Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Eastwood Hall 4 stars

Mansfield Road, Nottingham, Eastwood, NG16 3SS, United Kingdom

#1 of 1 hotels in Eastwood

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1201 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    6.3
    Good location for motorway.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A double bed is not two single beds pushed together. Mattress topper lumpy. WiFi connection poor so not great if travelling on business. Carpet tatty and poor attention to detail with cleaning (dusty skirting boards etc.) Dining room a real mess when I arrived for breakfast - only one member of staff visible so dirty plates everywhere and things not replenished. Fresh fruit salad was on the turn, lumpy porridge and relatively average/poor continental selection for the price.

    Good location for motorway. Pool and leisure facilities an added bonus for the price. Room temperature good (cool) and dark.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    8.8
    Great experience and hope to return especially during the summer period so that we could walk ground
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom, water dripping on the floor from the shower

    The bed was very comfortable, staff hospitality and care in the bar area was excellent, and the breakfast superb

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    9.2
    Enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms tv remote didn’t work. (Reported but not fixed by the time we left.

    The restaurant staff were very good with gluten free options. All staff we’re very friendly and approachable.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    6.7
    A bed for the night that was comfortable, otherwise disappointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The outdoor approach to the reception is somewhat uninspiring, passing barely disguised ex-NCB offices, together with austere barriers arriving at a rather unwelcoming sign warning patrons to park their car and register before fetching bags etc! The car park bays were also narrow. The major criticism must be left for the meagre tea and coffee making facilities, where five out of six milk packs were months beyond their use by date - and solid! An apology and rapid replacement was made, but it should never have happened.

    The staff were friendly and accommodating. We needed some extra pillows and these were immediately sourced. The rooms and corridors were clean and well-kept.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    5.4
    Could be so much better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rigour in cleaning room. Room NOT dealt with at all on one day. Compensation provided. Ridiculous time limit of 9am on weekdays at breakfast!

    Breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    6.3
    It is set in a lovely park.
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s a tiny room service menu. It was only after taking my order that I was told of a 40-45 minute wait. I decided to cancel the order and go to the restaurant because I was too hungry to wait. On arrival I was given a menu to look at (on request). The Maître D found himself too grand to take an order despite declining the offer to bring the menu with me because I had already decided what I’d like. Instead I had to wait 17mins for my order to be taken by a waiter who was rushed off his feet. That was while watching the Maître D serve couples and groups. Not much team spirit or support for the staff evident there. Are lone female diners unwelcome inconveniences? The mattress topper is quite literally one of the lumpiest surfaces I’ve ever slept on (including camping!!) because of the unevenly distributed wadding. The closest socket to use for the iron meant it was impossible to use the ironing board.

    It is set in a lovely park. The seating is comfortable. The bathroom and public loos were clean. The shower was good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    7.5
    Good business hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room was showing signs of wear and tear with multiple areas of minor damage. Price of food on bar menu is extortionate; £14 for a sandwich with chips!

    Good selection of breakfast items. Placed in a very quiet room away from conference business guests who tend to be noisy

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    5.8
    Bed was comfy and room was warm.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were long dark hairs on the shower wall and in the bath. There was a constant banging noise during the night like a window wasn’t closed somewhere.The room was extremely far from reception. Decor is rather dated the further away from the main areas.The breakfast buffet wasn’t replenished quick enough meaning many items were missing. Breakfast staff were rather rude and offish.

    Bed was comfy and room was warm. Receptionist was friendly.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    10
    lovely
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing really

    I didn't know there was free wifi and to be honest I didn't look , they also took into account that I had a room far away from any hussle and bussle,, because last time it was very loud

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    6.3
    A conference / wedding venue where the emphasis is on modest cost rather than good food and service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The signage from the accommodation block was quite poor, sometimes following the signs to reception lead outside and then to a locked door to gain re-entry. Then had to walk back to accommodation block's entrance - further away than had started. Restaurant was a bit of a shambles, there were only 5 bread rolls left at dinner for our table of 6. Another batch was cooked but other new arrivals to the restaurant were served the 'new' batch before our 6th and last one was remembered. Food itself was only OK. This lack of expertise and service was again demonstrated at breakfast where there was no marmalade left. A suggestion that someone be sent to the nearby Supermarket to buy some was treated with disdain. Delay in getting through the car park exit barrier as contractors didn't know the process.

    The room was a comfortable 4* ish standard room with no distinguishing features. Extensive grounds that seemed well looked after. Ample parking.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    3.3
    Would not recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor, booked for our wedding night, bathroom was dirty. Breakfast was awful, hardly any food left. when we asked if more food was coming the girl snapped at us, she had a very bad attitude. We would not recommend anyone to stay here.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    2.5
    Very disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was disgusting not worth £16 each at all all came from a tin. The staff were unhappy and the coffee was grose

    The room was basic & too far from all amenities

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    6.7
    Lovely building and adequate room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room are quite small even though I was in a superior double.

    The pool was great but only open until 7.30pm. Staff were all very helpful and friendly. Parking on site is easy and secure.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    5.0
    Expensive for what you got and disappointing
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was dirty. The coffee cups were left from previous guests, the lamp shade on the light on the desk was really dirty and had splatter from something, the bath tub really needed some bleach.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    7.5
    Cheap and convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The catering was not to the standard of the hotel.We found bloodstains on one of our pillows.The bar staff appeared to have no control or interest in a number of young children who,despite being accompanied by adults,were allowed to rampage around the bar area at ten o'clock in the evening to the annoyance of other guests.The food in the restaurant was overcooked and breakfast was cold.

    The location and setting is superb.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    7.1
    Not an exciting stay this time around
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I regularly stay at Eastwood and the rooms we’ve occupied in the past were top notch but this time around the twin room 135 looked as though it was undergoing renovations the walls were bare and scruffy the hot tap was broken and kept falling, Sunday’s breakfast ran out. Hopefully next time it will be better as I really like the hotel

    I love the relaxed country club atmosphere at Eastwood and it’s always my hotel of choice when in Nottingham

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    7.1
    A good one-night stay at a reasonable cost
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The radiator in our room seemed to gurgle for a while even though it was switched off - it stopped fairly soon though.

    We spent just one night at Eastwood Hall, and found it perfectly satisfactory. There was a little confusion over our room at arrival but this was resolved fairly quickly. It is a large modern hotel and conference centre, and, because of this, our room was some distance from Reception. Parking facilities are quite extensive. The room was quite large and the bed was large and comfortable. The breakfast was good (one thought - it would be possible to get a free breakfast at Eastwood Hall, as no-one checked that we were staying there before we collected our breakfast items!). Overall, a good overnighter - not cheap but an acceptable price.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    5.0
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dust , on the headboard , lamps , mirror , tv , skirting boards , and two long hairs on the desk , and two cobwebs on the door to the wardrobe . And we didn’t like how there was two single matteresses pushed together and a topper put on top , marks on the matteress no protector on it , no sleep , it was the first time we had a superior room , it was disappointing , prior to this last stay , I used to enjoy staying at Eastwood .

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    8.8
    superb
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing relly good location lovely location and friendly staff. Only problem was my 90 year old father could not get into the shower

    Breakfast was excellent and the beds were clean and comfy.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    7.1
    Lots of space.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sometimes staff weren’t as available as they could have been e.g. no one at the bar for about 10 mins, needed to go to reception to ask for someone. Seemed to be the same staff working extremely hard. Maybe not enough staff? Shame we couldn’t all be in a room together (we were a family of 4). Children’s very limited access to the pool.

    Lots of space. Very clean throughout. Lots of facilities.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    7.5
    The location is beautiful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only access to the rooms is through the bar and walking through people's wedding celebrations with all your luggage is not nice or easy when there is two big weddings on

    The location is beautiful

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    7.9
    Pleasant enough.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good as glass was found in buffet meal and breakfast buffet was cold on one day as the food heaters had not been turned on

    Grounds and facilities Location near motorway.decent size rooms. Good value for money.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    8.8
    Apart from the wedding fracas, a lovely hotel and good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were 2 weddings going on and the children were allowed to run through the bar area screaming, so much so that we had to move right down the corridor with our drinks to be able to have a conversation. We weren't the only ones that found this. The pool table was also being used by the wedding guests with one adult bouncing a pool ball on it to amuse the children. Not good for the slate!!

    The setting and grounds were lovely, and we were very comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    8.3
    Lovely location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception was under staffed and we waited 20 mins to check in It was intimidating as there were 2 very large weddings in progress at the weekend Reception again understaffed as there was no one available to check us out

    The actual room was fabulous clean and airy it was quiet way from the 2 wedding receptions

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    4.2
    The buildings location was quiet and secluded and very nice.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was not correctly cleaned, this was disappointing. The weather was warm and with the absence of Air-conditioning (its a lovely old building of course) Fans were not placed in the room. The breakfast was dreadful! Cold food, food that was not cooked correctly, it was exceptionally disappointing especially as the cost was very high for a simple breakfast offering.

    The buildings location was quiet and secluded and very nice. The Environment of the village was very good and easy access to local facilities if required.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    9.6
    Excellent relaxing short break. Never bored
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One male who was in the restaurant and reception was quite abrupt when dealing with one customer.

    Value for money. Great location for exploring. Fab pool and sauna, spa pool, all of which were really clean. Our room was kept immaculate by housekeeping. Very friendly lady. Majority of staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    8.8
    Lovely place to stay, make sure you have read what is included, don't rely on staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only down sides were how spread out the rooms are, quite a walk from the reception area and the fact that we were informed that breakfast was included and they then tried to charge £20 a head for breakfasts although we had specifically asked the same member of staff at check in if it was included.

    Very clean, very friendly, beautiful room (very standard layout but well maintained). The grounds are very spacious and well cared for. The function room was well prepared and laid out. All in all a very positive experience.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    6.7
    Okay as a one nighter but would think twice about a longer stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very long walk to room. Wine waiter had no idea about wines - ended up with beer. Took time to find our booking on arrival.

    Comfortable room. Enjoyable food

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    5.0
    So much potential, yet not realised on my this occasion....
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had to be moved to 3 different rooms. as first room had leaking shower. 2nd was not cleaned. this fact did not seem to phase any of the staff, who seemed to accept this as a norm...? I felt more like I was an annoyance than a paying guest..

    Beautiful hotel and good location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    8.3
    Actual setting of it all and grounds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a wedding so it seemed the hotel geared up around this large party and not so much other guests. Also when asking if they could check cctv as item stolen was told no one avalable till the Monday after we left.

    Actual setting of it all and grounds.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    7.5
    room very nice and great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Upon arriving our booking was not on their system which was a little embarrassing as it was our wedding anniversary, but we got upgraded free of charge. Their was wedding on so queuing a very long time at bar as they were obviously understaffed and not prepared for the amount of guests that were attending.Apart from that, lovely place to stay.Felt sorry for bar staff, worked so hard aswell.

    room very nice and great location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    8.3
    A pleasant stay that probably exceeded expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The small ironing boards didn't work but happy to say staff provided a full size one and steam iron on request. Having to share the bar with rowdy wedding parties could have been unfortunate but we chose to head off site - a smaller bar away from wedding parties may be a useful and pleasant addition.

    We booked four rooms to stay together as a family and used the pool and associated facilities, which were good and met our needs for one night. Even with two weddings on site we were not disturbed outside the room until 9am and breakfast was hot and had vegan sausages on request!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    7.5
    A pleasant stay with nice town and country walking opportunties and close to DH Lawrence attractions
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is a building site at the rear (I understand from a couple of locals that it is to be a large Amazon distribution centre) which was quite intrusive at times with noise. The breakfast was OK but much better the second day than the first (not sure if there was a change of chef). Hotel seemed quite geared towards corporate clientele and the lovely Old Hall didn't really feature at all.

    Friendly staff and reasonably clean and spacious common areas. It was easy to walk into Eastwood and an excellent bus service into and around Nottingham.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    5.8
    Best avoided.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Almost everything, especially the "meal in a can" food in the restaurant.

    Apart from the natural beauty of the surroundings, candidly the place is just a below average functional commercial traveller's stopover. Everything about it was uninspired and uninspiring. The fact that it is D.H. Lawrence's birthplace ought to be reason enough to make it outstanding. Obviously the operators are illiterate.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    9.2
    Brilliant location Facilities and staff Rooms spacious and the lesuire centre was first class
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was construction work going on beyond the grounds which caused a mighty constant thidding noise each morning from 8am but this was no fault of the Hotel

    Excellent location resulting in me staying a further night which the staff were happy to arrange and honour the rate I paid initially

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    9.6
    A nice hotel which was also near various amenities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The menu could be a bit more extensive, but the food sampled was very nice. Although there was a pool, it would have been nice to see an activities sheet as there was an aquafit class in progress that we were unaware of.

    There was a nice large car park and the room was comfortable. It was also nice to see the cattle along the driveway.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    5.4
    Adequate but overpriced.
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Meal was average, wait staff initially pleasant but inattentive due to a large event happening in the hotel that evening. Customer service from the waiter assigned to our table was very poor. When our Avocado starter arrived it had no avocado on it. We could not get service from our designated waiter - he was totally taken up by a large party of other guests. We eventually managed to bring the matter to another waiter's attention - who was courteous and told us he would advise the chef. When we requested the bill, we at last met our designated waiter - once again (!). He had charged us for the missing starter and curtly told us the cost would be deducted from the bill. And that was that I'm afraid - so if you visit the hotel check your meal has all its parts!

    Reception desk staff were helpful and friendly, as were the leisure centre staff. The room was reasonably clean - desk in particular had old stains as did window. Simple wipe down with cleaning agent and a cloth would have sorted it easily and quickly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    3.3
    Don’t bother
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room miles away from reception and facilities, phone in room-the direct dial number for restaurant just rings out, called reception who advised the number is wrongly programmed, was then put through and only ordered one main course which took over and hour to arrive, food not covered and food was cold.

    Good location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    8.3
    Very friendly staff and overall a pretty nice place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The size of the double bed was really small. This didn’t make for a particularly comfortable night. Everything else was good though.

    Very friendly staff and overall a pretty nice place. More suited for conferences and business than for a romantic getaway.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    8.8
    Cosy and convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I know it' can't be helped but the constant thumping of building being erected at the back of your hotel

    Stayed there a couple of times now and found it very friendly

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    9.2
    Lovely parkland setting, everything was very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant seemed to be short staffed, rather chaotic. Meal took 3/4 hour to arrive. We had someone else’s wine on our bill but soon put right.

    Lovely parkland setting, everything was very clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.2
    Brian & Elaines stop over
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only 1 criticism is that breakfast closed at 09.00 which is too early when on Holiday.

    Leisure facilities. Hotel was very good indeed. Food very good staff 1st class

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    3.8
    nothing
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The photo of the hotel is not a true representation of the building, it is not an old mansion house it is “new building” that rambles on and on and on. I was in room 171 it took several minutes to walk through the maze of corridors to get to my room. And when I got there what a shock. Dark dismal, sparsely decorated, walls dirty with scuff marks, the bed was the worse bed I have ever slept in, if you like extremely soft mattress with foam crumb pillows you will love this! The couple in the next room partied all night and had the tv blasting three times I had to call down to reception to sort it out, the night porter came to their room at 1.30am 2.10am and 3.40am they took no notice so I had absolutely zero sleep. Food was not good, I ordered tuna melt through room service. It arrived cold on a wooden board which I find extremely unhealthy. So could not eat it. However despite the hotel being the worse ever. The staff are friendly welcoming and professional. Note to owners, drag the rooms out of the 70’s and put true to life photos on your website

    nothing

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    5.0
    There was no fans for the room i only got a fan when i said ...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no fans for the room i only got a fan when i said i was leaving and the second day they asked for there money when i was staying for 3 nights

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    6.7
    Found that some of the staff were offhand and did not...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Found that some of the staff were offhand and did not respond to requests, for example, to see the restaurant menu. Hotel picture gives a misleading impression of the facilities and accommodation.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    9.6
    Nice place that's well worth a visit
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was all good.

    An all round excellent hotel in a lovely setting. I tried to book in for a second night, but they were full - unfortunately, as I had a nightmare experience at a nearby chain.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    8.8
    Nice quiet setting.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some aspects of the hotel a bit run down and in need of refurbishment. Large rust patch on side of bath hidden by bath mat.

    Nice quiet setting. Easy parking.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    5.8
    Good rate but they must make up for it in food and beverages
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was terrible, great selection but the self service buffet was "warm" at best and some items cold. The bar food options were limited and the cod goujon sandwich and fries were a kids portion. 2 tiny cod goujons with very little cod in them! The bar was very very expensive. So a decent rate but bar bill makes up for that. The food was terrible

    Room and facilities were nice

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    7.1
    Very comfortable solo traveller
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel more geared up for business , conferences or functions. Monday morning I waited ages to be seated for breakfast and once seated.... was never spoken.to again. Anyone not used to buffet style breakfast would have felt quite uncomfortable. No staff around at bar area until a group of conference / business people arrived . Individuals not easily accommodated by some staff. Long walk to bedroom from reception and no one around much at ask . I guess bedrooms nearer to reception are reserved for group reservations. Pool and leisure areas very nice but are open to non residents so can be busy at times. Food quite expensive and does look overpriced for what is offered Hot Breakfast items werent very hot but I did mention it but nothing seemed to be done. 2nd morning was much better.

    Beautiful grounds , lovely outside patio and seating areas..Plenty of seating areas in corridors . Pool , sauna and steam room lovely. Pool lovely temperature and size but not many loungers around it. It was very quiet for my stay but guess it can get busy as it is open to public for leisure activities. No individual changes rooms but all areas clean and well kept. Good choice for buffet breakfast, good variety and restaurent very comfortable and pleasant. 2nd morning and male staff attendent at breakfast was very friendly , and informative. Paid good attention to needs. A lovely hotel in beautiful setting and lovely relaxing 2 day break to recharge my batteries.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    5.8
    Eastwood hall is more of a function facility than hotel accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The initial online photos are totally misleading and the booking staff lack any personality they also aren’t to forthcoming in proper decent instructions on were the bedrooms or breakfast room was. the bedrooms are located at the rear of this huge facility construction works are in progress next door with a “ PILE DRIVER” in operation from 8 am until 6 pm unable to understand why we were in a rear room when apparently the hotel had few guests breakfast was a buffet style and not appetising staff were clearing up while guests still eating Booking . Com

    Bedroom was good size and good facilities except for the older tv

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    7.5
    Good breakfast, good price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower cubicle as per my request.

    I asked for shower cubicle due to disability and i was given disabled bathroom with bath - which i could never have accessed and low sink for wheelchair user. I was unable to shower!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    10
    Loved it.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything about this hotel is amazing. Stayed alone for work lots and with partner. Best hotel I Have ever stayed in. Restaurant is 1st class and leisure facilities amazing. Food is excellent and staff too. Would highly recommend. 2 waiters stood out for me Andrew and Matt. SO professional and brilliant attention to details. But all waiting staff are amazing and Reception and house keeping. Nothing is too much trouble.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    9.2
    Enjoyed staying here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the steam room was out of order and the pool got extremely crowded around 4pm onwards

    Enjoyed staying here.... breakfast was lovely. Room was standard...

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    6.7
    Nice location.
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely location , average accommodation on par with the likes of Travelodge. Don't be fooled by the grand hall , you won't be stopping in that you'll be stopping in another building round the back . Children only allowed to swim at certain times at weekend and not at all in the week .

    Nice location. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    5.4
    Eastwood hall
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was to small .there was not a good choice of food .and the hotel could do with a good makeover.

    IT was lovely and quiet with buityfull garden's and the staff where great.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    6.3
    Not quite what we were expecting but on the whole a pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was more like a conference centre.

    Nice venue set in grounds of old hall, was just a bit to business like ( many conference rooms) would have been nice to have used more of the hall for the hotel. Very good breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    5.4
    You get what you pay for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booking for 2 people. No towels in room, 1 sachet of coffee in the room. Mound in bathroom. Very loud wedding on in the hotel, seemed to be staffs only focus.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    8.3
    Lovely location in beautiful private grounds
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a 2 course evening bar meal on the outside terrace, which although was nice, we thought was a little overpriced for what it was.

    Lovely location surrounded by beautiful grounds including a herd of long horned cattle! Room was comfortable with a powerful hot shower, staff were polite and attentive and the self service breakfast was a welcome start to the day.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    8.3
    Excellent Location, lovely grounds, relaxing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant was very busy and found the closeness of the next table a little bit intrusive. Table service could be improved with more training, greeting adequate but found we needed to prompt the staff for water/bread, then meal arrived almost immediately despite been the last reservation of the evening service at 9pm. Food was very good but did expect to be offered the 'bar menu' options along side the specials menu. Small point, I would rather have my accompanying dressing/sauces to be in pots not Expresso cups but that's just a personal choice. Hotel may benefit from a 'Guests quiet room' along side the Bar area as this is predominately used by Wedding Guests on a weekend and you feel like you are intruding on their big day.

    The hotel is in an excellent location and the grounds are very pleasant to walk round. On site Gym facilities & pool are readily available even if a bit busy on a Saturday morning. Rooms very clean and everything you need for a pleasant weekend stay. Early check in an unexpected bonus (on arrival)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    7.5
    Very relaxing, quiet and tasty breakfast.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Evening meal in restaurant was very expensive for what we got. Eg. a small chocolate brownie and half an eggcup of ice cream was 6 pounds.

    Breakfast was well presented and tasty. Lots of choice

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    5.8
    Nice surroundings
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tv only 10 channels and poor quality Room a bit dated Bed too soft No shampoo and conditioner A long way from reception to room Missleading building Photos

    Nice surroundings

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.5
    Great surroundings, OK accomodation, Poor restaurant experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They are selling £7 bottles of wine for £25 and it is a very bad wine. The overall restaurant experience would have been OK if it wasn't for the wine. The furniture in the room is a bit dated, but overall it was clean and cozy.

    Very spacious room, amazing gardens and surroundings.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable, luxurious in beautiful surroundings and outstanding facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cannot really fault anything after both stays

    This is the second time we've stayed and we will be booking eastwood again! The staff are always so polite and helpful and the facilities are out of this world , the rooms are immaculate and so comfortable a really lovely experience .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    7.1
    Not as described...but a nice place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing on the websots to say 14 and 16 year olds couldnt use the pool whenever they wanted. Room service woke me up at 8.30am! Not impressed at all.

    Spacious

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.2
    Lovely park-like grounds, friendly staff and comfortable with good amenities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The young staffer placing us at the restaurant was so helpful. He realised that the menu didn't offer us what we were after by what we ordered, so found us a bar menu and we were able to order something there that we liked. After that he looked after us very well. That lad will go far!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    7.1
    other than that I will be looking at staying somewhere else as I paid nearly 60,, not worth that mu
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the functions that where on at the night was really loud.. had to ring reception to ask the to turn it down,, lucky I was further away,, but apparently I wasn't the only one to complain,, it finished at 1 in the morning so if you do get a room make sure its away from the function rooms,, I love musice but that was just bass

    the room was clean,,the gym catered for a good work out,, pool was a lovely size for good swim and sauna was lovely,,,

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    5.8
    Noisy and expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room booked not as shown with bath and suite. Superior room booked basic travel lodge type room. Hotel catered more for wedding guests and murder mystry weekend guests. Very poor evening meal totally bland and little choice wouldnt recommend or return.

    Hotel clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    7.1
    Should be a 3* Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overpriced for what you got, advertised as a superior double with a bath which i was expecting to be large due to the advertisement yet it was tiny. Plates at breakfast were dirty.

    The old hall building at the entrance was nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    7.1
    All I needed for a 1 night business stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Its a maze to get to & from the bedrooms......I had to assist an older lady who was in fast "lost" & could get back to reception

    The bed was extremely comfortable & the blackout curtains ensured a sound nights sleep. The breakfast, although a buffet style, was hot & fresh.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    9.2
    Very pleasant
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked a twin room but got a double which was a bit disappointing. Didn’t like the pump dispenser for soap. It’s much nicer to have a small bar of soap and a small shampoo and conditioner. They don’t cost that much guys.

    Very Friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.2
    Very nice hotel in an excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff numbers could have been better. Bar staff kept disappearing. It took 45 minutes to get a dessert after reminding the staff twice.

    Very nice hotel in an excellent location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.3
    Marvellous staff, so helpful and friendly in all areas of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bring back the proper toiletries in the bedrooms and individually served tea and coffee in the dining room

    Marvellous staff, so helpful and friendly in all areas of the hotel and good facilities. Rooms are comfortable and the grounds are beautiful. Tried the jacuzzi this year, bliss

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.3
    Good location, lovely hotel, just a few minor details that would have made this a 10/10 stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some of the pillows were a little lumpy, maybe they just need to be replaced. There was no full length mirror in the bedroom, this was disappointing as it was difficult to apply make-up, and get ready for the day, a full length mirror would have made this easier. Also the bathrooms don't automatically come with any shower toiletries, and I realised this too late in the morning to ring down to reception for some as there was a little note in the bathroom to say they could be provided at request. Having these, and perhaps a shower cap already in the bathrooms - would be standard hotel room items, that should be provided automatically, not by request. After a long work day in the meeting rooms, I got room service for dinner & it was ok - I ordered a 'fresh' pizza and to be honest, it wasn't very nice and tasted quite like a frozen pizza so I wouldn't order it again - as I don't think it was worth the money and I only ate half the pizza due to the bad quality/taste.

    Everything was good for my trip, there were just a few minor details I'd have liked to make it a 100% great place to stay for a work trip.. but the overall experience was an 8/10. But the facilities and friendliness of the staff made this a good experience and I would stay here again. I would just like the hotel to take the below issues into consideration as it could be easily made a 10/10 hotel experience.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.5
    Pleasant stay apart from the early rise!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were woke up early by one of the adjoining rooms toilet cistern refilling.. it was really loud! The shower wasn't much more than a dribble really

    The pool and spa facilities were good. The room was clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    8.3
    Excellent hotel/conferencing/spa facility close to...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our waitress at dinner was a bit grumpy and the wait for the excellent food was a bit longer than I'd expect for this class of hotel

    Excellent hotel/conferencing/spa facility close to Nottingham whilst enjoying rural location. Excellent food and breakfast in the on site restaurant. Large neat room with good sized well appointed en-suite bathroom (with bath!) Large comfortable bed . If you don't get a special offer rate it's a bit expensive.

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: