Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Elsenham Lodge

Park Road, Elsenham, CM22 6DF, United Kingdom

#2 of 3 hotels in Elsenham

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1020 B&B reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    7.6

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    5.0
    Convenient for the airport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that people come to the B&B at all Hours!! If it was a Hotel the sound proofing and gantry to the rooms would be considered for not keeping the guest awake through the night, but you live and learn!!

    Convenient for the airport.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    8.3
    September visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The state of the bathrooms of the building - no-one had bothered to do the redecorating properly. It was all cheap and slapped on.

    Candy is a very good ambassador for this business.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    5.8
    It met purpose of stay- one night stay to be close to airport fot early morning flight
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower facilities were poor and water closet system was poor too. And we were in a garden house which is fine but the keys did not work so we couldn't lock it and there was no number to call for assistance or light in the garden to walk back to the reception in the main building as this was midnight

    Tge staff flexobility. There was someone to show us round even though it was late and close proximitely to airport. Checking out was also easy as we juat left the key outside the door. And price was good

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    8.8
    Excellent value for money in this budget hotel compared to other hotels in the general area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    An excellent and quiet location, especially if you are travelling to or from Stanstead Airport - it's about 12 minute drive away. There is a local shop, which is open to 11pm for any last minute purchases like food and snacks. The breakfast is self-help and there is a small microwave in the very large kitchen to warm-up small meals. I have stopped here several times.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    10
    Perfect Stay, Cozy and Lovely place. Friendly Staff!
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect.

    This place was lovely, I arrived to stansted airport and was looking for a place to rest, the staff was very helpful with my needs a very smiley friendly lady was waiting for me on arrival, the room was perfectly clean and cozy. Great breakfast options. I had a very pleasant stay! Totally recommend this place to other travelers. :)

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    9.6
    Pre holiday stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • En Suite Family Room (3-4 People)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was very poor in our room. We really hope they can improve on this.

    Everything else! Everywhere was clean, staff were friendly and location to the airport is great. Arranged our taxi to the airport and cheap parking for while we were on holiday.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    7.5
    A cosy place to stay with excellent facilities but no taxi help and noise during the night.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was under the impression the B&B staff would be able to organise a good deal taxi or even share a taxi with other guests to Stansted airport. However when I got there she just told me to ring a local recommended company. Of course by this stage nearly all the taxi companies near were booked meaning I had to book one for £43!! That was very disappointing and the hour or more I spent on the phone trying to arrange one made the stay very stressful. So make sure you book a taxi before you go unless you are prepared to spend £43! Also got woken around half 3am by a guest checking in which was a shame (although I am a light sleeper.)

    The room was cosy and very clean. The breakfast was self service from 3:45am which suited me as I had it at 4:15am before I had to leave early for a flight.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    3.3
    it was not worth the money you payed for
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    No breakfast the women was rude .Not worth the money .The bed was a bit on the small side .No towels were there or giving to you

    it was quit that was about it

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    6.7
    Did the job but would encourage visitors to look into arranging their airport transfers in advance.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was very disappointing that it turned out they weren't able to arrange a taxi for me, as I was led to believe that this was the case from what I read online and so to have to call 10+ taxi companies myself when I arrived, completely exhausted at midnight, for my journey at 5.30am was really not ideal and rather a stressful ordeal. Also ended up paying 21.50 which was very expensive for such a short journey. The shower didn't work brilliantly and was either too hot or too cold. Bed was not especially comfy.

    Nice that breakfast is offered and you can help yourself to it at any time, although I did not have time to take advantage of this myself. Room was very clean.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    5.0
    Very basic indeed! Book with low expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very basic room. Basically bed and a tv screen a little bigger than an Ipad. You have to make youre own breakfast and barely anything to eat.

    Close to airport. Clean, Internet worked.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    5.0
    Not what you expect
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very basic and outdated, the bedding and towels were old and worn with holes and stains. Staff lovely lady from Poland but had only been in the country a week and been left on her own to do everything, her English was not good and she made several attempts to explain how to use the door locks but was unable to, she tried taking payment for the rooms but messed up and the card machine and was not able to so having experience using them we had to show her. We also on booking reserved two parking spaces at the lodge for the duration of the holiday as we were flying from Stansted in the morning. We found a space but our parents had to be taken down the road 10min walk to another one of their properties as there was no room in the car park. This was not ideal as my dad struggles with his knees so the walk back was not ideal it also ment we had to have two drop off locations when we got the taxi back from the airport. Trying to call the property and get through to them for any reason before or after is also hard as they don't answer the phone very often.

    The location was good as we were going to Stanstead Airport

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    9.6
    Brilliant!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was slightly uncomfortable but that’s just preference Slightly noisy guests arriving quite late at night

    Staff extremely welcoming, perfect location, great cake!!!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    10
    Very lovely place
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff is very friendly, explain everything,very helpful. Our room was amazing,very clean ,fresh and very organized. In the fridge was food(cheese,ham,salami,milk,juice,tree different jam),bread,tea,coffee, and flakes. Near the Stansted Airport. We recommend this place

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    9.2
    Quiet, flexible (early breakfast if necessary), nice and helpful personel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Elsenham was not an interesting place to visit, but for finding a place to stay at when waiting for a flight departure a perfect place.

    Very friendly and helpful personel. Good value, especially considering the Airport that close.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    9.6
    Good value for money, easy and convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We used the place to stay before a morning flight. Didn't arrive before 3am, but was greeted by friendly and helpful staff and no trouble checking in this late. Bedroom and bathroom was in good condition and the breakfast was exactly what it said it would be, simple self-service continental breakfast. Would recommend for a stopover before flying from Stansted.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    8.3
    Staff lovely and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • En Suite Family Room (3-4 People)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower shocking!!! Bit run down and old fashioned

    Staff lovely and helpful Great garden and shared kitchen Perfect location for airport...10 mins drive. Great for one night stay as long as nit too fussy.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    7.1
    Get what you pay for
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not keen these days for sharing toilet and bathroom. Breakfast is help yourself having to get things from cupboards etc. For a small price more stay in a hotel.

    Ok for a cheapish night stay with parking

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    10
    The hotel is very nice and about the breakfast is self...
    • Family with young children
    • En Suite Family Room (3-4 People)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    The hotel is very nice and about the breakfast is self service and Clean . It is peacefull and only 10 mins from the airport.Yes i do racomend to stay in this hotel

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    6.7
    Adequate for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • En Suite Family Room (3-4 People)
    • Stayed 1 night

    sloping ceilings meant some beds were difficult to use; bathroom floor very uneven, shower wouldn't turn off and no bedside lights for reading! Door-key was dodgy so we just left ours unlocked

    room was large and clean; DIY breakfast was fine and meant you were forced to talk to other guests, luckily all down for the same event. Parking off road for 4 cars

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.2
    The breakfast was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • En Suite Family Room (3-4 People)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower room is very small and the water coming out of the shower was not strong.

    The breakfast was good. The beds were comfortable as thick mattresses were given. Bathroom was clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    3.3
    Dismal
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not clean, some things were broken. Proximity to the airport was less than advertize. I spent £30 in taxis. Nowhere local to eat except a pub with very bod food.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    6.7
    A reasonable stay in what would be better described as a basic Air bnb property
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was cramped. The bedroom, while bring spacious, was not well planned so there was only a bed table one side and nowhere to put suitcases aside from the additional single bed in the room.

    The welcome we received was lovely. The property was generally clean. The owner thoughtfully provided an electric fan to ensure we were cool enough in the current heatwave. The wifi worked well.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    2.9
    Nothing to like.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Awful place, definitely NOT a hotel, or even a guest house, it’s a hostel at best. Dingy, tired and shabby and dirty looking and below basic standards I am surprised booking.com continue to sell this as suitable accommodation. The bed was lumpy and there was not even a duvet just a grey worn sheet and woollen blanket which can’t be washed and god knows how many bodies it’s covered! Shared bathroom which is tiny and weirdly located in the entrance hall! For a similar price you can stay at a chain such as Ramada or days inn, which although bland does have clean beds and your own bathroom. Seriously don’t even consider it.

    Nothing to like. It’s a dreadful place and for £5 more you can stay at the Ramada.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    5.8
    It is a accommondation for only one night if you must have accommondation near the airport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 7 nights

    It was bed with self-catering and not B&B. Therefore the hygiene standard was only satisfactory and not good in the kitchen. there was no dining room.

    The brand-new road and the car parking were excellent. It was easy to find the accommondation. The in-processing was fast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    9.2
    Very sweet place, super close to the airport without realising it
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No taps avaliable to use in the kitchen

    It felt as if I was staying in the English country side with the added benefit that the airport was only a 10 mins drive

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    6.3
    Practical and relatively cheap. But taxi to/from airport expensive.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very little choice for breakfast, breakfast self-served, no water in the shower... Taxi from/to airport pretty expensive (15-18 pounds each way).

    We could arrive late.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    4.6
    Scabies central
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that I contracted scabies a day or so after my stay. Needs instant cleaning and bedding needs to be burnt. Would NOT stay again

    friendly staff and pleasant location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    5.4
    Breakfast facilities very good.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No mirror in single room. No bedside lamp. No heating. Very cold all night had no sleep. Room next to shared bathroom noisy. A bit tatty and rundown. Could be a lot nicer.

    Breakfast facilities very good. Welcome was lovely.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    5.0
    short
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower was a dribble and by the worst I have every experienced, in the end I washed myself in the sink. I was a alone and had to walk down a very long, totally darkened street with no street lights in order to reach the lodge.

    It was close to the airport and a taxi was ordered for me.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    7.9
    A functional place to stay in a very convenient location for early flights from Stansted.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were waiting on the doorstep in the rain for about 10 minutes before we were let in. Also the bedroom was pretty crowded with beds (we were only using one!) so a bit difficult to manoeuvre once our bags were inside.

    This place does what it says on the tin. It's a basic b&b which is very convenient for early flights from Stansted. The lady who greeted us was very efficient and informative, including booking our taxi for the following morning. There was free access to toast, cereal, tea etc.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    6.7
    To the airport, it is 10 minutes drive, ~15 £.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    To the airport, it is 10 minutes drive, ~15 £. It was also more than 15 minutes walk from the train station. But the serious problem is that the taxi service is only available from 6 am! So, plan according to your flight time! The staff were really nice and helped us to arrange a taxi at 5:15! But we just got lucky!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.5
    Clean house for the price
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not owner fault but creaky floorboards and unfortunately I was down stairs with noisy group of boys above me. Also shower was cold in the morning

    Clean house for the price

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    7.9
    Easy check in process and they booked taxi to airport for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Taxi booked from airport cost £18 and £13 back other way so bit more than the £10 shown on some other reviews.

    Easy check in process and they booked taxi to airport for the morning. Breakfast was made available to help yourself too which was great for an early start. comfortable rooms and good facilities.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    7.1
    Due to the low water pressure, it was near impossible to...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Due to the low water pressure, it was near impossible to take a shower. Holding the shower head above knee height, the flow of water would stop completely.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    2.5
    This is an awful place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Family Room (3-4 People)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything!

    This is an awful place. Do not stay here. From the rude, unhelpful response to a query I had before arriving, to wet bedding, scrappy old towels, rubbish shower, uncomfortable beds, unhelpful staff and (to top it all) lumpy, past due date milk at breakfast, this has been a very unpleasant place to stay! I will be raising an issue with Booking.com directly to secure a refund and report the property.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    5.8
    It's ok for a night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Private road up to property was horrendous careful you don't disappear down a pot hole. Unable to open doors to outside area as lock broken.

    Situated near airport. Taxi 13/15.00 clean tidy

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    8.3
    Left feeling tired :-/
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The biggest downfall was staying on the ground floor (right next to kitchen). There was a sofa outside our bedroom door and people sat and chatted loudly until early hours, it felt like they were in our room!

    The staff were really lovely and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    4.6
    Don't book here.... !!! Awful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    *** nothing in the shared bathroom worked... the shower was broken.. the plug in the sink wouldn't stay in so I couldn't even have a wash, and the toilet took 3 or 4 attempts to flush... awful...

    Very little

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    8.8
    Pleasant stay for a 1 night stop over.
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower in the shared bathroom was broken and needs attention. The room was very hot even with the windows open.

    It's a great stopover for using Stansted Airport and we left our car there which was handy. Self service breakfast which was satisfactory although we do think the produce in the fridge should be stored in containers, especially ham.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    5.4
    Very close to the airport
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower in one of the bathrooms was out of order. No parking space available, was told that could park on the road with no problems next day had a note from a neighbours

    Very close to the airport

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    7.9
    Very pleasant staff, great location for the airport, clean...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very pleasant staff, great location for the airport, clean bathroom and handy kitchen facilities with team/coffee/snacks available 24h. Perfect for a night before a flight!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    6.7
    Close to the airport and easy to find
    • Couple
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed seemed undersized, private road to establishment is a pot holed disaster. Self service breakfast is cheap and about the bare minimum one might expect - but just about ok for the money (though one can do considerably better in other parts of the country).

    Close to the airport and easy to find

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    5.4
    Convienent location - 10 minute drive from airport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was in lodge outside and found it cold even with both heaters on. Toilet area made a loud noise occasionally which as a light sleeper woke me but not my husband. Very bumpy road to get to - glad we had a taxi and not our car

    Convienent location - 10 minute drive from airport.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    9.6
    I would definitely stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very cosy, nice and clean place with welcoming staff. If you need sleep over place near the Stansted airport, this is the right place. I would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    5.4
    The location close to the airport was perfect for us.
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't sleep well because of the noise from people going in and out all night and you can hear every step from everyone. Noisy floor.

    The location close to the airport was perfect for us.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    9.6
    excellent place to stay I would stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the noise of other guests very early in the morning

    I loved how friendly the member of staff was showed us where everything was could help ourself to food and drink always available everything kept really well and clean good organization and the room was excellent for us

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    9.6
    Good property fairly close to the airport
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The upstairs bath is very high and it would be advisable to have a non-slip mat put in as there is a high chance of slipping on getting out.

    The young Italian woman who works there was friendly and efficient making for a good experience (my flight was also delayed so I didn't get in until after 1am). The house is lovely and traditional. Breakfast is included and whilst basic is sufficient.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    8.8
    A convenient and welcoming place to stay before a flight.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night

    A very warm welcome from our host. A great place to stay before an early flight. Breakfast was continental and you could help yourself at any time. The host's home made apple cake was sublime! The room had everything you would need and the bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    8.3
    Overnight stay in Stansted
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I got there late and the road is dark so a sign would help. A hair dryer, in the room, and extra towels would have been nice to have.

    Extremely friendly and helpful staff, close to the airport and clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    7.9
    An excellent, cheap option for access to/from Stansted Airport.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not en-suite.

    There's a bus to/from the airport during business hours. The staff member I dealt with was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    8.3
    Would recommend and re-visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • En Suite Family Room (3-4 People)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one mirror between 4 people, not even full length. The plug sockets were difficult to reach, behind the bed and the tv unit.

    Good WiFi connection for multiple divices at a time.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    9.2
    Very clean and homely
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The temperature of the room was too warm for me, which made sleeping difficult

    Late check in was available and the young lady who did it was very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.6
    The location is very convenient to Stansted and the hostess...
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is very convenient to Stansted and the hostess Marika was the most lovely person. She even baked delicious pound cake (two kinds) for breakfast! Facilities were neat and tidy. Breakfast was convenient and easy to access early in the morning.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    9.6
    This place I would recommend staying at!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only negative thing I must say is that it's a 10-15 minute drive to the Airport, and not many Restaurants around (maybe not any at all!).

    This place I would recommend staying at! The place smells lovely, the staff was friendly, the bathroom and bedroom was not bad at all and the dining area was cosy. The owner loves making cakes, so if you fancy that rent this place :)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    4.2
    Absolutely below average.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was smelly, the bed was uncomfortable, the bathroom facilities were poor and the breakfast was as cheap as they could offer.

    Polite and helpful staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    4.2
    BAD
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Extremely bad Road Private road leading to the Property with huge potholes. Toilet and Shower facilities very Inadequate. No heating in the rooms and toilet early in the morning. Very cramped parking as well. I do travel on a weekly basis but I wont be staying here again.

    Kitchen facilities nice and adequate.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    7.1
    Good value and excellent location for airport
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Down a residential road full of potholes! Shared bathroom right by the main door.

    Lovely welcome. Fresh baked cake in the kitchen. Help yourself breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    7.9
    Big plus for the distance to the airport and nice garden.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms were cold when we arrived. Heating went off again at night, so we woken up frozen. Not recommended for the winter, but in the summer it's probably great location.

    Big plus for the distance to the airport and nice garden. Bed was comfy and other people in the house were quiet.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    9.6
    Great night in the accomodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Despite my late arrival on the accommodation, I found someone on the phone and in the place when I arrived. Very welcoming and friendly. Short brief with every details. Accommodation itself has everything required. Very pleasant stay for one night, and close to Stansted Airport! Convenient and high quality standard!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    10
    Very cosy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to do with hotel but Long road upon entry to property in desperate need of tarmacing! Bit of a bumpy nightmare driving down. Drive slowly and carefully.

    Very cosy. VERY welcoming staff. Perfect little stop off for airport use. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    6.3
    The bed was very uncomfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very uncomfortable. There was also no heating which meant I left for my international holiday with a cold. Hardly any sleep with noisy guests chatting / banging doors. Not happy!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    8.3
    Neat house, friendly hostess
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    To find the address needs some effort.

    The hostess waited for us until midnight and arranged a taxi for the next day morning. A big shared kitchen had adequate food for breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    9.6
    Flexible check in time and close to airport and train...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Flexible check in time and close to airport and train station. Filtered water available 24/7 in kitchen area. Nice breakfast with flexible timing.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    8.3
    Great value guest house near Stansted Airport.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the price there is nothing to complain about. Maybe some orange juice for breakfast, I might have missed it as I was down late for the self service breakfast.

    I was met by a friendly host that took me through everything that was of relevance to me from breakfast and to the other facilities on offer. Sometimes you want the more personal touch that chain hotels can’t offer you and this guest house delivered it.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    7.9
    Great place near to Stansted airport
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could hear other guests arriving in the middle of the night

    Room was comfortable and host friendly and helpful. Breakfast was available even though we left for a flight at 4:30 am. Location good except for the non adopted road which was full of pot holes

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    9.2
    It was a self-serve breakfast of tea, coffee, cereal and...
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Word of caution - the sat nav says you have arrived after travelling some distance down an un-metalled road with a fair few pot-holes. You will need to keep going about the same distance again before coming to Elsenham Lodge on the right!

    It was a self-serve breakfast of tea, coffee, cereal and toast with a choice of spreads and ham and cheese in the fridge. Food was of good quality - apart from the processed cheese - if a little limited for choice. However, for people leaving at unsocial hours and wanting a bite to eat before catching a flight at Stansted, this is perfect. Free wi-fi available with a good signal to keep the teenagers happy!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    7.1
    Perfect if you need basic accomodation close to the airport and you have a car or use taxi.
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The lighting should be converted to LED, as it is faster an more light. The potholes in the street are an adventure and to some extend funny, but it would be nicer without.

    Close to the airport. Uncomplicated check in and out.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    10
    After I had a bad experience with Ryanair losing the connection to Lanzarote,the evening was excelle
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing better. Everything was perfect. We got even breakfast xxx

    Very clean,nice,cosy very friendly and helpful staff and very close to the Stansted Airport. Very good value for money. Definitely, I will stay again xxx

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    10
    Perfect for pre-flight accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    A great place for a brief overnight stay before an early flight. The lady who welcomed us was so friendly and kind despite the late hour. The rooms were clean and had all we needed. The breakfast room looked great - a large kitchen where you could help yourself to food and drink (including home-made apple cake). We were leaving too early to even contemplate breakfast, but we took some cake and enjoyed it later on in the day! The staff were brilliant and got in touch when I left a pair of earrings behind.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    9.2
    Shared bathrooms but clean and comfortable, and handy for Stansted airport.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shared bathrooms, but at this price I was quite happy with that. Some might not like the dated décor, but I was OK with that.

    Clean warm and comfortable. Good value for money. self-serve breakfast, tea, coffee and, snacks very good at the price point of this accommodation. Handy for Stansted airport, with reasonably priced car parking if needed while you are away. Custodian pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    7.9
    Nice room and great staff. Might be better to not have bedroom next to kitchen.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were in the ground floor bedroom and there was a lot of noise during the evening when other stayers were using the kitchen / or if there was a new arrival during the night.

    We arrived late but this was no problem. Welcome was friendly. Bed was comfortable and staff helped to organise lift to airport next morning.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    7.5
    Apart from the shower and mirror it was ok not fantastic but fine for what we needed at a good price
    • Couple
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was very bad hard to turn on and off and change the temperature also it was so pathetic hardly washed us The only mirror was in the bathroom was was annoying as held us up getting ready whilst someone else used the bathroom

    Didn’t realise breakfast meant just help yourself to toast & cereal no hot breakfast or croissants etc but it was ok

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    10
    This was hands down one of the best places we've ever...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    This was hands down one of the best places we've ever stayed. We had one night here after arriving late to Stansted Airport. We were able to check in late, and felt super welcome. The room was super cute, and clean, and the common space was well stocked for an awesome breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    8.3
    Warm, welcoming, friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cul de sac where it is located, the road is appalling it's not just pot holes it is craters. However is a lovely little village

    Warm, welcoming, friendly staff. Clean.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    8.0
    good value for money, close to the airport
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    the bed was so hard with very thin pillows, very bad lighting in the bathroom - couldn't see a thing! bathroom overall was very small bathroom with a compact shower. the room was also too hot where the radiator had obviously been left on all day full blast. we were also trying to get some sleep, having a flight at 6am however guests arriving later in the evening were very loud, the host was also loud when welcoming them into their room and it kept us awake. directly above us there was a lot of noise too from the floorboards. didnt sleep at all

    the house itself is beautiful and big. we have parking onsite which was a bonus. I liked breakfast and tea making facilities were included in the price. although minimal, its a nice touch to be able to eat something before leaving for your flight - everything was fresh and kept topped up too. i didnt meet the host but my boyfriend said she was lovely and very welcoming

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Elsenham Lodge traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: