Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of East Midlands Guesthouse

100A Douglas Street, Derby, DE23 8LJ, United Kingdom

#23 of 23 hotels in Derby

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 279 hostel reviews

7.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.4

  • Comfort

    6.8

  • Location

    7

  • Facilities

    6.6

  • Staff

    7.4

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shared shower and toilet is never great.

    Clean and tidy room. Pretty basic and small but that's what I expected. Free parking was a big bonus. Short 10 minute walk to train station was ideal.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only downside when in an upstairs room is that both shower rooms are on the ground floor.

    It's an ideal base for visiting Donington Park race circuit. Not being tied down to a breakfast schedule by having a communal kitchen makes early starts very easy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing!

    The young man who met us when we arrived was extremely pleasant and helpful :-) It had a communal kitchen which was equipped with everything we needed and free tea, coffee and milk. We didn't find sharing a toilet and shower a problem at all! Both were very clean and tidy. The bed was very comfortable too!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Showers were quite small with no place to hang my towel/wash bag, though again clean facilities were much appreciated after a long day out riding around the Peak District.

    VERY welcoming host helped me to park my motorbike off-street out of view locked behind a gate (that only they had a key to), very secure. Room and guesthouse were basic, though for the price they were more than expected. Everything was clean and tidy. I stayed in room 7 which faces the main road though double glazing helped block out the noise when I decided to go to sleep.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The window in my room had a poor seal & being next to a road there was traffic noise. Also the toilets were near the front door

    It was clean & comfortable, there was a shared kitchen area with a microwave, not many mugs though

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were exstreamly kind and acomadateing. Arranging things free of charge even when it said on thier website things such as early check ins would coat a fee. Rooms were modern with a TV and a private sink.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overwhelming smell of damp. Not very clean. Extra charge to service the room. Very cold. Next to a very busy road.

    There was a microwave, kettle and fridge available

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The kitchen should be equipped with more kitchenware (plates, spoons and cups). And truly provide free tea and coffee. Right now the kitchen stuffs is scanty and austere.

    Very cordial and friendly staff, always willing to assist and respond to guests demand. I'm particularly pleased with the cleanliness, organised and peaceful atmosphere.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    location, the local area is not great but it's a 10 min's walk to London Road where you can get some cheap food.

    Everything was first class apart from the price.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hostel was locked and the staff was away when I arrived, even though I arrived during official check in time. They also did not answer my calls, but did call back an hour later.

    The location is walking distance from the city centre.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car parking. I had to park in a slot labelled as use only by the neighbouring business.

    Bargain. Clean room, ideal location, microwave & toaster available.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    There are only 2 showers on the ground floor serving all the rooms and also the bathrooms are shared.

    The guy at the reception was very friendly and explained everything, there is free Wifi in all the facility.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Tried to contact before 10 pm for directions. Neither phone number was answered. No bathroom as stated. Shower in cell! Toilet with basin next to the cell. No parking as stated (only 3 places available for many rooms, they were occupied when I arrived) Bed full of black grit. Phone message left and not answered for 8 hours. had to phone back. Person not helpful.

    Nothing

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was smelly of cigarettes Room was very cold! Heating was not increased, had to sleep in layers of clothes! At 10pm, I tried to go to reception to ask about heating, but no one around, tried knocking on staff door, but no one answered, despite hearing voices and a light being visible. At check in, I asked for my receipt, but receptionist, although very friendly, could not find it initially. He offered to bring it up to my room later on, which I accepted. However, he never returned with the receipt. And the following morning at check out time, no one was around, so I never got a receipt of my payment, either! Attempted to email management, to resolve this issue, but no answer received either! I now see that previous reviewers have commented on similar problems as mine, but the 'standard reply' East Midlands guesthouse is the same: Basically 'pay more and go to 5 star hotel. Your comments have been sent to management' The lack of action tells me that management is only interested in getting in the cash, without listening to reviewers and making sure they are up to standard!

    Pleasantly greeted at reception, and room was clean. Decent wifi. 20 minute walking distance to city centre

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor quality and poor cleanliness pillow stunk of cigarettes and room smelt fusty it was next to the kitchen so it was noisy all night bedding was old and smelly I slept in my clothes and wrapped my coat around pillow it wa awful , matress old could feel slats of bed this should not be a guest house it was more like a hostel for homeless People

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When arriving at the property we rang the bell at 4pm to 4.30pm (check in was at 4) had no other indication bar a number to call for manager we called and text this number numerous times leaving voice mails it wasn’t untill 4.30 we were called to tell us there was a code to get into the building and which number our room was. The person on the phone was rude and short- oh haven’t you stayed before. obviously not. Once in the building for the next hour all we could hear was knocking and door bells obviously more people trying to enter the property to check in. Not ideal when you have just traveled 8 hours. People let them into the property eventually but once inside the obviously had no indication of where to go. Security Issue. They were just wandering about the property- also we were told not to lock the room from the inside when we were in. What if people wandered into our room?! The reception room stated someone should be there between 2-10 every day. When checking out the next day still no one. Actually ridiculous. Will not be staying again and to pay £40 for that service and lack of communication is rotten.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe a kettle in the room save going down stairs to the kitchen in the middle of the night

    Everything was excellent from the price the staff the location the room just a nice place

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hot water was somewhat erratic resulting in rather bracing and unpredictable shower. No one on reception so I had to phone the number on the door. Not really a problem. Chap I spoke to was helpful and polite and talked me through gaining entry etc.

    Clean. Comfortable. Quiet. Walking distance to centre. Plenty of buses if preferred. Free parking. Good value if you just require a place to sleep. Would stay there again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The weather took a turn and the temperature dropped but management didn't seem to notice, let's just say it was so cold and as there was no heating i slept in my coat

    Clean large room

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise of doors opening and closing. A stiffness in my door's lock.

    The room was very cosy, homey and the staff helpful. There were excellent kitchen facilities and two food shops nearby. Quite location, plenty of parking.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Value for money, clean, comfortable big bed rooms. Clean bathrooms & toilets. Friendly Manager, free tea coffee. Good location, near to railway station, city centre & Rolls Royce Would like to stay again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Was on a business trip for one night. The room was spacious nice and clean and the bed was very comfortable. There is a kitchen with microwave and fridge, tea and coffee. The host is very friendly and helpful. There may be some street noise if windows open, but when windows shut it is quiet. No issue for me personally.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were some very noisy people in the guesthouse, making a racket from 02.00 to nearly 04.00am. There didn't seem to be anyone around to stop them. I had a very poor night's sleep because of this.

    The bed was comfortable. Wifi good. Shower good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For a pet friendly place no bedding or blankets in corner on floor for Dogs to sleep so had to have dog on bed. Also only a carpark so no grass for dogs to actually walk and toilet on.

    For an extra 2 pound It's a Pet friendly place not many them about.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing all Good.

    The proprietor was very friendly and polite, the room was very clean and tidy. My wife and I enjoyed our stay and I would definitely recommend the East Midlands Guesthouse as an excellent place to stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was there very briefly. Needed a place to sleep after a concert since there was no late train home. One of the toilets ran out of paper, but there was another downstairs. Hey, if you leave those rolls out they disappear - I've been told this before and I believe it. People will take anything. Very jovial, helpful manager. The kitchen area has everything you could want - made myself a nice breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would take a travel kettle to be able to make a drink in the room rather than have to go to the kitchen first thing in the morning.

    Clean and comfortable good sized single room. Kitchen available. Plenty of parking right by the entrance. Friendly helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The man behind the desk was very very rude. Picture frame snapped and fell on floor at 2am waking us up. Charged £20 for some fake tan on the sheets which washes out. Man behind desk does not speak English and doesn't understand anything. Got Extra unortherised charges to my card. Not walking distance to anywhere.

    We could come and leave whenever we wanted as there was a code for the front door

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Downstairs room nearest the front door wasn't great; uncomfortable bed, lousy curtains which let a lot of light in and lots of door banging late at night/early in the morning. Motion activated light in the shower was (predictably) problematic. Very basic facilities (but reasonable for the price).

    Very handy for the station, clean and good value for money. Manager was very accommodating when I asked to switch rooms and the second room was much more comfortable than the first. Free wifi is a plus.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything staff were rude & the whole place stunk ended up staying out half the night just we didnt have to stay there then the bed was broken just kept squeaking i would never stay there again waste of mone if it wasnt for the cancellation fee i wouldnt of stayed and paid plus couldnt see tv in room way too small

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints! Great value.

    Fast, efficient, last-minute hospitality. No frills, but no complaints either. Friendly supportive staff. Great to have access to a kitchen & free drinks facilities for the morning. Bargain!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    If you wish to check-in before 4pm you have to pay 10 additional pounds.

    Really nice and comfortable rooms and beds in a pretty building. The guest house is about 1km far from the city center and you can easily reach the center in a 15 minutes walk.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing you would not expect in a room this cheap. Kitchen was a bit cramped. More than three people trying to use it at once would be challenging.

    Walkable from the station and into the city centre. Plenty of shops and eateries on the way. Easy to find and no problems booking in. Quiet. It was a Friday night/Saturday morning in July and the double glazing seemed to do the job on the road outside. I'm a night owl anyway so no problem with people coming back late. Clean and well cared for with an interesting interior décor. You have to vacate the room at 1030 but they did not seem to mind me being in the kitchen after checkout time. All the facilities worked. I did not attempt the shower as I was only there for one night. The room was clean and fresh and featured the much sought after coat hooks, but no wardrobe. Fine for a budget overnight stay and excellent value for that close to the centre. I'd go there again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Street light outside window with see through curtain not blocking any light out. Being able to hear everything in other rooms. Including someone upstairs paving up and down at 2 in the morning

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Nothing it view being excellent inside. Finding it was so hard as it looked like a run down drugs stop for addicts. Very creepy scary . Not for family's at all. My wife n i didn't sleep we watched over our son all night. Ok for people on a very tight budget Staff was extremely well mannered , which was a bonus thats it nothing else. If it gets cleaned up outside presented well. I would then give a 3☆ but never a 5☆

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It would be churlish to criticise anything

    The guest house is excellent value. It is ideal for the businessman or traveller who wishes to have an overnight stay or a base to stay at for a duration of time. The welcome is warm and friendly. The rooms are basic but practical and very clean. The kitchen which provides basic cooking facilities, a table and chairs, tea and coffee making facilities and a fridge to keep food chilled in, is a very useful facility, especially for a solo traveller. The onsite private car park is accessible and safe, The guest house is in a good location, with it being only a mile from Derby city centre. There is a good bus route with two bus services operating on a regular timetable into Derby city centre. For anyone wishing to travel by public transport, this is very easy, with Derby bus station being within easy reach of Derby train station.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was in a fairly rough area, friends of mine who live in Derby when realising where I was staying advised me to take my stuff and leave, which I did as I felt uncomfortable in the location and I didn't feel secure so I didn't spend the night there.

    N/A

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very rude staff. Basic rooms. Charged an additional £10 for a friend popping round. Refused to give my my luggage back until I paid.

    Based out of town. Possibly a refuge for homeless people? Very unfriendly staff and forced to pay £10 which then increased to £12 when I questioned the charge. Will be taking this much further.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    There's nothing wrong with this place. The noisy road can be an issue, but there's not much that can be done about that. You get what you pay for. Obviously, for this price you won't get luxury facilities or -star service. If that's what you want, go somewhere else and pay more.

    Good for the price. You will get a clean, secure, quite comfortable room, near the city centre and railway station, for a great price.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was rather noisey plumbing they out the property anybody pulling water for the sinks seen to resonate thru ought my room all night

    Cheap and fitted were needed to be for work

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was really cold, although the radiators were warm. The bathroom seemed quite old and it didn't have any shelves to put my belongings on.

    Good price

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Duvet was not big enough for two people, it only just touched the mattress whilst we were lying in bed so long as we didn't move. There was no kettle in the room, there was one in the kitchen but we had no way to know if anything in the kitchen was belonging to other quests or could be used by us too. There was a toilet on our floor but it was really not clean and hadn't been cleaned for some time, there was a tiny bit of soap in the bottle that didn't pump out of the bottle and there was no towel to dry hands with. The radiator in our room didn't really do much even though it was opened up fully. I don't like to complain about things like this but you asked us what we didn't like...

    It was quiet. The room was clean with fresh bed linen.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only 2 toilets in the whole building one upstairs and one downstairs, for 14 rooms. The toilet upstairs was practically in our room, so was kept awake all night by people using it. Then there was no toilet paper. The kitchen is where you had to make a brew, but the milk was off, had to ask for a carton of fresher milk. I recomend anyone not to go to this place.

    Nothing the guest house was a total DUMP.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The noise from the road and people passing outside was really bad, I appreciate this is due to guesthouse's location but the window in the room did not seal properly and the sky was visible through the side of the window seal. I think if the window sealed better then the noise would have been reduced.

    Room was comfortable, the guest house was very clean which I like and facilities equipped and not too busy.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perhaps the shower room is a little small but still good value for the money.

    Free parking and a good location. This guesthouse goes the job for a short stay. Clean and tidy with a comfy mattress on the bed. All in a good value for money.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    No electrics in kitchen to make coffee/toast. Owner complained I arrived at 12:45 am when I'd advised them my flight didn't arrive until 11:45 pm and they'd agreed I could check in late

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a problem for me but a wardrobe would probably be more use than a sideboard in the bedroom.

    Clean, well decorated and comfortable room, reasonably quiet, friendly and helpful staff. Well located for the south of the City Centre and station, clean shared toilet and shower facilities.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cheap but the wash basin in the room was out of order. Not good enough. Having to ask for a towel was unexpected, should be in the room already. Good off street parking. Met my needs, just

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Creepy place

    First room offered had no curtain or bedding window facing old people's home.then moved to next room with just a worn out very noisy uncomfortable bed Couples to avoid this place

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Piss on toilet floors Reception man was sleeping behind a curtain in reception and once upgraded and paid fiver extra he bought us a used dirty quilt and pillows , threw these in the room on the floor smiled and said have a gud night , our room was next to the main toilets, tv was hanging off wall it wasn't stable, frozy smell not fresh when walked in body odour ,other guests were parading around topless, and and 5am got woke up by other residents

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Easy going. Not to far from the coach station. Good clean rooms and also a comfortable set up. Maybe a bit too expensive for a one night stay but that's my personal view.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Land line phone not being answered by human being, and the then very confusing answering machine pre-recorded message. A very big struggle getting some one to answer the front door,when attempting to check in.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was horrible, made a creaking sound every time you moved. Shared toilet, both times I went the previous person hadn't flushed away their mess..

    Complimentary tea and coffee, but NO milk to go with it.....

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The showers were never hot, the bedding was dirty and had a horrible smell, when I approached about this problem and the other problem about WiFi which was never connected I was told what do you expect for the money, when I replied with, this is unprofessional because advertising and saying one thing to actually doing it is false representation and unprofessional, I was told , if I don't like it then feel free to leave and you won't be getting a penny back. I spent £116 to stay there, its a shame because the least they could of done was rectified the problem Definitely horrible. It's a shame I paid cash. No receipt no proof.

    I only liked that it was close to the city centre..

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities arent great, but i expected that. Room could have been cleaned better though.

    Chap who checked us in was really nice. It was cheap, gave us what we needed, which was a place to stay after a night out

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On the first night we were trying to check in, the staff wasn't as nice and we didn't had a good communication with him. He was saying to check in the next day even tough we before I've done the booking that there I just had to pay £10 extra for the early check in. Plus he did not speak fluent English so that added to our miscommunication.

    So we came back the next day, the other male employer was really nice and a lot more welcoming than the other one.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly and helpful staff. Very close to where I needed to be. Plenty of shops open late few minutes drive away.only slight downside is that the facilities are very basic but what else do you expect for the price? Definitely will use again.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't seem to have heating, was a bit chilly in the morning but wasn't too bad under the thick quilt provided

    The bed I had was very comfy, was actually the best I've slept in ages! Located 15 minute walk away from the rail station so very handy for a regular traveller like myself. Good sized room with good facilities (plenty of books and hangers to hang clothes and coats etc)

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom was right next to the main road so didn't get much sleep as the road was busy all night

    Nice big room enjoyed the free tea and coffee too also only a 15 walk to the train station

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    -Chose because it was a good price -Additional charge for using credit card adding over a pound even though booked with credit card -Television signal poor , very few channels worked -Nowhere to brush your teeth , wash except toilet -Very basic ,on par with a hostel

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    nobody answered phone. Location (100A) did not match the rest of the street numbers so difficult to find. All signs overgrown so spent a long time trying to find it. WIFI signal no good

    very little. Will not be stopping again.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The booking.com website says it is 0.5 miles away from the train station. It isn't. AA route map says 0.8. This may sound petty but I only booked it because of location and having to walk at 6am. I also had barracade on my window I guess to prevent damage. When I tried to cancel this because of incorrect information I was told it would be full cancellation charges

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shared bathroom. Communal areas need updating

    If you are on a budget or traveling for work this is a great find. Just don't expect much after all it is a budget place. It is clean and tidy and looks like it has just been redecorated

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms I stayed in, yes plural were fantastic, nice quality furnishings, with flat screen tv and a homely feeling. Ark the manager was very helpful and lovely, giving me directions to local shops and generally being friendly! I'd come back!

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I stayed here 3 years ago. It was tired and a bit grotty. But cheap. Now it's still cheap but also fresh, modernised and comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As usual lowest price in Derby close to city centre.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Sink plug not working so had to use another for shaving. Only one light in bedroom.

    Clean and functional, less than 15 mins walk from train station.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room near to the communal toilet, very noisy in the morning. Old doors.

    Spacious room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower room was tiny and only one pillow

    Value for money

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I saw one shower room and one toilet

    Easily accessible

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    great location very clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    comfy bed fairly quiet location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Traffic noise no heat in my room tv sound poor

    Cheap laid back antique furnising near to town

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had an excellent stay for an affordable price!!!!

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse East Midlands Guesthouse traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: