Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Elmdene 5 stars

Rathmore Road, Torquay, TQ2 6NZ, United Kingdom

#37 of 119 B&Bs and Inns in Torquay

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 58 hotel reviews

9.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    10

  • Comfort

    9.9

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    9.9

  • Staff

    10

  • Value for money

    9.6

  • Free WiFi

    9.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 56

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    10
    A fantastic stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing not to like

    This space is not big enough to list all the things we liked everything was 100%. l do not think it would be possible to improve on anything.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    Nothing to fault
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing was a great B&B

    Decor, comfortable bed, room amenities, breakfast choice was excellent. Size of room very good, location and parking outstanding.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    9.6
    We loved our staying !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved our staying ! Terry and David are so lovely and friendly! We wish them all the best and hope that they find all the happiness possible due to their hard work and struggle to make everything perfect! It was our wedding anniversary and they were so sweet to give us a bottle of sparking wine to celebrate it!!! The room is very well decorated and cosy, the breakfast was excellent and the service was great! What else to we need? Congratulations and thank you for making us feel as if we were at home!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    10
    Brilliant
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Trevor and Kim are excellent hosts meeting you at the door they quickly make you feel at home . They are extremely hardworking and keep the place implacable . Great breakfast , and a decent location just outside of the busy town . A nice 10 minute walk to town either by the front or through the gardens . Will be back and recommend this has a stay for anyone going to Torquay

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.6
    Bed very very comfortable breakfast excellent.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Bed very very comfortable breakfast excellent. Attention to detail fantastic. Room very well decorated and relaxing and large. Bathroom well stocked and large owners very friendly and attended to my every need.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    A fantastic gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    From the moment we arrived to the moment we left we had the most amazing stay at the fabulous B&B....Trev and Kim are the loveliest of hosts, they couldn’t do enough for you, the whole place was pristine and we cant find anything negative...we will most certainly be back

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    10
    This was our second time at The Elmdene, and even though it...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was our second time at The Elmdene, and even though it was just bought under new management, Kim and Trev have made us feel like we are part of the family. The service was impeccable and they have catered to everything. The hygiene level and cleanliness is something me and my partner look at when we come across a place so to be able to feel at ease and not worry about dust is awesome. The location for us we love as your just across from the Abby. And a short walk down to the harbour as well as the city Center. We couldn’t have asked for anything more and look forward to coming back to The Elmdene for their impeccable service. Ash n Anj

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    10
    A nice relaxing week. Would recommend it for everyone to try. Plus there was lots to see and do.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Nothing, everything was nice.

    We could not fault the B & B. The rooms were spotless. The bed and pillows were comfortable. Lots of choice at breakfast. Best of all was Dave's porridge, it was very nice. The B & B was about a 5 minute walk to the beach, or there was a bus stop just across the road to the house. Tracy and Dave were very good hosts and very knowledgeable about the area.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    10
    Absolutely fabulous!!!!!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing

    There was nothing to dislike about our stay at Elmdene. From the moment we entered the property we knew we had made the right choice booking the B&B for our 5 night stay. We were made extremely welcome by our hosts Tracy and Dave and a lovely cup of tea when we arrived went down a treat while our host Dave explained breakfast etc and made us aware of all the sites to see to enjoy our holiday even more. Our room was fabulous the attention to detail was great everything you could wish for, fluffy robes, slippers even down to an emery board a must for us ladies.the bed was extra comfy no worrying bout that stiff neck or bad back in the morning. Our room had a separate sitting room which was ideal as my husband is an early riser and did not disturb my lie in. Both the bedroom and the sitting room had a tv, tea/coffee making facilities with a welcome bag of fudge from our hosts. Fridge, bottle opener everything you would need. No packet milk all fresh milk. The rooms were all very tastefully decorated, chandeliers in all the rooms. The very highest standard of cleanliness throughout the whole property. Breakfast was fantastic, cereal, fresh fruit, yogurts, kippers, porridge, full English, cooked beautifully to our requirements, nothing was too much trouble. We very highly recommend this property for anyone looking at spending time in and around Torquay. Everything about this property is A1 there is nothing that we disliked. Excellent value for money, friendly and wam hosts would have no hesitation booking again in the future

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    10
    Best place to stay in Torquay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No negatives.

    Every little detail was catered for. Very welcoming couple too. Food excellent and service and cleanliness superb. We will be coming back.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    9.2
    Great stay....would definitely return
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Black pudding on offer at breakfast

    Breakfast was freshly cooked each morning with local ingredients, which i loved. The beds were super comfy and i loved the idea of an honesty bar. Fudge in the room was my fav local fudge and security at the location had been given good consideration. Nothing was too much for the hosts Tracey and David they certainly made me feel very welcome and at home

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    10
    Loved our stay here and will definitely return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't fault it.

    Loved our stay here and will definitely return. Spotlessly clean, comfortable bed, friendly hosts, great breakfasts. Great base to explore. Thanks for the birthday card.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    10
    The bed was extremely comfortable we wanted to take it home...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was perfect.

    The bed was extremely comfortable we wanted to take it home with us! Excellent breakfast and hosts very hospitable. Nothing was too much trouble.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    9.6
    Five Star Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great Bedroom and facilities and superb breakfast.David and Tracy were great hosts thoroughly enjoyed our stay and Will return. This is a 5 star Guest House.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2016

    10
    Everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all - it was perfect!

    Everything! The amazing attention to detail, we felt 'at home' as soon as we walked through the front door. David and Tracy are wonderful hosts, very helpful and happy to assist with attractions in area, restaurant bookings etc.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    10
    Perfect for a relaxing honeymoon get away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As a young married couple, we wanted our honeymoon to be relaxing, and it was just that. The owners were such a friendly welcoming couple; always happy to provide any information on the area. The breakfast was amazing, and we especially loved the chess board for a relaxing afternoon in the BnB lounge.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    7.1
    location, host, free parking,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the room(5) was a little small for the price, also it was at the top of the house which made it a bit to warm, didn't like the feather pillows or quilt

    location, host, free parking,

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    10
    All good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location.... Never used the car at all . Used ferry / bus and train all accessed locally and cheaper than parking charges. Great food at elmdene. Very comfortable and clean room. All good and would recommend.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    9.6
    A great place to stay
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The Elmdene welcome is a very warm one! I had a lovely stay here. The location is very close to the beach, the rooms are fabulous (mine even included a separate sitting room) and, most of all, the owners, David and Tracy are very knowledgable about the area and really make you feel at home.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    10
    Wonderful place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything, just perfect..... fabulous bed and breakfast..

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    Fab
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Cleanliness and friendliness

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    10
    Amazing had a really good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Bed very comfy . Really nice hosts breakfast superb Will Stay again

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    10
    Enjoyed every minute. Wish could have stayed longer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Everything was great.

    Everything exceeded our expectations. The owners very very helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    10
    Overall excellent, could not fault anything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall excellent, could not fault anything.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    10
    Felt very welcome and very please with the service, would recommend a stay here when in the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful room and delightful owners!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    9.6
    Everything was new
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was new

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Kim and Trevor were wonderful hosts whose friendly and engaging way helped to make our stay relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very clean and beautifully decorated large Victorian house. Superb choice at breakfast. Very relaxing atmosphere.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Great definitely return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Amazing Hosts and fantastic hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Elmdene, Torquay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Every thing, Trevor and Kim are really really nice people. I will definitely staying there again in the future

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Very friendly welcome with coffee and cakes
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly welcome with coffee and cakes

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    10
    It was amazing realy enjoy it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was amazing realy enjoy it

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    10
    Excellent hosts , food and accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Service , standard of rooms/ breakfast . Owners very welcoming

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    10
    The proprietors hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The proprietors hotel. and every thing was spot on 👌

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    10
    Great B&B, Great Service, Great Location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing no changes required

    Great service

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    9.6
    Really lovely place to stay, beautiful room and very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really lovely place to stay, beautiful room and very friendly owners, would definitely recommend it.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    9.6
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to not like

    Very attentive to our needs. Nothing to much trouble

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    10
    Short holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    NA

    Owners - Tracy & David - exceptional host. Everything about Elmdene was just excellent - from room, to breakfast, the hotel etc

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    10
    Everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    10
    Fantastic stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect in every way. Really friendly. Lovely breakfasts. Superb room.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    9.6
    4 night stay with husband - down time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very friendly and helpful owners. All mod cons plus more!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    10
    David and Tracey just a joy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2016

    9.6
    Super position to explore the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Super position to explore the area. Everything beautifully clean and fresh, including the lovely carnations on the table. David and Tracy couldn't have been more helpful.

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2016

    10
    Tracy and David were very welcoming and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Tracy and David were very welcoming and helpful. Nothing too much trouble. Lovely couple. Superb bedroom and bathroom with all requirements. Would certainly stay again.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    10
    Absolutely faultless place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Absolutely nothing could have been better or improved.

    Absolutely faultless place to stay. Really lovely people who run the place, spotless, elegantly decorated rooms and fantastic breakfasts!!!

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2016

    10
    Fresh ground coffee on arrival, sumptuous bedding, lovely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Absolutely nothing...

    Fresh ground coffee on arrival, sumptuous bedding, lovely clean bathroom and superb breakfasts. Knowledgeable, warm and friendly owners who frankly perfected our stay with their in depth knowledge and attention to our needs. Wonderful experience, they really deserve their awards..thank you!

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2016

    10
    Having received a very warm welcome from Dave and Tracey, we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Leaving

    Having received a very warm welcome from Dave and Tracey, we were shown to our room which was very stylish, cosy and spotlessly clean. The bed was very comfortable, and the furniture was in very good condition. Our shower room was modern and immaculately clean. We were very impressed by the attention to detail and lots of thoughtful touches. Breakfast was excellent , with quality locally sourced produce. We have stayed in many hotels in Torquay but Elmdene is by far the best, and will be our first choice next time we visit.

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2016

    8.8
    Great attention to detail, loverly couple, friendly .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    My partner is 6'2 . We were at top of the building so eves of the house encroached on room space, Next time we will upgrade to a bedroom with a little more head height

    Great attention to detail, loverly couple, friendly .

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2015

    10
    Had a lovely 4 night stay at the Elmdene, they say the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Had a lovely 4 night stay at the Elmdene, they say the little details make a holiday well they are right after putting Julia's birthday cards on the table we had a lovely surprise of another card and a box of chocys from the hotel owners. These little thoughts are the things that will bring us back again, so thanks for a lovely stay, Dave & Julia

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2015

    10
    Carol and Andy were such friendly and informative,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Carol and Andy were such friendly and informative, we loved our room ,the décor was beautiful so well presented. the breakfast was superb couldn,t fault it.

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    10
    A beautiful, immaculate hotel that is a convenient walk away...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    A beautiful, immaculate hotel that is a convenient walk away from the seaside. Extremely friendly hosts and excellent breakfast menu!

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2016

    9.6
    The bed was very comfortable,room and en-suite were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There wasn't anything to dislike.

    The bed was very comfortable,room and en-suite were immaculate.Breakfast was really good,with plenty of choice.

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    10
    Comfy bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    None

    Comfy bed. Breakfast was exceelabt

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    10
    Lovely location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely location..beautifully clean, excellent food, perfect hosts Tracey and Dave...with everything in the room to make your holiday stay perfect...

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    10
    The lovely personal touches that make a big difference to a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The lovely personal touches that make a big difference to a relaxing stay. The cleanliness of Elmdene and the beautiful decor.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    10
    Made to feel at home
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Made to feel at home

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2015

    10
    Very comfortable hotel with very friendly hosts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very comfortable hotel with very friendly hosts. Thank you. Will return.

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 56

Guests also reviewed these properties: