Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Elmington Hotel This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

St Agnes Lane, Torquay, TQ2 6QE, United Kingdom

#13 of 46 hotels in Torquay

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 280 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.8

  • Free WiFi

    6.7

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2018

    8.3
    Really enjoyed holiday. Lots to do. Bus trips open top and boat trips. Speed boats. And lots cafes
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    If the hotel was on the harbour area ie on flat ground we would definitely stay there again. We are 64 year old twins and the route from front up to hotel wAs gruelling!! By the way for helping new guests if u come out the station at the back entrance. Look right. And the Elmington is just up a very steep hill on the left.

    Hotel and Lisa the owner lovely. Nothing too much trouble. Breakfast was more than u could want and cheap at £4 each cos I forgot to book inclusive so when we had the breakfast 3 of the 7 morning we were there we just paid Lisa separately.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2018

    10
    Lovely and relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lovely relaxing stay, very clean and comfortable rooms. Breakfast very nice and hot. We were made very welcome and will gladly stay again. Great location easy walk into Torquay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 1, 2018

    10
    A fabulous place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There is nothing to dislike about the hotel.

    Great location, wonderful staff and a fabulous hostess. The hotel is spotless and the breakfast is delicious, great choice and cooked to perfection. This is our third stay and will return.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2018

    10
    Excellent stay, great hospitality from the owner, couldn’t...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Excellent stay, great hospitality from the owner, couldn’t do enough for us. I’m very grateful for making our stay unforgettable. Will be back most definitely.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 9, 2018

    8.8
    Lady who owned hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Only negative small bathroom with a very powerless shower (but that's being picky )

    Lady who owned hotel So friendly and welcoming Gòod location 15 minute walk into main area to lots of restaurant options and a nice walk back to hotel along the sea front to walk off your dinner

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    9.6
    I loved everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I loved everything. It was my first time here and will deff use this hotel every time i now come to torquay. Lisa the owner was lovely. She didnt mind what time u came as u have a key to the front door with yr room. The pool was lovely and clean and was just perfect. The views were amazing from this hotel. Taxis to the town were only £4.50 on the days you didnt feel like walking. Beds were super comfy. I cant praise this place enough

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    10
    Very clean and it felt like home from home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Needs a bit of TLC around the place like locks on doors and taps need attention in bathroom.

    Very clean and it felt like home from home. Warm friendly and accommodating

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 22, 2018

    10
    A quiet hotel very close to the seafront
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Minor maintenance issues. Some of the plumbing in my bathroom was a bit awkwardly installed. The window catch was broken.

    A very quiet and convenient location in a leafy road, yet the railway station is literally at the bottom of the hotel garden and the seafront is 150 metres beyond that. The hotel is a bit dated but has a grand lounge with leather arm chairs, a sunny breakfast room and a large garden (with a swimming pool, though this was not in use on my trip). The proprietress was very friendly and served a good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2018

    10
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great location, the room was spacious and the hotel was spotlessly clean. Great breakfast and the owner Liza made us feel so welcome. Will definitely return.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 4, 2018

    9.6
    Lovely older style building with high ceilings, generous sized rooms, pool and decks & friendly host
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Little remote from centre of town. Need transport to get there.

    Lovely older style building with generous sized rooms. Our host Liza was great and after checking in, directed us to her living room, provide wine and chatted for quite a while. Building is very comfortable with pool and decks. Breakfast was included and terrific with Liza giggling and directing us to city highlights.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 3, 2018

    9.2
    Lovely stay and a fabulous patron.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms were cold. We did have an electric radiator in our room but our friends had nothing to keep the room warm.

    The owner is fabulous and has a very infectious laugh - loved her to pieces.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 11, 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel, v. near station and promenade. Good breakfasts. Very clean. Recommend highly.
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lovely hotel/villa and garden in a beautiful spot with superb views. A few minutes walk from Torquay station. Hotel was nice and quiet, very clean and the breakfasts were lovely. The owner of the hotel, Lisa, was a delightful host and nothing was too much trouble. I recommend the hotel unreservedly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: October 20, 2017

    10
    Would definitely stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing.

    Loved the sea view from our room. Swimming pool looked very good, shame it wasn't warm enough to try. Liza and staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 18, 2017

    8.3
    Superb location for a train traveller
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing to dislike really.

    Superb location for anyone travelling by train, walk through the gardens and you're on the station in 3 minutes! 5 minutes to the promenade. Lovely building tastefully decorated and comfy rooms.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 30, 2017

    10
    Good value B&B near the station
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Very near the train station. About 10mins walk to the harbour. Nice clean rooms and good breakfast. Great outdoor pool if the weather is nice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 28, 2017

    5.0
    Disappointing and not what
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    That it isn't near the beach.as adverised In the back and beyond difficult to fine.advertised a restaurant but had not had an evening one for 3 years. Would not recommend.

    Cleanluness

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 18, 2017

    5.8
    I wont be returning
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Mattress needed replacing. Windows could not be closed. Old TV, unable to tune - BBC1, BBC 2, ITV, Channel 4 or 5 not available. Toilet ill fitting, lid had to be lifted to enable flush to work. Door lock insecure.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 17, 2017

    7.1
    lovely clean hotel, no restaurant, as we thought there would be so had to eat out every evening.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The breakfast times was too early for us 8am-9am, I think 8-10am would have been better as we like a lie in on holiday, Wi-Fi in number 9 our room, was virtually nil, couldn't get Wi-Fi any morning and very limited in the evening kept switching itself off, also TV kept freezing, every few seconds, so watching TV programmes were ruined, I did mention this to the owner, would have liked more choice at breakfast, yogurts, cold meats, cheeses. Fried egg yolks were always hard never runny, and it took the waitress 5 days with me asking every day for more toast, before she eventually asked us if we wanted more toast.

    Hotel was clean, staff friendly the lady did move rooms for us as my husband has bad knee's but, was further away from town, than we thought, had to park in car park every day if you wanted to see the shops and sights, and if you were over 5 hours parking it was £10. there was no dressing room to lay stuff out in room 9.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 13, 2017

    9.2
    Enjoyable and hope to visit again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Pressure of the shower.

    Breakfast buffet excellent. Light pleasant dining room with lovely bay view. Comfy large lounge areas. Bed and bedding fine. Lisa great! Very clean everywhere. Lovely garden with many shrubs and pots galore.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 9, 2017

    10
    Extremely welcoming by the owner Liza and would not hesitate to book there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The only opinion I had was the shower in the bath was a little low, but constant hot water and very powerful, made up for that.

    We had a massive double bed and on-suite with tv and tea/coffee daily. Full English breakfast was 10/10. Its not a hotel for children under the age of 16.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: September 8, 2017

    9.2
    We are quite experienced travellers, and the Elmington Hotel got to be one the best we have been to
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    We couldn't find anything we could say we didn't like

    The bedroom was equipped with everything we were hoping for, including a comfy bed, at breakfast you helped yourself to whatever cereal or fruit, yoghurt whatever, plus choice of fruit juice, and again helped yourself to the cooked breakfast with plenty to pile on your plate, while in the hotel we felt relaxed and comfortable, all told it was excellent, we would have trouble recommending the hotel

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 8, 2017

    10
    Beautiful, spotlessly clean hotel. Liza was welcoming and friendly. Love Torquay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No dislikes what so ever.

    The breakfast was a self serve and excellent, and was served tea and coffee and toast on sitting down at our table, cannot fault it.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 2, 2017

    9.6
    an absolute delight
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very quiet location. Lovely gardens and swimming pool and owner and staff extremely helpful.Hotel was delightful and would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: September 2, 2017

    10
    Nothing was a problem at this hotel, Lisa the owner was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Nothing was a problem at this hotel, Lisa the owner was brilliant from the time we turned up, till the day we left. As for the breakfast, simply fantastic!!!! We were lucky to be given a sea view also, which also looked over the back of the train station, but don't panic, you couldn't here anything. We will be going back. Finally a thank you Lisa and your hard working staff for a great stay👍👍

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 29, 2017

    10
    Very enjoyable weekend would recommend the Elmington hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was nothing i didn't like lovely hotel friendly staff and very helpful. Will definitely stay again when i am next in torquay.

    The bed was really comfortable and was a king size so slept really well.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 25, 2017

    7.5
    Had a lovely stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bed not too comfy and pillows a bit hard. Breakfast a bit greasy and no sweeteners instead of sugar.

    Liza and the staff are lovely. Room had a lovely view. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 7, 2017

    2.5
    nothing very very rude loud and common host Lisa
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The host of the hotel was very rude impolite had zero customer service put in inhabitable room My husband has 2 brain operation he mention steps she put on the top floor hot and stuffy room Please can I have a full refund as this was the worst place ever we made the host aware but she remains rude and impolite She did not tell the time of breakfast but when I arrive a little late she refuse me any breakfast when another member of staff made breakfast she shouted at her like an animal please can I have a refund this was unacceptable behavior and accommodation. KR Kim

    nothing very very rude loud and common host Lisa

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 2, 2017

    9.6
    Enjoyable stay in a very nice hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Lovely clean Hotel with a very spacious room. Breakfast was very tasty with good choice. Nice friendly staff. We had a room with a nice view out to the Torquay Eye and if you want the Railway station, it's very close although we didn't hear a single train from our room. A very enjoyable four night stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: August 2, 2017

    3.3
    Breakfast was the same every morning
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfast was the same every morning The first day our towels were not replaced with clean ones The shower door came off the rails on day 3 and we had to put it back before we could shower The milk was not replaced in our kitchen cupboard Long walk with heavy bags up from the parking area with wooden path a bit unstable in places

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 23, 2017

    8.3
    A comfortable clean hotel, lovely breakfast and wonderful host with a bonus of a swimming pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    Excellent weekend accomodation. The host Lisa was absolutey lovely with nothing being too much trouble for her. She ordered us a chinese takeaway and what we couldn`t eat, she kept in the fridge and heated it up for us the following day. The breakfast was plentiful and freshly cooked. Rooms were comfortable and very clean. I would certainly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 23, 2017

    9.6
    Great private hotel. convenient for train station
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights

    a better shower in the room.a little on the small side

    the friendly nature of the owner,always a smile and laugh weather in the bar at midnight or serving breakfast at 8 am.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2017

    10
    A fantastic week at a fantastic hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I found there was nothing to dislike about our stay

    I would highly recommend the Elmington Hotel to anybody, I will be going back next year for a stay.Liza the hotel owner is very courteous and bubbly, the staff are very friendly and helpful, the hotel is very clean and very comfortable, and the breakfast, when you have one of those it sets you up for the day,it is buffet style and you can have as much as you want, yes I will highly recommend a stay at the Elmington.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2017

    9.6
    A hidden gem in central Torquay
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Only the bathrooms are a little cramped but it does not detract from the overall enjoyment factor

    Very comfy beds, fabulous views, lovely staff, nice short walk into town, excellent coffee, plenty of good quality breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2017

    8.3
    We stayed in the ground floor apartment which was lovely. Breakfast was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Information could have been given as to the nearest shop/s and restaurant. The accommodation advertised a restaurant but this was no longer the case.

    Breakfast was self service and staff helpful. Tea and toast was brought to the table.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2017

    10
    Absolutely Brilliant Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Cannot think of anything.

    Everything - lovely view from our room, great swimming pool. The hotel was very comfortable and the owner was so nice and friendly as were all the staff. The location was ideal and the garden was very peaceful and well kept to have some relaxation.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2017

    10
    Awesome!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No issues whatsoever.

    Liza and her staff were amazing. The breakfast was lovely, the pool was great and the room was spotless. I loved the place and will definately return. 🙂

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 7, 2017

    7.9
    The Elmington Hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The sausages on breakfast could have been cooked for longer. The pillows were uncomfortable. The bathroom and shower cubicle could have been bigger. As for the self contained apartment it could have been better equipped, utensil wise.

    The staff were very friendly. Liked the idea of a self contained apartment. Liked there was on-site parking. The rooms were a good size.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 3, 2017

    8.8
    Great little guest room great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We discovered that the Pool, which was advertised on the web site as being open, was only to be opened on request; according to the in room info. This was not practical or convenient as the reception was seldom manned. The bar was not staffed also, although the host did make us a drink which made us feel awkward as it was interrupting her dinner! We are unaware if the restaurant attached was ever open as it was always dark and we didn't want the host to open up the kitchen just for us, more awkwardness! Ps please fix the wardrobe doors, they bang every time you walk past it!!!! Little rubber sticky pads would solve this!

    Friendly staff nice sized comfy room, good breakfast, great location continue to to get to town

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: June 30, 2017

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Weather

    The proprietor was one of the most friendly people I have met, Despite arriving early she was most welcoming. Could have not wished for a better result on a short notice booking

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 27, 2017

    10
    So clean and fresh
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No negitive to report

    The hotel is managed to an exceptional standard, the level of customer care and attention is extremely high and after staying in many luxury 5* hotels worldwide we found the Elmington to have been cleaned to this standard or higher. If you require an exceptionally clean room and environment to stay, excellent quality bed linen and towels and a 5* customer service the Elmington provides this.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2017

    10
    Superb hotel and host
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only thing I could find fault with was the sausages at breakfast, so I had extra bacon.

    Super clean, extremely friendly staff, very comfortable stay.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 16, 2017

    9.2
    The room was spotless and the breakfast is excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The wifi is a bit hit and miss. the location is on a hill which could be a ploblem if you have mobility problems.

    The room was spotless and the breakfast is excellent. Only 2 minutes from the station. Quiet location. The gardens are well kept. Liza is a friendly and bubbly lady and made our stay very pleasent.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 14, 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful hotel accommodation in Torquay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Liza is a wonderful and vivacious host. Our room was very nicely decorated. The bed was exceedingly comfortable. The full English breakfast was very satisfying and generous. The hotel surrounds are great with a swimming pool and specious gardens. There is ample parking. Wifi is good and free. Torquay town centre is approximately 30 minute walk from the hotel. I would definitely recommend this lovely hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 6, 2017

    7.5
    Attractive hotel in convenient walking distance of town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom disappointing & needs some practical improvements. Low water pressure means shower is just a dribble. Very noisy fan is disturbing & bathroom lighting is very dim. A towel rail next to basin would be really useful. Couldn't watch TV, as signal was always breaking up.

    Convenient location to walk into town. Hotel's own parking. Attractive house & rooms , lovely garden with pool. Welcoming & friendly owner.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 5, 2017

    8.8
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was 8.30-9.30 a little too early

    Very friendly lady room clean and comfortable great parking and lovely gardens weather a little cold for the pool but would be nice on a sunny day.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: June 2, 2017

    10
    Brilliant 2 night hotel and theatre stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There wasn't anything to find fault with.

    The host and staff couldn't do enough for you. Room and breakfast Wonderful.cleanliness first class. Garden and views superb. Very convenient for seafront town And theatre.walking distance to all three but taxes available if Needed Overall could not find fault with Anything.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 28, 2017

    9.2
    Lots of character. Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast finished too early and there was very little continental breakfast selection. A breakfast menu would have helped, but the couple of things we asked for were available.

    We loved the ornaments and character.It was a fantastic location with great views of the front.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 16, 2017

    10
    Very enjoyable, nice rest.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We were made to feel very comfortable. Breakfasts freshly cooked always piping hot. We enjoyed sitting in the beautiful garden when the weather was hot.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: April 18, 2017

    9.6
    staff friendly, breakfast great, clean, off road parking,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 3 nights

    staff friendly, breakfast great, clean, off road parking, great views. elderly parent travelled with us and stayed in ground floor self contained one bedroomed apartment which was great.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 10, 2017

    10
    Absolutely fabulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Fantastic breakfasts Close to transport Absolutely wonderful owner and staff Great room with huge bed. Wonderful views from guest dining room and lounge.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: October 18, 2016

    8.8
    Good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A bit old fashioned decor wise, and the en suite was tiny and no power shower so like standing under the tap.

    Excellent breakfast. Everywhere was really clean and owner was lovely.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: October 11, 2016

    6.3
    Not a place I would revisit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This hotel is located behind the train station up a very steep hill. The decor is overwhelming with mismatched bright carpets, Buddhas everywhere with an immense one in the sun room. Fake orchids and various fake flowers are scattered throughout hallways and public rooms. There are tons of nicknacks covering every available space from windowsills to hall furniture. Every wall in my bedroom had different style prints with a huge canvas of a half naked woman( her back was towards the viewer) over the bed. All very over the top and not very tasteful.

    The staff was very friendly and seemed shocked that I checked out a day early.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: October 9, 2016

    7.5
    Made to feel welcome friendly hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Doesn't really cater for disabled with upstair rooms and if no spaces at front to park ( which there are only few spaces ) you have a bit of a walk to main car park with all your luggage but we did enjoy our stay in hotel

    Room lovely clean breakfast plenty of choice shame didn't do evening meals friendly owner everything in hotel seemed clean and well looked after

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 29, 2016

    8.8
    Good place, helpful and inviting staff and great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Got a little lost on my first night out and because of being uphill I got fed up with trying to find it....perhaps a map of the immediate local area would have been good on the first night as it was dark by the time I arrived? I was OK once I had got my bearings in the light the next day, but it took me ages that first night.....

    Breakfast was good. Staff friendly & inviting. Good access to rail station as it is right next to it.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 27, 2016

    7.5
    Decor a shock to the system!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The decor was dreadful with plastic flowers and statues of Buddhas everywhere. We were told on booking that there was free wifi but that was a joke. If you stood in the lobby you may be lucky to make a phone call as the signal was non existent. So in reality no Wifi.

    The hotel was very clean and quiet. The cooked breakfast was good with pleasant staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 20, 2016

    7.9
    Relaxed and friendly hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The showers are a bit on the small side. Walls rather thin so pray you aren't next door to a snorer like we were!

    Bed small double, but comfortable. Breakfast was buffet style cooked and just right. Owner and her staff friendly and efficient. View from our room lovely.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 20, 2016

    8.3
    A perfect location for a value-for-money short break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room (No.23) was just barely adequate for a couple - but was accepted by us in view of the fact that it was an almost last-minute booking when a long-standing reservation with another hotel had to be cancelled because of unforeseen problems at that other hotel.

    The location was ideal - with the back entrance just yards away from the rail station, and not much further to the sea front. Breakfast was provided as part of accommodation - it was limited in choice but more than adequate in quantity (although some mild criticism from my wife in regard to the apparently shop-bought sausages!), but the view from the dining area more than made up for any perceived limitation of the sausages. There was an unlimited supply of hot water in our room (my judge of a good hotel). The entire hotel is a show-piece of oriental art, with many artefacts on display - this was a pleasant and unique surprise. Our small double room was fitted with plenty of storage space (a large, new unit containing wardrobes and many drawers - a convenience which many other more expensive hotels might care to copy).

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 19, 2016

    9.2
    lovely hotel, friendly staff, great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel needs to update its wifi, as the walls are very thick and this is impacting on the connection. The shower could do with improving.

    The hotel owner was very friendly and easy going, very welcoming. The cooked breakfast was of a very high quality.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 18, 2016

    7.1
    Clean and comfortable but will not be returning to Torquay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    When we arrived the front door was locked. There was no lift and some residents had problems to get to the second floor. No organisation at breakfast, no one was told where the food was. I had to asked 5 times out of 7 for tea and toast. Perhaps if they just put out the cereals and juice. Then ask the residents what they would like for breakfast and cook it. There would not be any waste of food which had been cooked.

    Location was good. It was a very well looked after property.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 15, 2016

    10
    Beautiful place in a lovely location so peaceful but yet...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beautiful place in a lovely location so peaceful but yet only 10 min walk to main town and docks. Lovely staff owner so friendly makes you feel at home will definitely be returning thanks for a lovely weekend !!!!!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 15, 2016

    9.2
    Lovely little gem of a hotel if you dont mind being a bit far from town,though bus services are freq
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A hair dryer in my room would have been useful, though not essential.

    Hotel close to railway station/bus stops, very quiet although a fair distance from the town centre. Staff helpful and polite, although because I was out most of the time I didn't get much of a chance to really get to know them.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 4, 2016

    10
    Such a welcoming environment
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The wifi needs to improve.

    Fantastic facilities, the hospitality we received from our arrival was fantastic. Your wifi, does need improving, but apart from that, I can't fault it in any way. Thank you for making our holiday enjoyable.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: August 31, 2016

    9.6
    Liza Burns and her staff are really friendly and welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Liza Burns and her staff are really friendly and welcoming. The rooms were clean and comfortable, a beautiful garden that the children loved playing in - we're looking forward to go back.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 31, 2016

    5.8
    Room for improvement in many areas.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Didn't like the self service breakfast, or having to ask for more comfortable pillows, the hospitality tray was poor compaired to other Hotels we have stayed in. There were Insufficient toiletries ie. no shower gel.

    The location and staff were very good. The extensive grounds were wonderful.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 31, 2016

    9.2
    Torquay break with easy access to train station, beach and Harbour area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Towels changed every 3 days? Every other day would be fine, bar not available when coming back at night (not sure when available actually) as we never seen it open.

    Breakfast was very good and plenty of, nice thick bacon and a good choice, also plenty of cereals and orange juice. We had a sea view which included view of swimming pool again very nice and a big 4 poster bed.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 30, 2016

    9.2
    homely atmosphere
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    wifi is very weak. Could do with improving

    My husband and I stayed for 3 nights and wished we have more time. Room is very clean and comfortable. The place is very accessible as it is just a couple of minutes from the public transport, beach and town centre. Staff are very friendly and professional. And Liza, the owner is lovely and hospitable.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 23, 2016

    9.6
    Brilliant stay (:
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Loved the hotel. The staff were brilliant, good food, beautiful view of the sea and fair ground from our room. Was fabulous. There was a room missing at the hotel when we got there bit of a mix up, but the owner did a brilliant job of sorting it out even though they were fully booked. Definitely stay again (:

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 22, 2016

    7.1
    The staff were very nice, the view was nice with a pool and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not complaining!i had a fabulous five days and nights in Torquay at the Elmington Hotel

    The staff were very nice, the view was nice with a pool and garden, breakfast was good, my bathroom was nicely done up with new wall tiles,

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 21, 2016

    10
    Great break in Torquay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A little disappointed the hotel bar was just bottles and cans...but there are plenty of bars in a short walk.

    Good breakfast, minutes walk from the beach. Very clean hotel, quiet at night no trouble sleeping with the window open.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 15, 2016

    10
    A lovely friendly place to stay in a quiet location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Wi-Fi could do with a boost, but that it is being picky!

    The staff were friendly and helpful, the room was lovely & bright with great views of Torquay & the sea. We will be back :)

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 15, 2016

    7.5
    Owner and staff were very friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    On our first night we were allocated a double room although we had booked a twin. We were moved to a twin room the next day but some people would have been put off by this

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 14, 2016

    5.8
    needs to improve
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    did not know we were coming because she missed e-mail from booking .com also room was small, bathroom was tiny, shower was rubbish , half a toilet roll , no drink offered when we arrived, the second room we booked for my son should have been a twin he got a double so he had to sleep with his four year old daughter

    the location was good, breakfast was good

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 10, 2016

    10
    Home from home at the Elmimgron
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The welcome we received was so warm and we were made to feel at home in this lovely old Victorian hotel. The beds were very comfortable and breakfast was delicious with as much food as you wanted, both a cooked full English or cereals and fruit. Although we did not use the swimming pool, it is a decent size and it is lovely just to sit and take in the beautiful gardens. The hotel is situated just a short walk from the railway station and the beach. Bus stops are nearby and a walk of about 20 minutes takes you down to the harbour. There are so many places that can be accessed to visit by train, bus and ferry that there is no need to drive. All in all I would say that this hotel was a brilliant find.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 8, 2016

    7.9
    Lovely clean hotel.
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lack of communication. No info in room IE What time is breakfast? What time should room be vacated? Fire precautions? Also stuggled in little front car park for 2 days before another guest told us of larger carpark at the rear.

    Spotlessly clean. Breakfast all fresh.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 7, 2016

    7.9
    Lovely accommodation a short walk for the sea.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The pillows were hard so bring your own.

    We had a ground floor apartment that was beautiful and had its own access so we didnt feel as if we were disturbing anyone if we came back late. The welcome was wonderful and the hotel itself was nicely decorated. The hotel is a very short walk from the beach.

    Stayed in August 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: