Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. UK hotel reviews
  3. Fife hotel reviews
  4. St Andrews hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Elderburn Lodges

Reviews of Elderburn Lodges 4 stars

Denhead, St Andrews, KY16 8PA, United Kingdom

#15 of 18 hotels in St Andrews

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 12 hotel reviews

9.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.8

  • Comfort

    9.6

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    9.6

  • Staff

    9.8

  • Value for money

    9.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 1 – 20

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2019

    9.6
    The property had everything you could wish for and more.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three Bedroom Lodge (Sleeps 8)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. It was perfect. Slightly out of town so a car definitely needed.

    The property had everything you could wish for and more. Lots of thoughtful personal touches including two little 'Adventure Teds' for our grandchildren to take and photograph around St Andrews. They were thrilled to find out they could keep them.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2019

    10
    A most enjoyable stay in the area, with visits to relatives nearby.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two Bedroom Lodge (Sleeps 4)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A warning about the sensitive fire alarms: I set them off twice while using the toaster; the second time I had the long-handled broom ready waiting near the kitchen ( the first time I had to go searching through the wardrobes to find one).

    Excellent facilities throughout, including well-equipped kitchen, which we used to prepare a full Christmas dinner with all trimmings. As it was a Christmas visit, the welcoming decorated tree was a nice touch. Overall very comfortable and warm, with plenty of space in the open-plan sitting/ dining/ kitchen area. A quiet setting outside St. Andrews, but conveniently placed for access to shops etc. a few minutesdrive away. The lodges are just below Drumcarrow Craig, an excellent scenic viewpoint; you can see a panorama on www.viewfinderpanoramas.org

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    10
    Superb lodges in a fantastic setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Three Bedroom Lodge (Sleeps 8)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved everything

    The lodges were spotlessly clean and well equipped. Lovely touches such as the toiletries and cleaning products were a bonus, we even had milk and bread. We had the 3 bed lodge, each bedroom had an ensuite bathroom. The rooms were large and the beds very comfortable. It was safe for our almost walking one year old and a travel cot and high chair were provided. He loved watching the bunnies hopping around in the gardens. We also had lodge 6, it has a wet room which was brilliant for our wheelchair user, the whole lodge was perfectly accessible. The lodges are just as described but better.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    10
    Great to stay at Excellent Elderburn Lodges
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing really. Superior place!! Possibly we should have asked for more specific directions- got a little lost- our fault.

    The bread, milk, cereals, etc that were there when we arrived were great! Did not have to run right out after long travels to purchase food for the am. Having a washer & dryer for clothes was a plus as well. The owner was there to greet us on a late arrival. Beautiful setting & quite. Very close to "city" & convenient for our "golfer" Nicely decorated and VERY CLEAN. Wish we could make a yearly visit!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2018

    8.8
    Spacious house to hang out.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Three Bedroom Lodge
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spacious house to hang out. Great views over the fields. Good feel to the place.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    10
    Fantastic weekend, will def be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three Bedroom Lodge (Sleeps 8)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Fantastic location, furnished to a very high standard and decor lovely. Everything thought of down to umbrellas in hallway

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    10
    Elderburn lodge
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Three Bedroom Lodge (Sleeps 8)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not one dislike

    Everything about this lodge was brilliant

    Stayed in August 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2016

    10
    We loved that everything we needed was there at the lodge.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Wifi is variable at best, but we know Anne is doing all she can to try and get something better from the limited network available.

    We loved that everything we needed was there at the lodge. The property was comfortable and versatile and one that we'd happily return to as a family, a group, or as 2 couples. The latter where the bedrooms (and their en-suite) were at opposite sides of the main living areas thus private from one another.

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2016

    8.3
    This was definitely a 5 star lodge.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The only negative things about the lodge were the location and lack of WIFI signal. Although only ten minutes or less from St Andrews town centre there was nothing to do in the vicinity of the lodges. It would have been good to take small children to a play area or even for a walk nearby. There were no pavements so any walking would not be safe even for adults. All activities had to be done by car. We were unable to get any WIFI signals in lodge 4.

    This was definitely a 5 star lodge. The décor and furnishings were superb. Everything you would need for your holiday was supplied by Anne and we did not need to run to the supermarket as soon as we arrived (as we usually need to do). Plenty of toilet paper - very important - and all the small things necessary to settle in.

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    9.2
    Lots of space, clean airy lodge.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Ideally would have preferred double bed rather than 2 singles pushed together. Would also have liked wifi speaker/ ipod doc and dressing gowns. But these are a minor points.

    Lots of space, clean airy lodge. Well equipped. Quiet location. Good views.

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2015

    10
    So luxuriously furnished and equipped.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Having 2 teenagers, the strength of the wifi was frustrating!! Not a bad thing tho as there were games and books there for them to use.

    So luxuriously furnished and equipped. Spotlessly clean. Every room is so bright with breathtaking views. It was so lovely and quiet but 5 mins in the car to the bustle of St Andrews. It was beautiful .

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    9.2
    Really nice play to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Really nice play to stay. Great lodges superbly equipped. Excellent!

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2016

    10
    the quiet location and the comfort of the house.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    the quiet location and the comfort of the house.

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2015

    10
    Well furnished and equipped property in ideal location just...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Well furnished and equipped property in ideal location just out side St Andrews. Very peaceful and with wonderful views.

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    9.6
    Gorgeous house not too far from St.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Gorgeous house not too far from St. Andrews

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    10
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2015

    9.6
    I love the large space and it was very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Wifi didn't work when we stayed.

    I love the large space and it was very clean.

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    10
    Stunning luxury modern clean cottage with so many extras!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Stunning luxury modern clean cottage with so many extras! Everything was of the best - really should be on the cover of an interior design magazine!

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    8.8
    Facilities and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Wifi not great

    Facilities and location

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    10
    Wonderful accommodation and facilities in an ideal location...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wonderful accommodation and facilities in an ideal location close to St Andrews.

There are also 4 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 – 20

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: