Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Dukes Head Inn 3 stars

The Vineyard, Richmond Town, Richmond upon Thames, TW106AZ, United Kingdom

#7 of 14 hotels in Richmond upon Thames

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 390 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.8
    Dukes head = a little bit of lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very warm no air con or fan but it was 30degc outside hot hot hot...

    Lovely hotel with great couple hosting. The Dukes head is literally 8-10min pleasant walk from Richmond station. Met by lovely host, nice old school pub with nice beer garden and a very friendly feel. Walked to Twickenham stadium which was a nice walk about an hour max. Nice range of breakfast items available for breakfast between 8-10am. Would definitely stay here again. Didn't drive so can't comment on parking.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    Very pleasant stay we would gladly stay again.
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was very good. We had an evening meal and breakfasts.The rooms were spacious and clean.The location was excellent and the owner was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    3.0
    Would not stay here again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Tiny car park - 4 cars max if you block 3 cars in. My room was on the top floor which meant carrying suitcase/laptop bag etc up 4 flights of narrow stairs. The room was quite big but was tatty and grubby. Headboard was falling off, towel rail was hanging off, half the shower door was missing. Towels was small and thin. Window did not stay open. The bed was uncomfortable. Walls, doors, windows and skirting boards needed a good clean. There was a water cooler on the landing but when I saw how dirty it was, I didn't bother. Breakfast was basic and greasy.

    Good location - close to Richmond High Street.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.6
    It was close to Twickenham which is what we wanted.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no hairdryer but it’s not a big deal in the scheme of things

    It was close to Twickenham which is what we wanted. The owner is a lovely friendly chap and the breakfast was perfect. Really comfortable bed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    9.5
    My second stay at The Duke's Head and as before I really enjoyed it
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just the shower handset - the bracket was bust so the shower head flopped around and fell off. But the shower itself worked fine. Room a little tired but once again comfortable

    Really lovely staff made me feel very welcome. Thriving bar but no noise from this in my room. Spacious room with comfortable chair and bed. Very good shower, apart from handset. Proper opening window! An easy walk to restaurants and riverside in Richmond

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.2
    Simply good value for money. Don’t over expect and you won’t be disappointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, amazing burgers and superb Guinness. Look you get what you pay for, if you want to take your wife for your wedding anniversary your going to be disappointed. If you want a clean room, comfy bed simple surroundings and a decent pub downstairs your on to a winner.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    8.8
    Clean, quiet and comfortable with friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower room would be too small for a big person

    Room clean and comfortable. Shower room tiny but luckily I am small so fine! Staff friendly and helpful and area quiet.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    8.8
    A lovely comfy bed after walking all day.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The television signal was not always good broke up a lot may be because of the thunder storms in the area during the evening.

    A lovely comfy bed after walking all day. Everything you needed, not far from the station but away from the crowds. Very nice breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    10
    Great for an overnighter, convenient location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is limited but the staff try and accommodate and advise.

    The staff were super friendly, location was fab near the high street and the fullenglish brekkie in the morning was delicious.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.2
    Good Value and good location, friendly staff, slightly tired decor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The place is very 'lived in', so not to everyone's taste - this is not a travel lodge. Room was comfortable but a little bit noisy, but these small negatives are easily outweighed by the 'genuineness' of the place.

    Landlord and Staff were very friendly and accommodating. Location is brilliant for Twickenham and Richmond. I liked the 'pub' like feel of the bar area. Breakfast was nice quality and cooked to order. Really good value given the location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    7.9
    It’s not 5 star but neither is the price, Very friendly, attentive Staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is a bit dated, beds could do with a mattress topper & a bit more attention to cleaning.

    Great atmosphere (It was Cheltenham Gold cup day, we were there for the 6 Nations Rugby at Twickenham & it was St Patrick’s day. Even though we supported the losing team England). Caring attentive staff, good evening meals.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    5.4
    Spacious room.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Would have liked some fresh fruit with breakfast. My room was directly above the bar, so it was a bit noisy on the Friday open mic night, but it didn't go on too late, fortunately.

    Spacious room. Quiet location, convenient for town centre. Good cooked breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    9.2
    Friendly hotel/inn within walking distance of Richmond
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a problem for us but the rooms were via two flights of stairs so may be limited for people with mobility issues. Our bathroom was very cold although our friends' bathroom was fine.

    Good location for accessing Richmond town centre - a five/ten minute walk away. The rooms were within a small, local pub. Our rooms were clean and very comfortable. All of the staff were friendly and helpful, both in the evening when we were able to get a nightcap on our return from a family party to the lovely breakfast staff in the morning. Breakfast was great, cereals, fruit juices, full English, tea and coffee - definitely set us up for the day. Also the car park is small however if you pre-book Paradise car park (we used You Park - it cost £6.75 for 24 hours). We would definitely stay again if we wanted to visit this area in future.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    7.9
    Room (5) comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was a bit of a challenge in terms of getting into the space allocated (There are only 3 I think), but at least there was parking! Mattresses getting a bit tired.

    Room (5) comfortable. Fine ales and food and breakfast also good. Very friendly owners.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    7.1
    Let's be honest. this is a pub that offers bed & breakfast. Probably the best value in Richmond.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms would benefit from upgrading, however the beds were comfortable and we slept well.

    The host's are nice, breakfast very good, we enjoyed one evening meal which was excellent and very good value. There is an good choice of beers.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    7.9
    The locality was excellent very close to kew gardens , parking is restricted but we were accomadated
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heating was unajustable so was a little on the chilly side and no hair drier

    Excellent location, warm friendly accomadating staff. Great breakfast would stay again

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    9.2
    Comfortable stay in a pleasant environment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Sash windows needed securing - they rattled in a high wind and being under the flightpath the planes into Heathrow are non-stop.

    Nice old fashioned pub with a friendly welcome very conveniently located just one tube train stop from the TNA Archives in the very pleasant town of Richmond. Incredibly good public transport connections - the District Line and the Overland line both stopped working but I was still easily able to get into London. I had a large bedroom, good bathroom the food was good and not just your usual pub grub tho' this was available and there is a dining area separate from the bar.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    7.5
    very friendly and accommodating
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    only thing as it was very windy the older sash window rattled a bit

    Friendly helpful staff and I arrived late, was shown immediately to my room, en suite and clean and comfortable . I will stay there again as the price was very reasonable for a central location in Richmond

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    9.2
    Good base for a visit to (Central) London.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only a few parking places for guests. If you are late it's the street with its public parking metres.

    Nice place in convenient location, Richmond (tube) station in under 10 mins on foot, from there to Central London in a straight line, approx. 30-40 mins. Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    10
    Home from home oasis
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cant pick any holes just wish they had duvets on the beds.

    Great location have stsyed several times and will stay ahain. Home from home wonderful caring staff great beer and food. Rooms comfortable and clean

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    8.8
    A comfortable, quiet, room within walking distance of Twickenham Stadium.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A comfortable, quiet, room (and a good breakfast) in an excellent location for Twickenham Stadium if you don't mind a 45 minute walk - which my son and I obviously don't.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    9.2
    Value for the area
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing in particular!

    Truly excellent staff, good breakfast, fantastic location. If you need/want all of that for the area this place is absolutely fine!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    7.9
    Great stay which serves a really nice breakfast!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The comfort of the beds was OK, slightly older mattresses (maybe I'm spoilt by modern foam mattresses). The toilet's flushing-capabilities need to be checked.

    Great stay which serves a really nice breakfast (and a very early one for those that have to leave before 9am). The atmosphere is nice and cosy and they also serve delicious dinner! The neighbourhood is calm at night.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    8.3
    Excellent breakfast, great location, friendly staff,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A little grimy, although sheets and towels were clean, parking on site was very limited, bathroom/shower did have some mold as people have mentioned.

    Excellent breakfast, great location, friendly staff, inexpensive for the area.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    10
    Excellent real value, not just for money but also in terms of charm.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very slightly cool in the bathroom at this time of year (transition from Summer to autumn). However warmed up once shower was on.

    Wonderful classic english pub (not a chain) with impeccable personal touch from Landlord couple in an easily accessible and peaceful location near Richmond centre and station. Huge, spotless, comfortable bedroom with well equipped en suite bathroom. The best cooked breakfast I have experienced in years in cosy surroundings. Will be coming here again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    6.7
    Comfortable and Convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very limited parking on site and in the surrounding area.

    Quiet and private room with easy after hours access. Good location close to Richmond town centre and station.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    4.2
    Great location, but would not stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The feeling that the room needed a big clean.

    Needs a huge renovation, rooms felt a bit on the dirty side. Bathrooms were very old and basic Access was difficult, you had to walk through the bar. It was noisy both back and front being over a bar.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    8.8
    Really friendly budget (for Richmond) accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If the sash window worked properly it would have been better!

    Good accommodation, had a problem keeping the window open on a hot day, but my wife produced an inelegant fix to that. Otherwise, rickety toilet seat but everything else was superb.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    10
    Easy location for Richmond High Street
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent location for exploring Richmond. Two min stroll to High Street, 15 min walk to Richmond tube station. Very classic pub accommodation, great staff, super helpful. Has small car park, was lucky enough to get a space.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    4.2
    Glad to leave!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is badly in need of renovation. Very tired, very dirty room, dirty drawers, knob missing off cupboard, dirty paintwork, bathroom door didn't close, let alone lock, whole place felt dirty. Tatty curtains, old fashioned bedspreads, very basic. Says free parking but it's a drive that already had three cars in it and the street is permit parking only. Haven't rated style of property as it does not fit any of these categories.

    Location was excellent

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    9.6
    Just what we needed
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a little warm due to the outside temperatures but our housekeeper provided us with a fan straight away without having to ask for one.

    The staff were lovely and very helpful and attentive. The hotels is in a good location in Richmond within very close proximity to the train station. It's location was perfect for us as we needed a hotel close to the event we were going to in Twickenham which is about a 15 minute walk away. I would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    7.1
    Nice neighbourhood English pub and B&B
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 11 nights

    Although acceptable to us and very like English B&B's that I stayed in many years ago, some things could be better. The shower controls were difficult to use and the hair dryer was a shared one retrieved from a hallway table when needed. The internet was slow but always worked. There is no elevator so not recommended for people with mobility issues.

    Duke's Head is a traditional English pub with 2 floors of B&B rooms above. The pub is on a street-corner in a residential neighbourhood so its generally quiet but its a walk of at least 10 min to shopping or entertainments. The people were lovely, the English breakfast was good and made to order each morning and the rooms were comfortable and clean and pet-free.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    9.2
    I loved the community nature of The Duke's Head pub.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I loved the community nature of The Duke's Head pub. The rugby union test was on and many locals came in to watch the game at 8:30am - brilliant atmosphere. The owner Pat was very attentive and accommodating and nothing was a trouble for anyone. I felt very welcome.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    10
    Classic British Pub very close to Richmond High Street
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not much I didn't like, my friend commented on having larger towels would be nice but that's about it.

    Excellent friendly, helpful staff. Even let me check in early when I arrived before check in time. Its a very convenient location for Richmond town centre, few minute walk to high street and close to public transport. A classic British pub with awesome breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    6.7
    Ok but not great
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room was dusty and dirty and need a good vacuum, a bit off putting.

    Nice area. Parking on site although it was only just big enough for 3 cars and very tight getting out. Nice breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    5.8
    A lot of money given overall standard
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The seating in the pub area was filthy. The carpet up the stairs to the rooms clearly needs replacing. We stayed in the twin room which was just about clean, with a few hairs found in the tiny bathroom. Breakfast was ok, I needed to eat however my friend left hers.

    The location & the water available on the landing.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    4.6
    Shabby and overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was unclean . Not hoovered and no towels. All the fixtures and fittings were old and moy on good order. The loo was too close to the wall so you couldn't sit down on it properly.

    Staff were friendly and breakfast was good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    5.4
    Convenient location, very nice people but in severe need of upgrading!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pub itself was very run down and the room to be honest was pretty dreadful, the toilet/shower was tiny, there were broken bits and pieces everywhere, the furniture in the room was too big and the chairs were stained and the TV was tiny

    The people were absolutely lovely and the breakfast was nice too

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    8.3
    Dukes Head
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress had seen better days. Although the decor was dated it was clean and there was a good shower

    The staff were friendly and attentive. I really liked the food.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    9.2
    Old Gem- Nice stay and lots of happy memories!
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A gradual refurbishment of some old facilities and furniture would make the whole place back to its old glories!

    It is a beautiful old style property in a best located spot of Richmond (up-market suburb) quiet yet very close to the city center! The pub downstairs is apparently a gem, where neighbors, old customers and new visitors have a glass, catch up with friends and enjoy music. The landlord couple Maureen and Pat are terribly nice people, making you feel like home, if you ask they help you wherever possible. For all the qualities of the property, if it was newer you would have to pay much more. Nice stay and lots of happy memories!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    5.0
    Poor standard
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor uncomfortable furniture, too much noise from the pub, thin walls so i could hear the people next door snoring, generally way overpriced for the quality! I pad £135 should be more like £50/60 in my opinion.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    10
    Great place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing not to like.

    Very accommodating proprietor and staff - Quiet, convenient, clean place to stay with spacious bedroom. Would definitely book here again. They kindly allowed me to leave my bag after checkout while I went to Twickenham to watch the Sevens.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    7.1
    Very Cosy, great staff, clean, good food, location not...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room could be bigger, but not important to us. There is no mix tap, and should have a small fridge and a cattle.

    Very Cosy, great staff, clean, good food, location not excellent, but ok.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    7.9
    Clean and Tidy but don't depend on the parking facilities
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is advertised as having parking but this is very very limited and the owner advised us that there is rarely room for occasional users as contractors tend to use the hotel a lot and their vans and vehicles turn up at the beginning of the week and fill the spaces.

    The staff and local people using the hotel were very helpful and the rooms were clean and tidy. Good access for local transport

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    8.8
    Great Homey Environment
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing really

    The staff are, without exception, terrific people. You can feel very much at home here. The pub is a great local hangout, if you are so inclined. That means on the one hand very friendly local people, good for a chat over a pint. It can also mean a group of loud young drunks. (But this being greater London, best get used to that possibility almost anywhere.) Facilities are fine for a three-star at this price and location. Like so many other charming hotels, the building is quite old, and yes could benefit from a bit of renovation, but if you want perfectly level floors and right-angled walls, stay at the Radisson. I'd definitely come back to the Dukes Head.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    7.5
    A short stay in Richmond upon Thames
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no chef on Mondays which was not mentioned in the write up but as so close to town not really a problem.

    Comfy bed, room 26 was a good size although it was on top floor up two flights of stairs. Helpful and friendly staff. Reasonable breakfast : choice of juice, cereals, yoghurt and cooked breakfast. Good location easy walk to town centre and Richmond Hill.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    9.6
    Excellent, good value pub accomodation
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower cubicle door was missing and shower head on its last legs, but I improvised, no big deal!

    Lovely staff, very friendly welcome and an excellent breakfast, available from 7am which was good for me. Pub guests not noisy either despite Man U playing Chelsea

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    8.3
    Handy location, filling breaky, and a good price for visiting Richmond, Hampton, Kew, and London.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beds were a very firm, but not too uncomfortable. No TV remote in room, but we didn't ask about it as we were out and about. Have to sit side-saddle on the loo to not catch your legs on the radiator. There were some chocolate bar wrappers from a previous guest in a drawer and behind a chair, but the room had been dusted and hoovered.

    Handy location, just a few steps off the Richmond high street. 5 minutes walk from the Bus station, and about 10 minutes walk from the Railway / Underground station. Good breakfast, filling with good quality items. Very friendly and helpful staff. You can make the room very warm when it's cold outside. Not too noisy in the area. Shower was warm and had reasonable power. Price was good, considering location and breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    8.8
    The overall comfort and food/service was excellent, and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only problem was parking if you arrived by car. But we were lucky in finding a space when we arrived.

    The overall comfort and food/service was excellent, and staff very friendly and helpful. Excellent breakfasts and evening meals. It was also nice to stay in a traditional Inn with loads of character.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    9.6
    I don't want to give a good rating because I don't want it to be booked up when I next visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I bigger bathroom - but I really am being pedantic.

    The staff were very approachable and were not shy to join in the banter. I've been to Twickenham to see the rugby many times. This was by far the most enjoyable.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2017

    7.9
    Good value!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only minor issue was TV in room too small

    Good location, within walking distance of Twickenham, food very good, surprisingly quiet to say our room was over the main bar.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    10
    Very good value and service.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower stall was average size, so possibly cramped if you are a big person. But powerful jets and lots of hot water.

    Staff very friendly, excellent breakfast and spacious comfortable room despite the slightly dated decor. Five minute walk to central Richmond, but quiet location so once pub closes very quiet. Pub actually not open the night I stayed so don't know about noise level from it but there were plenty of other guests and I didn't hear a thing during breakfast, even though my room was above the dining area. Excellent value for the money and I would stay again. I could park right outside, there are single yellow lines, but there is also some courtyard parking for free if you need to park during the week days.very good WiFi signal via The Cloud.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2016

    4.2
    Not great for the single female traveller
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a poo left in the en suite toilet. The chair and and floor in the room were very stained I couldn't find a hairdryer No one knew the password for the wifi so I couldn't get online

    Nice poached eggs for breakfast

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2016

    9.6
    A pub with a heart.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location for visiting Richmond or getting into London. A real good experience. Good food, excellent breakfast. It's a good value pub that's at the heart of the local community

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    5.4
    2 star accommodation at 4 star price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cheap old flat pack furniture in poor state of repair. Very small old TV. No hair dryer although supplied when requested. Lamp shade that fell to pieces when lamp moved.Cramped bathroom,mould stains in shower and on walls. Antiquated shower. Extortionate price.

    Beds comfy,staff friendly,pub homely. Breakfast reasonable.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2016

    5.4
    Adequate for a one night stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    I thought the bed was rather hard and the noise of the aeroplanes started at around 4.30am so I did not get a good night's sleep. It was much further from the station than stated and I had to walk with heavy luggage.

    The room was large and everything was clean.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    6.7
    Should be better
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Beds old and not comfy, towel was dirty, WIFI is cloud and not very good, no elevator so hard to go upstairs with suitcase, I scratced the car trying to park to the parking area due to narrow enterance and ownes cars parked at all times.Water heater did not have a plug where located so needed to remove the side light to boil water, tea coffee and biscuit supplies never got top up as I stayed 3 nights.

    Personel was very friendly and helpfull

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    9.2
    Would recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hard pillows. Parking available but access difficult and limited spaces.

    Very good breakfast. Friendly helpful staff and relaxed atmosphere. Comfortable room with lots of storage space. Good location, central but quiet.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    7.5
    Great staff and good location for travel to Twickenham stadium.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked two rooms because no triple rooms were available, however in our double room there were 3 beds. So theoretically we could have just booked the one room and saved a little money. Hence the value for money score being low.

    Staff were excellent and particularly helpful with our early arrival.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    9.2
    Excellent base for a trip to Twickenham.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have been bigger, but I am greedy! It was really difficult to find somewhere in the room to plug in a phone charger.

    All staff very friendly, helpful and welcoming. Room comfortable and excellent value. Ate and enjoyed both dinner and cooked breakfast. Location is good, close to Richmond town centre and station, and about 35 minutes walk to Twickenham stadium (there's apparently a shuttle bus back on matchdays too).

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    6.7
    Room was clean and tidy, the staff were very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough tea or milk, the chair at the desk was not safe to sit on, the floorboards made a noises when you walked across the room.

    Room was clean and tidy, the staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    10
    Excellent stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable and cosy place in beautiful surrounding. Generous breakfast. Very friendly and helpful atmosphere. The pub beneath is definitely an advantage. Will visit again when coming to London.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    7.1
    Great stay near the river Thames.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were very uncomfortable that is all we didn't like although the bathroom could do with upgrading as well .

    The meals were all good and the staff were excellent, and the hotel was in a good position to walk to shop's and transport.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    10
    A nice break away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked everything the food was excellent, the room was beautiful and the staff was always smiling and welcoming i would definitely recommend and go again

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    8.3
    Ok for a one night budget stop over.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    No lift so bear this in mind if you have a heavy suitcase and are on the 3rd floor.

    Good central location on a not too busy road. Freshly cooked to order breakfast in the morning.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    8.8
    The Staff were very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Bed was a little uncomfortable for me. The room was on the top floor, lots of steps.

    The Staff were very helpful. The Food was great, especially the full English breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    5.0
    Best avoided
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Old, tired rooms and fittings. Uncomfortable and unmade up beds. Bad insulation from light and sound. Tiny carpark worse than useless.

    Location. Nice staff. Seems like quite a nice pub downstairs.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    8.3
    A lovely comfortable relaxed atmosphere to arrive at with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lovely comfortable relaxed atmosphere to arrive at with gorgeous food and lovely outside area festooned with flowers. Once you check in you won't bother going back out!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2016

    5.8
    Seriously overpriced for what it is.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bar was run down, in fact the whole place was run down and there was a musty smell in our bedroom.

    Staff were excellent, very friendly and helpful, food was ok although we just had breakfast, and location was perfect for our needs

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    Lovely room better than photo on booking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely room better than photo on booking.com. Comfortable bed and comfortable pillows. Breakfast nice and freshly cooked

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    9.2
    Friendly staff good food
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff good food

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    7.5
    Reasonable price for the money only half hour from the centre of London
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Inconsiderate delivery drivers at night

    Close to shops and transport centre, fairly quiet road

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    9.2
    Great location and so quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Good breakfast. Just the right amount of food.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    9.5
    Verry good will stay again
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location cleanliness good food

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    8.8
    Fabulous full english breakfast and freshly made coffee to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Fabulous full english breakfast and freshly made coffee to die for! freindly andwelcoming staff, who were very helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: