Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Eslington Villa 3 stars

8, Station Road, Gateshead, NE9 6DR, United Kingdom

Review score

Based on 509 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    9.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    8.3
    A little gem in Gateshead
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thought price for a pot of tea was expensive. Would not advise ordering one and sitting in the lounge. Basically 2 cups of tea for £6.50. Room overlooked roof and kitchen extractor..... bacon cooking definitely wakes you up. Not a very pleasant view.

    Beautiful grounds. Staff quite helpful. Comfortable clean room. Will stay again when visiting family. Surprisingly pretty hotel tucked away in Gateshead.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    9.2
    Despite the breakfast fiasco - I would stay there again as the other pluses make up for the negative
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast! Went to breakfast and met the union rep waitress who informed me she couldn’t have open a window or door in the dining room (after my request for some fresh air/coolness) (yet the previous evening two large doors at either end of the dining conservatory area were wide open which made a comfortable area to eat). It was one minute to 7 am when she added that I was too early as breakfast starts at 7! I showed her my watch and she then admitted her watch was wrongly set. Breakfast arrived, I was the first and only guest when it arrived at 7.15. Fried eggs - hard. Bacon was overcooked and so hard it was almost uncuttable. Sausage dry. I left most of it and made do with toast and honey. Not good! Not the same excellent food of the previous night. The breakfast cook (certanly not a chef) should be ashamed presenting such poor food. Neither he or the waitress seemed to care.

    Very good friendly staff on arrival and during evening earlybird meal which is immaculately presented and cooked. Great chef. Great taste and value. This is a gem of a hotel. Great shower/bathroom. Great bed, very comfy - I have a Vi-Spring at home and the hotels is as good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    8.3
    Wonderful and helpful staff, great food
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only a double bed in the Pines room which was a premium room; should have been bigger. No fan in this room and as it is in the loft space it was very hot, although admittedly this was in a very hot period.

    The staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    8.3
    Lovely little hotel.
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very cold. Staff said they would put hearibf on but didn't get back to us. Found out a couple of hours later it was broken and a plumber was called to fix it. Was fine when repaired.

    Food I the restaurant

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    5.8
    Not up to what we expected.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The shower head was useless and we could not get the right temperature and flow. The bath was slippery to stand on for a shower. We expected much more reflecting the high cost.

    It is conveniently located for exploring the north east.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    7.1
    Lovely large apartment at the very top of the building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The equipment in the apartment was a bit haphazard, no corkscrew for example.

    Lovely large apartment at the very top of the building. Great for families with small children.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    10
    The helpfulness of all the staff
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very helpful!! When we arrived we asked to order a sandwich for lunch but were told it was only Sunday lunches but they asked in the kitchen and they were happy to accommodate us ! Excellent service !

    The helpfulness of all the staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    9.2
    Lovely hotel, friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all, we just wish we had spent more time in the hotel, we would have loved to have had a meal but didn't have the time.

    The bedrooms were lovely and spacious the bathroom was gorgeous and very clean. The breakfast was lovely and the staff couldn't do enough. We would recommend Eslington villas to friend and family.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    8.3
    Lovely stay, just check your Bills :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We checked in and didn't have to pay for our room until departure (which was different) but nothing was mentioned to us about the price we were given a bill of £87.50 which we booked on this price, but on check out we where presented for a bill of £110 when i questioned it we where told its because we hadn't booked for 2 people, yet i booked a double room and told booking.com it was for 2! We where never told of the extra charges on check-in. also the bedrooms are lovely and comfortable just floorboards are quite noisy can hear above and around you. minor things but quite annoying!

    The location was spot on, breakfast was lovely and the bed was comfortable. the gentleman that checked us in was really helpful (i am sorry i didn't catch his name) also the TV's had Netflix :)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    9.2
    Set in beautiful grounds, great location and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, it was a very pleasant stay!

    The room was very pleasant and nicely decorated. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was very tasty.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    10
    Beautiful stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful room, with a beautiful view over the gardens. Victorian building with big windows and high ceilings. Amazing value for money. Excellent room service and a great restaurant attached. Easy to get transport to visit sites across Newcastle and Gateshead. I would definitely recommend staying here for people visiting the area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    10
    Great value overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Overall we had a very good overnight stay with a good breakfast. An evening meal was available ,but because of our personal arrangements could not tack up offer , but looked very good .All the staff offered first class service and all the other facilities where of a very high standard. Overall a good stay and good value l would recommend

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    10
    A perfect place for a getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked this hotel as an escape from the usual bustle of city life and we were not disappointed. The grounds were a millions miles away from traffic and the rooms were designed to help you relax. We are at the restaurant on the first night and the food was a high standard with great service and we eventually had coffee in the lounge which was relaxing. Breakfast was plentiful and catered for every taste. We used this hotel as a base for Newcastle and Hadrian’s Wall but got the added bonus of being just around to corner from The Angel of the North. Great value for money and will definitely use again when we do some more Wall trekking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.6
    Restful stay in lovely surroundings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Can't think of anything.

    Friendly and accommodating staff. Clean and comfortable room. Peace and quiet. Well-maintained and tranquil grounds. The breakfast was plentiful and delicious too. We would like to stay again. Thank you.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    9.6
    Above and beyond my expectations.
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Above and beyond my expectations. The staff were attentive and professional. Excellent facilities as well: the room was spacious, and so was the state-of-the-art bathroom. The delicious breakfast was served in a lovely area overlooking the garden and the amazing surroundings.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    10
    We were looked after very well at The Eslington
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This isn't applicable

    I visited this hotel several years ago for dinner when working. As I was back in the area recently I decided to stay & it was worth it. Beautiful boutique rooms all different. Our rooms faced the garden, the lovely weather meant we could enjoy the wonderful views & spend time there in the evening. The food & service (not to forget the delicious red wine) were second to none. Thinking about the Eslington? Go.... You won't regret it.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    9.6
    Very nice stopover
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I kept getting lost trying to find my room, as there were several turns and stairs and the directional signage wasn’t great.

    The staff were welcoming and helpful and the restaurant was very good, for dinner and breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    9.6
    Evening meal was lovely room facilities were good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have preferred separate shower rather than in the corner bath but a minor detail really just personal preference.

    Evening meal was lovely room facilities were good. Staff friendly and welcoming.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    10
    Highland Stop off
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely situation, staff so friendly and helpful. The room was large and clean and really comfortable. Dinner was fantastic. Couldn't say enough good things about our experience here.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    9.2
    Another good stay at Eslington Villa
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A slightly creaky bed which could have been a little more comfortable in the room where we were staying.

    It is in an attractive setting, the staff who we now know are always welcoming and the food is excellent. Each room is comfortable and unique and decorated in a style in keeping with the period of the property whilst also providing attractive, smart modern bathrooms.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    9.2
    Great weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent staff, greeted us on arrival and my wife's bag carried to the room, very friendly member of staff served us at breakfast and a very helpful room attendant. All in all a lovely stay and a splendid view of the garden from our room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.6
    A really enjoyable stay. We are planning a return visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to complain about

    We were lucky with the view from our window but some of the party we were with did not have a great view. The staff were very helpful and the breakfast and dinner was excellent. Really enjoyed our stay

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    9.2
    Lovely setting and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom facilities slightly outdated but didn’t bother us

    My husband and I were attending a wedding at Lumley Castle on the day and stayed here for the night, which is less than 20 mins drive from the castle; It’s an easy and quick drive away from Newcastle; Freshly cooked breakfast; Lovely views from room and from breakfast room; Very peaceful and pretty setting; Easy check in and check out service; Friendly and helpful staff; Room decor and furniture very tasteful; Heating is good, warm room for winter weather;

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    9.6
    Excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's a wonderful little hotel and exceeded our expectations given its location. Very friendly, very comfortable and quiet, with possibly the cleanest hotel bathroom I've ever had the pleasure of using!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    10
    Awesome staff, awesome food, awesome room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could do with subdued lighting in the bathroom to fully relax in the fabulous bath. Also a light over the mirror of the dressing table would’ve been perfect.

    Awesome staff, awesome food, awesome room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    10
    Elslington Villa is a wonderful place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Elslington Villa is a wonderful place to stay. The staff are fantastic and we stay there a lot. The rooms are lovely and the setting is beautiful. Highly recommend it.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    9.2
    Felt luxurious , lovely warm welcoming staff . Will definitely be back when we are in the north east
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were very hot and couldn’t open the windows in my room but didn’t matter this time of year . Small thing in what was otherwise a lovely relaxing stay . Would whole heartedly recommend

    Lovely warm welcome and brilliant staff . Rooms were beautiful and very unfussy and easy stay . Breakfast fabulous .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    10
    Fab
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff are amazing, The rooms are tastefully decorated. We did nt eat in the restaurant but it’s seems very popular. Breakfast was great. Excellent value for money.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    10
    Would recommend it esp. for value for money as it is not a soulless chain hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Good sized clean and comfortable room - recently refurbished bathroom. Usual excellent breakfast and selection. Very reasonable for the price.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    9.6
    Easily and highly recommended, especially at the very reasonable rates.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I moved rooms to accommodate an extra day's stay. The 'Willow' room is of the same standard that I've described, but is through an entrance off the car park and separate from the main door. It is on the garden level (which I prefer) but is not as well isolated from the noises of nearby rooms and guests. On future visits (may there be many) I will request a room directly accessible from the main entrance for a stay undistracted by fellow guests.

    I'm pretty picky about hotels. Eslington Villa is the sort of boutique accommodation that I know better than to expect. Just seeing it for the first time raised my hopes as it is so charming looking. On entering I readily felt at ease with the high quality that homely pride brings to everything. More like visiting a well-heeled friend's estate than a commercial operation. One checks in seated in front of a lovely old desk. Nice touch and so welcoming compared to the usual counter top. Personnel are friendly without being cloying, professional and organised while being relaxed and warm, and genuinely helpful. My room and that of my adult son were expansive and reminiscent of what one might see on a BBC period drama. Just lovely and authentic. All appointments and amenities are in keeping with initial impressions. Gratifying comfort all around. Breakfasts carry on the high quality standard. Full or continental, hot, cold, light and quick or luxuriously lengthy, no matter, it's on and excellent.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    10
    Food is heaven, setting is heaven, the whole experience was just heaven!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There really wasn’t anything to dislike!

    What’s not to like? This place is just the cutest! The staff are amazing and Tony is an absolute dream, he must have saw us coming and opend the door from the inside with the biggest smile and the warmest greeting. That man is an absolute credit to the hotel!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    10
    Friendly staff, beautiful house - pleasantly surprised with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was advertised on Booking.com with a bath (something I double checked!) a little disappointed we didn't get one!

    Friendly staff, beautiful house - pleasantly surprised with bar prices too!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    5.8
    Extremely Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I booked to celebrate Valentines Day, with my wife, as we were working all of the following week. What attracted me was the comments regarding the quality of the food and restaurant so it was incredibly frustrating that only the Sunday lunch menu was available in the evening, this should have pointed out at the booking stage, hence I feel it represented very poor value for what I was expecting

    The staff were very friendly

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    9.6
    Excellent hôtel but spoilt by noise fro room above.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Awoken at 2.30am by upstairs walking about. This went on for an hour. This was above ‘Willow’ room. Then door banging at 4ish. Is this a staff room or similar? Needs sorting, spoilt an otherwise good stay.

    Very good restaurant.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    9.6
    Stat was excellent, payment system is more complicated than it should be
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booking via Booking.com stated Pay nothing until your at the property. Money taken from my account £80.00 3 days before arrival. I had £3.98 of additions to my bill so they indented for the full £83.98 so even after 36 hours I still have £163.98 deducted from my account despite assurances that the original transaction would be returned, well after 36 hrs it is still not returned!

    Stated a few times and always first class

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    9.2
    Good value for money generally, in a good location for business users
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view from the room was of an apex roof which wasn’t great. The food was over priced for what it was.

    Rooms were spacious, good breakfast. Views from the garden/restaurant were good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    9.6
    Clean, friendly staff and excellent value for my visit.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Spot on for the price

    Clean, friendly staff and excellent value for my visit. The breakfast was very good. Standard hotel priced food and drink. Nice old building, fairly well maintained with plenty of parking and character.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    9.6
    So lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything.

    The staff were so welcoming and personable. Breakfast was generous and delicious. Evening meal represented really good value for money and both my husband and I commented that it was the nicest meal that we had had in a very long time. We asked for extra bread so we didn't leave any of the sauce!!!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    8.3
    Warm rooms and a warm welcome from staff.
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress in the room we had seemed to be quite saggy and not so comfortable. Mattresses have been fine in the other rooms we have stayed in.

    Warm rooms and a warm welcome from staff. The food was excellent.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    7.5
    The gentleman hosting I would give 6 out of 5 stars, he was simply amazing. Otherwise average hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The water supply is a bit iffy, I have sensitive skin and it was a tiny bit too hot for me, I couldn't turn it down. That said I never reported this to staff as we arrived late and just wanted to settle down, had I reported it they may have fixed the issue. The breakfast wasn't the best I've had, not the worst either. The eggs tasted a bit like vinegar, not sure why. I would have preferred to have a full container of coffee to help yourself. Cooked breakfast didn't come with beans. The continental breakfast wasn't excellent but it was ok. The bed mattress wasn't as luxurious as I would have expected from a hotel; quite flat and hard, but I can't deny it was comfortable enough for me to sleep through the night in.

    I loved the hosting, the staff were exceptionally friendly and accommodating. I don't think I've ever stayed in a hotel with such amazing staff. The gardens and building are very homely and beautiful, with a gorgeous view. Our en suite bathroom had beautiful fixtures and fittings and the accommodation was spotlessly clean.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    7.1
    It's a lovely place - a few tweeks would make it wonderful! xx
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Bed was very hard. Lighting in the room (OAK) was poor - only one pendant light in the middle of the room and no lighting around the dressing table. The worst thing was the noise from someone banging bin lids and going to and from the kitchen to a vehicle and slamming a vehicle door until 12.20pm. There were no vegetarian options on the breakfast menu and when I asked if their were any vegi sausages or anything - I was told it would take at least 20 mins to prepare these.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    8.8
    too short !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike about this hotel/restaurant.

    Liked friendly, attentive staff, liked excellent food and service, liked décor and ambience of bar , lounge and dining areas.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    6.7
    Staff where very friendly, the bed was comfortable and the breakfast was good
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor view overlooked by private housing Wall lamp was hanging off the wall Lighting was poor, could have done with a lamp by the dresser. The hotel is beginning to look a bit tired.

    Very good bathroom, clean and good towels Parking was tight but quite private.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    9.2
    Relaxing weekend break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were kept up on the Saturday evening due to noisy neighbours, not really the hotels fault though

    Lovely hotel, good food, close to city centre and attentive staff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    9.2
    My new favourite hotel in England
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wished I could have stayed longer.

    Loved the place, it is now one of my top ten favourites. Easy to find, secure to park at, beautifully decorated, serving superior steak for dinner, all the staff appear to be happy at work, bath towel large and fluffy. Loved the proper key and rooms having names. Loved the 19thC style.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    9.6
    Booked at short notice for an overnight stay and bought on...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Booked at short notice for an overnight stay and bought on price and recommendations. Even with the short taxi ride into town, showed a great saving against the chains hotels in the centre and could not fault the hotel or the people working there.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    9.6
    Great family apartment offering in the hotel ideal if you have children.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ideal location just outside Newcastle center which was great as we attended a concert with children. Apartment offered flexibility and breakfast was excellent

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    9.6
    Lovely family gathering. Staff were excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed wasn’t that comfortable, it was a bit like being at sea.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. They went above and beyond to help out. Beautiful setting and convenient location. Great decor.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    8.3
    Pretty place with beautiful rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Money was taken from my account on the Friday but then I was charged again on the Sunday check out. Whilst staff did refund the original money it took 5 days to refund and did cause problems at check out. I booked on this site specifically because it stated no money would be taken from my card prior to stay. It spoilt what was a very plesant stay otherwise. The hotel blamed booking.com for this but I've no idea why this happened.

    Staff were welcoming and friendly, room was beautiful. Meal was nice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    10
    Great, convenient place to stay!
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Bath
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    While having work done on our home, we decided to treat ourselves to a few nights at the local hotel. Beautiful place, great breakfast, nice staff, and clean, comfortable room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    8.8
    Beautiful hotel and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel and staff were lovely. Breakfast and dinner was great. Very welcoming to the kids. I would recommend you only stay here if you have a car as it is a little away from restaurants etc but the hotel restaurant was amazing.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    10
    2 night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I couldn't fault the place. If I really had to we found it a little noisy from the room ie : doors closing, guests moving around etc. It's an old building and we'd expect that soundproofing would be difficult.

    This is a lovely hotel. Clean and well run. We're surprised at the 3* rating, we think it's worthy of a 4*. Breakfast was great. The grounds are picturesque. The rooms are very clean, comfortable and relaxing. The bathroom was bright, modern and actually sparkling.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    8.8
    We were made very welcome from the minute we arrived until...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A light near the dressing table would have been good and the socket for the hairdryer was difficult to reach. Lovely room though.

    We were made very welcome from the minute we arrived until we left the following morning. Evening meal was fantastic, spoilt for choice, we would certainly stay again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    10
    Best Kept Secret in the North East!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For once I cannot find anything to criticise!

    Beautiful old villa property, well presented. Very clean and well equipped. Food and bar service superb throughout our stay, excellent breakfasts, evening a la carte beautifully cooked and served. Drinks not too expensive for quality of the hotel. All the staff worked to ensure the guest felt valued and well served

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    10
    Fantastic friendly staff, nothing was too much bother.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Large Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Eslington Villa has awards for food. We had a Sunday evening meal and unfortunately it was far from award winning! My friend who does not eat vegetables asked for extra roast potatoes only to be told you are allocated 3 per person!!!! I ask you! Anyway roast potatoes were dry and hard, Yorkshire puddings were dry & hard,gravy was bitter red wine slop on the plate, vegetables were bland & dry. To us all the food appeared to have been left over from lunch & heated up. Food was left by me but my friends ate it as they were very hungry. Waiter asked how the meal was my friend said ok but! And the waiter left. No-one senior was around to inform on the evening. Was very disappointed as was looking forward to an award winning meal.

    Fantastic friendly staff, nothing was too much bother. Location was great and would definitely recommend. Rooms were cleaned everyday and beds made as well as clean towels. Fantastic choice at breakfast and cooked superbly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    5.8
    I was disappointed with the room for the price I paid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was in an outbuilding attached to the main house, the room smelled of damp. There was staining in the corner of the ceiling. And the bathroom didn't have a window or extractor, so caused condensation in the room.

    Character property in nice grounds

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    10
    A wonderful place to stay in Newcastle and area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For a tall person I would think the shower head would be too low?

    The personnel were very friendly. They helped me store my bicycle in a safe place. The breakfast was really good, especially the sauteed mushrooms, never ever have I tasted them that good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    9.6
    My short stay
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car park on a slope but don't let that put you off get there early to get a flat spot

    It was clean / staff were friendly & helpful / close location to the A1 / good meals / check in was quick /secure parking / not too far from city centre / nice quiet location / I would stay there again & recommend it

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    7.9
    Good value for money stay, away from the regular business hotels
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Most frustrating Wifi experience ever; extremely slow

    Good hotel with clean room and nice bed (had a room looking at the marvelous garden) Spacious bathroom with nice hot shower and bath Good fresh breakfast made to order Easy parking on site

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    10
    Fantastic hotel and restaurant.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fantastic hotel and restaurant. Room and bathroon were both spacious, well equipped and comfortable. The restaurant deserves a special mention as the food was amazing. I had the mushroom brioche to start, duck main and chocolate pave for dessert - all were superb. To top it all, this place was less than 2 miles away from my meeting in Gateshead, so perfectly located for my requirements.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    9.6
    Gateshead stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hair dryer was not very powerful and the lead too short. Cafetière would have been good in the room.

    Great check in. Sunday dinner was good and breakfast lovely too. Stayed in the Pines - fabulous bathroom. Good location and near to retail park.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    9.6
    A really pleasant week in a good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Our room (Oak) was a little dark. The walk-in shower could be slippy if you were not careful.

    Friendly, helpful staff from the moment we arrived for a weeks stay. We both found that the bed was a bit hard so maybe a memory foam topper wouldn't go amiss. Only had one evening meal here as we were visiting family but that meal was excellent. Excellent, quiet location that was central for what we required. Good grounds which we would have sat out more in if the weather had been a bit kinder.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    8.3
    Lovely hotel with great food for a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing - we enjoyed our stay and it was good value for money

    The beds were comfortable - the room was spacious and the staff were attentive. The food was also excellent. The grounds also looked beautiful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    8.5
    Good stay, good food,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Asked for the heating to be put on ,it was for a short period early evening but was chilly as the night went on ,chilly in the morning no heating ,this was early September some other guest said the same

    Great Sunday lunch ,good location good size rooms

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    10
    Value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower could have been a bit more powerful

    Bedroom was well worth the money. Lovely garden to look onto on a morning. Very good parking. Bar area was like being in your own sitting room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    10
    A wonderful experience and, without doubt, the best value experienced. Well done.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    How do you improve on the benchmark of hotel excellence?The

    Wonderful welcome. Every member of staff, without exception, was outstanding. The most amazing hotel with an atmosphere of wellbeing and welcome.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    10
    very comfortable,good food,pleasent staff,excellent gardens
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights

    n/a

    the staff are excellent at what they do,the villa outstanding aswell as the gardens.easy parking.the food is excellent,the room we had was excellent very clean and tidy,a good place to stay for surrounding.places to visit

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    9.6
    Warm welcome, comfortable hotel and superb food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There wasn't anything.

    Hotel is tranquil and feels very secluded and away from it all (though it's in a built-up area and only a couple of miles from the centre of Newcastle/Gateshead). Staff are friendly and very welcoming and décor is lovely. Two chairs in the bedroom (Beech) plus a good reading lamp - always a bonus! Breakfasts are good and our evening meal was superb - this is really high quality restaurant food that you would travel some distance for. We sat and enjoyed drinks and olives in the comfortable lounge while we made our menu choices. Would highly recommend and would stay again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    9.2
    Short but pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Two slight negatives were that the room had obviously been recently decorated and there was still a strong paint smell lingering and secondly was the high temperature in the room, A desk fan would have been a great addition. Having said that the rooms won't be painted every week and I don't expect those temperatures are the norm in the North East, so please don't be put off by those points.

    Stayed overnight last Sunday. Lovely Hotel set in pleasant and quiet grounds. Room was clean and comfortable and all staff were pleasant, polite and helpful. Evening meal and breakfast were of the highest quality. Overall a very nice stay at a very reasonable price.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    9.2
    What a gem, stay here if you can
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only very minor negative comment we have is that our room was directly above the entrance and therefore the noise of excited guests leaving and arriving did keep us awake until about 1.30am.

    This place is an absolute gem, what a find! Loved the location, the grounds are just superb. The food was really nice and all the staff were incredibly friendly, helpful and polite.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    8.3
    Old fashioned but welcoming and value.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The fixed price early dinner offer was not the greatest with the steak average.

    Very welcoming and extremely helpful even refreezing my ice blocks for the mornings presentation. Comfy bed and efficient shower. TV positioning good so could see from the bed. Old fashioned but no worse for that. Very homely and would come again if having to work in Gateshead. The ideal hotel for those visiting the Fruit and Veg Market only 0.6 miles away. Tip get up early visit the market and return for breakfast. Service excellent.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    6.3
    Great Food.
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a horrendous bedroom Willow, in the annex joined onto the main house. I am sure it is the only room in the hotel without a window. There is a window in the bathroom, which to reach it you would have to stand on a chair and climb on the sink to reach it to open it. We found the room very claustrophobic and smelling of bleach. The lighting too was very dim. We didn't ask to change rooms because we knew the hotel was full, as we went online to check. I did mention it to the lady when I went to pay, she did apologise and say if we came back to make sure we were not given that room. I actually forgot to mention that my husband noticed an old blood stain on the duvet.

    We loved the restaurant in the hotel, food was superb, staff excellent, well placed for visiting Newcastle. Beautiful decor and dining rooms, gardens great.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    7.1
    June business trip
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The wifi connection and speed were extremely poor and non existent in the room. The water pressure in the shower was not great and took a while to heat up.

    The staff were excellent great customer service and the food was excellent!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    7.1
    Good breakfast and nice room
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For somewhere like this I would expect complimentary biscuits and clean cups. The bathroom is a bit dated now - I itched after having a shower....

    Good breakfast and nice room

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    10
    Lovely hotel in Victorian villa. Excellent decoration and good early bird dinner menu.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No complaints.

    Excellent location and handy for working the following day. Room was at the top of the house (helped with luggage). Quiet, beautifully decorated room with lovely bathroom (roll-top bath with shower attachment). Staff were so friendly and helpful. Venue is in lovely grounds with little or no road or rail noise.

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: