Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Edinburgh Thistle Guest House

10 East Hermitage Place, Leith, Edinburgh, EH6 8AA, United Kingdom

#163 of 185 B&Bs and Inns in Edinburgh

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 844 hotel reviews

6.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.2

  • Comfort

    6.6

  • Location

    7.3

  • Facilities

    6.3

  • Staff

    6.3

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    6.3
    Uncomplicated
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The water supply in the bathroom was very noisy and the room rather small, it was hard to have two suitcases on the ground.

    The 24 hour check-in worked out perfectly. It did leave some security doubts though. The room was basic but sufficient.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    3.8
    Very, very basic and not worth the money we paid. Will not be going back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows-very thin and extra pillows not available. Bed creaked. TV did not work. No breakfast available. Very rarely saw staff and when we did not very helpful.

    Location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    7.5
    Could be better
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I though having to pay an extra £8 to check in an hour early was excessive. No breakfast.

    Great deal on tariff. Comfortable room. Clean linen. Plenty of parking.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    8.3
    Simple and relatively comfortable, in a good neighbourghood
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Being normally un-staffed, means that some of our neighbours were noisy and no one to complaint to. Shower was backing up a bit and one of the beds was dodgy

    stayed with 3 friends on a stag do weekend. Room for four people was large and clean. 3 beds were comfortable. Parking is on-street but it is free Neighbourghood is great, with good food options nearby and a 10 minute Uber from centre

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    7.5
    It was a great weekend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The linen was very good, clean towel, and the sink in the room was very handy. It was an over all good room, and I did not expect for more. The indications for access to the Guest house were fine, and I had no difficulty to find it. Thank you for a lovely weekend in Edinburgh.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    7.1
    Close to centre, comfortable beds, iron, hair dryer andface...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although it had two separate rooms, we had to go pass one to get to the toilet.. it wasn’t extremely clean, the duvet covers were ripped a few other things weren’t too clean. after being there I realised that it was a bit pricey for what it was. I paid £150 for 1 night (3 adults and 2 kids). Out of 5 stars we would give it 2 starts

    Close to centre, comfortable beds, iron, hair dryer andface towels was provide.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    5.0
    That there was no staff about, I wanted to book for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That there was no staff about, I wanted to book for breakfast but no staff about and no sign to say where staff would be, the bathroom in our room was really small and grubby looking. Very creaky floor boards.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    3.3
    Nearly £100 for room and no breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Nothing we never saw anybody when we came in not sure we was supposed to go nobody was there when we left the bed creaked there was no option for breakfast it was ridiculous £59 per night then both of us was £99

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    2.5
    Very disappointing hotel for the price, left with a feeling of being robbed
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • En Suite Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Small room, not very clean, duvets were very thin, Bedding was off white, pillows very thin, no light bulbs in the bedside lamps, bathroom very small and not very clean, shower was very weak. very dusty. room had a weird smell, like cheesy feet and overall price was not worth it at all and way too expensive for what you got. feel like we have been ultimately robbed . oh and there was NO breakfast....Very disappointed !

    The Kettle in the room was big enough to fill my flask

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    6.7
    Owner made small discount for missing light bulb and ripped...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No on site manager. missing light bulb and ripped pillow case. on suite bathroom was cramped

    Owner made small discount for missing light bulb and ripped pillow case.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    5.8
    It was ok.quite a few thingd need upgrading.i dont thik id book thid place again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Window in room needs fixing,draught coming through.an open window in bathroom or fan.a proper lock on the bathroom door.better wifi

    Location across from the park.quiet.soft mattress

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    6.3
    Caution. Check what room has been allocated before checking in this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room i thought I'd booked (5 months earlier) was not the one i got. We stayed in a cupboard sized room with a sloping ceiling in the attic. Couldn't even sit on the bed as not enough head space. We left after one day as it was too claustrophobic. Total waste of money and very disappointed.

    Location. Very clean and the staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    4.2
    Very poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Because I asked for a room downstairs I got a room two floors up couldn't open windows because they were locked and paying 65.00 and no breakfast wasn't very good won't be using this hotel again also to far out from city centre I have a disability

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    2.5
    Appalling
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had booked two rooms. One was without toilet/bathroom facilities and the occupant of that room had to go up to the shared facilities on the next level. The room and extremely small bathroom on the ground floor room were sub standard. The rooms were smelly and you couldn't open the window which had been blocked out. The cups were chipped and we were expected to go up two levels to fill up the water jug. Within 5 mins we"d decided to leave. There were no staff on sight and the full cost had been taken from our account months ago when we first booked.

    There was nothing to like.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    5.8
    Short stay experience
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • En Suite Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Felt old and dated. No extra bedding if needed. I know it was summer but in August especially Scotland the mornings and nights start to feel cold. My bed was ok but I had an elderly relative with me and the so called quilt on her bed was very thin. Mine wasn’t to bad but we couldn’t swap as she was in the double but I was in a single. So my quilt was no good for her. On the whole it wasn’t to bad. Just needs updating.

    Easy to get to from city centre

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    5.4
    Smelly and worn room, definitivelly need upgrade.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • En Suite Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Smelly and worn room, definitivelly need upgrade. I would not mind old furniture, because sheets and towels were clean, but the smell in the room was not nice :-(

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    2.9
    Uncare about costumers, just want the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They just care about when are you gonna pay, and leave, to tent the room again. Does not mantain thr property, does not care about you, just busynes

    Nothing at all. It is ugly, smelly, no one to give a hand

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    6.7
    Distinctly average
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The photos on the website were 'expertly taken..' The bathroom in the family room was tiny and pretty grubby. And the carpet in the bedroom was wet 'due to a leaking roof' - we were first floor and there was no sign of water marks on the ceiling???? - hmmm?

    The location was pretty good, on the bus route for going in to town and there was free on-street parking. The bed linen and towels felt clean and fresh. The price was reasonable for what was expected.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    2.9
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had the communal toilet two doors down from where my room was, I could hear everything. My bed had a foam mattress and every time I moved the whole bed creaked along with every floorboard. It was very noisy, every time someone came through the front door or walked up the stairs I knew about it. Would I stay there again, not a flipping chance!

    Nothing

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    4.6
    The Military Tattoo was superb, the bedroom is large enough for my bixer dog.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The size of the room measured 8’x5’10” it did not have hanging space small and cramped and did not even remotely come under the word ‘standard’

    The bed sheets were clean

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    7.5
    Good stay, close to Edinburgh's attractions
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was too small and all is packed together...

    Liked the cosiness of the few rooms they have altogether...less rooms means less people going around the hallways during the night, disturbing your sleep.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    9.6
    Non-interfering type of accomodation. Total privacy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Can't think of any shortcomings.

    Quiet location. Far enough from city centre that you can have free parking along the roadside, but near enough that we walked to Princes Street and the Castle. And even nearer walk from Holyroodhouse Palace back to the property. Self- check in and check out was as convenient as can be, and met the host only on checking out.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    3.3
    wouldn't stay here again. nicer accommodation on the same street. cheap should not mean grubby,
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • En Suite Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very very basic. cramped room and bathroom, fruit type flies around the shower plughole. bed linen a bit grubby, no wifi connection despite advertising it, bath towels far too small, squeaky bed, room could be cleaner. dirty paintwork, radiator & toilet pipes. Graffiti on the outside wall (matched the curtains)

    bus stop outside to get into the centre

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    6.7
    It was within walking distance to the castle/ royal mile...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was clogged in our room and there isn’t a front desk/ anyone there to ask for help. There was a phone number to call, but we are from Canada and didn’t have a phone plan for our visit ...so it would have cost us a lot to call.

    It was within walking distance to the castle/ royal mile and had free parking. It was across from a park too, so it was a really nice location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    8.3
    Very good, would use again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Apart from the lack of WIFi, everything else was ok.

    For the price it was a total bargain, but sadly the WiFi didnt work in my room, possibly because I was up on the third level.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    7.1
    nice quiet neighbourhood with a green park just opposite the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    rather poor soundproof, esp. in the room just below the common bathroom - could hear everyone in it. couldn't open the window in my room

    nice quiet neighbourhood with a green park just opposite the entrance, a single room is tiny but has everything it needs, easy and indeed express check in/check out process. for the price you pay this is perfect

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    5.0
    Comfy Bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • En Suite Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny en suite only 3 ft wide. Shower no good and leaked all over floor. Very noisy floorboards from room above. Sugns everywhere saying you will be fined for every little thing. Very tired and old decor.

    Comfy Bed

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    6.5
    Budget but clean sheets
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • En Suite Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lose electric socket and wobbly leaking toilet, small and no wardrobe. Small towels and lots of stairs to room 5

    Lots of buses into centre or ocean terminal for Britannia . £4 bus day ticket. Self service checkin. Free street parking. Cafes and pubs nearby. Park right opposite

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    6.3
    Beds were confortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • En Suite Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were neighbors that appeared to be fighting late at night. Yelling and banging doors no staff around to sort out. Went on for over an hour very loud. Worrying especially with children. When we arrived there were only 2 towels for 4 guests. Phoned and more towels were produced.

    Beds were confortable. Bathroom although tiny was ok.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    5.8
    Cheap hotel so don't expect a lot for your money.....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didnt receive a door code by email so couldn't enter property at first as no-one was there....arrived at hotel at 16.20... 3 seperate phone numbers to contact on front door but no-one answered when called and no-one called back....... I had booked this hotel before a couple of years ago so tried the same code and the lock opened.... Didn't think the room was the cleanest plus the mattress was very soft and uncomfortable but we didn't pay a great amount for the room so we weren't that bothered.... At the end of the day its only a place for us to rest and sleep.....

    The hotel location is only 10 minute bus ride to city centre....... the price of the room and it was quite easy to get parked beside the hotel

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    7.5
    Good place to stay for few nights in Edinburgh
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • En Suite Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom is really small.

    The room is quite small, but comfortable and clean. If you want to have peace and quiet and still be near the city center than you're in the right place.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    9.6
    Great price, easy travel links, comfy!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room had a lovely character with a great view of the park. The en-suite bathroom was clean with warm water and good water pressure. Nice place to spend some down time if you need it during your holiday!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    9.6
    Excellent location in Leith, served by a number of bus...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed felt a bit lumpy for some reason

    Excellent location in Leith, served by a number of bus routes including a couple outside the hotel plus several others within a 5 minute walk. Large tesco nearby for supplies & friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    5.0
    It's a bed for the night!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small double room,dated,scruffy,broken bed,noisy toilet & fan,no sink plug,very basic room...I could easily add more faults.Although it was a bed for the night,it was a £59 not well spent,more like £30

    Clean linen,working TV,Tea & Coffee..And close to the venue we were visiting & ample free parking

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    9.6
    Really nice place to stay, comfortable and peaceful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Really nice place to stay, comfortable and peaceful. From my room I could see the park. There is 2 bus stop only 1 minute walk and in about 15 minutes you can reach the city centre.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    5.8
    Good location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom floor was desperately needing swept and cleaned. Shower curtain very dirty and mouldy. Both cups with tea/ coffee rings around them.

    Good location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    4.2
    Love the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    2 night table lamps 1 bulb. Heat always on. Floor very uneven on one side of the bed. So much that if you had anything over 10” tall on the night table it would fall over. As expected did not look like the posted photos online. Please don’t think of this as an elitist snobs review. Just want a clean reasonably price place to but ours heads down.

    We were only 3 miles or so from the royal mile but it but still at least 20 to 30 minutes by bus. Nice park across the street. 5 minutes walk for groceries or restaurants.Love the

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    2.9
    never going there again . feel ripped off
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty. dusty. Cleaner doesnt hoover or mop.Two stained tea cups in room . Quilts basically disentigrated in a cover way too big. Other peoples hair all over floor and around shower plug. Noisy as no sound proofing whats so ever so when others wake up t9 catch flights at 5 am so are you awake. No mini fridge.

    No staff. You access and leave as you wish so if not happy noone to talk to

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    8.3
    Good Option in Edinburgh
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The check-out is at 10am. If you go out after that, you should paid a penalty (8 pound). And there isn't front-desk; it is necessary to phone them for instruction to enter.

    Comfortable room and clean. Very good bed and pilots. Beautiful neighborhood. There is a big park in front of and public transportation stops near.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    4.2
    After arriving slightly earlier than expected.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress protector ripped and shabby. Bed sheet only just covered edges. Didn’t feel neat and tidy. Shower didn’t feel very clean. Toilet system and sink drainage so noisy. We didn’t want to use the bathroom through fear of waking other guests! Every door opened and closed it would make ours rattle and doors banging. Not a peaceful night to rest and recharge after a very long day.

    After arriving slightly earlier than expected. We went in to check where we had parked was ok. The host kindly offered us information and unexpectedly said our room was ready so we could check in then.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    7.5
    Very enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Only one large towel provided. Smaller second towel for hands or face would be good. Bathroom light worked but shaver socket built into it didn't - was able to use adaptor in standard sockets but all out of sight/reach of mirrors.

    Location - next to huge park called Leith Links. Frequent buses available to city centre, Ocean Terminal, Holyrood, etc. Café for breakfast & restaurants or pubs for dinner short walk away.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    8.8
    It was highly enjoyable, and I would definitely consider it again.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    only one shared toilet and that relatively distant, given two entry key-box codes but only 1 worked (and of course I persisted trying the wrong one)

    location, bus access, room presentation, cleanliness, bed and bedding, furniture, TV, adjustable temperature and ventilation, quiet, drinks facilities, sink, clear and effective arrival instructions, nearby pub

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    8.3
    I enyojed staying at this place, it's located in a quiet place, next to a park :)
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The handwash bottle and the handwash bottle handle by the sink was dirty and slimy (but that was only one thing in the other way clean room & bathroom)

    Plus- the room size was nice, with newly refurbished bathroom.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    7.5
    Absolutely fine for a one night stay, if you are expecting 5 star accommodation book a 5 star hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only seen accommodation staff when I was ready to check out.

    Absolutely fine for a one night stay, good street parking and fine transport links to the centre of Edinburgh.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    3.8
    Choose it your own risk
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet was not clean. Bedsheets, cushions and blankets were not clean either. I found some blood marks on blanket. I could not sleep all night because of disturbance in other room. If the bed and blankets would have been clean I would have adjusted. I would appreciate a small water bottle. I would rather spend 10-20 pounds more to have a good experience rather than sleeping on a untidy bed.

    It was near to my office location. They kept Towel and soap in the toilet. Check in and check out process was easy and hassle free.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.2
    Definitely stay here again in future
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Super night sleep, very comfy bed, very pleasant room, not en suite but all facilities spotlessly clean and attractively presented. TV, Wi-Fi, hairdryer and tea/coffee making facilities all included in the room. Close to bus stop and local shops. Extremely satisfied, good value for money

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    6.5
    Pleasant & Convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was a little too hard for us, but linen clean etc. our room no.6 was on the top floor so may cause a problem for some people. We didn't see anyone, even arriving at 3.30pm, let ourselves in on the secure lock to collect a key in the envelope with our name on in the hall. Only saw manager on leaving next morning. I have to say I have never encountered this before. Our room ok for I night or business person, if staying longer I would pay a little more for other rooms. No breakfast included on our rate but continental was available at extra cost if required.

    We had a good view of the park opposite the guest house on the top floor. Had a lovely 10-15 min walk across the park to Leith & the restaurants. Parking was good as plenty of space outside the house. Room was ok, everything you needed, tea/coffee, toiletries & lovely soft towels. Good value as we only spent 1 night on a genius rate.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    6.3
    i don't know
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Didn't meet the staff at all, spoke only by phone with someone. the shower was difficult to use, very little water came. Bit too far away from the city

    The location was quite and the buses run frequently. Peaceful place.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    8.3
    I checked in contacting staff only by phone - quite convenient.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was tiny, but if you want a bigger room - pay a bit more then 20 pounds. And everything were in the room and worked ok - a hairdryer, an iron, a tv, a kettle.

    A bathroom, a park opposite the property and enough parking space for a car.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    7.1
    A no frills hotel which suited our needs perfectly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a few places on the tiled floor that needed a good clean. The pipes made some noise but it's an old building so to be expected.

    The bed was very comfortable and there was no noise from other rooms. There was ample free parking and the bus stops to and from the city were right outside.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    5.4
    Comfortable but expensive for a single night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the morning we waited to pay the additional fees (late check in and 1 additional person), they told us that they had already charged the fees to the bank card previously provided without consent!! Despite when we phoned before the trip they said payment would not be taken until checked out. And the bathroom door didn't shut.

    The tile floors were nice, despite being cold in bare feet. Lots of space in the room and the room was very nice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    6.3
    It did it's job.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No breakfast option available, although a price was indicated. An immense number of rules. The suggestion that we should go to another floor to fill the kettle. Basic single pillows.

    The location suited our very brief - 10 hours - stay. The room had so many idiosyncracies that it was enjoyable in itself. The staff member that we met was very helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    3.3
    It was very stressful sleepless nights .The worst hotel I bin in, in all my travels
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I can't have good night sleep because in the room next door was 2 men who have the tv on full voice until 1am . A that was not enough they was smoking marijuana ( the smell was everywhere) ,and for some reason they was leaving the room almost every 5 minutes for a 2 hours slamming the room door and the main door on the way out and in. I asked them to turn down the tv volume , but they just ignored me. Because there is no reception or any kind of staff on the premises at evenings there was none to react on their behavior . The next day they start all over again at 6 am. From the loud conversation they have in the corridor just outside my door I understand one of them was actually working for the hotel. IN conclusion : the hotel don't care about the guest comfort or safety ( as a women I dint feel safe in this circumstances). If somebody want a good night sleep or feel safe, or happened to be bigger than the "hobbit" size ( the shower is so small you cant turn around, and I'm just 5 feet, 10 stones ) I strongly recommend find accommodation elsewhere than Thistle Guest House. The whole problem with the hotel spoiled my weekend, because I was too tired to explore

    nothing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    6.7
    Good value budget hotel,fine for overnight stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one very small towel in room. Shower cubicle rather compact. Only continental breakfast available at extra cost which I didn't have,so can't comment on this.

    Auto check-in was efficient.room sufficient size for one person,but maybe a squeeze for two. Warm,clean,safe and quiet the night I stayed.good value budget hotel,o.k.for overnight stay. Good location,on bus routes into city centre or interesting walk up Leith walk to centre and right opposite to Leith links.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    4.6
    The property was secure and right next to the Leith Links...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • En Suite Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It wasn’t as central to the city as expected but that’s my fault for not looking into it more. It can be up to a £10 taxi to Edinburgh Waverley depending on the time. I didn’t see a staff member there once in the two days I was there. No one was there for my check in or check out. I couldn’t figure out how to get when I first arrived and had to call the number registered and the lady I spoke with was super nice and helpful! Just wish I’d actually seen someone in person. Felt like a ghost house haha otherwise facilities and everything was fine.

    The property was secure and right next to the Leith Links Park.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    8.3
    Edinburgh is fantastic and the Scots are a quiet people available and of an exquisite kindness
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The manager Dean is a kind person. I asked him for another blanket and he immediately gave it to me. very comfortable guest house close to transportation and in front of a beautiful park

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    5.0
    One room was basic but had a comfy mattress and all you...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One room smelt very strongly of damp and turning the light on caused flashing blue lights to flash every two seconds - no option to have these lights off and the main light on!

    One room was basic but had a comfy mattress and all you needed

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    6.5
    Good value for money but nothing special. Breakfast option would have been nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Shared Bathroom was on a different level than my room. Was also cleaned only once per day so could get pretty dirty depending on guests...could not figure out how to open the window to let some fresh air in. WIFI was unavailable most time of the day. Also no breakfast option which was sad. Did not meet owner at all due to "Express check-in and check-out" (which basically means collecting and dropping your keys on your own); which can be seen both as convenient and also a little bit impersonal at the same time.

    Room was decent and cleaned every day. Had a TV and was really warm.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    7.0
    really warm and beds comfy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    could have done with another pillow, but there were no staff situated at this guest house so no one to request any additional bedding. the halls did look a little tired, but for the cost of the stay it was perfectly adequate and clean

    really warm and beds comfy

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    4.2
    Not the cleanest
    • Couple
    • En Suite Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room up 2 flights of award stairs with cases wasn't easy. Not the cleanest of rooms. Way to hot and couldn't turn down radiator.

    Dated but cheap

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    2.9
    AVOID THIS DUMP
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything else! Place was a dump! REALLY needs decorating and broken things fixed. Damp stains and doors not closing. Broken window. Kettle and iron in room did not work. Had to use shared bathroom to fill kettle but then it didn’t work. Wasn’t the sockets as my own hairdryer worked. Also had to use shared bathroom as W suite shower flooded floor as soon as switched on! AvFree WiFi that they advertise didn’t work either. Nobody on site, have to let yourself in with a key safe. In morning I found a man changing a bed and asked if he was the owner, his response was “put the key in the box when you leave” I asked again if he was the owner as wanted to report kettle and iron not working, he shrugged and said well they were, I’ll have a look. That was it. AVOID THIS PLACE IT IS AWfUL

    The curtains had blackout lining.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    6.3
    Basic but value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place was pretty basic and the toilet door didn't close but was worth the budget price

    The room was nice and spacious. The check-in and checkout was easy

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    9.2
    Very good value, good location, free on-street parking.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I visited Edinburgh during the very cold weather in late February. The heating system in the room was a bit cool for me (I feel the cold). Fortunately, management provided an extra Duvet and all was well.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    5.0
    Good location but that's all - would not stay again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Never met a member of staff! Stairs (I was on top floor), poorly lit, bannister rail rickety. Bathroom door didn't close. Shelf in shower - fittings rusted and shelf sloping so impossible to use.

    Convenient location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    7.5
    It was a sum how ok per the price, but needs more room for improvement.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress on my bed needs changing as I had body arche every morning throughout my stay. The pillows are very old. They also need changing. The bed frame is very squeaky and makes lots of noise when you are turning yourself. I had a shared bath and toilet room which is upstairs ( second floor). This was very far for me as I need to woke up in the middle of the night to use it and walking up and down on the stairs.

    The property is very clean

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    5.0
    Satisfacory
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room too hot. No breakfast facilities. Small ensuite and shower area/ facility. No wardrobe or clothes hanging space. Sloping ceilings over beds. No staff seen/visible to check on guest. Overall ok, but at £100 per night per room, poor value for money

    Location and not too big a property

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    4.6
    Bed comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • En Suite Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Asked for ground floor room ended up on 3rd floor up windy and narrow stairs. Tea stains on cups, broken lid on kettle, filthy TV remote, dirty shower dial, dust collection on light fixtures in stairway. No personal contact, key left on hall way table. £5 charge for late check in.

    Bed comfortable. Location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    6.7
    Good stay in Leith
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • En Suite Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe the fact that no one is actually there at the receptions. Though for everything they’re available 24/7 on the phone. Store luggage is possible at a cost of 5 pound. This was a bit annoying

    The room was very spacious, clean and comfortable. towels were provided for free. Express check-in. The whole hotel is very clean and quite. Very speed wi-fi connection.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    7.5
    Weekend in Edinburgh
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We thought there may be a problem with the drains after running water, but only noticed when first used.

    Our room was very clean, and suited our needs. The price was very good, and bus service into main shopping area was on the doorstep.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    4.6
    Wouldn’t stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed uncomfortable, bathroom on top floor and lock so poor it was unable to be locked. Poor communication.

    Good location. Express check in was good although I worried incase something went wrong where to contact someone. T.V in room and WiFi.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    2.5
    Nothing don’t ever stay here
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was dirty with stains and when I rang them they even blamed me for staining it and told me to sleep in it as it was only oil stains

    Nothing don’t ever stay here

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    9.2
    Excelent
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The man who worked their was excellent I fell down the stair and broke my hip and had to go into hospital for a replacement thanks again for your wonderfull act of kindness x

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    8.3
    Charming and confortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well, due to some guests bad habits, the manager had to spread notices all around, possible fees included, to prevent misuse of toilets and eletric devices. A shame

    There is a beautiful park in front, a cozy small room, quiet and charming place

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    5.0
    The single bedroom was small, the decoration was dated, the...
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The single bedroom was small, the decoration was dated, the place had these signs everywhere but no employee was ever there and when one finally showed he was really grumpy. The window was single glazed and the wind was insane outside and there was a drift. The room only had a electric portable heater.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    7.5
    A good place to consider for a trip to Edinburgh
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was low. Needed a more comfortable chair

    That I was on the ground floor and the WiFi worked Bus 25 from Edinburgh York Place near to the bus station stopped outside the front door

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: