Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of East Cliff Cottage Hotel 3 stars

57 Grove Road, Bournemouth, BH1 3AT, United Kingdom

#21 of 46 B&Bs and Inns in Bournemouth

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 226 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    9.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked this hotel for a very last minute break for myself and my 5 year old and I’m so glad I did. The staff were really welcoming and helpful, they were great with my daughter and gave me useful tips for days out, including clear directions on how to get where we wanted to go. The room was really cosy and we had plenty of space and a really comfy bed. It was very clean and came with tea/coffee/biscuits and fresh milk in a glass bottle in a mini fridge, which I thought was a really nice extra touch. I was able to chill a small bottle of wine and have a glass, as wine glasses were also provided in the room, which again was a nice extra you wouldn’t usually expect! The cooked breakfast was really tasty too! The location was fantastic, it’s on a quiet road on East Cliff and was an easy walk down to the lovely beach and into the town centre along the promenade. My daughter and I both really enjoyed our time staying here and we would have stayed longer if we could. I would definitely stay here again in the future!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Pet friendly. Very friendly and helpful hosts. Excellent wifi and TV that worked on all channels. Exceptionally clean room etc. Soft bed linen. Fridge in room with real milk! Wide choice of breakfasts, including gluten free items if required. Fruit teas and warm drink sachets available at all times. Car parking on site. Quiet location but convenient for town. Small things that made a difference in our 'comfort' room on top floor (so two flights of stairs, the second steeper) included large shower room with plenty of space for sponge bags etc., also counter top points for easy charging of mobiles etc.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The standard double rooms are 'bijou' and if there had been space, a fan would have helped enormously, especially on the muggy nights we stayed there. Would have been nice to have some garden furniture so you could sit out in the evening, but the only tables and chairs were in shade next to the road. Breakfast was good and freshly prepared to order, although evening meals are no longer provided. All the Eastcliff hotels are up a pretty steep gradient so you have to be reasonably fit to make it back of an evening.

    Very nice, helpful hosts, making good suggestions for things to do in and around Bournemouth. The bedroom and bathroom were both fresh and clean, bed very comfy. Free parking!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't fault it.

    Lovely hosts, very nice property with great spacious room which was very clean and comfortable. The location was ideal for the beach and town as well both a short walk away.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Staff great, location amazing, rooms as expected and advertised which is rare, complimentary tea coffee and actual milk in a bottle in a mini fridge. Beds extremely comfortable and spotlessy clean. Breakfast A+ well done

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all.

    I have no complaints about my stay. Only positives, would recommend. I even had the snow cleared off my car by a member of staff. Thank you.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We enjoyed our stay at the hotel. The staff, room, location was great. The lovely beaches of Bournemouth are just around the corner and the town within 5 minutes walk. A very nice hotel with great history, we both agree that we would stay here again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owners are doing up their hotel.look through this to their great rooms and friendly service.Enjoy your time in Bournemouth.

    What a great little Hotel in a great position in Bournemouth.Huge room great breakfast and free parking.The owners do their best to make sure you have a great stay.Do your self a favour people give it a go .You won't be sorry.I will go back that is for sure

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic homely atmosphere - friendly place, our hosts were welcoming, helpful - it was like home from home, would most definitely stay there again and pass on details to friends. Food was excellent, and even had a packed lunch for journey home.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very unclean . Debris on carpet and thick dust every where x short and curlys on outside of shower cubicle . Wouldn’t stay for breakfast even though paid for ( dog in kitchen)

    Nothing to like about this property . Do not visit

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lovely house lots of character, hosts were very welcoming and helpful. Room was very nice bed was very comfortable. We will definitely visit again when we next come to Bournemouth.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No full length mirror in room.(a minor detail)

    The property is one of those little gems you are lucky to find! Its charming well maintained and staff were very welcoming! They were just friendly enough without being over the top. The place is really quiet and very clean!- loved the little bottle of fresh milk in the fridge in the room and so nice that little touches like this have been thought about. The breakfast was very tasty and nothing was too much trouble.The young lady who was in the dining area dealing with guests and breakfast was delightful and a credit to the property! I will definitely return here and hopefully have a longer stay so i can appreciate it much more! A place as quaint on the inside as on the outside!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a bit cold but we were given a heater when we asked for one. A bath would have nice.

    Lovely room , nice comfy bed and delicious breakfast with plenty of choice.. The staff were all very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dining room was a little chilly when we came down for breakfast .

    The room was very clean , & a good size ,extra teas & coffees if needed & we were able to leave our car on site after checking out for a couple of hours, which was helpful . The owners were very friendly , & our friends who were visiting us were able to have breakfast with us for the two mornings we stayed .

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The exterior could do a bit of a lick of paint. Car parking could have been difficult (but we were lucky to get a space). I believe you can park in the road if necessary which is very helpful. The lights on the mirror over the bathroom sink did not work. We visited when the weather was VERY cold and did find the bedroom/bathroom a little chilly. I'm sure, if we'd let the owners know, they would have provided us with a heater. (They couldn't do enough for us.)

    Our (superior) room was ENORMOUS with the most comfortable bed in a hotel/B&B that I've EVER slept in. (And I've stayed in hotels all over the world - some 5*+.) Sheets and pillowslips were spotlessly clean and towels were soft and fluffy. You could hear absolutely nothing a night - bliss! There was a small fridge in the room with fresh milk - not those silly little pots that some establishments provide.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel didn’t look very inviting from outside- ie dead plants in the hanging baskets

    Friendly acceptance of our dog. Log fire. Breakfast sausages were delicious.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not to be taken as a criticism but there was no hot water early hours when we woke up for showers. That said when I spoke with Andrew it wasn't an issue. Like I said not a criticism just be warned to check the night before.

    A very friendly welcome. The Superior rooms are HUGE, clean and comfortable. Extra tea, coffee and hot chocolate etc. easily available if required. I changed the details of our stay - adding an extra person - which was no trouble at all. When I telephoned to confirm the details I was addressed by name without having to give it etc. Breakfast was no trouble - needed to be a bit earlier as we had to be away early. All in all a great place that deserves custom in my view. I certainly would stay there again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The weather!

    Small Hotel with very friendly owners, off road parking at no extra charge, always a bonus in Bournemouth! Decent sized room with comfortable bed, decent workspace and a great shower. Very quiet location, heard nothing all night despite leaving window open! Breakfast was freshly prepared and excellent.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, within easy walking distance of shops and beach. Great staff, friendly and can't do enough to help. Very comfy bed and pillows, gorgeous breakfast made to order. All in all a great weekend. Excellent value for money. Will definitely visit again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom looked pretty new but the shower was not clean. Hairs in plug. The silver cap that covers waste hole was really really dirty. Toilet seat was loose and the fittings need cleaning. Also waste pipe under toilet very dusty. The dust was also bad in room. Skirting boards tops of doors . I'm a cleaner by trade and that would not be acceptable. I just feel that £90 a night for a not very clean room is high. Did leave a note in room when we checked out.

    Overall stay was ok room was 2nd floor which was ok. A little chilly at times. Having seen rooms on 1st floor I think those on top should be little cheaper. Breakfast was good. Friendly girls.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My wife mentioned a hook or two wouldn’t go a miss in the bathroom, but minor detail..

    Lovely friendly welcome including attention to our two young children! Really comfy beds, spotlessly clean and everything you needed. Delicious breakfast. Couldn’t ask for anything more, really lovely stay, would highly recommend!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although clean it was abit run down looking from the outside. Our bathroom could have done with updating - toilet seat, cold bathroom, water through taps took ages.

    Location. Breakfast. Character of hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only decent places to eat within walking distance were in hotels. We did have two nice meals but were worried we might not get in.

    Large well appointed bedroom. Owners and staff friendly and helpful. Not far from pier. Bit further from town but could walk it.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't open the window in the bathroom, there was black mouldy marks around the handle you turn to release the water from the bath. Also, black mould on the shower door which could be easily cleaned off with a small brush. The property needs a lot of TLC and could be a very beautiful building. There is a bar but not manned and not very welcoming, I'm guessing just cans served from it as nothing on display.

    The family room was very spacious, beds very comfortable and bedding lovely and clean. Breakfast was extremely good. The young lady serving breakfast was very polite too.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The guesthouse was really nice! Nearby the beach, just 2 minutes to walk. The citycenter was around 5-10 minutes to Walk. Breakfast was fresh and delicious. Our room was really nice with a lots of details!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was very small, I know this is a small negative but no room numbers on the doors.

    Bed very comfortable, breakfast was great and the staff where very friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Fantastic big comfy bed & pillows, lovely large homely room. Made very welcome including the pooch Very pleasant and efficient waitress at breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking could be an issue when all spaces are occupied. Personally, I prefer soap rather than pump lotion in bathroom, but that is subjective. Maybe complementary bottled water in fridge?

    Great breakfast & lovely room. Nice, helpful owners. One street back from the sea front. Plenty of choice for restaurants etc. Beautiful building with history -we prefer something like this, more personal. Fresh milk in room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit more choice of fruit at breakfast.

    Very comfortable room in a quiet location. Only one block away from the seafront. Cooked breakfast is very good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    The room was spacious and the bed really comfy... Good breakfast, nice and hot also a good cup of tea. In easy walking distance of the town and beaches. Friendly but not too hosts. Lovely stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel needs a little TLC in places but that is apparently an ongoing project by the owner. Don't let this put you off, the accommodation is good.

    A really good breakfast with everything you would want to start the day. Comfortable beds. Owner on site so no problem with getting things sorted out and getting local information.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Kim and Andrew were great hosts. Although our room was small it was cosy. The bed was the best we have slept in on this trip. The hotel is close to the beach, pier and town centre. The full English breakfast was excellent. We would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Name says Hotel, I would consider it to be a Guest House or B&B.

    The room was nicely decorated and beds and bedding were very good. The staff very friendly and breakfast freshly cooked to order.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very friendly. Our room was a nice size and I liked that the children had their own beds rather than having to share. It was walking distance to the beach too.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was really small and the toilet as well. The building outside and the entrance need definitely a refresh!

    The breakfast was very good and the room was clean.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely property with a great history - Stewart Granger lived there with his Mum! Lovely touches around the place - rocking horse on the stairs, teddies in corners, looks lovely. Room was large and bright with ensuite bathroom - great standard. Tea and coffee in our room, great breakfast served in the morning. Nothing to much trouble. Lovely staff too.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike really, if I'm being really picky, only limited parking (as it's a cottage not purpose built hotel) so parking is a little tight.

    Very comfortable bed with clean white linen, fresh milk in our mini fridge for a proper cup of coffee/tea (no sachets in sight thank god) plenty of clean towels even for the little one (who slept like a baby) . Don't think the pictures do this place justice. Gorgeous breakfast.lovely owners. Very old cottage only a little walk from the beach , we would definitely return

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On arrival, rather scruffy exterior, which gave a poor first impression. Once we went through the front door however, we realized this was not typical

    Very friendly owners, large room. Breakfast

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    breakfast cooked to order quite ok, but nothing special or outstanding, french press coffee not too nice

    Friendly owners, personal touch, nice location in a quiet road and not too far away from beach and town center, parking available, spacious clean room and bathroom, wifi with good speed

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel needs updating with lots of deteriorating paint work, especially in the breakfast room. Might be being picky here, but hash browns with breakfast would be nice.

    Nice location, only 10 minutes walk to the main centre. Room was comfortable with a fridge and hospitality items which was nice.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Is not very important,but that huge bathroom was very cold,heater not working. I felt like the gentleman (i think it was the owner)who served our breakfast and also welcomed us when we arrived,was a bit abrupt in his talking,no smile or small talk.But we had a great time in a beautiful place,although no one asked us how it was.

    The room we stayed was huge,very clean and comfortable bed,big bathroom. Although the building doesn't look very nice on the outside, the inside is another story , you will be surprised! I will recommend this hotel to everyone.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Overall there was nothing really wrong with the hotel, the room, the breakfast, the staff were all fine, and it would suit people who wanted a quiet break that was close to the town. It was however just a bit too quiet for myself and my wife.

    The Bed was beautifully comfortable, really nice big room, easy access to the town centre and the seafront. Everyone was friendly and the hotel was really clean, welcoming with a nice cosy feeling.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent breakfast with good quality food free parking Room with comfortable double bed. We have been coming to this hotel for about 3 years Kim and Andy have worked hard to get to bring it up to date. We will always return. Friendly and kind - such good hosts

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Tea facilities in the room were not very nice and I couldn't drink it. Breakfast could be served till slightly later on a Sunday. 10:30am? Shower was quite cold.

    Room was comfortable and staff friendly

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    -Nothing.

    -I like the location, walking distance from the train station and really close to the sea shore. -I love the like they have for the small details in every single space, like coffee and tea in the room. -Bed was extremely comfortable. -The breakfast was amazing, very complete and with so many options to choose among food and drinks. -The staff was really nice. -Wifi works great in the rooms.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The weather was extremely cold when we arrived and the room heating was not at an appropriate temperature, until we fiddled with it. There was no heating at all in the bathroom (not so much of a problem on the second day when the weather warmed up a bit.) Likewise, the dining room was very cold when we arrived and on our first morning's breakfast. It was like they'd forgotten to put the heating on. Breakfast choices a bit limited and unimaginative

    The room was excellent, with one of the most comfortable beds we've slept in. Very quiet. Off road parking. Really close to the seafront. Interesting building, former home of a 1950s film star! Breakfast girl was excellent.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was a tiny bit cool in bathroom, but an extra heater was provided when problem mentioned.

    Breakfasts were excellent, plenty to choose from. Bed was very comfortable and the duvet very warm. Cleanliness was excellent

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit cold at night but I'm sure if we'd asked they would have turned the heating up.

    Very friendly owners, comfortable beds, clean, tasty cooked breakfast although portions not massive but I do have a good appetite. Definitely recommend and would book again

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property is not consistent with the advertising. Although claiming to be a hotel, it is more like a DIY operated Guest House. Lacks the clealiness, ambience or facilities of a hotel.

    Conveniently located for the beaches and the centre of the town.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the paintwork is a little tired looking.

    The eggs were perfect, as was all the food cooked for breakfast. The food was cooked as required so all fresh, it was well worth the short wait.....great choice too. Plenty of time allowed for breakfast so never felt rushed, very friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast cooked to order with good quality ingredients. Andrew & Kim were very helpful and nothing was too much trouble, we had a medical problem and Andrew dealt with it most helpfully and supportive.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Key would not lock our bedroom door. Kettle automatic switch would not stay on. Lack of shelf space in bathroom, floor tiles made the room very cold. . That's it.

    Large well furnished bedroom.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Old property full of charactor, but looking a little tied from outside, especially on first apperance. Bathroom toilet seat did not fit properly and no frosted glass in bathroom, you had to remember to drop the blind before using the toilet, as overlooked from next door hotel.

    Hosts and staff friendly and welcoming. Very good standard of breakfast and good choice. Small bedroom was decorated to high standard and actually was very roomy as was the bathroom. Yes would stay again. Free car parking.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The car park was a little on the small side.

    It was in a good location, the breakfasts were lovely and the staff helpful. The room was basic but comfortable with biscuits, tea bags, milk and coffee replenished every day.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor a little bit tired in places.

    We stayed in a superior room with a king size bed. Slept brilliantly as in quiet location. Had cooked breakfast both days which we enjoyed. Friendly welcome and helpful staff throughout our stay. Love that we got fresh milk in a fridge for our tea.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a bit more expensive than hotels of a similar category in other pays of the UK. However it seemed average for Bournemouth.

    Friendly and clean in a very nice location just behind the seafront.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room not tastefully decorated and odd shape, although bathroom was nice. Fan inadequate to keep room cool. Fridge peeped in the middle of the night and, although we were warned this might happen, it woke us up. Overpriced.

    Very quiet room. Located near zigzag path down to beach. Dog friendly. Nice cooked breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Top room in summer number 9 a bit hot ,but to the hosts credit fan provided.

    Host local knowledge and friendly helpful manner . Breakfast and service first class . area is close to centre for access. Peaceful and quiet at night.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not book a longer stay.

    Cleanliness, comfy bed, modern bathroom, nice decor, tv, tea & coffee. Great breakfast, only short walk to town centre and beach.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The manager was always abrupte to his staff in front of customers and no air conditioning in the room ,fridge made a noise at night

    The younger staff were really helpful in every way possible

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really nice, friendly familydriven hotel. Only 6 rooms which made it very close to the owners. Super service from the owners and walking distance to the beach, restaurants etc. Can recommend!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only one small issue. The hosts plan to put a mirror up in the room which will solve our problem of drying hair without a mirror! The price is expensive but so are all prices in Bournemouth - it's an expensive place to stay in general.

    Lovely hosts, excellent quality breakfast, proper milk in the fridge for making tea. Located in a nice quiet area, but only a 15 min walk from the BIC. Great comfy and firm bed, we slept like logs!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Comfortable, though small room but perfectly adequate for a solo traveller. Quiet location, great range of refreshments and fresh milk and fridge a real bonus

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Visible old carpet dust around the bedroom furniture, slightly picky maybe BUT that aside......

    FRIENDLY WELCOME, LOVELY ROOM, FLUFFY TOWELS, TOILETRIES AND REAL MILK PROVIDED IN THE MINI FRIDGE FOR A PROPER CUP OF TEA! FAB COOKED BREAKFAST

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unusually hot the week we went so bedroom very warm even with windiws open. 2nd night Andrew found us a fan which helped.

    Excellent cooked breakfast, made to order so very fresh and excellent quality.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Exterior a bit grubby, garden untidy needs a bit of tlc.

    Location, parking, good room, comfortable, breakfast, hosts. On the quieter side of town but within 10 minutes walk of the centre.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast room really needs an upgrade.

    The room and the bathroom were very nice, spacious and clean. The bed was comfortable. The breakfast is very good.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Quiet and close to the clifftops with a short work to the beach. There was also parking on site and the rooms were modern and comfortable. A great breakfast is also served.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing to dislike about this lovely hotel...certainly nothing to effect your stay. Just an observation though, I would ditch the front external notice board, it does not portray the hotel as it deserves. Maybe put games that are currently stored on the window sill besides the front door elsewhere. It looks untidy from both the inside & outside.

    Lovely big comfy bed with lovely clean soft bedding, extra bedding was available if needed. Nice little extras available, like fruit teas, hot chocolate and nice fresh milk in the fridge. The hotel is in a quiet street... rather unusual as it is quite centrally located. A nice small, friendly and easy going hotel with plenty of character.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dining room looked very tired and the staff seamed too eager to clean away even when we were still eating.

    Comfortable clean bedroom with clean bathroom. Relaxed atmosphere, no pressure to be in before a certain time. Breakfast hot and well presented, plenty of choice.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent service, good location, good room size and equipment

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Lovely B&B

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfy room , lovely breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All OK

    All OK

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely breakfast and very welcoming staff!

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: