Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County 4 stars

Old Elvet, Durham, DH1 3JN, United Kingdom

#5 of 13 hotels in Durham

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 3286 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    10
    Superb staff (who went beyond the call of duty to resolve a problem with the booking made).
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The duty manager (Jon) couldnot have been more helpful in resolving a problem which arose concerning my booking (I had been allocated a single room instead of a double room with single occupancy - quite a big deal for me as I am very tall...) I was tired and a bit cross on arrival at the hotel, but Jon was exceptionally helpful in resolving the problem to my complete satisfaction, and I will definitely stay at the Marriott again next time I am in Durham. The location of the hotel is unbeatable, the staff are friendly and helpful, there is convenient car parking, the food is great, and I got a great deal... What more could a traveller wish for?

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    9.2
    Lovely friendly hotel great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed a little to firm for me.

    Another lovely stay good selection at breakfast was delicious, the lady and gentleman who served in the breakfast buffet where so friendly a real credit to the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    7.9
    It was ok but nothing to make it memorable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel needs a good refurb. Room furniture was dated. Hk cabinet was open and we could see all the duvets and pillows were on the floor in a dirty and untidy environment.Outside sitting area needs tlc too.

    Staff were helpful and pleasant. Location was great.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    10
    Relaxing, and enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Payment for parking was our grudge, if your staying over then I thought you would get free parking in the hotel car park.

    The staff at reception were extremely professional helpful and friendily, the welcome made us feel at ease. Our room was extremely clean and totally exceed our expectations. We also utilised the leisure facilities and enjoyed very much. We also loved the fact check out was late. We had an excellent stay.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    6.7
    room not available until after 3pm, room furnishings dated,...
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    room not available until after 3pm, room furnishings dated, poorly equipped bathroom (shower would have been better than bath) room card keys needed to be changed 3 times over the 2 day trip

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    8.8
    A convenient overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the furnishings and fittings , particularly the bathroom in our room, are tired and need updating.

    The large family room was very comfortable and the staff in reception were friendly and helpful. The hotel is in a convenient position for a stroll around Dirham.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    7.1
    Great position but dated room and in fact dated hotel in the old part of the building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bedroom quite small and dated. Could easily be improved by replacing wardrobe and resiting it. Shelf at sitting height at window but not weight bearing to sit on. Standard size bed not great for the cost of the room. A pet hate is the cupboard that should house a fridge is fridgeless and screwed closed. Nowhere to keep my medication chilled.

    Location is perfect. Parking good value in town centre. Staff very friendly particularly breakfast lady.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    10
    Amazing
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The internet connection was a bit slow on the TV for room 205 but not a major issue. Only thing I can think if I needed to be really picky

    A warm welcome from the minute me and my partner stepped into the building. Room was fantastic and will not be the last time I stay. Thank to all the team for everything. Well done!!!!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    10
    Good value, pleasant and relaxing in welcoming environment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can’t think of anything

    Very comfortable room, staff friendly and very helpful, good food and choice at breakfast in pleasant surroundings. Needed to arrange a taxi, this was undertaken efficiently by reception staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.5
    Excellent location for exploring Durham, very central, close...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were a little dated, no air conditioning in the room and it was too hot.

    Excellent location for exploring Durham, very central, close to bars and restaurants, everything in walking distance. Hotel was clean, good overnight parking, good breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    8.8
    50th Birthday Party celebrations
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were on the ground floor with a view of the car park which was not the best would have liked a river view or a brighter room.

    Had a fab sleep bed was extra comfy. Liked the check out time at 12 as didn't have to pay for late check out. Booked a room as friend was having her 50th party there and seemed like the best idea and breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    9.2
    Could do better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner menu was limited with small vegetarian choice and too many "messed about with" versions of nice dishes. A more plain selection would have resulted in us not eating out after the first evening, when service was also suprisingly slow.... even my cheese and biscuits was forgotten about!

    Staff were so very nice.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    7.1
    Nice hotel close to everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a riverside room, it was very war even with fans on. Had to have windows open and the noise was constant all night long.

    Nice hotel close to everything.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    9.6
    A wonderful experience - loved the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that all the guest members seemed to pay extremely varying amounts for similar rooms - this was disappointing!

    I loved how well we were looked after by the staff and the upgrade to a suite we received on arrival.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    4.6
    I travel lots for business, one of the worst hotels I have stayed in.
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness of room - there were cobwebs and it had ‘tired’ decor, still had a bath which you had to step into to show - it this day and age shower curtains are really old fashioned. Like I said tired facilities and decor. Also was woken at around 1pm with a fire alarm sounding - it was manic - none of the staff took control, were we left outside for an hour, poor to no communication, there was no role call of guests. When we complained the following morning the receptionist did not take it seriously and just smirked at us. WILL NEVER STAY THERE AGAIN

    Not a lot - location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    10
    A wonderful mini-break in a superb hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The range of breakfast food was superb as was the quality. The friendly staff throughout the hotel could not have been nicer or more helpful, and our room was excellent and very quiet.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    7.5
    Disappointing. The rooms at nearby Indigo are cheaper and much nicer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room seriously needs refurbishing! All of the furniture is old and chipped and the surfaces scuffed. Grouting is falling off in the bathroom. The cushion on the chair to sit at the desk was virtually threadbare. Despite having the window open, it was incredibly stuffy. At £117 per night, you do not expect this.

    Good variety at breakfast. Friendly, helpful staff. Great central location.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    10
    A great break away.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was good couldn't find faults at all.

    Hard working courteous staff. Great room, great location. Will definitely come back. Everywhere was spotlessly clean. staff cleaning all the time.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    7.5
    Brilliant location just small things needed to improve it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was no information pack in the room. The T.V covered the dress mirror. The bins were not emptied and the Tea and Coffee was not filled replenished. The drinks in the bar were very expensive. There was a additional charge of £7 a day for parking your car at the hotel absolute disgrace when you had paid that much for the room.

    Staff were very helpful nothing to much trouble. Breakfast had a decent choice. Bedroom was kept clean towels changed. Trolley was a life safer to get all the luggage on to take to the room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    7.9
    Very enjoyable, with extremely helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cost of breakfast was too high. One of our party only wanted some juice and a pastry, but still had to pay £16.50. Great shame they do not offer cheaper continental option.

    Hotel catered very well for my disabled Mum and placed us in rooms next door as requested (even though the additional rooms were suites). Member of staff on reception was especially kind and helpful with traffic cone to block off the disabled space while we went out for the evening.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    8.8
    Pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was a little dated, wine was very expensive at the hotel bar as was breakfast at £16.50 per person so we opted not to have breakfast.

    Large room, comfortable bed, friendly staff, nice pool and central location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    4.6
    Disappointing and overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Problems with hotel system at check in meant there was a bit of chaos at reception and we couldn’t get into room straight away. Had to wait in Starbucks but they did give us tokens for free coffee and knocked price of car parking/breakfast off bill to compensate. Room was disappointing: tired, plain. Breakfast disappointing too. Wasn’t even room to sit in main breakfast area. Wouldn’t bother staying here again, overpriced for what it was. Would stay in Premier Inn over this.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    7.5
    Second visit and Durham is a lovely place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Where the room was situated and temperature and cleanliness of the room . Had two fans going as first wasn't good but both full of thick dust .

    Location of the hotel great bed comfy and breakfast beautiful great choice

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    7.9
    Pleasant surroundings but lacked comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast for £16.50 per person which I thought was ridiculous as price to stay was very expensive in comparison to other 4 star hotels in the area. Also bed was extremely hard and uncomfortable

    This hotel is very central and nicely decorated. Friendly helpful staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    7.1
    Good Quality hotel in a conenient location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The car park! This is the impression we had in our brief stay: The car park is shared with non residents who are supposed to pay a parking fee. The residents pay per night when they book in. However, there does not seem any system that monitors if non residents pay -indeed how or where they pay. In consequence , it seems a lot don’t. It was very clear on the Saturday evening that non residents used the car park and then went into town with some returning late at night and some next morning. Residents like ourselves, were unable to park at the hotel had to find spaces in nearby streets. So here we have an excellent hotel with a car park -a major asset and a feature that attracts guests to stay. However, because of poor mnitoring and control of who can use it the hotel’s asset is greatly devalued - and its guests miss out.

    good quality hotel in a covenie t location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    9.2
    Great central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our only issue was that one of the lights wasn't working when we first arrived but they replaced it the next day.

    Great central location. Staff were really friendly and the room was really comfortable. The pool area was clean and the gym was great.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    5.8
    Room dark and gloomy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room dark and gloomy. Bed far too small only felt like a 3/4 .floorboards very noisy also lift on going up and down all night making a loud scraping sound . Would not use this hotel again .

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    7.9
    I did enjoy my stay, the staff ' made it'
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As above

    Breakfasts are excellent, food in the bar is very good; I enjoyed the very different potato wedges. Staff are friendly, smiling and efficient. The rooms require a make over; they haven't changed in years. I thought Marriott Brand usually has higher standards.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    5.0
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room advertised as deluxe and large. It wasn’t. When we queried whether we had been given the correct type of room the receptionist didn’t let me finish my sentence and told us it was booking.com who had made the mistake. His response made it clear this wasn’t the first time somebody had complained. Rude and dismissive. As you can see by the fire procedure map, our room with the red dot was one of the smallest. Additionally, we found a distressing note on an external fire door wedged open despite a visible note by the chef!

    Good location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    8.3
    I like the location it’s very near Durham Cathedral and...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fridge in the room and tray service for the food cost extra £4

    I like the location it’s very near Durham Cathedral and there’s loads of shops around!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    8.8
    Great place, little pricey but lovely hotel
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Got woke up just before 3am with a lady screaming, shouting and kicking off at her partner as she was a drunken mess and he wouldn’t let her in the room for 10 minutes!

    In a great place right in centre of town easy access to pubs/bars and restaurants

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    10
    Above all on which I would like to comment is their very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Above all on which I would like to comment is their very friendly and helpful staff! Besides that is the Clean and tidy room, comfortable bed, in reasonable price. Occasionally there are complimentary drinks and snacks served before the reception - once I had some brownies there, and the taste was absolutely beautiful. Wish I had brought some back home! Last but not least the location is also very convenient - only few minutes walk from the Durham Cathedral and Castle 👍🏻

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    8.8
    It’s location was great if you want to have a shop about and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was late in checking me in by a hour however did upgrade our room and the sinks had a smell when you got washed also the jet was not working on the bath

    It’s location was great if you want to have a shop about and walk by the river

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    8.3
    Marriott breakfast is always good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The description on Booking.com of the room was vastly inaccurate; the advertised size was 344sqft - in actual fact the room was less than 200sqft. Having chosen to pay more for a larger room this was most disappointing and was probably a trading standards breach.

    Marriott breakfast is always good. All staff friendly and helpful. Off street parking available at a reasonable price.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    7.5
    Excellent location and friendly staff, but needs a make-over.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Couldn't shut the curtains, had to change room. Cobwebs on wall. Water stains in corridor ceilings. No air conditioning.

    Location is excellent. Plenty of choice at breakfast and not too busy. Good size pool and clean changing rooms. Large room and comfy bed.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    6.7
    Could’ve been better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a Deluxe room on the basis of photos, the room however did not bare any resemblance to what we were expecting, decor was tired and the room fairly dark with outlook onto roof and adjacent corridor. Booking in seemed quite long as well for some reason considering it was pre booked and paid for

    Location and cleanliness

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    7.5
    Great location and breakfast so I would stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor in the room we were in was tired and a bit worn. The toilet handle was loose as was a plug socket

    Perfect location. Great breakfast though it would have been better if the forest fruits were fully defrosted.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    10
    Awesome 🤗
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room wasn’t ready when we checked in but we just looked around Durham and then had something to eat in the hotel bar, so it wasn’t to much of an inconvenience, though the kids were hyper about seeing the room 😄

    Very friendly and helpful staff, delicious food and accommodated two fussy kids by making 2 sandwiches that were not on the menu. The pool was awesome and the kids loved it, so did the adults 😄 Lovely view over the river and really nice room with really comfortable beds. We all loved it and will definitely stay again in the future.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    10
    Excellent would definitely recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Large car park but disappointed could be used by the public. When we came in on Friday evening there was no where to park. Went in to speak to reception he most helpfully came out and let us park on staff car park for rest of stay.

    Friendly staff, excellent food, clean comfortable rooms not spacious but very adequate.. hotel very handy for sightseeing and shopping.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    8.3
    Location is great friendly staff and pleasant rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outdoor seating area is a little worse for wear and could do with a refurb, cushions were wet as had been left out in the rain.

    Location is great friendly staff and pleasant rooms. Handy spa with decent pool. Special mention for Ellen at breakfast what a happy friendly lady.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    10
    We had a lovely stay for our Anniversary
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing was at the wedding reception on the night the air conditioning wasn’t working and it was over powering in the room to hot

    We liked everything about the stay we had a really lovely afternoon and night

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    5.8
    Too short. Beautiful city. Wish we could have stayed longer
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked a twin room but only a double was ready for us. Waited for twin room which consisted of a big double bed and a sofa bed which was extremely uncomfortable and lumpy.

    Lovely staff and great location . Greeted with a complimentary glass of wine

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    6.7
    Made a fuss about wearing socks in restaurant as we only had cleated bike shoes...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked twin room and had to change as a double was booked. staff didn’t check the booking on reception, which then all took time to sort out... promised vouchers etc which they didn’t give us....

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    5.0
    disappoint at the end and beginning of my stay I have stay here a few times this time I paid to upgr
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had no hot water and told we would get a discount but we were not offered one when leaving and I didn't want to ask think it should of just be sorted for me

    Staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    6.3
    Adaquate whrn in should have been exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is dated in particular the bathroom. I also got stuck in the lift. The breakfast was vastly overpriced and poor quality and selection.

    The location was very good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    10
    Good location, pleasant and helpful staff and all the facilities we needed for our visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No comments needed.

    The family room was a good size and met all our requirements. The leisure facilities were very good and we enjoyed using the pool and the Jacuzzi. The restaurant menu was varied and we were able to select a dish of our chose without any problem. The staff were pleasant and helpful which is always good to see. A thoroughly enjoyable visit which we certainly intend to do again in the near future.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    7.9
    Several of us were staying here for a 60th Anniversary...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Several of us were staying here for a 60th Anniversary celebration nearby. The staff were on the whole very friendly & helpful, breakfast was good & rooms comfortable. Would stay here again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    6.3
    A complete let down!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lift was out of order, and the boiler broke so we had no hot water and were unable to shower!!!! What a disaster from start to finish.

    Staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    8.3
    Was nice to stay there just the once but wouldnt book there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lift broke down the first day i was there and being visually impaired was a bit of a problem having to use the stairs as my room was on the second floor and it was still broken when i booked out of the hotel. Last morning i was there had to get washed and showered in luke warm/cold water as the pumps had gone off line! Was soon fixed but by then had got.myself ready. Breakfast was plenty there but some.of the food was dry and un appetising especially the bacon !!

    The room was comfortable.and.clean. The huge bed was very comfortable. Hotel is well situated for the cathedral,castle and the old part of Durham and there are plenty of eating places within a very short distance of the hotel.l

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    9.5
    Every Thing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The " Business Center " did NOT exist - there was an I pad ( or similar ) at the foyer . It did not access internet much of the time, and the desk staff had difficulty in using it or could not instruct me at all . My trip although for pleasure involved some business and the LACK of ease to have a full computer and print and e mail access is a major deficit . The staff advised that thumb drives had virus hence Marriott stopped adequate Business services . This MUST be ADDRESSED by Marriott I do not recall if Marriot credited my "frequent stay card " since I booked through Booking .com . This has happened at another location , Marriott Should honor the frequent stay cards no matter how a Marriott customer books . Please also address this to Marriott Administration

    Every Thing The historic hotel in the Center of wonderful Durham Very helpful staff Great bar food and open late

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    10
    A beautiful facility in a wonderful city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I liked it all

    This is a wonderful hotel -- the rooms are spacious, th building has a lot of character, and the staff could not be more friendly or elpful

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    7.1
    Full continental breakfast - very tasty.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Additional charges were a surprise. Thought I’d booked b&b but breakfast was £13 extra per day, & parking wasn’t free as advertised on booking.com site. Noise carries between rooms. Someone near me sounded like they were moving furniture & slamming doors at 1am both nights.

    Full continental breakfast - very tasty. Large, comfortable room. Friendly staff including reception & cleaners.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    7.5
    Enjoyed, with some reservations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Low pressure in shower, bathroom tiling very rough in places, dust bunnies under head of bed. Windows wouldn't stay open. No fridge. Lift broke down and member of staff did not offer help, nor advise where alternative lift was - said "no other lift" - but there was. Despite "Privacy please" notice, maid serviced room.

    Majority of staff try very hard and are welcoming. Breakfast buffet good. Leisure club looked good, although no time to try. Great location for town. Comfortable beds and our room overlooked river. Despite some grumbles, would use again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    7.5
    Good central position for seeing Durham.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good central position for seeing Durham. Quite expensive for room only but costa or Starbucks etc nearby for breakfast. Good sized pool, sauna, steam room

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    5.8
    The Spa facilities were good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower in the room was not powerful at all and the room was not very clean. The decor needed updating. Not good value for money at all.

    The Spa facilities were good

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    6.7
    Ok, spoiled by dirty room and over zealous leisure club staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Cleanliness of room not great. Leisure club staff ridiculously over zealous requiring an adult in the pool with strong swimming 12 year old children and causing a scene when a watchful parent is two steps away in the hot tub.

    Comfy bed

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    5.0
    Durham
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On the website it said air conditioning in rooms - however our room only had 2 manual fans- room too warm. Breakfast expensive- overall very disappointed hotel not worth the money

    Location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    10
    Staff were fab. rooms very clean n spacious and finish it off with lovely breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great. No complaints

    Staff made out stay special. Peter the guy who greeted us and Katie the receptionist couldnt do enough 4 us. Loved our experience at ur hotel. Would definatly recommend it and stay again. Thank u.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    9.2
    Great location, great facilities, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Car parking is difficult as there are insufficient spaces due to its use by other than hotel residents.

    The staff were particularly helpful especially the man who assisted with our car parking difficulties. Good choice of breakfast fare. Bed comfy, leisure facilities are excellent. Location ideal for sightseeing.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    9.6
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no air conditioning in my room so it did get rather warm at night. The bloomer ham salad sandwich ordered in the bar was not great. The bread appeared to be ordinary sliced loaf and my first sandwich was just fat with a small amount of ham. It was replaced promptly but still not that great.

    Good location. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. My room was very large, clean and comfortable with a view across the river. A very enjoyable stay.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    9.2
    A quiet, comfortable hotel within easy walking distance of the cathedral and castle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar area was rather brown and gloomy, in need of a makeover. It is not in keeping with a hotel of this calibre and did not look at all inviting. Also, though clean, all the surfaces were sticky.

    Really liked the breakfasts and breakfast staff, so pleasant and chatty. Swimming pool area was immaculate and a pleasure to use.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    9.6
    Top class in the heart of the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was a little uncomfortable.but that was personal taste.

    Room was big and spacious(supeier room suite)as was bathroom 2 large TV'S clean and tidy.Staff were all very good HELPFUL and pleasant.Breakfast buffet was spot on as much or as little as you like and again staff great.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    4.6
    Helpful, friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Box room on check in, had paid £500 for 3 night stay and this was not the room i booked. Dirty. Showed duty manager photographs of filth and got moved immediately to a larger, cleaner room. The air conditioning is not functioning properly anywhere in this hotel. The jacuzzi and sauna was being serviced on our second day This is a beautiful old hotel and should have money spent on its upkeep. Ill not share photographs to avoid any embarrassment

    Helpful, friendly staff. Comfortable bed, good breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    4.0
    Don't be fooled by the big brand name - Premier Inn and Radisson Blu are much better options for you
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no ar conditioning in the room - sent a fan which I could blow more air with; requested a second fan and didn't arrive til about midnight. Not like other Mariotts

    location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    10
    Staff very friendly and courteous, even the cleaning staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The website did not mention that there would be a parking charge of £7 per day. No air conditioning, our room was particularly very warm, though this could be an advantage in winter.

    Staff very friendly and courteous, even the cleaning staff Food was excellent. Location was fantastic for accessing Durham. Hotel was good value. Great leisure facilities. Very clean.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    10
    Me and my friends went for a small weekend break it was...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Me and my friends went for a small weekend break it was excellent location for us, the staff were really helpful and friendly especially the staff working breakfast in the restaurant. We enjoyed the spa facilities, and the rooms were clean and very comfortable we had a great time away and this will be our first choice hotel if we choose Durham for our break again

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    5.0
    Never again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was charged £16.50 for two pieces of toast and a cup of coffee at breakfast without warning. I should have apparently been warned in advance, and offered a la carte options if I didn't want a full breakfast - I was not. In addition, dinner the night before was awful - totally tasteless.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    9.2
    Birthday break away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bar was far too hot which made it uncomfortable to sit in. The heating was on in July as they have to keep it at a certain temperature so we did'nt bother using it or the restaurant

    Bed and pillows very comfortable. Staff very friendly and efficient. Great location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    9.2
    Relaxing and well looked after
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi speed was slow. Hot food at breakfast could have been hotter.

    Extremely comfortable bed, firm not hard, lovely cotton bedding. Air conditioning kept room comfortably cool. Tea served in a proper pot at breakfast. Complimentary cool drinks available in reception. Great central location, easy to walk to the sights. Staff are friendly and efficient.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    9.6
    It was a brief stay and generally very pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a bit of a trek to the room because the hotel is so big. It didn't cause any hardship though. We thought the restaurant prices were a little bit on the expensive side which is why we ate out.

    We didn't eat in the hotel but there are a lot of good restaurants close by. The hotel was much bigger than I expected. It was very well presented and the staff were very helpful. Comfortable room

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    9.2
    A friendly clean hotel - great location, great staff, good leisure facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air con in the room was broken although a fan had been provided. I booked a room with free WiFi but I was asked to pay for it. The window was tired old upvc double glazing which were misted up and didn’t close properly.

    Very comfortable. Wonderful staff. Nice room. Very clean. The leisure facilities were open late which was great.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    7.9
    Great location, excellent staff but rooms in need of modernisation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom not cleaned thoroughly, consistency of housekeeping: one day we got bottled water, one day we didn't. Furniture out dated, no free wifi

    Great location, friendly, helpful staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    6.3
    Always seems vaguely disappointing by comparison with other local hotels.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Introduction of parking charges - not informed of this change at point of booking. Children are no longer allowed in the swimming pool without an accompanying adult actually in the water with them.

    Good friendly Check-in / Check-out

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    9.2
    Deffo coming back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air con did make some noise and there were a few tiny moldy bits next to the bathtub. It didn’t bother me at all to be honest cause I had a lovely sleep and enjoyed my bath the next morning, but just so you know...

    Staff were so friendly and the location was great. Could see the top of Durham cathedral from the room which was delightful ;) Air con worked fine.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    8.8
    Overall enjoyed my stay & would book again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    No aircon in bedroom in Riverside part of hotel. Old-fashioned bathroom. Complimentary tea & coffee selection was not very generous. TV volume set to not exceed a certain level which was almost too low for our hearing.

    Pleasant staff. Very good food in restaurant. Very comfortable bed. Excellent location for Durham centre. Just 5 mins or less walk.

    Stayed in July 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: