Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Elmwood Hotel 2 stars

19 & 20 Argyle square, Camden, London, WC1H 8AS, United Kingdom

#911 of 977 hotels in London

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2413 hotel reviews

6.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.2

  • Comfort

    5.3

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    5.5

  • Staff

    7.1

  • Value for money

    6

  • Free WiFi

    6.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    6.7
    Good location and reasonable value
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was compact and bijou to put it politely. I was in a basement room and it was noisy both from the neighbours and the drainage pipes

    Only 100m from the Tube and restaurants. Bed was comfortable and room generally was clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    5.8
    Fine accomodation for a night, but not longer
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single
    • Stayed 1 night

    The leave-keys-at-reception was slightly frustration when arriving one night while nobody was at the reception desk; the guest registration was also slightly weird. On checking out, the staff was more interested in something else and forgot to press the button to open the door and let me out ...

    Being right next to King's Cross for my arrival and early departure was convenient.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    5.8
    Total Disrepair
    • People with friends
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was cramped 4 single beds and a double bed in 1 small room. The bathroom was dirty tiles were cracked the toilet roll holder was brown with rust and it stank of urine. Holes in wall, 1 bed was broken whereby the bed was bent up as one of the wheels were snapped. Bedding was ripped and was uncomfortable. Needs updating badly- its sad that a hotel that has alot of potential and looks of a good standard on the outside is let down by the rooms being in disrepair.

    Only 1 thing i did like was the fact it was easy to get to Kings Cross St Pancras. But even saying that i would never stay there again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    6.7
    Clean hotel mattress and bedroom furniture has seen better days. Quiet location for sleep over..
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just think not everyone likes white bread toast and ham slices, the cheese looked very plastic and for just a little more attention to detail this hotel can see better rewards for its location..

    Location, location, location.. Good stop over hotel. No frills..

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    5.4
    Incredibly cramped, little amenities, bedbugs, but excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple
    • Stayed 1 night

    Leaving the key at the front desk before you leave the property every single time, was quite annoying, especially since you had to ring the doorbell and wait for the staff to let you in, which was not always in a timely fashion. The room was incredibly small, barely room for three people. The bathroom was tiny as well, and the shower curtain did not prevent water spilling over the shower ledge and pooling onto the bathroom floor. The toilet / sink / shower worked just fine, but it was cramped and barely enough room to change in. The bed was fairly hard, but not the end of the world. There were not enough outlets in the room at all, especially in a room that was meant to be for three people--for which we reserved. No lift / elevator either, though that's common of hotels in the UK. They only gave us 3 towels, too, one per person, and kind of grumbled when asked for more. The staff were mildly friendly, there was one man who was very nice and another who was inattentive and not very helpful. But all of this could be forgiven and overlooked if not for the bedbugs.... my dad woke up with bites all over his legs, and I woke up with a few bites as well. Nothing terrible, nothing too lasting, but it was nasty and I would definitely not want to stay again after that experience--especially for the price, which was NOT cheap. They also added 3% to the bill because we paid using credit card.

    The location was great--just a few minutes walk from King's Cross St. Pancras station, and Euston as well. In a nice neighborhood, near Bloomsbury and the heart of London. They had a left luggage room for storage, which was helpful as check in was later in the day.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    5.4
    No
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room size, bedding, building 3 floors no lift with luggage, toilet set was flimsy, shower didnt produce hot water, lack of ventilation, no air con/ fan, window was dirty. Bed was small than what was advertised.

    Location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    3.8
    Horrible
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is a dump! Dust everywhere, holes in the back of wardrobe, no air con, staff outside all hrs smoking and talking very loudly, bathroom should be condemned. It had tiles cracked and fallen off, rusty toilet roll holder, shower pole and taps. Holes in the wall with cobwebs and the electric meter exposed on bathroom wall?? My children were scared to go in. We went out for breakfast as didn't trust the cleanliness of the kitchen. Reception staff not very friendly. Never again!

    Convenient for train station.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    9.2
    Super convenient and value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed could have been a bit firmer and room is very small but for one or two nights it's fine.

    Small single room - but as expected. Breakfast was fine. Very convenient to Kings Cross/St Pancras.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    6.3
    For the price, it was acceptable. Still, I don't think I'd stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no hot water in the shower at night, and I was awakened three or four times by yelling/screaming from outside (not the fault of the hotel but a feature of staying there).

    The price and location can't be beat! Staff was very friendly, and breakfast adequate.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    5.4
    Room too small.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room too small. Hotel asked for extra 3.5% charge if bill paid by credit card which was not mentioned anywhere during booking. Hope to get back this money.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    6.3
    Location was good and the staff friendly but apart from that the property was pretty ordinary
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Condition of the room - bathroom vanity light did not work, WC dripped, walls dirty and marked, bed mattress basic wire coil. Room above had wooden floors and you could hear every move made, very difficult to sleep.

    Room and linen were clean, breakfast was better than expected.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    5.4
    It was near Kings Cross and St. Pancras which is why I booked.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quite noisy from other rooms. Not much room to open bathroom door properly.

    very very small single room looking onto a brick wall. Breakfast was included but poor.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    6.3
    The close location to King's Cross Station
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very tiny and the window wouldn't open. As there was no air conditioning the room became very hot and we hardly slept all night.

    The close location to King's Cross Station

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    6.3
    Testing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Where do I start with this.. I've never had a bad experience in London Hospitality til this hotel first night couldn't sleep for noise outside, plug 🔌 was broken in the socket couldn't use the kettle, Windows not soundproofed, I was offered a change of room which I did the morning of the event left my luggage with reception who said I could get the key on my return just give name in easy... I thought ,21 hrs later I returned a new member of staff on duty couldn't find which room I was in gave me wrong key when I found my room my luggage was no where tube found but as I looked down the corridor I found my luggage sitting there with a label saying 'please take to room 30' anything could of been stolen I paid £180 for hotel!!!!

    breakfast was nice the morning I was leaving the lady was very accommodating unlike the reception service

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    3.8
    Nothing!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was tiny and dark. The shower didn’t work, we had to share a double bed when we requested two singles. There was marks all over, it was very dirty. HORRENDOUS

    Nothing!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    6.3
    Reasonably good value for money. Improvements could be made, eg better TV reception and WiFi
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was too hot; a fan would have helped. The TV did not have a signal and the WiFi was poor.

    Handy location. Generally tidy and quite comfortable. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    8.3
    The staff are lovely and helpful, very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was extremely cramped. Very noisy hotel, sounded like a heard of elephants were above me all night. Other patrons in hotel partied above until after 2am.

    The staff are lovely and helpful, very friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    7.9
    Very clean, friendly staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed wasn’t particularly comfortable - springs were gone on the mattress. Breakfast wasn’t fantastic either but for the price it was good.

    Very clean, friendly staff. Fantastic location and very well priced for what you got.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    8.3
    Excellent Location! Great price/value hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed wasn't comfortable and breakfast was disappointing

    Location was just perfect and the facilities were clean. Excellent WiFi as well, it was great value for money!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    3.8
    I would not recommend it. Expected a restful nights sleep, a night in a overheated, noisy messy ro
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fire exists blocked with ladders, diy in the room above after 10pm, keeping us awake. Spiders & webs in corners, mould, growing in the shower, curtains ripped. Needs good overhaul. Queue for breakfast, no alternatives for low fat, or even fresh fruit.

    Linen was clean

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    10
    we was going on the eurostar the next day, and it is within a few minuties walk from St Pancras
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    St Pancras and kings cross stations, we came into kings cross station. when we got to London, and we only had to walk, about 5 minuties and you are al the hotel. the room was nice for the one night. we was there. and we had tea and coffee in our room. and a tv. the bed was very comfy.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    7.9
    Cheap cheerful and great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    £95 For a room for 3 in London so I knew we was booking a budget hotel and wasnt expecting great things but then we onky planned on sleeping there not enjoying the facilities. Location was fab, room was ok. It was clean, small but comfortable and suited what we needed. Breakfast was continental, some bacon would of been mice but hey ho. Staff were pleasant and welcoming. Great if like us you needed somewhere to put your over night back, then rest your head before your journey home again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    6.3
    Great location and good nearby restaurant and quick access...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was too small for three persons, top floor was very suffocating, no lift so lifting luggage was a climb on a peak

    Great location and good nearby restaurant and quick access to King cross station, staff were friendly and reception available 24x7

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    4.6
    Poor
    • Solo traveller
    • Single
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was tiny. Toilet room almost impossible to get into it was that small. Bed was damaged and sloping. Only 1 towel was left there. Would never stay there again!

    Nothing.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    3.8
    Rubbish don't book
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small rooms,panel coming away from radiator,people's smoke from outside filling the room,building work from next door starting really early

    Would not recommend this place,overpriced but at least the sun was out during our stay

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    6.7
    Worth a look in London
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast room is too small for number of guests. One day everything fine - only 4/5 guests at breakfast , another day room is full & noisy! Although bedroom was in a quiet location , the noise of guests walking on floorboards above was badly disturbing !

    Comfortable bed , room in a quiet location. Hotel close to transport links , also close to some good eating places. Useful as an overnight stopover.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    4.6
    Busy London
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rough area. Noisy drunks in Street all night. Had to pay a credit card surcharge that wasn't advertised. Small room. Out dated hotel. Asked to hand keys back each time I left the hotel.

    Breakfast was ok. Scrambled eggs provided. Close to St Pancres Station for early train.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    7.1
    Great central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The single room was a bit on the small side but had a double bed and everything I needed.

    Continental style breakfast but surprisingly with scrambled egg which was one of the best examples I have tasted.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    6.3
    The reception staff were very friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    En-suite bathroom was tiny the toilet was to close to the sink. The shower was poor no pressure and cold. The room in itself was a decent size but way to hot heating was still on and couldn’t turn it off.

    The reception staff were very friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    4.6
    Really low conditions
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is small and the bathroom is extremely small, you can’t move in it. The breakfast was incomplete. Also I don’t understand how the local administration can allow this condition.

    The unique positive was the right location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    6.3
    Breakfast was simple but nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The triple bedroom was rather small for 3 adults. The rooms were spread out over 3 floors without any lifts. We had to leave our heavier luggage in the hall corridor downstairs.

    Breakfast was simple but nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    7.5
    Great Location, DON'T expect much. You get what you pay for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very small, the bathroom was tiny, the hotel is in quite a quiet street, but you here a lot of noise in the rooms at the front so we didn't get much sleep.

    The location for euro star is great. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was ok if very limited.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    10
    Great price for a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great price for a great location. Continental style breakfast was good and staff were very helpful. The room was big enough for us and clean. If you’re looking for more luxury then you’ll need to pay more and choose higher star accommodation but for our visit, this accommodation was fine and only two mins walk from Kings Cross station. Staff were lovely too.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    5.4
    Nice staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The matrass stinks. Old and not comfortable.no place in the bathroom to put a few things. Room very small for 2 people to move in and we took the room for 4.

    Nice staff. Nice breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    3.8
    Don’t go here it’s awful
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were extremely small and mine hadn’t been cleaned, there were stickers still on the bedding (the thin white sheet on top) and all you got were horrible ichy sheets and an awful burgundy quilt that looked like it hadn’t been cleaned for a while. The bathroom bin hadn’t been emptied, just a new bag thrown over the old rubbish, and there was hair in the shower from the people before me. My desk was also collapsing in on itself. Breakfast wasn’t anything special either. Only thing that redeemed it a tiny fraction was the location (right by st Pancras) but I would steer well clear. I’d never recommend or go again, appalling quality of service and I resented paying £90 for one evening. I wasn’t even offered any money back when I complained at the front desk.

    Nothing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    5.4
    Close to the underground and train station, only 25 min to...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Compared to other cities I have traveled, it surprises me how much people pay for the little they get. I know, London is pricey and rooms are smaller than the average. Still, the quality of the furniture should not suffer from it or the service by the employees. The furniture was old, the wardrobe smelled, one light did not work, and the curtains were quite thin so all the light came in. There was a cold draught and I could not figure out where it came from.

    Close to the underground and train station, only 25 min to the British Museum.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    5.4
    Served it's purpose but not the best experience, and I don't want to hear .... "but this is London!"
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room much too small for two people. We had to be at St Pancras before 8am - breakfast didn't start until 7.30am. Nothing was offered and there was NO question of a discount to compensate.

    Comfy bed but small. Tea & coffee making in room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    5.8
    Ok for one night
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are quite small but ok for one night. Breakfast wasn't good and the dining room too small. I sent a request with the booking for my grandson to have a gluten and dairy free breakfast, they didn't let me know they couldn't cater for him until we sat down for breakfast. Initially the manager was very rude but after a long chat he apologised and said he would look into this for the future

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    7.1
    A budget hotel with a location so very close to KingsX is...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single
    • Stayed 1 night

    Yes I had a tiny room in the top of the hotel, and yes had lots to carry up the long flight of stairs. OK there was a small single bed which I barely fitted into (6'2") and desk, flimsy tiny wardrobe and small en suite. But I slept well, shower worked (with a fiddle) and location worked perfectly. What do you expect or £100.

    A budget hotel with a location so very close to KingsX is the main thing here. £100 for this is great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    7.1
    Next to Kings Cross ! Amazing !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All the other receptionists weren't nice and smiling ! And the room was very small for 3 people, the bathroom and the bed too, but it was just for the night so... ok !

    The receptionist was really nice, and the girls of breakfast too ! The cleaning every day was ok. And the breakfast was good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    5.4
    Good location, could do with upgrade
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room, require new furniture in rooms. Couldn't get in for breakfast one morning due to the queue to get in. Tried to charge for using credit card despite this being illegal now.

    Location was 2 minutes to Kings Cross station. Staff were mostly nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    7.9
    Cheap & cheerful with great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast options where very limited, & the dining room was very cramped.

    Great location, a minutes walk from King's Cross/St Pancras train station but far enough off the very busy main road (Euston Road), so away from the traffic & noise. I was traveling with my young son to attend a live event at the 02, we flew into Luton Airport from Inverness so this hotel was perfectly situated for us as its very close to the main train station for traveling to & from Luton. The room was small but comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    8.3
    Excellent value at £50 per night for a double room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They didn't take my Amex card.

    If you are looking for somewhere cheap just to get your head down close to Kings Cross, this place is perfect. It's a really basic hotel but at £50 a night for a double room in central London you can't moan. The room was clean but (as you would expect at that price) very basic and 'compact'. A 2 minute walk from King's Cross.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.1
    For one night it was alright.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single
    • Stayed 1 night

    The TV never worked. There was a lot of dust in the curtains and I have asthma, so....that was a bit inconvenient for me. The doors were really loud, I worried all the times I opened them about upsetting the other guests.

    The bed was comfortable. I was glad to have a private bathroom.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    2.5
    Any way there were good and bad .
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I did not like that i had a room....only for babies. It was too ....small. I could not move in there. And i really did not have a bath, because i could not move and open my suit cases. I did not like that there was not a lift. I got too tired to movie my suitcases upstairs. And nobody was there to help me. Even get upstairs just one suitcase.

    I liked the smile and good way speaking of receptionist and two girls in Breakfast room. Also that it is very near to Underground station.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    3.8
    Wouldn't stay again. Not value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was tiny and dirty, if it was clean it would have been Ok. Bedding full of stains. Uncomfortable. Too hot. Breakfast area was so busy we didn't bother waiting. Small room. Kettle was rusty and rattling.

    24 hour check in Can't comment on food. Clean floors.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    6.7
    Great location, cheap but nothing special
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast - not much option to choose from; small room and verrrry small double bed. You could see from the headboard that the size of the mattress was changed to a smaller one. We also had no AC and the room was really hot day and night we had to keep the window open and since the room was facing the garden it was quite noisy in the morning. The hotel also charges clients for leaving the luggages at the hotel after check out (it does say on the reception desk) don't know if it's the norm in London but definately not usual in other european countries. Naturally we were left with no option but to pay as wr couldnt spend hours in London running around with our luggages

    Great location - underground is just a 2 mins walk away on Euston road and not pricey compared to other properties. There's a pretty garden in front of the hotel where you can relax on a sunny day and McD and mini market right around the corner

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    6.3
    Good. Close to St. 👌 😎 ancras and Kings Cross stations
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of empathy or welcome for a weary late arriving traveller. Lack of assistance and apparent ignorance that my room was up at least levels by steep stairs and no assistance was offered to assistant me initially as to where my room was or to help me with my bag until a female staff member helped me. I an 77.years old but fortunately fit!

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    4.2
    breakfast is quite good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    no toothbrushes. The glass cup was broken suddenly when I was using it. The room is small. The wall is thin. You can hear the noise from the room next to you and above your room. You need to leave the room key to the staff before you leave. That was weird.

    breakfast is quite good. nice location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    4.2
    Only the showers!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ambience,the room arrangement, and all else that defines a hotel. It is not a hotel,but a hostel.

    Only the showers! Said the breakfast was complimentary,not part of the hotel charges

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    8.3
    Convenient location, friendly hotel, value for money - will definitely stay again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could have done with a bathmat or small towel for the floor by the shower as it got really wet when the shower was on (this isn't a complaint, I just couldn't think of anything negative to say!)

    All the staff I encountered were really nice, the location is excellent, the room was tidy and a good size for central London - value for money given location and room size!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    7.9
    Good bed, cheap, great breakfast, but bad shower, strange smell in hallway
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single
    • Stayed 1 night

    Well, the shower is kind of third-world to be honest :) but, hey, I'm a man and no princess. There is also this strange stench in the hallway I couldn't identify.

    It's close to King's Cross and it's cheap. The bed is good. Great breakfast. You can't complain for that price. It's good if you're a fast practical traveler.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    7.1
    Will stay again as good location & quality of sleep takes priority over several minor complaints.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room rather Spartan. Servicing of room not thorough enough. Breakfast room inadequate/cramped seating , a real squash at times. Eggs cold on one day . Toast too thick-lightly browned on outside ,soft uncooked inside & not hot enough. Tea luke warm at times.

    Location- Kings Cross / St.Pancras & Eurostar only 5 minutes away . Hotel was quiet at night although a bit noisy 5am onwards in morning. Don't like single beds but this one was comfortable & I slept quite well. Nice to have scrambled egg for breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    9.2
    Sufficient for overnight stay before onward travel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room dimensions a little tight but all facilities there were good and freshly cleaned

    Unable to have breakfast because of very early departure of Eurostar.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    2.5
    Very unhappy with this hotel and the state they leave their rooms in
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty, small, expensive, not child friendly, no lift, stuck on top floor with 1 year old, tvs not working in room, mould everywhere, disgusting service, park opposite with street gangs up all night, never stayed in a hotel like it. They would not refund as my baby was destressed all night the room was that small. Doors are very heavy to handle and windows are dangerous. Photos on booking.com do not look like the rooms. Would not recommend and will be taking it further. false advertising

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    5.4
    Please consider other hotels in this district if they have free rooms
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beware foreign travelers: - 3.5% extra charge for cards - extra 5 pounds if you leave your luggage after checkout (checkout is at 11, check-in - at 14-30) - safe in room - 2 pounds / day - in some rooms shower didn't have hot water - beds are narrow and not too comfortable

    Location is good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    6.3
    Frustratingly uncomfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress was worn out. It was a small double with single bed sheets. We needed a slightly early breakfast before the Saturday 8.00 a.m. but there was no flexibility.

    Clean and friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    8.3
    Need to improve but reasonnable price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We discovered the bed for 2 personns is only 120cm and very soft. The window was not locking well and the wind come in. We had wonderfull weather so it was not a problem but will be one for winter time. The isolation is not very good for noise but aswell for temperature. The water in the shower is not powerfull. We had a room on the street side and it is noisy, people are crossing in the square all night long, shouting and listening music. For our stay we had hot weather and it was really hot inside the bedroom. They are charging 5 pounds per lugage if you want for keeping it in the hotel after checkout and lugages are simply drop in a corridor.

    George the receptionist is friendly, professional and always smiling. Cleaning ladies are efficients and doing a good job for breakfast. Breakfast is correct. Cleaning is done daily and well done, towels are changed everyday. The hotel is well situated. We arrived before time for checkin and they offered us to keep our lugages for free.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    7.5
    Great value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel tried to charge 3.5% for use of a credit card, which has been banned in the UK since the 13 January 2018. Unfortunately having to have this conversation on check in was uncomfortable, hopefully they act on the conversation.

    Value for money and ideal location. Room was large with good facilities!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    6.0
    Near for early Eurostar - only good point, but best value available for few hours sleep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As above

    We left before breakfast available. Headboard attached to wall so sitting up in bed impossible as bed on wheels & kept sliding across room! Nowhere else to sit

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    3.8
    I would recommend spending a bit more money and stay in other hotels in the same area
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed really uncomfortable. Room cold. I have stayed in other hotels in same area that is about 5-10 pounds more expensive which are much better.

    Close to kings cross

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    3.3
    Awful
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything terrible a real let down not even a decent breakfast to start the day

    It was a really bad for how much it cost nearly £100 for one night old worn bedding not even a quilt on the bed old dirty blankets I am disabled when I booked the hotel said it would cater for me terrible experience

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    5.4
    Disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room far too small for a couple. Could hardly move, pleased it was only for one night. Have booked for one night in just over a week, do hope a larger room is offered. Had to leave 15 mins. before breakfast but nothing was offered eg. A coissant each.

    Location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    2.9
    Awful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy, hearing other guests walking about and going to the toilet. Door only had a Yale latch and felt unsafe. Walls, furniture and doors worn or damaged. Left after 1 night but was only reimbursed for 1 night after paying upfront for 3 nights.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    8.3
    Next time I come to London for my visit to the ROH I will book a room at the Elmwood
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have stayed at the Elmwood Hotel frequently. The staff are friendly. The breakfast is good. The room is ideal for a single traveller and clean. The location is ideal for access to Kings Cross and St Pancras Plenty of buses travelling to the West End.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    7.1
    it served our purpose and reasonable price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    there wasn't a lot of room around the bed and we were in the basement which meant going down an awkward staircase.

    very close to kings cross station for our early train. excellent for overnight but we had to leave before breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    4.2
    Uncomfortable beds, damp bathroom, fodder breakfast! What more can I say!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a quad room which had a double bed and two single beds in it. The room itself was very small only adequate for a double bed, the single beds were like camp beds. It would have been more comfortable on a bed of nails! I felt as though the hotel were been greedy by putting the 2 single beds into the room, the shower was pathetic and kept knocking itself off and the bathroom stunk of damp. The breakfast room was tiny and crammed and the breakfast was poor choice of 2 cereals corn flakes or coco pops! No museli or fresh fruit. I know we booked a budget hotel and you only get what you pay for but it was poor and to be honest I've stopped in better hostels. I won't be returning or recommending it.

    Nothing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    7.5
    Was in good walking distance to the station
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was terrible and staff in the dinning area didn't talk. And the dinning room was VERY small so didn't eat and had to buy breakfast somewhere else and the coffee was cold

    Was in good walking distance to the station

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    10
    Amazing second year stay and still the same high standards
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the location of the hotel, central to all the stations I needed, amazing staff even when we checked in they came up to the room with us and made sure we was comfortable and checked our safe and gave us a master key when it wouldn’t work properly by code. Brilliant breakfast, super beds perfect for those overnight stops...

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    6.7
    Basic but if you just need a bed for the night, its good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had to hold the shower with one hand and scrub with the other because the holder on the wall was useless. The shower pointed off to the wall and you cant stand under it.

    Comfortable, clean, convenient location for our trip

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    9.2
    Great 'no frills' base for exploring London with the kids
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't fill the kettle in the sink because it wouldn't fit

    Fantastic location, friendly and helpful staff, perfect for visiting all the sites

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    4.2
    Only the breakfast was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room size, toilet size, bed quality, TV size....everything was very disappointing. Room was so cramped with 1 double bed + 1 single bed, there was hardly any place to move. Even the lobby, corridor, every place is too tight to mention.

    Only the breakfast was good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    3.8
    Very, very poor (family room)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor quality. Dirty shower and sink, soap holder has scum since probably last year. The room for four was so tiny it was hard to get around without knocking your foot into the nightstands. The view from the window was terrible as it was in front of a wall with a wire mesh on it, like in prison. There was nothing to breather in the room as it would always get condensated and very humid so we had to open window 24/7 and it was raining outside too. They key was meant to be handed to reception upon leaving and the second night the man at the reception, that we never seen before has given our room key without asking for name or any other ID so we could have asked for any room key really. Same breakfast everyday (omelette and boiled eggs with cheese and meet and yoghurt). The kitchen was very tiny so doesn't matter what time we went or breakfast we had to wait 10mins to get seated. Also, coffee cups were dirty from the previous stayers, it was absolutely gross. Sorry but there is no way this hotel is 2 stars, very low quality. It's very overpriced for a quality like this.

    Lovely staff, clean bed sheets, clean towels, great location (4mins from metro and train station). Food was fresh.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    8.8
    The single room was small but very good value for money.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was an additional charge for using the room safe and for leaving a suit case after check out.

    The single room was small but very good value for money. The breakfast, which was include, was very good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    10
    Comfortable, convenient, good breakfast, excellent value.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was fine.

    The hotel responded to my request for a ground-floor room (because of my arthritis) even though I only booked the day before. The breakfast was varied and tasty, including scrambled eggs, fruit juice, brown toast, fresh tomatoes and cucumber, and yogurt. The room was warm and comfortable. Staff were courteous and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Elmwood Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: