Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

View vacation packages to

  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. UK hotel reviews
  3. Lothian B&B and inn reviews
  4. Edinburgh B&B and inn reviews
  5. Reviews of Edinburgh Thistle Guest House

Reviews of Edinburgh Thistle Guest House

10 East Hermitage Place, Leith, Edinburgh, EH6 8AA, United Kingdom

#211 of 230 B&Bs and inns in Edinburgh

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 964 hotel reviews

6.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.2

  • Comfort

    6.7

  • Location

    7.4

  • Facilities

    6.4

  • Staff

    6.4

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    7

Verified guest reviews from real Bookers

Real Bookers. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: June 11, 2019

    8.3
    GREAT VALUE
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The guest house is a bit of a way from the city centre but there is a good bus service to the city centre,the guest house was very good value and in a very nice area.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 11, 2019

    3.3
    Was not the room I booked.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    As above Filthy pillows and two stuffed into one pillowcase really!!! Disgusting

    Was not the room I booked. Manager was not onsite. Had to go looking for toilet paper and after an email told to go upstairs to another toilet and take some. Heater didnt work and was told "sorry about that". Hotel.com should really visit the places they recommend thinking of giving hotel.com a bad review would like some compensation for accommodation not up to what they advertise. Will be seeking advice .

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: June 8, 2019

    6.7
    It was convenient and ample for the price I paid
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I booked a room for two and was given two single rooms no problem really as I was with my sister but I had a very tiny room

    The convenience to where I had to be the next morning right across the road

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 8, 2019

    5.4
    A cheap place to stay in Edinburgh
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    So many threatening notices telling stories of guests being fined £150 for all sorts of things. This establishment gave a stronger impression of hostility to guests than of welcome.

    A green space with trees across the road.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 7, 2019

    2.9
    Nothing.
    • Family with young children
    • En Suite Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room is dirty. Bed is not neatly done. The water is cold. And the kettle is not working. Toilet is terribly small that you cant move. Too money making place, dont think of guest welfare. Very unfriendly.

    Nothing.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: June 2, 2019

    6.3
    A very impersonal and disappointing experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Didn't have breakfast. Must have made an error at booking. Did not meet anyone at all till the next day where a rude man just told me to put my key in the box when leaving. Not even a "How was your stay, everything ok" Thankfully my friend didn't take milk, as there was very little milk sachets. The bathroom was a bit dingy. The room was nicely decorated.

    The location

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: June 2, 2019

    9.2
    For this price one of the best options in Edinburgh.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was fine

    For this price one of the best options in Edinburgh. Quite close to the city center in front of park, close to grocery store. Not too big room but for shorter stays its quite ok.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: May 30, 2019

    3.8
    Would not stop again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The place was poor in quality and not safe for example broken sockets and loose, the sockets shouldn't be hanging out and cracked but especially for a family room where kids could be stopping. Dirty bathroom i.e toilet brush. Old information in brochure and tatty signs saying about fines ect. Bedside light didn't work and half way through the evening the main light went out and wouldn't come on but next day it was working again? It was very noisy because of single glazed windows and no staff to get more tea, coffee ect. No staff on site and wasn't going to ring a telephone number just for some more refreshments. Supposed to stop 3 nights, managed 2 nights but we checked out early and ended up moving location down to the Lake District because we couldn't bear another night and had seen the attractions we wanted to visit so we moved.

    Location of property close to city centre

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 30, 2019

    10
    Very calm,peaceful and refreshing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was extremely homely and no fuss... I will recommend it and next time I am in town will probably use it again. Thanks so much,made everything I came to easy and stress free...

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 30, 2019

    5.4
    Expensive considering location and facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It advertises itself as having a wellness centre and that you can have breakfast. Neither was available during our stay. Rooms very basic which we don't mind but at £90 a night that's a bit too steep for what you get, especially as it's not in the city centre. Room looked quite tired.

    Bed was comfortable. Hotel is close to bus stops which take you into the city centre.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 27, 2019

    3.3
    Disappointed and charged room fee upon booking in January!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • En Suite Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beds were very uncomfortable. Hairs in shower. Peeling rusting paint. Hairs on bed linen. Only 1 towel provided per person. Received ‘upgraded room’ but sign said we’d be charged if we used the pillows or bedding from more than the number of people using the room. Squeaky upstairs floors above room. Exposed gas pipe on floor!

    The rate was reasonable

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 26, 2019

    7.1
    Nice park next to the hotel, close to bus station, close to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • En Suite Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No breakfast even announced on booking as option. Small rooms with bathroom including in the room.

    Nice park next to the hotel, close to bus station, close to port.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 16, 2019

    3.3
    filthy, small room with small bathroom. beside there was almost no space
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    filthy, small room with small mouldy bathroom, with a door which can not be closed. beside there was almost no space besides the bed, it was very dirty under it and it smelled like urin or smoke if you open the window. absolutely not recommendable.

    check in was easy

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 13, 2019

    4.2
    Parking and Bus access.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I find it very untidy, dirty. The bed is not made up properly and the kettle is not working. It needs proper general cleaning.

    Parking and Bus access.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 11, 2019

    5.5
    Very good value for money.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Dirty carpet. Really bad drafty windows- I actually thought they were open when I came in. Hard pillows.

    Big enough room. Bed comfi. Own bathroom. Nice opposite Park. Tesco walking distance.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 10, 2019

    5.0
    Did not see any staff the whole time we were there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • En Suite Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Arrived at the agreed time but no one there. Had to ring a number to get access code. Not easy as we had just arrived in the country and had no access to a UK phone or network..

    Location

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 3, 2019

    7.9
    good value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    please clean the lampshades in the hall !!

    Quiet location which if your travelling to Edinburgh by car would be superb as it's on the bus route straight onto Princess street

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 30, 2019

    5.4
    Cheap but not particularly cheerful guest house
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No do not disturb sign in the room (there was supposed to be one). Housekeeping knocked while we were in the room but never came back so we didn’t get the room cleaned. Design of our room meant there wasn’t really any ventilation for the bathroom (extractor fan didn’t sound like it was working) and it smelled strongly of damp when we arrived so we left the window open to vent it and that did improve that. Bed wasn’t too bad but the sheets didn’t smell particularly fresh. Kept tripping over the rug that was at the foot of the bed, which was a bit dangerous.

    WiFi was decent, checkin and checkout was pretty painless.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 30, 2019

    2.5
    Super small room, not like a photo they posted at all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Super small room, not like a photo they posted at all. I found some flies in the room. No one in the appartement so if you don’t have way to make a phone call, you can’t check in. Especially terribly weak connection of WiFi, you can’t use internet in the room because of this.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 24, 2019

    5.8
    The location is ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The beds were not comfortable, the mattresses were too soft and springy.

    The location is ok. Given that Edinburgh is small, it's only 10 minutes away from the center on a bus. The room was clean.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 24, 2019

    6.7
    Cheap accommodation, basic facilities, unhelpful host, overall ok but not great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • En Suite Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was mentioned in the property details that it is possible to leave luggage for a small fee. When we asked the host he refused to accommodate fully (only for 2hrs). Not overly helpful host. The shower was meant to be a power shower but it was rather a treacle - disappointing.

    good size room and comfy beds, nice view to the green park opposite the hotel

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 23, 2019

    5.8
    Not that great, but good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The shower was very poor with no pressure! The switch for the shower was intermittent. Most of the plug sockets were broken. The room is in need of a lot of updating and decorating. The pillows were very hard and very thick! It was mostly clean. The room was incredibly hot even with the radiators turned off.

    The location is lovely and very quiet. There is a bus stop just down the road which has excellent links into the city centre, just 10mins away! Self Check in and out was simple.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 21, 2019

    7.9
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Shared toilet shower with some rooms. No extractor fan

    Great location. Short hop on bus into Edinburgh. Great value room cheap and cheerful. Room was small clean. Would come back

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 21, 2019

    2.9
    Shockingly inadequate
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything apart from the bed. This place needs a thorough deep clean and a revamp. Very tired, worn place which really is not adequate to accommodate guests. Here is a list of all things encountered whlist staying at Edinburgh Thistle Guest House: Dusty lampshade with several cobwebs. Extremely dirty net curtains which did not appear to be a fully complete. They were partial net curtains hung up to nake a full net curtain. The door jammed when closed completely in bathroom, the door was also broken and held together with electrical tape. Radiator did not come on. I was informed heating was on a timee, however the heating failed to come on at all. Dirty and dusty skirtingboard. Plughole was blocked in the shower causing water to rise and thus needing to end the shower to reduce risk of flooding. Lastly, bed sheets were not changed despite the room being cleaned. When enquired with the owner I was informed that sheets are changed every 7 days! So, to summarise this place is ghastly. Very much in need of a revamp and deep cleaning. Definitely would not return to this accomodation.Doesn't match the pictures shown on many websies online... very deceiving.

    The bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 17, 2019

    8.3
    We really enjoyed our stay. The park in front of the guest house is lovely!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were really surprised that there is a self check-in and check-out. Also, we could not get in. You need to call someone to get a code, so it won't be really convenient for those who don't speak English.

    The property is located about 30-40 minutes away from the city centre but we did not find it a problem as we enjoyed the walk whilst our stay. The neighbourhood is nice. Also, there is a bus station just near the building and the bus can take you to the centre for 1.60 pounds - but you will need the exact amount in coins. There is a 20 minutes walk to the yacht Britannia and docks. The room was really great! Very beautiful and clean. There were 3 beds, two single and one double bed - you cannot use single beds if you reserved the room with double bed and vice versa, otherwise you will be charged for that. The heating cannot warm the room up but there was a small heater in our room which was more than enough, so it was ok. There were some tea bags and coffee along with sugar, cups, and a kettle.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 4, 2019

    10
    Great rooms in Edinburgh Newtown.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • En Suite Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I didn't get the code for main door via mail, so I had to call some times before we could check in.

    Great rooms in Edinburgh Newtown. Very tidy and nice room. Very nice people. Will come back again.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: March 31, 2019

    6.3
    The location is excellent, plenty of pubs in the local area...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Shower cubicle is really small and we had to wedge the shower head in place as it wouldn't stay on, we didn't see any staff during the stay so couldn't use any facilities as we didn't know what they were

    The location is excellent, plenty of pubs in the local area and really close to the city centre and as the bus stops outside it's easy to get there

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 30, 2019

    7.0
    Have stayed here last two years but unfortunately this time just not had a pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Unfortunately I didn't like my room this time far far too small no headroom to sit up in bed no chair or handsink bed very uncomfortable and drafty window very noisy for back Street during night not suitable as a bedroom more a cupboard

    Handy bathroom

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 28, 2019

    3.8
    total disaster and never think to go there
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    because of over charge about 40 pounds and attitude of manager was soo rude initially.its booking.com responsiblity to avoid such a stupidity of overcharged beacuse we are giving credit crd detail on their trust.

    unfortunately,i booked wrongly one day before my booked dates and they did not compensate me for that after several requests and at that time double room was available. i stayed there from 25 to 26 instead of 26 to 28.intially was told that they will charge only 10 pounds extra but they charged 50 pounds extra.i would never recommend anyone to go there. I just realized that giving detail of credit card to booking.com is quite dangerous because its to up to them how much they charged.i am really annoyed for their extra ondinary over charged.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 27, 2019

    6.7
    Inexpensive and met my needs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bed mattress comfy but needs replacing as there's a dent in the middle. TV remote, internet and electric socket board by bed didn't work. Slight odour which may come from leak below toilet. All that being said, none of these were a major issue but wifi would have been a problem had I not been able to set up wifi hotspot on my mobile phone. They could do with being much clearer about gaining access in initial email. You have to phone them as PIN code in email doesn't work. What happens if you don't have a working mobile or the ability to read English? That might explain why someone was banging, knocking, hammering, shouting at the door for ages the 2nd night... All that being said, it was cosy, comfy, cheap and suitable for my needs. I wasn't expecting luxury at that price.

    En-suite comfortable, warm room in good location on excellent transport routes. Great value for money. Quiet house.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 24, 2019

    5.8
    Nobody to check us in. Never answered the phone. Room is fine. Shower not useable,didn't drain.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was nobody to let us in to the property. We arrived at the very specific times they requested but there were no staff. A sign on the door requested we call one of he 3 numbers to get the door code. The phone was never answered. We waited a long time before another guest let us in!!! Not very safe!!! We had to do the same for another guest as we left. Also not safe or secure. We had a long journey and were not happy. There was NO attempt to call me back and make sure we had gotten in ok despite leaving voicemails. Not professional. I called 20 times. We also paid for an ensuite room and our shower was not useable. It was completely blocked. The water did not drain anywhere. We had to use the communal bathroom.

    The bed was comfy. The bedding was nice. The room was fine.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 23, 2019

    7.5
    Suited my daughter & myself perfectly for a theatre trip overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Would have liked a hand towel along with the 2 large bath towels. An extra couple of pillows?

    Easy access, own front door key was suitable, location ideal, quiet area

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 17, 2019

    8.8
    I will go back there
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The TV had no channels.. I was with a toddler who sometimes like to watch a cartoon before bed but this was not possible unfortunately. And I couldn't find any staff on site to help with that..

    I was surprised that in such tiny room I had a kettle, a hair dryer and an iron with a small ironing board - huge plus for that! Great value for money overall.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 14, 2019

    6.7
    My Room was fine, extremely small and I was not aware from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My Room was fine, extremely small and I was not aware from the website that I would need to share a bathroom with 3 other rooms. The facilities were tidy and clean though.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: March 14, 2019

    5.0
    Better off to get a hostel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Check in was my full name with a key in envelope left in lobby. Was no wifi in my room as promised. I needed to sit on stairs to send an email. Was no heating and was extremely cold room. There was instead a cheap heater on the floor. TV did not work at all. Just blue screen saying no signal. Shared toilet door didn't lock or even shut. Kettle did not work. No coffee as promised. 3 coat hangers with kettle 5cm under them. My envelope said 'breakfast' but was told I wasn't allow it. Person a floor below me was snoring extremely loudly with TV blasting from 7pm-9:30am when i left. Rang up staff who just laughed and told me to bang on door to wake him up.

    There was a hairdryer in the room. Shared bathroom was modern.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 12, 2019

    4.6
    The location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was one bathroom between 8 rooms, i had to wait 2 hours to use the toilet. I know i booked a single room, but a prison cell would of been bigger. There was no staff to communicate with. The shower wasnt working properly. The net curtain in my room didnt fit the window.

    The location

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 8, 2019

    10
    Excellent as always
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    My bathroom was upstairs so needed to dress before going lol

    Excellent place highly recommend they even have upgraded there towels as I requested for previous visit much bigger now easy to find and easy check in

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 2, 2019

    6.3
    Location, quiet, price, clean comfortable bed, free parking,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very dated, bathroom needs urgent refurbishment as old & mould obvious. Electric socket badly fitted, hanging off wall & unsafe.

    Location, quiet, price, clean comfortable bed, free parking, simple quick check in & out. Excellent for a night out in town.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: February 28, 2019

    5.8
    I do not think I will choose this place again. Maybe when is renovated a bit...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was outdated, not very clean as well. Bathroom looks like no one clean/refubrished it for last 20 years. The water in the shower did not work well as well.

    Location was great. It was easy to check out.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 25, 2019

    2.5
    Big brother house aka Edinburgh thistle guest House
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Watched on cctv entering and leaving the promises Room cleaned when go out when requested not to be done and staff can't read notice left on the door Owner is very rude and aduprt as a bad attitude No one meets or greets you as self check Inn Faults in actual room etc

    Shower was a double to allow the extra room

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 25, 2019

    4.6
    There was mould on the bathroom ceiling and the shower door...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was mould on the bathroom ceiling and the shower door was dirty. There was duct tape in the shower. The whole bedroom floor freaked really badly. The room was too hot and didn't know how to adjust it.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 21, 2019

    2.5
    Unprofesional!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bad communications with host. For accomodation I must have paid extra money. The host is not enough kind and don’t have any understanding. They count a mail as extra service.

    The room is OK.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 16, 2019

    6.7
    Bathroom was fairly good and general cleaning was ok
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was very very small ....imagine Harry Potter's cupboard under the stairs and you will get the picture. However at £16/night it was pretty good value for money.

    Bathroom was fairly good and general cleaning was ok

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 12, 2019

    8.3
    Smoke free.nice& comfy,friendly and adaptable excellent service
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Shower in room 6 is flowing over.not deep enough.Room is next to the joint use bathroom(didnt noticed to much noise from that)on the front side more traffic noise,but its bearable No elevator ,so if you have trouble with that just request a ground level room(excellent service)

    Smoke free!water kettle+koffie/thee utility..iron set.fan with hot and cold function.hairdryer.adjustable heat unit

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 9, 2019

    6.7
    The bed was comfortable and the location was good for free...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I was a bit disappointed it was very worn and old, the bathroom was not clean with tea marks all down the bathroom door and splashed on the tiles of the sink, that came off with just abit of wet tissue so clear lack of cleaning rather than stained. There was also mould/damp on the ceiling and in the shower. Felt very rundown and in need of some TLC

    The bed was comfortable and the location was good for free parking and a short bus journey into Edinburgh

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 9, 2019

    7.5
    Very cheap accommodation No frills Good location for Leith
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    First stay --- TV did not work Second stay Shower drain was blocked so shower tray overflowed A light in the porch area would be useful as the combination lock for late check in was difficult to see

    Very cheap accommodation No frills Good location for Leith

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 5, 2019

    7.5
    It was enjoyable without being over the top
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Sharing the bathroom is ok but I would have preferred it on the same floor as I was on.

    Everything was fine and I enjoyed my time. I spent most of the time away from the guest house and was only using it for sleeping purposes

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: January 29, 2019

    6.7
    Notwithstanding the above, at £16 (plus the fiver), it was...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I had to pay an extra £5 because I checked in after 8pm (or whatever time)

    Notwithstanding the above, at £16 (plus the fiver), it was great value for what I got.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 27, 2019

    8.8
    Pleasant overall. Would come back again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Alas one of the 5 interconnected fancy blue LED lights onthe ceiling wasn't working, which made the other 4 woking lights, flicker constantly. Only solution suggested by manager was to just rely on the table lamp. Not the end of the world but a bit gloomy. Other thing is, noise from the road in front. I suspect it's a listed building or akin to one so perhaps double glazing is not an option.. but regardless it can be a little noisy..

    Everything was clear and simple. No fuss.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 25, 2019

    8.3
    It was in a convenient place, easy to access and only 15...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I didn’t see or speak to any staff other than when I phoned to get the passcode to get into the front door for check in. They said they had emailed me it but I didn’t receive the code before check in. They could look at cleaning surfaces a little more and inside the shower walls.

    It was in a convenient place, easy to access and only 15 mins on the 25 from princes street. Room was a good size and had enough facilities.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 14, 2019

    9.6
    Clean and affordable place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was a bit warm when I first but once I adjusted the radiator it was comfortable when I returned later.

    Easy entry, parking, clean and quiet stay. Nice to have a shower in room, that was lovely. Clean and affordable stay. Thanks again.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 10, 2019

    5.8
    Room could be a little more spacier and warmer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room I had - was not in any way similar to the pictures - I had less than 1/2 metre sq. in front of the bed. Room was freezing cold and no where to hang clothes. I didn't know there was a breakfast room - just seen it in pictures on the website.

    N/a

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 9, 2019

    5.4
    Just cheap
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff was friendly for the 5secomds i met himdurind the checkout, i've never seen him before, just notes by email. So no help, no advise, nothing. Room was small, very small, just the space for bed and a small table. Enouth for a night.l,no more. Bathroom was shared with many rooms, just one for dofferent floors. It was not (just my room, i don't know the others) clean at all:blanket was dirty, as the towel, and the bed made a sostrange nouse, i was afraid it was going to collaps. Leith is not a central position, you need take bus for centre, or wal around 1h...

    Price was really cheap, maybe the reason of all the rest ofthe aspects.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 5, 2019

    5.8
    The bathroom was shared but it was clean and quite nice
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My single room on the third floor had no wifi even though it was advertised My window was not insulated - it was stuffed with paper - but right next to the bed so the room was very cold in January and I was freezing Very little water came out of the shower head I had to pay 5 pounds extra for checking in late (9 pm) and I did not get informed about this beforehand, only when I had already booked the place

    The bathroom was shared but it was clean and quite nice The manager of the hotel helped me carry down my suitcase on the last day Manager was nice and apologized that the remote control was missing from room

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2019

    7.9
    Great value for money, bring earplugs
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Groundfloor private bathroom for double room was really small (under the stairs). As expected rooms are not soundproof at all. Could hear everybody come and go and walk up and down the stairs, the TV was on in the room next to us for the whole evening. bring earplugs!

    The location is great when you are visiting the city by car. Express checkin and checkout were really nice and fast. Great value for money!

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 1, 2019

    5.8
    Location was fine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It just felt a little tired - old carpet. Bathroom could do with an update. Perhaps glass doors instead of the flimsy old shower curtain. Quite dim lighting

    Location was fine. Value for money. Very basic.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 29, 2018

    7.1
    The rooms were clean , free wifi and a park right across the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There us only 3 hours check in time and as we were 18 mintues outside of this time with no international phone minutes, this made things quite stressful for us as we couldn't call. There is no contact with anyone there but otherwise it was very nice and suited all our needs. Good value for money.

    The rooms were clean , free wifi and a park right across the road and a tesco supermarket a few minutes walk just around the corner.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 28, 2018

    8.0
    Good spot for a night or two or a budget traveler
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This small guesthouse was great for a solo traveler like myself. The room was clean. Check in process was easy. The bathroom was super tiny but clean, but good enough for a night or two or people on a budget. Doesnt get much cheaper than this. Overall good value

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 27, 2018

    3.8
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed creaked, as did the floor whenever you moved and the walls were paper thin. There was mould in the bathroom and the towels were frayed and too small. The tv didn’t work and the WiFi was unpredictable. Yes it was cheap, no I wouldn’t go back.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 26, 2018

    5.4
    Never again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was DIRTY, and NEVER CLEANED in my 5 days there! Three times i hung the "please make up the room" sign on the door, and the sheets were never changed.

    The price was good

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 23, 2018

    4.6
    It was a mistake that won't happen again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Where do I start from? the noise, the uncomfortable bed, the fact that the pictures are completely misleading. We actually left the hotel on night before the check out date because we couldn't take it anymore.

    I can only say the location. Other than that, I'm afraid, nothing! It was awful.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 15, 2018

    4.6
    Not again Thankyou
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Cleanliness could have been better, as there was a disposable contact lense on the dresser,screw heads poking up from the carpet gripper,mould on the ceiling,kettle didn't work,asked for another one but didn't get it,

    On a bus route.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 11, 2018

    8.8
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I didn't interact with any staff. It was a good hotel and the checking in and out was easy as it was just grab keys from the table and put them in the box when I left. But I feel some staff presence would have been nice. But other than that really good stay.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 7, 2018

    2.9
    Just terrible experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Worst thing, there's no wifi in the room! I had bugs! It was the size of a closet. I couldn't move. The gate didn't open, then the door didn't open and there was no one to talk to. I really should be getting my money back, I'm sorry. Scotland is so beautiful and the people are so charming, the place is doing it all a nightmare. I'm sorry again for these words, it's all from honesty.

    Just terrible experience. I'm really sorry. To think I came all the way for this vacation. I wish I stayed at home and went to work.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 4, 2018

    9.2
    The bed was very comfortable .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No shampoo or conditioner in the shower. Only seen staff on arrival, no clear reception.

    The bed was very comfortable . The location of the property is very good, easy transport in and out of the city. Very cosy room.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: November 28, 2018

    3.8
    Super basic but more private that a hostel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Drafty, no one present to answer queries at any time during stay, creaky floors,difficult to find on Google maps and mouldy shower.

    Window view over park

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 22, 2018

    9.6
    had a good time there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    had a good time there.Stayed 2 nights and i would not mind to book it again if i happen to be in Edinburgh. Comfortable bed,nice location and also cheap.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 22, 2018

    10
    Amazing value
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • En Suite Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Amazing location, and great value for the price! Clean, comfortable and spacious. Will stay again! DON'T BELIEVE ANY BAD REVIEW FOR THIS PLACE!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2018

    6.7
    You get what you pay for.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wasn't informed one bathroom/toilet for the whole property. Lock didn't work, so felt not safe to use the shower.

    Room was warm Bed was comfy. They have tried to make the rooms inviting.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 16, 2018

    10
    Comfy, cosy, Value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Super easy and convenient way of checking in; Room was huge and really comfortable. Really good value for money, honestly would’ve paid more to stay here

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2018

    9.2
    Impersonal but clean and quiet stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Just a bit impersonal, I was given a code to open front door. Then collect envelope with room and front door key. Other instructions in room, IE: payment & drop off keys before leaving. No on-suite either.

    Quiet location, clean, very inexpensive. Clean and comfortable bed.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2018

    4.2
    Worst guest house we have ever stayed in
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • En Suite Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very dirty room, tiny en suite, with very poor workmanship in room, electric socket hanging off wall, pubic hair in shower and sink on arrival, shower curtain fell off wall when touched (this was sorted though) very poor environment, freezing at night as must be number one tog quilts, never seen such thin quilts! Half used toilet rolls on arrival... the list goes on!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2018

    5.0
    Location is not bad.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I booked 2 days with different room. However, they gave me only same room. Second day, I came back late time, so I cannot complaint them...anyway, they didn't keep the promise, cheating hostess.

    Location is not bad... however only 25 bus go there. There is park in front of guest house.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 9, 2018

    3.3
    Stay clear
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • En Suite Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The cleanliness was not up to scratch and there were screws sticking out of wires. I didnt shower as the whole room didnt look clean enough. Thin duvet and lipstick stain on the floor near the bed.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 5, 2018

    7.1
    The price, the simplicity of going in and out, and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room is small but it was expected and wasn't really a problem because we moved a lot. However, the bed wasn't good, and after the 4 night, we both had some pain in our back

    The price, the simplicity of going in and out, and the location. It was easy to access the city by bus (£4 for a day ticket), the park in front of it is nice and the area is less densely tourist populated than the city center.

    Stayed in November 2018

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!
Browse Edinburgh Thistle Guest House Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: