Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Easington Guest House 4 stars

50 Oxford Road, Banbury, OX16 9AN, United Kingdom

#18 of 23 hotels in Banbury

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 207 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    6.7
    The breakfast was very nice and the bathroom was nice and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The check in time is really late and the check out time too early. Doesn't feel like you get value for money. I know the weather was unexpected but a fan would have been good.

    The breakfast was very nice and the bathroom was nice and clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    5.0
    I do wonder how this guest house has achieved 4 stars.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked 3 rooms, 2 of them were very small, with old, tatty furniture and a small double bed with just 2 pillows. The shower rooms were tiny and needed refurbishment, the grouting was discoloured. Our 2 small rooms could be sold as singles or knocked into one room as they are adjacent. The third room was big, well furnished with a full bathroom. At least one couple were happy! Surprisingly the three rooms were all priced the same at £86 for one night. At breakfast one of our party took an individual cereal box and found a hole seemingly nibbled in it!

    The cooked breakfast. The morning staff were pleasant.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    7.5
    Superbly helpful and friendly staff in the morning serving a...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unable to get a full invoice for business purposes & not the friendliest welcome upon arrival during the day.

    Superbly helpful and friendly staff in the morning serving a great breakfast. Comfy little room & bed and a cool location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    6.7
    Good location but basic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Could not gain access to the building until 4.00pm, we arrived earlier and hoped to leave our luggage if we could not check in early but the building was closed and when we phoned we were told to come back later. Room was only set up for one person, ie only 1 big and small towel and 1 biscuit, we asked and another big and small towel were left but no extra biscuit. We left out towels in the shower to be changed the next day and the wet towels were not changed but hung back up!! They were replaced when we asked. Shower pointed downward and not very powerful. Shampoo and conditioner not replenished and only 1 tiny bar of soap. Breakfast - basic and fried eggs were congealed, toast on request but only 1 slice each, had to ask for (tap) water to drink, none on the table with the juices. Coffee very weak. No natural yoghurt, only flavoured, fruit was apple, plum and a whole pineapple but no sharp knife to cut it. I expected more from a 4 star guesthouse

    Excellent location, short walk into Banbury centre Bed was comfortable Room was quiet even though it faced the main road

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    3.8
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    2 people could not stand together at side of beds. Sink in bathroom to small to even brush teeth without a drenching. Coffee cups were dirty from last guests. Overpriced.

    It was close to where we needed to be.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    10
    We both enjoyed our stay and appreciated the use of the guest lounge to watch TV in the evening.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would be helpful in the lovely en suite to have a hanging hook on the door to avoid garments getting wet?

    Excellent breakfasts....possibly some fruit salad type of extra for adding to cereals would be nice, and Greek Yoghurt rather than fruit variety! Maybe that is just me?

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    7.5
    Went without a hitch, however it would have been helpful to know what room we had booked.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Every thing was fine for the money paid.

    Position of property - ideal to walk into town for food and drink in the evening. Close to hospital so sirens could be heard but all in all not bad at all

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    7.9
    Brief but pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom sink too small, impossible to wet shave without banging head on mirror and soaking your feet.

    Staff welcoming. Bed comfy. Breakfast good. Only a short walk to town centre shops and attractions.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    7.5
    We both like to download the newspaper overnight and read it...
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We both like to download the newspaper overnight and read it in bed with a cup of tea in the morning. Wi Fi was not great using it in the lounge was not a option Also a free plug socket with easy access for charging would be a good idea An easy fix would be a double socket with WiFi extender from screwfix only £30

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    7.5
    That they use produces from the local area.
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The steep stairs up to the attic rooms. Only having a bath in the room which we stayed in fortunately we were able to use our sons shower in another room.

    That they use produces from the local area.Short walk to the town centre.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.2
    Handy comfy quiet place to stay if need a base to stay in Banbury.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing bad as such just a few things we noticed. It wasnt obvious on arriving whether to park by the house or around the back through the gate. Mattress was comfy but caught ourselves a few times on the wooden frame which stuck out a bit. A few tiny steps up/ down into rooms to trip up on, could have been highlighted to spot more easily. Nice bathroom but up a couple of steps from within room. Good amount of drinks in room, maybe one or two herbal/fruit teas and hot chocolate nice to offer too.

    I'm fairly local, but my girlfriend was down from up North for the weekend, so we stayed here as a little Easter treat, as I had to work a shift Sat eve. It's just around the corner from work so gave us more time together. So the location was great. I've passed it many times and wondered what it was like. Despite being on the main road and our room being at the front, it was very quiet. Good sized car park at rear. Bed was comfy, good sized room and ensuite bathroom. Nice amount of tea, coffee, milks & biscuits in room. Cereal & cooked breakfast lovely. Warm welcome and friendly helpful 2 ladies on staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    5.4
    If anyone wants to visit the B&B with the smallest hand basin . Book this place and ask for room 10.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Although I didn't order FULL cooked breakfast, I was told that I could only have ONE sausage with my order of 2 rashers of bacon and 2 slices of bread. solved the problem by asking one of the family to change her order from poached eggs on toast to poached eggs on toast with a SAUSAGE. One morning the kitchen only had enough smoked salmon for one person. Would I stay there again? No. I am sure there are other B&B's in Banbury for the same money that would serve me 2 SAUSAGES and have larger hand basins

    Room was OK furniture a little tired

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    8.8
    This is a lovely, cosy and peaceful house in which to stay
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The time for breakfast ending at8.45 a.m. is quite early. This is for cooked breakfast I believe but don’t know how long toastwould be made. It didn’t affect us. as we are early risers. Our room 10 could do with a great improvement of its plumbing system. The toilet tank is very slow to refill after flushing and didn’t always flush properly. This Caused us to have to fill the tank by filling the kettle several times to fill the tank. The water coming into the tank was very slow, almost a dribble. The cold tap in th e basin sometimes didn’t run immediately. We could have done without the radio at breakfast as the music wasn’t appropriate to the surroundings.

    The bed was very comfortable. We had no trouble with noise from either inside or outside the house. The house is old and very pleasant place to stay. The staff were Kind and friendly. The breakfast was good with a variety of choices.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    5.4
    The owner was very stingy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only half a toilet roll, and no spares. The very nasty way we were informed we could not come in until 4pm, it was then 2pm, the time I had stated we would arrive. The owner was really unpleasant,however her staff at breakfast were excellent

    The beds were excellent and the breakfast was one of the best I have ever had.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    2.5
    Rude manager, freezing cold, tiny room, someone’s clothes in the draws!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The manager was incredibly rude and inflexible. We were stuck because of the snow so asked if we could change dates or cancel. She refused to give any refund no matter how small or allow us to change dates, she just took our money for nothing. Never have I experienced such rude, thoughtless service at any guest house in the UK. As such we had to push on through the snow so as not to loose out completely. When we arrived we found the room to be very small, freezing cold, only one towel for a double room with two occupants and someone’s clothes left in the draws! I don’t know how Booking.com calculates the scores for the reviews but having given Easington Guest House zero in every category it is a mystery where the 2.5 has come from! There are many other guest houses and hotels in Banbury at a similar price that are much better.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    10
    Lovely and Quaint B&B
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Easington House is wonderful! The staff are so very friendly, the rooms are clean and comfortable. Breakfast was great! We enjoyed our stay there very much. Highly recommended!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    9.6
    A lovely stay, very welcoming people, a huge thank you “Easington House”
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t like the few milk cartons we had in our room as they were not really enough for 2 people, especially as my partner & I like lots of milk in our tea & coffee, that is just our preference & may suit other people.

    Amazing full English breakfast, you could also help yourself to coffee refills and/or a good variety of jams, honey & yoghurts. Tea, apple/orange juice.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    10
    Comfortable and relaxing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing. It is excellent value for money and a very pleasant stay.

    Very well kept building, staff where very friendly and there was excellent breakfast in the morning. The location was great and there is plenty of parking.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    8.8
    Clean, comfortable and peaceful stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were lucky to get a room facing the back which was much quieter than facing the main road.

    Bed was very comfortable, room was fresh and clean, breakfast was good, staff were lovely.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    9.6
    woNDERFUL. vERY NICE INDEED.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not much actually !!

    Lovely people who were very helpful. Very accommodating when I had to change plans at the start of the week due to the snow. Very warm room with comfy bed.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    10
    Lovely cosy welcoming place to stay :) Wouldn't have minded a bit more of a lye in though...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Checkout is 10am which is fairly early, we were chased to check out on time, 11am would be a nicer check out time.

    Very welcoming & lovely place to stay! Was really impressed with the modern room and bathroom.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    9.6
    Lovely old building with friendly and welcoming staff. Warm and cosy rooms with great breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit tight for space in twin room but ok for 1 night stay . Sink in shower room tiny and difficult to clean your teeth in as shelf above it.

    Onsite carpark, warm and cosy room. Friendly and welcoming. Great choice for breakfast and very tasty. Discount at Pickled Ploughman pub restaurant 10 mins drive away when you showed your room card. Great food .

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    5.4
    Location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not very clean, plenty of mould under the shower and very acoustic building (literally could hear every single step, word, even very private noises from someone's bathroom) and could not rest properly because of that. Breakfast from 7:30 is also not acceptable for someone who starts work early.

    Location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    2.5
    Totally unprofessionally and no compassion
    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was booked with a pet through booking.com and upon arrival were told did not accept pets and yet I had added this to he special instructions a week earlier. Turned away without a refund. the manager had no campasdion for my aunt who had just travelled 7 hours to attend her sisters funeral. Diabolical service. . I still emailed the owner who has failed to respond.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    10
    Great room, comfy warm and a lovely breakfast
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The steps at the front lead straight to a busy road , may want to warn people there is no pavement on the side of the road

    The room s have a lovely mixture of traditional and modern, the beds are comfy and the bed linen good quality, breakfast was great eat as much or as little and the staff very attentive without being invasive. The building is beautiful and just a good walk into town , Banbury has lots of restaurants and shops and good things to do

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    8.3
    Very friendly & welcoming staff, comfortable bed &...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately there was no smoked salmon available for breakfast, though the full English breakfast was enjoyable

    Very friendly & welcoming staff, comfortable bed & good-sized room

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    5.8
    Adequate.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The 4pm check in time and 10am check out. The noisy housekeeping staff first thing in the morning. The harsh tasting coffee. I had to go to the kitchen to ask for my toast when I had ordered it 15 minutes previously. No pavement outside the front steps.

    The bed was comfy and the room clean. Even though the room was at the front overlooking a busy road it was quiet. The interior of the hotel was pleasant and cosy. The hotel was in easy striking distance of the town.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    7.1
    Lovely bedroom and bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Little things that could have been better.... the bathroom could use some hooks. Breakfast was good but burnt toast on first morning was a bit poor. Just more attention to detail would have made it perfect.

    Lovely bedroom and bathroom. Very good shower. Very friendly people.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    5.0
    Disappointed comparing reality with web page.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No welcoming interaction with manager/owners. Twin room no 9 far too small for two people. Glass shelf over tiny hand basin made it unusable Photography on website misleading.

    Breakfast waitresses were friendly. Dining room attractive Breakfasts ok

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    7.9
    overall very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was too late starting. Missed the first morning one as it was not open. The bacon was very nice but only got one slice. Would have preferred a bit more substantial serving as we were not in the area to dine, but be out and about.

    modern en suite with good water flow was nice and hot. Food they use locally and traditional sourced suppliers, am a big believer when travelling to eat the local delicacies. Staff nice and friendly also the proprietor was welcoming. Would go again - but would do an "Oliver" and ask for more :0)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    10
    Excellent value for money, would highly recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was excellent.

    Lovely 16th century building, full of character with some low ceilings and beams. Rooms were clean and breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    6.7
    Not a pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could not check in before 16:00 - nobody on premises. When we finally could check in, the member of staff did not welcome us and was reluctant to let us enter, possibly due to our being in motorcycle gear. She then asked us to pay, and would not believe that we had paid already, even when shown proof on a banking app. She called for the manager/owner(?), who was also disbelieving until I insisted that she check her computer. After 20 minutes, she admitted that there had been an error, and we were shown to our rooms. The guest guide in the room was full of rules: £10 to check in 'early', £20 for lost keys, very limited breakfast times (and breakfast).and best of all, checkout any later than 10:00 incurs a full day's charge! Bathroom not thoroughly cleaned and kettle still half full! A grudging apology was given the following morning on departure, possibly once she realised that, despite being on motorcycles, we were professional people? Will not be returning!

    Location. Leaving.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    10
    Lovely old house close to the town centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    A lovely old house with a garden as well. It was walkable to the town centre or a quick taxi ride. The town centre was very cute and we dined at a fabulous old restaurant - Ye Olde Reindeer Inn. Friendly staff and lovely food.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    9.2
    Great place to stay whilst working nearby
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Struggled to connect to Wifi in room but the lounge was a great place to sit for a stronger connection.

    Staff were very friendly, made to feel very welcome. Breakfast was lovely and the room was nice and clean and full of character.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    8.3
    JEWEL OF BANBURY!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    THE ONLY NITPICKING I WOULD MAKE IS ALTHOUGH THE BATHROOM IS LOVELY WITH A GREAT SHOWER THE HANDBASIN IS NOT FIT FOR PURPOSE BEING SO SMALL MAKING IT VERY HARD TO SHAVE OR EVEN WASH, I APPRECIATE SPACE IS LIMITED (SPEAKING AS AN EX. PLUMBER) I DID FEEL A CORNER BASIN MIGHT BE A BETTER OPTION. THIS IS NITPICKING BECAUSE WE REALLY DID ENJOY OUR STAY.

    GOOD SITUATION CLOSE TO TOWN CENTER, WARM AND WELCOMING STAFF , LOVELY ROOM ,CLEAN AND VERY COMFORTABLE, FOOD VERY GOOD ,PLENTY OF PARKING SPACE OFF ROAD. A LOVELY ALL TOO SHORT STAY BUT OUR FRIENDS AND US WILL CERTAINLY RETURN. OUR STAY WAS MADE ALL THE MORE ENJOYABLE BY OUR LOVELY HOSTESS.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    10
    Friendly host
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast finished 5 minutes before we got there - Our mistake on timing but no flexability from the staff even though there were still other guests being served.

    Friendly host

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    7.1
    Lovely people but where are the duvets ?!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Arrrrrrrrggggh awful bedding .......lovely comfy mattress and pillows ...... with sheets and blankets ! What is this ? The seventies ? Where are the duvets ??? Had to re make the bed twice through the night, so frustrating........and not even a bottom sheet that stayed on .....shame because they are so lovely at Easington house.

    The staff were lovely......felt very welcome and thoroughly looked after

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    10
    The excellent Easington Guest House. Best in Banbury.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could not have wished for anything better, certainly helped me to enjoy my 65 th birthday in style.

    The easington guest house was fabulous, excellent, spotlessly clean and I would recommend it to anyone,hope we have the need to stay there again, our room had a four poster bed, dressing room and an ensuite bathroom, immaculately decorated and again spotless. Breakfast was well cooked and served with a smile, all the staff were very pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    3.8
    The receptionist was terse and unhelpful.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The receptionist was terse and unhelpful. The room was on the second floor, no lift and the receptionist did not offer to help with bags. The room was an attic room. There were cobwebs etc. There was no shower as promised. The bed was uncomfortable. Lots of 'helpful' rules posted to ensure all the guests knew how to behave; a bit like I imagine public school could be! At least there was room to do my work in the room.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    7.1
    Hotel looks rural from photos but on busy main road to town centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    room on the main road,hospital opposite, right on the traffic lights so continuous noise throughout the night, within walking distance of town centre but much too noisy traffic

    rooms clean and tidy, bed comfy , staff friendly

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    7.5
    Very pleasant location , near town .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The check -in time was rather late , after a long drive . Thought that , a member of staff , could have been around to accommodate .

    Good selection , of breakfast , easy walking distance to the town . pleasant staff .

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    10
    home from home without the work
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were disappointed that we were unable to stay longer!

    The staff were exceptionally friendly, competent, happy,smily,chatty, clean, busy,.............. The Hotel was clean and homely, the bed, bedroom and en suite bathroom were as good as they could be........... Having been to many guesthouses b and bs, and hotels, Easington House is one of best,............... we really enjoyed the experience.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    8.0
    Beautiful old building and rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe not the right place for cyclists as no cover for bikes and owner very concerned about whether our shoes were clean. B and B all refurbished but we were clean so a bit uncomfortable.

    Beautiful old building and rooms.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    4.2
    Only for Midgets
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pictures for this hotel only show flowers on tables, pictures of the staff etc and nothing else. Given the price, I was lured into believing that the rooms would be okay. To our greatest disappointment we were sent to room 15 on the ground floor and the size of the room was literally a double bed with about 1 foot around the bed and a short narrow corridor leading to a tiny bathroom/toilet. We had to struggle around the room. The washbasin was very small and there was a tiny shelf above it making any face washing and teeth brushing a challenging task; spilling water on the floor was a given. The wifi was also intermittent. In the dining room, both the clocks were incorrect with the one on the mantle actually stopped working. In order to be complete, I must say that there was a public lounge available to guests and a garden around the property. However, we do not use common facilites and prefer to have a bigger room anytime. A strong advice to booking.com => properties should state clearly the size of the room on offer at the time of booking. We shall avoid this hotel should we travel to this neighbourhood again.

    Parking was easy.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    7.9
    The breakfasts were excellent, the staff were very friendly,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise from the footsteps in the room above, were a disturbing feature, PS. Ask me about the Gables near Birmihgham Airport.

    The breakfasts were excellent, the staff were very friendly, and helpful management.T

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    10
    Money well spent :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pavement at the front of property, but not a major issue.

    I thoroughly enjoyed my stay , very friendly staff, so tranquil, very clean and breakfast were lovely.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    3.8
    disatisfied customers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We only booked this guesthouse due to the photo of a twin room on offer. We booked weeks in advance, but on arrival was given a very small room with two beds facing opposite directions about a foot apart, leaving little space to move around. The bathroom was very small and, incredibly, the sink was too tidy to be able to wash in and we had to brush our teeth in the shower. There was a shelf over the sink which made it impossible to use properly. Even the staff, other than the owner agreed. The owner was spoken to about the misinformation regarding the room and she offered nothing more than to state than she had a family to look after and offered neither an apology or compensation. The manager offered us a £20 refund/ bottle of wine , but this was refused by the owner. - Very, very dissatisfied by her response.

    The staff, other than the owner were very obliging and helpful with our dissatisfaction at the twin we were allocated, which was not as shown on the web site. The breakfast was fine with cheery staff being helpful. The beds were comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    7.5
    Family run guest house
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The room (Number 3) cleaning service could have been a bit better. When we went to breakfast each morning our room would be attended to. But the only thing done was a bed dress. No hoovering or bathroom rub down. Any marks like toothpaste on the sink was left there until we left including dirt on the carpet. Shower curtain pole needs to be changed as is rust ridden. A small process only but worth a mention. If you like pets too then that's fine but you will see the odd cat wondering about. One cat we saw coming through the kitchen. We feel that these small details could have improved the guest house ratings if taking on board.

    We liked the friendly staff and the family feel to the property. Breakfast was nice with a full English available. There was parking on the property and free WiFi. The property was located close to Banbury Village. About 10mins walk. Room size was very good and had ample facility's. We would recommend this property to anyone staying in Banbury.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    6.7
    A very warm welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The left hand bed in the twin room is very uncomfortable. It dips down at the head and I needed a cushion under the pillow. Even so, I had little sleep and was glad to be staying one night only.

    A very warm welcome. Excellent service in the dining room and more than adequate choice on breakfast menu.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    9.2
    Historic home in Banbury
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location was a bit too far from the center of the city. We walked down, but struggled coming back uphill on senior legs!

    Hostess Debbie gave us a free upgrade! Room was very spacious and bathroom was brand-new. Breakfast was wonderful (as are most "full English" breakfasts), parking was free and on property. Home was one of the oldest in Banbury, and quite distinguished.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2017

    8.3
    Breakfast was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Minor issue and only a problem on a cold day!The double glazing unit did not sit flush with the window casing and there was a draught coming through (room 9)

    Breakfast was excellent. Lovely open fire in the entrance hall. Nice touches such as cotton buds and cotton balls in the bathroom. Plenty of hot water

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    6.7
    Good location, comfy beds but don't expect a lie-in!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast times were ridiculously early for people enjoying leisure time in the area. Not happy that my credit card was debited with the full amount three weeks before our arrival either!!!

    Our room was very comfortable and the bath was a very welcome facility.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    10
    Would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were extremely friendly, rooms were lovely and the breakfast was gorgeous. We stayed in Feb and even though it was cold outside our room and the guest house was toasty.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    6.7
    'im afraid we would not stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom needed updating as did the furniture in our room.Also it was not as clean as it should be .The side lamps were very dusty and the telephone was not clean.

    location is very handy for Banbury .Staff were friendly

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2016

    8.8
    Furnishings very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No cups or glasses in bedroom. No offer of tea when we arrived or any food available during the evening although licensed restaurant advertised outside.

    Furnishings very good. Bed very comfortable

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    9.2
    Banbury stay, very close to restaurants
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The photo on the Booking.com made it look like it was in the country, but it was actually right near the middle of Banbury. Thankfully our room overlooked the back garden.

    Very comfortable, clear & well appointed.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    8.8
    Nice B & B very close to the town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Being an old house the floors creaked a lot, especially when other guests, in the room above us, came back in the early hours of the morning. The breakfasts were good but one morning they were served on cold plates, therefore the food got cold quickly.

    Very friendly staff. Beautiful old building, with ample parking, and very close to the town.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    10
    warm and cosy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    only disappointment was that the restaurant was non operational but the area had many suitable eating opportunities.

    the staff gave a warm and cosy welcome and in all aspects we were delighted.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    5.0
    Very small bedroom!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Following a fall earlier in the year I was on crutches during the visit. I had requested a ground floor room but it was so small. Each time you walked around the bed you banged your legs on the bed frame.It was also very dark.

    The breakfast was nice with a friendly and cheerful waitress.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    5.8
    Slightly disapponting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower grouting was dirty and shower head broken. Bathroom extremely small. Mattress very hard pillows very thin. View of small tv obscured by bedpost.Nowhere to put damp towels - one small unheated towel rail on bathroom door.

    Location was good and the staff very friendly

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2016

    6.7
    Lovely old house
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy road at front, army barracks at rear ( with associated vocals). No gluten-free catering available. Mattresses ok - not the best for firmness.

    Breakfast service was super-quick. Bedroom 14 with own dressing room and bath was fabulous. Lovely old house with beautiful front gardens. House itself was pretty quiet, apart from creaky floorboards.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    8.8
    A good base to explore Banbury and surrounding area from, but be aware it is on a busy road so take
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows a bit hard and restaurant on site is now closed so if weather is a bit inclement, you still have to go into town to eat.

    Good location, only a 5 minute walk into town down the hill. Nice cooked breakfast to start the day.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    6.7
    Perfectly adequate for our purposes but the hospitality aspect could be significantly improved.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I wasn't expecting to be on a busy main road that was difficult to cross from the front of the guest house. We did not receive a very friendly welcome from the manager or see much of her throughout our stay. The staff seemed stressed & thin on the ground. A towel rail was needed in the shower room & the door to this room didn't shut properly.

    It is a lovely building with a beautiful façade conveniently situated for access to the town. The breakfast was excellent & the lady serving us did a good job in spite of being stressed.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    8.3
    good, basic, homely, but little bit pricey for what it was
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast wasn't a buffet parking in tight spaces but was off the road and easy to get to bring your own toiletries, only small amount available in the room

    bed was comfy close to shops staff were polite

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    9.6
    We enjoyed our 2 day stay but we stayed on an offer price. Bit expensive otherwise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A net curtain at the window for privacy! Taking full payment at time of booking rather than a deposit.

    Very clean and staff pleasant. Bed was comfortable and nice and quiet.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    7.5
    Charming and quirky but very noisy floorboards !!!
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Appreciate old building but floorboards incredibly creaky, we were on the ground floor and every time the people above us moved it sounded like they were coming through the ceiling, which led to 3 nights of very disturbed sleep. Wouldn't stop me visiting again but would request not to be on ground floor. Wifi not working very well in my room, but a friend in another room had no problems

    Staff very friendly especially ladies in the kitchen. Quirky charming little hotel which felt cosy and safe

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    7.1
    Overall pleasurable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The corners of our beds and furniture where sharp and hazardous, made worse by the sharp corners being covered by bed sheets, with a nasty bruise on leg as a result. Food was good but the menu that was displayed was mainly not available

    The staff were mostly friendly and helpful except for a waitress on the first evening who completely ignored our request for drinks. When requesting for a second time having waited a considerable time being told that "sorry I have now cashed up", hence no evening drinks.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2016

    7.9
    A friendly, comfortable town guest house.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Didn't realise when booked it was near traffic lights on busy main road, but traffic noise wasn't really an issue. Very creaky floor boards in corridor above our bedroom disturbed us a few times. There was only a small amount of drawer space for clothes.

    We had a large comfortable ground floor family room, with double and single beds and a large bathroom. The staff were helpful, kind and cheerful. The cooked breakfast was good (The scrambled eggs weren't so good) . There was adequate parking. There are very good pubs to eat at, within 3 miles, and interesting places to visit. We liked Banbury.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2016

    5.0
    A pretty hotel where everything is too much trouble for the staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Payment was taken a month before we stayed there- this contravenes sales and contract legislation Staff attitude was mostly terrible: Couldn't make breakfast one day and they refused to sort us out or be flexible to our needs Tried to give us the wrong room made us wait to sit down at dinner when there wasn't a full dining room Bed uncomfortable No drinking glasses in room. Felt it would have been too much trouble for them to bother to ask.

    The room was pretty and the hotel building and gardens were very nice The breakfast sausage was good

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    7.5
    Lovely 2 night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My fault but should have asked for walk in shower, we had a very large roll top bath which we found a little difficult to get in and out off, and two high steps up to the bathroom. Property on busy main road.

    Friendly host, nice room clean and comfy bed, nice breakfast. Location great for visiting the Cotswolds. Lovely 600 year old cottage.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    10
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good

    Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    7.9
    Clean and comfortable
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wifi was non existent

    The location was very close to the Town Centre and very close to the meeting I was attending.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    5.8
    Nice breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were small

    Nice breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.9
    Nice comfortable bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small sink in bathroom not fit for purpose

    Nice comfortable bed

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    8.3
    Friendly staff, good room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking is a bun fight, insufficient for the number of guests parking.

    Friendly staff, good room.

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: