Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Elmhurst Hotel 3 stars

Church Road, Reading, RG6 1EY, United Kingdom

#36 of 38 hotels in Reading

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 740 hotel reviews

6.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.2

  • Comfort

    6.1

  • Location

    7.1

  • Facilities

    5.8

  • Staff

    7

  • Value for money

    6.8

  • Free WiFi

    6.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    5.4
    Adequate accomodtion with wifi, breakfast and parking. After all, you only go to the room to sleep!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 14 nights

    Very busy at times with the car park quite full, the rooms were very hot in the heat wave with no fan and only 1 window

    Very cheep accommodation with breakfast thrown in

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    4.6
    Inadequate but friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything about the property was poor apart from the staff. Rooms were not good. Did not look like pictures. Is more like a hostel than a hotel. They should just knock it down and start again, clearly survives because of lack of other options.

    Staff are very attentive at the property. All were very happy to help.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    9.2
    It's clean and comfortable.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You have to accept that the hotel is not modern, but good for the price including great breakfast

    It's clean and comfortable. 10 mins to TVP in rush hour!!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    8.3
    People are friendly.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only problem is the hotel has no air condition. It is extremely warm when the temperature is above 28 degree C. People cannot fall into sleep easily. But for the most time of other nice weather, there is no negative effect.

    People are friendly. Location good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    5.4
    Not expensive, but a bit tired and you get what you pay for.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • En Suite Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room really stunk of bleach when we arrived, leaving the bathroom extractor on all evening cleared it before bed time.

    Breakfast was ok, but asking for a glass of cold milk appeared confusing to them. Shower ok, bed ok, but a second pillow would have been appreciated.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    3.8
    As already had paid up front,had to stay there.
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms mouldy, damp smelling, holes in suspended floor, loose floor boards. Mould in bathrooms all decorating works are poor. Felt itchy after sleeping in bed. Shower cubicle to small, leaked. Electrics looked sub standard. Worst hotel stayed in for long time.

    Not too much, poss bar area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    5.0
    Staff friendly and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was run down and dirty.The pillows inside the covers were stained, showers mouldy and tap missing from one.Strange stale smell in the bedroom even though window wide open.Towel rail cracked in bedroom, tiny bar of shared soap in shower room as no sinks in toilets or sanitary bins.Table cloths were stained and place mats sticky. I also noted they weren’t being wiped between customers eating.Fire door inside was propped open by the fire extinguisher even though it stated on the door the fire door to be kept closed.

    Staff friendly and helpful

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    9.2
    Friendly and clean budget hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean and friendly budget hotel in a convenient if not vibrant area. V good breakfast and accommodating bought in evening meals. Best sushi in Berks v close by. Would stay again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    7.5
    Kel
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the coffee cups in my room was a little dirty. My room was in a dormer and therefore quite hot, but there was no air-conditioning or fan

    Good location, functional, nice breakfast, reasonably priced bar

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    7.9
    Okay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No biscuits on the tea and coffe tray. Ceiling under the bath/shower was cving under. No warm welcome or notification of breakfast times. Only between 8 to 9. expected a later time on sunday like other hotels.

    Basic room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    6.3
    Small price for small room
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The small space in room was very packed and not able to move around. Could only access sink by climbing on chair. No hot chocolate in the room.

    Large empty car park and room on ground floor. Room was quiet allowing sleep early with a good breakfast in the morning

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    7.9
    Elmhurst weekend
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities definitely need renovation, kept clean but do not look inviting. Very small room.

    Very comfortable, big bed ( not much space to move around it, though!) Good location, tea and coffee in the room, electric kettle available, I recommend the en suite, definitely!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    2.9
    The fire alarm went off in the middle of the night twice.
    • Family with young children
    • En Suite Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The fire alarm went off in the middle of the night twice. There was no apology from the staff as it was not a result of a fire. There was no clear instruction surrounding the fire alarm we had a terrible night stay. The bathroom was dirty with black grout and a very old shower head which had rusted. Overall disappointed that the property was allowed on the site.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    8.3
    It was ok for one night..... :)
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is true, that the place could use some renovation. Part of it is the windows, because the outside traffic could be heard too much..... Otherwise, the place is run with care, spotlessly clean, the room was comfy and the breakfast amazing.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    7.9
    My stay was just what I needed and in the right place for getting around.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing It was just what I wanted.

    The bed was comfortable. The room was clean . I upgrade from a single room with shared bathroom to an en suite. The breakfast was very good and included in the room price. Good value for money. No trouble with car parking plenty of space.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    6.7
    Okay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room and bathroom need some renovating. It feels old and tired. Even though I am sure the room and bathroom were clean, but due to the overall appearance, one just feels uncomfortable.

    Neighbourhood of hotel seemed nice. Room and bathroom spacious. Quick and efficient check-in and check-out process.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    5.4
    Price was low and the staff were nice -
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet seat in my room was bust and pretty much fell off. The lid for the kettle was broken also Very uncomfortable bed, rock solid Very cheap quality to the rooms - cheap Asda pillows and decorated like the 1970’s. The bathroom floor had large wet patches...

    Price was low and the staff were nice -

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.3
    Needed a room for the night and this was excellent value for money as a nice breakfast was included.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows were hard which I don’t like, but some people do.

    Good breakfast, good room for the price, clean and tidy. Nice pub round the corner for dinner.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    3.8
    The Exit
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A maze of landings and stairs, don’t hold the hand rail as it just about to come off, leading to my room just under the hole in the ceiling with mains wires showing. Entered the room via a key to find the toilet unflushed and the shower decaying with rust, mastic (like someone had a dance whilst holding the gun) and soap scum!! Not sure it’s soap. Went to check the bed, covers clean but someone had tried finger painting with something!! On the head board. Locked up and handed keys into desk and slept in my van. Serious fire and health risk

    The Exit

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    6.7
    bar and sky sports
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    WiFi not available first due to having been not working for 3 days, large number of rooms sharing limited and poorly working showers.

    bar and sky sports

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    5.8
    Adequate
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was useless

    The place is a bit run down but adequate, plenty of parking and good value for money, I’ve stayed several times as we visit my son who lives local but doesn’t have enough bedrooms

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    6.3
    Ok for the cost.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were pretty aloof. The decor was very tired and rather depressing. Breakfast was unremarkable with cheap ingredients obviously used.

    It served it’s purpose. A bed for the night after our day out a some breakfast before our journey home.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    3.8
    There was plenty of parking spaces.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower room toilet was pretty run down, plaster falling off the walls, toilet seat broken, sink plug missing. One bed was reasonably comfortable, the smaller one was hard and uncomfortable.

    There was plenty of parking spaces. The breakfasts were adequate and the coffee was very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    7.5
    Pleasently surprised
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom floor would appreciate attention from cleaning staff and some stains on furniture as well.

    Pleasently surprised as I stayed in Elmhurst hotel one night in budget single on suite room. It is old fashion property, but surprisingly warm and cozy, bedsheets and towels were white and clean, there was not mould in shower or smells from the kitchen. Shower in my room looked very old but was working properly and water was hot. I slept very well, even everything looks old, mattress certainly wasn't. Breakfast was nicely coked with freshly made orange juice which I do appreciate and I did enjoy coffee as well. Allover I liked the place and I would stay again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    4.2
    Was okay for one night but not worth the money.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • En Suite Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have been much cleaner. Room had stained pillow cases and had used empty bottles in the room which should have been cleared from the previous guests. Hairs present in many places including the shower and the dining table in the restaraunt.

    Easy to find hotel and there are many take away shops in the area.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    5.8
    We needed somewhere to stay close to the University and it met that need.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is a run down property that needs a lot of TLC. Corridors and doors to rooms need painting, some of the fittings (e.g. taps) need replacing, TV only had decent reception at night, not in the morning. No option of soymilk or alternative for lactose intolerant at breakfast. Only white bread for toast offered. Reception could have been more welcoming.

    Somewhere to sleep close to where we wanted to visit. Room and Breakfast OK. Attentive service at breakfast table.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    8.3
    Clean, friendly staff and a good night's sleep
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Creeking floor when walked on, good job I was above the kitchen

    Convenience, friendly staff and prices. It was everything I wanted for a night's stay after work. TV, tea and coffee in room, en suite, very clean, comfortable bed and good choice for breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    7.9
    I would stay again.....
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    A few air fresheners would not go amiss......

    Generally well suited for my requirements. Room was a bit basic, but warm, dry and quiet. Car park was handy & secure. Food was fine. Bar was good, but draught bitter would have been a bonus; but two cans saved the night (cannot stand draught lager). Staff tried hard.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    7.5
    Cheap and cheerful good food portions. Little bar and a comfy sleep. Breakfast is good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could be updated and have a few more draught beer selection. Couldn't take your key if you went out. But for value and digs it's as it says

    Good value. Breakfast included and was as described

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    4.2
    Disappointing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Like going into a time warp! Served our purpose, but would not rush back. Needs a lot of investment. One of the Staff was confused as we had a double room as gay partners!!

    The location for our purpose

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    7.5
    Walls were squeaky.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Walls were squeaky. Heard guy upstairs. Shower water too hot, couldn't change it. Ordered a meal, lamb shank in rosemary sauce, which was good value for money but (unlucky for them and/or me I am a chef), it was overcooked and dried a bit, I presume because it was microwaved to be heated (and not thoroughly). Sauce was too very sweet it really didn't taste good. Breakfast is only Muesli and full English. I only wanted toast with cheese so I asked him for it. He brought unbuttered toast with American cheese. Next time I recommend they bring the toasted bread with cheddar slices on the side so one could butter them and not american burger cheese! Still good value for money. They got a Co-op few steps away and M&S . Also two buses, 17 and 21 I think and they take you right to the city center and even walking there is one straight road.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    4.6
    Not worth the money, will spend a little extra to go in a premier inn or similar
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • En Suite Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check in was ok, guy was very blunt and didnt seem impressed with the fact we wanted to check in. Beds were uncomfortable, rooms were extremely hot! All the radiators in the entire hotel were on, and it was unbearably hot, even with the window open. The whole hotel needs an uplight. Bar was very limited on drinks, especially cider! Reading in general need to discover decent cider.. Probably wont return in a rush!

    The coffee was good and breakfast ok

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    2.5
    Car park was the only worth while thing about it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor service bed dirty sheets not clean no loo or shower / bath iin room staff rude housekeeper kick me out of my room early totally crap and very poor never go there again

    Car park was the only worth while thing about it

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    3.8
    Bad
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All

    The beds was very hard and room looked like had not been cleaned properly and carpet had party glitter on surface from previous user of room which if vacuumed would have been cleaned up Hot water took very long time to warm up about 10mins before come through

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    6.3
    You get what you pay for £54 ok not special and could do with updating
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only 1 socket in room used for Tv so couldn't use laptop or plug anything near bed , Shower cubiclr door falling off , could also do with a refurb

    Friendly staff and Wi Fi

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    10
    Thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Elmhurst - nice quiet street
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom a bit tired but perfectly clean

    Room was good size and well equipped and extremely clean.....good breakfast.... Co-op 3 mins walk for supplies and 7 min walk from Hotel to my son's accommodation at Uni who I was visiting. Hotel bar a bonus. Bus stop to town just round the corner no 17. I will be staying here again in a couple of months time when I next visit

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    7.1
    Despite visible impressions, the bed was comfortable, the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I'm not going to pick holes. For the price, this was a good stay. Good location. Breakfast included and I got a good sleep. Those things matter.

    Despite visible impressions, the bed was comfortable, the staff were friendly, the shower was nice and hot and the room was nice and warm (although I had to turn the radiator on). Ample parking, nice breakfast and if staying in there's a bar and TV area.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    4.2
    Dirty and drab hotel in a desperate need of renovation
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 18 nights

    The hotel needs a thorough renovation. It is dated and rundown. The cleanliness leaves a lot to be desired - the carpeted floor looks as if it hasn't been hoovered since the opening (perhaps it wasn't), with crumbs and much dust everywhere. The mirror in the bathroom has dirt on it, the cleaning is done only superficially. The hotel looks drab and dirty. I don't recommend it.

    The men serving breakfasts were quite hospitable. The bed is decent. The location close to the campus of the University of Reading (Earley Gate)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    6.3
    You get what you pay for
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Separate toilet and shower

    Bed was surprisingly comfortable and the staff were polite and helpful, It is a budget hotel and that is exactly what you get so don't go there expecting more, they are not trying to be more than what they offer, a cheap nights stay in a private room. Nice big car park onsite and breakfast was included

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    10
    would book again - very happy and great value for money
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing - all good

    The friendly service; the great prices, the very extensive car parking - all in short - was able to have a three course dinner, with 8oz. steak and pepper sauce, two premium beers and a full english breakfast for £68.75 - amazing ! Plus tea and coffee in the room

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    5.4
    Parking was good and plentiful.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No front door key so you couldn’t get in if the front door was locked. WiFi kept dropping out, sometimes for hours which is not great when you have work to do.

    Parking was good and plentiful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    4.6
    Place was very dirty, wallpaper held up with drawing pins.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Place was very dirty, wallpaper held up with drawing pins. No shelf in bathroom to put accessories. TV very dark. Needs refurbishment very old and tired

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    5.0
    It was ok but I would not stay again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom had not been cleaned. There were hairs and old dried soap suds in the bath. The sink had a few hairs and there were a couple of bits of paper in the floor. This suggests cleaning had not been done.

    Bed was comfy. The sheets were clean. The room had a tv and clean towels.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    5.0
    Cheap, but not welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff not very welcoming. I felt alienated a lot of the time. Also, they never told me when breakfast was. I came down just before 9, only to discover I’d missed it. Maybe they should’ve told me!

    Decent bed, cozy room. Nothing more.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    5.0
    Bed sheets not changed over a five night stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Bed sheets not changed over a five night stay. Hotel felt unclean and had a stale, unpleasant odour throughout. Wifi provided but very slow. Decor was in very poor condition.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    7.9
    I enjoyed a good night sleep after a very long day.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    I rated the cleanliness negatively for one reasons and that's because I ask for a plate and a fork so I could eat my food in my room only to be given dirty fork with food stuck to it. It's one of my all time pet hates and I couldn't rate it high enough otherwise. The rooms and communal areas were tidy and clean though. I also disliked having to use a shared bathroom. It's just a personal preference.

    I enjoyed a good night sleep after a very long day. The pillow was just right and the covers were clean and comfortable. I barely heard any noise from outside. The hotel is easy to get to using public transport from Reading train station.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    2.9
    Overall this was not a pleasant experience felt more like a halfway house than an hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The whole accommodation was sadly very poor. The ceiling in the bathroom was sagging down, the wallpaper was held up with drawing pins, some electrical wiring was exposed. Did not eat the included breakfast as did not want to risk getting a tummy bug. Overall this was not a pleasant experience felt more like a halfway house than an hotel. Checked out the following day and did not go back.

    Nothing

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    9.2
    Loads of Rooms at a Good Price
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing Really to Complain About!

    (Working Away during the week) Come and Go as you wish. Day Staff are pleasant... Restaurant and Bar save having to go out in the evenings. Good Car Park. Rooms are Clean' Warm and have a TV and Hot Water. Though perhaps a little dated, good for the price!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    4.2
    Uncomfortable
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Uncomfortable bed unclean shower unit no hairdryer intercom not working.Floorboard creaking everytume domeone walks in room next door. Breakfast shoddy and lack of variety.

    Not much else

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    7.1
    Disappointed that there was no fruit available for breakfast...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lack of electric sockets

    Disappointed that there was no fruit available for breakfast, however this was more than made up for by the extremely kind reception staff offering me the fruit that he had brought in for his own lunch. Thank you.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    3.3
    A very bag experience.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 6 nights

    1. Cleaning, an very old hotel, with a huge cleaning issues. 2. I booked for 6 night and when I check in I asked how is whit the payment. They receptionist told me that they have my details and on the last day. On the 3rd day, a person knock at my door and stated to shout at me that I have to pay my bill. On that particular time, I was taking on the phone with a customer. I been putted in a very bag situation. I mention that this person don't even present himself(Good morning/Hello, my name is ..... I am the ........) I asked after on the front office who is that person, if he is part of the staff, nobody answer to me. The style of breakfast service is not strange one. They don't espresso, cappuccino, the orange juice been a little to bitter(probably old). The wall in room 46 are broken, the wind is coming under the windows. A very bad experience.... I sended to emails that I want to talk with the General Manager, but nothing happens. An experience that I paid 300Pounds and I fill that I been treated as somebody how don't pay.

    That been close to the places that I had business to do.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    4.6
    Among one of the worst places I have stayed
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower did not work and was fobbed off by staff Lounge had expensive canned beer and frequented by yobs made me feel uncomfortable so retired to room Only place to eat out was local pub which was fully booked Food at hotel rubbish

    Nothing

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    10
    Excellent value for money, I will use it again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The traffic on Readings roads, but that is not the hotels fault...

    Samosas excellent, curry good, gammon steak really good, and all excellent value for money. the whole place was warm, in November and the water was hot. All the staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    7.5
    Overall happy with my stay :)
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a major issue but the room doors open and close loudly which could be disturbing for a light sleeper.

    Good central location and the staff kindly allowed me to leave my car parked for the duration of my stay which saved me a lot of time with trying to find parking elsewhere. Good variety of options for breakfast incl. 3 courses if desired.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    3.3
    Uncomfortable...had to leave soon.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 18 nights

    The room was sub-par and misrepresented on the website. Cleanliness wasn't the best. The bathroom was very small and the stall was too narrow to move about in. The heating wasn't good as well.

    The location was fine for my main area of work at the university.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    9.2
    Booked a second week!... Working locally.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Accommodation a little dated, but had hot water, heating, TV and tea making facilities (plenty of milks)... Restaurant and bar area provide hot food and drinks till late and the staff are very welcoming. Remember to pay the bar bill at the end of the week!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    7.9
    Would stay again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean, warm, food good for price, no complaints, it's not 5 star but good value for money. Would definitely stay again, only stayed 2 nights while working in the area, breakfast was ready early so nice to have that before work, not massive but a feed to start the day. Ate there one evening and couldn't complain £7 for a good curry.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    4.2
    Horrible room. Wouldn’t stay again
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ignorant staff didn’t seem to want to be there. Room was terrible, painted wood chip on the walls from the 80’s, mouldy bathroom that stunk of damp. In serious need of a good maintenance man as the repairs were shocking.

    Parking for my large van. Pub/ restaurant within walking distance. Breakfast was nice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    10
    A total pleasure which I intend to repeat & try our the restaurant for dinners next time!
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perhaps a little covered area outside for us smokers would be a good idea to try. Like a shed or shelter, pergola with a covered roof & a few seats & a ciggie bin. It's been quite wet weather so as it's a popular & busy establishment with travelling workmen, businesses staff, couples & others it'd help us smokers out & give the non smokers a less crowded doorways situation to enter & exit. There's currently wall mounted ciggie bins at the back & front main doors

    The amazing management & staff! All of whom are very lovely, friendly, helpful & exceptionally professional

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    3.3
    not very comfortable
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was cold, not enough electrical sockets, cleaners need to learn to knock on door before entering room. requested a heating for the room, i was given a heavy heater to take up to my room with my bad legs.

    breakfast was ok

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    9.6
    what a pleasant surpise will certainly stay here again if in the neighbourhood.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    the old fashioned shower in the rooms

    The friendliness of all the staff the nice comfortable room and the reasonableness of the price. Excellent evening meal amazed at the reasonable price. Good breakfast and quick service.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    6.3
    Acceptable but not repeatable
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bare central light bulb in room, no plug on basin. Room very plain, but acceptable. Smallish TV bent over, couldn't be straightened up. Needs area map or at least some free leaflets

    Pleasant breakfast, welcoming

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    6.7
    It was pretty much what I expected and was satisfactory for my needs. It was close to the places I n
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room was not made up on the Saturday.

    It is a 2 star hotel which met my requirements. The staff were pleasant, the room was small but fine for one person. Breakfast satisfactory. Excellent parking. Nice linen.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    5.0
    Interior from 30 years ago , room smelling of mould.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Interior from 30 years ago , room smelling of mould. Bathroom not the cleanest. Wifi not great. Thought I had decent pillow then noticed it was 2 old,grey& flat pillows in one pillow case. Only thing going for it is position and price.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    6.7
    Right place for a business stay but maybe not a holiday.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    room was a little tired but it was what I paid for so no complaints. also I was on the (2nd) top floor with plenty of stairs

    Location suited my purpose right where I needed it. Good attentive staff great parking.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    6.3
    Smelly
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    They leave the kitchen door open and by the night the whole place stinks unbelievably bad. Also, the breakfast is not rich and it is not the cleanest place I have been to. The bathroom was also very old. Unfortunately there are no restaurants nearby as it is not located in the centre of Reading,there is only a pub and some street food places. Also, due to a change to buses there is not a bus stopping outside the hotel, but there is a bus less than a km far.

    The location is very near to the university but there are not any restaurants or cafes nearby, only a pub.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    9.2
    It was an excellent choice for a working stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    A plug converter would be much appreciated. I got one, but it malfunctioned on the second day and I did not have the time to search for a new one.

    It is close to a railway station. Bus connection to the main railway station is good. The area is quiet. There is a choice of cooked breakfast, quick service. Large parking for those who need it.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    4.6
    If you don't have a choice and need a walking distance to University East Gate
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Poor rooms and staff, smoke smiling corridors No continental breakfast, no typical porridge!;)

    Convenient location for Reading University Decent restaurant and bar

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    5.4
    The money the charge is expensive, so they have to serve the customers well.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They have to be friendly and opening to every custom. They have to change the bed sheets, even every three days is acceptable.

    The receptionist are not friendly. And I spent a week over there,but they did changed my bed sheets throughout my staying there.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    6.3
    It was 5 minutes walk from where we were going, but it was not as good as it could be.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The decoration and carpets are tidy but quite dated, the bath had hairs in it, a power socket was almost completely unscrewed and nearly came out when I removed my phone charger. Breakfast was marked to include cereal but we were not offered any. The room was also too hot until in the middle of the night it was too cold.

    I commented in the booking that my wife has lactose tolerance problems. They purchased soya milk for her to use instead of regular cows milk.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    5.8
    Location.
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 13 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi keeps failing. Unless this is fixed, I’d not recommend this property if WiFi in the room is important. TV signals are also poor. Can’t watch some channels at all.

    Location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    7.1
    Good for the price, friedly staff, clean sheets ok breakfast and plenty of parking.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room, No. 11, smelled musty / damp, bathroom main light was not working, TV was hanging off the wall but it did work. I reported this to the duty manager. Further from the station then I thought, 40min walk or £10 taxi ride. The hotel could do with a revamp.

    Clean bed sheets, heating worked, breakfast was good, staff friendly, bedroom and bathroom were clean. If you come by car there is plenty of parking. Good curry restaurant , 'Miah's', 10 min walk away.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    3.8
    Convenient location for where I wanted to be but I wouldn't stay here again. It was a bit grim!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was unclean. Shower had a broken water dial. Bed was uncomfortable. Only two plug points in the room which meant that charging phone was tricky. Kettle didn't reach from the table to the plug point so the kettle was on the floor. There was a wardrobe but no hangers to hang anything up. Wall light was broken.

    Not much. Location was handy.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    6.7
    I enjoyed my stay, the hotel was close to the place I had my function in Reading.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    They had only one wireless access point which was at the reception, signal strength was always weak upstairs. No telephones in the rooms, one must walk down to the reception to ask for anything

    It is an old hotel but still clean. Breakfast is good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    2.5
    Disgusting hotel!!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This hotel is disgusting! The check in staff had no idea what he was doing and it too 20 minutes just to check in! Once we checked into our room we wished we hadnt!!! The room was disgusting, there was mould everywhere,, the light switch was an electrocution waiting to happen,,, there was rag shoved into the side of the switch?? The tap ran faster than the shower,, we went and complained and was first told there were no more rooms available , but then they found one,,, but to be honest this was worst than the first room,,, the bedding was not clean ...we went down for breakfast and after waiting for 20 minutes and still no one came to take our order ,, we left,, we stayed here while working in the area for 2 nights, we would not recommend this hotel to anyone!!!

    Nothing!!!

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Elmhurst Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: