Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Windermere Park 4 stars

New Road, Windermere, LA23 2LA, United Kingdom

#67 of 75 B&Bs and Inns in Windermere

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 682 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    7.1
    The Lake District was enjoyable and the convenient location of the hotel was helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Creaky staircase and the wooden floor board was a worry. In general, the hotel seemed old and needs a good refurbishing and provide better amenities.

    Location in Windermere and Bowness was good; full English breakfast satisfyingly cooked; and the staff was friendly and cheerful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    8.8
    Staying in the beautiful Lake District
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Payment method. Have commented on this previously as we stayed a total of 6 nights here. Be aware that they charge your credit card of record when you check in so if you want to pay by some other method you need to speak up and tell them or it automatically will be charged to your credit card right then and there. Other wise there is not much I can say against the 'hotel'.

    I have already commented on this facility in a previous assessment. The staff were friendly and accommodating. You can get washing done - at a nominal fee - which is good if you are traveling for any length of time. (Would suggest Mountain Goat Tours for day trips out and about in the Lakes and there is one to Yorkshire that is also good! They are informative and hit the high spots of the Lakes and pick up at Windermere Park.) It's great advantage is that it is near to the train and bus stations and easy access to the many delightful areas of the Lake District even by public transport (buy a day travel ticket - it does save money!)

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    8.8
    Great location and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Be aware - I was not! When you arrive they automatically use the credit card on record and make the charge without indicating this is going to happen. I know there was a sentence in the material received but when you are checking in these things slip your mind so a question about how you are going to pay would be helpful. We were splitting the cost of the room and one was paying by her credit card and I was intending to pay in cash. When we went to pay the bill it had already been charged fully to my credit card and could not be reversed! Thankfully the bill did not become due prior to my return home (which could have happened if this was near the beginning of my trip.)

    We actually stayed here 6 nights and were completely satisfied with everything. We had a ground floor room which was good as there isn't a lift in the building as it is an older building and trying to keep the ambience of the design. It was very close to everything and the ability to get to other areas in the Lake District. (As an aside I would highly recommend Mountain Goat Tours for day trips out and about in the lakes. They pick up at Windermere Park also.) The staff was friendly and accommodating and facilities up-to-date. Would be nice to have had someplace to get a drink in the evening but this of course would add to the cost of running the facility.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    9.2
    Staff are very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff are very friendly and helpful. Full of local information and advice. Helen and Georgia were particularly helpful and assisted us with our dogs. Would definitely recommend this place and would stay here again if staying at windermere. Well done and keep up the good work. Thanks again.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    10
    From Australia with Love
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could not fault anything with the property.

    The Bathroom was amazing! Biggest & most comfortable! Beds were clean & comfortable! Off street parking which was free. Overall has been the best BnB so far. Seems to be getting better the further north we go!! Can’t beat the Lakes District ❤️

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    6.3
    Comfortable large bed, good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast service on the first day was poor. Insufficient toiletries and loo paper, had to steal loo paper from another toilet at the reception area.

    Comfortable large bed, good location. Large TV

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    7.1
    friendly staff and location and would stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    condensation on windows in the morning, the decoration needed to be updated as the rooms, beds had seen better days

    friendly staff and location and would stay here again

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    5.8
    Need more cleaning in the rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff wasn't welcoming when we arrived and I didn't get a single smile from them during the 3 day staying. When we got in the room there was a big disappointment. Absolutely not what we saw on pictures. Made the whole staying uncomfortable. The sign outside said the hotel was fully booked so we didn't even try to get a new room. I upload some pictures. They will say more than words can. (Moldy curtains, moldy walls, plaster was missing, no cleaning behind the bed, no shower gel replaced after we finished it, dump wall, broken window) All the pictures (4) of the room! Wardrobe was smelling. We also had to wait 15-25 mins for breakfast. Our room was near the staircase so we heard people coming in and out. (2nd floor)

    The location was great. Bit far from the lake if you are walking but only 2 minutes away from some great restaurants and Sainsbury's. The bed however was comfortable and the duvet warm. The bathroom was good. Tea, coffe, hot choclate, biscuit every day.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    9.6
    Enjoyable and relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Only minor problem was that our bath drain was blocked for a while, but this was quickly sorted when pointed out to staff.

    Myself and my wife booked this b&b for a long weekend of relaxation and we were not disappointed. The b&b was in a great location, within easy walking distance of local restaurants as well as Lake Windermere (approx 1mile). The local restaurants were great and the locals themselves were very friendly.The b&b itself was clean, staff were friendly and welcoming and the breakfasts were great. Would def return.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    10
    I enjoyed my stay, and I would definately recommend this hotel. Yes, I would stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms are little dated, windows in the room I stayed in were in desperate need of repair, I was worried about opening them in case they fell out. Which didnt help with the noise from the street below, which is a main road.

    The staff were lovely, nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast was good, full english (vegetarian style) on all three mornings was delicious. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Always had hot water, any time of the day or night. Only a mile and half walk from Bowness.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    7.1
    Overall it was cost-effective stay while off-peak
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's very noisy when the room is just right next to a main road. And it's also above hotel main entrance. When people get in and out of the hotel, you can hear the sound of closing doors, and even you can feel the floor is shaking.

    Family room has the good big space while it's on the top floor(loft). The room is exactly looking as the same as photo showed. Bunk Bed is kid's favorite. And the hotel location is close to Windermere train station.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    10
    Beautiful property in excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property could do with a little updating, but nothing major.

    The staff were really lovely. The reception area is beautiful and the location is excellent.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    10
    Very pleasant experience and we will be going back in the future.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a light fitting in our room that was missing the screen so the wires were exposed and it was right over our heads in the bed. This will need fixing as it wasn’t very safe to switch on.

    I liked the overall style of the B&B and the breakfast and service from the staff was excellent.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    7.5
    It was okaY but it does require investment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room (15) did have damp on the walls and the tap was really hot,even though there was a sign saying so. Kids and the elderly cone be injured with how hit us was. The shower door did'nt open easily. A bit of investment will be needed at some point. Obviously they know this!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    9.6
    Excellent, would definitely recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, it was all good

    Nice friendly staff, room was lovely, spacious and the bathroom was excellent. Lovely full breakfast in the morning- really enjoyed the stay

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    9.2
    The friendliness of the staff especially Jan and Georgia.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The 35 stairs to top rooms. Only 4 ground level. No lift.

    The friendliness of the staff especially Jan and Georgia. Excellent breakfast choice and served hot. Great location and parking available.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    10
    Very comfortable beds lovley staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable beds pet friendly very large room with two television one in children's space and one near adults bed . Very large bathroom with walk in wet room and bath .perfect for families with pets.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    6.3
    The location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was on the second floor. The carpet leading up the stairs to it was thread bare in places. The walls in our room had stains on and the paint was flaking in places. One morning guests were been told to return later for breakfast because there wasn’t enough tables. We couldn’t believe it . Then on the last morning of our stay we went down for breakfast and was told the same. When we returned 10 minutes later other people were been told there was now where for them to sit. The staff said it was because everyone had gone done for breakfast at the same time. My husband and I have travel a lot staying in different hotels/ guest hoses and have never been told to “come back later” for breakfast and I think this is bad practice.

    The location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    6.7
    Location good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    a few repairs were needed in and around the room, the first lady I met on reception was anything but welcoming so we went off for the day and returned later that afternoon

    the young girl on reception and again serving us breakfast was very sweet, the location was good for visiting the lake and the town

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    7.9
    Good location, helpful and friendly staff and good food. Great for a short stay in the Lake District
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing of note!

    The hotel is located in a great location if you're content to walk a little to the Lake, but there are restaurants (licenced) and take aways and supermarket close-by. We really liked the location and the staff were very kind and helpful. Great for a weekend or 3 day break!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    10
    Well worth visiting the Lake District- Windermere. Would highly recomend Windermere Park
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing that we didn't like. It was all good. We enjoyed our holiday

    Good range of food available on the breakfast menu. Staff very helpful and friendly. Lots of eating outlets around about. Public transport really good to take to surrounding towns/ villages.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    7.5
    excellent location and very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing

    excellent location and very friendly staff. less than 2 min walk to local shops pubs and park. cleanliness in room was excellent and breakfast was fab. would recommend to friends and family. happy to stay again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    7.1
    Had a nice stay, feel a lil over priced but I guess being the lakes that reflects on pricing and the
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpets very worn towards the upper part of hotel, no WiFi connection if your in Top part of hotel, Lil bit dated was ok for a 2 night stay

    The hotel staff were lovely, the breakfast was nice, it’s about a 20 min walk to lake Windermere, u have a good selection of shops, bars an restaurants on your doorstep

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    10
    Breakfast was superb, great choice, juices, toast &...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was superb, great choice, juices, toast & plenty of different jams, as much tea or coffee as you want. Staff were great, nothing too much trouble, would stay here again without a doubt.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    9.6
    Really close to Windermere centre and right next to the bus...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in room 4 which had recently been renovated however the bed had a dip in it and wasn’t the best. That still wouldn’t deter us staying again as everything else outweighed this.

    Really close to Windermere centre and right next to the bus stop for Bowness. Staff were lovely and breakfast was good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    6.7
    Staff were really friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms need updating. Didnt like the sink being in the bedroom instead of bathroom. Shower power and heat control was awful

    Staff were really friendly. Close to town and approx 10 min walk to the lake.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    6.3
    Sadly underwhelmed. This should be classified as a guesthouse not a hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This should not be classified as a hotel, it's really a guest house. Everything is very tired and needs updating, the room especially. Breakfast was not good, mushrooms were cold, the sausage poor quality and insipid looking, the bacon was flavourless.

    The staff were really helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    7.9
    Knowing we had a nice place to stay made all the difference
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to say on this topic

    The hotel is situated very close to shops and restaurants but not so as to hear any noise. There is a bus stop very close by for transport to Bowness for boats on the lake. We got a good night's sleep and a good breakfast in the morning

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    7.1
    The breakfast was good, and location is great, can stay in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had a loft room, which was very small, I couldn't walk round the bed without crouching down and it was very warm, not much room for 2 people to get ready.

    The breakfast was good, and location is great, can stay in windermere or walk to bowness.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    8.3
    Great location, ample parking & overall good value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When entering the hotel the décor of the reception leads you to believe the bedrooms will be as grand as the entrance. The bedrooms do not match this, but are still comfortable with modern fitted bathrooms.

    The hotel was in a great location. It was an added bonus that Parking is available. The staff were friendly and the breakfast was nice, with plenty of filter coffee.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    6.7
    Average property, tired, clean and needs redecorating
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old carpets, average room service, WiFi connection very poor in room no 14 where we stayed. The staff couldn’t do anything about it and said the walls are thick. Even though the WiFi box is on every floor.

    Clean and tidy. Comfortable bed and clean bathroom. Great breakfast and very Friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.1
    Great Location, OK stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was terribly noisy - plumbing shook and made horrendous noise which is not conducive to a relaxing morning. Noise started at around 630am then there was just no chance of sleep.

    Great location, room was nice and bright and good bathroom, great sized shower

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    10
    Perfectly situated for our purposes, Windermere Park was...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfectly situated for our purposes, Windermere Park was probably one of the best we have stayed in over the past 2 months! Will definitely stay there again if we're ever back in the Lakes District. Thanks Fiona and staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    7.5
    Location is awesome
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a beautiful, small family run place. I was perhaps expecting a better breakfast, and better service during the breakfast, but still it was kind of OK, commensurate to the small team that was struggling to manage.....

    Beautiful place.... Amazing location... History personified.... Made one feel a part of the old victorian era. Washrooms were spotless, clean and contemporary. Had fun overall.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    7.1
    Room used as a base only. Wasn't the kind of hotel where you would like to spend much time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel itself was very stale and needs updating- new furnishings, carpets etc. needed. On arriving, we were shown to our room which hadn't been cleaned. Receptionist full of apologies and made us a pot of tea while waiting. Even when room was finally ready, it wasn't as clean as I would have liked.

    Best thing about this hotel were the staff. Very helpful and jolly. Also, breakfasts were good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    8.8
    excellent breakfast, good parking, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    broken window in bedroom, which was just boarded up, curtains hanging off the rails due to the window, I think we should have been told when we got there about the window, but it did not spoil our stay & we would stay there again

    excellent breakfast, good parking, friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    6.3
    Clean and tidy but would prefer to stay in the room as seen on the internet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked 2 rooms. One room was far superior to the other despite paying the same money. Very little room to put suitcases.

    Good position to sightsee. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    10
    Brilliant
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Friendly greeting on arrival , staff were friendly and helpful ,excellent location for the lakes easy walk into Windermere for cafes ,resteraunts and bars Weather was sunny and fabulous

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.2
    A fantastic enjoyable weekend. Would definitely recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is an excellent bed n breakfast. Staff are so attentive and rooms are very comfortable. Beautiful location and free parking. Will definitely be returning.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    4.2
    Exceptionally poor value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paint peeling off bedroom walls, threadbare carpet, mouldy on window frames and curtains. Toiletries and teabags/milk not refilled. Borrowed iron which was dangerous. Quilt dirty. Nowhere to sit outside. Very poor value for money. Poor ventilation.

    Break fast good. Tasty bacon and sausage and eggs.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    EileenanDes
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent position for access to and around the lakes and places of interest. Property was clean and tidy staff are excellent and very helpful. Will in likely hood book again in the future.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    7.5
    The position of the guest house is good 2minutes walk from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room should be for one person with single bed not double to have more room around bed because of wooden beams especially if you're nearly 6ft tall

    The position of the guest house is good 2minutes walk from the village centre

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    7.9
    The hotel was rather tired but it was clean, had everything we needed & the staff were great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was 'rather tired' but it was OK.

    The staff were very friendly. The room was clean had everything we needed and the bed was very comfy. A basic but very good breakfast. I would be happy to stay here again. Hotel was in a great position to walk into Windermere and it has its own car park.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.6
    Windermere Park
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower. The water pressure was really poor.

    Very friendly staff, great location so close to town, superb breakfast. Great room too, putting aside the shower issue.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    9.6
    Tremendous
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was quite hot throughout the day and night so could benefit from a fan or air con or something like that.

    The staff were very friendly and more than happy to help with anything asked of them. Hotel was situated right next to town centre and a lovely 10 minute walk from the lake itself. Overall it was a lovely place to stay and will 100% be back for another visit in the near future!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    9.6
    Trip of a lifetime
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    We very much enjoyed Windermere and staying here made it all the better. It was very comfortable and pleasant. The staff were friendly, and the facilities well looked after.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    9.6
    Lake district great and hotel good location to get to places from
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We would have preferred the toilet and basin to be cleaned daily and to have clean water glasses daily

    The bed was comfortable and the breakfast was great. The staff were friendly, helpful and nothing was too much trouble.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    7.9
    loverly hotel in a great location- excellent staff and a lovely breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the shower did not have any pressure in the water. whilst lovely and hot was not powerful

    Excellent locations and lovely clean hotel. recently decorated but the furniture in the room was in need of replacement, as was the leather window seat.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    8.8
    Due to mistake of reservation system, we got upgrade to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    2nd bed was little bit bent so it was uncomfortable.

    Due to mistake of reservation system, we got upgrade to suite room. Room was really big for 3 people and even it has bath & shower and tea room. A kind staff provided heater for us when we requested. Parking space was enough.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    5.0
    We stayed for my partners birthday ,, it was not made 100%...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed for my partners birthday ,, it was not made 100% clear that there was no bar facilities but to look at the pictures ya can clearly see there is ,,, we were put in a room at the back of the hotel and the flies from the bins annoyed us all night long

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    Pleasant and comfortable with nice friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor needs freshening up, carpets and furniture a bit tired, but comfortable and clean.

    Pleasant if a little shabby, sadly no garden but great location and staff very nice and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    6.7
    Reasonable breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms very hot. Uncomfortably hot. Only 2 fans available for all 17 rooms according to a member of staff.

    Reasonable breakfast. Unfortunately no porridge available.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    4.6
    Great location but wouldn't go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lounge area no longer available (one of the reasons I booked here). Very low ceiling in bedroom was impractical.

    Good breakfast and friendly, helpful staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable B&B very close to Windermere town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A comfortable, clean B&B two minutes walk to Windermere town. Our room was at the very top so there were lots of stairs to negotiate but this was not a problem for us. Breakfast was excellent in a lovely sunny room. Plenty of off street parking as well.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    7.5
    Wide range of things available for breakfast and were happy...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wide range of things available for breakfast and were happy to meet any requests. Room was clean and had good facilities. Staff were always very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    8.3
    Pleasant two night stay but I wish we could have got a freshly renovated room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we were given wasn’t renovated (except the bathroom. Bathroom was ok) recently and it looked a bit old. Overall it was tidy in the room however, the carpet looked like it wasn’t vacuumed for a while. In addition we had an impression that our room wasn’t fully cleaned after the first night and only our beds were made up and additional toilet roll provided.

    Nice & friendly staff, good location, we were able to use the hotel’s fridge to keep our Cartmel’s sticky toffee puddings in a cool place.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    10
    We loved it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had a wonderful room, spacious, spotlessly clean and with everything we needed. The staff were very helpful and friendly. Laundry service was available at very reasonable rates. Breakfast was excellent. We would recommend staying at this property without reservation.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    5.4
    Friendly staff, nice breakfast, good size room (family room)...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was tatty, shower pressure was low due to broken shower head and paint peeling off the ceiling, the bathroom really let it down. For the price I paid I was expecting better :-(

    Friendly staff, nice breakfast, good size room (family room) plenty of parking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.8
    Very nice hotel, but lacking certain touches.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When we arrived they changed room for us which was nice, but it was not quite ready so we left our luggage in the breakfast room. We went out all day, would have been a nice touch had they taking the luggage up stairs. Breakfast was good, but would have been better with for example bread that was not just basic supermarket bread.

    The location was excellent and the room was very nice. Parking was easy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    5.4
    Hotel in good location, but poor quality standard (Not modern) rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The whole property needs to be modernised, especially the rooms. Our room 9 was quite small for a double. The sink was opposite the bed away from small internal bathroom, with very small shower cubicle, NO Bath. There was dust on light fittings in room, & hairs left on bathroom wall tiles under towel rail. The Bed was a small double, very uncomfortable. Room cleaning was not done on second night, had to ask reception for milk, Tea bags, Toilet rolls, the young member of staff in reception said the cleaner forgot to service room ? This Hotel has recently had a name change, I think the owners should worry about the quality of the experience for its guests first, it was not value for money.

    The Location of Hotel, was good for Windermere town centre & lake area. First morning Full English breakfast was excellent, with extra toast, but the butter was a bit scarce..

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    7.9
    relaxing, quiet, friendly, but needs to be a bit more professional in running the hotel
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the outside of the hotel very uneven slabs and very untidy to sit out and chill

    i was very pleased with the breakfast, although it could have had more choices on the hot drinks at breakfast. plus, full cream milk or cream. bedroom was nice, although staff did not come to make beds each day. surroundings outside, a let down!!! very dirty, old garden furniture and dirty, uneven paving slabs and un finished work around the new sign- dangerous!! needs a gardener!!! that was my biggest let down as it was so sunny to sit out, could do with a hot and cold vending machine in reception too, + maybe a small fridge in rooms. otherwise pleasant enough, 5 out of 10 on returning.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    5.8
    Standard was acceptable for the price we paid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small double room in loft space on 2nd floor. Rooms a bit tired but now under new management who have started refurbishing some areas.

    Excellent location, good parking

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    6.3
    an enjoyable stay which would have been better if I was not sleep deprived
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The curtains were appalling. Bits of light cotton which did not quite fit the window. The light streaming through at daybreak made sleep impossible.

    The location was good - close to centre of town. Good breakfast though not enough staff resulting in delays (they were very busy!)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.9
    Nice and pleasant for one night stay. Cosy and good value but wouldn't rush back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot breakfast 6/10. Room was ridiculously hot. Weather was glorious but only a tiny window, maybe offer a cheeky fan when the weather's hot.

    Bed was comfy. Breakfast room was lovely.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.6
    Most enjoyable & a Very pleasant stay .And so close to the town itsellf
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift....& nothing to put your things on in the bathroom.....which isn't a big thing I really.

    The fact that my husband & I are mid 70s,we had been put in the top room at the top of winding stairs...Thank goodness we got put into room 4 ground floor.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    7.5
    Very pleasant and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The WIFi didn't work in the bedroom. It was a bit noisy as the hotel is on a main road and minor one at the side.

    Very friendly and helpful staff. The location was in a central and pretty part of town.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    9.6
    Great stay, made even better by the helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little bit of modernisation is needed in the rooms, but that’s just personal preference.

    Excellent value for money, great breakfast and staff were amazing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    5.0
    Free parking ,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was really poor I asked for a upgrade one person said no the next person said they would have as it was our anniversary Room was poor to be honest

    The staff were helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    10
    really enjoyed our stay staff lovely would recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    it might have been nice to have a bar but that is a minor thing

    lovely big room ,freshly cooked breakfast to order, great location near shops and restaurants and a nice walk to the lake ( around 1 mile)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    3.8
    Not worth the money we paid. Very disappointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Dirty and broken shower. One day we had towels that were not dried sufficiently (we hoped they were not someone else's damp towels!). Peeling paint. Overall the place was drab, dirty and dated. It needs to be brought up to a level most people expect.

    The location and the breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    8.8
    A charming aesthetic, friendly staff, comfy room and good a brekkie.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A small gripe, the check-out time seemed a little early.

    The charming aesthetic of the property. The comfort of our room. The friendly staff. The satisfying breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    Just lovely!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent location! Just 2min from Windermere town centre and 10-15min to the Lake. Lovely staff, breakfast, rooms and property. We really enjoyed our stay! Would highly recommend it!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    8.3
    An excellent weekend break!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom could have been slightly cleaner and a bit more basic upkeep but nothing major.

    Breakfast was lovely and staff very helpful and informative. Lots of guides and info available about the areas and things to do. Brilliantly situated for both Windermere and Bowness. Room 18 was an attic room and therefore a fair walk up to the top of the house but once there it was worthwhile with great views from the velux windows.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    10
    Fantastic accommodation at a great price!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Our stay was great from start to finish. Our room was upgraded & we were given a 4 poster bed - never slept in 1 before & it was so very comfortable. Room was large, as was the bathroom. Plenty of hot water. Breakfast was great too, plenty of choice & loads of toast & coffee. Free onsite parking is a real bonus. I have just booked another stay for a weekend in November, which we are both really looking forward to. Thanks & see you again very soon X

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    8.8
    Great location, warm and welcoming hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very friendly and approachable. The breakfast was beautifully cooked, piping hot and consisted of fresh local produce. The bathroom was well appointed with a good shower.

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: