Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

East Over Cliff, Bournemouth, BH1 3AN, United Kingdom

#39 of 79 hotels in Bournemouth

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 1225 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: July 19, 2018

    5.0
    Breamslayer
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bed wasent very comfortable breakfast wasent nice at all bacon was really hard and eggs looked rubbery room was clean

    Staff was very pleasent and really nice could not fault any of your staff must say they all was very polite

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 18, 2018

    7.1
    Hotel met expectations, but incredibly warm in room. Bournemouth is a great place though.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room didn’t have any air con which made sleeping in the hot weather very uncomfortable. Only a small desk fan was provided, which didn’t really help.

    The rooms are of good size, and the bed was very comfortable. Clean and tidy, very presentable. Location to town and beach very good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 18, 2018

    5.8
    Very disappointed and too expensive.
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    we were their after a very bad time to enjoy my birthday and our anniversary but at 65 and 70 years old we were told no evening meals at the hotel you had to walk to the hotel down the street. Very poor choice on menu, only six items on main meals. we were told menu changed every 3 months. Staff were generally scruffy in the restaurant. Final thing was a charge of three pounds per day for parking. Not happy at all.

    room was clean but on the small size. Staff were polite .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 17, 2018

    6.3
    The room was clean and spacious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The shower in our room had no water pressure and was just trickling. We were put right at the back of the hotel where we were woken up by delivery trucks. It cost £8 for two bottles of water.

    The room was clean and spacious.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2018

    6.3
    Feeling
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The receptionist don't understand English well that's bad for business . Front desk has to have someone that understands English and speak English fluently.

    Put someone who understands and speak English in reception thanks

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 14, 2018

    4.6
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The wallpaper was torn up, shower was broke, a tile for the bathroom broke, wall light had fallen off and left under bed, only cleaned room once in a 3 night stay

    Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2018

    6.3
    Enjoyable mainly because of the beach area
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Swimming pool closed, this is one of the reasons I booked there. I could use the one next door, but this was for two hotels, so sun beds were often full. I was in a single room which was quite claustrophobic, the bathroom was very old with loose floor tiles. The breakfast was not very good, and again for dinner the hotel next door was available. I was not aware before I booked that I would have to go to another hotel for pool and evening meal. I only found out after booking that I had to pay £10 per night for parking, which made my booking not such a good 'deal'

    Good location, very quiet.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel & staff but beware of parking tickets.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Got parking ticket on the hotel driveway whilst in the foyer booking in!! Confused staff giving different views on where our dog could go.

    Everything was lovely, being able to use the pool next door was nice & being allowed to have the dog with us was a bonus.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 9, 2018

    5.0
    good continental breakfast and quite nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    cooked breakfast a lot of room for improvement, some staff were polite others were not and not helpful. We booked two rooms that were meant to be near however they could not have been further apart.

    good continental breakfast and quite nice

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 8, 2018

    6.3
    The room was nice, but I felt the general staff service could be improved a great deal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The quality of the breakfast was ok. The service from staff in the morning was a bit lacking. We stayed 2 mornings and staff did not always come and ask us if we wanted tea or coffee. We had to help ourselves which was fine, but the equipment was not always working, we had to ask for plates as there weren't any. There was no continental breakfast, no cheese or meats, hardly any fruit. We had been expecting to use the swimming pool but it was closed. I think they should say this on the website or when you book so you know what you are getting. We could use the neighbouring hotel pool though. The restaurant was closed in the evening, again we did not know this until we got there. You eat in the neighbouring hotel. The service was poor, we had to wait a lond time to be served and our party's meals did not come together.

    The family room was lovely and very comfortable. I loved that it had an iron in the room, it was very handy. The quality of room service was very good and arrived within the time frame that we expected.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 8, 2018

    8.8
    Nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I didn't realise I was staying at the Hotel next door to the Hallmark which pool was closed that was a shame as it had a nice view over it from the bar ' sea view but the are going to take that one away this meant the main hotel was the only pool & it meant further to go & it was busy..in fact I was a bit annoyed a member of staff moved my clothes & towels from my sun bed even though I'd only gone inside to have a quick shower & apply sun cream so was only gone about 5 to 10mins he bundled up my clothes in a wet towel to make way for a lady with a baby & proceeded to take 3 sun beds for her & an umbrella without asking me if it was ok to move which I wouldn't of minded but was annoyed at my treatment:(

    The room was nice clean & comfortable..a nice hotel & the indoor & outdoor pool in the adjoining Hotel we're nice

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 5, 2018

    6.3
    The hotel in general needs a good luck of paint.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No air .con in rooms, very hot. The radiator was also turned on. The water bottles provided was placed in window area in the baking sun. The service from bar drinks were off (,larger)on our first night ,shame hotel swimming pool was not in use.

    The beds were very comfortable. Thank you for providing a fan. Thank you for the complementary bottle of proseco and chocolate And card. The staff was friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 3, 2018

    7.1
    A good venue for an overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Like most big seaside hotels it has seen better days, needs big and very expensive refurbishment , which I doubt would not be economically viable.

    Nice bar and patio area

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2018

    5.4
    Poor value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The check in was very slow and the staff were unhelpful. The building is tired and needs renovation and it seems petty for the prices they charge to also charge you for parking. I definitely don’t like the very late check in and the very early check out as well. We got there just gone 2 o’clock but unlike other hotels we were told that check in was strictly at 3 and no attempt was made to see if there were any available rooms. Needless to say, later that evening we still had to wait in very long queue to check in again. We have travelled all around the world and most hotels have a check in time of 2 o’clock and they would always attempt to accommodate you if you arrived a bit early.

    Comfortable bed

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 1, 2018

    5.0
    Nice views!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    For starters the pool was closed so they sent us to the sister hotel which was packed, floor tiles were all broken up and a trip hazard, dirty tables, ashtrays overflowing, no staff. Won’t be returning

    Nice views!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 1, 2018

    6.3
    Uncomfortable hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Given a room with someone in it. No facilities at hotel; everything is at the Carlton about 5 minute walk away. Lounge/Bar a small area: with high prices for food, drink and coffee. This is an old hotel, which meanders, so some rooms are far from the lift; and short stairs have to be gone up- quite difficult to get to your room if you have lots of luggage,

    Position is great; with beautiful views across 7 miles of beach

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 1, 2018

    5.4
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room window looked onto fire escape stairs and brick wall. Ventelation poor window old didnot open much.very hot no fan available.no mini fridge in room. Hotel never dusted.swimming pool not in use dirty. Hotel needs complete renovation

    Communal outside balcony at ground level with great sea view

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 1, 2018

    6.3
    Good if you’re not going to spend much time indoors!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    NO AIR CONDITIONER! Major fault was super hot in the room, the receptionist on Friday had no knowledge about some of the information i inquiry about, very disappointing customer service. The bath needs updating , quite bad !

    Excellent location, bed was comfortable and nice lobby and outdoor sitting area . Great views and amazing the fact that we could use next doors facilities. The heated pool was great!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 29, 2018

    5.4
    Staff were polite.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Windows didnt open. No fans available. Travel cot was broken. Took an hour to recieve cot/fan - fan was broken with wires on show. Very dangeroua for our 1 year old

    Staff were polite. Bed was comfty. Room was big.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 28, 2018

    5.0
    our two night stay was to bracket our full day at the RNLI , the hotel is very forgetable
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    parking was ridiculous. the room was the smallest on the fire chart. great king size bed and tv but no room to move. hand basin cracked and no room to put personal items in bathroom. I do not believe any male member of staff has ever tried to shave in that mirror.

    the room was cleaned very well. we left a tip as the problems were not the cleaner's

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 28, 2018

    5.8
    Distinctly average. Sister hotel next door looked the better bet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bar meals available but had to go to sister hotel 100 yards down the road for dinner. Object to having to pay £10 per day to park our car there - it should be included as part of accommodation cost.

    It was OK but nothing stood out particularly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 27, 2018

    4.2
    Check in took 30mins, room was dark and balcony was a walk...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Check in took 30mins, room was dark and balcony was a walk way across other rooms. Pool was green. Breakfast in room was cold over cooked and returned.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 23, 2018

    6.7
    Generally okay, I do not believe the room was worth the stated top price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was limited for space, and the hotel felt like it needed some investment to improve the facilities. Our room was on offer which was a fair price for the facilities, but it was meant to be worth a great deal more.

    The bar area seemed okay and the staff were generally helpful and friendly

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 23, 2018

    6.3
    Great location over looking the beach, looks lovely from the front but needing much work out back
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room facing the car park, Car park isn't very pleasant at night as there is rats scurrying around,myself and husband spotted them as we parked our car, terrifying. And to be charged around 12£ a day to use the car park it's a bit of a joke. Told the front desk and they said in the hotel there is rats I said in the car park she didn't seemed bothered. I'm sure they could be inside too though 😟

    Location is fab. Room was a good size

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 20, 2018

    9.6
    The relaxed atmosphere, cleanliness and pleasant staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only thing that let it down was the door to the bathroom was difficult manouvering through and you would often catch yourself on the door handle, to narrow!

    The relaxed atmosphere, cleanliness and pleasant staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 19, 2018

    2.9
    Horrific experience, absolutely ruined my vacation.
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Horrific experience, absolutely ruined my vacation. NEVER come here. I didn't see the other review about bed bugs until it was too late- my face and arms are covered in swollen bites. When I confronted the women at the front desk about pests that were running across the bedroom floor all night he admitted to knowing about them and the bed bugs for some time but refused a refund!!! I wish I could leave negative stars!!!!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 19, 2018

    10
    not very happy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the car parking was very tight at rear of hotel we had some damage to our car while it was parked over night not at all happy as we have only just bought the car.

    the bed was comfy

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 17, 2018

    5.4
    Not the best stay we’ve had.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This is a dog friendly hotel however at £15 per dog per night, nothing was explained where your dog could go to the toilet etc.. nothing supplied ie. dog bowl, dog bed, doggy treats which don’t cost much but would have been a nice gesture. Car parking is extra which should be included in the hotel cost. Pool was closed so you had to go to the hotel next door and the bar food and drinks were very expensive. If you wanted breakfast, it was £10 per day if ordered the day before and £14.95 on the day! We went up the road and had breakfast for £4.95.

    Perfect location for the beach however dogs not permitted so we went to Southbourne Beaches where dogs are allowed in the beach. Staff are friendly but a little understaffed at times.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 17, 2018

    7.9
    Super comfy bed ,room was ok fully fitted out , breakfast...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Decour outside was a little tired and could do with a paint , bit disappointed to have to pay £10 parking fee , but left the car there after checking out to travel in to town

    Super comfy bed ,room was ok fully fitted out , breakfast was good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 15, 2018

    3.3
    Disappointed stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Shabby hotel with dirty walls. Room was tiny and with double bed left side against the wall. Wall have a dirty marks all over it. Bed throw was also with dirty marks. Table, console table, bedside table covered in information materials-guests expected to clean all that to put their belongings! No fridge in the room in allegedly four star hotel. Room is stuffy and very hot- we cannot sleep. Windows is very old and for safety reason is only open 15-20 cm. No air conditioning in the rooms. Bathroom is old and because shower head is blocked water was spraying all over the floor outside the bath. Tubs are broken- they are not closing in the correct direction. We have one tube of shampoo and one body wash for two people for two nights stay. 4* and no toilet brash in the rooms. We travel from long holiday with lots of luggage but nobody offer us any help with it. Corridors are very narrow with steps to the different levels of the hotel. Hotel charge £10 for parking and £15 for dog per night. We haven’t stay second night as it was not acceptable. And left early, no one asked the reason. Recommend to avoid this place. Very disappointed. Place crying for renovation.

    Short walk to the promenade.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 14, 2018

    7.9
    Few days away to celebrate partners birthday!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The balcony door when open didn't leave much room for the seats. The outskirts of the building could do with a touch of paint to freshen it up.

    Size of the room was big, separate bathroom was a good size too. Great sea view. Location ideal as it was 5 mins walk to the beach. Cleanliness of the hotel was good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 14, 2018

    8.8
    I'm glad that I only stayed 2 nights. I felt like the hotel was missing something and that was staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No paper delivered the first day. The telephone wasn't working so no room service. Also if there was an emergency it would have been very difficult. There was no one at the bar most of the time so you either waited or had to go to reception to ask. The prices of your bar food was over inflated for what it is.

    The pool in the adjoining hotel plus staff were very pleasant.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 12, 2018

    10
    Enjoyed my stay at the Hallmarks
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Only complain is the parking fee , Should be cheaper or free, paid a lot for parking .

    Absolutely wonderful rooms,quality furniture and spacious. Loved my stay here

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 11, 2018

    5.4
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It’s really tired and dated and the bed is ridiculously old and uncomfortable. They had put an extra duvet under our sheet to try and make it better but it wasn’t great and for £200 a night you’d expect a bit more than that.

    Great location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 8, 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic for couples or families who want can't leave the dog at home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No plugs next to the bed, bit annoying but no the end of the world. Not sure if this was the case in all rooms.

    We brought our child....(dog) to Bournemouth and stayed at the Hallmark. We've taken him to hotels before that were 'dog friendly' and received a terrible experience because of it. Not at the Hallmark East Cliff. Our dog was just as welcome as we were and that made the stay something very special. --- Very spacious rooms and great fittings including the beds which are huge and comfortable. --- Bar and food menu (outside of breakfast etc.) is great value.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 8, 2018

    7.5
    Very enjoyable 3 night stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Shame pool not open (although spa and pool at sister hotel were available and very good. Car parking a bit steep even with some discount for 3 night stay.

    Location excellent,shame the pool not available. Nice touch on arrival as bed decorated plus anniversary card and box of chocolates

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 7, 2018

    3.8
    Overpriced tired hotel living in the past.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms do not reflect the pictures. Balcony doors do not have properly functioning locks meaning your neighbor can walk into your room. Not enough bar staff, one staff member serving everyone and understandably was very flustered. Parking is a joke at £10 per night. Pool is dirty and not open despite it being roasting hot and NOT winter, it states it’s closed over winter, I stayed in May!! No veggie sausages, it’s 2018. All in all not impressed and it wasn’t cheap!!

    Good location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 6, 2018

    5.8
    The staff were professional and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel was dated, the bedroom and bathroom were in poor condition, with furniture held with tape. The balcony was poorly finished and looks over the swimming pool which is not in use and full of stagnate water , fenced off and overgrown garden. The photos are outdated.

    The staff were professional and friendly. Having a sea view and being within walking distance of beautiful beaches.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 4, 2018

    9.2
    Relaxing and very pleasant break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Charge for residents parking!

    Clean and decent sized swimming pool. Very helpful and attentive staff. Quiet location, yet near town centre. Hotel not plagued with notices for this or that.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 4, 2018

    6.7
    Great location but hotel needs some work
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Pool is disgusting. Check in was very slow and apparently very complicated. No hairdryer in the room. Rooms very hot. Not the quality I would expect for the price.

    Location is amazing.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 2, 2018

    6.7
    Really enjoyed my stay but the old swimming pool is a real eyesore
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Swimming pool which has seen better days you have to pop next door to the Carlton for those and other facilities balconies could do with a click of paint

    Comfort of hotel plus cleanliness of room and an excellent breakfast rooms cleaned daily

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 1, 2018

    9.6
    Value for money. Excellent. More than expected.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The outside pool of this hotel is bit dirty but no worry the leisure room pool is awesome

    Very nice staff and the location is awesome.Nice amenities and facilities. No need to go for a beach walk if you are not happy to walk just sit at balcony and have a nice view of the beach.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 27, 2018

    7.5
    The rooms are excellent value and the location is great. Apart from one member of staff!!!!!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast staff were either very friendly or couldn’t give a damn. The first time I stayed there, the staff were faultless. This time,, the early morning breakfast staff, one in particular, was surly to the point of being rude. Reception staff were always great.

    Great location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 24, 2018

    4.0
    Not enjoyable
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    All above

    Room was advertised at a lower rate (misrepresented) as 20 pound surcharge was added if I want sea view which they advertised. Parking was also an extra charge 10 pounds should be free for guests. Breakfast on the day was 15 pounds if you didn't book day before that's excessive. Overall misadvertised and mislead booking clients wont be back to that hotel chain... I wold avoid it

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 24, 2018

    7.5
    Great location but not 4*
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our room was a little shabby. Furniture tired and worn. Chip in bath. The lift is very noisy and disturbs sleep.

    Amazing sea views and close to the town. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 22, 2018

    3.8
    Very disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room had water damage to ceiling, peeling wallpaper, peeling paint in bathroom. Swimming pool and surrounding area not in use, had to go to a neighbouring hotel. Communal balcony, not a private one- cannot leave patio doors open when in room. Looks nothing like photos, looks run down. No management team on site when I checked out...

    Good view of the beach over the algae green swimming pool.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 19, 2018

    6.3
    A pleasant location but in need of maintenance.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel is in need of maintenance. In particular the water pressure in our room was so low that the shower was virtually unusable.

    The hotel is well located on the beach front.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 16, 2018

    10
    Great weekend break. My wife and I had a wonderful time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    At breakfast we were a little surprised by the tea pots. They had the special thing at the top to hold tea leaves but there was a tea bag in it! This made it difficult to stir the tea bag. Some of the tiles in our room had narrow cracks and we could not find a shaving point in the bath room.

    We had a nicely furnished room. The swimming Pool and Sauna at the hotel next door we could use were good. We got a good breakfast and dinner in the hotel next door was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 14, 2018

    5.8
    Disappointed with the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Unable to change rooms as we thought we would be in the newer hotel. No balcony, pool area not used or clean so had to use next doors facilities. The outside of the hotel tired and need of a freshen up

    Closeness to the town and beach

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 14, 2018

    10
    Scott Wood in the bar - your Cosmopolitan was the perfect end to a perfect weekend!!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Swimming pool needs attention

    From check in the staff were polite and welcoming, super friendly. Check in was efficient. We had paid for a sea view with a balcony, and our room was lovely, it was nice to be able to sit on the sofa in our room with the door open looking out at the view over the sea. We had the cream team on the Saturday afternoon in our room, this was excellent value for money - and way too much to eat. Did debate the cream before the jam or the jam before the cream. Saturday night we ate out, but did return to the bar to experience a cocktail - what a huge mistake that was. The bar tender on Saturday was Scott Wood - we went for one, and stayed for 3!!!! A very talented barman, who was mainly working on his own, in what was a very busy bar - but kept everyone happy with his bright personality, and efficient calm way of working - great potential for a star of the future!! Definitely will be booking again in the future.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 12, 2018

    6.3
    Overall we had a good stay as it is near the beach and town centre shops
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We stayed for 4 nights and the shower gel and shampoo was not replaced daily / not sure why ?. The bar prices we overpriced so didn’t use the facilities. Room maybe very warm in summer months due to no air on.

    Clean hotel and good location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 11, 2018

    4.2
    Disappointing, wouldn't stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pool was closed, on the hottest weekend of the year and over a bank holiday. This was not stated when booked- it was completely dirty and disgusting. This made for an unpleasant view when trying to have a drink at the bar, as it overlooks the pool. The hotel was quite dirty, our door outside was broken and couldn't close, so we had to sleep with the door open (which was fine as it was warm, but not ideal if its cold!). The photos didn't match what the actual hotel was like! Not good value for money.

    Close proximity to the beach was nice and an easy walk, and staff were lovely.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 10, 2018

    7.5
    Two days away in the Hallmark East Cliff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was supposed to have a pool, but it was dirty and unused, we had to use the hotel next to ours for the restaurant and the pool, we could have bar snacks, but that was all, the menu was very basic for both the bar food and the restaurant, I ended up eating out instead ! We did have a breakfast buffet in the hotel, this too was basic and not very inspiring, I booked a balcony room, the room was a great size, the bed was superking and it was a good standard,the bathroom was small, as was the bath and it had a chip it the bath, the view was wonderful, the balcony was rusty and needed painting,and a little table would have been great, the room was spotlessly clean , I felt it was not worth the Money. If I had known about the. pool and the restaurant, I would not have chosen this hotel. This is up a hill and not suitable for people with walking difficulty, I was fine and enjoyed the climb

    The view was wonderful, the staff were lovely and hotel was clean, it could be a beautiful hotel with a lick of paint and a bit of refurbishment, It is in a good spot

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 9, 2018

    10
    Bank holiday break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Balcony could do with a freshen up

    Beautiful, clean hotel lobby as we checked in, very polite and helpful lady checking us in who offered to help with our bags. The room was gorgeous and very spacious with a big balcony overlooking the sea views. Tea/coffee making in room and huge tv. The bed was very comfortable and big. Bathroom was very spacious and had toiletries/towels provided. Wish we had longer, will stay for more than one night next time if we come back to Bournemouth :)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 7, 2018

    7.9
    Spacious room, clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bed very uncomfortable, disabled aids round the toilet made it difficult to use. Bar very expensive and meals a bit expensive for what they were.

    Spacious room, clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 6, 2018

    7.9
    Nice hotel,great value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pool area was not open and was still full of last years water that was looking very dirty. Would not normally complain over this but seeing as the sun terrace looks right over the pool and the weather was great to be sitting outside it did let the hotel down.

    Nice place to stay with friendly staff. All in all a nice clean hotel with good food menu and drinks. We also had the afternoon tea that was very nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 6, 2018

    5.4
    Good location with beautiful sea view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This hotel is not good value for money. £24 for 2 night’s parking in the hotel grounds! Check in was very slow and there was always a queue there. There are 2 lots of stairs into the hotel so we really struggled with our luggage. The room wasn’t large but was clean and we appreciated the complimentary water. Our bathroom was a good size but had a lot of mould around the window and the toilet ran all the time so the cistern didn’t fill up properly. Breakfast was an extra £15 each - pretty steep on top of £100+ a night. The WiFi was free and fast.

    Good location with beautiful sea view.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 6, 2018

    8.8
    Excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    None

    It was very clean Was very quiet so had a good nights rest Had tea making facilities with complimentary biscuits Had hair dryer Close to Bournemouth town and the beach

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 4, 2018

    8.3
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Character property a little tired around the edges. Very noisy kettle!

    Good value; clean and very comfortable. Very friendly and professional staff. Smooth check in and upgrade offered (thank you Benjamin).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 27, 2018

    5.4
    Nice staff, bad food. Sauna broken the one time I tried to use it. I wouldn't come back
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I requested veggie sausages for breakfast 2 days in a row. Both times they came out frozen in the middle. I stopped asking on the 3rd day for fears i'd get ill. Pan au chocolate's tasted stale.

    Good service, nice coffee. The rest was pretty bog standard

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 26, 2018

    9.6
    Really nice enjoyable stay. Would highly recommend for anyone who is looking to stay in Bournemouth.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    General preference is that the bacon could have been a it crispier. But I know you try to cater to everyone’s tastes. Went to have a cocktail on the way back from dinner and the person on that was on reception had to man the bar (as was after 10 I think) and he was really apologetic but he hadn’t been trained in the cocktails. He seem very embarrassed bless him.

    Everyone was so nice and friendly, the breakfast had a food selection of cereal, pastries, toast and hot food. The evening meal we had at the charlton and was lively and really good sizes. Lovely massage from Michelle st the charlton as well.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 23, 2018

    5.4
    Room was clean and pleasant enough but service was poor and isn’t worth the money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It took ages to check in. I was waiting in the queue to have someone push in and then when I finally got to the front the receptionist just started tidying the desk and I had to ask for some assistance. Took ages for them to know what they were doing and didn’t seem to have much care. It Takes a lot to annoy me but the service was poor. When we finally were checked in we had to ask if the bar was open 3 times to which they kept saying Yes it is, I’ll call the bar man. 15/20 mins later after us and another guy asking 4 times altogether the bar man came. We got our drinks and were told there was no change, which is fine but when he brought it out he gave it to the wrong person. Then we got to the room we had no hot water. It was fixed but it’s not the point. If it was a really cheap hotel I’d expect this but it isn’t mega cheap to stay in and It put us in a bad mood for the start of the holiday. I personally wouldn’t go back to this hotel. I get that Eveyone has off days but it was one thing after another and there was no customer service at all.

    The room was pleasant enough but it Wasn’t what it looked like on the website. The location is good as about a 20 mins walk to the beach.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 23, 2018

    5.8
    Wouldn’t come back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Slow check in, slow at the bar, prices at the bar.

    Cooked breakfast good. Youghurt very runny fruit not nice. Not enough plates or bread. Croissant s very good. Bed comfy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 22, 2018

    8.3
    We loved the room but felt let down by gross overcharging in the restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The over-priced coffee. Photos in our room showed there was no real food on offer only highly coloured American junk. Hot dogs are not food they are mainly water, fat and chemicals.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 20, 2018

    7.1
    Location was good. Wouldn’t stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hairdryer in the room didn’t work. Breakfast was lukewarm and the plates cold and coffee very strong. Also it was not made clear that when we booked there was a £10 per day to park the car.

    The location and the room was good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 19, 2018

    7.5
    Good hotel spoilt by the hotel having rented out the car park to a third party parking company
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel Car Park has been rented out to Parking Eye who charge for parking. Parking in hotel car park just whilst checking in at reception is a problem even if take car out for the remainder of stay. No hot water in the morning for bath/shower. No lift service to some rooms

    Well located hotel, room was clean and tidy.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 18, 2018

    6.7
    Good location and staff, but stay marred by poor layout of bathroom. Not acceptable at £160 per room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room 1016 is smaller than other side seaview rooms, and the bathroom has restricted access ( door fill not open fully). Also impossible to sit comfortably on the toilet as toilet rolls holder sticks in your ribs completely impractical layout!

    Beds comfortable and breakfast fine

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 16, 2018

    7.1
    For what I needed my stay was adequate.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lamp in room broken and toilet roll holder needed fixing. Room very clean otherwise. No catch up on tv. Radiator in bathroom was absolutely scalding and there was no way of turning it down. Would have liked a sea view room, did ask at time of booking, was happy to pay extra.

    Position of hotel. Breakfast was very nice and the waiters & waitresses were very helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 15, 2018

    4.6
    Don’t want to come back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room and hotel were dated, stains on bathroom floor and ceiling, bed massively uncomfortable. Also disappointing was the parking charge. The breakfast was disappointing with very few choices and definitely not worth the money.

    Staff were lovely and friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 12, 2018

    6.3
    Adequate but overall, generally a disappointing stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    On arrival at the hotel, we were greeted by a rather bland, indifferent receptionist. She seemed very keen for me to pay the booking costs in advance, which was noticeably in excess of what I had booked and agreed with Booking.com. It took her a lengthy call to Hallmark headoffice to confirm their charges were incorrect. Although I booked one of the large double room with seaview and balcony, the room we were given was definitely one of their smallest versions on the first floor with a minute balcony. I tried to reserve a table for dinner to be told that the restaurant was closed and we would have to use the restaurant of the partner hotel next door. This we did but although the neighbouring Hallmark hotel was of a higher standard, the meal and service was not wonderful.

    The super king bed was exceptionally comfortable. The buffet breakfast was of a good standard.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 12, 2018

    5.8
    Mediocre
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bathroom was very dirty with hair all over and in a bad state, broken tiles, rust, cracks, etc. It was not cleaned even after we called and housekeeping came it was not cleaned properly. I had called prior to inform we had a severely disabled guest and If the hotel could accommodate which they did. I was upset to find out on the first day the restaurant was in the hotel next door and it was fully booked for customers who had prepaid for dinner which is something I wasn't informed about. We had to get a taxi to a restaurant as we did not have a wheelchair with us. We booked two nights and after the cleaners had been in they had not replaced the towels they took in our room or the bottle water/tea or coffee! It's sad as I have stayed with hallmark many times before in other locations and been happy hence why I booked the one In Bournemouth. I feel I didn't get value for the money I paid for.

    The hotel was in a great location The bed was very comfortable

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 10, 2018

    10
    Amazing can’t say any more then that
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I loved everything but a spa bath would have made it even better

    We had an amazing time room was bigger then expected and beautiful staff where amazing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 7, 2018

    6.7
    Room reasonably comfortable, house staff friendly and helpful. Restaurant very poor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My wife (needs gluten free) asked for tomato juice no Worcestor Sauce - served bottled juice inc sauce containing barley. Waiter didn't understand why my wife couldn't drink it. My main course missing ingredient. Staff denied it was shown on menu. Ordered fruit salad with ice cream for me and lactose free sorbet for my wife-both came with ice cream. Waiter clearly didn't understand difference between ice cream and sorbet. Appalling!

    Bed was comfortable

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 7, 2018

    7.1
    I likes the location and it’s seaview
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    At around 2am there was a loud noise that sounded like the road was been dug up and it kept going through the night very loudly

    I likes the location and it’s seaview

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 5, 2018

    7.9
    was a really nice relaxing holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    the balcony is,nt separated or private and sort of shared by the room next door

    the tv was pretty large ,someone came in every morning and spring cleaned the room and the bed was made really well everyday !!! loads of resturants close by bit of a walk to get to beach but sandy beach all around and view of the sea from balcony breath taking and you can just about see i.o.w

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: