Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Dunsley Hall Hotel This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Dunsley Road, Stourbridge, DY7 6LU, United Kingdom

#1 of 4 hotels in Stourbridge

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 239 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: July 20, 2018

    9.6
    A beautifully converted country manor house with charm and character. Excellent staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The restaurant (in a separate building) was bistro style and without curtains, carpets and table coverings so it was a very noisy environment, It obviously appeals to party groups. It served very good food (from their own smokehouse and gelato). Would have preferred more peaceful surroundings.

    This is a unique hotel with oak panelled rooms and stylish antique furniture to suit the surroundings. Our bedroom 'The Rose Room' was clean, delightfully decorated and furnished and overlooked the Rose Garden, patio and lily pond. The Four Poster bed was high to get on to but was very comfortable. Small bathroom with shower only. Breakfast cooked to order, and the home-made marmalade was fantastic! Staff were friendly and very helpful offering good service.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 20, 2018

    8.8
    Review
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Couldn't get anything to eat after 8pm. This may have been because it was a Sunday but it still seems far too early to stop serving food.

    Room was clean and confortable

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 12, 2018

    10
    Excellent value for money in period rooms.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lovely old Manor House Hotel with beautifully appointed rooms, all with period furniture - my room had a four-poster bed! Friendly staff, quality full English Breakfast in the morning and good wi-fi. Next to the Hotel is Harley’s Smoke house - amazing food - owned by the same people as the Hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 5, 2018

    6.3
    It was adequate but could do more to accommodate business guests but also general
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No air con or fan to help with warm temperature. Tv in room really small and hard to watch from bed.

    Room decor was nice and building had lovely character

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 23, 2018

    10
    Great hotel,lovely room and gardens and the staff were friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Would have been nice to over look the garden.

    We were greeted on arrival by a friendly member of staff who showed us our room and carried my aunts bag upstairs for her.The room was decorated to a high standard and the bathroom was exceptional clean.The young lady who’s name was Jessica gave fantastic customer service nothing was to much trouble,she went out of her way to make sure we felt right at home,she’s is a credit to your hotel .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 22, 2018

    9.0
    Very pleasant and would book in again without hesitation.
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Sign for the hotel - too small and blended into the greenery. I approached from Stourbridge and missed the sign for the hotel. Saw the very large sign for the restaurant and ended up in Kinver and having to ask directions. Just saw it coming the other way. Needs to be bigger and higher?

    All the staff were excellent, very welcoming and efficient. Lovely quiet room. Excellent parking. Good value continental breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 17, 2018

    10
    Excellent stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Idillcal setting in beautiful surroundings. Staff very pleasant. Room excellent. Nothing bad to report at all. Very enjoyable stay. Would recommend this place as a must especially the rose room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 14, 2018

    6.7
    Nice stay, beautiful place, just slightly disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The house seemed to be set up for functions rather than guests. Lots of lovely but empty rooms, didn’t feel very friendly or homely, which is a shame. We had drinks in the gardens and it was sad to see used cups and glasses on surrounding tables uncleared for the hour or so we were there. Loud music played in the bar area all afternoon and on into the evening even though there was no one around and was still going at 11 pm . The bar was directly below our room and I had to ask if it could be turned off so we could sleep. Hartley’s Restaurant next door was good but a bit incongruous for a country house hotel! I do understand the commercial thinking behind it though. Really loved the house, it just needs a few tweaks to make it a memorable place to stay.

    Lovely location, beautiful house and grounds, elegant rooms, friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 13, 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful part of the country ,lovely canal walks ,friendly bars and restaurants,also v
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing at all .

    Beautiful hotel and grounds exactly as seen on the photographs ,was really good to stay in the lovely olde world hotel a big change from all these fake boutique hotels and chain hotels. Staff were lovely especially Sophie the night receptionist,we will definitely return as we have family near Kinver instead of staying in one of the chain hotels !

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 27, 2018

    10
    A perfect stay in a perfect hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was a lovely converted manor house retaining original features. The bedrooms were spacious and stylish, the entrance hall and reception were far removed from the faceless hotel chain experience, the lounge was lovely with views over the formal gardens and seating area. We were traveling with my elderly father, the staff could not have been more pleasant and helpful. Contacting us before we went, considering which room would suit him, passing information from one team member to another so everyone could help. Absolutely first rate service

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 24, 2018

    10
    Lovely period property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Lovely period property. Delightful friendly staff. Nothing was too much trouble. Character of the old building retained. One was not made to feel uncomfortable for visiting alone!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 17, 2018

    9.6
    lovely character, huge rooms, awesome shower
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was staying for work. I think it would be far better to have stayed for leisure rather than work as i had to rush off

    loved the room. Shower was amazing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 15, 2018

    8.8
    Only a stopover but enjoyed our stay and brief sighteeing (Rock Houses)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    As hotel was almost empty, our visit falling between bank holiday and start of business week, we were upgraded to a very pleasant room, spacious with fine double aspect views.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2018

    6.3
    Tranquil location and interesting building - but seems to be really for weddings and events.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel was empty. There was no breakfast or dinner during our stay. The only option was to go to the adjacent Grill - but breakfast was not served until 9.0, we did not eat there as it was noisy - disco style music blaring out, no soft furnishings and so full of echo, no atmosphere whatsoever. The Grill bar seemed to be a place for local young people to drive out to. There were no other restaurants within walking distance. The staff were ambivalent, not even a "Did you enjoy your stay?" on check-out. - Just a monosyllabic communication. Disappointing.

    The room was clean, comfortable and very quiet. A good location for exploring the Severn Valley.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 24, 2018

    7.5
    Quaint hotel, pleasant staff a bit expensive for what was on offer.
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We found breakfast - whilst very pleasant- a bit on the pricey side at £12.95 each. There was a function on when we arrived and there was no parking available at the hotel until later in the night and they do not serve dinner on a Sunday so we had a very short walk to the the nearest eatery or a drive into the town. Couldn't open a window in our bedroom as they seemed to be painted shut! When we arrived back from dinner at 10pm the place was mostly in darkness and there were no facilities to get a coffee or other refreshment easily.

    We liked the character of the place and the location suited our needs. The staff were very friendly and helpful at all times and made us feel welcome and the rooms are all different and unique and full of character.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 20, 2018

    8.3
    Harleys restaurant was good value for breakfast and an...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Having to go up and downstairs from our bedroom to the bathroom but the room was beautifully decorated and comfortable.

    Harleys restaurant was good value for breakfast and an evening meal. Had no meals at Dunsley Hall itself.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 11, 2018

    5.0
    Not what we were expecting for the amount we paid, we wouldn't return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Overall, pretty disappointed with this experience. The mattress was not comfortable, we had to rearrange the TV to be able to see it properly from the bed and the Wi-Fi didn't work the whole time we were there.

    The staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 29, 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic friendly hotel with character
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hotel has a lot of character , staff are friendly, especially one of the bar maids named Jessica, lovely girl the hospitality she showed me and my wife was second to none . Lovely quiet location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 28, 2018

    10
    An amazing price for a little piece of escapism
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I prefer a duvet to sheets and blankets but that’s a minor thing for a comfy bed

    Comfy bed, good size room, loads of storage, huge bathroom and fabulous shower. Tea, coffee and hot chocolate in the room. Amazing afternoon tea.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 15, 2018

    9.6
    Lovely hotel in a lovely, quiet setting. Helpful and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I'm sure this was an oversight, but we only had 1 set of towels in our double room. We managed, as we didn't notice until we were showering in the morning. I have no doubt that we would have been provided with another set, had we asked.

    Lovely staff, very friendly and informative. Nothing was too much trouble. Characterful rooms, very clean and nicely furnished.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 4, 2017

    3.8
    Great staff, awful hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was very dated. Wardrobes smelt awful. Carpet was filthy. A function was on during the night until the early hours which no one told us about when booking so VERY noisy.

    The lady on reception was lovely, shame she didn’t work in a better hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 21, 2017

    7.5
    Pleasant stay in a very beautiful old house.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The carpets were all quite stained and our room was very dusty. When we checked in, there was no explanation of things like where the bar was, could we get breakfast etc.

    The staff were very friendly and the room was lovely and warm.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 16, 2017

    6.3
    Comfortable but middling service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff were sometimes hard to find including check in and bar. 10am checkout on a Sunday with no flexibility was poor.

    Lovely building. Easy parking. Comfortable room, good shower.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: November 8, 2017

    8.8
    With no evening meal we decided to leave after one night.Expensive weekend...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    web site said fine dining. Dining room closed . New smoke house opened across the yard. 90% Mexican food we had to drive a couple of miles to another hotel for a evening meal Could not have a drink as l had to drive back .L am 80 years old so draw your own conclusions

    bedrooms

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 2, 2017

    10
    Need to re-visit on my time
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    More time - my bad

    The individuality was wonderful. Every room oozing character, the history leaping off the walls. Breakfast was awesome. Room was wonderfully comfortable, and that bathroom !!! But it was the pride and enthusiasm of the staff that took it to the "special" level They gave me a room upgrade which meant amazing went to wonderful

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 19, 2017

    4.5
    Website is great, reality isn't
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I dont see how it is acceptable to turn up at a hotel on a Saturday to be told the restaurant is closed due to 'unforseen circumtstances'. Customers should have been called ahead to be informed, so you have an option. Turns out it was closed for a private function. So the whole reason for the visit was to go to a country hotel to a nice bar and restaurant and none of it was available to us. To top it off we couldn't have breakfast their either. We had to go back out of the hotel to Harleys The room was tiny. On check out, no one asked how our stay was, not sure how any of the above warrants 5 stars. Not made to feel welcome at all.

    The staff at the off site Harleys Bar and Restaurant were very friendly and welcoming. Lucky really as there was not any other options open to us!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 8, 2017

    5.4
    Room was clean and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Spa bath didn't work Not enough toilet tissue Towels too small and one between the two of us Dining facilities really poor Service was confusing and could have been more affable

    Room was clean and comfortable

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 8, 2017

    7.9
    Lovely place, beautiful gardens, would definitely stay there again.
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was far to hot as was the shower room. I really think the heating should have been turned down. I did think that the price for the room should have included breakfast.

    The bed was really comfortable. The room extremely clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 6, 2017

    5.8
    Not Enjoyable.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    TV was so small.think it 24"... making tea was silly, cable too short to leave on table - had to put on floor to boil. No Internet - Useless, TV not tuned - had to work it out. Tree outside room kept banging so sleep was disrupted, Vacuum early outside room for some reason. Not Clear on Payment process and it was all a bit.>Faulty Towers...

    Not much, room was good size, bathroom was nice. Looks the part from outside.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 22, 2017

    8.3
    Very comfortable, hospitable hotel full of character with very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing I can think of - part of the car park entrance needs resurfacing.

    Building was full of character and charm. Comfortable accommodation and very friendly welcoming staff. Conveniently located near main road systems but the lovely Severn Valley is easily accessed.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: August 29, 2017

    8.3
    Great staff, beautiful surroundings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check out was 10 am which we felt was quite early. Bed wasn't the comfiest but was still a good nights sleep. We missed breakfast which is 8-10 , and had to pay full price, breakfast was nice but we felt it was very expensive!

    Staff were all very helpful and friendly, rooms was a very good size and there were tea and coffee facilities available.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 29, 2017

    5.0
    Very poor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The carpet In the room was in a awful state, there was a huge stain in the middle of the carpet and the TV kept breaking up, no signal.

    Good location and the eatery next door a good place for a drink at the end of the evening.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 28, 2017

    9.2
    Very comfortable and I liked the old fashion elegance that came with it!
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Getting lost trying to find it! It was pitch black, so a sign post on the lane where o took a wrong turn would have been helpful!

    The night staff concierge was very friendly, this was a good welcome after a long drive and getting lost!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 25, 2017

    5.8
    Was ok purely based on location. For 1 night was a bed to sleep and shower to wash
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Cleaners skipping on doing a proper job. Last time I've stayed bathroom floor wasn't mopped, this time mirror above the sink never was cleaned as I could see someone's writing on the steamed mirror. Dead spiders and cobwebs around door frame and ceiling.

    Location, amazing period building, garden

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 10, 2017

    7.1
    Some evidence of amateur DIY repairs ( grout, wiring). could be updated.
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    I know its a small room but I don't like to kneel on the floor to make coffee, unplug the light to use the kettle, not able to turn off centre light from the bed, wait so long for bulbs to brighten upon entering room. Someone else's clothes in drawer.

    The curtains were good and kept out all the light.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 4, 2017

    7.5
    Tried not to be disappointed but overall wondered how it will survive it's current star rating
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Public rooms were cold and uninviting,the open fireplaces should have been operational....or used large candles or lighting effects to create ambiance. Unclear at time of booking that only on certain days would be evening meal availability....no option so we used adjoining smoke house restaurant ....canteen atmosphere noisy ,food over priced for small portions....wouldn't return

    Beautiful garden setting Quiet location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 2, 2017

    6.7
    Tried to call down to reception a couple of times but no...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Tried to call down to reception a couple of times but no answer. There was an event being held just below my room on the first night so no chance of sleeping until late and I needed to get up early the following morning. I would have appreciated being told about this at the time of booking or before arrival when I still had the option to cancel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: August 1, 2017

    10
    This is a great hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This is a great hotel. Full of character and keeping many of it's original features which enhance it's appeal. Lovely rooms that seem to be uniquely styled with period furniture. On a business trip, so wifi essential - no problems - good signal and fast. Breakfast is freshly cooked to order and timely. Staff very friendly and helpful. Booked multiple stays here - would confidently recommend.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: June 26, 2017

    5.8
    Won't be back in a hurry.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A lot of noise from the lobby/bar area heard in the room. Phoned for directions as lost... told to use google maps. No breakfast included and told to pay separately. Additional charge for credit card.

    Large room

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 14, 2017

    8.8
    main part of hotel was lovely & we ate a lovely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our bedroom was very dated with MDF furniture which did not fit the period of the hotel. Although the bathroom was large this was also dated and didn't fit the period of the property.

    main part of hotel was lovely & we ate a lovely breakfast at Harley's staff were very lovely. The bedrooms in the original part of the hotel looked gorgeous and in keeping with the period of the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: June 14, 2017

    5.4
    Didn't have breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Pillows poor Blankets not duvet TV too small Only one chair

    Didn't have breakfast No bar and restuarant closed in the evening on a Sunday On suite refurbished

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 14, 2017

    8.3
    charming stay in wonderful landscape
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    at some corners you can see the age of the house and would prefer two blankets for double rooms.

    super nice and helpful staff, and a nice hotel in wonderful landscape. An old house with charm and character, which invites you to relax and enjoy your stay in the middle of England. Typical English breakfast and free water on the rooms. one definitely should go there by car, to have explore the surroundings.Free WiFi and lovely afternoon tea, especially if you can enjoy the garden and the sun.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 9, 2017

    7.5
    The restaurant opposite do a good range of options.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sat Nav directs you to the wrong side of the road. It gets somewhat noisy late at night 'if' some guests stay up drinking.

    The restaurant opposite do a good range of options.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 6, 2017

    9.6
    I likes how when I arrived very late due to work meeting in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I likes how when I arrived very late due to work meeting in Poole the lady on reception was well coming and could see my stress and offered to get me a drink from Tue

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2017

    8.3
    Lovely atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    More staff at busy times maybe.

    We loved the hotel and the atmosphete. Staff could not have been more helpful even though they were really busy. I am looking forward to returning soon.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2017

    6.7
    Not quite worth the rating given, from our experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Really disappointed with our bathroom. We were staying during incredibly hot weather and we couldn't switch off the towel rail which made everywhere very warm. We also couldn't make the sink plug watertight, and there was grey-green gunk all around the shower nozzle. On our first morning the water could only be described as tepid. We did mention this, and the towel rail was switched off for us, and the shower nozzle had had some attempt at being cleaned. We thought the £5.95 continental breakfast was extremely ordinary - cereal and toast (when asked, we requested all brown and got half white and half brown) and an indifferent, tired fruit bowl. We also arrived to find that they had not got any gas so the dining room was closed - they said they had contacted everyone - but none had told us. Thankfully there is a smokehouse opposite and they squeezed us in to eat there, but it wasn't quite the fine dining we had been looking forward to...

    Lovely old building, lovely view over garden, comfortable bed, felt luxurious

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: April 28, 2017

    7.5
    Very attractive old property that's been very well...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room wasn't touched during the day, bed unmade, bathroom untouched, dirty cups left etc.

    Very attractive old property that's been very well refurbished.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 23, 2017

    7.9
    Excellent overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Towels were rather skimpy. We do like a nice large bath sheet size

    The breakfast was superb. Beautifully cooked, piping hot and served on a warmed plate!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 14, 2017

    10
    A hidden gem not to be missed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This is an excellent Hotel the staff were very attentive. The hotel itself is beautiful and friendly and welcoming. I would highly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 7, 2017

    7.1
    Very noisy at night but lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The sound travels throughout the hotel and as this is a popular place for the locals to drink at the rooms were extremely noisy until late at night.

    Building and gardens are lovely. Bedrooms look lovely and very friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 6, 2017

    7.9
    Friendly staff, really comfortable bed, pretty room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Spa bath didn't work in room. Disappointed to be told that the restaurant was closed Mondays and Tuesdays...its a hotel ? Was advised that The Smoke House in the grounds was open. It served ribs, burgers, fajitas etc. not quite what I had in mind for that evening but the quality was good and the staff were lovely.

    Friendly staff, really comfortable bed, pretty room.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: March 25, 2017

    7.5
    Excellent surroundings
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent location for my Chinese colleagues. Used the Smokehouse restaurant in the same grounds , but disappointed with the Steaks. Also long time waiting for the food.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: February 21, 2017

    6.3
    It's convenient place to stay when I come to Stourbridge. The best hotel I've found so far.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Poor lighting in the bathroom. No chance to apply make up there. Could be cleaner. I'm not big fan of cobwebs on the ceiling. But I understand it's a country side hotel. Funny smell in the corridor. Smells of industrial dishwasher.

    Amazing building with lovely garden. Shame some rooms are just basic IKEA. It's not in keeping with the exterior.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: January 27, 2017

    8.8
    Charming old house with traditional furniture and...
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Under sheets were too small for the bed, so irritating overnight having to rearrange the sheets!

    Charming old house with traditional furniture and interesting art works. Good welcome. Quiet. Nice lounges. Only stayed overnight, no meals taken. Good bedroom and bathroom. Free parking and good wi-fi.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: January 12, 2017

    10
    Peaceful
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only thing wrong, if you can call it wrong, was the pillows, (but people are used to their own.) They were a bit flat, but other than that it was lovely.

    We stayed in the Rose room, really lovely,lovely view. Comfy bed.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: January 9, 2017

    6.7
    Great weekend with friends.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    First room we had was like a refrigerator and curtains falling off the pole but we were moved swiftly on complaining - just sad they hadn't checked it to begin with. Bar was in the function room and very impersonal but we were able to take our drinks to the Snug which was lovely. Especially didn't like the fact that unless you leave by 10 a.m. on the Sunday you get fined! Shame it's not 11 a.m. for a Sunday especially when on a weekend break.

    Had some lovely food for breakfast and dinner. Staff - especially the waiting staff and chef extremely friendly. Good place to stay for a weekend. The Snug was a lovely place to have a drink.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: November 18, 2016

    9.2
    Comfortable overnight
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful place with a warm welcome. I can't say much more after a swift B & B stay on business, but wish I could have stayed longer. N.B. Your website says there's no food available after Sunday lunch but the owners have a restaurant next door which serves till 8pm on a Sunday

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: November 11, 2016

    7.5
    Enjoyable Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only thing I didn't like was that they used sheets & blankets on the beds rather than a duvet. OK in the summer maybe but not in the middle of October.

    Our stay at the hotel was very nice including the Sunday Lunch. It was a bonus that next door to the hotel was another restuarant, so we had a choice of places to eat an evening meal. The staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 12, 2016

    5.8
    Not rushing back.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lighting in bedroom and bathroom was poor. No desk to work at so moved to a twin with a dressing table. Hot water failed so cold shower in the morning. On arrival, went to the bar and asked for a beer. Real ale tap was unavailable( only lager) but there was no bottled beer available either ! Asked for some crisps or nuts - none of those either and finally not really an apology, which is probably what prompted me to write this review...

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: September 5, 2016

    5.8
    Nothing special for £85
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Over priced for what it was. No Aircon all but one of the windows were painted shut. 100% would have stuck with a premier Inn if there were one close by for almost half the price. Seems youre only paying for the building and not the contents or quality of your room.

    Nice location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: August 30, 2016

    9.2
    Luxurious without breaking the bank
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Definitely need a sign on both sides of the entrance! We drove down the hill and totally missed it as the sign is only on one side of the gateway. Fine if you drive from the other side! Disappointed restaurant was closed sunday evening, but the smokehouse grill next door was open. Minor problems - wouldn't stop me recommending this hotel

    Quaint, old building with loads of character.Superb full english breakfast, cooked to order. Clean comfortable room. Friendly, welcoming staff, even though they were overworked, being a bank holiday weekend and having a private function on as well. Would definitely recommend.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 18, 2016

    6.7
    Staff friendly, beds lovely and comfortable, attractive...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Arrived and they had no record of our booking! Eventually they found our reserved room on a different night....their mistake....luckily they could find us a room free. Bathroom hadn't been properly cleaned though...I discovered wee in the loo etc! (But issue was rectified quickly). Kettle wouldn't work.Tiny TV set. Shower awful....hardly useable. Breakfast (not included in room rate) was a rip off! Dining room shut half the week.

    Staff friendly, beds lovely and comfortable, attractive building and grounds

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 9, 2016

    6.3
    Lovely place BUT poor facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Tv was so small, I didn't think you could still get them that small. Kettle was dangerous, had to unplug to pour as cable to short, no dressing table for women to do hair or make-up, cooked breakfast dried out and very expensive, most of the evening menu was not available. Over all it spoiled the whole place.

    Lovely building, room was nice and clean as was shower room.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 2, 2016

    4.2
    Wouldn't go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My wife and I stayed at your hotel on Sunday night (31 July 16). We chose it because we knew we would be at the end of a long, challenging week, before a 450 mile journey home, and after all your advert talked about "a luxury romantic hideaway" - ideal! The reality was not so 'luxury', the bottom line, the lack of attention to detail really let the place down. 1. The curtain hanging off the curtain pole (picture) 2. The chair in the room that you couldn't sit in as it was only fit for the dump (picture) 3. The view out of the room including 'buckets' of cigarette ends (picture) 4. The one teabag in the tray of milk and coffee 5. The dead flowers in the vases on the tables in the attached Grill and Bar It was also rather disappointing in a 'luxury' hotel to find sheets and polyester blankets! Where was the Duvet? To be frank I have stayed at better Premier Inns for less. Sorry to be so frank, but thought you should know. After all we weren't asked by your staff whether we had enjoyed our stay!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: July 28, 2016

    9.2
    Fantastic hotel, clean, comfortable and friendly.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lack of useable chair to sit and work at the desk was my only issue.

    Clean, well appointed room with fantastic antique furniture and huge bed. Large and well laid out bathroom. Fantastic view overlooking the rear terrace and gardens. Very quiet so had a great night's sleep.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2018

    7.5
    The room was very comfortable with an excellent shower.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very comfortable with an excellent shower.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 7, 2018

    8.8
    Lovely place in nice location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lovely place in nice location. Would recommend.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 6, 2018

    10
    Beautifully preserved mansion, full of character
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautifully preserved monumental country house with friendly staff and lovely rooms. Would I stay here again? Certainly yes.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 24, 2018

    5.4
    No food served after 8.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No food served after 8.30pm

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 24, 2018

    10
    The hotel has kept its character and is undeniably cosy!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel has kept its character and is undeniably cosy! The staff were lovely. We would happily stay here again!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 23, 2018

    10
    CHARACTERFUL HOUSE
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    nothing

    Character, charm and comfort all combined.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 13, 2018

    10
    2nd time I have stayed here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    2nd time I have stayed here. Very nice rooms. Has a smoke house restaurant next door which is ideal. Recommend staying in the "Rose room"

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 11, 2018

    8.8
    Convenient location and recent additions really well done.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Convenient location and recent additions really well done... clever design and functional.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 11, 2018

    9.6
    Quiet and comfortable place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Could have had some magazines to read in the lounge.

    Friendly staff, quite and peaceful place to stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 4, 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Slow on reception. Bit pricey for the location

    Beautiful room

    Stayed in June 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: