Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Esseborne Manor 3 stars

Hurstbourne Tarrant, Hurstbourne Tarrant, SP11 0ER, United Kingdom

#2 of 2 hotels in Hurstbourne Tarrant

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 46 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 62

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It wouldn't have taken much to tidy up the sealant around the Shower door.

    The Evening meal and Breakfast were excellent, room had a good shower needed a tidy up in places.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We throughly enjoyed our stay, our room was clean and comfortable.. Our evening meal and breakfast were both equally delicious, the staff were absolutely amazing and gave an outstanding service to their guests.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cold water supply hit and miss due to not being on mains, e.'g. on one occasion the shower was just a trickle and generally toilet cistern quite slow to fill. However following morning shower working fine. Certain decorative details overlooked, eg (in our room- Arundel) curtains about a foot too long, so draped on the floor, one or two damp patches on paintwork unattended to, and end of season scuffs etc.

    Front of house staff, friendly and efficient. Food was fairly pleasant, wine list good value, Hotel ambiance very much private country house. Good information folder on places to go etc.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The loo was far too low! I can't imagine a 6 foot man squatting on it! I had to ask for help turning on the electric radiator. I had t o ask for help letting down the blind as the cord had got hitched higher than I could reach.

    The staff were so helpful. The bedroom was elegant.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    a flat screen television would be better than a small one you couldn't see.

    The Breakfast was really nice, but more choice of cereal would be nice. The room was very homely, but a bit tired around the edges.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good restaurant, in which we had dinner and breakfast. Quiet, surrounded by a large, park-like garden. Spacious double room with clean and well equipped en-suite bathroom. Bar with facing south towards the large garden. Sitting room with comfortable armchairs.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is a lovely and friendly hotel where the service is very good. The room was fabulous and the restaurant served good quality food. Excellent and would stay there again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A charming country hotel with lovely food and welcoming staff. I had a really quiet room and comfortable bed. It really suited me and I will certainly stay again.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very hot and I couldn't get the windows to open. There was air conditioning in the room but I wasn't able to work out how to get it to operate.

    Very comfortable room, with separate lounge area and lovely garden views. The public areas are furnished in keeping with the country house style of the hotel. The staff were very welcoming and friendly.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Loved it all

    A very sweet,cosy hotel with excellent staff- and wonderful food. Pretty rooms , old fashioned service by smiley staff.Would be happy to recommed and stay again

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was a pleasure and most accommodating. Nothing they would not do to make your stay comfitable. Food was first rate. Very near Highcleer Castle.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have been darker in the bedroom. Outside lights left on all night and light comes either side of curtains and blind. Furniture and fittings looking a little tired. All chrome in bathroom needs a good clean.

    Food was excellent, especially the scrambled eggs.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Could have been cleaner, we have seen cobwebs overal behind the curtains and some places were quite dusty.

    Beautiful situated (location), quiet, original English atmosphere, good food. Stuff very friendly. Worth to go there.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We cannot think of anything other than there was no lift to upper floors.

    Staff very helpful and friendly. Lovely shortbread biscuits in room. Meals very good lovely presentation and environment. Wish we had more time to stay.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was clean but the finish could have been better ie doors would not shut properly and the finish in the bathroom was poor , but everything was clean. Slightly noisy near kitchen in our room

    The food was excellent. The gardens were very nice and location excellent.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing that we didn't like about this warm and friendly hotel.

    The staff were very friendly and the hotel and the gardens are beautiful. The breakfast was delicious and served with a smile. The bedroom was lovely and the bed comfy. I would love to visit again sometime.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Just a very pleasant experience with excellent food.very quiet with attentive professional staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were very attentive and friendly. The taster menu for the evening meal is exceptional!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    No real ale

    The service and the restaurant

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom was disappointing. Have stayed in better hotels for the money.

    The food was acceptable

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    hotel room needs updating

    breakfast, dinner

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    'Standard' rooms require updating.

    Beautiful setting, delicious food.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent food and lovely staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything especially the food!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff very friendly and welcoming. The breakfast was lovely with plenty of choice on offer.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    wifi was very weak

    breakfast was yummy

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing I loved it all.

    Staff were brilliant, went above and beyond to make our stay the best night ever. - Restaurant food was delicious.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Free internet was terrible.

    Food was exceptional!! And the hotel was nice and quiet.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bed was a little too firm for us but we slept well.

    Lovely country house hotel, very quiet and peaceful. Family run business, great friendly and personal service. Excellent freshly prepared food of a high standard.

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No lift so heavy bags upstairs potentially a problem. Minor cosmetic work required in the bedroom but could be forgiven as not obvious and felt consistent with the old building. Neither of these things a problem - all the positives outweigh the minor negatives.

    Home from home, comfortable and intimate hotel. The restaurant food was truly fantastic and reasonably priced. Complimentary canapés and petit fours added a certain something. Family run business and couldn't you tell! Nothing was too much trouble and everything delivered with a smile. Quaint roll top bath as well as shower nice touch. Can't recommend this hotel highly enough.

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bed Room good, slight smell of damp ? Could be its just an old property

    Staff and their ability to help and make you feel welcolm . Dinner and Breakfast , excellent!!

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Rooms/hotel very dated, sash windows drafty, not very clean and Spa bath old and small for Premier rooms. Breakfast options limited and atmosphere very quiet and sedate. It smelled of damp and just generally did not feel welcoming. More like a retirement place than a hotel, which apparently was home to some of the Downton Abbey cast....Hard to believe in fairness

    In all honesty, only the food in the restaurant was of good standard.

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very friendly and attentive staff. The bedrooms and principal rooms were beautifully decorated. We stayed in a grand room with 4 poster bed & big en suite bathroom which Elizabeth McGovern used during filming! Fantastic breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Bathroom wasn't thoroughly cleaned when checked in, some minor evidence of settled dust showing this.

    Staff provided an excellent service and the breakfast service was very good too.

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Only a minor niggle, and which we find as almost inevitable in older properties such as this, but some maintenance required here and there. For instance in our en suite the basin taps were loose on the basin, and also dripped. The toilet seat did not match the shape of the toilet bowl requiring a little "extra care" in use.

    The reception and waiting staff were particularly welcoming and helpful. We only had breakfasts in our stay, but they were consistently bought to table hot, freshly cooked, well presented and very acceptable.

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    They did not have my booking from booking.com. Fortunately they had a spare room. We were cycling, the hotel is in the middle of nowhere, so we could not have gone anywhere else. It is very expensive for what it is. WIFI didn't work.

    The food was good, the room was pleasant and the staff were helpful.

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The only problem I had with the property was that the internet quality was awful. It was pretty much unusable. They seem to have plenty of WiFi access points, but it seems that the internet connection behind them is just not adequate. If you're planning on working from the hotel it would be impossible here. It's a shame, as it spoils an otherwise brilliant and interesting hotel which I would happily stay at again.

    Lovely, rural location with views of surrounding countryside. Food in the restaurant was really excellent and far cheaper than it deserved, IMO. Big room with character and interesting furniture, far from generic-hotel stuff. Nice outdoor seating area for evening drinks, complete with croquet lawn and big chess set.

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We were made to feel very welcome by the owners family and all the staff. The rooms were comfortable and convenient and the food excellent. Stayed for only three nights but would have expected to see a change in menu if we had stayed longer or a bigger selection. We would thoroughly recommend for a short stay.

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rooms are a little dated, bathroom smelt of mould.

    Lovely comfortable country hotel, excellent food, staff very welcoming.

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Could do with more attention to deal on cleanliness.

    Lovely staff. Great food at good price Huge room. Lots of character and charm

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room was much too warm, but that's all.

    Food and service was just superb

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Second time we have stayed here because we enjoyed it so much. The staff/family are all charming, friendly and attentive.

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing to not like!

    Always a friendly greeting and great food

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Dated decor isolated areas only - purely cosmetic though.

    Good friendly staff more than happy to assist, excellent food, nice peaceful rural setting.

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nice friendly welcome

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bathroom needs attention and was not particularly clean.

    the location - quiet Pleasant gardens, nice building. Good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Everything, it's a beautiful place

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    everything, the staff were polite friendly the food was fabulous. will be returning again but for a bit longer :}

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Slower curtain instead of screen/cubicle.Shower was not very powerfull

    Really personal and a little quirky, not too corporate

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Ambience, great staff, homely atmosphere but professional, total quality.Good food super room. Not one thing negative to say.

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room needed a lick of paint, nothing major just a bit tired.

    Location & Grounds

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location, ideal for a trip to Highclere and other attractions. Comfortable and charming. Staff excellent.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The personal touch. The handsome house and beautiful gardens.

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi was slow.

    The staff and service was excellent! Charming gardens and hotel. Dinner was excellent as well.

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Dated hotel , overpriced , poor bar , broken fittings in the bathroom and bedroom . Lunch and dinner overpriced awful food .

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    a bit old fashioned needs a make over.

    Easy to find and comfortable

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendly efficient staff, comfortable hotel in a very peaceful location.

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Waiting half an hour for dinner

    Quality of food and accommodation and friendliness of staff

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Booking.com to be more descriptive when booking for 1 adult and 1 child

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Comfy bed. And location excellent for Downton Abby !!

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Food excellent, staff very helpful and service was excellent.

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Dinner/drinks were a little pricey but very good.

    Staff and the place itself.

There are also 13 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 62

Guests also reviewed these properties: