Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Ely Guest House 3 stars

6-8 St. Marys Street, Ely, CB7 4ES, United Kingdom

#16 of 16 hotels in Ely

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 106 hotel reviews

6.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.8

  • Comfort

    6.4

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    6.1

  • Staff

    6.9

  • Value for money

    6.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 59

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staircase was tricky, especially as one of us uses a walking stick.

    The lack of pretension, the welcome and the condition of the room which was quiet even though overlooking pedestrian traffic lights on a 'bus route! Excellent bed and very clean en suite bathroom.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    pillow could have been better

    although the bathroom was a shared one there were no problems and it was very close to the bedroom. Right in the centre of the town

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The sheet in the bedroom had a ripe in it, sent text to phone number supplied on front door, explained would not complain if matter attended to, second reply received said matter had been attended to, when sheet examined still the same.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking not easy, and should be better explained on website. Access/check in difficult, as no staff on site-i thought I would arrive at 6 , but was early, and had to text/phone and wait 30 mins.

    Very central.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    New bed linen required.

    The location was amazing. The owners were very charming, kind and helpful. I loved the way they had kept the rooms of this very old building showing original features to their advantage, but as they were a Thai couple, had added some dainty touches of Thai culture. It was very charming. Perhaps some new bed linen is needed - it was clean and fresh but a little shabby. All told, a very nice place to stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I hate booking.com never tell you the fact that they don't do breakfast and they want cash up front. The TV did not work the shower was cold then suddenly very hot (almost burnt my skin)

    nothing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No WiFi, no breakfast

    The staff were friendly, location is good and the room was pleasant, our room was in the garden and there was a little rabbit eating carrots which was cute 😀

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They charge 3 pounds for Wifi, which is quite ridiculous these days. Unfortunately the mobile reception indoors is so poor that you need to use it. We asked for the code around 9pm in the evening and the owner got angry with us for waking up her baby (with our call, there is no reception). She was still angry during check out the next day, whereas we’d only made one call.

    Great location. The staff was initially friendly (at arrival). We had accidently booked a twin room instead of double and they let us change it free of charge.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy person on top floor appeared to be moving stuff up the stairs late at night and early morning , suspect they werent a guest,walls very thin, noise from traffic was bad. Smell up stairway wasn't pleasant, bed very uncomfortable, shower head broken had to wedge it in the corner to use it, lock on door didn't release easily.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    It was the worst place I have ever stayed in, the rooms smelled of a chemical smell so did the hall ways, there was no blinds in the room so the hot woke up at 5 am by the day light. It was not safe there were drunks knocking on my room

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The theft of 16 cigarettes from my room, JPS RED are worth more attention.

    The homosexual bath tub revelation. To explain - a man walks by the bathroom, seeing me in the bath obviously seemed too much so he avidly investigated. Much to my dismay, I later realised I had been asleep/unconscious previous to that in the same bath time. Oops. Get rid of homosexual freedoms and liberty. It’s clearly a misdemeanour and unacceptable in 2018. England rejects these people for these reasons... Jonathan.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • En Suite Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast NOT included. Please state this in a prominent position on the website! Hot tap in the sink dribbled then stopped completely. No plug for the sink. Shower lever falls off.

    excellent position for the centre. Quiet room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • En Suite Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No breakfast offered, but then it wasn't advertised.

    Great location, but the phone calls before checking in could have been avoided. If someone states they will be there between certain times then that should be enough. ie between 3-4pm.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    I loved the property, the room was perfect. Full of character and a stunning view of the Cathedral. The staff are really friendly and accommodating.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • En Suite Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very basic and room was only just big enough to accommodate two single beds - so felt quite cramped, but fine for somewhere to rest your head. The towels supplied have seen better days and bathroom was not as clean as it could have been but not horrendous.

    Ease of access to town centre. Cost was good for a late notice booking.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No working shower, unclean room, forced use shared facilities, then told we couldn’t because we had an en-suite. Talked to like dirt from the owner, would highly recommend that no-one stays here.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    May have been better if they had put me in a room that had undergone refurbishment. I was not in one of those rooms

    Very thin mattress that must have had a dog slept on it considering how many bites I have received.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom floor was painfully icy cold (could do with some underlay) and the towel rail had little effect on heat. The sink was blocked and there was a leak from the pipework behind it (hopefully they can fix this). Shower doors were not running smoothly. shower temperature varied during use. TV remote was non-functioning (but fortunately the TV could be controlled by buttons on it, although they were hard to see). WiFi is extra, and there is no mobile reception inside the building. The bed, though large, was made of two attached beds (not a true King), although this didn't matter much since I was on my own. There were coffee facilities, but no fridge or safe (minor issue). The window was onto a ground-floor courtyard (full of chickens), so the first thing I did was close curtains. Despite giving a check-in time, I was left waiting several minutes (and appreciably longer than I was told when I contacted the staff) with heavy bags to check in. Paying by cash is inconvenient. I was, however, given change. There was no response when I tried to tell the staff of the room issues as I checked out (although "check out" just involved putting a key in a box, which was fast). Nothing critically ruined my stay (and some things may have been fixed for other guests), but collectively I'd try to find an alternative location the next time I stay in Ely.

    The location was about as good as I could hope for, given that I needed to be near the Cathedral Centre. The room was warm and spacious (I was in room 7, the downstairs en-suite). By the standards of the location, the price was reasonable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Banged my head three times on very low ceilings. My daughter walked into a door as the corridors were very dark and the automatic lighting did not work properly (came on when you were halfway down one of the corridors). Shower was broken. Towels were very old/scruffy looking. One bedroom had a green light on all night which meant my daughter couldn't use it.

    The central location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Damaged light fitting, water ingress at the door, odd smell, uncomfortable bed with inadequate bedding. Cash required with no receipt on arrival, parking was public car park.

    Functioning shower and television, nice and warm.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shared bathroom, flat sheet on matress tied in knots in corners to act as fitted sheet ..doesn`t work! NO BREAKFAST AT ALL. I would never stay there again nor would I recommend it!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff member was fairly disagreable (dispute about reservation even though I had old cancellation in hand) about check in. Dispute still being resolved. Ceilings are extra low, one can hear every conversation (down to the word) of the restaurant below. As windows are fairly thin the pedestrian crossing signal can be heard throughout the entire night which makes sleeping difficult. I don't like writing negative views but feel that to do otherwise would be a disservice.

    The only geunine positive point I can find is the location and the fact there was instant coffee and a kettle in the room.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • En Suite Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Card charged prior to arriving, then had to pay cash on arrival. still waiting for repayment a week later. Shower door left hanging knowing full well it would come off when used. Luckily I am a plumber so was able to re-hang it. Wouldn’t really recommend I’m afraid.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was comfortable, room was clean and I was surprised how quiet it was considering the house is on a busy town centre road. The breakfast we had at the recommended Lamb Hotel just across the road, was enjoyable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They could have done with some new towels

    Clean with comfortable bed. Impressed that we had a little kitchen with microwave, toaster etc with table and chairs to sit at to make our own breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Explanation of paynment - not clear that cash was only payment option and worried about paying twice - had to go and find a cashpoint before collecting key No staff available at property and arriving after a long journey I had to stand on the doorstep and call multiple numbers until I got an answer - turns out staff member in resturant next door had key and took payment (no reciept given)and then left to own devises to enter building which was difficult externally and internally when accessing the room. Towels left in room were very old and could have done with updating Tea cup was dusty and in need of a good wash and bedding was dirty

    Uniqueness of decor and room - loved its look In heart of Ely so great for town centre access - walkable from station (or catch bus 12) Great proice for room

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No ensuite bathroom, but also not even a sink in the room which is inconvenient! But then at this very reasonable price, it is what you would expect.

    Staff were very helpful about my time of arrival and letting me in. Also very close to the Cathedral which I really liked. Very good value for money.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The lack of breakfasts and the shared bathroom (albeit a large, very clean bathroom). These factors combined to make the venue very expensive for what you got.

    The central location. Great building for those who want 'olde world' with its low beams and uneven floors.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    On arrival the bed was skewed across the room with an anti-rodent device on the floor. I saw no mice so it probably worked but should not have been there. No toilet paper in the Bathroom in the morning.

    Bed comfortable and fit for purpose.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor was rather dark.

    Clean. Pleasant staff. Excellent location. Kitchen facilities that would have been useful for a longer stay. Quiet despite central location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I particularly thought that having to pay the fee at the beginning of my stay in cash was unprofessional. Little thought has been given to the comfort of guests.

    Only good thing about this place is its location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed linen was clean but well worn and the pillows and duvet could do with being replaced

    The location and the en-suite

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I felt the hotel should have explained about the lack of car park facilites also the room was a, little dated

    Excellent location near the city centre

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were very helpful and friendly

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stairs

    Friendly and well located

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No en-suite

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower doors kept coming off of the runners

    Bed was comfortable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fire alarms went off randomly in the night & the morning!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty dusty room. Rude staff, paid for WiFi which didn’t even work

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Family with young children
    • En Suite Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No breakfast included but plenty of places to eat nearby.

    Comfortable bed. Great location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Crying out to be decorated

    Comfortable bed

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't find anything to fault

    Old school quirky building. It was great

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smell of mothballs a little overwhelming

    Shower great

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No breakfast so no comment

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Prime location. Shower is very good. Beds comfy enough. Rooms are basic but good value.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    Comfy clean room

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lighting on stairs

    Quiet location yet centrally placed

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking. Very limited facilities in room.

    Handy for Ely centre. Restaurants very close by. Cathedral was a mere 1-minute walk away

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old black and white quirky cottage style building with beams in Ely town centre

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bitten by a flea in the night

    Central location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfortable bed, great location and friendly staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor lighting in bedy

    Location for the a Cathedral

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small shower

    Location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything room 3 had bed bugs got bites every were

    Nothing

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Had to shuffle the car between 2 car parks to avoid charges.

    Very central location. Had all the facilities that we needed.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The car park was ok after six but before that u had two hours stay

    Great place in centre of ely

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Broken facilities and WiFi

    Shower was broken, toilet was broken. WiFi which we paid for wasn’t working in our room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor value for money. Paying by cash. No receipt and no change even if it was only 5p. No breakfast available.

    Nothing

    Stayed in October 2017

There are also 34 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 59

Guests also reviewed these properties: