Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Duke Of Normandie 3 stars

Lefebvre Street, St Peter Port, GY1 2JP, United Kingdom

#7 of 24 hotels in St Peter Port

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 570 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    9.2
    Very comfortable and enjoyable overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The weather was very hot so air conditioning would make it perfect

    Great Room - No 20. Free standing bath in bedroom with shower in bathroom. Limited view of the harbour from the bath. Very comfortable bed. Excellent dinner with great service.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    9.2
    Good food, comfy bed, nice bar with outdoor seating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Compact Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms very hot no air con. no lifts to get luggage to your room, could not gat van into car park entrance to low.

    Good food, comfy bed, nice bar with outdoor seating.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    7.9
    Hotel fine staff great but fore court noise at night let it down, wont stay here again.
    • Couple
    • Compact Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The hotel was based in a fore court and there was seating out side to sit and have a drink. We noticed on friday and saturday evenings there was lots of people out side talking till late in the evening midnight which kept us a wake. On our last night the friday we were kept a wake all night by four young lads. Who had no respect for any one, they'd been out and decided to sit outside talking loud at 3am in the morning. I ended up opening my window to tell them to be quiet. The next morning we complained to the manager, and lots of other people complained too.

    Good friendly staff, very clean hotel and excellent waiter service. Did a lovely breakfast and meals in the bar were good. Our room was always cleaned every day and change of towels can not complain about staff they were brilliant.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    8.3
    Good as always
    • Solo traveller
    • Compact Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I seem to always get checked into the outside block rooms, which are nice but loud and bright in the morning. Feel a bit on edge knowing people are right outside my window chatting when there’s only a louvre blind separating us! A bath would be nice next time instead of just a shower :)

    Usually stay here, convenient for town, friendly reception staff, clean rooms, comfy beds and nice towels and sheets.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    8.3
    staff good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    As mentioned a fan would be helpful in warmer weather.

    staff good. We were upgraded to the "cottage", a large ground-level room with kitchen and big bathroom. No aircon so could have used a fan. Location just off the main pedestrian shopping street, and close to the harbor. Breakfasts were good, we did not eat other meals here. On our last day we had an early departure and were given a breakfast tray the night before, a nice touch. We did find it expensive but all of England is for us from Canada.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    7.9
    It was a convenient and pleasant place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Corridors are beginning to look a little grubby. The room was clean but not sparkling (used tissue down side of bedside cabinet!)

    Prime position in town. Staff extremely friendly and helpful.Service and food in 'Pickled Pig' very good and good value

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    9.2
    Had a lovely time even though room was tiny 😜
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Compact Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Compared to my room our friends had much bigger rooms and we paid the same price:( Piggled Pig pub connected was very dark.

    Comfy bed and quality bedding. Lovely staff. Great location ! Food was good too and quite reasonable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Compact Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Doing a repair on a Yatch in the marina , Ideal location for this repair just a walk away

    It was clean Ideal location , great beer garden, and restaurant

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    9.2
    Perfectly located, friendly hotel with great restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing much.

    Terrific location for exploring the delightful town of Guernsey and all its nearby attractions. The in-house restaurant, 'The Pickled Pig' serves some of the best food on the island--of our 3 nights' stay we ate there twice. Friendly, helpful staff, especially Nelson, Rhoy and Sergei in the restaurant, and all front desk staff. Room was comfortable with good bathroom. While exploring the town we visited 2 other hotels we'd originally thought of booking, just to check them out. Both of these were more expensive with higher star ratings, and although at first sight The Duke of Normandie looks somewhat unprepossessing, neither of these others could match it for location or convenience. We were delighted with our choice!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.2
    Base of operation to see the tremendous WWII occupation museums.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Yes, it is an older property, and the rooms are a bit tight, but don’t stay in the room, get out and see the area, or the Beer Garden, or the Pickeled Pig!

    The staff was very responsive and the location next to the ferry harbor and town was great. Guernsey is laid back, but very interesting to experience. Being in St Peter Port is very useful as most of the attractions are close ( but always uphill for some reason).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    8.3
    Downtown location. Convenient, clean and quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Room was smaller than we would have liked. Finding space for two suitcases was a problem.

    Newly renovated. Everything worked and was clean. Breakfast was very good. Parking was limited but we always found a spot.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    7.5
    Probably would not stay again sorry
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bottom sheet on the bed was too small by about 6inches so bearly went over the edges of the mattress. ANTs in room dispite fact we were on the upper level. Dad - in seperate room had dressing gowns but none in our room. Metal staircase was spiral and not really suitable for any one for with disabilities. The rooms either had a high step up or a step down to enter - and they were quite high. At times the carpark/beer garden was so noisy with kids running around it was like a playground.

    The breakfast was great - and the service was outstanding in the mornings

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    9.2
    Everything except size of room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    People of a certain age should be informed about the height of the bath side - difficult to get into if you are small or have knee trouble.

    Everything except size of room

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    10
    A lovely place to stay in Guernsey.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's not very far from the ferry terminal so we decided to walk to the hotel and pull our luggage up the steep hill from the port. It's advisable to get a taxi. Remember to book a taxi to pick you up at the ferry terminal.

    We enjoyed eating at the restaurant in the hotel called The Pickled Pig - a very good menu and chef.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    10
    The bedrooms were newly decorated and were very spacious,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast buffet/cooked breakfast selection was great, but the cooked breakfast items wasn't as hot as they could be, although good quality items for sure.

    The bedrooms were newly decorated and were very spacious, with a good sized comfortable and nice bathroom. We ate in the Pickled pub twice and the food was excellent

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    8.8
    Enjoyable visit married by bedroom servicing and breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast lets it down badly. Cramped and crowded. I do not expect to be asked to wait for a table, nor do I expect to have to ask for tea/coffee due to lack of arrival attention. Scrambled eggs were more like a chopped up omelette. Down market all round, unlike the rest of the hotel.

    Helpful and friendly staff. Very well furnished bedroom (let down by not replenishing items daily). Excellent location just up off the main shopping streets. Good food in the restaurant for dinner. Easy walk for buses and local attractions. Willing Reception staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    7.9
    a really good staty
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The areas of the landing in front of the rooms could do with vacuuming

    The location was good, the restaurant had good food and overall service was really good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    10
    Staff was wonderful and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hills in St Peter Port can be challenging for some!

    Staff was wonderful and helpful. They arranged a car and driver. Excellent tour. Restaurant and food were great. Very comfortable. Good shopping on High Street.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    6.7
    OK but no more.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room and tiny en-suite with erratic plumbing that soaked us at times. Rather ugly wardrobe with hanging rail way out of reach if u dear 5 feet 6 inches in height.

    Comfortable bed, reasonable selection for breakfast, well cooked and well presented food in the Pickled Pig restaurant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.2
    brilliant - relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel is in an ideal position in the centre of town...further instruction on how to get there for visitors who are driving is required..as all the roads are one way.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    7.9
    April Visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It can be noisy, but this is only to be expected given the central location. Rooms aren't huge but it's an old building, not a purpose built hotel.

    Excellent location in the centre of town and close to the sea front. Pleasant rooms and public areas, constantly being improved/upgraded

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.2
    Good location, good value for money, comfortable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Compact Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not know from booking that the reception closed at 10pm. When arrived around 11pm the waiter in the bar did help but was rather put out and het up that we arrived late despite myself apologising.

    Good breakfast choice and comfy bed. Perfect room for what I needed it for.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    10
    Had a great time and will be back to stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really apart from the bar drinks prices which I found rather high especially as Guernsey is a low tax island.

    All the staff were very helpful and friendly and the food superb. Our room and bathroom were very nice and clean. The power shower was a nice bonus. The hotel is in a great position just off the high street and close to the harbour. All in all brilliant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    9.2
    Great location, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing really.

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. They gave us an upgrade to an apartment which was perfect as we had wanted one but couldn't afford it! This allowed us to do our own thing much more which is what we like.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    8.3
    Great short stay in Guernsey, would come back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room size itself was fine for one night, but we were unable to use the safe as the cupboard was too close to the bed for us to access.

    Breakfast was delicious with a very good buffet selection, staff serving were excellent

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    10
    Superb from beginning to end, will definitely go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing. Really couldn't fault our stay.

    We had a superb stay and would highly recommend to anyone. We arrived at 10:00am hoping we could just leave our bags somewhere, since we appreciated we wouldn't be able to check in. However, although our room wasn't ready, they quickly switched us to one that was and allowed us to check in there and then. Everyone was helpful and the whole stay was superb. Thank you.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    9.2
    Most enjoyable stay - would recommend, and come back if return to Guernsey.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very nice room - good size, nicely furnished, comfortable big bed, and lovely shower. Nice breakfast, and good restaurant menu, also very reasonably priced food. Very good location just off the main street, and quiet with no noise. Most of all, the staff were great - very friendly, helpful, and courteous!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    5.4
    Somewhat disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Inadequate heating.when we left staff were not friendly . We had along wait for our ferry 7.0pm they wanted us out At 11am and did not suggest we could use the hotel as a base while waiting

    Good food

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    8.8
    Excellent stay here in a unique little hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I stayed in two different rooms here and both were cold despite heating being on full. The reception staff did provide an electric heater however.

    All the saff here are fantastic! The reception staff were very helpful and the bar & restaurant staff were really freindly and gave excellent service. I have stayed here before and will certainly stay again!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    7.1
    Gin and Tonics great!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Being woken at 07.20hrs by builders in rooms either side of mine! If the hotel had a good night guarantee, then I would of had a refund for that nights stay.

    Gin and Tonics great!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    9.2
    Good value, good location hotel
    • Group
    • Compact Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car parking is "confined" 😉 Car park always full, so one evening we left car where it was rather than use car and then need to find alternative parking Very busy bar below and other "guests" not very quiet -

    Breakfast was excellent with an excellent variety and range Excellent location close to amenities - good wifi coverage - comfortable beds and good shower/bath Staff were excellent, could not be more helpful and good to see young members of staff learning good practices 😊 Would definitely recommend

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    10
    The room was spacious, shower/ toilet room again...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Compact Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    The room was spacious, shower/ toilet room again spacious and very clean. The location is great just a couple of minutes walk to the centre of St Peter Port

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    9.2
    Great location and stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great place to stay for walking around the town and harbour, car park entrance tight to get in with large cars, staff all very polite and helpful. Only problem we had, was the weather was against us , so the sailings to sark was cancelled.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    9.2
    Excellent value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a bit tight to get around but done up with brand new furniture and nice and quiet.

    Friendly staff throughout the hotel and good facilities. Breakfast was great

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    8.3
    Brilliant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Door key didn't work as I'd kept near my phone in a pocket. Needed to get it reactivated.

    The breakfast was great, the room was great and the location was great in the centre of St Peters Port

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    9.2
    Almost Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Compact Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had a problem with one of the staff. But it was discussed with the management so it wouldn't stop us staying again.

    The Hotel was excellent. We, as a party ( club) will stay here again if we possibly can. Ideal location. Nice Food. Almost all the staff are good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    9.6
    A top quality hotel at reasonable prices
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pillows on the bed - one on its own was too thin, two were too thick!

    The service was excellent, the kind you'd expect to find in a 5 star establishment. I also loved the decor throughout, in particular in the Pickled Pig gastro pub, where the food was great too. And the location couldn't be bettered.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    10
    The staff are amazing!
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff are amazing! Very welcoming and attentive. Maraming salamat kay Kuya Rhoy at ung kanyang team. Napaka-ganda ung aking stay sa DoN. The executive room was very nice. Very clean and comfortable. Breakfast included was amazing! Can't say anything negative about my stay. Thoroughly loved the atmosphere, service, and relaxing vibes, even on wet wintry Guernsey winter weekend.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    9.6
    Room was excellent, carpet has a few stains, bed was good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was excellent, carpet has a few stains, bed was good but not a large king, it was two singles pushed together. staff were excellent. View from both my windows were walls. but a nice bird would visit to sleep on my window ledge...very cute. Very quiet, I would book again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    9.6
    The Duke of Normandie staff were helpful and very friendly.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Duke of Normandie staff were helpful and very friendly. They organised an early check in for no extra cost and were very knowledgeable about the local area. The hotel was warm and quiet and very comfortable and the room was a good size with excellent Wi-Fi. I would definitely return to this hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    10
    We arrived at about 1 AM and the manager welcomed us and...
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We arrived at about 1 AM and the manager welcomed us and showed us to an excellent room. A very comfortable bed of writing their desk an easy chair another chair. A full size bath with a shower above. The only thing it did not have was a plaque in the bathroom (which was excellent modern very clean) was a shaver/toothbrush electric point. Everything overall very very good including an excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    7.5
    superb.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Compact Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    a lift up to the top floor. was hard going up to the 3rd floor several times a day. Now I am 70 years old a first floor would have been easier for me.

    super dinners, incredible staff all smiling in there uniforms. any problem acted on quickly and positive..

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    10
    Everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Compact Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything. Staff went out of their way to help. The only one who was a little unhelpful and brusque was a man on reception. He told us the airport didn't open till 6 am! Incorrect it was open from 5 and when we arrived at 6 the queue for Manchester was huge!!! We thought we were going to miss our flight. He also failed to tell me Reception would be closed when we were leaving early morning! Good job I had the sense to settle up early. Other than that we had a brilliant time

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    3.3
    Terrible Guest Experience!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very RUDE MALE RECEPTIONIST. Not friendly or helpful. Didn't like to be disturbed! Management also not engaging with guests. Miserable faces. Will definitely not stay here again.

    Location, Excellent Waiter service for breakfast. Younger guy.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    10
    Clean, comfortable hotel with good staff and excellent food both at breakfast and dinner
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As our room was on a special offer we were not expecting one of the larger rooms , but there was not much more than about 1ft between the end of the bed and the unit containing the mini bar. No big deal really though. We were supplied with VERY big bath towels as well , which might suit some guests but I found them too large and heavy...a bit like trying to dry yourself with a thick blanket...Neither of these details would put us off going there again though.

    Very clean and comfortable hotel. ALL staff pleasant and obliging to us. Very good location in the centre of St Peter Port as well.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    9.2
    Weekend get away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Entrance to the car park... a bit tight... not many parking spaces, but this did not effect our stay

    All good, great location in the middle of town, helpful staff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    10
    Central but nice quiet location, secure parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, perfect!

    Central but nice quiet location, secure parking. Great menu and food, excellent breakfast..., bubble and squeak a winner! The staff are so helpful and friendly, attentive and accommodating. Great room with harbour views and lovely bath/ bathroom.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It did not have a lift,that's the only downside to it.

    The property was awesome and close to the high street. The staffs were very polite and friendly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    8.8
    Would have no hesitation stating here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    For a weeks stay I found the set dinner menu a bit limited. Would have preferred an optional al a carte menu in addition. This was available in a nearby hotel that we have stayed in previously. This hotel benefits from its own car park, a real bonus, but do not use sat-nav for final approach! [Mine kept trying to send me up a long flight of steps!!]

    Very handy to main shopping area and harbour of St Peter Port. Room was excellent and staff very friendly and helpful. Although partly disabled did not find the short walk to the High Street a problem, unlike some reviewers.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    9.2
    Relaxing stay in the heart of the town
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wish water is free of charge

    Staff were very courteous Room was very comfortable Location was excellent in the middle of town Ambience was relaxing Breakfast was very good and tasty

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    9.6
    Lovely hotel - quirky furnishings, great bar within it which...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom plumbing could do with some maintenance

    Lovely hotel - quirky furnishings, great bar within it which was a great place for a drink before heading out to dinner. Excellent location and staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    7.5
    Ideal location for our stay but would not return to this hotel.
    • Group
    • Compact Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were hot and stuffy, the view from the window was a bin and a tap for use by the hotel staff. Lots of cigarette butts in the wooden pillars outside the rooms. Inside the courtyard is better looking, but the first impression from the road leading up to the hotel is not good.

    Hotel was very close to the centre of St Peter Port

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    6.7
    Overall the stay was nice and it's right in the middle of the town, I woould stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The sausage at breakfast was ok but not cooked well enough for my liking. The shower temperature was only warm and the pressure did drop on a couple of occasions. The security for leaving luggage prior to leaving the hotel or arriving before check in was not great. Although it was next to the reception we were never challenged when we picked it up and yet on both occasions it was a different receptionist from the one who saw us put it there!

    Breakfast experience was good, prompt service by the friendly, helpful staff. All the staff that we encountered were polite and helpful. Room was small but cosy although the bathroom was nice and big.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    8.8
    Good location and clean room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Male Staff - As we entered the Reception area when leaving I slipped walking across a very wet floor and landed flat on my back. My husband came to my assistance but the person behind the counter stayed there and did not even ask how I was. My husband had to ask him to make a note of the incident and although I was not seriously injured I still have pain in my left elbow which hit the floor as I fell. There was a sign in front of the desk but not near the floor that had to be walked across to reach the desk.

    Location was good although it was initially hard to find.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    10
    Perfect location and ideal comfort for any business trip
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would like to express the time-worn comments that there isn't a wall mirror in the main room and the lighting in the bathroom could be much better for shaving etc.

    Surprisingly sumptuous! Cliche, maybe, but both my business colleague and myself were very impressed with the quality of room, fitments, amenities and location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    9.6
    Will come back and stay at this hotel as a first choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Pickled Pig restruant was Excellant value and the menu varied. Food always cooked fresh and service by the staff Excellant. Would recommend this hotel highly

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    9.2
    Good quality hotel with good staff and service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Been nice if the fitted sheets fitted the two 3ft beds pushed together. Sheet and mattress cover never stayed put. Bed was very comfortable otherwise. Bathroom in room 50 dated. Shower over bath not very nice. Needed modernising with separate shower. Main Executive room was nice, but nothing like as good or large as the picture the hotel use on the room pictures posted on Booking.com. Always feel a bit cheated when you book seeing pictures of a nice room and then get something not quite the same.

    Right in the middle of town with car park. Nice bar and restaurant. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    5.8
    Would not return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very Noisy, the bathroom plumbing and fan were so loud. scruffy communal areas, blinds in room hardly work so couldn’t get it dark, no DVD player despite efforts of staff, thin walls, slamming doors, airless room and very average food, expensive for what it was. Can not fault cleanliness. If that was an executive room I’m very glad I didn’t choose a standard. Would not return or recommend. Slow, and sombre evening meal service in Pickled Pig with flavourless starters.

    Breakfast was fine.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    8.8
    Definitely use again but will book larger room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom was small and a little dark. BUT have to say we did book a COMPACT double, so really we got what we paid for. A minor complaint was that the bath although looking very modern was far too deep to make getting in and out of an easy proposition, but that is probably our age showing!!

    Clean reception and rooms, friendly and helpful staff, location superb, parking good, excellent breakfast,nice bar area.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    10
    Lovely family friendly time in this hotel and the location was fantastic, great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Compact Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower could have been better - not powerful, it was hard to control and temperature kept changing!

    The staff were really friendly and accommodating and everywhere was really clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    9.6
    Excellent value, unbeatable location, genuinely welcoming
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Take extra care if arriving by car; to reach the hotel entrance you must negotiate the convoluted one way system and slim-line, vertiginous streets .. not the hotel's fault , it's just St Peter Port's hillside topography.

    The fabulous staff are that rare combination; professional to a fault yet genuinely cheerful: they really put us in a holiday mood. The kitchen was notably accommodating with special diet requests, far more so than a more expensive hotel with larger kitchen just up the road where we stayed last year. The location of this hotel is spot on; being bang in the centre of St Peter Port makes everything so easy; shops, eating out, main attractions plus transport links (e.g. bus hub and ferries to Herm and Sark) are all 2-10 mins walk from the door. N.B the hotel (like most accommodation in St Peter Port) is located on a steep street. Our well-designed executive room had slick bathroom (shower only) and very comfortable bed.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    7.9
    perfect place to base a week exploring Guernsey and islands, comfie lounge for rainy day in
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Moans, which we have shared with the hotel directly: with no air conditioning, we were very surprised to have to ask for a fan - we took the last one from behind reception and it was a very poor affair, low-powered and noisy (we needed it on all night). The bed sheet did not stretch to stay over all four corners! Problems with the bathroom: in essence the fittings are stylish at the expense of function and there was a lot of mopping up to do after a perfectly ordinary shower.

    We really enjoyed this hotel for its location (for getting out and about on four days out of five) and, as bar flies who spent a rainy day lounging playing board games and reading in the public area, we loved the Pickled Pig's lounge and light lunch. We found the hotel public areas and the staff delightful - excellent service particularly notable at breakfast, but generally the bar and mealtime services were well-staffed and well organised. If we can, we will use this hotel again on any return visit to Guernsey.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    7.9
    A good hotel in a handy location where you are made to feel very welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was too soft and should have been told about a steep step up to the bathroom. Would have preferred a walk in shower. The adverts advised of steep hill but not that there wasn't a lift in the hotel, especially for luggage.

    Good location, very helpful staff, large room which was well furnished and equipped

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    7.9
    Good Option for Saint Peter Port
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No Air conditioning.

    Proprietors were very accommodating. They provided adapters for our electronic appliances and even provided a fan when we said the room was too hot.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    7.5
    A good trip, and would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was too hot but as the room was on the ground floor, the sash windows could not be left open as they faced into a car park. Bathrooms were a little dated.

    The service staff at breakfast were extremely attentive and friendly. The location of the hotel is perfect for people visiting St. Peter Port as it is a stones throw from the harbour.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    10
    Hotel was very comfortable (even though we went during the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There were no negatives about this property

    Hotel was very comfortable (even though we went during the hottest week in August). My only reservation when booking was that I had been told the hotel was up a steep hill and I was travelling with my mother who is in her 70's - in the end I needn't have worried as it was no more steep than she is used to - one point that I would make is that if you are going and have someone in your group who may have issues with their balance ask for a ground floor room as the upper floors are via a spiral staircase - although this should not put anyone off as its a small spiral

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    9.6
    Ideal location for meeting with family in yacht in St Peter Port Marina, and its attractions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfast was a little disappointing, coffee, juice, and bread (toast) quality so-so. Parking is tricky!

    Bedroom was excellent, and quiet. Central location. Cleanliness excellent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    5.8
    Depressing experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like anything about this hotel, I would not stay again, nor recommend it. The photos are misleading of the rooms and overpriced.

    I didn't like this hotel, we had booked 3 nights and left after one night. Room was depressing and dark and not as advertised. it was supposed to be a superior room with a free standing bath. We got a small shower which was mouldy and grubby and a broken toilet roll holder with sharp edges....not good for health & safety.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    9.5
    We were very comfortable there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice selection of breakfast choices - eggs benedict and bubble and squeak, for example. Even though the hotel was in a central location, it was very quiet. We slept well and had a wonderful time in Guernsey.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    8.8
    We had a very enjoyable holiday made more perfect by the hotel team.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As l have a mobility problem ,the location wasn't ideal (maybe that should be addressed on booking ). We had an issue with the toilet flush but only made the hotel aware on our departure,that should have been inspected when we were allocated our accommodation.

    The staff were outstanding,from management down to cleaners.Nothing was to much trouble for them. The menu and food in the Pickled Pig was delicious and exciting.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    Wonderful Geurnsey Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Very comfy bed. All the staff were extremely pleasant and helpful. Just a short walk into St Peter Port. Hotel Restaurant - The Pickled Pig food was excellent.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    5.4
    Friendly staff and good location, but rooms could be better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The pictures of Executive Double Rooms on Booking.com are not accurate, we made our booking based on these pictures, but the room we got did not resemble the ones in the pictures. The staff were unable to help us, and informed us that the pictures were not accurate and many of the pictures are from just one room, which is not bookable through normal means. The room we got was also quite dusty when we checked in.

    The staff at the restaurant were always very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    8.8
    Enjoyable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Compact Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I didn't like having the windows opened for us whilst we were out of the room, we were on the ground floor so it was a little worrying. Although we could have used the safe.

    Loved the location and the rooms, well stocked mini bar. The staff were really good, pleasant and welcoming. The breakfast was lovely and plentiful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    7.9
    Great location but difficult to find when walking from the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was very dark, very little natural light meant main lights on all the time, the bedside lamps were useless for trying to read in bed.

    Great location but difficult to find when walking from the bus terminal for the first time. Staff were really friendly and helpful, great service at breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    9.2
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet seat was broken which we reported however not repaired during our two night stay - perhaps it had to be ordered.

    Staff very cheerful and helpful. Comfortable bed.

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: