Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. UK hotel reviews
  3. Hampshire hotel reviews
  4. Eastleigh hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Ellington Lodge at The Concorde

Reviews of Ellington Lodge at The Concorde 3 stars

Stoneham Lane, Eastleigh, SO50 9HQ, United Kingdom

#1 of 4 hotels in Eastleigh

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1036 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 1 – 75

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2018

    6.7
    Overall as expected having stayed before
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Single/Double price... Availability of extra night.

    All was well except the 'running out' of marmalade at breakfast. Trivial but poor. Value for money.....I was a single paying for a double room. Therefore it was relatively expensive. Also you could not accommodate me for the third night.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2018

    8.3
    A pleasant surprise
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not having building site opposite which can't be helped. Not good if raining as hotel and restaurant are separate.

    Beds were comfy and lovely poached eggs ! Good choice for breakfast. Staff friendly.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2018

    9.6
    Good stop over point before completing my journey
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walk between hotel and restaurant was quite dark with large puddles that couldn’t be seen. At least it wasn’t raining heavy or it would have been much worse

    Plenty or parking so didn’t have to struggle to find gap

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2018

    10
    Great hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Roadworks where a pain but nothing to do with the hotel......

    Staff very polite....dog lovely and room spotless....will 100% visit again. So much nicer and more personal then the chain hotels in the area.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2018

    7.5
    Great breakfast , Adequate accommodation !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom could do with an update , room was stuffy at night so had to have the window open which resulted in a cold bedroom, bed its self was OK !

    The location was ideal for M27 access , breakfast was extremely good and was cooked to order

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2018

    8.3
    Good value for money, the structure is very near to...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing in particular.

    Good value for money, the structure is very near to Southampton airport so it is a convenient place to stay for a quick business trip. Staff is collavborative and rooms are pretty neat and comfortable. Good place to have dinner, with a adequate choice of meals, wines and spirits.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2018

    10
    How dog Friendly the whole place was, gave our little pooch...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing I didn't like!

    How dog Friendly the whole place was, gave our little pooch a nice little treat bag with treat's, and a toy!! Staff super friendly and helpful at all times

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2018

    10
    It ticked all the boxes I required
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Getting my toast I ordered with my breakfast , otherwise no vcomplaonts

    It’s quite funky , clean, efficient , comfortable , good value , great location .

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2018

    6.3
    Fairly good value for money but with other hotels near by it may be worth paying a little extra
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The place needs updating. My room had cobwebs. The bar closed around us at 10pm.

    Breakfast was good and plenty of parking. Rooms were a good size. Close enough to all routes for quick access to meetings. Staff were helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2018

    7.9
    Comfy warm clean, dinner and breakfast not so excellent, a little let down
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast, all a bit same taste as if the plancha wasn't clean, you know, black bits on tomatoes, same on sausages, same on bacon, flavour transfer across all components. Tomato soup full of skin, told matre'd he agreed. shame.

    Cosy bed and bedding.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2018

    7.9
    Convenient location, quiet at back of the hotel (shame about...
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaners started work very early directly above - woke me up before 7am. Also, busy in our corridor from 7.45am, talking loudly. No sockets near bed - could not charge phones by bed. Pretty useless hairdryer Access is a bit tricky from the motorway, because of roadworks directly outside

    Convenient location, quiet at back of the hotel (shame about the cleaners!) Plentiful parking Good breakfast at nearby Concorde Club

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2018

    9.6
    Everything was great from the food to the room and very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    High price fluctuation. Would stay longer but prices almost doubled overnight

    Everything was great from the food to the room and very engaging friendly staff. A highly professional establishment. Definitely recommend if the deal is right.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2018

    9.2
    Was a nice hotel, would stay again if in the area.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    we did have a couple of drinks but one of the drinks tasted like it was off. (IPA)

    the location was good and easy to find, the food was lovely, staff were helpful rooms were good and comfortable

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2018

    10
    Last minute booking as had to travel to Southampton airport...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Excellent value!

    Last minute booking as had to travel to Southampton airport due to cancelled flights elsewhere. Lovely young lady in front desk, very accommodating. Even offered us cutlery for our takeaway which we had delivered to hotel after a long day.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2018

    8.8
    Adequate for my needs
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The soap in the bathroom was not very nice to use. Internet quite slow and Waterlogged car park after heavy rainfall.

    Would be good to have breakfast, say 25 mins earlier for me to enjoy it.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2018

    9.6
    Great staff, great food and great location for me.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great staff, great food and great location for me. With the associated 'Concorde Club' hosting excellent live music acts, this us a great place to stay. Ian Barry.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2018

    10
    Excellent value, extremely comfortable, dog friendly and a great restaurant.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room and hotel was a little dated in parts but still very comfy. At breakfast the coffee machine wasn't working so the coffee was awful but the tea was good! Bit annoying that you cant book your dog through Booking.com and had to contact the hotel directly (and pay extra which wasn't clear when you booked with Booking.com).

    This was a great find. It was a good price and included breakfast which was lovely. They take pets - we took our dog, although the price on Booking.com went up by £20 as you have to notify the hotel that you are bringing a dog and they allocate you a dog friendly room. The room was good because it was near to a fire exit which led into the car park so we could take our dog out before bed and in the morning. The room was a little dated but the bed was comfy, there was tea, coffee and biscuits, a tv and a great shower as well as plenty of room. The great thing was the location - you can walk up through the wooded area in the car park and this gives you access to a country park, so we had a lovely walk with the dog the next morning. The Concorde club next door turned out to be a music venue - we didn't realise when we got there and asked if we could eat in the restaurant that there would be live jazz (Friday evening) which was excellent. The food was really good, well priced and the service excellent. Great ambience in the restaurant. Similarly in the morning we had a lovely breakfast with good service. We met the owner who lives on site as he walked around with his dog. Overall a little quirky but great value for money and dog friendly.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2018

    8.8
    Only stayed one night but had a good night's sleep and felt very comfortable during my stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only negative was that breakfast was not served until 7.00 which is a bit late for some

    Very friendly staff Food was very good and reasonably priced Very quiet location Plenty of free parking

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2018

    4.6
    Overall I feel the accommodation was poor and staff unhelpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast selection initially appeared OK, but candidly for the price the selection was poor. Location difficult. A lift was to be organised to pick me up at the airport but did not materialise. The taxi(for a very short trip) cost £13. Staff unhelpful. I won't be returning!

    Bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2018

    9.6
    Very pleasant. Brief because of travel requirements, but impressed with excellent standards.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It will all be even better when the improvements are complete and there is no need to go outside to reach the dining-room. One criticism of what was otherwise an excellent bathroom - it could be even better if the present shower were replaced with a power shower. Otherwise, very satisfied, and would gladly stay again.

    Staff were both welcoming and efficient. Bedroom good size, furnishings excellent, and bed very comfortable. The breakfast was good and the whole atmosphere was relaxing - ideal amid the stresses of travelling.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2018

    10
    another enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If we had booked on the next night, we could have gone to see a tribute act in the restaurant - sadly not possible and not the hotels' fault - so basically all great.

    This is our second stay at the Ellington Lodge - once again most convenient, comfortable and enjoyable. I was impressed that one small issue I had raised on a previous visit had been addressed and was no longer a problem; it is always good to know how committed to improvement and customer satisfaction a hotel is.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2018

    10
    Very clean with all the facilities I needed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to walk to breakfast in the rain. But obviously the hotel can’t control the weather.

    Very clean with all the facilities I needed. Bed was very very comfortable. Staff was very friendly.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2018

    8.3
    Good location and nice hotel with friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Good location and nice hotel with friendly staff. breakfast was great. The hotel could do with a make over to bring it up to date but we enjoyed our stay and would stay again.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2018

    5.8
    The price reflects its proximity to the jazz club rather than the quality of the hotel facilities.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noisy. There was a cheap door between my room and next door, and I could hear them talking quite clearly. Cold in winter. I had a lukewarm bath in spite of running it at the hottest the tap would allow, and the heater in the room didn't do much to raise the temperature.

    It's not too far from the airport which was why I stayed there (the Premier Inn was fully booked). I know a lot of people stay here for the jazz club next door, so if that's your aim it would be convenient.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2018

    6.7
    It was ok but not what expected for the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room could been lot cleaner ,air con and extractor fan (in bath room) was full thick rust. Net curtains where dirty full of dust . It did state in description of room on site . Iron plus ironing board no such thing .two glasses on side would been nice to have bottle of water to use glasses for. (Could nt see point of them being there).

    Breakfast was excellent could nt be faulted wide selection

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2018

    5.8
    Hotel was close to Southampton University where I was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I decided to opt for this hotel rather than the premier inn because I thought it may offer something more for the same money. I was wrong. My room was small for the price I paid, and would have been a tight double room for 2 people. The room was a bit dated, but it was clean. I was right next to the stairs, so I could hear all the comings and goings and could also hear all the conversations with reception. Unfortunately, there was no other rooms available to move me. Breakfast was average.

    Hotel was close to Southampton University where I was visiting my daughter. Room was clean

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2018

    5.0
    Very poor value
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor value for money. Requested wake-up call didn’t happen. Noisy when guests returned from the adjacent club, very poor sound proofing. Couldn’t buy wine at reception although that was specified in the information. Very tired decoration in the room. Although 1km from the airport it’s impossible to walk.

    Friendly member of staff on arrival.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2018

    7.9
    Breakfast was excellent!
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was excellent!! Staff were lovely We couldn't go in the main bar as there was a function on but there I s another bar you can go to. Would definitely stay again :)

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2018

    10
    Great stay, just wish I'd been staying for longer !
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing comes to mind.

    Great hotel, clean room and comfy bed, great pub and restaurant connected to the hotel with fantastic food, very friendly staff too !

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2018

    7.5
    It was a convenient place to stay for the boat yard we were visiting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast on the first day, the whites of the poached eggs were still a bit runny. and the tomatoes were cold.

    We are looking after a dog for someone, so he had to come with us on this trip, on checking in we were given a dog goody bag which contained a toy and a bay of homemade dog biscuits, at breakfast, he was given a chopped up sausage. for us, there was a fair selection of cereal, fresh fruit etc. plus the usual cooked breakfast. we had read some reviews that made comments on noise, we found it to be very quiet.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    7.1
    No complaints but would seek cheaper accomadation in same same location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom dated but very clean. Bar and dinning area very shabby. We thought it quite expensive for what was on offer.

    Excellent breakfast. Room and public areas clean. Helpful staff.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2018

    8.3
    Surprise, surprise!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked for its convenience to the airport and to the city centre I was pleasantly surprised that this hotel is also home to a hidden gem, The Concorde Club; a ‘must visit’ for all Jazz lovers. Of course, it’s a well run hotel too.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2018

    9.6
    No issues with my super late check in, lots of parking,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was a little unclean, some hairs hanging under the sink and bath/shower was a little dirty but nothing rinsing it didn’t fix.

    No issues with my super late check in, lots of parking, friendly staff. Nice breakfast

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    9.6
    Love Jazz? Stay here!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could not find fault with this really interesting hotel.

    Easy access to the M27 yet tucked away in a quiet area. Pleasant staff and good food with a fine range of beers. Lots of wonderful of Jazz photos on the wall of the restaurant with some really famous names who have once played at this venue. Restaurant had a nice feel to it with just the right lighting ambience. Very nice stay.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2018

    10
    Will definitely stay again.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pet hate of mine not enough sugar sachets and tea/coffee sachets so had to ask for more but I'm being picky as the place is spot on!

    Spot on for what we needed loads of parking as we were in a removals lorry! excellent "English" staff super clean room and a really comfortable bed oh and breakfast was good too!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    6.7
    The bed was very comfy and the breakfast was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The decor was a little dated e.g. tiny flat screen TV. The noise from the gravel car park outside the window also meant that we didn't sleep brilliantly.

    The bed was very comfy and the breakfast was great.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    6.3
    Pleasant enough overnight stop ...breakfast staff cheery.
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit tired in communial areas ...stains on carpets . Our toilet cistern took ages to fill ( room 2 )

    Close to Southampton Airport , easy parking and the Night Porter was waiting for us after flight delay !!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    10
    An excellent venue and we will certainly stay again when in the area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I couldn't fault it

    Ideal overnight stay prior to a cruise from Southampton. Peaceful garden, plenty of parking. A decent meal in hotel restaurant - bonus was an excellent quartet of jazz musicians playing soft, melodic jazz. Very interesting and unexpected separate building (soundproofed) for entertainment plus dining - the evening we were there Jimmy Osmond was performing and it was obvious that it is a venue for many international performers. We didn't attend the performance (too old) which was obviously very popular but didn't interfere at all with our visit.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    6.7
    Will try again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Personally I found the staff less than friendly, apart from reception. Breakfast was a farce, no bowls or small plates for toast. And it felt like hard work asking for them. Maybe caught them at a bad time ?.

    Setting was lovely, and bed was so comfy. Enjoyed breakfast range.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    7.1
    Good for stopping over for a night
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Charge for dog was dear at £20

    Comfortable double room, dog friendly near to motorway. Excellent breakfast includes fruit, yoghurt, pastries and full English with friendly staff at restaurant

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    10
    enjoyable, comfortable. will return.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the continental breakfast "cold meat and cheese" was disappointing. One piece of chedder and one/two slices of ham were not what I expected. However the member of staff offered alternative cooked breakfast which I accepted. The buffet of cereals, fruit, voghurts, bread and pastries was excellent. The room safe did not work and I was told that these were operated by a third party. This needs to be made clear. However the member of staff put my laptop in the safe whilst I was out of hotel for me.

    all good. Please see what didn't like. My two minor problems were dealt with excellently by staff members who got the issues sorted without a problem.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    6.3
    Nice venue but not very customer focused
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It took over an hour to get our meals on the Friday evening and the quality of one of the meals was poor. I asked for fries instead of boiled potatoes and was told that this was not possible. On one of the mornings at breakfast my wife was refused a latte (it had not been a problem before). I was particularly annoyed because on all three mornings my wife had only had fruit so they were quids in. The tables were sticky and we were told that we would be charged to go into to the club restaurant even though we were residents.

    There are a choice of restaurants and the residents restaurant included a three piece jazz group on the evening we stayed.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    9.6
    Friendly, good Fever Tree tonics with the Hendricks gin and tasty evening meal! Happy place. 😁
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The net curtains look grey and tired or could do with a hot wash. Also the windows were draughty.... It will not stop us staying with you but positive feedback can only help I hope. Thank you team !!!!

    The staff were very pleasant ! Food excellent and love the owners retriever! Born in Bursledon in 1957 , lived abroad for many years but do need to return to the area occasionally. During my teens the Concorde was always a fun venue for a Saturday night so have enjoyed seeing it with its old original charm.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    2.9
    AWFUL - Terrible experience - never again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    NOTHING !!Awful experience -luckily at least got refund at check out! Not sure where to start : Room was in front of marquee where concert went on til Midnight : result = no sleep and banging headache as noise level in room was unaccetable!! Went to complain and night porter was abusive and aggressive - expressed formal complaint in the morning against him. Room was nothing like in the picture, old, tatty, sad and dusty with too much visible sign of 'wear and tear'. Staff not welcoming and manager was not seeming too impressed by my complaint even if at the end at least issued part refund. Was supposed to be a relaxing break before boat show - nothing like that. Also, for breakfast need to go in external building quite far - not pleasant under the heavy rain - Car park half flooded as surface is not good Also heavy smell in car park in the morning of sewerage!!! not sure how this place gets some good reviews, must be lucky people. I am a seasoned traveller both for work and leisure and normally I am easy with expectations regarding hotels where I stay but this was completely overpriced, overrated and awful.

    Nothing apart Jazz links with place

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    6.3
    comfortable stay, handy for concorde club and good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    room looked tired curtains could do with replacing walk to restaurant was outside

    bed was very comfortable Breakfast was good Entertainment was good

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    9.2
    Great location with a unique twist
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our toilet flush system was temperamental and we got told to tickle the button

    Great facilities, comfy bed, hearty breakfast, quiet location. Option to mingle in bar area if want to, friendly and helpful staff. Jazz theme very educational.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    8.3
    The room was nice and comfortable, with working a/c and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant attached to the hotel had a very limited menu when we went to dine there. Could have has a lot more option on the Sunday menu and they also ran out of certain dishes.

    The room was nice and comfortable, with working a/c and friendly staff, great breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    5.0
    pimms o'clock hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room need updating. Hotel for elderly. Hotel excellent if your age 60 and over if you want quite nights sleep don't stay if they have wedding their.

    Comfy bed clean room

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    4.6
    A wedding reception was being held.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A wedding reception was being held. The window from our room looked straight out onto the reception. The noise late at night was awful from the music. Couldn't sleep.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    10
    Great setting and lovely relaxing place to stay, loved the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great setting and lovely relaxing place to stay, loved the Jazz history to the whole complex, lovely polite staff in in both hotel & restaurant, amazing food and a great bed to sleep, full stars for this place, will definitely stay here again :)

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    10
    The lodge was comfortable, quiet and off the main road.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No negatives

    The lodge was comfortable, quiet and off the main road. The dinner and breakfast at the Concorde Club was lovely. I will definitely stay there again

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    7.1
    Hotel was set in nice quiet surroundings and was clean with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant was out dated and the service was poor in the evening but the breakfast service was much better

    Hotel was set in nice quiet surroundings and was clean with a very comfortable bed .

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    9.6
    good hotel and restaurant for the money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    furniture in restaurant a little shabby, chair back falling apart, table top not solid but overall not bad

    there was nothing not to like. Room comfortable and spacious, bathroom not in bad condition, meal ok and service in both hotel and restaurant good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel , breakfast and location for airport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Nice clean and comfy room. Excellent breakfast and very friendly and helpful staff. Location is good for airport or train station. Close to lakeside park so good for walks too. This is a bit of a hidden gem!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    5.4
    Was ok for a one night stay. Staff on the recetion were very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was very soft, Service at dinner was poor took ages to get a drink, Burger was burnt and looked pre cooked, staff very young and not attentive enough. No plug sockets by the bed. Music was overly loud in such a small room,

    Breakfast was good not excellant, our room (104) was ok for one night. Tea and Coffee, biscuits was appreciated. Bathroom good and nice towels

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    6.7
    The stay was comfortable and I would consider staying again, the location was perfect for our trip.
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room's décor was slightly dated and there was considerable dust around the air-conditioning unit - my daughter and I were visiting the University; this has been the third hotel that we have stayed at whilst visiting various Uni's and has so far been the most expensive.

    The room was adequate and comfortable, the breakfast was very good and the site had more than adequate parking.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    9.6
    Excellent stay and shall visit again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    An excellent evening meal and breakfast. The only down side is if the weather is bad you have to walk outside to get to the restaurant and bar otherwise a very nice place to stay. Short drive to Portsmouth ferry port

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    9.2
    The decor in restaurant could be cleaner the lamp shades,...
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor in restaurant could be cleaner the lamp shades, the radiators, table, glasses. And I am by no means a cleanaholic but this was just filthy. Toilet ran even though just a jiggle of the button but shouldn’t have to, tap leaked from side at bottom on cold.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    8.8
    It was a very pleasant surprise and experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some area were a little tired and lacked colour.

    The hotel was very quiet and comfortable and the restaurant good. I was pleasantly surprised by the character of the place ans the history of it's Jazz club. I had not realised this connection when I visited the website on Booking .co.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    8.8
    A Fine Place to Catch an Early Flight
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing not to like except the usual inadequate room lighting for insomniac readers.

    Location, location! A few minutes from the Southhampton airport, which was the primary reason for our booking. However, the place had some charm and a good deal fo old-fashioned simplicity. Not a corporate airport hotel! And that's to be valued.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    7.1
    Conveniently situated for my purpose & a pleasant stay overall.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was right next to the entrance & overlooking the car park so very noisy. This should be pointed out to one on the booking site - that not all ground floor rooms face the garden as is shown in the picture of the hotel. Had to wait a long time for our food.

    Lovely clean bathroom. No storage space therein though. Room very small but adequate & clean. Sunday roasts really good. Breakfasts also good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    7.9
    Nice place on itself with basic facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's good but not excellent. Little smudgy and old-time.

    Nice place on itself with basic facilities. Good and traditional but very cosy and stylish (jazz) restaurant on the other side of the (walking) bridge. Nice atmosphere around because of this. Nice environment with great wooded garden.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    9.6
    Nice location and hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom could do with a refurbishment. Rooms has a restrictive number of power sockets and does not have any near the bed. For someone who sufferers sleep aponia and has to use a machine at night this is a problem.

    airy room and comfortable. Bed was lrge and about right level of firmness. Resturant was good and service excellent. Food was tasty and did not have to wait long.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    9.2
    Can’t wait to stay again !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving after only two very enjoyable days.

    Staff were very helpful and friendly. Location was very convenient and the dining facilities were very pleasant in the Moldy Fig. We will definitely stay again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    5.8
    DO NOT STAY IN ROOM 14 !!!!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    i have stayed here several times and its always been ok, the place could do with a lick of paint its a little tired but the foods good and the staff are friendly enough. But unfortunately i was given room 14 on the ground floor, it absolutely stank of stale water/damp or bad carpet , i don't really know i fumigated the place with a can of deodorant and slept with the window open it was disgusting, i should have asked to change rooms really but by the time i returned to the room i was that tired i couldn't be bothered. I did tell the receptionist on checking out and she said she would inform house keeping but whether she did or not is a different matter and thats why the review, so at least i know someone will read it

    Food was good and reasonably priced, breakfast was excellent

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    7.5
    Staff were very helpful.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were very helpful. We enjoyed our stay food was good plenty of choice for breakfast, the hotel was dog friendly. We would certainly return again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    8.3
    Ticked all the boxes for me.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quiet, friendly place which ticked all the boxes for this stay. The small walk across the bridge to the bar and restaurant is not a problem. The Full English Breakfast sets one up for the day.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    6.7
    OK ... but needs some updating
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although we arrived late in the day, we expected the bar area to be open. They had gone home early as there was no-one around. The room was very small and dated (not like the photos on websites) … definitely needs some TLC and renovation. OK for a one night stay but I won't be going back. Disappointed.

    Good breakfast choice and service

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    9.2
    Definitely a very good hotel and comfortable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing, everything was mostly great, A thought did occur though that in the UK's wet and stormy weather periods, I wouldn't really enjoy the open air walk from the accommodation building to where the restaurant and breakfast is served. A sensitively designed covered walkway via the garden would be a good investment for the owners. Oh, and they did unintentionally try to bill me twice for the room; I had paid in advance in full. Easily missed if you don't ever check your bill!

    A very comfortable hotel with the additional benefits of live music, if you like that sort of thing. The music is pervasive throughout the place however I found it was a really cheerful atmosphere and didn't have any disruptive elements associated to it. If you are into jazz music, I imagine you will know 'The Concorde Club' already by reputation as the walls of the main club are adored with photos of jazz legends, the like of which even a non-jazz person like me can identify. Staff, all food served, free parking and the room were great. Wifi a bit blippy but solid when going. **Particular mention to a charming staff member serving on my first evening, 'Laura'. What a credit to your establishment and deserves to be fully supported by the owners in her career ambitions. **

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    8.8
    a nice experience and would stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room seemed a little dark

    The beds were very comfortable,the breakfast had a good choice and well presented ,the staff are helpful and friendly overall our stay was a nice experience.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    10
    Excellent comfortable will return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were fortunate it was dry. Open air walk across yard to restaurant. Need to be prepared in case of rain.

    Room clean. Bed very comfortable. Food in restaurant really good. Loved the decor and jazz history.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    5.4
    Large comfy bed, large room, patio doors to garden
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was very disappointing. My husband and I had different dishes; my duck breast was over cooked and tough and my husband’s fish and chips looked and tasted pre frozen although advertised as fresh. Breakfast the following morning was unfortunately no better! Such a shame as the dining room was welcoming and cosy and reflected it’s jazz roots and history. The staff were very nice and attentive.

    Large comfy bed, large room, patio doors to garden

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    5.0
    One night was enough
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room looked nothing like the picture on booking.com - apparently having a dog means you don't get the nice rooms. Our room smelled overwhelmingly of damp and the paint on the walls was peeling. Asked if we could be moved but that was a no due to being fully booked. No apology or attempt to rectify. Air conditioning unit was covered in dust and buttons were faulty. In the bathroom the toilet did not flush properly. Room service was offered but no-one mentioned having to put a card outside the door the night before so we missed that. Booked a late checkout but no-one informed the cleaning staff, so we got a knock on the door at 11:15 to say we should have been out. Was also asked to settle our bill before actually checking out so that it was convenient for their own banking - and the first invoice wasn't even correct as there was a double charge for the dog. Apparently a very dog friendly place but certainly did not get that impression. Expected more from both the hotel and booking.com.

    Shower was decent and nice to have a clean kettle for a cup of tea. Room was clean.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    10
    After looking forward to the hotel stop over for us it proved rather disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of any faults Id want changng

    With a son continuing to study in Southampton, when visiting him we find this a great hotel to stay outside but close to city with advantage of onsite parking a big advantage than city based hotels. Offers cosy rooms lovely breakfast in the oldie World's Fig Inn adjacent to the hotel plus the Country park virtually behind hotel. Can't fault this hotel the numerous times we stayed here.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    9.2
    Mixed Reviews
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Furniture and rooms quite dark. Decor needs updating. On site restaurant is quite expensive and again dark.

    Comfortable beds, tea/coffee facilities. Plenty of parking. Adjoining rooms if required.

    Stayed in August 2018

Showing 1 – 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: