Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Dukes Folly Hotel 3 stars

11 Duke Street, Southport, PR8 1LS, United Kingdom

#7 of 13 hotels in Southport

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 834 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    A very enjoyable anniversary weekend in Southport a beautiful seaside town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not keen on filter coffee, but that is just my preference no reflection on the hotel.

    Very comfortable bed , nice clean room and ensuite . Good breakfast. Very reasonable prices in the bar and friendly service.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    7.1
    Close by to all amenities
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room extremely hot, couldn’t get the shower to a cooler option after trying for 5-6 mins Turned tap on sink and took nearly 2 mins of running before it started going cold There was no evening meal available

    Close by to all amenities

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    7.1
    Good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No air con, so very very hot in the room. Problem with their software so there were problems with the payment details. Although to be fair these were soon dealt with.

    Hotel is in good location, clean. Good menu choice, excellent breakfasts. Staff very nice.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.6
    Very friendly staff and super breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing to criticise really. If you want a spa, pool etc you go to a luxury hotel! This one was good value for money, friendly and had everything we needed.

    Very friendly staff and super breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    4.6
    Disaster
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom very small three quarter bed water stained curtains room not very clean very very dusty bathroom very cramped first room they offered had no window glass door on bathroom so could see anyone in there ended up staying in room 8 not very clean at all breakfast had full English have had better in transport cafe

    The two members of staff we met very helpful and polite apart from that nothing they have a cheek asking one hundred pound a night

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    7.9
    been here 6 times this one disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was served on a cold plate only ordered bacon and scrambled egg bacon was undercooked did not have breakfast on second day

    The location and cleanliness

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    6.3
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was hot then cold never were able to regulate it to a suitable temperature, the sink was to small, the king size bed was 2 singles pushed together. Noisy during the night with other guests. Had to wait a hour for our cooked breakfast

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    9.6
    Nice hotel the decor in our room was lovely and bright.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We would of preferred More choice of fruit for breakfast.

    Nice hotel the decor in our room was lovely and bright. All staff very pleasant. Would certainly return again to this hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    9.2
    It as everything you need and more for an hotel of this...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Better parking facilities.

    It as everything you need and more for an hotel of this price range.it is run very informally with no one putting you under any sort of pressure. The bar at the end of the night is more like your local pub at home.extended meal times at night keen that you can enjoy more of the day out and still get back for something to eat off the extensive menus.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    10
    Relaxing few days to recharge our batteries wich was done THANK YOU EVERYONE
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Food was excellent hotel was spotless bed was big and luxurious staff were very helpful and friendly the young lady serving behind the bar on Thursday was lovely

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.6
    Staff all friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much on site parking but allowed to use the church car park straight across the road.

    Staff all friendly. Great location for our visit (doingvthe triathlon). Hopefully be back next year.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.2
    The staff were very friendly and helpful and the room was...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No much private parking available

    The staff were very friendly and helpful and the room was clean, comfortable and quiet. The hotel was well located close to the town centre

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    great location,welcoming friendly staff lovely food
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was lovely and the shower was great for my mum as she didn't have to step in and out of a bath, the bed was really comfy too,the staff were all lovely and friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    10
    Weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough information about the hotel and area

    Everything it was comfortable, from the beer garden to the bedroom. Food and beer excellent, rooms clean and staff are excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.2
    Everything about the place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe a better choice of menu during the evening. And no entertainment

    Everything about the place.staff were very friendly.good hospitality. We found it that good we stayed for an extra night we definitely stay there again and recommend it to friends

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    10
    A Gem of a Place in Good Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Single bed not that comfortable OK for one night but any longer and my back would have protested! would stay again in different room

    Recently refurbished, tastefully decorated with modern shower room power points located well for charging phones and iron and straiteners, in great location, staff attentive and friendly, breakfast was usual cereals fruit and cooked breakfast, it also has a restaurant and bar, nice seating area outside with water feature to relax with drink, great value was lucky to get booking on bank holiday weekend for a night to attend a christening perfect place to relax and get ready

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    9.6
    Excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect except both sets of drawer fronts came off when opened. It was the cheapest most basic room so we weren't too bothered. Also the breakfast was lovely but not hot enough.

    The location was great. The hotel was very nice. Had a homely feel to it. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We've booked to go again so that says it all 😊

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    5.0
    Good location, very nice breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cheap duvet cover and duvet too small for the bed! No housekeeping during second day just left clean towels on the bed. Breakfast room very cold

    Good location, very nice breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    7.9
    Will be back as a regular customer as the hotel is ideal for business, great value for money.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lady serving breakfast was in no uniform and although helpful was not best kitted out in running joggers and t shirt for serving guests. A small matter of attention to detail

    Friendly helpful and suited my reason for staying in Southport.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    6.3
    This is the 3rd time here in the last 2 years but will find somewhere different for the next trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The cleanliness of the bathroom could have been a lot better especially the shower cubicle. lots of hairs in the drainage hole and no soap or shampoo trays within the cubicle.

    The bar area and reception were excellent and the location too!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    10
    we only stayed for 2 days but it was a very pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    we only stayed for 2 days but it was a very pleasant stay. all staff were very kind and the bed was very comfortable the breakfast was excellent 10 / 10 which is included in the price. The meal's were very good and reasonable priced

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    5.8
    Very disappointing. Shame
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cold breakfast Couldn’t fill kettle under tap No music or atmosphere Bar closed early each night that I was there Bathroom smelled of drains

    Comfy bed Warm room Good location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    10
    Great hotel to stay in Southport
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing bad to say about my visit

    The room (25) was lovely comfortable, a good size and very clean. Great choice of breakfast and really helpful and friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    5.8
    Won't be staying again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor quality duvet, not warm enough. Shower boiling hot or freezing, could not control it. Staff let the door bang early morning when using the store room(clocks had gone back one hour) Avoid rooms 1,2 and 3.At breakfast bacon was raw, no tablecloths,and seating in conservatory filthy.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    5.0
    OK aprt form the noisy fan
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a very noisy fan sounding from outside of the room that was on when I arrived at 10.pm. It didn't bother me as i was very tired and I am hard of hearing. Unfortunately it woke me up at 04.30 the next morning and I couldn't get back to sleep!.

    Breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    7.9
    Reasonable stay for 1 night in good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small bedroom, big enough for one night but wouldn’t like to stay for much longer . Only received 2 towels 1 large and 1 hand towel. Breakfast service slow , our hot drinks order was taken as soon as we sat down , but we didn’t receive it until we had finished our cooked breakfast (despite asking twice )

    Good location and reasonable value for money, breakfast was tasty

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    7.5
    Ok (minus the breakfast), we,d stay again but without food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor service at breakfast, but scarily none of the staff Understood the importance of someone needing “Gluten free” food. I had requested a gluten free breakfast when booking and it was on my booking requirements at reception when we checked in so I thought they were prepared. I told the waiter when he took our breakfast order that I was Gluten Intolerant but they mixed up the toast and my plate arrived with hash browns & sausage on When I asked if they were gluten free, the waiter said he didn’t know, they were just what they got from the supplier???? I ended up only eating a poached egg just to be on the safe side. Sad really, because it let the whole place down. But also rather dangerous for a Coeliac.

    The bed was very comfortable and the hotel was in an ideal location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    5.0
    attractive decor
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had to keep our coats on as the room was freezing - heating not working properly, duvet very thin and barely covered the bed. had to pay to park across the road was not told we could have this at a reduced rate. Not the relaxing experience we wanted

    attractive decor

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    5.8
    Breakfast was fine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was soft. The shower was tepid or burning water with nothing in between. There was a 21st birthday party in the bar at night time which was noisy, our room was on the ground floor behind reception.

    Breakfast was fine.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    8.8
    Good location, very good value for money and good food.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was either too cold with the radiator off or too warm with it on. So a thicker downie would have been better with the heating off!

    The breakfast was excellent with a good choice for vegetarians

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    8.8
    Quiet and well placed. Improvements had been made since my previous visit.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tv remote did not work and room 20 got quite hot even with windows open and radiator off. The shower guard did not stop water getting onto the floor. Minor issues and I would certainly go again.

    Clean and friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    6.3
    basic room could of had a better nights sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were given double room 1 as we checked in, ground floor right next to reception desk, small parking area at front only fit 5 cars on it but was offered to park on church car park facing for small fee (reasonable really), small room was cold had a plug in radiator already in there, and very thin duvet no extra blankets available in room, walk straight into a wardrobe as you go into room which makes room feel closed in, this could be improved by changing layout, bathroom tiny but clean. Had comfy nights sleep until at 3am was woken by lots of people talking/laughing banging doors right outside our room at reception area this went on for about an hour. Lovely breakfast in morning, don't feel like was good value for money for £95.

    Location and breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    5.8
    Give it a try
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel has had some upgrading and the reception and bar look good. Unfortunately the upgrading to our room was paint only. The room was very small and not enough space to pass each other. Bathroom similar very small and no where to put your things. Needs a good clean in the bathroom lots of dust. Parking very limited

    Cooked breakfast was good and bar was also good. Convenient location for Lord street. Good for a short stay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    10
    Absolutely great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff at breakfast were brilliant - I went down at 9.45, I assume after the rush, and I felt like a right spoilt ba... *person*: I had the dining room virtually to myself and it was like a private dining room: The staff were discrete, yet attentive, and although the shower that I'd had had woke me up, the breakfast was enough to fill me up so much that I could have done with a little snooze, haha. Will definitely stay again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    10
    Entering the premises it was warm and looked very cosy .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Entering the premises it was warm and looked very cosy . The staff were all very friendly and helpful in every way ..the bedroom was very cosy and homely ..the bar area is a very nice place to relax in comfort for a quiet drink and to finish our overnight stay the breakfast was very good ..would recommend anyone to stay here because we have stopped at quite a few hotels in Southport and this is one of the best

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    9.2
    Lovely one night stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower not very good could do with updating considering price of room.

    Lovely bar,lounge area good food/drink at very reasonable price.nice outdoor and conservatory space for summer stays.compact double room ,very comfortable bed , modern and tastefully decorated

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    7.5
    Good location and free parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast room was cold, at the front in a lean to glass extension. Room was very small, no.7.

    Good location and free parking. Friendly staff and clean botel

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    9.6
    Very nice indeed, pleasant and relaxing.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    On my last full day there the loo roll wasn't replaced, so I had no loo paper next morning. Also the duvet was rather thin.

    All in very good condition, recently refurbished but still with traditional feel. Staff very friendly and efficient and accommodating. Location very convenient. Overall I felt very comfortable and welcome.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    10
    Exactly what I wanted and needed
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Where you ate was cold due to all the glass, however I was able to move into the bar and ate there.

    Staff helpful and pleasant, tried their best to cater to my needs. Room pleasant, comfortable and clean.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    3.8
    Terrible we have stayed at dukes folly before what a poor experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On the Saturday we went back to the hotel to find the bar and resturant closed to residents with a party in the bar the noise was terrible as our room was above the front door we did complain to the staff on duty but the noise still went on till one forty five and still have not been contacted by the hotel about our complaint which is over a week ago now.we were that tired on the Sunday that we even missed breakfast

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    6.7
    Location is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Party at venue during my stay, guests not informed, very noisy until early hours. Staff were rowdy after midnight. Cleaning not up to usual standards, no toilet paper left my housekeeping.

    Location is good. Food is excellent. Has a lift now, which is useful

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    5.8
    Nice room ruined by the hotel's management team won't be going back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Party on in bar and restaurant unable to use these facilities,only told this after I had booked us in for a evening meal at to find some were else to eat , room directly over , music blasting out till 12.15 am staff bad attitude ruined my wife's surprise 40th wedding anniversary I had given her

    The room was nice , clean

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    8.3
    Good value, friendly place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast wasn't as hot as it should have been. tasted good though and good choice

    Great place, good value, clean. Breakfast good. Location ideal for a visit to Southport.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    10
    Very relaxing and will go again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bar and Restaurant was booked out to a private party on the Saturday night. not publicized in advance. OK for us as we were going out for the evening but could have caused an issue to guests wishing to eat/drink in with weather not great at times.

    staff are very friendly, I have been before and know them so they are like old friends but are great with all guests. Room we stayed in was lovely and quiet, clean and modern décor so that was nice also.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    8.8
    Pleasant and relaxing.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shelf above stairs still dirty from last visit 18 months ago.

    Value for money staff friendly however the shelf above the stairs need cleaning more often as 2yrs ago it was just the same and it was the first thing I noticed. New chef is a bonus to the hotel food excellent. Nice to see the new work and changes on the hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    10
    Lovely stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didnt get told we could help ourselves to juice and cereals and breakfast was average, looked liked it had been cooked a while before we ate

    Great room, good location, managed to park

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    10
    A great stay and I would definitely stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    I'm not a fan of small individual cafetieres for coffee. I needed 3 refills and so did my friends.

    The bar was not over-priced and we appreciated the quieter sofa area which was very comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    8.8
    It was an enjoyable stay but the 4 x nights was probably enough
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bathroom was rather small with a small sink that was not easy for wash/shave and the shower either gave very hot or very cold water (no in between)

    Good family style hotel = clean and tidy room - change of towels and bed made etc., daily.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    10
    Brilliant small hotel in prime location and fantastic valeue for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Receptionist took me to my room. That was a first. Room was spotless, everything worked. Breakfast was hot delicious and fast. Prime location off Lord Street and near the Esplanade. Staff were friendly and efficient.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    10
    very pleasant stay with polite helpful staff and a hearty breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing we didn't like about our stay.

    great breakfast good helpful and polite staff. As there was a function in the bar the receptionist put us in to another room without asking so we wouldn't be disturbed. Very thoughtful gesture thank you.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    10
    A perfect stay at a great price, thoroughly recommended.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to see here!

    Liked everything, staff were super polite, room was dark and quiet (VERY important for me!), lovely clean bathroom, amazingly good WIFI, parking was across the street in the church car park but only a pound and I could see the car from the hotel. Lovely, tasty breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    7.1
    This place is ok for an overnight stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    See above re bathroom. Breakfast was ok but the organisation was a bit suspect as we were met with the majority of tables needing clearing, only 1 table was available.

    The bedroom and bed were very comfortable however whilst the bathroom had been cleaned it could have been done to a better standard e.g. shower door cleaner, taps polished properly and some hand soap.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    7.5
    Bed so comfy, room adequate and spotless.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Miras shower and small shower cubicle

    Bed so comfy, room adequate and spotless. Staff wonderful, made us sandwiches because we were leaving before breakfast on Friday

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    9.6
    Dukes Folly,,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking,very few spaces and difficult to manuver when full due to restricted space,

    Every thing, newly renovated to high standard, pleasent helpful staff, reasonable price, excellent food,

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    4.2
    Would not return, we feel cheated as it was not cheap to upgrade
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom, they do not leave a cloth for use in the bathroom and did not clean it during our stay, hence a wet slippery floor

    |We upgraded to a premier double room with kingsize bed but were not told it was fitted out for the disabled with a wet room for shower, so the floor was constantly wet and slippery even in the evening when we got back to the room,a lift by the toilet and grab bars.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    7.5
    Enjoyed stay and would book again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast, whilst good value for money on first morning it was only luke warm. Serving staff very young and inexperienced.

    location and general décor in the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    8.3
    book its worth it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    said parking but only room for 5 cars and 20 plus rooms

    location is great good for shopping and near all you want to do only one hick up on the sunday chief did not come waiting for 20mins for breakfast and still no toast but no worries it happens room 23 ok

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    8.8
    Convenient, comfortable hotel, staff very friendly but needs a little more attention when cleaning
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The skirting boards, pictures and the bedhead very dusty had to ask for a damp cloth to clean them.

    The bed very comfy and clean, evening meal was excellent and definitely value for money, enough room in the premier room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    10
    Overall very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking for only 4 cars. Room was small but fine for 1 night. Bathroom door had a clear pane of glass which was only partially covered!

    Location, staff. Very clean and tidy. Good food. Great for 1 night stop over.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    10
    Comfortable , reasonably priced, very central. Good service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Toilet seat not fitted properly and kept falling down. !!!!

    Very good evening meal. New chef we were told. Reasonably priced. Very good refurbishment. New Otis lift. Quirky hotel 20 rooms on different floors. Staff efficient and friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    9.2
    Lovley place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When the radioate went off bang in the night berry lound but the saff where so helpful and it got sorted right away .

    A nice hotel nice outside with fish in pound the bed was comfy. The staff were brillent!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    6.7
    I would stay there again if I couldnt find anywhere else to stay,I know it has nice rooms/breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We used the lift when we first arrived but later used the stairs which didn't look like they had been hovered in a while. They also need to mention the Spa facilities when you check in.

    I am currently pregnant and they provide decaff coffee at breakfast. The lady at breakfast was very pleasant

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    10
    Great, looking forward to next year!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We returned to the hotel after a meal only to find the bar closed, but I’m only being picky and selfish, really!

    Love this place! We’ve made it an annual trip to the air show and see no reason to use any other hotel!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    8.8
    The the curtains had come off 2 rings so couldn't close...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The the curtains had come off 2 rings so couldn't close them properly still a big gap in the middle, to high for me to put right, and they only just fit the frame would be better if they were fuller with more gather to fit and would also give a better look. A bit pointless being blackout as don't cover the windows properly. That's my only complaint.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    8.3
    Great location and great for a weekend stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Rosado
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little expensive but there was an airshow on that we didn't know about that weekend so everywhere was busy.

    Good sized room, excellent location, good parking and great staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    8.8
    Not so honest!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lady who was checking me in changed my room to a standard room and tried saying it was an executive room. I was not happy and complained then she tried saying we have many executive rooms. Finally she gave me what o asked for and believe me there was a big difference between the two rooms. Not happy!

    Good location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    10
    An absolute gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we were given was slightly on the small side but it was clean and comfy

    Hotel was exceptionally clean, staff polite and friendly and food delicious!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    6.3
    OK but could do better
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bedroom was in desperate need of having some money spent on it. The TV (the smallest TV I've ever seen!) was on the wall above a desk (probably from MFI sometime in the 80's!). I had to sit at the desk to watch the TV as the screen was so small and when I pulled the chair out to sit down, one of the drawer fronts fell off onto the floor! The single wardrobe was doing an impression of the leaning tower of Pisa and was in danger of collapse! AS usual in 99% of Hotels I've stayed in, the pillows were way too hard, and I didn't get much sleep.

    Downstairs and bar area were nice. The staff were friendly and helpful, and the place was clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    9.2
    At last-Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    We have finally found the place to go back to - We visit Southport several times a year, and this place has everything we need and more. I believe the new owners have made some fab upgrades to the property-essentially the new lift. New Carpets and the contemporary decor are a winner.We ate the included breakfast on the last day and were not disappointed. Fresh local produce- Tasty and plenty of it. The hosts were happy and very accommodating. Drinks were fairly priced. The reception is set back in a comfy lounge area were I felt relaxed and immediately 'At Home'...Altogether just perfect for a Mother & Daughter break away.We will be back Soon x

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    10
    Wonderful excellent hotel & we loved southport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints at all we loved the hotel & Southport.

    Everything, staff friendly, food excellent, hotel wonderful very comfortable & the pubs welcoming went for a meal at the Empire chinese absolutley gorgeous even had fun at pleasureland fantastic weekend me & my hubby had.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    9.6
    The value for money menu was remarkable and the food off it...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The size of the room was a little small.

    The value for money menu was remarkable and the food off it was very good.staff brilliant.really made to feel at home.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    7.5
    Small friendly hotel in a good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Had Sunday lunch with the family. Most of the meal was good value but the vegetables were rock hard and inedible. Parking on site very limited(4cars max) but parking at a reasonable rate available across the road in the church carpark.

    Although a single room the bed was comfortable and the room not cramped. Location was very good for access to Lord Street and the shops. It was also in a quiet enough area not to have a disturbed sleep. Proper fresh poached eggs for breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    10
    Fantastic hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Brilliant staff.beautifully decorated bedroom, friendly bar area. Delicious breakfast.we were doing the transpennine bike ride, we needed storage for the bikes the hotel are so accommodating

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    3.5
    Dissapointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    what could of been better; we coukd of booked a different hotel ! room was small, untidy , musty and gloomy

    Location was the only thing this hotel had gong for it. There was a night porter who was particulary helpful but other than that reception/front of house staff quite rude

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    5.4
    Dissapointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shortage of staff at the weekend when hotel was full, had to sit in the bar on Saturday, no room in the dining area. on Friday evening in the bar, my husband asked for a whiskey with ice, she poured a double, then insisted he had asked for it, which he hadn't, I was close enough to , hear him order it. So he paid rather than make a fuss. Room was very small and furniture cheap and drawer fronts dropping off when you tried to open them, quite clean, but dust round the edge of carpets, in the room and in the public areas, we were there 4 nights and our bed wasn't made up or the bathroom refreshed once, all they did was leave fresh towels and refresh tea and coffee. Wouldn't stay there again, although the hotel is situated in a good spot. I think most of their problems arise from short staffed.

    Location was good

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Dukes Folly Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: