Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Duke Of Wellington - Residential Country Inn 3 stars

115 Wellington Street, Matlock, DE4 3GX, United Kingdom

#18 of 18 B&Bs and Inns in Matlock

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 695 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    6.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not that I didn't like anything, but the bathrooms in the rooms were a bit tired maybe time to upgrade them. But they were very clean.

    Rooms were clean and cosy. Breakfast was delicious and you get a big portion, far to big for myself but my husband ate all of his. Staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location for visiting RHS Chatsworth Flower Show. On a busy junction, rooms at the rear so little noise. Lively bar, Sky TV, great choice of meals, lovely breakfast set us up for the day. Would recommend

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The continental breakfast wasn't particularly continental looking - cereal, yogurt, toast and some fresh fruit basically.

    This is basically a local pub with accommodation. Good location for the dales, well kept real ale and a pretty pub-grubby menu (fish n chips, etc.)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I could have done with a couple of glasses in the room and I couldn't work out how to turn the light on in the bathroom. The skybox didn't have sky channels. The room was a bit noisy as the double glazing not good.

    Room had own entrance and was beautifully decorated with little extras such as bathroom treats. It was comfortable and cosy.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Was quite a warm evening and as we were downstairs with patio doors but no window so could not leave doors open over night for ventilation.

    Rooms were in a converted building behind the Duke of Wellington so were quiet and comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small nowhere to sit apart from on the bed. The TV was small. The room was quite gloomy. We weren't asked what we wanted on the Full English breakfast and food items that were not wanted were wasted.

    It was clean and quiet. We were left to ourselves. The food in the evening was lovely. Easy access to the Peak District as a whole.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff rude make u feel like ur not welcome as much as the locals and aren’t very friendly at all I wanted to leave over it but my children wanted to stay

    The rooms are lovely they even have toys and books in the rooms for the kiddies

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small shower and uncomfortable beds. However, we booked three rooms and the bed we choose to sleep on was ok for our short stay.

    Friendly staff, clean room and surrounding area. Car parking available.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was so lovely and cosy! Just out the back of the pub as well as a lovely field so was perfect for the hot weather we had. The food at the pub was delish too!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As described above and most of all the awful manners and approach of what we presume is the manager. Grumpy at check in. Dour and unhelpful when asked about why tje rooms were not cleaned. Breakfast not included and only served 8.30-9.30. Attitude ofcleaners at checkout was appalling too - staring at their watches as if we were late when there was at least a half hour to go. Other waiting staff were fine but the manager was not . On this alone and the un-cleaned rooms we would never stay again.

    The food was good. The rooms were adequate-just ! Tiny shower . No soap - little shampoo neither refreshed on day 2. Rooms not cleaned -because we weren’t in them! ‘ NEVER heard of that anywhere in the whole world. No change of towels either.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was too soft for us, but that is just personal choice. Friends in neighbouring room said how comfy the bed was in their room.

    The staff were very welcoming. Bar staff at night and the following morning whilst having breakfast were outstanding. Room excellent, very clean, plenty of tea and coffee on tray in room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No choice for breakfast just given a huge fried breakfast no egg choice or choice of not having some items. Room small and dark

    Clean room, all requests dealt with promptly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom is very basic and small. The staff were pleasant but in small local establishments such as this I would have expected the owner to acknowledge his guests - he didn’t. Food was also not being served when we arrived at 7 but they did have a singer on at 9 so that may be why.

    A pleasant clean room for a reasonable price. Good breakfast for a small additional cost. All things considered it was a decent stay but if I was in the area I would probably try somewhere else.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sink was very small-couldn’t refill kettle directly. Shower was tiny.

    The seats outside our room in the courtyard. Being able to leave our car in the car park to explore the town on foot.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was nothing to dislike

    The Staff , the Pub, the Landlady and Landlord are the Best! Entertainment provided on the Sunday night was excellent, the Breakfast was first class, too much to eat to be honest, and the beer was of the highest quality I would recommend this place to anybody

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very cold. I know April has been cold this year, but the heaters weren't on before we arrived and it still didn't feel warm in the morning. Summer months, this would be an ideal location as the staff were amazing and the food was fantastic

    The hospitality of all the staff 😊

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wonderful Pub with Rooms that does exactly what is says on the tin! Friendly welcome, solid pub food choice (Great Mixed Grill) and wonderful well kept beer selection. Will be back!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a very nice place to stay. The rooms where a good size and they have a playground for kids. They also have toys in the room which was great. We where there ona Saturday night and a game night so there was no room to eat on the pub. We had a really nice meal on town

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    comfortable room and bed, easy to park, dog friendly, easy access to Matlock (although we drove as hill was quite steep). D of Wellington meals were good at both lunchtime and evening, did not have breakfast which was served a bit too early for us. Staff helpful and pleasant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    From the first arrival, the staff were very friendly and very helpful, we felt welcome straight away. The room, the pub, the food were all excellent, and the location was in a beautiful town. I would highly recommend this establishment to anyone looking for time away. My two young children were very happy here and I felt comfortable allowing them to roam around.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tables to enjoy an evening meal, I was sat in the pub Googling other places to eat in the area which was crazy! We did eventually get a table, but people kept sitting down with us when we were eating which was extremely uncomfortable. We retired early and slightly disappointed but didn’t let it spoil our weekend away. It would have been better at check-in if the staff advised us to reserve a table if we wanted to eat.

    Really friendly staff, room was clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    TV was tiny and didn't work very well but it's only a minor criticism as we didn't really use it.

    Nice little outhouse type rooms and the staff are lovely. Plenty of parking.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The steps outside the room were covered in algae and very slippery. The room had every comfort but the en-suite was very compact.

    Breakfast was very good. Plentiful and cooked as we requested.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bad arrival - in the bar we weren't made to feel very welcome. Had to ask for help, even though we had cases and obviously weren't in for a pint!

    Great price and delicious breakfast. The room was small but cosy and the staff were friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Your staff were super friendly and accommodating, especially Tonya who was an excellent asset to the Duke of Wellington team. The pub was warm, comforting and provided excellent food! We also loved the location as it was close to the cycle routes we had planned, Matlock itself was a great town with friendly people.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The sausages were a little flavoured and skins a little tough for my liking. But this is being very picky!

    Our whole experience at The Duke of Wellington was very good. Lovely walk down a very very steep hill into the town, but well worth it because the views are stunning. We ate on our arrival and the food was very good. We then ate again on the evening (moussaka, which was extremely good). We then had a very good English but as we had eaten so much the night before, couldn't really finish. Room we had was a little small but very comfortable and clean. Couldn't get a phone signal in the room - a great benefit! WiFi was excellent. Staff were great and gave us pointers to where to go. One was to go to Castleton - Very very beautiful. Would highly recommend staying here to anyone.... And may be back in the summer!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 4 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the rooms were a bit small but didn't spoil our stay.

    We were celebrating my Husbands 50th birthday, the staff went out of their way to make it a special occasion. They decorated the dinning area for us and even found 50 candles to light up the cake, as we hadn't brought them with us, thinking we would not be allowed to use them. We stayed 3 nights and joined in the quiz night which was a fun evening. The family room was very child friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was really cold, the road noise was surprisingly loud and very small seeing as there was a four poster bed in the room

    The staff were really friendly

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Put in room 8 which was dog friendly even tho we didn't have a dog. It stank of fresh air spray. Room was incredibly small & the bathroom was freezing. After complaining we were given a different room which was better.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It don't include breakfast in the price and the floor outside ya rooms was slippy.

    Clean, not far from town shops, nice food and friendly staff ☺☺ would defo go again next year or when it gets warmer.😎😎

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think the therevwere problem the day we arrived

    The hotel has staffing problems, no food or breakfast as the chef had walked out. Beds uncomfortable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked a chair to sit on in room, but appreciate the configuration of room doesn't allow this.

    Very friendly welcome, and a REALLY good breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room and facilities very dated TV so small we couldn't see it No bulbs in the lamps Bathroom was very dated and it shown. The toilet every time it was flushed sounding like a train was coming taps leeked Pillows were flat Made a booking to eat in the bar which was confirmed back to me via email but when I went they said there wasn't a booking and it was very busy so we had to leave and get a takeaway delivered - Staff didn't accept responsibility and didn't help us out in anyway

    The location was good The courtyard was brilliant for our dog Plenty of parking on site Plenty of hot water Locals were lovely

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Duke of Wellington was a bit isolated up a steep hill on the outskirts of Matlock. On arrival we took our baggage into the building only to be told that our room was in a nearby outbuilding. We had booked a room with a four poster bed which we didn’t get. The food we had there was very ordinary. As residents we were a bit surprised that we had to pay for each drink as we ordered them and not pay for everything at the end of the evening.

    Nothing stands out in particular it was ok

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints about the accommodation but the steep hill back from the town centre was too much for my elderly dog!

    The staff were friendly and really helpful. It was very dog friendly, my dog was allowed in all the public areas. The room was clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Full English just came already cooked, we did not get to say what we liked and did not like!! I suppose we could have said no mushrooms when we arrived but we did not know what we be served.

    Room was small but cute had everything we needed lovely and cosy.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was freezing because the window had been left open all day and there was only a feeble storage heater in the room so it was a very cold night. There is no wi-fi in any of the rooms - only in the main pub building so don't be misled by the free wifi claim. Lastly despite booking and paying for breakfast, when I went to the pub in the morning where breakfast was served the whole place was locked up and despite hammering on the door and phoning, myself and two other guests got no answer and no breakfast at all. When I phoned for my refund they didn't know how to refund my credit card so had to put it on a different debit card!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to pay the full amount for stay on arrival when I had already paid booking.com the full amount and had paperwork to of show this. The room was not cleaned or beds made. Male just came to door at 3pm asking if we required clean towels. Tiny sink in bathroom very difficult to put water in kettle. Very cold room on arrival. No heating on and windows wide open.

    Good parking

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    In our accommodation, the bathroom and shower were quite small - but we recognise that this was necessary to make the best of the overall size of the room. It wasn't really a problem for us - we just breathed in! Just to note that hot food stops being cooked at 8pm.

    The location of the property - on a hill overlooking part of the town and surrounding countryside. The pleasant, slightly quirky twin room accommodation. The homely atmosphere of the Inn. A lovely evening meal. A quiet location even though there was a main road running alongside the Inn.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above

    The room was cold The breakfast was cold and there was no choice within the cooked break fast menu The evening meal was served cold and the treacle sponge was over cooked in the microwave because it was tough in the centre

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lovely spacious clean rooms ( No 5) for me & my son, he had a seperate bedroom which was great. Lovely evening meal which was great value for money. Had a lovely 2 night stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    More information about the location and the fact it was out of the town centre with a long walk on a steep hill to get to get into the town centre

    that the room was away from the main bar

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was very uncomfortable - I think as a 3 star inn there should be better matrasses. The bathroom smelled of moisture and dampness. There was no iron, no hairdryer and no wifi. Looks quite nice but doesn't offer too much for the price. Although it's quite good value compared to other places nearby.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although the rooms have been renovated they are now beginning to look a bit tired, small repairs needed - a floor tile was loose in our bathroom, the fan in another room kept going for about 30 minutes and the strip light in the shaver point was missing. Large TVs on in the breakfast room first thing in the morning whilst eating breakfast were most annoying. It is a steep 15 minute climb out of town - a cab will only cost £3 and is worth it after a night out.

    The bed was comfortable, the room was clean, although basic. It was quiet. It was reasonable value for money for our party of walkers. Generous helpings in the restaurant which serves pub grub. The majority of the staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Annex room in the family room had bed covers and toys etc aimed at very small children. Staff weren't very helpful when asking for basic items such as extra tea bags and a teaspoon!

    Room was spacious

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We asked 3 different members of staff for an hairdrier. None could be found. In the end we had to go to the shops and buy one ourselves. The cleanliness could be improved upon. There were cobwebs in the bathroom and mould on the window cill and behind the toilet.

    The accomodation is in a lovely courtyard setting.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    taste of the draught cider

    large car park.clean and comfortable room in a nice courtyard setting.good value accomadation.friendly reception on arrival.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not really set up for anyone with disabilities.

    The staff were all friendly, the breakfast sure sets you up for the day and is delicious, fresh strawberries and blueberries followed by FULL English. The accommodation was warm and comfortable . Great views from the bar/dining area. Go and see for yourself !

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Stairs everywhere no communication with staff had to order and pay for breakfast the night before cleared breakfast away while we were still eating

    Unable to comment on this

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paying the night before for breakfast, no tabs! No washing machine or drying facilities at an Inn where lots of walkers stay.

    The rooms are good if basic. They are ideal for walking impaired with access to the pub by the street entrance without steps. 2 ground floor bedrooms are kept for dogs visiting with their humans.. All pub is dog friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A bit nearer the centre perhaps if you like a walk. Long way to the shops and coming back would be all up hill. We chose to drive to the centre and take walks from there, so overcame it.

    We liked: The staff, the room, the outside area, the fact we were given so much milk for our coffee (most times you will only get four - they give you a bowl full!) The restaurant, the food, the breakfast, the parking. There really isn't a lot not to like. Love the idea of the accommodation outside of the pub - think used to be the old stables, so personal and independent. Gives you your own front door. Parking is great, easy and free. A must if you visit Matlock. Rooms clean, warm, well stocked - brilliant. As an extra - Landlord and Landlady leaving in about six weeks - will be a sad loss but a wonderful opportunity for someone else. Wish the pair of them all the best - enjoy Thailand! R&B x

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very basic You could not get your hands into the handbasin as it was so small. The whole bathroom was very cheaply done the finish not at all good The kettle was linked to an extension lead, when I picked up the kettle the base was pulled onto the floor by the extension lead, very dangerous.

    The food was good The location fitted our purpose

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom; toilet flush made a horrendous noise, bath ran cold I think due to me not understanding the hot water system. There is no view from the room.

    Staff were lovely, breakfast good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress poor - felt every spring. Pillows disgusting - no pillow protectors. Room dark even with light on. Thick dust on pictures, mirrors and Venetian blinds which didn't work anyhow. No spoon for mugs. One mug had toothpaste residue in bottom. Meal very poor on Friday night and waiter was useless. Needs a lesson in customer service and not to be such a drip. Cold main course plates but hot dessert plate for a piece of cheesecake and ice cream all served with 2 disgusting dirty waiting/tea cloths!

    Towels and sheets nice and white and clean

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Having to give exact breakfast time and having to order the night before and pay for it. Quite early cut off for evening meals. Lack of hanging space in room.

    Brand new firm bed. Excellent value pub food and plenty of it.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The matteress on the bed That's the only thing

    The rooms were close to the pub, Just loved the whole set up Staff and some customers were really friendly and helpful

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No alternate choices between continental and full English .. would be good to introduce lighter choices together with appropriate pricing . ..greater flexibility need d

    Cooked breakfast was good if you wanted full english

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were so friendly, the rooms are like small cottages at the back outside the pub itself and really lovely, so surprised at the quality for the price. Lovely surroundings, easy ride into town, we had a great few days.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to note

    Excellent value - lovely area to sit out in front of room & have coffee. Gated, so safe for children, Comfortable, clean rooms, well equipped. Lovely pub, great ales and food. Extensive area to sit out with play area at the back of the pub. Highly recommended

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 2 very cosy however the bathroom has an awful smell, not something that could be masked over just by an airfreshner, we used bleach everyday and perfume and lite a candle when in the room, was told were fully booked when checked in so we decided not to grumble. Beds clean and comfy, room needed a good dust.

    Excellent location, very comfortable beds. Pub food good value.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food is tasty, but the menu is limited. Shower cubicle very tight, but otherwise a really comfortable stay.

    Lovely rooms, good parking. Reasonably priced food

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was too soft.

    The room was clean and the landlady very friendly and helpful. If you do not want to walk up that steep hill, take a taxi for 3£.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are very cosy and clean .Tea and coffee provided .the breakfast is well worth having full english plus continetal.landlord and landlady are very helpful.bar meals are great.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom did let the room down abit as the room was so lovely but this did not inpack on our stayat all as it was functional , just old. Great value

    Staff very attentive and friendly. Area amazing , views amazing, rooms lovely . Food lovely

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No soap in bedroom - the bedside lights were left on prior to our arrival, as was the heating of the towel rail (not environmentally friendly) - the breakfast was called 'continental', but it wasn't (continental breakfasts offer a selection of cold meats and cheeses etc. which I was looking forward to). The room freshener which had been left on all day made me sneeze, with a slight sore throat as a reaction to the chemicals.

    As above. Also, the environmentally friendly system of towel laundering

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to fault really. Wifi in the bar but not in rooms.... minor issue.

    Full English breakfast is excellent for the price. Evening meals good value.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    An easy 15 minute downhill walk to Matlock town, but you need a £3 taxi back up the hill! Not really an issue but added for visibility.

    Very friendly family run pub/hotel. Good hearty breakfast. Quiet rooms.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only little thing that I could fault was that the shower was a bit a little bit small would have been better if it was a quadrant shaped one, and it was a bit mouldy and smelt a bit musty.

    we had a nice semi detached chalet type room which was very conferrable. The meals we had were very good 2 breakfasts and 2 evening meals. The owner's and staff were very nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We ordered full English breakfast but wasn't asked what or how we wanted items cooked! Thought £10 for our little dog was a little OTT . No wifi in room. Extremely steep hills down into town and back.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only full meals as it was Sunday lunchtime.OTHER DAYS OK. WE HAD GOOD DRINKS FAIRLY PRICED AND SIMPLY POPPED OUT TO BUY SNDWICHES! We were dressed differently for fun and that was welcomed very well-`see photo

    The room was a mini cottage next to car and everything was comfortable. It would be impossible to ask for betterand at that price anyone would surely buy even in high season.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very surprised when we arrived at how beautiful our room was. Very quiet and had a good nights sleep. The pub was friendly with a great atmosphere and Tonia the landlady is just lovely, nothing is too much trouble. Lots of amenities near by, just a short drive or 15 min walk. Would stay again and would definitely recommend

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The shower was a small. The hotel was at the top of a steep hill but a taxi from town was only three pounds and well worth the money.

    The staff were good and very helpful. The rooms had a lovely courtyard exclusive for residents and our room had a patio door into the courtyard.Food was plentiful and reasonably priced.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walking up the hill from Matlock town centre; lot easier in the car

    Friendly pleasant staff; nice place, breakfast good, beer good. Parking and access was easy.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    cant think of anything I didn't like

    everything about our stay was brilliant bed was very comfy room was very clean very friendly good food lovely breakfast will be going back defo

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They took payment twice and I had to wait for first payment to be returned. Only took a couple of days but anyone travelling on a budget would find this difficult as I was not informed.

    Room was clean and quiet

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: