Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Earl Of Doncaster Hotel 4 stars

Bennetthorpe,, Doncaster, DN2 6AD, United Kingdom

#8 of 21 hotels in Doncaster

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 630 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to leave ;(

    The decor is beautiful, especially the dining area and ballroom. The service from the staff was amazing. The girl who waited on our table during the wedding breakfast was brilliant, we didn’t get her name but she deserves recognition. *pic attached. All in all we can not fault this hotel. Thank you

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing!

    This is a wonderful hotel with very good service from excellent, friendly and helpful staff. Always a joy to stay here. Yorkshire Post available in the mornings too!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really nice hotel, Very helpful staff who assisted with everything from grabbing spoons from the kitchen for my misus to devour ice-cream in the room or helping with the best place to park. Breakfast was excellent and the staff were lovely.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very limited vegan options at dinner - was lucky to come on curry night and have vegetarian/vegan curry available.

    Staff extremely accommodating when asked for vegan options for breakfast - they were lovely and found me soya milk etc. etc. Loved the art-deco décor - there was even an era-appropriate movie playing on the bar TV.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The prices of the food and drink is a little steep and that's why I would not advise folk to stop there £110 for the room with b&b is fine then they charge you £4.50 for a pint carling and £2.50 for a packet of crisps cause your at a venue there.9. which I think is shocking after forking out for a room at that price. But hey ho that's that :(

    Clean and tidy

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant Dinner was some of the worst food I have ever had served to me. Breakfast was poor. Restaurant Staff were very nice all be it disorganised and under staffed.

    comfortable Bed and the buildings design was beautiful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bath in room had some chips which were a bit offputting. Lighting near mirror not good for applying make up.

    Breakfast was good. Bed comfortable. Good location. Very smart deco. Aircon.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good breakfast and flexible about mixing items from the cook to order menu. Asked for a room with bath and was given one. Helpful and pleasant service.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The receptionists were very helpful and friendly. The breakfast, as always, was the perfect start to the day. Parking was free and easy and the town centre was only a few minutes walk away.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    As the shower was over the bath a non slip finish and a handle on the wall would be helpful for old knees. Bedside lights need to be higher and adjustable for reading.

    The bed was very comfortable and we had a quiet room at the back. The hotel has its own car park which was useful. Staff were friendly and helpful. The dining room has to be seen it is wonderful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Receptionist upon arrival was too quick at telling me where I needed to go had to ask him twice to say it again, he knew where he was going I didn’t. The manager on in the morning on reception was unhelpful and didn’t speak nicely of his staff.

    The hotel was clean, well presented and welcoming. I travelled alone and felt comfortable here. One particular member of staff was absolutely amazing and actually made my stay - kelly her name was, she could not have been more pleasant, helpful and friendly, nothing was too much trouble!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Excellent customer service. Breakfast was advertised as ‘continental’ but it was also a full English breakfast which was excellent. Hotel is 5 minutes walking distance to Doncaster town centre and 10 minutes walk to the racecourse.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I only visited the restaurant once for dinner, it was fairly pricey, but I don't mind this if the food is worth the money. I ordered the Earl Burger, or something along those lines, it looked great, but he burger was very dry and overdone. I could understand if it was busy, but I was the only one in there. This isn't a complaint, but more of a comment.

    The room was very clean & comfortable. The staff were friendly and the breakfast was good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that someone else reviewed the hotel having stayed the same night as us but paid considerably less, I feel a little conned having had to pay £37 more for the room than they did plus an additional £25 for two breakfasts which the other traveller got included in the price. So all in all the same trip cost us £62 more that other guests on the same night.

    The decor, the food, the comfort of the beds

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom wasn’t cleaned before my stay, old towels and used toiletries pointed this out. The shower didn’t work in the morning, disappointingly was given a £15 reduction which didn’t really make me feel like much of an apology

    Decor was interesting, bathroom was relatively new.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Internet was not working in room.

    Hotel is located near the racecourse and not far from town. Beautiful Art Deco building and the executive room was very large. Free parking was a good benefit and staff were very helpful. Would stay here again if in town.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was absolutely beautiful. The room we stayed in was a deluxe room and the finish was exceptional. The staff were amazing. They accomadated all our needs and made us feel very welcome.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is tires and showing it's age, you can tell this used to be a quality hotel but is tired now. No sports being shown in Bar Hotel not overly spotless or clean.

    White Company toiletries, Food

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we had looked tired,it needs a little T,L,C, it did have lovely clean linen though, we thought the larger prices were rather expensive (this was pointed out also by some other guests)

    Everyone on duty and I mean everyone (cleaner, maintenance, etc) made our stay most pleasing, everyone was so helpful to my wife and i, we liked the way we were treated, so a big thank you to everyone.the

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was very rude not a good place to bring your Family swearing in rooms and Volga language Would not recommend

    I like absolutely nothing very rude

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very easy to find hotel and good parking facilities. Hotel exceeded our expectations, it was beautiful. Had booked a traditional room but the receptionist informed us that there would be an event in the function room and that the noise might disturb our sleep, so changed us to another room - we appreciated that, very considerate. The bar area and dining room are spectacular - food and drink all served with a friendly smile. Food was top class. Temperature controlled room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was good for us.?........no problems

    Convenient location as we were at a family celebration at the hotel. Lovely room.Very pleasant overnight stay.Good food and the decor and facilities were great.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    Art deco accomodations were incredibly outstanding. Handled Dinner reservations eventhough it was mothers day. Excellent staff with fine selection for dining. Well above anything in region.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    They need to install heated towel rails in the bathrooms.

    Very helpful friendly and thoughtful staff. Their efforts with all the snow clearance where heroic!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cold room. Draughty. Noisy aircon. More blankets on bed needed.

    Room cold& draughty. Had to put coats on the bed, not warm enough .corridoors were cod.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The air conditioning unit buzzed whenever it switched off, and woke us up. The (kind, but undertrained) staff said they hadn't heard of the problem before. The maintenance man said it's an old problem, that can't be fixed, and affects most rooms. The management staff weren't around.

    The young staff were friendly. It's a short walk to town.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldnt fault it.

    Hotel was spotless and the staff couldnt do enough for us, we stayed in the junior suite and it was brilliant, will definatly be staying here again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing not to like about the property.

    A very clean and welcoming environment. Kind, friendly and helpful staff, who will go above and beyond to make uour stay a very memorable one.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We needed our room earlier but it wasn’t available but we’re able to upgrade at a good price to a lovely 4 poster bedroom (old fashioned but we didn’t mind).

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The main evening menu is very limited.....we ended up going elsewhere for food as my husband does not eat red meat or fish.

    Breakfast is worth booking in advance as you can save money......even though it was very busy there was not a long waiting time for coffee refils or the cooked breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    £10 charge per adult for breakfast when Yates Wine Lodge offer an excellent breakfast for £5 per adult and has parking nearby.

    Modern clean and friendly

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Need small windows in bedroom for fresh air. Night staff on Saturday night (1145) was not particularly welcoming when we asked for drinks etc. Breakfast was ok, tea very strong and it took a while to get served. (not sure if they had enough staff)

    the bed was very comfy, the room exceptionally clean

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I would moan about is the cocktail bar (if you can get a cocktail). Firstly I asked for a Rosessco (Gin, Fruit and processo) They had no gin glasses left. I then chose the mojito, I could not have this either as they had no mint leaves. This was a Saturday night! I ended up with a glass of wine. My next complaint is not aimed at the hotel but at Booking.com. On arriving at the hotel the receptionist upgraded us as she said we had paid a good rate for a standard room she put us in a executive suite instead (only because they had room). My gripe is booking.com are charging more for the rooms than the hotel itself. The standard room on hotel website was £12 cheaper than what we paid through booking.com. Safe to say we will be booking direct next time.

    The hotel in its self was lovely inside very grand looking. The room was fantastic lovely and spacious (we were upgraded by the receptionist). We were upgraded by the lovely receptionist who was excellent at her role.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I ordered the steak for tea and it had been done rare rather than medium. Granted they took it back without hesitation and recooked it but it came back pretty firm and was tough.

    Nice hotel, except no leisure facilities for a 4 star hotel. They own a very small gym which is across the road from the hotel but that’s it. The rooms are clean and comfortable however, bathrooms are tired and need a makeover.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the bed was slightly uncomfortable but I think I was over the middle of two single beds. I did not check. this is not a major issue for me.

    The comfort. the quiet - could not hear neighbours. all the staff were very friendly

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower did not work and the fittings were off the wall so we had to go to another room to shower. We were offered a different room but we were too tired to move late at night. Then we discovered blow flies in the room and since the windows were fixed and did not open, the only way they could get in was via the air conditioning/ heating system! Not good. We ordered breakfast but they could only provide a so called continental one which was sadly lacking. NO fresh croissants or rolls, only cereals, toast, jams, fruit and yoghurts which is poor for a 4star hotel. Very disappointing.

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. Lovely quiet room tastefully decorated. Clean linen in abundance

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast is consistently poor, we have visited when the hotel is full and when there are only 10 booked in for breakfast. A real let down particularly when the restaurant food is very good in an evening. They clearly cook breakfast early and leave it standing - what a shame for such a lovely hotel

    Lovely accommodation, we visit often and the staff always remember us which is nice

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The door bell for returning late wasn't working when I arrived back at the hotel early hours of the morning and had to wait a good 20 mins before the night porter opened the door... he did sincerely apologise

    friendly staff, happy to help

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    draughts everywhere, the smell of smokers and foodstuffs, a poorly planned room with a cold shower!

    Great people, great concept but the hotel lacks the attention to detail to warrant the money that similar in the marketplace charge. Didn't expect a draughty room, cold shower, poor bed and the smell of food or otherwise in the corridors or my room - suspect ok in the summer, but bloomin' cold and the general management could influence a major difference with subtle little changes that don't mean a massive impact of profitability

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast wasn’t that great, we waited 17minutws before anyone even approached us to ask us what we would like then our breakfast took a further 40minutes. The eggs were hard, and the bacon very fatty. The serving staff were miserable which is a shame because all other staff were great.

    The staff on reception were so helpful, they booked us taxi wherever we needed and even when we couldn’t get a taxi back from the racecourse we called the hotel and they called and sorted it for us. They were very friendly and couldn’t do enough for us.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We only chose to stay for one night and the hotel was very busy during the day with conferences and wakes so parking was difficult at first. Their own carpark at the rear of the hotel became more accessible after 5.30pm. The beds were comfortable enough but the heating seemed to be intermittent with a noisy fan. We were on the first floor and the room at the front of the hotel was susceptible to road noise in the early morning. No big deal but others could find it irritating.

    We had standard rooms which were quite adequate with comfortable beds. The complimentary teas, coffees and toiletries were well stocked. The food in the restaurant was of a good standard and 3 of our party had fillet steaks which were well cooked according to their preferences. Staff in the restaurant were helpful and very cheerful (particularly a young waitress called Shannon who impressed us all with her personality and helpfulness).

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We asked the restaurant staff if we could have a drink before our meal and they said that was fine. While we were stood at the bar it was evident that the music was so loud from a wedding function that the glasses hung above our heads were vibrating. The vibrations caused a glass to fall and smash on the marble bar and floor scattering shards of glasses everywhere. It was pure luck that nobody, including me and my partner, was injured. Staff attempted to clean it up but didn’t cordon the area off allowing customers to walk through the dangerous area. Another member of staff was pushing the glasses back onto the shelf as she could see them moving. I’m a separate incident a male member of the bar staff was smashing bottles into a waste bin so much so we could hear each other talk, other customers were experiencing them same problem. In a separate incident when we went to the restaurant we were told sorry but the restaurant was closing, when I questioned it the member of staff went to confer with some one and came back and said we could eat. My partner ordered a well done fillet steak, specifically with no pink, the waitress wrote this on the order. When it came it was bloody and had to be sent back. I specifically asked that we had a really nice room as it was for a weekend for me and my partner to have an enjoyable evening and I booked a deluxe room. The room was great, shame about the rest of the experience. I probably would not go back or recommend the hotel to family and friends ☹️

    The room was fantastic absolutely loved it and so did my partner, shame about the rest

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only thing missing was a small fridge in room

    The room was amazing went as a treat for my husbands birthday bed was so comfy lovely room afternoon tea for 2 was delicious more filling than thought hotel and restaurant in general was lovely presented would definitely go again

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant ambience was at times overwhelmed by dance room music on the floor above and a bar adjacent filled with happy, but rather noisy patrons. I have no problem with either, except when I'm eating.

    Staff, other guests and locals were without exception polite, helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar area a little small.

    Spotlessly clean, lovely room, comfy bed, all staff were very friendly and helpful especially Shannon who was an absolute star!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On arrival the receptionist was very offhand, also that evening when I reported a spillage which was a potential hazard to guests. The room was disappointing - we booked a deluxe suite. It was very expensive for quality, size and facility’s. For example, the window frame was dirty, there were cobwebs, no fridge and the decorative cushions smelled. Breakfast was not included - which we knew about. When asked when we left if we had enjoyed our stay I said it was over priced - I was told I should have booked direct with the hotel for a better price and breakfast would have been included. They even suggested not to book through booking.com in the future but direct with the hotel because the hotel are charged a booking fee. This was not what I wanted to hear, and I won’t be using, or recommending the hotel in the future. I have provided genuine feedback based on our stay.

    Close to Doncaster race course and main town. Art decor in dining room was very nice.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    The whole experience of staying at this hotel was exceptional. The Hotel is spotlessly clean, staff friendly and attentive, food very well presented and extremely tasty. Bed very comfortable and bedroom very well resourced. There is also ample car parking.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were not able to have dinner in the hotel as they closed the kitchen and the restaurant at 5pm, the reason given was there wasn’t very many guests staying!!!!!!

    The up grade to a junior suite

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no facility to open the windows. Although there is air conditioning this meant that the room was either too cold or too warm when switched off.

    The art deco was impressive and the breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hair dryer was tiny and took me ages to dry my hair lol. No issues though just took longer

    The bed was super comfy and the room was very clean! Great shower too!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A wedding event took up a whole afternoon and evening which encroached on other people using the bar and the afternoon tea restaurant - not intrusively - but the wedding party had little other choice either!

    The mattress connection between the beds (to form a double) can be uncomfortable, and can wake you with snag limbs.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast could have been included... £10 per person is just a little too steep when there's a Frankie & Benny's round the corner...

    Bed was huge and so comfortable! We loved the art deco theme throughout the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a little small and you couldn't open the window which I really didn't lkke at all. Pretty dated decor.

    Lovely part of the city I'd not seen before and a super little Italian restaurant opposite. Staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Can't think of a thing!

    Doncaster was a revelation, completely underrated. The hotel was a real gem, stylish, comfortable and extremely friendly. The reception staff were welcoming and helpful, the restaurant and bar area was glorious, we felt like we were stepping into a Hercule Poirot scene. They have an extensive artisan gin menu and the bar staff (especially Shannon) were wonderful. The food was excellent - all in all a wonderful stay ... we will be returning.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing, all very good indeed.

    The restaurant staff were great and the menu was very good indeed, a real choice both with the food and wine. The decor makes the hotel a must for fans of the 1920's....beautiful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    weekend Restaurant staff could be a bit more attentive and acknowledge you when you need something, It took forever to get a table cleared at breakfast and to ask for more tea, waitresses ignored us.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Would have been nice to have a choice of pillows already provided in the room.

    Staff friendly and helpful. We asked for softer pillows and a selection was delivered to the room. Parking is straightforward.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was excellent and I would highly recommend the restaurant. Took girlfriend there for her birthday and she thought it was fantastic. I would definitely recommend hotel for a special occasion.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good.

    On previous visits had issues with the front desk. This time the front desk staff were excellent. Very friendly and welcoming. Well done to them.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wasn't very keen on the breakfast sausages. They were supposed to be 'locally produced' but they looked frozen ones to me. Not very nice.

    Wonderful Art Decco Hotel, very clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Night staff, not very helpful. Room service - we had to go to reception to pay -was told £15, then when it was brought to room were asked to sign to say received. On leaving, we were then actually charged £18.50 for room service. Not very good. We were also told we could have had the room and 2 breakfasts for £90 if we'd booked direct. We paid £95 and breakfast would have been £20 extra!

    Lovely room and close to the function. Booking in staff friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The toilet would not flush The carpet in the room was dirty and had an iron burn on it The duvet cover was torn No mirror near a plug to dry hair Drinks were expensive The lift broke, and was far too busy with a wedding reception on. Rather expensive with poor standards, Premiere Inn has far better standards and a third of the price.

    Location was good for the races.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very greasy on first day and second day items were cold. Restaurant was very over priced for a very poor piece of steak. Rooms are not like those pictured on website.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paid for an executive double room, to me it was your at best average double.

    Location was excellent for our needs. Bar staff helpful. Nice Art Deco bar eating area.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although the room had tea and coffee making facilities they were not replaced after the first night - fan in bathroom was very noisy and unable to turn it off

    Lovely bathroom - whole room exceptionally clean

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In last two stays there is only one receptionist who also answers the phone. Sealer around bath could do with replacing

    Friendly and helpful staff. Good value breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Thought there could be a bit more desk or surface space, room is big enough for more furniture. Perhaps add a desk to the rooms rather than a dressing table. Perhaps add a place to put your bag on. Door to the bathroom doesn't actually close (so maybe shave that a bit so it fits..not issue for me as I was on my own). And add a cover to the back of the remote control to stop the batteries falling out. (These are pretty minor comments to be fair).

    Free wifi, really kind and helpful staff, nice big rooms, iron and ironing board in the room! Good black out blinds. Nice sufficient tea and coffee selection in room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We arrived about 12pn left our luggage as room wasn't ready till 2pm which wasn't a problem we went to the races returned at 5 45 went to reception to check in on which we were told we had not paid for the room I tried to explain to the lady that I had paid in advace but she insisted that no payment had been made by this time we was tired n just wanted to go to the room so I made payment went to room then I searched my case n found the reciept went back to reception n showed this the lady said she would check so I returned back to room then the lady rang the room to say that the payment had been made so I had to go back to reception to get a refund then we could finally relax was very embarrassing

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room we stayed in wasn't fit to sleep in. We had to be moved late at night and in our nightwear as the bed was soaking wet at the bottom inside and mouldy.

    Parking Facilities were very well laid out.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stay was great. Room was as described if not better! Came for my 5th anniversary in the modern suite and it was amazing! Highly recommend. Also the staff were very polite!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    5 maintenance problems identified! Reported the following day to reception. I arrived, wanting to get straight to sleep and not have a delay of another 30 minutes whilst I was relocated to another room. 2 out of 3 lamps not working, sink in bathroom blocked, grout above bath cracked and allowing water ingress, shower not working. Very disappointed that housekeeping did not identify these problems whilst servicing the room - especially the block sink that would not drain away??? Staff at reception said sorry and offer free breakfast - I needed to leave for a business meeting so did not take up the offer. Check everything before going to bed, especially in the bathroom! Very disappointed as had been looking forward to staying in this hotel on my birthday.

    I arrived late evening after a 5 hour journey. Check in was efficient and fast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing to dislike.

    Hotel staff were very friendly, nothing was too much trouble, decor was lovely, the hotel obviously has money spent on it. It does look a little untidy from the outside but is deceptively lovely inside!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I found a few strands of hair on different parts of the bathroom. Hard to turn channels on TV from bed... had to get up out of bed so that the remote could work

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some of the rooms are starting to look a little dated. The drinks in the bar are expensive.

    Its a pleasant change compared to other Doncaster hotels, always clean and the staff are very friendly.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was dirty, as was inside the drawers, the bathroom, dirty glasses that I had to ask to be changed. The toilet didn't flush on arrival so had to ask for it to be fixed.

    Lovely large room. Super comfy bed!

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: