Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of East Sussex National Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa 4 stars

Little Horsted, Uckfield, TN22 5ES, United Kingdom

#3 of 3 hotels in Uckfield

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 494 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Club Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hard to find anything wrong with this place. To be really picky, perhaps a couple of the items on the breakfast buffet were a little lukewarm, but not really a problem.

    Everything. The room was spacious, comfortable and quiet, with everything working as expected. Breakfast was good, the bar was good and the pool and associated facilities were excellent. Even though there were several people using the pool, it was very large and never felt crowded. The WiFi worked consistently well throughout the visit. The hotel is well located, being close to several small towns and villages and easy access to lots of nice countryside. It would also appear to be just 15 miles from the seaside, although I didn't have time to explore that on this occasion.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As we booked late we had to go with a twin room. The beds were a bit too soft but that's just personal taste. The only downside was our room was on the lower floor right next to the golf buggy park. So not very private and noisy first thing if you wanted a lie in. Ask for a room on the upper floor.

    Very good staff, parking and lovely views over the countryside.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    just a bit more attention to the room ie the fabric headboards need replacing, a bit stained, and the windows need cleaning, hoovering near the windows also missed. The girls in the spa reception could be a bit happier and smile!

    Overall the Staff were excellent, so helpful and nothing was too much trouble, always smiling. Even when the hairdryer ignited they replaced it in minutes! Otherwise very enjoyable, food excellent and the waitress called Rose was the best!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff at breakfast were very slow on our first morning. Got better. The menu was limited for the evening meal - I ended up having to eat pork which is never a preference.

    Fantastic room. Excellent choice at Breakfast Lovely Spa. Beautiful view from our balcony. The Golf Club Carvery on Sunday was wonderful in every way. Staff were very helpful and accommodating this celebration as our family of 19 including 12 grandchildren gathered.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stay was fabulous. From the moment we arrived until the moment we left the property it felt like a super relaxing stay. The balcony in the room was amazing to sit and relax, a great fitness centre and super comfortable bed!!! The buffet breakfast was also fantastic. Will definetly come back in the future!!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was all amazing.

    The room we stayed in was amazing, and loved the balcony, we had breakfast in the morning on the balcony as weather was amazing and food was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Club Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Better choice of beers in the bar. Restaurant staff need teaching how to run a service. All the restaurant staff on the Friday seemed junior.

    Bedroom was spacious and had a great view. Bathroom clean and large size. Golf course was exceptional.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were inattentive and unmotivated, the bar was overpriced and had little ambience, the rooms were very basic with insufficient towels and toiletries.

    The gym was excellent. Good range of quality equipment.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had to pay for a hot chocolate for breakfast. I don't drink tea or coffee!

    I liked the rooms being so big. Very spacious and the spa was excellent

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bar drinks were on the steep side. No other dislikes.

    The location of the hotel and the facilities were excellent. Having all of the rooms overlooking the grounds and golf course was great. The staff were helpful and friendly and facilitated us having access to the room earlier than advertised. We attended a beautiful wedding - helped by the sun shine, lovely venue and excellent service.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a little bit of mould starting to appear on the shower ceiling area, apart from that I can't fault.

    Lovely views, very helpful staff, peacefully location, rooms all good!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was very disappointed that extremely limited hours for children in the pool prevented my granddaughter going in the pool at all. They really need a small, separate children's pool.

    Some staff excellent, others a bit grumpy. Amazing pool for serious swimmers.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Club Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing in particular.

    Excellent facilities, very accessible, pool and spa particularly good. Breakfast and restaurants had good range, very nice staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom was worn and dirty, hairs round bath, dirty marks on cupboards, pillow case had been put on inside out! Walls cracked and the room just generally looked worn out!!

    Facilities were nice, good location and nice views.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only problem we had was the inability to connect to the internet dispite following the instructions

    From the moment we arrived we felt relaxed. The room was big and airy. The bed comfortable. The staff friendly and helpful. We thoroughly enjoyed the spa, the staff friendly and professional. Breakfasts wonderful and restaurant food and staff just great. We enjoyed the whole experience.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Spa rates on room TV screen dont tell you that these are only for the weekdays (higher charge for the weekend) Housekeeping didnt replenish toilteries, towels even once for 3 nights we stayed there. Even the cleaning was sub par (clothes, toys spread all over the floor, crumbs on the bed as before cleaning) Not much choice of food in the restaurant, didnt realise you had to book it in advance (we didnt get a place for 2 nights for dinner and easter lunch as it was all booked up) Bar food below expectations and expensive (we tried fish and chips, chicken ceasar salad and a couple of sandwiches)

    Great location Friendly staff Good breakfast and generous timing (7.30-10.30am)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was cold, there was a door that opened on the balcony which was difficult to close. The lighting was a little dim for applying make up, there was no full length mirror. The opening time of the pool area could have been longer.

    The room was amazing - very spacious and the balcony was beautiful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfy bed, very large, clean room. Liked we had both bath and shower in bathroom. Shower has no step into it so ideal if you are not too mobile. Room nice and warm although torrential rain outside! Liked the fact we could adjust the heating/air conditioning to our personal taste. Also we could open the windows in the room which would be great in warmer weather. Buffet breakfast good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very difficult to control the temperature in the bedroom, it was cold at night and even with the A/C it didn't change much. On the 3rd day there were more guests in the hotel and some of the food during breakfast wasn't replaced. Went to the pool but from where we were able to seat, there was a constant dripping from the ceiling due to the condensation, so we didn't stay there for long.

    Excellent and peaceful location with amazing views.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Club Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Structural cracks in walls (room 231), tired looking room with a worn out mattress, extremely limited menu in both bar and restaurant all at expensive prices!

    Big room

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was fairly empty because of the recent bad weather and this combined with the open plan design made it feel like an out of season conference centre. No atmosphere not helped by the design of the only bar area which just spread out into the Reception. Also we were only offered the A la Carte (extremely expensive) with nothing we wanted and we had to ask if there was an alternate menu. Price of drinks very expensive (latte £4.20 each). 11am check out on Sunday morning not great either.

    Breakfast was good,

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Buffet breakfast a little tired - especially the eggs. perhaps they could be cooked to order.

    I telephoned the hotel as my circumstances had changed. I spoke with John who immediately resolved my concerns

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small annoying issues like room service giving us a completely empty salt pot, our table for dinner not being ready despite being booked by the receptionist on arrival. Knives & forks on our table for breakfast but no spoons! Too many young untrained staff.

    Clean, spacious, comfortable rooms. Attached health club was great.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    More choice in the bar menu, restaurant was too pricey/limited for us! Maybe they could appeal more to people who aren't bothered about golf - make it more about the nature and relaxation etc

    Beautiful location but difficult to get to without a car. Loved the open plan lobby/bar area and the chandaliers are a good feature. Leisure club was lovely, good size pool and sauna, steam room and jacuzzi. Room was huge and very peaceful, with a good size bathroom and view of the landscape. Whole hotel had a lovely relaxing feel so it's a good place to go to relax. Breakfast buffet was great too

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That I miss it already!

    The location is nicely tucked away for that special romantic getaway. I’d recommend stocking up with food at the station! The spa experience as gorgeous as was the room service!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A la Carte restaurant not too liking Not much other food choice options,had to drive out of hotel and look for other place to eat.

    Great big comfy rooms Good leisure facilities Great location Staff very accommodating Good breakfast

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was not ready at the stated check in time, we were offered a complimentary drink while we waited which was another 20 minutes, a minor hiccup but would have expected it to be ready at the time advertised.

    The classic double room was very spacious indeed, the spa pool was great for a dip, Breakfast was very good indeed, the team of waiters were very polite and very hard working.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a bit cold and took a long time to heat up as system was slow. Breakfast selection was good but plates cold (not heated up) and some of the food luke warm - breakfast staff a bit in attentive and we had to chase for tea/ coffee

    Bed was comfortable and room spacious.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was huge with a massive comfy bed and overlooked the golf course with fantastic views to the South Downs and a little balcony. The pool, sauna, steam room, jacuzzi and gym were excellent - the perfect place to relax. There's lots of really good pubs within a short driving distance for good food. Try the Hurstwood or the Anchor - both within 15 mins drive.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room temperature controls!! blew out freezing cold air and my me my bf and baby got a little sick from it. bad night sleep! It automatically turns to aircon if it gets hot and it takes 45 mins to heat up... was cold on arrivals and during the night sometimes ... only downside.

    Reception staff and hotel manager where amazing! OUTSTANDING breakfast :)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant food was disappointing in terms of flavour and size compared to other hotels of the same rating. Also the pillow cases were scratchy and uncomfortable.

    Room size was very good and the spa facilities were fantastic.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed here at the end of December for 1 night. In the morning there was no hot water in any of the three rooms. We had to leave without having showers. Absolutely furious. We did NOT receive any discount despite the staff promising the management wound be in contact.

    Modern hotel, good size rooms

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Christmas disappointment With family recently moved to the area we are looking for somewhere to stay regularly when we visit and this hotel sounded great so we thought we would give it a try for Christmas night. We were quite tired when we arrived and checked in and then we began the long walk to our room which was the next to last in the corridor. It was a very, very long walk. My husband has had serious heart surgery and was quite breathless when we at last arrived, but we looked forward to a relaxing sit up in bed watching a little TV to unwind. We did not notice at first as we were impressed with the large room but when we started to get into bed we saw the quite horrible state of the headboard. There was no way we were going to lean our heads against that. Very unsavoury and unhygienic reminiscent of old worn seats in a very old train carriage. On my side there was also a very large black stain. Pictures below. In the morning we took the long trek to breakfast. The dining room is super large and we were directed to a table which was the furthest away from the food. I asked if we could have a table nearer but although around 50% of the tables were unoccupied we were told they were “not laid for two”. While at the food counter I asked if I could have a poached egg. This seemed to be a nuisance but I was told they would bring it over. My husband had some cereal and then went up for a little fruit and yoghurt. There was no sign of my poached egg so he went up for his cooked breakfast and had just about finished eating it when I saw a young waiter come out of the kitchen with a plate of something and he just stood around with it in the middle of the room looking lost, so I went up to him asked if it was my poached egg. He didn’t seem to know but he gave it to me anyway. Pleased that I could now enjoy my breakfast I cut into the egg and found that it was almost raw. I gave up on the cooked breakfast and just had a croissant and some fruit.

    The location was good for our purpose and so were the views from the room. The room was certainly bigger than most. Free parking is appreciated.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots of dirty cutlery and plates left in hallway Cold pool Cold changing area Dip in the bed

    The breakfasts Room service and evening meals Jacuzzi Showers

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For me the most disappointing aspect of the hotel is in the evening the bar area has no atmosphere whatsover. Dreadful lighting. Would prevent me staying again. Restaurant resembled a canteen. Such a shame.

    The spa area and treatments excellent. Pool was cold unfortunately. Always a beautiful temperature so that was a let down

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The restaurant was very disappointing in the choice of meals. The breakfast was good but there was very little choice for non meat eaters in the restaurant. The bar and restaurant had very little atmosphere.

    The room was very well equipped and the spa had excellent facilities. Lots of good pubs locally to compensate for the disappointing restaurant!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was poor choice and quality. Staff need to be ‘warmer’ very clear they just go through motion ofvaskingbif everything okay they are not really interested and when you do complain nothing is done no sorry nothing just oh okay.

    Room and location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I wasn't to impressed with the menu choices in the resturant, could of done with a bit more variety. More choices available on bar menu.

    Bedroom 124 was quiet and roomy. Could change temperature of room. All facilities of hairdryer, iron & ironing board

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was unsatisfactory gave my partner food poisoning luckily was him as I'm pregnant , swimming pool was cold and jucuzzi didn't work , spa had no appointments as we had been trying to ring for days , no one told us there was a tribute band on then when we saw leaflets no tickets available, there was no iron in the room my partner couldn't iron his shirts , our bed was two singles pushed together was very uncomfortable we hardly slept wouldn't recommend, my partner was very disappointed as he wanted to take me away for a break before the baby arrives, breakfast was cold we paid a lot of money for our stay and it was awful

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Looked at quite a few hotels of this type and was not disappointed. It is a very nice,modern hotel - very clean and well managed. Reception at check-in was good with all necessary information passed. The room was a club double inc breakfast. We had a first floor room with a balcony overlooking the vast golf course / grounds. The room was large and well equipped with en-suite inc bath and shower, iron,hair-dryer, TV, tea/coffee facilities,toiletries, 2 bottles of water. We made use of the pool / spa facilities which were very good with a sauna, steam room, and jacuzzi ( lovely and warm ) . Changing rooms and pool area are large and kept very clean and tidy. Complimentary tea / coffee provided which you can drink poolside on a large number of sun loungers with tables. Towels are also provided. No complaints/ niggles whatsoever.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Menu in a restaurant is a bit too small and with very few vegetarian options. If you have not booked a table in advance, there is no chance for you te get into a restaurant at dinner time, which was disappointing for us. There was a needle-like sharp end of a spring sticking up from the side of our mattress, so my partner scratcherd her leg very badly when she went to bed. We have reported this incident to reception and asked for a first aid kit in order to get some plasters and disinfectant, but it appeared that the receptionist did not really know how to act and what to do. Finally they have found some plasters for us, but the overall level of support was poor. They have offered us to change the room, but the time was late and we were tired, so we could not be bothered - just covered a sharp edge by the cloth and left it as it was. Then around a midnight someone from the administration decided that it was a good idea to wake us up by ringing the phone when we were already sleeping and to ask us to come down again to fill up the Incident Report form. Of course we refused and did that in the following morning. During the check-out we have asked a Manager for some discount or compensation for our negative experience, but they refused saying they will get in touch with us after internal investigation is done. For sure no one did get in touch with us until now, and it is one week since the incident. Our stay was ruined and overall experience is very negative.

    Hotel is easy to find and it has got a large parking wich is convenient. Spa facilities were good as well. Amazing view from the window in our room and good breakfast in the morning.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Just disappointed that we couldn't use any of the spa or golf facilities as they were all booked up the weekend of our stay :( Found the walls a little bit thin as we had noisy neighbours!

    Rooms were clean comfortable & the view was fantastic :)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No minibar or dressing robes. Spa staff was not very helpful. No availability for any treatments although they said it’s in their website to book in advance but the whole point of choosing this hotel was to have a spa treatment. I guess it was our fault not to book in advance but the member of staff could’ve been a little more helpful and empathetic

    Good breakfast, spacious rooms, good pool

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great breakfast, brilliant gym and pool facilities with steam room, Jacuzzi and sauna. Very friendly staff and willing to help. Room was large, clean and very good tea and coffee facilities. Very good view from the room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff manager was quite rude and got involved in a conversation when not needed with another member of staff made me feel uncomfortable

    Clean and comfortable

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had no hot water until 7:30 in the morning, considering we had an early start this was unacceptable. There was mould on the shower tiles and large stains on the carpet. Had to go down to reception on arrival as the room did not have items for two people, such as having only one glass. We have stayed at this hotel before and were extremely happy, however this time it was disappointing, especially as it is not cheap.

    The bed was comfortable and the free toiletries were of a high standard. The bathroom had a stand in shower and a separate deep bath. The bedroom is large and as we were at the far end of a corridor it was quiet Great gym and swimming pool.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I really do think this is overpriced. There aren't even any plug sockets by the bed! Room was dated, the shower wasn't nice.

    The reception area looks nice and the views are great. The hotel staff seemed friendly. Air con was a bonus.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I found the hotel to be in need of a refurb. I stay in hotels Monday-Thursday every week and can honestly say this is the worst hotel I've stayed in when I consider the fact I paid £100+ a night. My room was incredibly far from reception which when carrying luggage is a nightmare, as well as getting lost in the lift because the floors don't match up. The rooms are outdated, the walls had cracks and scratches on. The pillows were hard and uncomfortable, the shower was outdated and the shower door wouldn't even close properly. The only thing nice about this hotel is the reception area, it's a shame the same standards aren't met throughout the hotel. I wouldn't stay here again unless I was only paying £70 a night (max.)

    The golf course looks nice and the parking is easy.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The damp on the shower ceiling it had obviously been there for some time but not been dealt with it was dirty and looked horrible we didn’t use the shower because of it I reported it when we checked out but was told I should of reported it on arrival Strangely enough the shower wasn’t the first place I looked in and when j did as booking.com had said it was the last room didn’t think I’d get another room As it was my husbands birthday didn’t want a whole lot fuss but even he was unhappy to use the shower and his a roofer! Then our room was next to a family with young children so we were subjected to yelling and children crying throughout the late evening not ideal great as my husbabd just wanted a night away in peace and relative quiet

    Lovely location staff were pleasant

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Windows dirty in room and restaurant, beautiful scenery but have to look through smears and old cellotape marks to see it.

    Breakfast was OK, but not hot a help yourself buffet nothing special, even got a cold pot of tea and no apology. Room was big and comfortable. Club room had a balcony which was nice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Club Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Inthe rooms there are no plug sockets on the side of the room where the bed heads are.As a sufferer of sleep Apnoea i had to drape an extension lead across the room making a trip hazard.

    Food was good and the room was fine. Reception staff were very good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We booked this hotel to be near the ferry from Newhaven to Dieppe - traffic in the morning was horrible (not the hotel's fault, of course).

    Lovely room, good beds, good bathroom. Enough storage space. Very quiet at night (but we were told this could be different on weekends!). Breakfast was ok but not great. Bar was a bit chaotic (forgetting part of our food order or taking orders even though the kitchen had already closed). But: the mistakes were soon forgotten by the charme of staff and manager. Commendable!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike!

    An overall magnificent property with luxurious accommodation. Booked on a special rate so was excellent value for money. Would liked to have stayed longer.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Club Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was tired and dirty with cobwebs everywhere (in the bath & all over the balcony) & I had to keep asking reception to bring up a cot and assemble it for my baby - they did a quick job & the sheet wasn't on properly. Refreshments in the room were substandard & I had to ask housekeeping for basics such as water - there was no fridge in the room so the water was warm when it eventually came & we had to have fresh milk brought up plus baby food chilled at reception. Beds were narrow and average quality. Breakfast was awful - all the hot food was disgustingly greasy verging on inedible and porridge took 45 mins to arrive. When I asked for a high chair for my little boy I was given this filthy flipdown one which had brown straps/mouldy food stuck to it and looked like it had never been cleaned. When I pointed it out to the staff one member said she wouldn't put her child in it either! The tea wasn't twinings (it was a bog standard round bag without a label which twinings don't make) and we were not offered decaf or any decent coffee. I relentlessly complained the whole time about it all & the staff were extremely rude and dismissive. I went through everything again on checkout & I was offered a meagre 10% off from my £280 1 nights stay which I felt was unacceptable.

    The pool was nice - even though the towels were horrible. Even the staff apologised for how bad they were.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not think anyone should be paying full room rate when there is a Broken patio chair, cracked patio door window and apparently been sometime like it prior to visit as had warning message about opening the door. No mini bar fridge considering premium suite. Should put patio sun lounges on balcony with the premium suites. Drawback also sitting in garden as very noisy as by main air conditioning section, needs sound dampening effect, but upstairs on balcony perfect. This area in comparison was a let down in comparison to standard set throughout. Restaurant had same set menu for both nights of stay which was a shame.

    Premium suite room very spacious with large balcony viewing golf course. Spa and health fitness and golf facilities fantastic. Staff friendly especially top service by evening staff in main restaurant.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A bit bland (no pictures in the corridors, no bath robes, anodyne restaurant). Staff not that well trained. Having asked for hot milk at breakfast, it came cold. Staff response - "no one told me!" rather than, sorry I'll get that for you now. And why was breakfast buffet set up in a separate room? This hotel could be so much better with a few small tweaks.

    Good standard conference hotel, with spacious rooms and balconies overlooking the grounds. Fun golf, especially on the West Course.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our second stay at this hotel & we will be back again. Everywhere is immaculately clean & beautifully presented, which is exactly what you hope to see. We found the staff to be extremely polite & helpful & all were very smart in their appearance. No complaints at all.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is a little impersonal huge entrance hall and long corridors to bedrooms. Bar was open plan onto huge entrance area and full of older golfers. If you like cosy country hotels with ambience this isn't for you. No fault of anyone. Just the layout and feel of the place.

    Lovely food - high quality- both dinner and breakfast. Bedrooms large, beds super king size. Bath and shower innensuitsxwith lively terrace and view. Pool is fab for lengths and all facilities are spotless

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit noisy in the breakfast room due to a couple of overexcited men in a group of golfers!

    Wonderful breakfast-a really lovely overnight stay. Friendly staff, lovely room overlooking the golf course and amazing shower!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beware possible sat-nav fail with the hotel postcode!

    This is a golf hotel with a health club/spa attached - we're not golfers but we love swimming and saunas - we used the hotel as a base to get to Glyndebourne Festival Opera which is only 15 mins away. The property - and the rooms - are very spacious with wonderful views over the Downs. Delicious breakfast buffet and good room service menu too. We would re-book in an instant.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough sign to tell where is everything. We had room service as the grandchildren were too tired on the day we arrived. Our bill came over £85 for food that even the kids refuse to eat. Beware if you drink the coffee on the first day as it'll not be refill as the bathroom stuff. Luckily we brought our shampoo and shower gel.

    It was in a very quiet location. When you walk in, it's a very impressive lobby. It has a massive car park so parking wasn't a problem. I think the view in whatever room you get is amazing. The swimming pool is very good too, our grandchildren had great time. Our room was a very good size with a sitting room area. So all in all the room was very good value for money.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    all information about the hotel was available on the tv, not in a guest manual / book. I personally prefer a book as I would never dream of turning on the television on a mini break and a book is easier to navigate (in fairness, check in staff had explained this but I had forgotten and this was one of the reasons we missed breakfasts cut off which we had assumed would be around 11 but actually finished at 10). A book is also a bit more "classy". the hotel is practical but it does not have an ounce of charm.

    Staff was lovely, very friendly and helpful, they happily accommodated an early check in, separation of beds and late breakfast. rooms are very large

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check-in was a bit of a wait as was check out. Didn't offer express check out.

    Clean comfortable room. Quiet and spacious (club room). Good breakfast. Good location for a wedding I was attending locally.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately. Despite my room looking clean My guest stepped on a small shard of glass and my friend was able to remove it. The incident was reported 16/7/17

    The ambience of the hotel...the evening meal was excellent. Breakfast varied and enjoyable

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location - you can't walk there from the station so it's definitely for car drivers. First room had a smell so I was moved into a second room which was better They didn't provide me with any of the extras I had asked for like heating on or extra duvet in either room There was an extremely noisy wedding party so doors banging at all hours and very early morning was annoying. The doors close heavily so my sleep was disrupted. I wasn't asked about my stay at checkout which surprised me? It's way too expensive at over £200 for one night in a place that is just mediocre. I didn't use the spa or golf facilities so can't comment on that. Called a taxi and they didn't turn up. Luckily there was another firm but it wasn't ideal

    Size of the room Staff were cordial. I wouldn't say friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The receptionist upon my departure wasn't completely friendly - she didn't even ask if I had a good stay etc and mistakenly demanded payment from me and I had already paid. But she seemed busy/stressed so I wasn't too annoyed. There could have been a bigger variety when it came to lunch/dinner but the food was great!

    The room was huge and facilities great! The breakfast was particularly good and the restaurant staff were superb

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stay marred by the noisy behaviour by a large wedding party, which consisted of Block Paving, and Driveway constructors ( noted by presence of a large number of new transit vans, and 'high end pick-ups' in the car park ). Kids running about the corridors shouting until 3am. Manager most considerate , and reduced my bill. - I shall be back though ,as it is my favourite UK Hotel

    Lovely bedrooms with balcony overlooking golf course and countryside

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast on Sunday morning was chaotic. Waited in a queue for 15 minutes to serve ourselves from the hot buffet. Fruit and pastries etc ran out. Should have been more serving stations; hotel was very, very busy with a wedding and a lot of golf parties.

    Super pool! Dinner was excellent. Home made bread was superb. Lovely location. Staff were welcoming and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We thought that the evening menu in the Restaurant and in the Bar Area would benefit from a few more tempting dishes. However, we had the Chicken in the Restaurant, which was delicious.

    The bedroom was very spacious, view of the Golf Course, tea and coffee in room. Restaurant on Site and Indoor Swimming Pool. Very quiet location and half an hour from Brighton.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Food a little expensive and very limited vegetarian dishes. Breakfast is pleasant but with a few tweaks could be better e.g a selection of cheeses, bread rolls and non microwaved scrambled eggs.

    Loved the large spacious bedroom and large comfy bed! Light and airy everywhere. Lobby/bar/restaurant areas are elegant. Friendly professional staff. Quiet location with lovely views.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The little things and attention to detail are lacking eg no leaflet telling you the basics of how to enjoy the comforts of the hotel like breakfast start and finish restaurant bar and spa opening times it is a golfing resort and not once was golf mentioned or details of when and how to participate given. Salt cellars not filled. Miles to walk to the room no advice about this and no offer of help with our luggage. It seems once you are in you are left to your own devices and there is no sign of customer care. It is a lovely hotel but the experience could have been so much better. Pick up on the detail and customer focus and this could become excellent. Finally really poor mobile signall throughout the hotel. Coupled with insecure wifi with no password - really? This is 2017 and we were unable to keep in touch as we used separate facilities in the hotel and our travel arrangements were severely hindered throughout our stay. Such a pity.

    Spacious clean rooms. Willing staff. Breakfast. Lovely grounds. Loved the pool area. The big things are in place including wedding facilities.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Over all I was very happy with the service I received at your property. The staff were all very friendly and helpful.

    I did not eat the croissants, but the breakfast was very good. The swimming pool was very relaxing after a session in the gym. The staff in the fitness club was very helpful and professional. I left some of my belongings in my room, I rang and got John Lawrie at the hotel reception, he remembered me. My belongings was packed and returned to me in a very professional manner. Thank you very much.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Veggie option - just boring Risotto which every restaurant has as their veggie option!!

    Saturday dinner was ok nothing special very limited for veggie's breakfast was standard

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Club Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bar had zero atmosphere, the building was lacking in character, the staff were lacking in knowledge. The meat in the burger was a cheap frozen patty. Not just one but two of them?? Overall the hotel lacks in character and style. The restaurant was more like a banqueting room which is why we chose not to dine there.

    The size of the room and bathroom.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The cooked breakfast was cold and poor quality no option to have it cooked the way you like had much better in three star. Some items were frozen Had chicken with lemon chilly and coriander and honey glaze for dinner one night was very dry and tasteless chips were frozen The staff were badly trained and some struggled with English willing but lots of minor issues

    Location and parking

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: