Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Eshott Hall 4 stars

Eshott Hall Estate,Morpeth, Eshott, NE65 9EN, United Kingdom

#2 of 2 hotels in Eshott

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 373 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room way too hot and stuffy, located above kitchens! A fan would have helped but none were available... a discount was given in lieu.

    Full of character, great location and dog friendly!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was at the back of the hotel above the kitchen, with a view of the bins! Also staff quarters were above so there was a lot of noise late on.

    Excellent food and friendly staff. Location is beautiful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The halls and stairs and other public spaces showed a bit of wear; the staff did not seem quite as professionally trained as one would have expected for such a venue.

    Lovely country estate with blooming wisteria draping the front of the big stone building and spacious, well tended grounds complete with tennis court, woodland walks and sylvan, quiet location. The room was elegant as was the bathroom.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lodge Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    After waiting a while to check in (we rang the bell twice and eventually had to go and find someone in the kitchen), we were given the keys to a room. On arriving at the room we walked in on another guest as they had already been allocated the room, this was embarrassing for the both of us. We trekked back to reception to explain and get another room. The girl on the desk was appalling - no apology at all and quite a bad attitude. She sent a young lad off who then barged in on the same poor woman despite us explaining the room was occupied. Sat waiting for half an hour whilst the girl on the desk ignored us completely. The young lad went to look for another room, ensuring us that: 'if it was dirty he would clean it himself', (?? - surely he wasn't expecting us to take a dirty room and then clean it??). Eventually given the room next door. The rooms were lovely and setting beautiful, but we were not impressed at all by the service from the reception - a lot to be desired here - probably owing to inexperience - maybe some training would come in handy. I am also very sorry to the woman who was in the original room as she had 2 sets of people unlock and walk uninvited into the room whilst she was in it, which is obviously not very nice for anyone staying away for a night in a hotel!

    beautiful location, elegant building, lovely room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lodge Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely staff, beautiful building and grounds, extremely comfortable bed and clean, modern bathroom.

    Beautiful property in lovely policies... ideal break if you are bringing a canine companion.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lodge Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    The staff were wonderfully friendly. Nothing was too much trouble. The bed was the comfiest I've slept on in years! The location is superb; easy to get to all major Northumberland attractions but quiet and away from any noise except birds!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lodge Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The first room we were allocated was Bluebell. Looks OK, very dated decor but a lovely bathroom. The bed was dreadful, like a soggy marshmallow and the bed frame looked like it was collapsing in on itself. We returned to reception to ask to be moved (I have a neck injury and I would have been crippled if I'd slept in that bed), and the GM moved us in to the main Hall, in to the Versaille room. On first sight, it looked very nice and the bed was nice and firm. WE went out for dinner and didn't look at the rest of the room until we got back. The room was filthy; thick dust everywhere; stains on the cushions and chairs; burn marks on the leather dressing table stool and buttons missing off it; dirty foot prints on the bathroom window seat; the plastic strip at the bottom of the shower panel was full of pink and black mould; filthy tea pot and coffee plunger; broken kettle lid; stains all over the carpet; dust built up in the cracks around the wall coving. This place is so un-loved and it is such a shame as it could be stunning. I heard from one member of staff that the hotel owner does not believe that 8 years is a long enough time to own a property before re-investing in it. Really?! Well then, just wait a bit longer and it will cost you twice as much as it would now, to put things right. Plus by then you will have lost even more customers, so you may as well close up shop! Apparently the Dalhousie Castle in Edinburgh is their main priority at the moment. Well, spend all you want on that place, but I don't believe you know how to run a successful hotel. I wonder how long you've let Dalhousie sit and rot before throwing money at it...more than 8 years? I felt sorry for the GM, she had another couple of guests complain (again about the filthy room) after we checked out; they'd visited several times over the last few years and they said that standards have just dropped through the floor.

    The staff are great; helpful, chatty, such a shame the rest of the place lets them down. Towels were lovely and fluffy and the linen was crisp. The grounds are impeccable, the ground staff do an excellent job, which creates a wonderful first impression...and then you enter the building and the bubble is burst!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was of a very high standard and first class quality.

    The room was fab and spotlessly clean and the food was cooked to perfection and presentIon was excellent very artistic.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was ill prepared, no towels, no bathmat, rubbish in bin, empty tissue box; dead flowers in the hotel

    The internal and external environment was of a high standard

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lodge Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was dusty with cobwebs behind the radiator and behind the bed, in the wardrobe and in the lampshades. It seemed like the room needed a thorough clean.

    Quaint location. Friendly staff. Character setting and building. Tasty well presented food.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Service was very slow at times. It took 15 minutes, after ordering the wine, for staff to tell us they didn't have any, at which point my sister had nearly eaten her dinner. Never got any coffee or tea with my breakfast on the second morning. There was a definite lack of organisation, as there didn't seem to be anyone in charge to oversee operations.

    Setting is very good and hotel is very comfortable. The staff are also very nice, but are not organised.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Coffee could have been better

    Lovely friendly, relaxed atmosphere. Hotel was very quiet on the evening. Very comfortable room. Lovely country surroundings.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No dairy free butter for the morning toast...

    The staff were really friendly and there was a lovely atmosphere in the house. It is a warm and historic building. The breakfast was amazing, I am dairy intolerant and they really went the extra mile to cater for my needs.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The location was super. We loved every minute from the warm greeting at reception to the equally warm experience we had on departure. The room was lovely, overlooking the garden. Breakfast was served by friendly and happy staff and I would definately recommend the scrambled eggs with smoked salmon.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If your having a meal in the lounge, better tables might be an idea. Some of them where not really practical to eat on. Apart from that everything was good.

    Hotel was great. Staff where friendly and efficient. Rooms are nice with the usual 30 cushions on the bed to make it look nice. Slightly over warm but not too bad.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lodge Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Overworked staff in the evening meant the library room (bar) wasn't attended; fire had almost gone out; heating off, and couldn't get served a drink after dinner. Bed a little soft for our liking Lights on road to Lodge not working

    Dinner was superb; breakfast very good. Beautiful building Beautiful, quiet location Room was very pleasant and well equipped

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Lodge Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Having arranged an early breakfast at not too early a time of 7.15am, no-one told the chef. The walk to the annexe in the dark was unexpected. The room was very hot all night and the shaving mirror light didn't work.

    Cooked breakfast and 4 large pillows

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Lodge Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If you stay in the outer building you will have to walk 5 mins outside in the dark to the main building for dinner

    The build has a massive wow factor and the dinner was brilliant!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our room was at the rear of the property and we were woken most nights by people walking in the room above and using the rear staircase that ran next to our room - so I wouldn't recommend that room (stable view)

    The staff were very friendly and helpful and really made it feel like a home from home. The bathroom was enormous and very well appointed. The surroundings even in the depths of winter were beautiful and watching the bird life from the breakfast room was so relaxing.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Lodge Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fan noise in room from toilet . Room to hot .

    Robert , arranged the kitchen and breakfast staff to xome in early on two mornings to accommadate my early start . Helen serving breakfast could. It have been more helpful getting my breakfast . Well done breakfast team at Eshott .

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was badly laid out with the cereals fruit juices etc in the main reception area in front of the check in desk

    Peace and quiet. Lovely rural setting. Rooms are very large and full of period furniture. Found the bathroom rather cold despite the fact that the heating was full on - guess this is a difficulty in any old period property where secondary glazing is difficult to fit without spoiling the character of the building

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Lodge Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very cold at arrival and it took a while to discover how to switch on the heating from the bathroom. The central heating in the room was not working. An electrical heater was foreseen.

    Staff was very polite. Diner and breakfast were very good. Nice atmosphere. I regretted I didn't bring a book to enjoy reading in the library.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dining Room felt slightly formal and the room service options were limited with a high (£10) tray cost.

    Very nice country house hotel, finished to a high standard.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kettle was dirty so didn’t use it. Only got one packet of biscuits with the tea/coffee selection. Only got one pair of slippers with the dressing gowns.

    Breakfast was delicious. Comfy bed.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lodge Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The weather could have been better but nothing about our two night stay caused us any concern.

    From arrival to departure the staff could not have been more friendly or helpful. Room was on the ground floor of Eshott Grange, a self contained separate building from the main house, but this made it very quiet.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Lodge Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    An arm chair in my room would have been great. The tea making facilities had no electrical sockets nearby and couldn't be used unless you moved them.

    Amazing attentive staff. Attention to detail. Very dog friendly and lots for families to do as. Wonderful peaceful woodland walks as well as a library or lounge to relax in when you get back! Breathtaking room decor😎

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    maybe more staff at breakfast - the poor waitress was run off her feet but still did an excellant job

    just everything - the setting is stunning, room fantastic, the staff so helpful and kind, the food was stunningly good this was for our wedding anniversary and I felt 'special'

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lodge Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    our room was very cold on arrival - the heating had been turned off despite the cold weather (7 to 9 C)

    good breakfast prompt response from staff when there was a problem

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lodge Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed in the annex because we had our dog with us. Although the room and bathroom were excellent, the walls were not sound proof and we could easily hear people talking and snoring in adjacent rooms. Felt as though we were sharing a room with the other guests.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. The grounds were beautiful. The food excellent. Comfortable bed.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lodge Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hopefully on a return visit we might stay in the main building and perhaps enjoy a Dinner Bed and Breakfast deal, as we were only Bed and Breakfast and we were out with the main building.

    Lovely comfortable room, beautiful breakfast, scrambled egg and smoked salmon was gorgeous. We sat at a table by the window and could see red squirrels, so lovely, we don’t have red squirrels in Edinburgh

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    not a thing

    A lovely hotel and setting with excellent staff. The food was outstanding, I was blown away by the starter and desert and was only disappointed that I wasn't more adventurous with my choice of main which was steak.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Stable East
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The Stable East self catering accommodation was excellent for a family of 4. Plenty of space, extremely well furnished and comfortable. Location was excellent for Hadrian’s Wall, Alnwick castle, Holy Island etc.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Lodge Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Management of the property seemed very disorganized. Staff had difficulty finding our reservation and then gave us confusing directions to find our room which was quite some distance from the main building and difficult to find in the dark. As well, despite having a dinner reservation, we still had to wait outside the dining room for more than an hour and a half for our table to be ready. The room was not in the Eshott Hall we were attracted to on the website and had none of the elegance or luxury we were expecting. Instead it was a small cramped room in a little building on a back road out behind Eshott Hall.

    Not much

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Lodge Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Eshott Grange is a short (150m?) walk from the main building, unfortunately nobody put the drive lights on so it was a bit of a hit and miss walk back to room, fortunately it was a dry evening

    Had the Bluebell room in Eshott Grange. Lovely and large accommodation. Was able to watch red squirrels on lawn - amazing!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lodge Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The booking.com site didn`t mention that the classic bedrooms were in another building. We had to walk 100 yards outside to breakfast. It rained and our waterproofs were in the car. Maybe umbrellas in the properties entrance hall? We also had an issue with where to plug the kettle in. No sockets anywhere near the Tea tray and it had a very short lead to plug in. It ended up on the floor under a dressing table! We only used hotel for breakfast so can`t comment on restaurant. They do seem to struggle a bit when it is busy at breakfast.

    The location was perfect for what we needed to do.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Lodge Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a little cramped and hot.However we'd rather be hot though than cold!

    We are regulars at Eshott . Dog is always welcome. The last couple of times we had been disappointed by the quality of breakfast but this time the buffet was full and a request for poached eggs was met in the plural and were perfect! We were particularly impressed by a new member of staff who was extremely customer focused. She ensured we had early hot breakfast whilst encouraging us to come àgain. Thank you.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although breakfast on our second day was excellent, on the first morning, the kippers were swimming in oil and the scrambled eggs were watery.

    Very comfortable with welcoming staff and a very relaxed atmosphere. Superb food in the restaurant.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The "piped" music - eccentric mix of music in reception, at breakfast and dinner (ranged from military marches, through classical and other genres). Perhaps a more coherent blend selected as appropriate for time of day? The shower controls were a very stiff. As a very picky point - when escorted from the bar to dinner we would expect our drinks to be carried for us.

    Lovely building set in splendid grounds. Impressive bedroom, lovely bar, great restaurant. Very much enjoyed our meals (one simple meal in the bar, one three course meal in restaurant)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Lodge Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our rooms where on the first floor with a very steep and narrow staircase. We had a partially disabled plus a very elderly in our party and it was extremely dangerous. When we saw it we asked to be elsewhere but the hotel was full. I left a written complaint that they should convey it being unsuitable to any sites they sell through. Also the entrance to the hotel had a very lethal worn down set of steps.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Lodge Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't like some of the staff, found them inefficient and non caring. We were in the grange and the water pressure was terrible, issues trying to get a shower even filling the kettle was a problem on some mornings.

    We liked the setting, the food and some of the staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lodge Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The fact we had booked through yourselves a classic room which on arrival we was sent 150 metres down a lane as all the classic rooms are in the annexe which basically is a converted house. This was not stated on the front booking sheet and as we were going the day after it was non refundable it was stated on the confirmation in small print, we would not have booked this if we had known the room was not in the hotel. The room was ok for a night but quite basic and I would suggest Booking.com state the room is in the annexe on the booking form as I feel like us it would put some people off.

    The house was beautiful set in amazing surroundings, the food was good and the service adequate. Within easy access of the coast and Alnwick Castle.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Holiday Home
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were in one of the self-catering cottages which were billed as private - which they were for the most part. But on the morning of our check out they sent a workman to rake the gravel outside our cottage door and by our windows at 10:30 am (check out time was 11:00 am) so our It was pretty obvious he was there to make sure we were leaving. We left at 11 am and he then promptly moved onto another task. I found this annoying.

    The grounds were beautiful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good sized rooms Antique furniture but alterations to form twin beds amateurish and roughly done for a hotel of this calibre Pieces from the alterations were in the top drawer in which I put my clothes !!! Dust under lampshades and base of beds Found a ball under one bed The room appeared tired The curtain tie backs needed repairing The bathroom was good and facilities in the room were good

    A very good breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lodge Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I'd have liked some bottled water in the room. Noise from other rooms travelled very easily and any movement in our room (mandarin) caused the wardrobe doors to rattle very noisily.

    Beautiful building and friendly staff. Breakfast was superb.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tried too hard too many flavours on plate. Breakfast ok bacon overcooked. Did not like bath in bedroom!however we were moved to room with bath in room and en suite shower . Not very clean room .

    Large room . Sandwich in bar very good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Stable East
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite a few items had to be requested for the self-catering accommodation: Dishwasher tablets, frying pan, wine glasses, bin liner etc. All provided without much bother but would have been even better had the kitchen been fully stocked.

    Fabulous location and cottage. Staff were very helpful. Enormous space (for us - two adults, two children).

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lodge Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrived we discovered that we had been booked into the hotel annex. There was no indication of this prior to arrival. The annex is a cottage which has been converted into a 6 bedroom accommodation. This is remote from the main hotel by about 150 yards. On entering the annex we were greeted with an overpowering smell of disinfectant which raised my suspicions immediately. The closer we got to our room on the first floor, the stronger the smell. At the entrance to our room there was a large cleaning stain on the carpet which then continued into our room and terminated at the bathroom door. This venue is used extensively for weddings and I suspect the annex, being remote from the main building, is probably used as a party house tby wedding guests to a great degree. I also strongly suspect that the reason for the disinfectant smell was due to previous guests being ill and not reaching the bathroom facilities in time and the carpets requiring cleaning. I will not be using this venue again and would strongly recommend that anyone booking in the future, clarifies whether they are going to be accommodated in the sin building or the annex. I would also strongly suggest that if the annex is offered, it be declined

    Breakfast was a good start to the day

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lodge Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    You may NOT be staying in the main house, so check with reception when you arrive BEFORE unloading the car. I didnt!

    Beautiful grounds, gardens and house. Dinner is an event not to be missed, the chef is superb, the food fantastic. Staff very helpful and attentive. Breakfast excellent

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We felt the restaurant rather let the place down. It lacked ambiance and the limited menu was lackluster, to the extent that we both ordered steak which is always a last resort for us. The onion rings were a highlight though!

    Hotel is beautifully decorated and maintained throughout. Lovely quiet, prestigious country setting. The room, complete with 4-poster bed and roll-top bath, was an unexpected bonus! The staff were lovely and could not have been more pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room became stuffy because window could not be opened.

    Both breakfast and dinner were excellent. Room was large and comfortable. Staff very pleasant.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ambiance, decor and furnishings of a country estate home were very authentic, giving a chance to experience the grandeur of wealthy families' living conditions from a past era.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have been nice if the staff met knew a little more about the history of the house and surrounding area.

    The ambience of the Hall, the grounds and overall decor. Just a thoroughly lovely place to stay in.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Lodge Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We moved rooms. We were not happy with our rooms which were out of the hotel .there was a bad smell in these rooms so we were moved into the main hotel which was lovely

    Lovely food and friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lodge Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noise in the annex from other doors slamming and you can hear conversations in adjoining rooms. Woke by children in the adjoining rooms. Restaurant was totally over rated pretentious nonsense. First year students can do very much better! Expensive and failed on every count...even the Executive Chefs recommended wine was unavailable!

    Location was excellent and very well presented venue. Room was very clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lodge Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Take the bar out of the library/drawing room and return the room to its original purpose.

    Akin to staying in one's own country house. All very comfortable & pleasing.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lodge Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would stay in the main building in future - the outbuildings were fine, but a bit small.

    Beautiful grand old Hall - and an ambiance to match. Some of the decor was a bit faded. Staff were good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lodge Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of front of house management so service levels were sometimes erratic. All elements very good but needed greater coordination and management.

    Bed very comfortable, very good food, staff welcoming and friendly

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Holiday Home
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were booked into a cottage in the grounds which was fine but didn't know there would be a wedding on at the same time til we got there. Not made to feel welcome nor were there any eating options at the place (other than self catering for which we hadn't provisioned), being offered. In fact we were told there was no breakfast the next morning because of the wedding with no offer to help book alternate options. Our only contact then with staff over the next few days was to ask for the cottage to be cleaned, cleared of a previous occupants meal, used bedding and towels etc. Clearly no one had checked the cottage before our arrival - it was cold, stank of old fish (meal) and we were touch and go whether to leave there and then. Only a long days travel stopped us upping sticks at that point. We found an excellent pub at Felton where we did enquire about rooms (but were full) and felt better about the cottage when we arrived back as it was warm, clean and fit for use. Next day the shower drain was found to be blocked when used, and the kitchen sink also blocked. We cleared the shower (hair from multiple users! - yuck!!) but asked someone to look at the kitchen sink. To be fair, staff responded straight away and resolved things - just a shame we needed to ask for things to be put right/clean in the first place. The cottage was nice and well appointed. But staff weren't really interested in our custom and short on customer relations. We had a token acknowledgement of the issues on our bill but to be honest the way we felt comes down to management and interest in getting the details right, and returning customers (or not!). It could be a nice enough place but at the prices charged stafff should have much better engagement with their visitors. Compared to an earlier farm stay for B&B, Eshott is a poor second without the welcome or value for money.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was a little gem. Elegant but homely. Lovely room and bathroom. All the staff were welcoming and most helpful. The dinner and breakfast were delicious. Quiet location. Only birdsong to be heard. Will definitely return.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lodge Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the room we stayed in was in a house some distance from main house although very quite and nice setting it needs inprovements.

    the room was comfortable . does need a womans touch though . Bath room had no were to put toiletries other than on the floor. Stairs up to our room very steep and small had to be very careful when using them. Wi Fi never worked even in main hotel. food was very good. Staff very nice and helpful..

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Lodge Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service at breakfast was a different experience from the previous evening. I waited half an hour for my ordered hot breakfast.....and 'discovered' that an order of poached eggs on toast posed a problem......the toast is done away from the kitchen! Mmmm!?!

    The room was beautiful and comfortable.....better than I imagined! The service on check in and at dinner was very good.....as was the evening meal itself. The location is in a peaceful setting with easy access from the A1.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Lodge Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Some bathroom fittings almost dropping off. some light bulbs needed changing Housekeeping need to check regularly.Advice re fire precautions insufficient as Eshott Grange is approx 300 yards from main building.

    comfy if squeaky bed. Excellent local kippers and smoked salmon. Lovely location though main areas could do with a bit of upgrading ie carpets/sofas.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing all good

    Beautiful property in lovely grounds . Did not have evening meal we had already eaten . Will try restaurant next time . Breakfast was good . We stayed in the Bainbridge room great room very large room beautifully decorated. Bed really comfortable . Will defiantly go back . Staff very friendly .

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lodge Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being in the Grange away from the main house was fine in good weather but if it had been raining it would not have been so good getting to breakfast. Steep stairs. Partly blocked basin. Very small bathroom.

    spacious comfy bedroom. Elemis products. Good breakfast. Friendly staff. Good value

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Needing a car to get around could get tedious after a while. Staff were always friendly and helpful but the small number of them meant they were often busy and not immediately available to help. The relaxed atmosphere of the hotel meant no one was getting particularly frustrated by this but there was sometimes a wait involved in being served a drink at the bar in the evening while the same staff were kept busy in the restaurant.

    Great breakfast Comfortable room Friendly staff A "home from home" feel Quiet and pleasant location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Couple
    • Lodge Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very satisfied with everything.

    We have stayed there before which is why we chose to return. It is handily placed for visiting favourite places and catching up with old friends - we are Northumbrian born and bred and enjoy renewing our love of Northumberland. .

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lodge Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing. no complaints at all.

    Very high end with excellent standards but also down to earth in terms of the friendly helpful service. Incredible value for money, would like to stay again. Food was excellent. 10/10. THe grounds were incredible. A joy to stay.`

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Lodge Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was a very poor excuse for a wardrobe in the room which did not close when items were hung in it as it was designed as a coat cupboard. he room was large enough to accommodate one which seemed a shame. However we had a good size chest of draws, our friends had a huge wardrobe but no draws ?? The food was very expensive.

    The hotel was very pleasant, comfortable beds and the rooms were a good size. We stayed in the lodge which was just away from the main hotel. It was a very nice trip. The breakfast was lovely, hot and fresh. The staff were attentive, friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Lodge Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We weren't informed of the different menus and choices of eating locations so were only booked with the evening meal in the main restaurant.

    Lovely location in own grounds. Rooms in the annex were first class

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one bathrobe We stayed in veg plot A lot of noise from above late evening and early morning we did complain at breakfast and we were told an apartment is located above this room ! Would advise not to stay in this room

    Room excellent breakfast excellent views very good

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Holiday Home
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is a wedding venue. We were the only guests not in the wedding. We did not have access to the restaurant for either dinner or breakfast and were several miles from the closest hotel. Without warning this was entirely unsatisfactory.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I would say was poor was the wifi it was free but didn't work but hey what do you expect in the middle of the countryside! The only downside to the room was we were situated at the back of the hotel and seemingly above the staff smoking area...not a major problem as we did not spend all that much time in the room but the smell would waft upstairs every now and then.

    The staff were very good on arrival and nothing to much for them. The evening meal was delicious and staff very attentive. Staff at breakfast a littleess attentive and could do with topping up the tea and coffee pots. However again the food was good and nothing was too much. The grounds of the hotel are beautiful, lovely walk in the grounds and I'm sure a game of tennis on the courts would be fun on a nice day. The hotel itself was decorated in a traditional, vintage fashion and was lovely. The room was large and spacious very comfortable bed and also very clean. We only stayed one night and I wish we had booked for a second night. We did not pay full price for the room as booking.com had an offer on which made it extremely good value for money but I would pay full price what a lovely place to stay!! The room had a good supply of tea,coffee and hot chocolate and complimentary water and the staff happily supplied more if required. I have to say I was very impressed with the toiletries that were in the bathroom the espa range but most importantly they had shampoo and conditioner and hand cream. I've stayed in done very nice hotels who fail to supply conditioner....well done eshott hall!!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lodge Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Disappointing, on the whole. The room was nowhere near up to standard. On arrival, my wife went to switch on one of the bedside lights and the lampshade just collapsed; then when switching on the light the bulb exploded and fused. Quite a shock. The carpet was dirty. There were pillows with no pillowcases on them. We don't think Management had inspected the room for quite some time. You warned me after (not actually before!!!!) I had completed the booking that we would be put into a wing separate from the main building and we got the impression that Booking.com has been foisted off with inferior accommodation. I would recommend that you take the whole of these matters up with the owners of the hotel.

    The ambience.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lodge Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant service could have been a little quicker at times.

    Lovely location and very pleasant staff. Super well maintained grounds. Meals were well presented and hot.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lodge Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    On check-out, I suggested the hot water needs turning on a little earlier in the morning ... so that early risers like us can have plenty of hot water.

    It was an extremely pleasant 48 hour experience. The staff should pat themselves on the back for being so helpful. It looked like a "very happy ship"!

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Eshott Hall traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: