Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of One Devonshire Gardens a Hotel Du Vin 5 stars

One Devonshire Gardens, North West, Glasgow, G12 0UX, United Kingdom

#16 of 76 hotels in Glasgow

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 827 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    9.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    See above. Added to that the food was very expensive and we did not really find anything on the menu that we really wanted.

    Wonderful room and facilities. However, the main ha; l;s and passageways need to be updates: it was all too dark and a bit worn.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There seemed to be plenty of plug sockets but some (including the one next to my side of the bed) had roung pin holes so I couldn't charge my phone next to me over night. The curtains were in need of repair. There wasn't a hand held shower attachment. On our return late on saturday night ( the fire at the Art School caused delays) we had to wait some time to be let into the hotel. The note on the door warned that staff might be away from the desk but we were starting to worry!

    the house(s) are amazing and spacious. The room was also very spacious and the bathroom had fantastic water pressure. The bath fills in seconds and the shower was wonderful. Hot water at all times.The bed was extremely comfortable, especially the pillows. I would have liked to stay for longer and have a lie in but we were very busy.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Staff were lovely, made us feel very relaxed. No issue with 3 dogs - so unusual in British hotels. The room was so very comfortable, we had only intended to stay one night but the staff and room were so good we booked another. We’ve stayed in lots of hotels but this one is so charming, comfortable and welcoming it is really hard to beat.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This was a last minute booking [in order to attend a family funeral] and there was only one room available. It was one of the smaller ones and not quite in the same league as the larger rooms which we have previously stayed in.

    As usual, very friendly and attentive staff prepared to assist with almost anything. A great location for activities in the West End [easily walkable if you want to]. There is lots of parking; this is a real bonus in Glasgow these days.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked an eStandby upgrade that has worked for us before. This time, the first room that we were upgraded to didn’t have the facilities offered in the upgrade. We were very quickly upgraded to a much better room at no extra cost, so no complaints, but it felt slightly off at the time. Overall the staff were very nice but seemed a little inexperienced for such a hotel.

    We have stayed before and like the rooms and the overall ambience. The staff are friendly and helpful. The restaurant is pretty good, especially the wine selection.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the furnishings in our room were a little scruffy.

    Excellent service and the room was very comfortable. We particularly enjoyed sitting out in the courtyard and "The Bothy".

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Club Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The reception staff were efficient but there was very little warmth to the initial greeting or subsequent interaction. They were there to process guests rather than add to the overall experience. A pity given the beautiful setting and expectation set by the star rating. A little tweak to this would make a huge difference to the overall stay.

    The property itself was incredible. Beautifully decorated and comfortable; a real treat visually. There was a gentleman in a kilt (Jimmy I think) who attended to bags and opened the gym for me one morning. He was amazing! Friendly, informative and engaging. He had the best tips for shopping in Glasgow. He really shone in what was a mediocre staff compliment otherwise. We enjoyed the location and had fun strolling around the west end of Glasgow. Breakfast was delicious, although the serving staff were once again a little bleak.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Club Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was exceptionally hot. Weather was very ‘close’ and the hotel provided a fan...only downside to staying in a beautiful listed building.

    Beautiful hotel, staff couldn’t have been nicer. Fabulous club sandwich in the bistro.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was really looking rather Tired and Gloomy - deep aubergine and chocolate brown is rather sad making although we had perfect sunny weather. The Hotel is being refurbished but not sure what colours they are using.

    The food in the Restaurant and the drinks in the Bar afterwards were lovely.....very good staff in the Bar who rang me in my room to tell me a diamond bracelet had dropped off my wrist and they had found it when cleaning the table.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Club Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    In some parts of the room the decor was quite tired and needed repair. It kind of let down an overall impression that was overall very positive indeed.

    The staff were very friendly and efficient

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The windows in our room could not be opened. Had a fan but still too hot.

    Character. Great decor. Lovely bathroom. Very good breakfast with unusual choices. Very good service.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Charges for snacks drinks in room given the price of the room. Cocktails disappointing with olives etc served once a long time after drinks other times none given. Breakfast wide choice but some poorly cooked, pips in orange juice, over cooked omelette, bunt poor quality pastries

    Location very large room restaurant excellent staff lovely

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing, everything you needed was there. The attention to detail was great.

    Everything was there to cater for your needs. This was a true 5 star place. I've stayed at places rated as 5 star but don't include 5 star services in the price but hotel du vin do. An amazing stay. I'll be back again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Club Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms have a striking decor, but the whole place seemed a little tired and in need of love/upkeep. For example the bathroom taps were wobbly and the furniture a little worn.

    1 Devonshire Gardens has a wonderful grandeur from another age. The kind old gentleman in a kilt who advised us on where to visit in Glasgow was utterly charming.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Club Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very dark interior in the bedroom but it is the general look of the place. Felt the bistro was neither bistro or restaurant. Not quite sure the have got it right, albeit the food is very good. Would really prefer a tablecloth when fine dining but that's just a personal preference.

    A very comfortable hotel with exceptionally helpful friendly staff. I love the location - West End of Glasgow is a lovely area. Very large room with spacious bathroom which had everything I could want. Extremely comfortable bed too. It was quiet and there were French windows onto a little gravel outside area (suitable for people travelling with dogs). Elegant bar with good bar snacks. Very good food in the bistro/restaurant. Really impressive service by bar and bistro staff. They know their stuff. Check in and out was quick and they really do look after you very well. Nothing is too much trouble. I will be back.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Club Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing. However, this stay is pre a large refresh, and still the quality shone through.

    The rooms were awesome. Big, airy, well kitted out, and a bath you could do laps in.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor information about breakfast and far too expensive. Poor atmosphere in Bistro restaurant for dinner and menu offered did not include additional menus on their own website, which we had to ask for.

    Room was very comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was such a shock to arrive and not know where to alight with the luggage in fact there were no spaces and we had to park some way from the hotel and carry the luggage which was exhausting

    We entertained special relatives and the ambience was so unforgettable

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As above

    Bedrooms need to retain their charm and Elegance but need updating. Carpets looked worn and dirty. Music systems out of date so not compatible with last few years version of iPhone. Whilst breakfast nice could tell it wasn’t freshly cooked to order as arrived very quickly. However, bathroom and room overall splendid and staff exceptionally friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room could have been more practical for a couple of things such as a better location of power outlet for the kettle, we ended up boiling ours precariously on a cupboard ledge. It was also a little dark in the room and the traffic was quite loud.

    Lovely hotel decor, in particular the bathroom was amazing.When we were checking out the next morning the staff were lovely.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only downside was the bed was a little too hard for us so we didn't sleep amazingly well on either night but it wasn't a massive deal at the time. It also would have been good to have had the breakfast included in the price, too. It's not a place that is close to the city centre so taxis and the underground are a must in order to get around.

    The room was beautiful. We wouldn't normally choose to stay in a place such as this as it's very expensive but for this treat, it was worth it and I'm glad we stayed here. We had a coffee machine, a beautiful bathroom with an amazing monsoon shower, a 4-poster, lots of towels and robes and slippers etc. The venue is in a lovely part of the city as well, a part that you might not get to see otherwise if you stay close to the city centre.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Club Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was a gift to our son and his wife upon his retirement as a Firefighter. They were disappointed with their stay - while room was spacious is was somewhat gloomy. The main complaint was the quality of the breakfast which they found to be very poor. Eggs not freshly cooked - bacon etc was cold - overall a huge disappointment. Sorry.

    Liked the area where hotel is situated. Room was big and comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room could hve been cleaner a bit dusty Last guest had set alarm to 6 pm so guess what we got woke up at 6 although not hotels fault and they were very apologetic! Eggs Benedict on a muffin is correct but usuallay always comes on both halves of the muffin not just one half of a muffin with bacon and egg seems poor

    The bed was very comfy , staff very friendly & polite , Bell boy(man) extremely nice and very chatty & helpful !!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast wasn't worth the additional cost. Great range of cold food. However the cooked food was either poorly sourced or had been frozen at some point.

    Very spacious rooms. Warm welcome on arrival. Beautiful classy decor. Lovely bath.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cold tap came out hot water for first five minutes of use! Plumbing gurgled intermittently - old system?

    Amazing breakfast = great quality and choice. Spacious room. Bar served fabulous cocktails. Staff were friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Club Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I found the room very dark because of the brown wallpaper and black shades, even the bathroom had black walls, it was too much. I wasn't able to open the bathroom window after a shower for ventilation and there was no vent. Also I believe the pillows were feather, certainly they were very soft with no real neck support, even using more than one. I would have liked a synthetic option with more support.

    I liked the big rooms and traditional style, the beautiful stained glass, the lounge and dining/bar areas. My room was a very good size with an extra dressing room I hadn't expected. The staff were very friendly and helpful. I have travelled extensively around the world and I've never had a warmer welcome. The breakfast was good with a great deal of choice and also had a nice bar lunch.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room itself was lovely with a beautiful big bathroom, complete with roll top bath and separate fabulous shower. However the floor looked like it hadn’t seen a mop in a while, and the whole place, bedroom and bathroom, was pretty dusty.

    The hotel itself is a beautiful building and the attention from the very friendly staff, is exceptional.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The gym is hopelessly tiny and poorly equiped. Doesn't merit the term fitness centre.

    Staff were great. Bed was OK. Meal in the restaurant was good. Nice hotel. Nice area. Good location near the botanical gardens and cafes just up the road. 15 minutes by car to the centre of town.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Club Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress was a little saggy and the room was too dark with no overhead light. The mirror was inside a cupboard so putting on makeup and blow drying hair was difficult as no bright light to see what you were doing. Rooms felt luxurious but a little tired.

    Staff were excellent and always obliging and ready to help. Great room facilities ie. ironing board and iron, in room coffee machine in addition to kettle. Loved the REN products.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Possibly more waitresses for wedding guests . As we felt that the staff were overworked because of a wedding .

    Ambience . The Room was excellent and the staff fantastic.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fading sadly. Nice rooms, dusty curtains soft furnishings need a clean. Bathroom huge but taps not working etc and this in one of their better rooms. Sad really. It was great when I went there many years ago.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was a little bit dusty in places.

    Breakfast was delicious. Bed and linen very comfy. Good temperature. Nice lounge area. Staff very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Obviously living on it's past reputation. Fell well short of what I expected. Not very clean. Bathroom certainly needs looking at. The Hotel needs to get an overhaul. Would not recommend it to anyone.

    To be honest I don't think I liked anything about the Hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room I thought I was getting was the same as last time I stayed with roll too bath etc but bath was not as good old and small

    The bed was comfy and staff were lovely

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit tired looking in places - worn stair carpets etcc. Kids banging doors like 40 times in the morning and our guests having to leave the bar at midnight - latter not under your control.

    Very large and comfortable room

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Club Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Being able to accommodate the dog who was delighted to be greeted as one of the party! The heavy snow was falling but every effort was made to address concerns arising from this. Love the quirky layout of this hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast wasn't freshly cooked and the overall quality of the food was surprisingly poor. The room was also dirty - we found a month-old takeaway receipt on the floor! For the price, it wasn't nearly good enough. It tries for old world grandeur but in the end it's just quite shabby.

    Bed was big, clean and comfy. The room was spacious and bright. The manager immediately gave us a full refund after we raised our concerns so I can't complain at all about the customer service.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No reference to my booking. I ended up in a lower grade room -club room and I had booked a grand room. The issues of the room were the cleanliness and comfort were both shocking for the standard of hotel. I didn't bother complaining as I had took my partner away for the night and wanted it to be as stress free as possible. The bed was grand looking but the mattresses were very uncomfortable and we both had a very unsettled sleep.

    The staff were friendly and helpful and the food was good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely stay in a superior suite with a beautiful big roll top bath, shower was amazing too! Breakfast was delicious in a beautiful room with great service

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Few stains around the room but understand it may be a bit lived in and in need of a renovate. Aqua tv in the bath didn’t work but whatever. Sandwich was mouldy.... but service was great when complained and everything else was so good that it didn’t really matter all that much.

    Gorgeous hotel! And amazing service! Free upgrade for my boyfriends birthday. Complained about one main course and got the whole bill free. Just fantastic service.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was lovely and we throughly enjoyed our stay. The first room we had was a lovely room however there was nowhere that I could get ready eg dry my hair, put on my make up etc. The only mirror I could see myself in was in the bathroom , the electricity supply ( rightly so ) was out side the door and my hairdrier wouldn't reach , plus the lighting was very subdued. That said we were moved the following day, with no hassle and our second room ticked all the boxes. The hotel was very clean and comfortable 👍🏽

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar not well staffed had to wait for sometime to be served. Decor fairly dated wallpaper scrapped and room dusty, curtains dirty on inside

    Friendly staff on arrival

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved the room - it was beautifully furnished and spacious with ample seating. The bathroom has a separate bath and shower and is spotless. We had an outdoor area with tables and chairs. Sarah at reception assisted us in anything we needed and we were shown around the hotel by the friendly (kilt clad) concierge. We had everything we could have wanted and needed for our stay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was by the bins at the back so we heard noise during the day but nothing that kept us awake at night.

    Lovely hotel in historic terrace. Really nice residential area but only 10 mins walk to bars, restaurants, shops and subway on byres road. Staff are so friendly and helpful, walking you to your room and explaining the history of the buildings. Room was huge and very comfortable, great bathroom. Really appreciated the upgrade from the standard room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Club Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of parking. Unsuitable for anyone with mobility issues such as myself, but this wasn't made clear by the hotel, for which I was generously compensated.

    Beautiful, quirky listed building. Individually decorated rooms of varying size and standard. Wonderful staff. Incredible food!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had booked this stay for my brother for his 30th birthday, phoned the morning of the stay to pay in full for the stay as it was a gift. The gentleman on the phone told me this wasn't possible to pay over the phone?!? I explained the situation but that didn't seem to make a difference so I had to send the money to my brother meaning he knew the cost and had to deal with payment - not a massive deal but would have rather he didn't have to. My brother did have an amazing stay but reported there were people being drunk and loud outside their room at 12am and again at 2am which did affect their sleep, not the hotels fault of course but perhaps they should monitor the noise more.

    My brother had a lovely stay, the room was perfect with good facilities and the breakfast was amazing.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking is insufficient for a hotel of this size. The bar also is too small and was full when we turned up, but there were other lounge areas to get a drink.

    Very nice atmosphere and friendly staff. Breakfast was very nice.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room could have been much cleaner! Toothpaste splashes on bathroom wallpaper, dust in several areas, dirt around bottom of taps in bathroom. The hotel let itself down in these aspects of cleanliness

    Friendly staff. Were upgraded to a duplex suite from a deluxe room. Tasting menu good and the restaurant personnel were knowledgeable and efficient.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Club Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room position, next to reception so rather noisy. Use of micro-thin plastic bags in waste bin in the bathroom.

    Large, beautifully furnished room and bathroom. Excellent facilities. Great room service.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above - bed, carpets, noise, windows.......

    Dinner was lovely - sommelier was a true joy to meet. Yet again lots of noise though outside room which was so off-putting. Bed was like a veritable brick - have you never come across things called mattress toppers guys?? It would help a bit. Lovely quirky hotel overall but stair carpets are worn, room was very tired indeed (couldn’t close windows as frames so warped and despite asking for a quiet room I couldn’t sleep a wink hardly on such a brick hard bed you think I jest - try room pascal somethingorother - so disappointed yet again. I have tried to be forgiving and patient but can’t see us returning.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent Hotel and caring staff,food was outstanding and nice comfy and relaxing bar. Ten minutes from the Hydro and Armidillo. It is also pet friendly.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    But there are too few sockets for electrical equipment and it is impossible to plug in the hair dryer and face a mirror. The view to the back of the hotel is grim, but what can they do about that? The dry smoked haddock and omelette for breakfast was a disappointment. Fresher fish and two poached eggs would have been a great improvement.

    It is a magnificent set of buildings, with outstanding stained glass. The rooms are innovative and luxurious.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is a bit far from the centre of Glasgow

    The hotel is really beautiful and our suite was really luxurious and comfortable. The restaurant was very good and had good food Good service and a great atmosphere

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I was very disappointed with the food. I had expected more choice and perfect cuisine as a norm for a hotel of such quality and reputation. I had soup on room service and asked for granary bread. It arrived with sliced brown bread and packets of Flora. Not what I would have expected.

    My room was superb as I had been upgraded to a suite as I had mentioned that I was very unsteady on stairs. The staff were all incredibly pleasant and there was always someone around to help with any queries.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Of course a few of our favourites are still there - John - the Ghillie- an institution!However the breakfast stafff- one in particular showed complete disinterest . I didnt get any sense there was any pride in her work and she really just wanted to get out of there. In the past I always sensed folk were happy to work there. Now I am not so sure. We got a room right next to Hyndland road - noisy and cold. Thought as a regular attender we would get some recognition- not so.

    We got married in this hotel. We visit it almost every year . Its a beautiful place to be and looked gorgeous at Christmas

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were excellent - that made our stay. Everyone we spoke to was friendly, informative and helpful. While it is an upmarket hotel, the atmosphere was relaxed and comfortable, making us feel very welcome. Would highly recommend.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to dislike.

    The room was very spacious and clean, an excellent bath and bathroom, the bed was large and so comfy and our bags were brought up to our room for us.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    everything was great

    visited for afternoon for birthday celebration and overnight stay service was great staff very friendly and helpful, room was fabulous although a few minor repairs required

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Trying to answer this would be nit picking. The hotel was very, very good.

    The hotel meets the standards of a quality hotel for which Hotel du Vin is known.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    i went for a smoke and couldn't find my way back to the room

    if i could could give the staff more than a 10 i would they were really lovely and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Club Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cleaning and general maintenance.

    There are no restaurants near the property . It is about a mile to the nearest pub or cafe so you can get a bus or a taxi or walk. The room we had was fabulous. it was extremely large with a large bath with granite surround and a large walk in shower. The bed was so high up I struggled to get into it . It was extremely comfortable and I had a great nights sleep in it. One night though I forgot how high up I was and stepped off it and landed on the floor. the room is very grand ,however I did feel the whole hotel was a bit jaded. The cleaning wasn't up to scratch as one would expect in a 5 star hotel. the granite round the bath needed a good polish and I noticed the maid didn't clean it from one day to the next it still had the same marks on it. The floor hadn't been mopped either and I rana my finger along the picture frame next to the loo and it was covered in dust. The hook in the bathroom was broken behind the door and I felt th shower was blocking and in need of a deep clean. Obviously a lot of the furnishings are quite old but in the hall there were two lovely leather chairs and the leather had worn off on the arms making them look scruffy. there was only one milk sachet for two people which I thought was a bit stingy. Danny the porter however was fantastic and extremely helpful and nice to chat to as were most of the staff. Breakfast was very good a lovely selection of high quality food. I had eggs Benedict and they were perfect. second day I had a muesli bar which was home made and it was lovely followed by a lovely cherry yogurt. My husband had omelets both days . Nice coffee and very good fruit juice apple or orange and very good quality. all in all a lovely relaxing stay.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was a bit put out being asked to pay on arrival, which was very unusual and felt like they thought I couldn't afford to stay there.

    The room was large and warm and very comfortable. Nice heavy curtains to keep out the light and the cold.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was dirty: mould on windows and in shower; dust on most surfaces; tights from previous guest found in drawer. Furniture and decor tired and worn: broken lamp; stuffing coming out of chairs, chipped furniture; damaged lampshades; missing blind pull. Disappointing room service: sent back incorrect order, only for it to be replaced by order with the same issues half an hour later (this was taken off the bill but doesn’t make up for the fact that my partner and I had to eat separately). Shower: in addition to the mould, the shower didn’t drain properly, which was very unpleasant. Technology: great to have sound system, but the technology was outdated, meaning we were unable to physically connect our personal devices. Temperature: no thermostat to control room temperature. Noise: single glazing meant noise from road was audible. Coffee facilities: only two mini milk pots provided and these were both soya milk.

    Hotel building is beautiful and public areas comfortable. Staff very friendly and helpful. Barman knowledgeable of Scottish whiskies.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Couple
    • Club Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We were disappointed that, even after we drew this to the attention of staff, nothing was done concerning a black van which parked overnight on the double yellow lines in the turning bay, making it very difficult for other drivers to turn their cars. Of course we accept that parking the West End is difficult.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was dirty. Towels provided stained. Mold in shower on walls. Drains in shower and tub did not drain. Used tissues on floor upon arriving. Room needs to be totally upgraded.

    Location and restaurant.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Food in the restaurant was ok but nothing special.

    Staff are friendly and helpful. They cater for needs without any fuss. Rooms are comfortable and quiet. Fires were warm and welcoming on the snowy days. Consistently good

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We felt that the room we were in required upgrading and was a bit tired but this did not detract from our enjoyment of our stay

    Location and uniqueness of five town houses in one hotel. Staff in the hotel were extremely helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    4 hours for dinner to be completed. Kitchen clearly overwhelmed by Sat night crowd. Portions miniscule by end of night. Waiters hopeless. No management on duty to supervise chaos.

    Helpful concierge.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was very hard, not allowed to keep bottle of champagne on table??? Staff were supposed to top up glass when it was getting low? Not good as staff busy and not always have time to get to you

    Size of room, parking was free, staff were first classs

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needed to park a few streets away, nothing to be done there though given the locacion

    Upgraded to a suite, great touch of luxury at this place and amazingly unpretentious.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Club Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It took a while to find a parking space but it was a lovely clear night! Once in my room I could only find one socket next to the bed whereas I really needed two. Although it was a leisurely stay, I had work to do and needed my phone and laptop nearby.

    The bed was so comfortable that I didn't get out of it! The room was cosy with muted shades of tweed and white linen, The bathroom had both shower and free standing bath and although it looked recently upgraded, it had kept the traditional style for which it has become well-known. The staff were very courteous with a warm welcome and a pleasant farewell.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Up graded to suite,very spacious room with good views from window,room very comfortable and well laid out.Traveling with wife and mother in law,her room was also up graded and again was very spacious and well presented.Have stayed here before and will do so again.Breakfast is always very good as are all the staff that we had dealings with.Have always got parking spot in front of hotel never had issue,easy access to west end

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not applicable

    The rooms were very spacious and comfortable. The breakfast was wonderful and there was a good choice of cooked options or cereals. Really enjoyed sitting by the fire in the Lounge bar sipping an excellent malt whisky.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Club Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the windows are old so in the morning the traffic is loud and wakes you up early, not good if you are on holiday and you just want to relax and wake up late

    Everything was extremely beautiful and clean.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is a lovely traditional hotel, the staff were extremely friendly and helpful, the room was very modern and comfortable, great breakfast included. It's about 10 mins walk to the West Shops and Botanic Gardens.

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: