Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Elmington Hotel 2 stars

St Agnes Lane, Torquay, TQ2 6QE, United Kingdom

#11 of 47 hotels in Torquay

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 249 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    10
    We had a very pleasant, comfortable stay at the Elmington Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was nothing not to like.

    We had a very comfortable bed, lovely fresh linen. The breakfast each morning was excellent, with plenty of choice. The Dining room was very well laid out with beautiful views of trees, shrubs and lawns. And only a very short walk to Torquay Harbour.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    9.6
    a pleasant and relaxing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    a warm welcome from the friendly hostess/owner, who was always available to answer any questions guests might have, a well-decorated and immaculately clean property, comfy beds, good breakfast with plenty of choice, pleasant gardens, good location for exploring Torbay

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    9.6
    Valve for money clean and well appointed will be returning next year.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike.

    The hotel is under valve as the rooms are very pleasant and clean and in excellent order very clean and linen is changed on a regular scale. Do like the hotel and location ideal have stayed before and it has improved since last stay 4 years ago and staff very helpful and friendly has not changed made very welcome at all times over the 4 day stay breakfast very good and good chose very good value for money I have paid more for less. We had a very pleasant 4 days thank you.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    5.4
    breakfast was only served between 8-9, no staff on reception...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    breakfast was only served between 8-9, no staff on reception to ask questions, had to go to kitchen to ask for an iron, did not receive a friendly welcome as expected from the other reviews

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    7.5
    Proprietor was very nice, couldn't be better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was a tad firm for me but would have suited others I'm sure. Only two tea bags so bring your own if you like several cups. A box of tissues would have been nice and perhaps some bottled water.

    Proprietor was very nice, couldn't be better. The hotel was quiet, both from other guests and no traffic or road noise. Very resonable price. Plenty of parking. Didn't eat breakfast but saw the food was good quality and plenty of it if you're hungry in the morning.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    5.8
    Very disappointing needs a new owner/manager and staff. This was our Wedding Anniversary Ugh!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were located in a box room (No 28) on the forth floor. Despite booking two months in advance, on arrival we were told this was the only room available?. The shower was abysmal, the 'owner' stating she had three plumbers visit to rectify the situation without success when all it needed was a larger diameter pipe leading to the shower head. When we enquired if we could book for evening meal she also stated that she 'didn't' do evening meals despite there being e menu in the dining room. She also didn't know where we could go for a meal and just gave us a guide book. No Help Whatsoever.

    The set out of the whole downstairs was nice. The breakfast was very acceptable.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    10
    A real gem of a find
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a beautifully quirky hotel. Leza has put her own stamp on the decor and everything is immaculately clean. The bed linen is top quality. Breakfast is hot and cold buffet; cooked food is prepared in batches to ensure it’s hot. Gluten Free diet is catered for very well too. Staff are friendly and helpful. Hotel is about 5 min stroll to beach and 10-15 minutes into town and the marina.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    5.8
    Clean but disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was hard and uncomfortable 😢 Small room at the back 4 flights of stairs With a boiler / hot tank noise from 6 am 😳 Breakfast was fine But only from 8 till nine Mind you didn’t sleep much so glad to get up the only time you seen any one was at breakfast Said there was a bar but never open Over all clean and tidy but you need to pay for bigger room 🙄 to stay here

    Clean but disappointing

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    9.2
    Great view from room, very comfortable bed, spacious room,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little more variety for breakfast would be nice. English breakfast 6 mornings in a row was a bit too much at the end of the stay. It was very GOOD though - I have to admit. Very friendly and helpful service. Bathroom was a bit narrow.

    Great view from room, very comfortable bed, spacious room, nice furniture. Terrace, lounge. It was a really pleasant stay!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    9.2
    Spacious apartment. Very clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked an extra television in the bedroom.

    Very nice apartment. Very clean. Staff very attentive. Lovely building with ample buffet breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    9.6
    Elmington is a friendly and relaxed atmosphere to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely stay at the Elmington, nothing was any trouble, when we asked for anything, Liza is a friendly and warm lady, we will definitely be staying here again in the future.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    9.2
    Very relaxing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was really bad. Really weak, and had to wait ages for it to warm up. Real shame, if it wasn't for that the hotel would of been perfect.

    Lovely breakfast, great location. Lovely view of Torquay. Friendy owner.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    10
    excellent hotel and would stay there again without hesitation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    shower in our top floor room was a little underpowered but was hot.

    On arrival we were offered a free tray of tea and biscuits which was a nice touch. Rooms were clean and well furnished. kids had their own apartment on ground floor which they loved. Heated outdoor pool was warm and well maintained. Breakfast was excellent and as much as you wanted. Lady owner very attentive. Would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    7.1
    Lovely bed, very comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A few little issues in the room, bathroom door didn't close properly the catch had gone, there was staining on the bed runner, the kettle leaked and all doors would've benefited from some oil! We were asked to pay on arrival, before even seeing the room which I found a little unusual.

    Lovely bed, very comfy. Great breakfast and very nice staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    10
    We stayed here for 4 nights in August 2018, to say this...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing negative to say about this hotel and the staff.

    We stayed here for 4 nights in August 2018, to say this hotel is immaculate would be an understatement. Comfortable beds and the pillows are excellent, best hotel pillows I've had, and I've stayed in lots of hotels. The breakfast was always freshly cooked and hot. Staff at this hotel are very welcoming and friendly. They have the running of this place down to a tee. Great location, literally 5 minutes to the seafront. Couldn't recomend this hotel enough. Thank you for msking us so welcome.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    7.5
    Well located and clean but better options out there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Dated room, thin pillows and an uncomfortable bed. Short slot from 8 til 9am for breakfast but breakfast wasn't great in my opinion so we only ate there once. All the doors slam, so don't think you'll get a lie in lol. It was an "okish" place if you like the 70's. Would I stay again?? No.

    A well located hotel, exceptionally clean good parking.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    10
    Excellent would love to stay here again,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Shower a bit small and took a long while to get hot water then kept going from hot to cold and not very powerful.

    The view from our room. Location. Breakfast and the lovely lady who owns the Elmington.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    9.2
    We enjoyed our stay at the Elmington; Liza and her staff are very friendly and welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The bar wasn't very well stocked and could have been better. The location was a little out of the way but not too far from a bus stop to go into the main area and the surrounding areas.The number 12 bus runs regularly, every 20 minutes, I think. However, if you don't mind a walk then it takes approximately 25 minutes into the main area.

    The room, although basic, was excellent. The staff were very friendly and extremely welcoming. The breakfast was of a very high standard and delicious. We would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    9.6
    Chill-out time in Torquay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was advertised with a heated pool (the main reason for my choice), and although the cover was taken off for me, it wasn't heated. The wi-fi was quite intermittent and weak.

    The room was adequate to my needs (more bedding was needed one cold night, but not there). The shared living room was delightful, leading into a gloriously lit breakfast room with sumptuous breakfasts cooked daily.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    9.2
    Great Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    One thing for others who go, you do pay on arrival not on departure. This was not a dislike for us, i am only putting this on as information for other visitors who like to pay on departure.

    Breakfast was great you help yourself to what you want, tea or coffee is brought to your table.There is also a choice of Juice and cereals.The room was smaller than we expected but it was very clean.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    10
    relaxing, enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    nothing I didn't like

    book it. everything about this hotel is great,Lisa the owner is so friendly and you are made to feel more than welcome. The swimming pool is clean. the railway station is 2 mins away but never heard any trains. it is a 20 min walked into town but it is a lovely walk plenty to see.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    9.2
    Enjoyable stay. Would recommend the hotel to friends.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing that I can think of

    Lisa, hotel owner is very welcoming & friendly which makes a difference to our stay. Plenty of car parking spaces. Good location to go jogging from to the harbour/pier and town. Railway station is only about 30 yards from hotel car park/garden. Buffet breakfast is very good - plenty of choices. Excellent time for breakfast to be served ( 08:00). Good free WIFI. Decent size kettle in the room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    10
    Highly recommend - lovely hostess
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi & toiletries in room could be better

    Room was lovely, we loved our stay. The hostess is lovely, breakfast yummy & pool access/gardens brilliant!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    8.8
    We had a realxing enjoyable stay at this hotel and would not hesitate to recmmend it to others.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our bathroom was slightly small but adequate and the hot water took a while to come through in the shower at times but these are really only minor niggles.

    We were made to feel very welcome and had a room at the top of the hotel with beautiful views over the bay. The cooked breakfast was excellent and the staff were very attentive with refills of coffee and more toast. There was plenty of car parking space and the hotel is not far( a couple of minutes walk) to the sea front and it is a gentle stroll into the town. The station is just below the hotel and is ideal for travelling to other places in the area. There is also a bus stop a few minutes away on the sea front. The pool was most welcome!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    9.6
    The Hotel was excellent although a little out of town and up...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The host of the hotel was most welcoming....kept room clean and tidy and hospitality was second to none ..we had an excellent stay for 4 days 😊

    The Hotel was excellent although a little out of town and up a hill once on the flat at side of sea was an easy walk into town via the park or along sea front...

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    10
    My daughter and I have just returned following a 3 night...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I’m not sure anything can be done but being on the top floor it was very warm.. but this didn’t interfere with our stay!

    My daughter and I have just returned following a 3 night stay, we were made to feel welcome, beds were comfortable, bathroom a decent size with a nice shower. Breakfast was definitely value for money! My daughter spent some time in the pool yesterday, very enjoyable!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    8.3
    Really enjoyed holiday. Lots to do. Bus trips open top and boat trips. Speed boats. And lots cafes
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If the hotel was on the harbour area ie on flat ground we would definitely stay there again. We are 64 year old twins and the route from front up to hotel wAs gruelling!! By the way for helping new guests if u come out the station at the back entrance. Look right. And the Elmington is just up a very steep hill on the left.

    Hotel and Lisa the owner lovely. Nothing too much trouble. Breakfast was more than u could want and cheap at £4 each cos I forgot to book inclusive so when we had the breakfast 3 of the 7 morning we were there we just paid Lisa separately.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    Lovely and relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely relaxing stay, very clean and comfortable rooms. Breakfast very nice and hot. We were made very welcome and will gladly stay again. Great location easy walk into Torquay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    A fabulous place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing to dislike about the hotel.

    Great location, wonderful staff and a fabulous hostess. The hotel is spotless and the breakfast is delicious, great choice and cooked to perfection. This is our third stay and will return.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    Excellent stay, great hospitality from the owner, couldn’t...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent stay, great hospitality from the owner, couldn’t do enough for us. I’m very grateful for making our stay unforgettable. Will be back most definitely.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    8.8
    Lady who owned hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only negative small bathroom with a very powerless shower (but that's being picky )

    Lady who owned hotel So friendly and welcoming Gòod location 15 minute walk into main area to lots of restaurant options and a nice walk back to hotel along the sea front to walk off your dinner

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.6
    I loved everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved everything. It was my first time here and will deff use this hotel every time i now come to torquay. Lisa the owner was lovely. She didnt mind what time u came as u have a key to the front door with yr room. The pool was lovely and clean and was just perfect. The views were amazing from this hotel. Taxis to the town were only £4.50 on the days you didnt feel like walking. Beds were super comfy. I cant praise this place enough

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Very clean and it felt like home from home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs a bit of TLC around the place like locks on doors and taps need attention in bathroom.

    Very clean and it felt like home from home. Warm friendly and accommodating

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    10
    A quiet hotel very close to the seafront
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Minor maintenance issues. Some of the plumbing in my bathroom was a bit awkwardly installed. The window catch was broken.

    A very quiet and convenient location in a leafy road, yet the railway station is literally at the bottom of the hotel garden and the seafront is 150 metres beyond that. The hotel is a bit dated but has a grand lounge with leather arm chairs, a sunny breakfast room and a large garden (with a swimming pool, though this was not in use on my trip). The proprietress was very friendly and served a good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, the room was spacious and the hotel was spotlessly clean. Great breakfast and the owner Liza made us feel so welcome. Will definitely return.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    9.6
    Lovely older style building with high ceilings, generous sized rooms, pool and decks & friendly host
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little remote from centre of town. Need transport to get there.

    Lovely older style building with generous sized rooms. Our host Liza was great and after checking in, directed us to her living room, provide wine and chatted for quite a while. Building is very comfortable with pool and decks. Breakfast was included and terrific with Liza giggling and directing us to city highlights.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    9.2
    Lovely stay and a fabulous patron.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms were cold. We did have an electric radiator in our room but our friends had nothing to keep the room warm.

    The owner is fabulous and has a very infectious laugh - loved her to pieces.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel, v. near station and promenade. Good breakfasts. Very clean. Recommend highly.
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lovely hotel/villa and garden in a beautiful spot with superb views. A few minutes walk from Torquay station. Hotel was nice and quiet, very clean and the breakfasts were lovely. The owner of the hotel, Lisa, was a delightful host and nothing was too much trouble. I recommend the hotel unreservedly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    10
    Would definitely stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing.

    Loved the sea view from our room. Swimming pool looked very good, shame it wasn't warm enough to try. Liza and staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    8.3
    Superb location for a train traveller
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing to dislike really.

    Superb location for anyone travelling by train, walk through the gardens and you're on the station in 3 minutes! 5 minutes to the promenade. Lovely building tastefully decorated and comfy rooms.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    10
    Good value B&B near the station
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Very near the train station. About 10mins walk to the harbour. Nice clean rooms and good breakfast. Great outdoor pool if the weather is nice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    5.0
    Disappointing and not what
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That it isn't near the beach.as adverised In the back and beyond difficult to fine.advertised a restaurant but had not had an evening one for 3 years. Would not recommend.

    Cleanluness

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    5.8
    I wont be returning
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Mattress needed replacing. Windows could not be closed. Old TV, unable to tune - BBC1, BBC 2, ITV, Channel 4 or 5 not available. Toilet ill fitting, lid had to be lifted to enable flush to work. Door lock insecure.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    7.1
    lovely clean hotel, no restaurant, as we thought there would be so had to eat out every evening.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The breakfast times was too early for us 8am-9am, I think 8-10am would have been better as we like a lie in on holiday, Wi-Fi in number 9 our room, was virtually nil, couldn't get Wi-Fi any morning and very limited in the evening kept switching itself off, also TV kept freezing, every few seconds, so watching TV programmes were ruined, I did mention this to the owner, would have liked more choice at breakfast, yogurts, cold meats, cheeses. Fried egg yolks were always hard never runny, and it took the waitress 5 days with me asking every day for more toast, before she eventually asked us if we wanted more toast.

    Hotel was clean, staff friendly the lady did move rooms for us as my husband has bad knee's but, was further away from town, than we thought, had to park in car park every day if you wanted to see the shops and sights, and if you were over 5 hours parking it was £10. there was no dressing room to lay stuff out in room 9.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    9.2
    Enjoyable and hope to visit again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Pressure of the shower.

    Breakfast buffet excellent. Light pleasant dining room with lovely bay view. Comfy large lounge areas. Bed and bedding fine. Lisa great! Very clean everywhere. Lovely garden with many shrubs and pots galore.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    10
    Extremely welcoming by the owner Liza and would not hesitate to book there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The only opinion I had was the shower in the bath was a little low, but constant hot water and very powerful, made up for that.

    We had a massive double bed and on-suite with tv and tea/coffee daily. Full English breakfast was 10/10. Its not a hotel for children under the age of 16.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    9.2
    We are quite experienced travellers, and the Elmington Hotel got to be one the best we have been to
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    We couldn't find anything we could say we didn't like

    The bedroom was equipped with everything we were hoping for, including a comfy bed, at breakfast you helped yourself to whatever cereal or fruit, yoghurt whatever, plus choice of fruit juice, and again helped yourself to the cooked breakfast with plenty to pile on your plate, while in the hotel we felt relaxed and comfortable, all told it was excellent, we would have trouble recommending the hotel

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    10
    Beautiful, spotlessly clean hotel. Liza was welcoming and friendly. Love Torquay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No dislikes what so ever.

    The breakfast was a self serve and excellent, and was served tea and coffee and toast on sitting down at our table, cannot fault it.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    9.6
    an absolute delight
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very quiet location. Lovely gardens and swimming pool and owner and staff extremely helpful.Hotel was delightful and would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    10
    Nothing was a problem at this hotel, Lisa the owner was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Nothing was a problem at this hotel, Lisa the owner was brilliant from the time we turned up, till the day we left. As for the breakfast, simply fantastic!!!! We were lucky to be given a sea view also, which also looked over the back of the train station, but don't panic, you couldn't here anything. We will be going back. Finally a thank you Lisa and your hard working staff for a great stay👍👍

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    10
    Very enjoyable weekend would recommend the Elmington hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was nothing i didn't like lovely hotel friendly staff and very helpful. Will definitely stay again when i am next in torquay.

    The bed was really comfortable and was a king size so slept really well.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    7.5
    Had a lovely stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed not too comfy and pillows a bit hard. Breakfast a bit greasy and no sweeteners instead of sugar.

    Liza and the staff are lovely. Room had a lovely view. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    2.5
    nothing very very rude loud and common host Lisa
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The host of the hotel was very rude impolite had zero customer service put in inhabitable room My husband has 2 brain operation he mention steps she put on the top floor hot and stuffy room Please can I have a full refund as this was the worst place ever we made the host aware but she remains rude and impolite She did not tell the time of breakfast but when I arrive a little late she refuse me any breakfast when another member of staff made breakfast she shouted at her like an animal please can I have a refund this was unacceptable behavior and accommodation. KR Kim

    nothing very very rude loud and common host Lisa

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.6
    Enjoyable stay in a very nice hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Lovely clean Hotel with a very spacious room. Breakfast was very tasty with good choice. Nice friendly staff. We had a room with a nice view out to the Torquay Eye and if you want the Railway station, it's very close although we didn't hear a single train from our room. A very enjoyable four night stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    3.3
    Breakfast was the same every morning
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfast was the same every morning The first day our towels were not replaced with clean ones The shower door came off the rails on day 3 and we had to put it back before we could shower The milk was not replaced in our kitchen cupboard Long walk with heavy bags up from the parking area with wooden path a bit unstable in places

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    8.3
    A comfortable clean hotel, lovely breakfast and wonderful host with a bonus of a swimming pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    Excellent weekend accomodation. The host Lisa was absolutey lovely with nothing being too much trouble for her. She ordered us a chinese takeaway and what we couldn`t eat, she kept in the fridge and heated it up for us the following day. The breakfast was plentiful and freshly cooked. Rooms were comfortable and very clean. I would certainly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    9.6
    Great private hotel. convenient for train station
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights

    a better shower in the room.a little on the small side

    the friendly nature of the owner,always a smile and laugh weather in the bar at midnight or serving breakfast at 8 am.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    10
    A fantastic week at a fantastic hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I found there was nothing to dislike about our stay

    I would highly recommend the Elmington Hotel to anybody, I will be going back next year for a stay.Liza the hotel owner is very courteous and bubbly, the staff are very friendly and helpful, the hotel is very clean and very comfortable, and the breakfast, when you have one of those it sets you up for the day,it is buffet style and you can have as much as you want, yes I will highly recommend a stay at the Elmington.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    9.6
    A hidden gem in central Torquay
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only the bathrooms are a little cramped but it does not detract from the overall enjoyment factor

    Very comfy beds, fabulous views, lovely staff, nice short walk into town, excellent coffee, plenty of good quality breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    8.3
    We stayed in the ground floor apartment which was lovely. Breakfast was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Information could have been given as to the nearest shop/s and restaurant. The accommodation advertised a restaurant but this was no longer the case.

    Breakfast was self service and staff helpful. Tea and toast was brought to the table.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    10
    Absolutely Brilliant Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Cannot think of anything.

    Everything - lovely view from our room, great swimming pool. The hotel was very comfortable and the owner was so nice and friendly as were all the staff. The location was ideal and the garden was very peaceful and well kept to have some relaxation.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    10
    Awesome!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No issues whatsoever.

    Liza and her staff were amazing. The breakfast was lovely, the pool was great and the room was spotless. I loved the place and will definately return. 🙂

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    7.9
    The Elmington Hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sausages on breakfast could have been cooked for longer. The pillows were uncomfortable. The bathroom and shower cubicle could have been bigger. As for the self contained apartment it could have been better equipped, utensil wise.

    The staff were very friendly. Liked the idea of a self contained apartment. Liked there was on-site parking. The rooms were a good size.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    8.8
    Great little guest room great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We discovered that the Pool, which was advertised on the web site as being open, was only to be opened on request; according to the in room info. This was not practical or convenient as the reception was seldom manned. The bar was not staffed also, although the host did make us a drink which made us feel awkward as it was interrupting her dinner! We are unaware if the restaurant attached was ever open as it was always dark and we didn't want the host to open up the kitchen just for us, more awkwardness! Ps please fix the wardrobe doors, they bang every time you walk past it!!!! Little rubber sticky pads would solve this!

    Friendly staff nice sized comfy room, good breakfast, great location continue to to get to town

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Weather

    The proprietor was one of the most friendly people I have met, Despite arriving early she was most welcoming. Could have not wished for a better result on a short notice booking

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    10
    So clean and fresh
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No negitive to report

    The hotel is managed to an exceptional standard, the level of customer care and attention is extremely high and after staying in many luxury 5* hotels worldwide we found the Elmington to have been cleaned to this standard or higher. If you require an exceptionally clean room and environment to stay, excellent quality bed linen and towels and a 5* customer service the Elmington provides this.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    10
    Superb hotel and host
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only thing I could find fault with was the sausages at breakfast, so I had extra bacon.

    Super clean, extremely friendly staff, very comfortable stay.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    9.2
    The room was spotless and the breakfast is excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The wifi is a bit hit and miss. the location is on a hill which could be a ploblem if you have mobility problems.

    The room was spotless and the breakfast is excellent. Only 2 minutes from the station. Quiet location. The gardens are well kept. Liza is a friendly and bubbly lady and made our stay very pleasent.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful hotel accommodation in Torquay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Liza is a wonderful and vivacious host. Our room was very nicely decorated. The bed was exceedingly comfortable. The full English breakfast was very satisfying and generous. The hotel surrounds are great with a swimming pool and specious gardens. There is ample parking. Wifi is good and free. Torquay town centre is approximately 30 minute walk from the hotel. I would definitely recommend this lovely hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    7.5
    Attractive hotel in convenient walking distance of town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom disappointing & needs some practical improvements. Low water pressure means shower is just a dribble. Very noisy fan is disturbing & bathroom lighting is very dim. A towel rail next to basin would be really useful. Couldn't watch TV, as signal was always breaking up.

    Convenient location to walk into town. Hotel's own parking. Attractive house & rooms , lovely garden with pool. Welcoming & friendly owner.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    8.8
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was 8.30-9.30 a little too early

    Very friendly lady room clean and comfortable great parking and lovely gardens weather a little cold for the pool but would be nice on a sunny day.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    10
    Brilliant 2 night hotel and theatre stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't anything to find fault with.

    The host and staff couldn't do enough for you. Room and breakfast Wonderful.cleanliness first class. Garden and views superb. Very convenient for seafront town And theatre.walking distance to all three but taxes available if Needed Overall could not find fault with Anything.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    9.2
    Lots of character. Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast finished too early and there was very little continental breakfast selection. A breakfast menu would have helped, but the couple of things we asked for were available.

    We loved the ornaments and character.It was a fantastic location with great views of the front.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    10
    Very enjoyable, nice rest.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were made to feel very comfortable. Breakfasts freshly cooked always piping hot. We enjoyed sitting in the beautiful garden when the weather was hot.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    9.6
    staff friendly, breakfast great, clean, off road parking,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 3 nights

    staff friendly, breakfast great, clean, off road parking, great views. elderly parent travelled with us and stayed in ground floor self contained one bedroomed apartment which was great.

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: