Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Edgar Townhouse

64 Gt Pulteney Street, Bath, BA2 4DN, United Kingdom

#52 of 76 B&Bs and Inns in Bath

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 376 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Large Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No lift and our room was on the forth floor. The room was quite small with a tiny bathroom which was really just a corner of the room sectioned off.

    The breakfast was fine and the service helpful. The hotel is in a good location, close to the centre of everything in Bath.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the stairs

    breakfast was well cooked and tasty , staff were attentive and friendly the parking permit took the stress out of parking the host was helpful and charming

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    nothing all very good

    very warm welcome. Lovely dining room. EXCELLENT BREAKFAST. GREAT varity. always came up lovely and hot. EXCELLENT SERVICE. VERY CLEAN. WONDERFUL choice of foods in the morning. Fresh fruits .Cereals.MILKS. VEGITARIAN. VEGAN. SPECIAL ALLERGIES. They cater for all your needs. DELICIOUS. Compliments to the Chef.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast juice glasses needed replacing as very old and scratched and hence unhygienic. Room 16 was rather small for a couple, with limited storage.

    Pleasant helpful staff, great central location, good selection of made to order breakfast (hot food), prompt service.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was a little disappointed there was no bath, however I appreciate the size and type of property does not allow this.

    Friendly staff, comfortable bed, great location. Breakfast was very good, plenty on offer!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heating in the room became a little stuffy but it was very cold temperatures outside so it was understandable in some ways.

    Staff were super friendly and helpful and breakfast brilliant. The room No 15 had stylish wood panalling and deco touches.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No comments everything was perfect!

    Everthing was great and nice I will come back to this confortable hotel when I come back to Bath again. Thanks so much for your hospitality.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A good sized double room on the 5th floor, it was clean, pleasantly decorated and comfortable. The breakfast was plentiful and of a good standard. Check-in was quick, our bags were stored and then put in our room when it was ready. The young waitress and general helper was very sweet and efficient. Really good value for money and in an excellent location - would definitely stay again!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    You can hear everything way too much, you could hear anyone walking up/down the stairs and it could be a little bit annoying at times.

    I had a problem with the shower in the room I reserved, I liked that the staff was quick to handle it and gave me another room to stay in.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking is in a residents only area with a permit. It can take a while to find a free space. In the morning the smell of breakfast coming up from the kitchen was strong even on the 4th floor. Lots of stairs to climb too.

    It would be hard to better the location and parking was great value. Staff all very helpful and welcoming. Good wifi, nice new bathroom.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to mention.

    Parking is always an issue in Bath. The proprietor even offered to help us with our car if we had trouble finding a spot to park. Our room was a superior on the lower ground floor. It was beautiful. Overlooked the rear garden with lovely big windows. The heating was comfortable, just right. We were offered a key to the property to come and go as we liked, even if we were going to be late. We asked for an extension on our booking out time as we were very tired from a hard week at work. No problem. Gave us a couple of extra hours. Nothing was too much trouble.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Large Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I liked most things about it. Property is not suited for those who have difficulties climbing stairs as this is a period property and their are no lifts.

    The property was perfectly situated for walking around Bath. Very close to centre. Situated in a lovely area. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was very good and substantial.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Large Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only criticism was the pillows, they were not really very comfortable.

    The room was really stylish and well maintained, the bathroom was clean with complimentary shower gel, shampoo & conditioner.. There was plenty of choice at breakfast. The staff were all really friendly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple en-suite with shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, 5 min walk to the centre and Xmas market. Parked outside the hotel and were able to use a permit for £8 (for our whole stay). The staff were really friendly, we came back after our night out and had mince pies in our room - a nice touch. Our breakfast was lovely and service was great. Beds were really comfortable and had a great nights sleep. Considering the hotel was so near to the centre I thought it was really good value for money and will be coming back next year!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My room was on the very top floor with no lift (72 steps) - fair enough for an old building but I would never have been able to get my suitcase up there without help and it was a tough climb even for me as a young adult in good health. Room was small, had nasty rough matting instead of a real carpet, and was incredibly hot and stuffy even with the radiator turned off - had to have the window open all the time even in winter. Lighting in the room was very dim and the bed was quite hard and uncomfortable. It was also very difficult to find an available on-street parking space in the correct permit zone anywhere near the house. Overall, not a bad place to stay but wouldn't come back - you're paying a premium for the prestigious location and frankly I would have expected better for that amount of money.

    Location was fantastic, staff were friendly and helpful, breakfast was very tasty, en suite shower very clean and worked well.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not very good sound insulation so noise from people walking overhead. At night too much light enters room from corridor, around bedroom door.

    Very comfy bed in superior double room.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only an hour and half window for breakfast (8-9.30am), no lift - we were on 5th floor, early check out - 10am

    Comfort, convenience, location, staff serving breakfast water excellent, friendly and very efficient

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing well except parking but I got a space within ten minutes and about 5 mins walk from hotel.

    Everything location Staff Lovely double room in the basement was warm cost and spacious

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our radiator needed bleeding but staff attended to it immediately so I have no complaints.

    Cleanliness outstanding. Breakfast outstanding with lots of options. Staff extremely helpful. Cannot fault this bed and breakfast at all.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a bit mean to restrict access to the sitting room. I like to sit and read in the evening whereas my husband likes total darkness. No sitting room meant i sat on the stairs to read. It felt unwelcoming.

    Beautiful town house, immaculate and efficiently run. What a great location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Large Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When travelling with a heavy suitcase [23kgs] a room on the top floor with no lift can be daunting. Thank-you to staff who placed our bags in our room on arrival BUT lifting them down the following day was another matter.

    Great location when staying in Bath. 5 min walk to all sites.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Single glazed windows which meant it was cold and noisey as we overlooked the front. The room was a bit tatty and dusty, could do with a repaint and a good dust.

    Great breakfast options. Perfect location and parking permit was a great benefit. The hotel provided a discount card for attractions and restaurants.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple en-suite with shower
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thought what we’d paid for was off-site parking. It was fend for yourself to find a spot on the street parking which proved challenging, and it’s not “in-season”.

    Good location...only a short walk to the centre of Bath. Room was very nice. Staff nice and helpful.Breakfast was excellent...able to order from menu.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have been nice for the price if vegetarian sausages were offered. I don't particularly like eating potatoes for breakfast. Rooms very small but real issue was not very comfy mattress.

    Staff were lovely. Very clean. Looked stylish.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cramped breakfast room. Furniture crockery and cutlery not in keeping with the prestigious feel of the building

    The personnel, the bed, the location, the quality of the building

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Large Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were a little cot-like though linens good. Very noisy neighbours and nobody to call to address the problem as office closed

    Breakfast was excellent as was location. Bathroom was very clean. Nice towels

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    like many of these guest houses in England it was multi floored with no elevator. if you are a senior with luggage or a disability you need to request the lower floor, or help with the luggage. if not a senior - no worries!

    Breakfast menu excellent - with lots of choice and fresh fruit. a nice selection of organic teas and coffee in our room, plus 2 bottles of water as well. very nice decor in the room and lovely modern bathroom. staff very helpful and pleasant. just two blocks from the centre and shops.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A lift would have been wonderful but this is an old town house whose layout would be seriously threatened by having a lift installed. So many people pay good money to attend gym sessions - better option here! Otherwise ask for a lower floor.

    The bed was large and the facilities well arranged. This is not a "luxury" hotel but offers all the significant comforts and a first class breakfast. Stylish, unfussy decor. Quiet throughout I think

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple en-suite with shower
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing was the breakfast times as it was a weekend we stayed and usually the times are extended a bit later.

    Good location, room was comfortable and staff very friendly and helpful. Good choice on the menu for breakfast as I am vegetarian. Staff would go out of their way for any requests we made and not rush you out.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny thing.... TV was hanging off the wall in my room

    Excellent location; helpful and pleasant staff, tasteful decor for the building given its architectural merits

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This property is not suitable for family as it is not equipped with a lift (so I have to lift heavy baggages on the stairs by hand) and there is no private car park facilities available (you need to find a space and park on street). The room is big but it falls into disrepair (there was water dripping from the ceiling). The toilet is small and I find mould on the toilet papers. The place is dusty as well.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only negative was the shower didn't drain on my first night but the staff promptly fixed it the next day.

    I loved staying at Edgar Townhouse, the room had a great view, very central, included breakfast was delicious and all for a reasonable price. The staff were really nice as well. Will be going back!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple en-suite with shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift had to carry suitcase down and up three flights of stairs. Bedroom in the basement a little cold. It was a hassle parking and we got charged for street parking by hotel. The cost of the room was £400 for two nights.

    location and breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This Guesthouse was a joy to stay in ,so clean, lovely helpful Staff , fantastic breakfast this is how all hotels/guesthouses should be run .The location is great to .I also apreciated the warning to all Guests to respect others and keep the noise to a minimum . If you want someone to stay in Bath book here you won't be disappointed .

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Quadruple family room hadn't been updated to same modern contemporary level as all the other bedrooms yet the price ppn didn't really reflect this. Despite being bright & roomy with a pleasant view we felt that the room was slightly shabby & battered. The cleanliness needed some improvement esp the bathroom. The shower handle was missing, making it difficult to operate shower. There were no spare pillows or ironing facilities in the room as stated. There was a very shabby, wobbly dressing table stool. Disappointingly your main photo gallery didn't show a hint of this 'tired' quad room. I only saw the photos of the actual room after I'd made the booking which was by then non cancelable!!

    Location,convenient & quiet.Pleasant external appearance, lovely flower window boxes General hotel service, friendly staff, Good breakfast. Easy on-street parking despite costing £8 for our 2 stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was a bit nervous of the emergency evacuation from a 5 th floor building, which was 73 steps back down to the main entrance we came in! I had to consciously put it out of my mind !

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Large Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing comes to mind

    Excellent location, easy to leave car and short walk to all attractions. Staff very pleasant and helpful. Excellent breakfast choices and issued with own key for entry later in evenings.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is not a big selection of breakfast for people who don't like to have cooked breakfast. I think they could add at least croissants to the menu. Also there are a lot of stairs to climb to get to your bedroom if you stay at the last floor but that's normal for the type of period house that it is and you can count it as your work out of the day.

    Overall it is a great place to stay when visiting Bath. It's quite central, the staff is friendly and the property is clean and is decorated in good taste. The bed was comfortable, and they offer a selection of teas, coffee and hot chocolate in the bedroom. I enjoyed it and if I come back to Bath I'll definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple en-suite with shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shame about being way down in the basement with on views. Room price more than I wanted to pay for the basement. However it did suit our needs.

    Great location, very clean and comfortable. Good breakfast. We traveled with our 20 year old son for our daughters graduation. They added a put up bed in our room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property was fine but one set of residents seemed not to understand that most people do not appreciate being woken at 4 & 5 am with their noise & bringing non residents in to the hotel. The property could benefit from a night porter.

    The property was well located, clean & comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was a bit creaky & the mug in the room had a slow leak?!

    Kind & helpful staff & the offer of gluten-free bread! Perfect location for a solo visitor.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple en-suite with shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift. Glad we only had one floor down to take luggage.

    The room was comfortable and CLEAN. The breakfast was very tasty, we were able to choose from a menu, so we each ordered our own favorites.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no lift- but this didn't pose a problem for us and staff were ready and able to help.

    Located in the middle of Georgian Bath in a historic building, within easy walking distance of the city centre. Very clean, rooms were spacious and had everything needed. There was a ceiling fan that was brilliant in the hot spell when we stayed. The breakfasts were excellent- great choice of food and well prepared. Staff helpful and very friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The Room was very compact. There was no air conditioning, therefore the Room was quite warm. We did manage to get a Fan though. The view from the window was straight into a wall, so no view at all. Also the room was at the top of the building, with no lift, which we were warned of, but the staircase is quite narrow, so a bit of an effort getting the Luggage up and down.

    They had a Brilliant Breakfast Menu, and the Staff were more than helpful. Also the Location is a 2 min walk from Town centre.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift.

    We were hesitant when we first arrived. Weather very hot and no air con as 17th century building. We were down stairs and it was way cooler. Room recently refurbished great bathroom. Staff very helpful and free breakfast which was outstanding. Didn't need to eat for remainder of the day. Would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room was on the top floor with 73 stairs up to it which was far too many - perhaps if we had requested a lower floor when booking we may have been okay. Room was a little on the small side, but being that high up on 5th floor you would expect amazing views across Bath but unfortunately there was no view as a brick balustrade was blocking the view so wasn't impressed with that however the room was very clean and comfortable, bathroom was more than adequate. Could have done with a fan or air conditioning in room as was stifling hot so very poor nights sleep

    Excellent location, excellent breakfast with loads of choice, impressed with the daily change of white fluffy towels.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Glad we booked for a second floor room as more steps could have been hard for us with our luggage

    The convenience of the situation. The parking arrangements.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can't think of anything relative to the property/facilities.

    An excellent location, less than a 5 minute stroll into town. On street parking available subject to a parking permit, which is available from reception at an additional cost of £8.00. There was a good choice at breakfast and the food was of a good standard. The room was comfortable and included a fixed ceiling fan, which was most welcome given the very hot weather. Bathroom facilities were good (room 17) and included a walk in double shower and toiletries. No view as this was a lower ground floor room overlooking gardens but very quiet and it didn't bother us. Overall a very enjoyable stay.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I could have been in better shape for the stairs! NO COMPLAINTS WHATSOEVER!

    Great location with easy waling distance to all sites. Parking on street pretty accessible if you get up a little early--they gave us early warning about a street festival that would affect us on the first day and suggested alternatives. Enormous breakfast with GREAT eggs and bacon. Super bed. Hot shower. Website said we could be on the 5th floor and we were--not for the faint of heart, but by the end of our 3 days there we were climbing pretty well. Lots of help with sights. Superb communication

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple en-suite with shower
    • Stayed 3 nights

    That the lounge area was only open to 9pm. 10pm would have been far more reasonable.

    The location was very convenient to eateries, transport and city centre. Breakfast choices were excellent.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi in our rooms was pretty weak &other sizr of our bedroom was quite small.

    The location was perfect and , the facilities & the staff were excellent. We were able to walk to everything ,& our car was parked nearby. The modern rooms were very tasteful. Plus a good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower was nice but tiny, I'm a very small person and even I was banging my elbows on the walls! The room was fine but fairly basic; for the price of the rooms I would have expected a little more. There are a LOT of stairs in this hotel (4 flights to get to the middle floor) and no lift, so isn't ideal for anyone who struggles with stairs. Nothing wrong that would stop me staying again, but nothing that would make me rave about the place either.

    Location was great, very short walk to the city centre and easy to find. Everything was clean, very clear info in the rooms about how everything worked in the hotel. Was offered lots of local info when I checked in, gentleman who checked me out in the morning was very friendly. No air con but did have a ceiling fan instead.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very late check in and very early check out. For a family of four it was a rush to get ready to get out using only one toilet. Also didn't warn us that the road where the hotel is and nearby were closed on day of arrival due to a major cycling race.

    Generous and fabulous breakfast. Extremely clean room and beddings. Good shower. Sufficient supply of very white fluffy towels, toiletries and tea/coffee.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to dislike

    Very warm friendly welcome. Reception was full of handy information. Perfect for a tourist. Short stroll into the centre of all amenities.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were on the top floor, room 10, 6 flights of stairs and there was no lift, wow that was hard work, we didn't have a view as we were in the roof and the room was like a sauna.

    Facilities and customer services were excellent

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would have liked an option on which room. This one was in the basement so felt a little dark.

    Breakfast was of high quality Bed very comfortable Shower was very good.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was too over heated, especially with no elevator. I managed to turn the radiator down in my room though.

    I loved the Georgian exterior.The décor in my room was lovely and the bathroom was modern and well fitted out,great shower!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sometimes a bit disorganised at breakfast when it was busy. Hard work walking to the top floor rooms!

    Staff friendly and helpful. Room was clean, nice decor, comfortable bed. Excellent location.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple en-suite with shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More choice in buffet breakfast more space in dining room. Triple room slightly small for couple and teenager.

    Very good value excellent location tasty cooked breakfast

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 5 (at front of property overlooking street) and en suite very compact but perfectly comfortable, spotlessly clean. Cooked breakfast delicious, served quickly. Lovely cafetiere of coffee. All staff delightful and nothing too much trouble.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A large step up to enter the bathroom. The guesthouse has no lift. These two features make the guesthouse unsuitable for anyone with mobility problems

    The rooms were clean, well equipped and comfortable

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Grumpy manager/owner on arrival. No interaction apart from signing a form and issuing a parking permit. The rest of the staff were lovely but this lack of front of house let it down.

    Location and breakfast

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing we did not like

    Everything was first class, the rooms were wonderful and very clean and comfortable, the food particularly the breakfasts was excellent and we would stay again.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our window didn't shut properly, so it was banging all night, I got given fried eggs instead of scrambled egg for breakfast and the front door is really difficult to open, to the point me and my partner thought we were locked out. The bed is rather short - I am only 5ft 2 and my feet were right at the bottom of the bed and my partner is 6ft 3, so his legs were hanging off the end of the bed. Shame really, as despite this the bed was really comfy.

    The location was perfect and the room nice and warm, with a breakfast in the morning - bacon cooked perfectly. Great decor and lovely clean bathroom. Staff were really friendly.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots of stairs to climb to our room but luckily we are both reasonably fit so not really a problem. Breakfast room was a bit cold.

    Well cooked breakfast with lean bacon. Room was comfortable but fairly basic. We were at the back of the property and had a good view from our window.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to do with the hotel, felt the spa was very expensive for what it was.

    Great location, parking permit was very handy for the weekend stay, excellent value for money, friendly staff, a great breakfast and Bath is a beautiful place to visit.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast was only served between 8am and 9:30am which is not early enough for business users. We had to leave before breakfast. No Bar and no access to the lounge in the evening it was locked. we got there at 9:30 so it would have been nice to have chilled out with a drink. there is car park metres for 2 hour maximum stay on the whole length of the road so you need a day permit to park and thats if you can get a space.

    bedroom decor was nice and good location

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't fault the stay really had a lovely time. My only moan would be a personal one, in that the bed was too soft, but that's because I'm used to a firm mattress

    Breakfast was excellent, lots of choice, to suit everyone. The staff were all friendly & helpful, property was clean and in a beautiful location.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed could have been bigger, when you are used to a super king going down to a standard size is a bit of a shock. The light shone through the door frame which was a little annoying through the night.

    All very pleasant and clean. Very warm. Ideal situation close to the town centre.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cramped room, cramped shower room, no shelf in shower. Very average breakfast.

    Room was spotlessly clean and the breakfast waitress was excellent. Great location for central Bath. Good value on road parking.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room could be bigger. But we understand about hotels market this time. Thanks.

    Very friendly staff. Very nice and clean room. We are enjoying breakfast in the hotel. Thanks for everything. See you next time definitely.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overnight parking £8, would have been nice for hotel to throw this in as on annual permit + as a driver with car you have no choice.

    Nice room,good location,great breakfast too.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did ask not to have a room on a high floor as I have rheumatoid arthritis and was worried that I might get a room on the top floor, we were allocated to room 1 and it was a small, actually quite depressing room to be in, the shower room was really small, with no shelves/baskets to put your shower gels etc in, so you had to put them in the shower to tray, and then it was tricky to pick them back up again. The room did not have a wardrobe, just a rail to hang your clothes on and the bed was really firm, might suit some people, but definitely not me, I would not choose to stay there again, purely for the room and it's furnishings, a bed,a leather chair,which was not comfortable to sit in for any length of time, and nothing else if note, there are so many other places to stay in bath, this property would not be my first choice

    The staff, very friendly, welcoming and informative, they actually could not have been nicer, best part about the hotel

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was a 2% credit card surcharge

    The breakfast choice was large and the food great - with generous proportions. The room came with a Bath Reward Card that allowed discounted entry to many local attractions and restaurants

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room could have been a little bigger.

    Bed very comfortable . Room warm . Standard of decor very good . Good breakfast. Friendly staff . Excellent location.

    Stayed in December 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Edgar Townhouse traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: