Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Edinburgh House Hotel - B&B 3 stars

90-92 Pilrig Street, Edinburgh, EH6 5AY, United Kingdom

#170 of 185 B&Bs and Inns in Edinburgh

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1140 hotel reviews

6.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.6

  • Comfort

    6.1

  • Location

    6.9

  • Facilities

    5.9

  • Staff

    6.8

  • Value for money

    6.4

  • Paid WiFi

    3.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A cooked breakfast would have been nice, £8 for a couple of croissants and some coffee was not good value, I don't eat cereal and I assumed that the breakfast would have been a hot one, but that was my own fault. this was my only dislike

    If you want no frills somewhere to stay, this is perfect, the room was clean and comfortable, but don't expect a 5 star service, the hotel was a short walk from everywhere I needed to be, I would definitely stay again based on price and location, Leith walk is at the end of the street and you can find almost everything you need for food and drink along there

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I'd asked for a ground floor room as my dad isn't great with mobility - we were put in the attic! major renovations going on so noise, dust and like a building site on the middle floor - shouldn't really be open whilst this is going on! Blind in bedroom wouldn't close - night receptionist ended up having to tape it to the window. Unacceptable Walls are paper thin. Heard all other comings and goings...... like a run down hostel

    The beds were clean and the shower good. Free on street parking

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The family room has been located in the basement and the room is very creaky. There is constant noise of people walking in the upstairs. This is highly recommended to be sorted out as this does not give a good sleep for the people staying in the room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were awful. Uncomfortable and creaked like they were going to collapse if you moved. Mattress almost non existent and woke early feeling like I’d slept on a park bench. Horrible. Breakfast not worth the cost and you eat it sat in reception which was as odd as it was uncomfortable. We ended up driving into town and paying again for something decent. Save your money....go somewhere else.

    Location is ok if you can live with everything else

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room with External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed here before though disappointed this time around lost light in the room for good part of the evening, then DVD got stuck in the player we then got told wasn’t there mmm not good :(

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think the welcome when I arrived was poor, mix up at check in on my birthday when I was tired from arriving didn’t go down well. But the room was fine for our stay. It suits the price.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The property is clearly in need of a refresh. Whilst adequate the rooms and communal areas are very tired. The walls are also VERY thin!

    The location was convenient with some good pubs and restaurants nearby and only a short 15-20 minute walk to the center.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This property was convenient to the centre of Edinburgh with a bus stop a few yards away. The bed was comfortable and the room clean and cosy with the heating still on.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    No soundproofing - I could hear everyone coming up and down stairs from under the door and folk snoring in next room, no lifts and narrow stairs to lug a suitcase up & down, £3 per day for wifi that only worked 50% of time (suspect its a home package that has a limited number of users allowed on at any one time).

    Although dated decor-wise my room was cleaned to a high standard daily and the shower was excellent, also No.11 bus went from outside B&B past the bus station to Princes street & small convenience store close by for snacks.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't get internet signal TV not getting signal breakfast should be better for 8 pound breakfast not great didn't like that staff or guests not sure who he was was asking for cigarettes all the time from guests

    Garden area beds cumfy

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room wasnt very clean.there was a huge stain up the wall next to our bed, stains which looked like coffee or cola down skirtingboards. There was also lots of dust and cobwebs.

    The bedsheets were clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice and clean rooms. Spacious .. great value for money, near to bus stand and accessible to good restaurants nearby great ambal is good if uou are looking for indian cuisine. I didnt took breakfast because of old reviews, anyways you can get the breakfast near brighton buffet just 200 metres from this hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tv didn't work some sockets didn't work and generally a not very Nice room in the basement. Very noisy with lots of guests coming and going. Would not stay again although was one of the cheaper options, got very little sleep!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit dark in parts of the corridor and there was a serious trip hazard on the frayed carpet at one of the fire doors.

    Our room was in the basement so nice and quiet. On a bus route to Princes Street - Number 11. Or a short walk to Leith Road for more public transport. Staff very helpful and pleasant. There was a small garden outside our room and as the weather was fine, we sat out with some wine we had brought ourselves.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not very clean. I dropped my phone behind my bedside cabinet and that hadn’t cleaned in years. I even found sweet rappers. Absolutely disgusting.

    Good value for money

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    uncomfortable that shower was over the bath, having to pay £ 3 per day for wifi was terrible, the first room we stayed - a twin room was very cold day-night, not comfortable, too small and looked like the storeroom of the yard. not clean, trush under the bed the last two days we had booked and payed a room for 3 persons, the heating was better

    clean bathroom but shower over the bath, bus station nearby, you can walk 10 min to leith street, 15-20 min to the central train station and 30-35 min to the castle many pretty pubs nearby the lady in the reception very kind

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was quite small with a rooftop window only, which can harldy be opened. House is badly sound proofed and you can hear every word from your neighbours. £ 3 for WiFi is unreasonable.

    Room was clean and comfortable. A bit off the centre but in a quiet and nice area.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were very uncomfortable, having trouble with the heating in the room it didn't seem much could be done if the radiator couldn't be fixed, having a person to try and fix it at 930pm wasn't acceptable with a young child needing sleep, with half the hotel under renovation meant no other available room to be moved to. Was a very impractical situation, thankfully the radiator was fixed. Still not a very good experience.

    The location is great

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a bit far out from Edinnurgh and having to pay for wifi was terrible it should be included in the price

    The room was clean and the shower was good beds ok as well

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was comparable to a slab of concrete, the staff spoke little English, the room was extremely dirty, and the furnishings were literally falling to pieces. Extremely poor.

    Nothing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff of the hotel was extremely helpful. Especially Laura the receptionist gave us great information vis-a-vis the things to do and the places to visit.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    N/A

    Quite cheap and convenient location for me. Old-style room but all facilities working fine, so no problem, especially in view of the very low price.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Broken tiles and fawcet in the en suite, tired decor, and hard beds, language barriers with the staff, but they were doing their best.

    It's a wonderful old typical Edinburgh building.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms were tiny, and there was dust/cobwebs hanging about. The staff were unhelpful, and the whole communication prior, and during, the stay was awful. And if you're advertising yourself as a bed and breakfast, you really should offer breakfast as an included part of the price, not an additional 8 pounds sterling per person for a poor "continental breakfast". Not recommended, and I will never visit again.

    I liked that it wasn't on the main road.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I booked this for my in-laws and I am really disappointed that the breakfast deal was not made clear when booking. I didn't think it was a continental breakfast - I expected a full cooked breakfast - especially at the cost of £8 per person. You had to ask for cold milk for cereal (as there was none out), had to ask for tea, tables were not set out. They could have gone into the centre of Edinburgh and bought a full cooked breakfast for less than £8 per person.

    The rooms were clean and acceptable, close to the centre of Edinburgh.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was cold and heater wasn't working and no dryer unless asked.

    The lady in the reception was very kind enough. She was cute and has helped us with our questions very very politely. The location was in front of the gardens and it was beautiful, unfortunately we didn't have a view from our room. Had there been breakfast included for my money, it would have been icing on the cake:)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very dated. Wood chip on walls. Mismatched paint/wallpaper on walls. Damp patches around window. Very old furniture. Breakfast very below expectations.

    N/a

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Son found a condom wrapper on the windowsill, then I had a very drunk man in his pants trying to get into my room at 3am...no sign of night porter anywhere.

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This B&B is only one B: bed. Breakfast is only continental on extra pay, which is not really a problem as there are many alternates around.

    Distance to central city.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough storage space for two people in a twin room.

    The room was as stated. The breakfast was appropriate. We ate breakfast out instead. Also not far from the city centre and there's a bus stop a couple of minutes away. Staff were helpful and next time we visit Edinburgh, we will stay here.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room with External Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Staying at this place is like booking a flight with Ryanair. Want Wifi? that's extra. Want breakfast? that's extra. Want a warm room? you'll have to move. Late check-in? that's extra. Want a bed that isn't like sleeping on a church pew? you're out of luck. Want to go to Edinburgh? pack your bags, cause you're going for a hike! Friendly staff? rare. At least when you fly with Ryanair you know what you're in for and are paying accordingly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I want to give below one star for this property. Staff was very rude. Lady at reception was arrogant. N staff used enter in our room without knocking which was ridiculous...

    It's near to city centre

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No comforts, sockets in wrong place, tiny room, shower cubicle old and small,hot water trouble with the shower, window not double glazed, peeling paint work, torn wall paper, no fresh morning towels, long hairs in the shower, no fresh toilet rolls, tiny coffee cups, disgusting coffee. All horrendous!

    Nothing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had a really cheap room which was located next to the staircase. It was quite noisy during the night. About 25 min walk to the city centre, which was okay when not raining. Major road closures made bus routes into city quite slow.

    The room cost £23 for a single with ensuite shower and toilet. Amazing value for Edinburgh. Staff were friendly and helpful. I checked in several hours early because the room was ready.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My husband & I stayed here, now regret booking it, the beds were awful like laying on concrete, we could feel the springs too. It doesn't take much to remove very large cob webs.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was bad room 24 no view out the window and dirty room very cold. The roof was yellow at one big corner. Walls had coffee up them and staff didnt seem to care when wee told them. My girlfriends back is very sore today wee cant wait to go home wont be back and charging extra for coming in at 12/1 from work shocking so not worth it!!!

    The location thats all

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It would be nice to have a hair drier. Heating is centrally controled, and sometimes it gets a bit cold in winter nights.

    Comfortable, clean and well located at a convinient price.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very cold weather in Edinburgh the Hotel could do with double glazing in reception and room 20 although to be fair room was great otherwise.

    Staff at reception very helpful and did everything possible to make my stay comfortable. Especially the receptionist from Sardinia who went above and beyond.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Original room was not ready although early check in requested. Carpets were dated and there was too much noise in the early hours of the morning

    The bathroom was nice and the bed was comfortable

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paint work poor, carpet in awful condition, same key for room and front door possible security risk. Very expensive for what it was considering that if we booked this weekend as opposed to a rugby weekend it would be £27 per room per night rather than the £112 per night we paid then £16 per day for breakfast and on arrival in dining area on 2nd morning all breakfast offerings had been cleared away. No-one on reception at checkout. All in all very poor and apart from the location find it difficult to find positives and would not recommend.

    Location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room for 3 had no storage for clothes 1 bracket on the wall with four coat hangers ...a joke !carpets dirty in room an thought,lots of dust in room, bedside cabinet dirty with fresh ring stains from sticky drinks,curtain rail about to fall off with screw fixing s missing,cracked windows, no ventilation at all in skylight room or able to open the skylight window

    Staff were friendly and helpful

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The personal was helpful but not very friendly. The bathroom was clean but not so comfortable and very small.

    It was a nice accomodation near the city center for a low budget. The room was quiet big and bright. You can see that the accomodation is not nieuw but for this price it was absolutely okay!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Place is in need of a good check and fix. It was extremely cold at night (cold outside as well and the heater could not cover for it). Stains on the walls, old toilet seat and shower head (a bit yellowish).

    Paid very good price and received one double bed and one single altough paid for 2 single beds. It was clean. Staff nice and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double Room with External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really, my room was no-frills but that's all I needed at short notice - it was exactly what I was looking for, comfortable and clean, TV and Coffee/Tea making facilities, good shower!

    Lovely helpful front of house staff - stayed twice recently and will no doubt go back again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No kettle coffees or tea in the room, shower door exit straight the the bed room, not appropriate when you have a12 years old in the room, the room smells damp, and the floor is greasy , aukward parking

    The room was really warm and shower was ok

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was a bit cold (time of year) but I'm sure I could have asked for an extra blanket. There wasn't a lift, so not accessible for people who would find the stairs difficult to manage.

    The room and en-suite were very clean. The bed was really comfortable, and the staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very cold, I had to asked them every single time to turning on the heating, mattress was extremely bad and I still have a back pain, room was not clean, very old building, never again

    Location was great

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room with External Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first room we had smelt of tobacco smoke and someone had covered the smoke alarm with a Carrier bag. The shower was always cold it didn't get hot also no hot water from the sink. The bed was springy the staff didn't get off there back sides to help you. Draft under the door and decor was tired and need of restoration.

    I liked the fact we could leave, also liked the fact the 2nd room we got after we complained didn't smell of cigarettes.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Basic Double Room with External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    it was the strangest labyrinth layout and the bathroom was outside the room. The room itself felt like a closet but it was very clean and not too far from the city.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The accommodation was very basic and a bit run down. Room was freezing. Upon enquiring we were told heating would come on at 16:30 (which to be fair it did and room warmed up sufficiently). However not lng admfter keaving I recieved a call to say I had left a very expensive coat so was happy about that.

    The staff were very friendly. The location was perfect for the Playhouse.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit drab, breakfast area in front of reception? Couldn't open a window, felt like a hamster cage and very hostelish,bed hard and uncomfortable

    Location clean enough

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quite far to the city with no transportation and not elderly and child friendly because have no elevator/lif - only stairs. Check out time at 11 am.

    Competitive price and suitable to stay if you own a car. Free car park on the streets.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The 'hotel' was quite basic with dated decor. It was very noisy at night. Not necessarily the 'hotel's fault but as theres no phone down to reception you're left to sort the problem yourself. Nothing makes you feel really old quite like givig off to drunk teens when theyre all bonny and dressed up and you're in your Christmas PJs.

    The location was fine given the price. Just a 5-10 min bus ride into town. Our tripple room was quite large. The price was good for Edinburgh.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room with External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpet wasn’t clean and even more we found hair grips on it 😣Was cold to sleep at night- was horible when girl at reception told as that we stay only one night anyway 😱 we come to Edinburgh quite often and for sure we never ever going to come back to this place. Only bed sheets- no proper bed covers so at night you sleep unter blanket which been used by somebody else for many times. No sound proof at all you can hear everything when in next roms people using toilet, speaking and etc.

    location was only thing we liked

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room looked quite worn out...., old wooden panels everywhere...

    Did not take any breakfast due to early leaving the hotel. Room was decorated in old wood, looked quite worn out. Only one small and old locker in the room to store clothes. Access via steep and narrow stairs. Falling raindrops on a roof caused quite some noise over night, especially when being used to sleep with open windows. However....it was cheap....and ok for one night....

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room with External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were given the wrong room which was no bigger than a cupboard in the basement with no window. We weren't told we had the wrong room till the next day. We paid for an ensuite room but instead we got a room with a bathroom and shower down the hall in another small pokey cupboard like room. There were also no washing products and the hair dryer didn't work. Overall the stay was awful. The place was very outdated and very tired. We decided to stay at another hotel for our second night.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The heating was a bit limited during a fairly cold week, Also the shower, when taken in the afternoon, was not always hot enough.

    The room was pleasant and comfy, everything was clean, staff helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room with External Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was far away from the city centre but walkable. Main problem was the lack of a plug for the bath, also the cleaners accidentally threw away my girlfriends earrings.

    It was cosy and had a good shower.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was noisy at night due to the nose from the washing machine, but maybe it’s due to happen because we were in the basement.

    Nice staff and good value for money

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No natural light in the room and being excessively ripped off by the hotel owners because it was Hogmany. They had a 600% price hike over their normal prices!!!

    This was a dingy room that was sadly in need of refurbishment. The price we paid was extortionate even for Hogmanay. The hotel also had the cheek to charge £8 per person per day for a continental breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heating wasn’t ON when we reached and it was slow to heat up the room It was snowing outside so that did cause discomfort to begin with

    Price was good during new year time

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double Room with External Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Loved the twin rooms in the roof area - will specify for next time. This hotel is in a very convenient setting for me

    I have stayed here a few times before - the rooms on the lower floors I found small (a squeeze for my sis and I as we ended up in a double bed together and I am sure I asked for twins). Not the end of the world though.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room with External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room a bit on the small side; plus there was a problem with the shower drainage, with water rapidly accumulating in the shower tray to form a mini 'lake' due to a blockage in the drain. Some of the buttons on the TV remote control were also unresponsive/didn't work.

    A comfortable, reasonably priced hotel with basic facilities, located on a regular bus route and within walking distance from the city centre.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower could not stay hot for more than thirty seconds The receptionist knocked on our door at nine am just to remind us we where supposed to check out (we didn’t ask her to do this and found it a little bit annoying as we were all asleep) Advertised as free WiFi but found out there would be a charge, It’s a far walk from the city centre Can’t turn heating on when you want It’s on a timer Rooms cramped Wouldn’t come here again

    Nothing

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heater was turned off at night. Room and toilet were quite cold.

    Free parking. Walking distance to town centre. Service is good. Hot water shower is not hot. After feedback to them, they repaired it the next day.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room a little cold but it was a very cold night and it is an old building. No breakfast included and could not find anyone at reception in morning even after pressing intercom.

    For money paid overall a good experience.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above!!!

    Absolutely nothing!! Disgrace that we paid for double rooms when all they did was put a double mattress on top of a wooden frame in a single room! We paid for 3 rooms and all TVs were not working and one of the rooms did not have radiator working. The wardrobes for your clothes were literately a metre cupboard.!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything ( hot water comes for 1 min and that’s it’s how should a person have bath and the heater was off and when it did come on it was very low how are u meant to stay wait kids we were with a 2 year old child when spoke to the lady at the desk all she said that everyone is complaining so it’s best u write a complaint to the manager

    Nothing

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    -i don't know whether the room was previously a garden shed or store room, but our room was literally outside of the building. We had to go through the back door to the garden to find our room. The worst thing is there is a GAP between the door and floor which allows the cold windy air into the room!!!! It's winter now FYI! We had to cover the gap with something to block the wind. The heater was working but couldn't warm the room enough. -the single key to our room can be use for the building's back door as well

    -the room and bathroom are clean, plenty of hot water. -the cheapest accommodation that nearest to the city centre and we only stay for a night to rest. Wouldn't stay any longer here

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel looked a little dingy and there was no heating on in the bedroom. During the night there was very loud banging due to other guests which should not have disturbed our sleep but the rooms were not very sound proof. The water system was extremely noisy whenever other guests were using water. In the morning, we went to check out at 9:30, yet the reception wasn't even open.

    The bed was comfortable and the location was handy.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    grubby walls, dirty marks on furniture/paintwork, peeling radiators, neglected décor, broken light ( not just bulb as swapped it for one that worked) lot of disturbance during the night and early hours where people locked out of hotel and staff took their time to open door. Broken window on stairway which would explain dirty paintwork on stairs. Very little information given by hotel staff and very poor facilities for breakfast so went elsewhere for food. Also took payment at time of booking ten weeks in advance which has not happened with previous bookings made.

    was able to leave case in bag store to collect later in the day and bus stop opposite made it easy to get into city. Bed linen& towels clean and tidy . Cheap prices and available rooms

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We first got into the room and it was very cold, we had to ask for the radiators to be put on. A lot of the electrical outlets looked unsafe, and the lamps were damaged and hanging limp from the walls. The hair dryer also didn’t work for more than 2 or 3 minutes before cutting off. One of our group had a shower and halfway through washing her hair realized that the shower drain wasn’t draining and the bathroom floor was flooding. We reported that to the lady downstairs who came to look. She called the manager and informed us that we could either put a small bath mat down (insufficient for the entire bathroom floor covered in water!) or change rooms. We asked to see the new room, which was dingy and small. The bathroom was a lot nicer and newer, but the rooms’ light fixtures had the same damage, and the hairdryer there didn’t work also. There were dried splashes of an unknown liquid on the walls, and the room had a vibe of being unclean, but we needed a bathroom with a working shower, so we moved. Overall it was a very disappointing experience.

    Only a 20 min walk into town. Easy parking which was free. The bathroom in our second room was quite nice.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very little space to hang clothes. A row of pegs would have been very useful.

    Room was warm, beds comfortable and bathroom clean with a good shower. Fresh towels provided each day. For the money we paid it was very acceptable. The location was handy for us (visiting crematorium), No 11 bus runs past the hotel every 10 minutes and goes to Ocean Terminal, Princes Street and Morningside. It was also quiet.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Horrible rooms - it was super cold in there (we had to sleep in hats and scarves), the bathroom was falling apart, there was garbage (glasses, tea) after the previous guests hidden behind the curtain, plus the hotel itself was very sketchy and looking as if it was falling apart too.

    The location was convenient and it was cheap.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough towels, only had 2 in the room that was for 4, so had to ask. Need more wardrobes for that room. The carpet was stained.

    Big room, very spacious

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Edinburgh House Hotel - B&B traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: