Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Duke Of Gordon Hotel 3 stars

Newtonmore Road, Kingussie, PH21 1HE , United Kingdom

#7 of 9 hotels in Kingussie

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 195 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    8.8
    We felt welcome, valued and enjoyed our short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The building is old and slightly tired in places but they make a good job of presenting it well.

    Very friendly and helpful staff. We arrived very late having cycled cross country for 45 miles. So late that we missed the restaurant and the local shops, but the staff made sure we had a meal and drinks before turning in for the night. Also our bike lock was not working so they provided secure storage for our bikes. Big comfy bed and great traditional breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    6.3
    A over expensive hotel should have been around £50.00 not £99.00 A very posh hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the noise whilst trying to sleep the train noise, the voices, the heat was too hot, the bonging of the clock on the hour. The lack of shampoo in the bathroom no biscuits with the cup of tea.

    the comfortable bed, the outstanding breakfast, the beautiful room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    7.5
    Lovely grand hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely big grand restaurant where other people were having breakfast but disappointingly we were put in the side room.

    Lovely old buiding with original features, very nice friendly reception staff/manager who gave us the fantastic apartment rooms. Great position in the town.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    9.6
    Very traditional and comfortable, great location and fabulous scenery all around. Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was nothing at all we didn't like.maybe the fact we wanted to stay longer.....

    The Duke of Gordon is a wonderful fixture of Kingussie..The hotel is traditional and fits in with the little village it is situated in. The Room we had was large and lots of space, we had a four poster wooden bed..which was so comfy. A large bathroom and shower with plenty of fresh towels. The staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Fran who was on the front desk, was so friendly and even so that my laundry was done within a few hours and ready for collection. It was a lovely hotel in a quiet little village and we will be returning for a longer stay soon. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    8.8
    Huge big room, and a decent sized TV.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Daft things let the score down for this hotel, you have to pay £10 deposit to get a hair dryer, ive never come across that one in the now hundreds of hotels ive stayed in, no toiletries and half a loo roll...... and the staff kept knocking on the door to get in the room before i had left. Just daft things, but if they tighten up on the small stuff, up will go their rating (and probs prices)....

    Huge big room, and a decent sized TV...spotlessly clean and very comfortable with a massive bed. Had a meal in the bar which was very nice. I will stay here again, it was very nice indeed.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    7.5
    Adequate hotel in a good location for touring
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In need of decorating. No toiletries. Liquid soap container can’t be reached from bath. Breakfast did not have as large a choice of cooked items as most hotels.

    Size of room. Comfortable bed. Porridge

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    7.1
    Average
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was poor quality and limited to fried food there with very little fruit .Two of the girls in the breakfast team had a terrible attitude seemed more interested in taking piss out of the elderly guests on a bus tour . When we went to check out all we got from the receptionist was "your good to go" what ever happened to "how was ur stay ". The best staff seem to be the Eastern Europeans who all worked hard and were very polite. God help this place after brexit

    Room was clean,spacious and comfortable. Bar staff were excellent

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    9.6
    Definitely recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi reception patchy or not available in parts of the hotel.

    Romm spacious, hotel furnishings and ambience first class. Restuarant and breakfast also first class.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.3
    Great stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is beautiful, location is great and staff are very helpful. We were very pleased with this place and the bed was MASSIVE and very very comfy. Will be back!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    7.9
    Room very big and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast could have been better towards the end of the service when some things were cold.

    Room very big and comfortable. A quiet good night's sleep. Staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    2.9
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The photo of hotel was deceiving- looks like it has a nice garden set in the country. In fact it was on a main road with no garden. The whole place was so old and creaky it was scary. It smelled musty and smoky and was very stuffy with no air circulation. Doesn’t look like this place has been updated in at least a half century. Appreciate wanting to keep the old style but it just felt run down. Breakfast and breakfast staff were horrible. Charged 12 pounds for cold cereal and coffee. Many stars to climb with heavy luggage.

    Bed was comfortable. Front desk staff was nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    7.5
    A traditional hotel with a local flavour
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Good large room with bath rather than shower. Breakfast Room has beautiful 19th Century artwork. Breakfast included Porridge and Haggis as well as freshly cooked items. Staff were friendly and atmosphere was that of a traditional Railway Hotel. It is a short walk from the station and there are buses to Aviemore and the Highland Wildlife Park except on Sunday. Local taxi service from Aviemore good. I expected to see Michael Portillo on one of his train journeys.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    4.2
    Disappointing and not worth the money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel needed a bit of money spent on it. It was a tired and jaded version of the hotel in the pictures. Decoration was poor and the room was not welcoming or comfortable.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    6.7
    Enjoyed our stay quite expensive for condition offered
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Duke of Gordon is dated and tired. However they get away with the condition as it is represented as being old

    Very big room. Very warm due to boiler under room which was great for us.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.2
    An enjoyable stay and we would go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The cooked breakfast - it had been standing a little too long and had become a bit rubbery . sausage was tasteless so disappointed that it was not local produce as superb suppliers in the area.

    Liked the comfort of the room and the fact you could open windows. Super clean bedding and facilities. Staff so friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    5.0
    See above!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room on top floor. Receptionist did try for a room on lower floor but not possible,hotel very busy with coach parties.Lift to second floor then stairs to next floor, rather tiring going up & down. In dining room for breakfast, told we had to keep to same table but two settings at large table which had obviously been used by coach party were allocated to us. Next morning "ourplaces" at large table already occupied, so we were put to another large table, but at least the tablecloth was clean. We just stayed 2 nights. Receptionist was understanding

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    7.5
    Not good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I booked I stated that I had difficulty walking and was a blue badge holder and when I and my son booked in they allocated us a room on the third floor and the lift only went to the second floor. We were also told that we could not use the dining room for our evening meal as it was fully booked with coach travelers and we could only get bar meals.

    Room was very clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    8.3
    Overall nice stay; good for a quick visit. Night time entertainment in ballroom a big plus.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Older building so the walls were a little thin - could hear the person next door and their congestion issues all night. Internet spotty - Kids had no coverage in their room.

    Rooms clean and functional if you plan to basically sleep and shower there. Loved the nightly entertainment in the ballroom. Liked the free Wi-Fi and breakfast was terrific.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    8.3
    Nice cosy hotel worth the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was one staff member in bar that was not polite and his attitude was much different from everyone else in hotel

    The breakfast and food is good but the hotel is catering for bus tours and people in the age group of 60 upwards but nice cosy hotel. A place for your granny to go to

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    10
    Beds super comfy and staff so friendly only thing I’d say...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds super comfy and staff so friendly only thing I’d say was the family rooms are above the disco so expect that . Can’t remember the ladies name who did the breakfast but she was so lovely and really friendly

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    9.2
    The Duke is a great base to start all kinds of adventures. there is much to do in the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some of the staff were a little grumpy but then it's hard to smile all the time isn't it?

    The breakfast menu was both continental and traditional Scottish, and the food was delicious.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    6.3
    Room was quite big with nice views, really good food in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I never seen stained table linens like that in the restaurant !!! £2.5 for 2 plain pancakes for breakfast doesn’t worth!!!

    Room was quite big with nice views, really good food in the bar

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    5.4
    You expect a vintage feeling hotel, but it’s just outdated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You expect a vintage feeling hotel, but it’s just outdated. We ordered burgers for dinner and it was uneatable. Breakfast was ok. I wouldn’t say it’s dirty, but wasn’t clean either.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    8.3
    Great if in an organised coach party
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very geared up to the coach parties. When we ate we were in a side room next to the breakfast counter which lacked all atmosphere that we’d gone for. A shame really. Mum left some clothes in the wardrobe but when we rang up they’d been taken so we never got them back. Really sad as we were planning to return :(

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    10
    Had a lovely break .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The buffet breakfast, although the food was good I prefer to be served,there was a Bit of a queue to wait in.

    The staff were all lovely and friendly, our room was great too. The food in the hotel was good, overall my sister and I had a lovely break and would come back again but we would bring the car next time.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    6.7
    Short stay, did okay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The remainder of the staff seemed to struggle a bit.

    Great location and easy to get to. It's seen better days, but it is charming. One staff member knew exactly how service worked ...

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    8.8
    Room was Clean and Comfy , Staff were all Friendly and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was Ok for us

    Room was Clean and Comfy , Staff were all Friendly and Helpful , breakfast and Evening meals were Good , Entertainment in Ballroom was good .

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    6.3
    Convenient location for the purpose of our visit
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel rather tired looking in decor.... Evidence of flooding on ceiling and bathroom in need of upgrade

    Convenient location for the purpose of our visit

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    6.7
    Friendly staff, clean+efficient service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really needs modernised, it's very dated and old fashioned. Breakfast was better than dinner, but food was just OK.

    Friendly staff, clean+efficient service.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    5.0
    Not great value and one night was maximum I would stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food in bar area was poor quality Room was in serious need of some repairs and TLCChip in bath and touch up paints on wall made it patchy

    The staff were friendly

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    7.1
    Good ! Some staff could be kinder
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Second room was smaller and at the far end of the hallway, which had no wifi connectivity at all. We arrived a little late for breakfast, however the kitchen staff were very rude in telling that no breakfast was available even though we saw them clearing the tables in front of us. She was very rigid on the time and did not propose even some tid-bits. We would have appreciated a little bit more politeness and generosity from a 3 start hotel whose main business is in the 'hospitality' industry. However, one of the staff was kind enough to provide some bread and butter with coffee and she was definitely an exception from the rest of the lot.

    The hotel location and facilities were decent. One of the room that we got was a outhouse independent room which was very spacious. There were staff from the bar who helped us during a late check-in process.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    6.7
    SHORT STAY AT DUKE OF GORDON
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    HAD EVENING MEAL IN THE BAR, FISH AND CHIPS AND SCAMPI OF THE FROZEN VARIETY NOT UP TO THE HOTELS STANDARD ROOM FINE BUT NO DRESSING TABLE WITH MIRROR TO PUT ON MAKE-UP AND DO HAIR.

    LARGE COMFY ROOM

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    5.4
    Coach Trip Heaven, Wedding Bliss, Independent Traveller Hell.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is an hotel catering for coach tours and as a wedding venue mainly. Individual travellers feel out of place here, as we did. Won't stay again.

    Location in National Park is good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    7.9
    The Older Generation Love It..........
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Towels all Thread Bare Smallest Glass in the World for a Highland Coffee, Breakfast plate was Served by the Portion Police on a Side Plate, I'm Not 12yrs Old

    Massive Bed, Very Comfy, Corner room, Lots of Light

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    9.2
    Nice room, horrid food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a big disappointment. I am vegetarian, I was offered beans scrambled eggs and deep fried bread. No potato scones, mushrooms, tomatoes.....

    Big, comfortable room. Reception staff very helpful, when we arrived we discovered our room was above the entertainment and we requested another room, and this was no problem.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    5.4
    Over-priced shabby room, hotel needs modernising and more careful management.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shabby room, old carpet, holes in ceiling, poor lighting, very dark, looked out on bins and dumped furniture, net curtain the wrong size to cover the window. High price for a low standard room, poor choice of mediocre food in the evening. We stayed in several places around Scotland, this was the most expensive and by far the worst!

    Convenient location, good parking, breakfast okay.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    10
    exelent holiday destination
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cant think of anything ,maybe a lift to top floor as one gets older it becomes harder

    We could not fault anything about this hotel, beds great, food great, perfect all round

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    7.5
    Mixed
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My towel was thin and ragged. A disgrace. Breakfast was poor, terrible porridge, tepid coffee, cold board like toast. Cooked breakfast ok. Manager grumpy at checkout.

    Staff worked very hard. Surroundings pleasant and in good repair. Beds very comfortable. Plenty hot water.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    10
    Nice Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We didn't like the fact that Booking.Com hadn't informed the Hotel of our booking. Just as well they had a free room for us & I had the details of the original booking on my phone. The lady who booked us in said this had happened before- through a Booking.Com reservation. Other than that all went well.

    Lovely place to stay, staff all very friendly. Beautiful location with beautiful scenery all around. Plenty choice for breakfast. I can't fault anything about the Duke of Gordon . Really enjoyed our stay. I would definitely return.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    8.3
    Close to the train station, clean and quiet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was strange - it wasn't made clear whether or not we could help ourselves. Not a lot of hot vegetarian options, and the cook used the same utensils for the meat items for the beans and tomatoes. The barman the night before was a little gruff, but every other staff member was lovely.

    Close to the train station, clean and quiet. A nice traditional hotel, a little aged but still in good order. The staff were lovely for the most part. There were a couple of coach tours staying the same night as us, but we couldn't hear them from our room and got a good night's sleep. For what we paid, it was a good-value last-minute choice.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    5.0
    Not value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The upstairs definately needs to be redecorated and updated as carpets worn and walls dirty. There is no light at the dressing table for women to do their hair and make-up. When I booked online I specifically asked for two twin beds - which I got but they were pushed together and made up as a kingsize! There was also a mixup with the breakfast as staff were told breakfast starts at 8.30am and the rolling noticeboard advised guests it was from 6.30am.

    The ground floor has been redecorated and has new carpets and chairs. The room was large.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2017

    5.8
    Expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely hot both in rooms and public places. Catering for very elderly and infirm?

    Breakfast good but served on tiny plates. For the price we paid should have had bigger plates.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    7.5
    A hotel built for coach trips
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Low dormer roof in the bathroom which I walked into repeatedly in the dark, shooting stars style pub singers in the function rm below our room till 10.30 pm.

    Location, clean room,

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    7.1
    Mediocre Hotel in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Female bar staff member made me feel unwelcome. Kept pestering to sign he bill. Felt Hotel pandered to coach parties rather than individual guests. Breakfast was limited if you didn't want the cooked option

    Comfortable room for with nice view

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    5.8
    Very disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel looks good from the outside, but inside it is badly in need of upgrading. The carpets throughout are stained and worn, and the woodwork is in need of maintenance. The room was small, the towels were threadbare, and the toilet roll holder was coming away from the wall. The accommodation is overpriced. We would not return.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    7.5
    A pleasant place to lay one's head
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was extremely annoyed by the fact that the Polish housekeeper knocked on my door 3 times before 09:30, trying to get in and clean the room. The first time, she actually started to barge in!!! (Checkout time is 11:00). After that, I had to wedge a chair at the door to stop her! As she doesn't speak English, the chances of encouraging her to stop this annoying practice are remote.

    A nice, old fashioned Scottish hotel that dates back probably to the late 1800s. It has lovely, squeaky floorboards. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    7.1
    Needs a bit of TLC!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-Fi very poor unless sat in reception. Receptionist said she was unaware of late check-out for genius members. Geared for coach parties and you can get lost in the crowd!

    Large, airy room but needed some attention to basics such as chipped furniture.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    7.5
    Spacious room in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was poor in areas. I found the bar staff to be quite unhelpful and rude at times.

    Rooms were very spacious, and the location was great. Onsite parking was an obvious bonus.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    3.8
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel needs a complete makeover. Very tired. No lights going to bedrooms on our return from night out. Had to use light on mobile to go up the stair and along corridor as it was pitch black.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2016

    9.6
    Rooms really comfortable, way the whole hotel is presented...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slightly difficult to find if traveling in the dark - signage hard to see in the dark. Suggest some lighting by the sign would make it better.

    Rooms really comfortable, way the whole hotel is presented is very good.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    6.3
    Old style but not all that comfy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were a bit old and the carpet felt dated and shabby The wifi was terrible. Really only worked in the bar and restaurant. It diddle work in the bedrooms. The water was only Luke warm.

    A very nice old hotel with lots of character. Awesome friendly barman and polite staff. Opposites park and close to the heart of the village

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    7.9
    Lovely hotel pity about food which is major part of holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food a real let down both breakfast and in ghillie's even toast brought to table stone cold

    Room spotless beds really comfy badly let down with cold unappetising food .

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    6.7
    Good Value for Money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The walls are paper thin, could unfortunately hear the chap in the room next door snoring all night. Unfortunately nothing the hotel can do about this. Overall good hotel for the money.

    Bed was comfortable enough. Breakfast Okay. Overall good value for money. Far cheaper than staying in the heart of Aviemore and not too far away.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    3.8
    Location only
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room condition, quirky floors, worn out towels, uncomfortable beds. The breakfast was not good either. Cold and staff was just not happy to serve.

    Location only

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    8.8
    Good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food in the evening was over cooked. The hot food in the morning had been dried out from the overhead heater. If I was paying more I would have been disappointed

    Value for money - the hotel was much better than I thought it would be for the cost

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    9.2
    a very good weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no internet access

    the room was amazing huge the breakfast was freshly cooked for you and you had a choice also a continental one also the location of the hotel was fantastic close to everything we wanted

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    5.4
    Average at best!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is so grossly misrepresenting itself through its main advertising photo and own website claims. It isn't an 'estate', there are no grounds bar a car park. The grand looking flower lawn in the photo is actually the garden on the opposite side of the main road. The old part of the hotel has been extended using fake stone. They claim to pride themselves in their cuisine. What a worry! The breakfast is congealed unless you get up at 7:30 I guess. The main meal is touch and go, depending on what you choose. I'll say more on Trip Advisor.

    The warm, powerful shower. We had a comfy night's sleep.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    6.7
    Average.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff not very friendly.no one asked if we enjoyed,our meal,did we enjoy our stay.a

    Room fine as long as you can climb stairs.sst

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    5.4
    Food and restaurant service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food and restaurant service

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    6.3
    Had a nice meal in the bar
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room smelt damp

    Had a nice meal in the bar

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    7.1
    Passable for one night
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast poor selection and bacon and sausage cold fried eggs looked very greasy and scrambled egg was warm no mushrooms

    Room was alright

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    8.0
    Very pleasant accomodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower not good.

    Staff very pleasant and helpful. GOOD entertainment very nice hotel

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    10
    Lovely relaxing overnight stay which broke up an otherwise long journey
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didnt try popular restaurant but bar meal was pretty average

    Lovely old coaching hotel which hadn't been modernised to within an inch of its life

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    7.5
    Overall I was not disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There were problems with the internet, but this might not have been the fault of the hotel

    Based on price the hotel met my expectations

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    8.3
    Good sized room, very clean, tasty breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Internet connection could be better

    Good sized room, very clean, tasty breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    9.6
    great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    no

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    8.3
    Had a really nice time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The small bar staying open longer

    The staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    5.0
    Great location but stay away from the food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food both in the bar restaurant and breakfast was awful. Hotel very dated

    Location Comfy bed

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    5.5
    Would not stay here again, as focus is for coach tour clientele.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is owned by a coach tour company.

    The bed was comfy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    9.2
    Excellent value for money, great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent value for money, great location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    10
    Standard is what we've come to expect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything the staff were very friendly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    7.9
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not knowing we had breakfast with the room

    Good view from room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    10
    Comfortable pleasant stay and good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very cold vegetables with evening meal.

    Felt comfortable with log fire, home from home

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    10
    Really good, would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well cooked tasty food.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    7.9
    Convenient location, comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location and ambience of this hotel

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: