effort to retain a genuine period look and feel through continued investment" but more in a "we stopped spending money a while ago". It's a real shame as the exterior and location are stunning, but I do find this a lot when I stay in period/ listed buildings that have been turned into hotels. The staff were OK but the restaurant team were a bit disorganised and didn't seem that well trained in what they were doing.

    The hotel is in a fantastic location, next to Dryburgh Abbey and the River Tweed. The building itself is beautiful, the exterior is stunning however when you move inside.......

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    8.3
    Beautiful location on the banks of the River Tweed and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Abbey Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom very small and could do with upgrade. Also blew all the lights when boiling the kettle in the room !!

    Beautiful location on the banks of the River Tweed and Dryburgh Abbey just over the wall !

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    6.7
    WHAT`S IN A NAME
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Abbey Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    RUSTY/FLAKY RADIATOR WITH MISSING VALVE COVERS AND OFF LEVEL.SINK PLUG UNATTACHED,CRACKED FLOOR TILES.BATHROOM DOOR DOESN`T FULLY OPEN. JUST WARM COFFEE. £5.25 FOR A BOTTLE OF BEER.ACCOMODATION WITH BETTER FACILITIES £40-£50 LESS PER NIGHT.

    FORMAL DINING ROOM

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    6.3
    We would return but would like to know when the renovation work would be completed by.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The housekeeping leaves a lot to be desired the room was very small it is in desperate need of renovation the lounge was cold in the evening had a log burner but wasn’t turned on

    We liked the location the fact that we stayed there before breakfast was much better this time we stayed there in March 18 and we didn’t have any white is mummy choice of breakfast it was much better in September.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    7.1
    OK
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Abbey Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Felt the Tweed Restaurant Meals were over priced particularly the starters for the standard of food provided.

    Excellent position with lovely views and very peaceful getaway.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    7.5
    We loved the hotel and had the swimming pool and sauna all to ourselves..perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Abbey Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant felt under staffed with one poor lady running around trying to help everyone

    Loved the rooms with the gorgeous view of the river and the receptionist was so helpful, nothing was too much trouble

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    7.5
    Lovely breakfast, amazing surroundings and ambiance around...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Abbey Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dinner proportions were a little small, some parts of the hotel looking a little faded, especially the pool area.

    Lovely breakfast, amazing surroundings and ambiance around the property.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    5.8
    Beautiful location but will not be recommending to friends and family :(
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was awful - mold on tile grouting, toilet roll was a bath length away from the toilet, toilet seat didn't fit properly, the floor was sticky and the room smelled musty - it needed a complete revamp and updating.... I did mention this when we checked out and was told they were concentrating on bedrooms first before they started on the bathrooms, The room was very small too and we had to keep moving one of the tables to access the wardrobe - far too much furniture in such a small space. There was a large notice asking you to use the cords at either side of window to close curtains....but there weren't any... I felt it ominous when the room was called "The Black Doctor" !!! The guests in the room above were also very loud/noisey - this might have been due to floor insulatation or that they were sleep walking till the early hours and again from 5.30 onwards... not the greatest experience really.

    The staff were really lovely - especially in the bar and restaurant areas

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    5.4
    Staff were pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Abbey Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Felt it was overpriced. Waiting time for dinner was rather long. Size of room was good but needed an upgrade.

    Staff were pleasant. Pool was nice if a little cold.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    4.6
    Don't stay here
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had high expectations for this place but the cleanliness was terrible. The room was dusty and they have a huge problem with spiders. After discovering lots of spiders on our room and complaining at the reception, they gave us another room which, for our surprise, had even more spiders than the first. After complaining again and with some insistence from my part, they gave us a third room which guess what? Also had spiders. With the receptionist unable to do anything else for us, we ended up going back to the first room and exterminating the spiders ourselves. In the morning I asked to speak to the manager whom I got the impression had heard this complaint from customers hundreds of times before but in the end was unwilling to do anything for us. This is absolutely unacceptable for any hotel. We felt terrible for staying here and the complacency of the staff is outrageous.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    8.3
    Very pleasant location little more attention to detail to update
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathrooms could do with upgrading Some issues its breakfast e.g presentation etc informed staff

    Staff friendly but professional Staff cannot have been more helpful

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    7.9
    Great hotel in need of a little TLC in places.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was a little tired and dated as where the WC facilities in the hotel reception area. It was also quite expensive in the restaurant and for the room considering the dated facilities.

    The location and feel of the hotel was great. Views stunning. Friendly and helpful staff on reception and working in the bistro. Couldn't fault them at all.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    10
    Relaxing time away
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast service on the Friday was not as good as the Thursday morning.

    I deal location for relaxing and exploring the area.and staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    7.9
    well the above shpould say it all
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Abbey Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Well we had booked Bed & Breakfast we arrived at around 9.26am (watch is very accurate) waiter seemed very intent on collecting plates form tables. He eventually asked if we were wanting breakfast. I said yes we did. He said that we were too late for a cooked breakfast as it was after 9.30 am I said that was not correct as we were standing waiting for him to seat us. I also reminded him that we had paid for breakfast. He seemed to become frustrated and a bit excited. He disappeared into the kitchen (I think) then the manager appeared (a bit upset) took us to our table asked if we really wanted a cooked breakfast I did. My wife said she would have continental he directed her to the outside tables. I received one egg and possibly two bacon 'very small' slices for cooked breakfast. My wife found that they had uplifted the continental cheese's and platters of meats (which were there when we arrived at the breakfast room) so was left with one choice of a very small chocolate puff pastry. So does this mean that if you stay at an expensive hotel and spa you will be treated as if you were a 15th century servant rather than a paying guest? So now you know we were not very impressed with this hotel. We had been on holiday down south and had travelled up stopping off at other places for B&B without any trouble we even found every other establishment was exceptional so we were very disappointed with this one because of the breakfast staff they just did not seem to be interested in the welfare of their guests. They seemed only interested in their time on duty. If something broke "THEIR" routine well, the guest will have to suffer. Not a good sign for this hotels future. I'm a very practical person I do not usually give a really bad mark. Unfortunately this was the exception. (Room 103) August 2018.

    Dinner was very good though a little expensive for what you received in quantity

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    5.4
    Room for improvement.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Abbey Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room wasn't clean. The radiator in the bathroom was in a terrible state. The kettle didn't auto switch off. The decor was in a poor state. A lot of the carpets in the main areas and indeed the bedroom were stained. Some of the staff were far from approachable.

    The location was perfect and lovely and relaxing. And even though some of the staff weren't the best the breakfast manager and the waitresses in the restaurant were lovely.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    2.5
    Dated, dirty and overpriced
    • People with friends
    • Abbey Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor is dated; The whole hotel is dirty including the bar, restaurant, stairs and bedrooms; The serving staff were unfriendly and disinterested. A general demeanour of simply ‘going through the motions’. The bar staff talked about me using ‘him’ whilst I was stood at the bar. The same staff the actively ridiculed a disabled person after they had left the bar. The breakfast waiter failed to notice half of the full breakfast was missing and then patted a dog of some guests before bringing me my toast about 30 seconds later. (Not long enough to sufficiently wash his hands) The bedroom was one of the most expensive rooms. Cobwebs were everywhere on the high ceilings and the bed was itchy, I never found the reason why. This hotel may have been nice 30-40 years ago but save your money and stay somewhere much nicer like a Travelodge.

    Nothing!!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    4.6
    Very disappointing. Hotel needs new management for a start.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Abbey Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poorly made up beds, valance did not cover dirty bed base, dirty room with cob webs on wonky wall lights, very tired decor, electrical sockets squint and mismatched, shower fitting collapsed into bath when using, room TV tiny, buffet breakfast looked inedible, cleaning staff knocked on our door despite having a do not disturb sign on door, clean towels and sheets left on corridor floor outside rooms, having to wait 20 mins before there was someone in reception to register our arrival.

    Location, cooked breafast

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    8.3
    Family visit to the Borders
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is NO air conditioning in this hotel and if your room's windows don't open it can get stuffy and hot. The hotel staff tried to accommodate us with a fan for use in each of the rooms, which was helpful. The hotel is kind of tucked back and away from a town, so you would need a car to explore. The hotel had lots of spider webs and spiders. It is out in the country, so there really isn't too much that can be done with that, but if the spider webs were cleaned off more often that might help the situation. The toilet in my room wasn't flushing and when I told management about the issue, they said that it just takes a while for the toilet to fill up with water. We didn't try to flush the toilet for about 15 hours and it still wasn't working. Management didn't seem to be concerned.

    The 2 restaurants at the hotel were delicious. They serve the same food in each so if you want less formal, pub style eating then you should go to the café/pub restaurant. The formal restaurant was in two ballroom like rooms and you can have a table viewing the river and grounds, which is nice. The staff were very helpful and when we had an issue they tried to address it. The pool was fun for the kids. You can see Dryburgh Abbey from the hotel grounds and from some of the rooms. The hotel is very large and has been renovated in some parts. It is fun for exploring the area. Our rooms were spacious. They do have an elevator to the room floors or you can take the main stairs. Ample parking for vehicles. They do allow dogs, although we weren't traveling with one.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    9.6
    Overall
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Found what looked like a contact (eye) in our bed...made us wonder if they changed our bed from the last guest. Bathroom window had bird poop all over it.

    Setting is incredible! Room was comfortable and well furnished. Staff was so welcoming and the restaurant setting was awesome!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    7.9
    Nice place with exceptional location and food.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Abbey Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room needed refurbishment and curtains were dreadful.

    Beautiful setting, food both in the Bistro in the evening and at breakfast was excellent. Room was a little tired and the curtains were falling apart.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    10
    Lovely views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Abbey Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Dissapointed with the specials menu in the bistro, there three evenings and the same specials menu for each evening and on the last evening one of the items was not available. Not acceptable, specials should be daily specials.

    Lovely stay, views wonderful, staff very friendly and helpful. One of the cleanest swimming pools I've seen in hotels.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    5.4
    Breakfast was great both mornings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 7 was the smallest hotel room I have ever stayed in. Shower broke, wouldn’t turn off but was fixed after about an hour.

    Breakfast was great both mornings. Stunning views of the river Tweed.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    7.5
    A magnificent Hotel, with exceptional setting, food and staff, but looking dated and tired x
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Abbey Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very tired and basic, very overpriced for what it was, with views over the carpark. Avoid room 203, it has the main water tank and each time a hotel guest uses the toilet, bath or shower, it makes a noise like a rocket taking off, kept us awake most of the night.

    The Hotel is very beautiful, in a wonderful setting, staff were excellent, friendly, professional and helpful. The food is exceptional, both dinner and breakfast, a good choice and top quality.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    8.8
    I liked the surroundings ,the bedroom, Bistro was fine,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Abbey Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Check out first they got the bill completely wrong and the staff were unable to simply replace it with a new bill. therefore it took nearly half an hour to sort. Somewhat spoilt what had been an excellent experience.

    I liked the surroundings ,the bedroom, Bistro was fine, Breakfast was slowish on the first day but it was tastey.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    4.2
    Breakfast although little accommodation when asked to move...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Abbey Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The so called spa consisted of a tiny pool and small sauna. The hotel looks tired and in desperate need of refurb Over priced and in the middle of nowhere.

    Breakfast although little accommodation when asked to move to another vacant seat near window

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    6.7
    A lovely place. The food did upset me with no after care at all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Abbey Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had dinner there. Something I ate disagreed with me and I spent the night being sick. When I complained I didn’t get a sorry or even a complimentary coffee or a discount. The girl said it must have been somthing I ate before. That was not the case I was fine up until I ate the tartar sauce Spoiled my night we went for our anniversary spent £184.

    It was a lovely place.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    10
    Fantastic Hotel - thoroughly recommended!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Abbey Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved everything about the hotel - it was a fantastic hotel in a wonderful location. The staff were great and made us feel so welcome. We took the dog and felt so at home and the room that we were given was lovely and it was roomy with a beautiful bathroom. The walks from the hotel were detailed in a well written brochure which was in the room although the gardens and surrounding wooded areas directly outside the hotel were super for the dog and ourselves. We ate in the Bistro and had two delicious meals. The staff in the Bistro were so friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble for them. Recommended

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    9.6
    Excellent hotel, location and people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent hotel in a splendid setting. The staff were excellent as was the food and accommodation. Definitely somewhere to return to when next in the area.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    9.6
    Great location and helpful friendly staff.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was a mix up with the website booking. I had put down I had a pet / dog with us. This did not appear on the hotel's version, so we had our room downgraded because the one we had booked did not allow pets. Staff were very helpful fixing this problem, but it was very frustrating being downgraded.

    Fantastic location and friendly hardworking staff. Great to see a rural hotle run so well.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    9.6
    A very pleasant 3 days and the proximity of the abbey is a good bonus. Location excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing really adverse although the bedroom bathroom washhand basin was cracked which we reported. The public rooms are a little "dated"

    In particular the staff. All very well instructed and pleasant and helpful. FULL marks

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    8.8
    Rude Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    During dinner in the Bistro on 19/7, the guy who was looking after the Bistro was extremely loud and rude to the point of abusive to an older couple sitting on an adjacent table, this was just not acceptable. The comment that caused this was a polite request that there order be taken. He did not apogise to tbis couple. Reluctant to recommend you which is a pity because the rest of the staff were very nice. My advise is to train him in customer service or sack him

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    8.5
    A very peaceful relaxing location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not a great deal of choice for vegan food.

    Excellent location with garden opening onto the River Tweed and adjacent to Dryborough Abbey. Staff warm and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    8.8
    I would return for a complete chill out and I’d take my dog.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pet friendly rooms a bit on the small side at the bottom and back of the hotel . Some areas are a bit dated .

    Excellent private hotel , grounds brilliant for walking , flat area ,hidden away from the hustle and bustle of town buzz . Food good , breakfast was superb.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    6.3
    Don't build up your hopes.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Abbey Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place is clearly in need of urgent tlc, the paint on the room door was in a sad state, faded and chopped. 10" TV in the room that did not work. Very very poor ventilation in the room. Likewise the bathroom, the fan could be heard working but there was no discernable airflow either in or outwards. Black mould on some of the bathroom grout. Massive amounts of sealant behind the taps /shower control & the join between taps and bath that needs intense cleaning effort as it was dark with grime. The glass shower panel that leaks water onto the floor which is probably the cause of the foisty smell. The cooked breakfast was poor, sausage overcooked on one side & undercooked (really) on the other. Black pudding had clearly been made earlier and left to keep warm--resulting in it being dry. Mushrooms undercooked. Dining room seating - most of the upholstery was noticeably frayed. The mirrored wall lamps were impressive but let down by poor cleaning. One was noticeably greasy and streaked for half of its height (about 3 ft) On checkout, reception staff did not ask about my stay or indeed the couple in front of me. I think I know why

    Location The bed was comfortable. The price though that should have warned me that the imposing old building might fall short of expectations.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    6.3
    Tired old style country property
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a view of the garbage cans. The upholstery in all public areas including the dining room with a dress code is threadbare if not falling apart. The hotel is in serious need of updating.

    Bedding was comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    9.2
    2 peaceful nights away from hustle and bustle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Abbey Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our view could have been better, spoilt by top of ground floor bay window.

    Felt comfortable with staff. Liked location and surrounding area. The hotel is roomy, has character and the public areas are well presented.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    10
    Lovely peaceful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely breakfast. Wonderful to have some natural yoghurt not just flavoured ones. The eggs florentine and eggs benedict were also a welcome change although the usual fare was also offered. The location was good for seeing the abbey next door. The hotel has a beautiful location looking over a river . The room was quiet and the bed was comfortable

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    9.2
    Very relaxing and peaceful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Abbey Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Swimming pool was a bit tired.

    Friendly. Lovely setting. Peaceful. Staff excellent. Breakfast was very good and plenty choice - had scrambled egg with smoked salmon. Lots of nice areas to sit both inside and out.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    Would love to return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Road signage could be better.

    Perfect in every way. Breakfast to order (eggs, pancakes, fruit, etc.) and great service. Beautiful surroundings and peaceful relaxing.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    7.5
    Very comfortable in beautiful surrounding .Great place to stay .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I asked the waiter if I could have hollandaise sauce over my poached Haddock & egg ( there are 3 dishes on the menu with the hollandaise sauce ) but “no the chef couldn’t do that “😳then the portion came half the size of the day before ! Toast was always over done even with asking for it not to be so . Can I say I never ask for or complain about anything so this did annoy me .

    Staff were very helpful apart from one !

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    8.8
    Restful, picturesque and tranquil surroundings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Staff were polite and friendly. Breakfast was excellent. Bar menu needs a bit more variety but the taste and quality of food was excellent. Beer batter onion rings were brilliant. Would travel just for these and the porridge.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    10
    Had a excellent stay at Dryburgh Abbey Hotel and will certainly be going back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Abbey Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Nice quite hotel with very friendly staff. The location beside the River Tweed was also good. Great choice of breakfast and the evening meals were excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    7.1
    Please sir can I have more.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny portions of cold expensive pretentious food. Bought the lamb main meal for £20...not enough meat to feed a Yorkshire terrier... When we questioned this... We're told "it's a taster menu" BS.... Woke up by a delivery lorry at 6 absolutely starving... Asked for an extra sausage 3 times at breakfast... It arrived after I'd finished!! Seems customer's are just too much trouble!!

    Comfy bed. Blackout blinds

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    Excellent .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    You could not get a 175ml glass of wine. They only offered 125ml and 250 ml which we found strange.

    The room was lovely . The bathroom was light and roomy. The food was excellent , so were the staff. Beautiful location by the river Tweed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    6.3
    Short and not so sweet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Abbey Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel is not what it once was.Seems in a time warp straight out of a poor 1980's renovation Exterior ok ,interior looks very tired and dated Bistro food was only ok ,we complained about starter and veg dishes Asked for a list of whiskies available to be told they don't do lists.So I had a G&T Restaurant decor is a shocker Staff always pleasant Looks like the place needs a new plan and makeover Most of the guests pension age so they had better get a move on

    The location next to the Abbey and the Tweed is exceptional very photogenic Enroute to the hotel make sure you take in Scotts view.Great vista of the Borders

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    9.6
    lovely hotel in a lovely location, great !
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    we would like to have spent more time in the lounge with our dog, but the hotel rules did not allow dogs in the public areas between 5pm and 9.30pm, the very time we like to relax with a drink.

    excellent bistro serving lovely well presented meals

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    6.7
    Food served in the bar area is good.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Abbey Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I've stayed twice for work in consecutive years and the rooms are very dated. Bedrooms and bathrooms in desparate need of renovation. The shower was not thermostatic, so burning or freezing depending on what water was being used in other rooms and very low pressure. Not even close to Premier Inn standards.

    Food served in the bar area is good. Staff noted to be helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    3.5
    They lied they gave no refund. Most dishonest people in Scotlandrichard
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Abbey Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Working internet. A little honesty up front.

    They lied Internet didn't work A sign at the desk said sorry internet is not working but To use this address and that worked slowly if you in the hallway10 rooms away from the room I Given. We checked out of the hotel 2 days early because of no internet . Payment was not refundable. Business trip I needed internet Horrible dishonest people.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    4.6
    Poor value for money. Faded grandeur needing investment and smartening up
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Abbey Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Facilities are tired. Could not supply anything more than sandwiches after 9pm. Curtains in room did not fully close. Evidence of lack of attention to cleanliness

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful setting, staff couldn’t have been more helpful in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had 2 rooms. One was pretty small considering paying the same for both.

    Beautiful setting, staff couldn’t have been more helpful in any way. Clean and comfortable

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    8.8
    A lovely overnight stay. Would recommend and we will definitely be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn’t find any faults.

    The hotel is out in the quiet countryside, on the river bank surrounded by lovely gardens. The staff were professional, friendly and eager to please. The rooms are traditional, clean with everything you need and our huge bed was so comfortable. We only had breakfast which was excellent, the porridge was to die for.

    Stayed in June 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Dryburgh Abbey Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: