Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Elen's Castle Hotel 3 stars

Dolwyddelan, Dolwyddelan, LL25 0EJ, United Kingdom

#3 of 5 hotels in Dolwyddelan

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 89 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 65

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    3.8
    Keep driving
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot water in taps or shower. Were not made to feel welcome at all. Sarcasm and rudeness from the lady owner. Food was expensive and below standard. The room didnt warrant a £90 tariff. I would never step foot in there again.

    Nothing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    9.6
    Really friendly staff, we arrived later than intended and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really friendly staff, we arrived later than intended and they were more than happy to accommodate us in the restaurant even at 9pm. Lovely hotel, very peaceful. Amazing food both dinner and breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    4.6
    Enjoyable but poor value for money. Decor needs freshening up.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Value value for money Some of the hotel seem to have seen better days. Hose pipes actin as overflows in public view on slopping slate roof x 2 (out side room 14 back towards main hotel building.

    Nice ambience and feel. Bed room at the back of the hotel no views what so ever and a top price (over £100 per night)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    8.3
    If you want great hospitality, great food and a beautiful view, then stay here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Four Poster Room With Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing - it was great.

    Everything! The welcome was wonderful, food was fabulous. We couldn't have been looked after better. We will be going back again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    8.8
    Great place to stay, already recommended it to friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing really wrong, only negative thing about the place was that the macerator toilet was noisey when it flushed

    Very nice & helpful owners. Family friendly environment. Great food & nice bar. Mrs was pleased to get porridge for breakfast even though it wasn't on the menu! Plenty of parking across the street. We stayed in room 10, which is actually a mini-suite of 3 bedrooms & a bathroom, ideal for a family as the kids each had their own room (each with a TV). Beautiful location, great if you like walking, cycling or just a site seeing drive. Loads of touristy stuff to do nearby, we were there for Zipworld. Would have also gone up Snowdon but were a month too early for the train to be running.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    9.6
    Would definitely recommend this place, for its friendliness and great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Would have been good to have had pastries available at breakfast.

    Very friendly hosts, happy to give advice on places to go and things to do (including scenic routes). Hotel was clean and the food was good. Location is great - being in a small village with great scenery, but on a main route with easy access to sightseeing destinations.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    4.6
    Hobsons Choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small, you could rest your feet in the shower tray when sitting on the loo! The welcome was not friendly. The hotel is old tired and felt a little damp. The price was exorbitant at £100 per night.

    The breakfast was good, the gentleman in charge was very friendly. The location is good as we wanted to stay in the village and this is the only hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    8.8
    Good family accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We stayed in the 3-br suite, which meant we had space to spread out and our 2 children were able to have a room each. Older style hotel, so the décor is not glamourous but everything was clean and comfortable and the hosts were helpful and friendly. Easy parking. The food was good, including decent options for our vegetarian family. Good location - walking distance to Dolwyddelan Castle and a comfortable drive to Snowdonia.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    7.1
    Fantastic parking facilities. Nice room, very quiet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    plumbing issue in room, mentioned to owner who addressed when we arrived then said they would look into when it happened again. no 'physical' breakfast menu. lots of microwave noises from kitchen during dinner

    warm quiet room. well located for Zipworld Caverns.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    10
    Our 3 days at Ellen's Castle was very special and made even more memorable by the owner/staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall there were no dislike

    The location of the hotel was excellent for access to North Wales. The accommodation was very comfortable and there was good quality food both for breakfast and evening meal. The rooms (we had 3 rooms) were comfortably furnished and the bed was very supportive, just as we like it. I will be staying there again and will recommend to my friends

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    8.8
    Very friendly reception.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very friendly reception. Helpful with advice re tackling Snowdon. welcoming to children. Supplied a travel cot. Excellent supper. exceptionally welcoming

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    8.8
    A very comfortan
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast room was a little tired looking and some of the carpets upstairs had seen better days. The menu in the restaurant was also a little limited but the food was well-cooked.

    The room was comfortable and very clean. we were served with a really well-cooked breakfast every morning and the breakfast room has a great view. This property is well positioned for all that Snowdonia has to offer.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    5.0
    Disappointed stay!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price for an old and shabby establishment. I needed alan-keys to tighten the bed and wall paper hanging off the walls in restaurant with damp.

    It's location was excellent with slate caverns mines nearby and gorgeous scenery.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    9.2
    beautiful location in N.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    beautiful location in N. Wales, great hosts who looked after us. The room set up for a family of 5 was great, 3 seperate rooms with a bathroom. Good breakfast and dinner

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    7.5
    Comfortable in a beautiful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The free WiFi was terrible and unusable in any area of property (Although having a good BT router)

    Staff were lovely, Breakfast was good with polite service, the room was comfortable and standard with clean spacious bathroom.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    9.6
    Cosy place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Freindly staff and the off road car park with plenty of space is great. The little bar and restaurant is fantastic. There's a spar shop walking distance away aswell for convenience.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    7.9
    Very comfortable, nice location, perhaps priced slightly on the high side.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Four Poster Room With Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    I think the price was maybe a bit too high, even though I have only good things to say about the place.

    Very comfortable bed. Clean and well furnished.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    8.8
    Good Hotel for Snowdonia touring
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    cosy and welcoming. Great having local artists displaying work. Intriguing bar - kept us talking about all the different items there. Fresh home cooked food.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    10
    Best B & B ever!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Inn keeper was fantastic! My son left his treasured baseball cap at the Inn and Adam sent it back to us!! On site restaurant is superb!! Very serene surroundings!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    10
    Lovely place
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My bike should have started in the morning but it didn't Adam did as much to help as he possibly could. In the end it was the clutch sensor... Thanks Adam

    The staff are lrobably the most helpful people I have met. The food and the beer was as gorgeous as the location!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    8.8
    Very pleasant stay, which exactly suited my purpose. Thank you
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed was a bit soft - but that is possibly me and my back!

    Staff and other guests were very pleasant, which made being a lone traveller much more comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    5.0
    Very short on space in the family suite.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Impersonal. Closet Loo and shower. Separate sink in the bedroom. Adjoining bunk room for children was minuscule. Felt very cramped for 4 people.

    Good central location for Snowdonia

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    7.9
    Very comfortable and hospitable family run hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The en-suite shower and WC (room 6) was the smallest I have ever seen on land. I've seen smaller on some boats but that's another matter! However we did manage in the very limited space and we did appreciate the fact that the hot water supply was faultless and powerful. A built in shaver point would have been useful and, on mentioning this, we were given (lent) an adaptor but the nearest socket was not very close to the mirror.

    Although the hotel was full throughout our stay, the proprietors and their staff all went out of their way to be helpful, welcoming and informative despite clearly being very busy looking after the guests. The bed was very comfortable and the room, although decoratively slightly tired, was well equipped. The provision of a kettle and the selection of teas and coffees in the room was very welcome. There was more than the usual two of everything so we could have a late night drink as well as morning tea. The delightful building is old and full of character but this clearly causes complications when it comes to maintenance and cleaning. The hotel is on a main road but, despite this, we found the room to be very quiet and peaceful with very little noticeable traffic noise, even though we had the window open all night. The breakfasts comprising a good choice of cereals, fruit juice, full fried meal including a vegetarian option, coffee or tea and toast were excellent with more than enough to start the day. It was clearly fresh and cooked to order and, despite this, was served very quickly and efficiently. We ate dinner in the restaurant twice and, again, it was excellent, home cooked and good value with excellent service. My wife is a vegetarian and, as there was only one vegetarian main course on the menu, she had the same meal on both occasions. However she really enjoyed it, so was happy to repeat the experience! Being retired we usually try to avoid the popular holiday destinations during school holidays but this time, due to home circumstances, we stayed here in August. Bearing in mind that this is a time when prices are at their highest, I feel that this stay was very good value. It was my first time in North Wales but, next time, we shall try to come out of the peak season when places are less crowded and prices lower.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2016

    5.0
    Expensive for what it was.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Expensive for what it was. Very "tired and scruffy" decor but it was a very old building. Didn't get off to a good start as hotel had overbooked us and they had to send another couple away who had our room!

    the location was lovely.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    10
    I enjoyed my stay I felt like I was very welcome It was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I enjoyed my stay I felt like I was very welcome It was clean tidy and very comfortable

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    7.1
    Very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sink in the bedroom instead of the on suite

    The restaurant bedroom was cosy

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    10
    Delightful! Made us feel warm and fuzzy! Lovely owners, great food and cosy little bar with fire.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect!

    It's a beautiful, cosy, character hotel in a totally unspoilt, peaceful valley in Snowdonia. Idyllic!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    9.2
    it was great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    it was great value for money

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    10
    Cozy, comfortable accommodations in a lovely village
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Four Poster Room With Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cozy bar, helpful staff, delicious meals, location on the edge of a quiet, friendly village.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    7.1
    Ok,
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not very friendly

    Close to Ellen's castle

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    8.8
    Lovely location, easy parking and quiet room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tea/coffee basic and not enough milk. Wifi not contistant. Bit pricey for 3 stars.

    Good sized twin room. Old character hotel.lovely location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    7.9
    Brilliant location and room, prefect staff and food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could do with upgrade on the room

    Excellent location and brilliant staff and food

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    8.8
    Friendly family hotel with delicious food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very welcoming family. Delicious dinners and breakfasts served. Cosy bar for a drink in the evening.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    9.6
    Couldn't fault it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The warm welcome, the clean room and the great food.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    10
    Fabulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely beautiful surroundings, great clean rooms, and food was lovely. Great people, would stay again

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    10
    What a place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing

    Owners were very helpful with great advise

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    10
    Great place to stay helpful staff and lovely food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was great

    Friendly staff great food

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    10
    Excellent weekend break
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 4 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Friendly owners, clean comfortable rooms and good food

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    10
    Excellent venue in a lovely location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room layout was ok but didn't make the most of the available space

    Mattress very comfortable

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    10
    More than best
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Three-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice breakfast, perfect room, best service. :)

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    8.3
    We stayed 3 nights for a walking holiday, the hotel provided every comfort and convenience required
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    interiors could do with a make over

    Cosy bar, good home cooked food in the restaurant, great location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    9.6
    Thank You Elens Castle Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food was excellent, Ellen was great and very informative. my wife is a Llewellyn and much was learned about Llewellyn The Great.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    9.6
    Lovely place
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Three-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    8.8
    Recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean and welcoming place to stay with amazing views. Also being run by fun and friendly people

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2016

    4.6
    I slept on the worst matress all of my life.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Four Poster Room With Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I slept on the worst matress all of my life.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    7.5
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed too soft for my liking.

    Friendly atmosphere.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    3.8
    Convenient on route location but room conditions can be improved
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Soft & uncomfortable mattress / bed, noise from boiler & kitchen downstairs, very small shower cubic

    Convenient on route location.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    10
    STAFF VERY NICE👍👍👍
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothink.all good thear.

    owner and staff is very nice and polite.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    8.8
    Beautiful Inn!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    very beautiful location in the middle of the national park. Good food and confortable room

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    9.6
    Well in comparison to other hotels the cost for room could...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Well in comparison to other hotels the cost for room could be cheaper.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    8.3
    The food is excellent and great value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The food is excellent and great value for money. Exceptionally comfortable bed.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    8.8
    Comfortable stay :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Three-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cosy, comfortable and friendly staff.....

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    9.6
    The room and food were very good and the bed comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    The room and food were very good and the bed comfortable. Adam and Helen were great hosts and Adam found one of my husbands old friends so that really made his day.

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2015

    10
    Wonderful hotel to stay in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wonderful hotel to stay in. Everything was clean and the room very cosy. Comfortable bed and strong shower. The check in process was easy and the owners very friendly and accommodating. Dinner was good and hanging in the bar was a nice treat. Would recommend this little gem to others.

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    6.7
    Excellent location, staff polite and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Felt the price of £105/night was very high considering the place was in need of some serious quality decorating, seems a little run down and would benefit greatly with an overhaul to bring it up to standard

    Excellent location, staff polite and friendly

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2015

    9.2
    Beautiful old building with lots of character, lovely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beautiful old building with lots of character, lovely sitting in the bar area and enjoying a drink with locals and visitors... would recommend it to friends.

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    5.8
    great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Owners were rude. Not welcoming enough, short answers and very miserable. Un-helpful

    great location. Staff are nice, bed was comfortable and great bathroom.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    7.5
    Food was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room was quite noisy,you could hear every word from the bar below.

    Food was very good.Bed was very comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    7.1
    Homely atmosphere in a nice location with friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Homely atmosphere in a nice location with friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    9.6
    Excellent location for walking and public transport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Broadband not available in our room, only in public area.

    Excellent location for walking and public transport. VERY dog-friendly.

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    7.9
    Lovely friendly welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Lovely friendly welcome.

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    8.8
    Spacious bedroom & bathroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Spacious bedroom & bathroom

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    8.3
    Food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Food

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    8.3
    Good locally cooked food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good locally cooked food. Friendly service. Good value for a 4 poster bed. Beautiful location

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    9.2
    Friendly atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No other eating placies within walkingdidistance

    Friendly atmosphere

There are also 33 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 65

Guests also reviewed these properties: