Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Edinburgh Marriott Hotel 4 stars

111 Glasgow Road, Edinburgh, EH12 8NF, United Kingdom

#77 of 138 hotels in Edinburgh

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2370 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    6.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room with Sofa bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Main Questionable thing is that Being a Marriott Property If this is run by Marriott as a Management then Why They had not attended Marriott Regular guest on priority Asked from them about was not Replied Well, Very Much Questionable.was that I find this very much bad, n even the clearly shows that these are all. Self owned properties,,,, Marriott as a brand is only Earning money not taking care of valuable customers Not Appreciating Really

    Liking in 5 Starr hotel is onto attendnece and special. Take care of routine customers which was not here

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air-conditioner did not function. The beds are too soft. The water pressure of the shower is not high enough.

    It is very close to a shopping mall and the airport.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room wasn’t ready at check in and we had to go straight out again after checking in so that was a bit frustrating but we were given complimentary drink vouchers, tho we didn’t get round to using them. But rooms were nice, comfortable, clean and tidy. No complimentary water in ours tho there was in the other room we had booked for Family

    Very helpful staff, good location for where we wanted to be. Comfy beds! On a bus route.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar staff need further training as they did not know how to make a Pimm's No.1. The whisky was highly over priced at the bar.

    We did not have breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not all the staff were friendly. Price expensive had to pay extra for breakfast

    Bed really comfy great pillows. Clean. Great selection at breakfast cooked really well nice bar area good selection of drinks

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower didn’t work properly and also the trouser press and safe was broken. I asked the front desk to fix these issues three times and nothing changed over the course of the week I stayed there.

    Clean and right location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Sofa bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking is a hassel, as their lot is very small and it is a 10 minute walk to the nearest parking garage which is very busy.

    Easy walking distance to Grassmarket, Edinburgh Castle and the Royal Mile. Dellicious hot breakfast buffet. Rooms are clean and very comfortable!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room with Sofa bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Such a hassle at check in. I had paid for 2 rooms through bookings and had pre paid. They said we hadn’t so we had to pay again. Once I showed them bank statement they later refunded me. Was back at reception later trying to resolve another booking I had made for a friend. Was quite stressful to be honest.

    Good location easy to access off bypass. Children loved room and swimming pool. Used restaurant and food was good. Good variety for for breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room with Sofa bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For a hotel that advertised as family friendly I found that not to be the case. Especially so in the pool/spa area. My children were enjoying the pool but were told off by the pool staff for splashing in the pool and jumping in the pool (the two things kids want to do in a pool!!) also other pool users who were all over older age seemed annoyed by my children having fun and enjoying themselves. Over all I wouldn’t recommend this hotel for families. Also check in on arrival took almost 10 minutes, with no apology for delay. Even my young children were baffled and annoyed by the length of time it took.

    Check out was easy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was abit dated, could definitely be improved aesthetically

    overall brilliant, clean, comfortable bed & lovely staff! Thoroughly enjoyed the breakfast. Would definitely stay here again and there is a bus stop right next to the hotel which airport shuttle buses travel to the city centre for 24 hours a day! Very cheap bus ride and handy! No taxis needed! Had a fabulous weekend, the bus also goes past the zoo!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did have an evening meal in the restaurant and was a little disappointed. We expected more from a 4 star hotel, however, the breakfast buffet was first class and loved having a chef on hand to do omelettes etc in addition to the great range of breakfast treats on offer.

    All the staff were very helpful and friendly. You really felt valued. Excellent rooms and facilities. Parking was absolutely no problem.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was smaller than I expected,and the bathroom was very small. I was disappointed not to have a stand alone shower

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. The bed was big and comfortable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Would have liked more info before going of cheaper ways to get there from Waverley station as taxi cost me 17pounds but tram would have been 1.70

    Staff were really helpful, bed very comfy and breakfast excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room with Sofa bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The service and comfort of the room and hotel. The staff in the hotel and restaurant. At the bar the staff did some warm milk for my baby without any extra charge. We ordered some hot chocolate.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room with Sofa bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Travelled with my two children (6 year old) they gave us a room with two huge beds instead of one bed and a sofa bed. The beds were huge and so comfy and also the room had huge tv. the staff at the hotel were very friendly and great with the kids.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything from the time we walked in the front entrance with all staff was perfect. Room was amazing, restaurant food choices was good. Thank you toJana who helped us find the hotel as gps kept taking us to the wrong area. You will enjoy your stay here.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Excellent location for the Airport, showground and City centre. The staff were all very helpful and happy. The room exceeded expectation and being pet friendly it will be one I visit regularly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are dark and very tired decor, common areas are also past their sell by date. the Marriott chain should be ashamed of this place. £99 per night for a low level Travel lodge, is poor value for money

    Leaving the next day...

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room with Sofa bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldnt find anywhere to dispose of stinky nappies has to use the bin in the carpark. Waiting staff in restaurant need a little more training when it comes to meals included in the room price.

    Rooms are big and airy. Great for a family comfortable bed with really soft pillows. The food is delicious made fresh to order without a long wait for service. Staff are friendly and promt at resolving any issue or query.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    £9 for a glass of wine

    Family room was perfect, restaurant food was great and not overly priced. Perfect for families, kids loved pool and staff were lovely

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only negative is that the restaurant did not offer a good range of vegetarian options in the hot section.There was only mushrooms, tomato and egg. I would have preferred some salmon or vegetarian sausages etc. so this would be my only recommendation

    Great location, bus stop is 5 minute walk away, the buses take you to most attractions and center of Edinburgh. Hotel was very clean and had a variety of things to do such as bar to have a drink with friends, spa to relax in, gym, restaurant and snack bar inside and outside and good parking facilities. Easy for cabs or ubers to pick you up from and the hotel is about 15 minutes away from most places to really easy to get a round but at the same time you will be away from the city center noise. Bed was amazing and really comfy, staff are very friendly and make you feel welcomed and always say hello when they see you. We stayed for a weekend and would definitely stay again!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Everything was what we expected. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will certainly choose A8 Marriott again. All the staff we met were exceptionally friendly and helpful. The food was excellent and more than plentiful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view from the room window was a wall with posters. Not really an issue for a one night stay.

    Only spent one night as a stop over so no time to explore the facilities but there seems to be a good selection.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Television sometimes shut off for no apparent reason while we were watching it.

    The choice from the breakfast menu was excellent. The bed was also very comfy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room with Sofa bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I felt the price for a room only without breakfast was too expensive. I would not have stayed there if I hadn't needed to in order to meet up with the Brightwater group.

    The room was fine. No problem. Staff were friendly and helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room with Sofa bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On arrival on the first night we found it difficult, on the menu, to get a suitable children’s snack. At breakfast, perhaps a little more variety with the breads and cold section. Both very minor issues.

    (1) Great transport links to Airport and City Centre, via bus and tram. (2) Staff excellent. My grandson left his music book in our room. I rang the hotel and the book was forwarded the next day. (3) We particularly enjoyed the pool and there was no restriction on the usage by children.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Despite using the air con and opening the windows we found the room to be hot. Also too warm in bed; mind you unusually the outside temperatures were up!

    The room was very clean, comfortable and no Ely set up. The bathroom was absolutely perfect for my mum who has mobility issues

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We felt for the money paid it wasn’t what we like in a hotel. The service we got initially when asking for a coffee was nothing short of abrupt especially when we asked if they done cakes or biscuits of any sort . £3.25 for a coffee and no option to have something sweet with it?? The beds are shockingly uncomfortable tho the room was very clean we can’t complain about that. We had specifically asked for a room close to the lift as I have issues with my heart and also just recently had a knee operation. The room seemed to be at the furthest point from the lift initially. We complained and were advised would be moved the next day. They moved us to an “ executive” room .. what was the difference between it and the room we had?? Two small bottles of water and a coffee machine! Still the same standard of bed etc our backs are in agony which I feel is unacceptable as thatS the sign of worn out beds. Not a good start to our holiday. Also 3 times not one not twice but 3 times someone knocked and walked into our room while we were trying to sleep as they didn’t know we were in it! Once is a mistake 3 times is just terrible when all it needed was someone to update a system! We won’t be staying here again which is a shame considering we travel 3 times a year and Always need a hotel with parking the night before we fly.

    Breakfast & staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room with Sofa bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well the bathroom is clean but rather small. It’s OK for a short trip though. The swimming pool and lockers could use a touch up. Bit outdated. O

    We stayed at this hotel for three nights with our son. There was a couch to sleep on and a double bed (not two seperate ones). I thought the room was comfy and big. There’s a cooler in the room and a shopping mall on walking distance, where you can buy food etc. I like the location because it’s near the airport and city center.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was a issue checking in that should have been resolved by a manager on duty[5pm] However we were upgraded free and it was great,all staff/cleaners/in the bar were very good and are stay was great .we will be back

    Great breakie,very good front of staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When I looked out of my window in the evening, there were young children getting changed in a conservatory, not very appropriate, as a father/grandfather I was appalled. £3 per hour for Wifi..going on what I paid for the room, this should have been free.

    Very comfortable stay, free car parking.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was a bit tired in places and could hear other doors slamming and people in the corridor very clearly. Not sure I would class this as a 4 star hotel.

    Very comfortable big bed and decent breakfast with lots of choice. Bus to the airport or city centre right outside.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar staff quite happy to walk past tables piled with empty plates and glasses, and stand waiting behind the bar for customers, who were few and far between.

    Local and convenient for the airport.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room with Sofa bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The prices in the bar area a little pricey but bar food was good so swings and roundabouts

    We enjoyed that we could take are one year old down to the pool and had a relaxing atmosphere in the pool area

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Reception definitely improving, but still inconsistent - one week, bill efficiently put under door, next week no bill (many weeks in a row this happens) etc.. When asked why? Just get a load of waffle....every time.....frustrating when in a rush.

    Restaraunt - excellent service and food (as usual) Management - friendly and professional Stephen who works in the entrance area - very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room with Sofa bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had 5 year old who slept on sofa bed no covers, pillows, or duvet supplied when I phoned for one we were delivered in ten minutes a tatty fleece which looked and felt old and unclean no pillow or duvet supplied. Our grandson was cold during the night and kept covered by our jackets. This hotel is expensive and should have provided bed linen. Room service was delivered and very very expensive for what we got. Pizza chicken baked potato and plate of pasta for £51. Bar tender was very rude and unpleasant he did not speak to us and was very displeased at having to serve, I was going to ask him to smile as he took £13 for a pint and a gin and tonic but thought better of it. Also the changing rooms for the girls was dirty and shower just dripping, the jacuzzi was out of order and the young man on the pool reception was working on the computer to hand in his college work where we were told he was in a bad mood as he had problems sending his exam work! Really only wanted towels not his problems! Other than that we have stayed a few times over the years and enjoyed our Edinburgh stay. Breakfast staff fabulous

    Loved the breakfast. Loved the pool. Loved the big TVs and wifi. Lovely environment polite reception staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent value. King bed in spacious room. Excellent hot water. Staff very helpful. LArge hotel with a bar, restaurant and a gym. 10 minutes from airport on Airlink 100 bus (2 nd stop from airport which is called Maybury) £2.50 each way. Buses go every 10 minutes and stop right outside the hotel so very convenient.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very close to airport & car rental so good for us to stay 1 night with free parking and then start our journey to northern part of Scotland. Clean & comfy bed and nice staff too. Also only 25-min drive to Edinburg downtown area.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Access to hotel from road was not as easy as it could have been but not hotels fault but highways issue.

    Location to where we were going was good. Pets made very welcome.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Packed early breakfast was very disappointing. ordered rolls , got bagels, no orange juice , pastries or coffee to go although these were all promised from the menu.

    Ideal for pre flight sleep over.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was on lying there one night haha

    Loved the hotel from start to finish, staff wenth above n beyond to cater for my wife and I , very very well run hotel thank you

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom a little dull. We ate in bar area, bit cold and draught from front door

    Bed very comfy, fitness facilities very good staff pleasand and helpful there.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That I had to come back home :(

    Most impressed with the value for my money. Was very, very satisfied with my room, breakfast, spa, staff and my overall stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a little noisy, kids running around the corridors and doors banging. We got room service and it was disgusting I would not of fed an animal the food they brought us, and it was so expensive! The location also wasn't the best.

    The hotel was nice enough, rooms were very big and comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Drinks in bar were quite expensive but probably what is normal for Edinburgh Hotel.

    Lovely hotel with clean, spacious room and comfy bed. Lovely staff and great value for bed and breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one thing we were woken up by lady who entered the room to clean in the morning around 8am when we had ordered breakfast for 9 am .

    Helpful staff great room great atmosphere

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bar had no Aperol.....but in the scheme of things, this was not really important.

    We were all impressed with ALL the staff!! they were ALL very friendly and helpful. At times, they went out of their way to say hello....a small thing BUT most appreciated and it made us feel very welcome!! The rooms were very spacious and beautifully appointed, as was the rest of the hotel! Literally 5 minutes from the airport! Would even consider staying here on one of my jaunts to Edinburgh!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room with Sofa bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    It was great stay, little far from city centre but the transportation is very easy and the bus stop just opposite the hotel and very convenient, but you need half an hour time to reach city centre depending on traffic. Edinburgh Zoo was just 10 min which was a bonus also the swimming pool is an extra bonus. The staff were great helpful and very knowledgeable. The breakfast was one of the best I had in years

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room with Sofa bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was slightly cold for baby

    Great staff, good bar and restaurant, (although very overpriced) partners birthday was recognised with lovely prosecco and cake, a lovely touch.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small for a king room the sink did not empty very quickly the bath had a chip in it the tap at the sink sprayed water all over you when turned on and the last straw was there was no hot water in the morning had to boil the kettle for hot water to wash in the sink tried to wash my hair with cool water from the shower but it would not stay on without my husband holding the button down

    The meal in the restaurant was very nice

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Sofa bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were very dark and depressing, had to change room as I felt closed in. Parking was difficult had to park on grass due to hotel car par being full.

    The staff were fantastic and very kind and friendly always and nothing was too much trouble.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room with Sofa bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was a bit small, bed was on the firm side for me. These were really minor points but you did ask

    Excellent breakfast, staff very helpfull saved me money at checkout

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast didn't open until 7am so as I had to catch a 9am flight wasn't able to have breakfast even though i had paid for it.

    Very convenient to the airport. Fantastic staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    size of parking spaces, number of spaces, small vending selection, no convenience store

    room very nice, staff very pleasant, location great for airport

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    More choice of food for breakfast and dinner

    Everyone lead very friendly and the the service really good . The Resturant food was the best I’ve had in years but could have more choice for vegetarians

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Finding dog biscuits behind the furniture when trying to figure out why the fridge wasn’t working. Room was dusty and a bit dated. Definitely needed a freshen up.

    The friendliness of the staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant food in the evenings could be better, was a little bland.

    Fantastic breakfast and Spa Facilities Very large room with great facilities. Staff very friendly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was great, 10+ stars for the staff who went over and above to help and advise it's guests. Breakfast was outstanding and filled you up for a whole day of walking around Edinburgh. Fab city and would definitely recommend the Marriott hotel to stay in!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was very busy with a lot of the guests using the hotel as a jump off point for early next morning flights from the city airport which caused some noise in the evening and early morning. The hotels public areas show some signs of re furnishing however the room we had was showing its age, the room was well equipped with modern bed and TV, however the decor was rather drab and could do with updating. The air conditioning was noisy and could not be altered.

    The hotel was easy to get to and handy for the event we were attending, the city tram service was a short walk away and had regular links to the city centre. The staff were polite and attentive without being obtrusive.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not really near anything. But we expected this, number 100 bus 20 meters from hotel which is 24/7 and runs every 8 minutes can take you into the centre for £1.70 which was perfect.

    The room was lovely, nice and big and the bed was extremely comfy. Larger TV, fridge and decent shower. Ample parking.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Dirty Cutlers at breakfast or dinner. Briefly attention. Not organized. Hotel requires an urgent reconstruction of many areas. The building is old and needs maintenance. Not veggies at breakfast!

    Tasty food at breakfast. Waitress very polite!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    cleaners banging about far too early

    Bed was extremely comfortable as were the pillows. Chose the marriot knowing they had blackout curtains as Im a bad sleeper, first night I slept for 9 hours, 2nd night woke up by cleaners banging about at 8am. Breakfast on the first day was excellent, 2nd day was spoilt by 2 coachs that turned up for breakfast leaving it extremely busy and huge queues for tea/coffee

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows were super soft and the bed very comfortable, they’ve even surprised my boyfriend with a bottle of prosseco and some sweets on our arrival as was his birthday! Very good location, only 12-15 min bus drive to the city centre and 7-8 min to the Zoo.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no hot water either of the mornings and the hot breakfast items weren't topped up and the staff acted as though getting some more mushrooms was a huge imposition on their time.

    Bed was comfy and the location was great with the access to the tram.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not saying it is possible but if you could somehow choose a time frame for your morning room cleaning service.

    The spa pool was lovely and warm, spa area was a favourite.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complimentary wifi in the room! This is standard in almost all hotels now. Breakfast was extremely busy and not a relaxed affair at all, we were place next to the coffee machine with a constant que by us. You can imagine! Plus waiters, staff, customers all rushing round like mad including little children! It was like Kings Cross! To the best start to the day!

    Bed were very comfy, lovely room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from doors banging early morning woke us up, this continued for an hour. Hotel needs to invest in soft closing doors, it’s totally unacceptable these days to have that level of banging doors in this day and age. Told the receptionist on our departure but she wasn’t very sympathetic. Would not stay there again!

    Closely located to the airport

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't appropriate heating system, drinking water and towels had holes

    Location was ok not far from airport , staff was very helpful and polite . Breakfast was good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was cold and the airconditioning very noisy. A supplementary radiator was supplied as suspect other guests had commented on the cold. Breakfast was fine but very busy and had to ask repeatedly for replacement items on the buffet.

    We had a deluxe king room. The bed was excellent but the room quite faded and a very small bathroom. We checked in early which was a bonus but the room was clearly 'unpopular' ...on ground floor with view of a painted brick wall. Dinner in the hotel was good wthout being spectacular.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have stayed here a few times and we were let down by our king room on this occasion. We had stayed the month previous and the room standard was much higher than this visit, despite it being the same room type. There was also no heating in the room, only a plug in oil heater. Disappointed!

    We like the location and modern feel at this hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only bad thing about the stay was the pillows in the bedrooms there was 4 on each bed that where great but they were so large but had absolutely no support at all in turn this caused me to wake repeatedly during the night and I woke up with such a painfull neck and back.i would deffanatly take my own pillows on my next visit.

    Staff where absolutely amazing couldn't help enough very knowledgeable about Edinburgh and what to do great stay can't wait to come back

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's quite central with lots round about it.

    It's clean and staff are really friendly. Rooms are a an excellent size. Gym. has lots of up to date equipment and pool area is good. Only downfall is the price of things. I think £16.50 for breakfast is vastly overpriced and could be cheaper for what you get

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn’t dislike anything about it. Breakfast would have been better for me if there were some pre-cooked veggie items.

    Staff were so friendly and helpful. And the bus links to the city centre/airport are excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view from the room was poor and not happy about swimming lessons taking place in the pool & spa area

    Staff very friendly,clean spacious rooms and the food and service where excellent

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room didn’t live up to the rest of the hotel. It was fairly small with a little window, the decor looked weary and the bathroom could do with updating.

    The leisure club was excellent. The breakfast was particularly good and the staff were incredibly helpful. Very happy with our stay and would stay again.

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: