Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of ibis budget Birmingham Centre This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Great Colmore Street, Birmingham, B15 2AP, United Kingdom

#49 of 78 hotels in Birmingham

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 7795 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    7

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: July 22, 2018

    4.2
    Not worth the money. Should be categorized as hostel not a hotel.
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    room is too small.no fridge.no kettle or complimentary tea or coffee. noise all the time. there was people knocking horribly on my door and they wouldnt stop while i was sleeping but because there wasnt even a phone to call the reception i couldnt do anything, when i informed the reception they simply said they could be drunk guests?!! i stayed for almost two weeks the room was not vacuumed at all. they would simply change the "yellowish" towels. Paid for breakfast for four days and not many varieties was offered. No eggs?? I guess its the first thing expected in an " ENGLISH BREAKFAST'.. It should be categorized as hostel not a hotel. Although Ive stayed in better hostels during my academic years! Absolutely not worth the money.

    location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 20, 2018

    9.2
    good for budget
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    very tiny toilet. not flushing properly. need wait so long to flush. also breakfast not having eggs.

    room clean daily maid service. staff bery helpful

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 18, 2018

    7.5
    Ok for money spent
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Triple Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lobby and reception needs a facelift, I arrived at 2100 hrs very busy!

    Exactly as indicated Ibis budget, not the same standard as the normal Ibis but ok. Lots of rooms and sometimes noisy with guest coming in from the clubs. Lots of clubs still open at 0600 hours in the morning, street feel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 17, 2018

    3.3
    Please don't chose this
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Limited car parking is available, but not free. £7/- for 24 hrs. The romms are horrible. Just the size of a box room, no space to move around. It is very inhumane to give such a tiny room for 3 of us, charging £56/-. Initially I was given a room which is noisy (continuos humming noise), which they have changed on my request. Lights weren't working. Shower room is very tiny, Shower, toilet and bed all in a small box room, will leave you with horrible experience. Breakfast is is veryvery basic, just toast and croissants.

    The staff are polite

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2018

    7.9
    Easy check-in with friendly staff, clean and comfy, good...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    not very soundproof - people in the corridor talking sounds like there in the room with you

    Easy check-in with friendly staff, clean and comfy, good breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2018

    7.5
    Not too far from New Street Station and the Chinese quarter...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Card key was a bit temperamental. Not located in the best part of Birmingham

    Not too far from New Street Station and the Chinese quarter - 15minutes walk

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2018

    9.2
    Really easy check in, lovely staff, clean, comfortable and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Neighbourhood is a bit rough, I would be scared to walk back to the hotel at night

    Really easy check in, lovely staff, clean, comfortable and great value for money

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2018

    7.5
    Close to the town centre, very good security come evening...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room we had, had a funny smell, floor wasn’t mopped in the corner and the walk in shower room, flooded partly the bedroom, poorly designed, where the water went down the drain.

    Close to the town centre, very good security come evening and not expensive for parking. Staff are really friendly and nice.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2018

    7.1
    Enjoyable experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It's a bit out the way from the main center and train station but great for the O2 academy and mail box.

    The room were a reasonably size and the rooms had a window for fresh air which was a change in Birmingham hotels.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 15, 2018

    7.5
    Fantastic location and price but do not expect to sleep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The constant party in the corridor & adjacent rooms from 12 midnight until 4am in the morning. As there was no means of communicating with reception we were trapped in the room.

    Location & service excellent. Room adequate and met expectations.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 15, 2018

    9.6
    Excellent stay in Birmingham, exceeded my expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing, all good

    Upon arrival staff were very friendly, polite and helpful, made us feel most welcome. First time in Birmingham, staff were only too pleased to advise where to go to eat etc, The 'Mailbox', with canals and restaurants etc just a few mins walk away, Excellent location, continental breakfast very good, would def recommend for a budget stay

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 15, 2018

    10
    Value for money, location, modern rooms, extra touches such...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was rather noisy at night but only due to other guests getting back late to rooms.

    Value for money, location, modern rooms, extra touches such as food/drink available to purchase and children’s toy area

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 14, 2018

    3.8
    Bad! Simply bad.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bad! Simply bad. I can’t call it a hotel. This is hardly a hostel. You don’t even have electric kettle. No help with your luggage. The room is not getting cleaned. Breakfast is simply muesli & toasts- it doesn’t worth the money. Rooms are too small. The waster basin is in the room and if you have a big luggage there’s absolutely no space for you to move.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 13, 2018

    7.5
    Fine. Did what it said on the tin
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Triple Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only real negative was noise the corridor througout the night, it echoed rather and sound seemed to travel easily, the doors and walls felt thin!

    Good value, clean and quite comfortable. Particularly appreciated the air cooling system on a very hot night. Staff were very pleasent and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 12, 2018

    9.2
    Amazing! xx
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The television could have been a bit bigger as the font was very tiny

    The room was very comfortable as well as the matress. The hotel was located only 5 minutes away from the nearest fast food resteraunt if you prefer not to eat at the hotel and the hotel room also had adjustable heating as well as a walk in shower. Will defintely be attending again if I am ever in Birmingham x

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 12, 2018

    8.3
    Good value for money, perfect for a short stay before leaving for the airport!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Triple Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    It would be nice if there were shower gel or shampoo, the first time I stayed I didn't bring any and was surprised to find that the hotel did not provide any. As far as I'm aware, you can however purchase some at the reception.

    Great hotel for a short stay in Birmingham! The hotel is conveniently located, very clean, and the staff were very friendly. Check-in and check-out went smoothly, after sending an email I was able to leave my bags there free of charge before I checked in. Good value for money!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2018

    7.5
    We stayed a Friday night and obviously as a budget hotel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We stayed a Friday night and obviously as a budget hotel there were groups of people going out for a night out and coming back late. We had an early start with three children under 10 so for us despite the value for money next time we'd stay somewhere else.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2018

    10
    Basic clean comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Check in was rather chaotic

    Basic clean comfortable. Helpful staff. Got extra sheets as it was hot Suitably for 3 women for a night out as only really sleep there and got ready

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2018

    7.9
    clean sheets and towels staff where great very helpful great...
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    too small for 3 people did not like the overhead bed and glass door to shower as it is see through. hallways had funny smell so did lift

    clean sheets and towels staff where great very helpful great location car park very reasonable

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2018

    4.6
    Rooms need cleaning staff need cheering up (night staff)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was slightly dirty beds pretty uncomfortable due to the sheets being un clean the shower kept going cold no Matter what time was trying to use it

    The staff were nice and friendly on arrival but not so friendly when returned from the nightclub I wanted to buy some cans of coke but seemed Imoossible and I was annoyed

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2018

    7.5
    It used to be a better hotel
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It wasn't very clean. The bed linen wasn't fixed for the third bed, even though we have requested a room for 3 persons, so they knew that there would be staying 3 persons in a room. The breakfast was very poor.

    Friendly staff and great location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2018

    7.5
    We travelled to Birmingham on Sat 7 July to see Roger Waters...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We travelled to Birmingham on Sat 7 July to see Roger Waters at the Arena (fantastic show). Having read through the mixed reviews we decided to try this hotel as it was only for one night. Yes it's a budget hotel, and yes the toilet is in one small room and the shower a cubicle off the bedroom, but it does what it says on the tin. the room itself was plenty big enough, the bed very comfy and it was clean. Booking in was busy but dealt with very quickly by friendly staff. For one night, why pay for all the trimmings you don't need.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2018

    7.9
    Great location, basic but clean, modern and all you can ask...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great location, basic but clean, modern and all you can ask for at £50 a night in central Birmingham. FYI the NCP on bow street, a 3 month walk away, is £6 for 24 hours! Amazing!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2018

    7.5
    Ibis Friday stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was a little noise loud music from one of the other rooms in the early evening but could only here it in the corridor Car parking limited and a little expensive if you pay that amount your space should be reserved for you

    Security was bang on polite at night Got the floor I requested I alway ask for a room at the back of the hotel Staffs are very young but friendly enough Managed to ask for same room when there for new year

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2018

    5.0
    Very central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Smell of sewage in the room. Sink blocked. . We called reception to let them know. They didn’t sound surprised and nobody came to fix it . We were exhausted so we just went to sleep.

    Very central location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 9, 2018

    5.0
    Relaxing until the morning where I was abruptly awoken and told to hurry up and leave
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Attitude of staff Communication in hotel

    I requested an extended check out time to 14:00pm - but my room door chapped at 11:30 and 12 and the staff have no record of this - staff also abrupt

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 9, 2018

    7.9
    Value, proximity to B'ham city centre.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Carpet on the sleeping part of the room would have been nice, along with a bit more privacy when getting in and out of the shower.

    Value, proximity to B'ham city centre. Air con was welcome in 30 deg C temperatures.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 8, 2018

    10
    Very comfortable overnight stay providing very good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Can't think of anything. The hotel was very important in making our trip to Birmingham very successful.

    The room was comfortable and clean. The shower excellent and the bed very firm (which is good for me). The staff were very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 8, 2018

    8.3
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The glass door for the shower is quite see-through and does not have a lock nor have hooks for us to hang towels/clothes - not that convenient!

    Good location. Great wifi. Friendly staff - even let us store our bags after check-out at the store room as we wander around the city,

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 8, 2018

    7.5
    Was what I exspected from a budget hotel but it was clean...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Was no extra pillows when asked and the mattress was very thin again you get what you pay for.

    Was what I exspected from a budget hotel but it was clean and the room was lovely and cool does have a hostel feel about it but for what we wanted it for was ideal probly a steady 10 minute walk to the bullring etc I would stay again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 7, 2018

    6.7
    Excellent location for the train station and O2 Academy but too expensive for a "budget" hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The price could have been better, £75 for 1 night was not really a budget price, the room was very basic with no tea/coffee making facilities. the room was also noisy due to the fans below our window

    The bed was very comfortable and the staff were excellent , very polite and cheerful

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 7, 2018

    7.1
    Sleep there but do not eat there !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast was AWFUL. Even we went to eat just before 9am the tables were 3/4 empty. No choice what so ever - jogurt and oats or tired looking pastry.

    A good place to crush out for one night while on the road

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 7, 2018

    7.5
    Ok stay - good value for money with a family
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Noise from road (but when you keep the window closed you do not hear it), varying functioning of airco’s depending on the room

    Clean, good bed, close ‘walking distance’ to nice areas of BMH, parking options

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 6, 2018

    7.1
    ok in general
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Triple Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    woken at 6am by trade to hotel

    I didn't appreciate being woken at 6am by trades people to the hotel - I think this could've been done at a more suitable hour

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 5, 2018

    5.0
    Easy walk into the centre which was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Triple Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Never seen such a basic hotel room, the shower/sink were awful. The window wouldn’t open and the air con didn’t work.

    Easy walk into the centre which was good

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 4, 2018

    5.8
    If your young a student and single trying to get lucky then this is the Hotel for you...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    On arrival we walked in to just be ignored and no sign or clue to where to go to check in when we finally got seen to there was no leaflet telling us when we check out or any sort of information that you would think a hotel would tell you. first night didn't have the best of sleeps as someone thought it would be funny to play knock and run on our door ha ha hilarious at 1am (Not the hotels faults, but that's the type of mentality of the people stopping). Second night our key would not work for the lift had to wait and wait from a member of staff to finally come out and help but if we were told anything on the check in about the lift then we wouldn't have to bother them Full of young workers no one was bothered about there job when checking out we were ignored again even though a member of staff did see us standing there.

    Not a lot ...Area the Hotel was good (but be careful walking about at night...) Rooms were clean and cosy. The NCP car park is £6 per 24hrs just down next to the O2 academy very secure. (Not sure what the car parking is at the Hotel).

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 4, 2018

    10
    Perfect place to stay - would highly recommend it
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Triple Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not applicable

    The best hotel if you are visiting the 02 for any reason as a single woman travelling for a concert this was perfect. Literally a couple of minutes walk back.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 4, 2018

    10
    Good location, clean rooms, good staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    Good Clean rooms, the triple room is a bit small but you get what you pay for! good for groups of young people, vending machines in reception which is really handy and the staff were lovely. you can order pizza from reception and its delivered over which is always a bonus! good location too!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 3, 2018

    2.9
    It was ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff was very rude to me.and wanted me to pay extra for the room I had already checked out.i was late by 20miutes and one of the staff wanted to charge me for that 20minutes.it was a horrible stay kept requesting my key card as it was not working all the time.

    It was ok

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 3, 2018

    8.3
    Decent budget stay, good value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had a room at the back of the hotel so it was really pretty quiet considering it's on a main road. As usual with Ibis Budgets, all you need is there - decent bed, decent shower, good air con/heating, place to hang clothes etc. Lady on reception was very friendly, and good that I didn't have to check out till 12.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2018

    9.2
    It's a budget hotel but it's cheap, clean and well...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The car park is a little small and filled up by 6

    It's a budget hotel but it's cheap, clean and well situated.the staff were really helpful at all times

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2018

    8.8
    Staff were extremely helpful, even ordered us a tax.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was good apart from the car park being very small and only holding around 30 vehicles. Once you have arrived they advise not moving your car otherwise you’ll loose your space.

    Staff were extremely helpful, even ordered us a tax. The hotel was extremely well presented for a budget hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 28, 2018

    7.5
    REVIEW ATTEMPT 3.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Triple Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    THE DO NOT ENTER SIGN ON THE DOOR WAS IGNORED BY HOUSEKEEPERS. SIGN IS THERE FOR A REASON. APART FROM THAT, EVERYTHING OKAY.

    REVIEW ATTEMPT 3. HOTEL WAS QUITE GOOD FOR A BUDGET HOTEL. STAFF WERE FAIRLY HELPFUL.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 28, 2018

    7.1
    Great location and room was lovely and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Only 2 towles in the room even tho it was booked for 3 people and shower didn't work the day we checked in also the 3rd bed wasn't made up.

    Great location and room was lovely and clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 27, 2018

    7.5
    Just a place to crash if you don't have a big budget
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The fact that they have security guards at night is really dodgy (we never had this in any other Ibis Budget my friends and I visited), plus one of the guards came knocking at my friends door at 1am looking for someone. They could have checked the people's information before waking up my friends in the middle of the night at least.

    This hotel expects the Ibis Budget standards, so it's really clean and the staff is always ready to listen to you.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 27, 2018

    5.4
    Just adequate....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Triple Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very stripped down....used to stay here a lot...but has changed....very much s budget option....not safe for women to walk to in the dark x

    Cheap, central....

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 27, 2018

    9.5
    Thank you Ibis. You made our stay a wonderful friendly one.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A bigger variety in the vending machine.

    A huge thank you to Rachel in Birmingham who really went the extra mile. She was super helpful, informative and so friendly. She made the whole experience brilliant. Thank you Rachel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 26, 2018

    9.2
    Pleasantly surprised. Great budget accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was really hot and we couldn’t sleep with the window wide open because we are not used to city noise. Not the hotel’s fault!

    Really good breakfast, didn’t expect it to be quite as good for the price.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 26, 2018

    9.2
    Excellent value, very clean, great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Triple Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I would have like a full English breakfast.

    The staff are so very helpful, very knowledgeable, and could not do enough for You, absolutely brilliant staff x

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2018

    9.6
    Great place to stay for the O2 Academy visitors
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was soft for me, but should be good for most of people.

    Staff are friendly, helpful and efficient!! Room was clean abd larger than expected. Many drinks were available at reception. It is 1 minute walk to O2 academy, so convenient.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2018

    9.6
    Great value and couldn't fault the service provided by staff
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Tea/coffee facilities would be helpful.

    Local was excellent, staff were really friendly and made me feel welcome. The room was clean and sufficient for my needs on this trip.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2018

    7.1
    Would not stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Availability of fans to cool the room , cheaper tea/coffee , the ability to share parking ( we were on a motorbike and asked the staff if they would contact the guest with the other motorbike in the car park to see if they would share space/cost , but got told no ) bigger towels , more electrical sockets ( hubby has medical equipment that needed a power supply which only left one spare socket )

    it may be suitable for people that only need a bed but considering the cost for a cup of tea/coffee (£1.50) and parking (£7 per day ) the small towels and no way of cooling the room down (no fans) compared to Travelodge where i normally stay i would not stay again ,I like to try new places just in case travelodge is booked up on the night that i want but would travel further out of town to get a different travelodge in future

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 24, 2018

    5.8
    I guess its ok when your staying for one night but the hotel is nothing special.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The accommodation is basic and they do cut corners, for instance they only give you one small bar of soap and do not give any complementary shampoo, shower gel or toothbrush. Plus the shower space is rubbish as the floor of the bathroom gets soaked when one takes a shower.

    It was a quick check in and a quick check out. Its a decent price to be fair as well.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 23, 2018

    10
    It was overall a great place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was overall a great place to stay! Close to the town centre, and close to the o2 academy which was perfect as we were seeing a concert there! Breakfast was good value for money, staff were friendly and helpful, and place was clean! Will recommend and definitely stay again!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 23, 2018

    3.3
    Would not stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was dirty, bed was uncomfy. The Aircon did not work, the tap only had hot water and one of the two available plugs did not work

    Staff were friendly

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 23, 2018

    10
    Billy idol gig stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    That the bathroom was open to bed room u had no privacy to wash or dry wen getting out shower .😶

    Very friendly staff clean comfortable 'breakfast was lovely .and was just few min walk to 02 academy 👍

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 23, 2018

    8.8
    No frills no hassle
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was cramped no room to move

    Relaxed atmosphere to the whole hotel with a hostel feel but clean and tidy easy to use perfect for somewhere just to lay your head for the night

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 22, 2018

    6.7
    Good value for money, move the room around a little bit but overall good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Triple Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Plugs by the mirrors are needed! As a girl with long hair that needs to be straightened it’s hard doing it in a small make up mirror because the plug sockets are on the other side if the room to the mirror

    Good value for money, you get what you pay for

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 22, 2018

    9.6
    Budget? You're having a laugh!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It's a good 20 minute walk to the city centre so that's a very slight downside but if you're attending a gig at the O2 then it's a 10/10 :-)

    Unbelievable hotel!! Why can't this chain do all their hotels at these prices? I only have one downside to this hotel and that's listed in my "dislikes" and it isn't really a dislike just a minor inconvenience!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 22, 2018

    9.2
    Great short stay for the O2 Academy and shopping.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just the bed but that is being picky as was acceptable.

    The cleanliness and room exceeded expectations for a budget stay and would recommend this budget hotel without hesitation. The only thing was the bed was rather hard as was the pillow but this wasn't a major problem. Will use again if in birmingham, especially for the O2 academy. Was also a taxi rank right outside which was so handy.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 22, 2018

    8.8
    The location was convenient for city centre and train...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was next to a busy road with a bit of traffic noise. No complementary tea/coffee making facilities in the room so I had to go downstairs to get this in the morning at extra cost but can't complain in terms of value for money.

    The location was convenient for city centre and train station. Staff were really helpful and friendly. Room was very comfortable and clean, blackout blind was helpful to getting a good sleep especially staying there on eve of longest day.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 21, 2018

    3.3
    I would not return.
    • Couple
    • Standard Triple Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No kettle and was made to feel it was our fault because other guests were smoking weed in the corridor and their noise levels. I travelled without a mobile phone and was made to feel that was wrong as I was unable to phone downstairs to complain.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 21, 2018

    4.6
    Will never stay there again
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Shower & hand basin in the bedroom no tea or coffee facilities Breakfast so basic On the ground floor by entrance - could hear all the smokers outside all night Toilet broken

    Hotel - it’s more like a hostel. Will never ever stay at this hostel again!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 21, 2018

    6.7
    Brilliant value for money but this is very much a budget property
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms were very hot with no air conditioning. I was aware of this in advance but if the rooms had A/C they would be far more comfortable

    Very good value when booking in advance if you just want someone to crash after a long days work

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 20, 2018

    5.8
    Expensive, practical and noisy.
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The party atmosphere on our floor, it was meant to be a family room. The hall and room smelt of alcohol and there were left over fast food on the landing.

    The staff were friendly and my daughter liked the bunk bed in our triple room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 20, 2018

    5.0
    Wouldn't stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is not somewhere to stay at the weekend with kids. Lots of stag/hen parties. Very noisy until 103-11 when they all went out and then no sleep from 0315 onwards as people shouting, banging on our door as they forgot keys/room/etc. Kids were worried about opening the door as lots of shouting.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 19, 2018

    9.2
    Excellent, recommend highly to anybody
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing really, it did what it said On the tin

    It was clean, tidy, excellent value for money, staff were friendly, welcoming, no problem recommending this as an excellent budget stay

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 18, 2018

    7.5
    Ibis Budget B’ham
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was a little small for a triple room. Toilet and shower was a little tight for space. Bunk bed ladder felt a bit unsecure.

    Room was clean and tidy. Staff were helpful and kind. Location was also good. Felt safe here. 24hr pizza, would deffo recommend!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 18, 2018

    9.2
    Excellent for the money. I will be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Triple Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    For the money I have no complaints whatsoever. It's not 5 Star but then I paid £32 for a perfectly adequate clean hotel room in a great location.

    I liked it's location in relation to Birmingham New Street, O2 Academy and 02 Institute. I liked the price very much, the staff are always good and I like the communal area on the ground floor. The Wifi was also excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 17, 2018

    9.2
    excellent staff, good location, good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    excellent staff, good location, good value for money. rooms basic but perfect to sleep. had a good holiday and nothing went wrong, which is unusual! very central, going down great colmore street and behind the hotel seemed like a bad idea on street view because it was back streets and houses.. so we avoided, we did walk down both kent road and came back 3am on wrentham road, also walked to hotel on a38. had no problems and a very good night out!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 17, 2018

    8.8
    Nice, comfortable, clean, friendly staff and convenient for New Street Station
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Triple Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would have liked a kettle in the room - but it is only a budget a hotel

    It's a comfortable, cheap, budget hotel. No kettle in the room but there was a good shower cubicle, sink and toilet - and towels with complimentary soap. TV worked well (although there were limited channels). Staff were very helpful even though I arrived after midnight. Downstairs, although I did not use the facilities there were vending machines and comfortable seating where people were using the wif-fi. And it was 10 minutes walk to New Street Station which was great. Overall, would definitely stay there again and would recommend.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 17, 2018

    3.8
    Me and my friends had booked 6-8 rooms for next month and we’ve all cancelled now to go elsewhere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Arrived at 10pm only to see the last parking space double parked in, told by staff to park on the verge which I did. This resulted in my car getting keyed overnight and for £7 parking it was ridiculous. Security on shift were loud and rude, wanted to get my head down for a sleep and couldn’t because the inhabitants of the four surrounding rooms were running the corridors making noise all night till they went out from 12-3am and then came back whooping and hollering, waking me up... they continued to shout up and down the hallways at 6am and so little sleep was had. Staff didn’t seem to care, I ended up exhausted for my three hour travel back home the next day.

    Leaving.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 17, 2018

    9.6
    No frills but comfortable + affordable and clean hotel.
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only thing that I would change would be a shower that opens into a bathroom space rather than into the bedroom itself, as this is uncomfortable when travelling with friends. Otherwise I really liked this hotel.

    The beds were very comfortable and the room although not very spacious, had all that we needed. The location is very central and close to the main sites. It's very clean. Staff are very efficient and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 16, 2018

    8.8
    I would visit this Hotel again in any future circumstance.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The breakfast could be a little more reach but otherwise adequate for a non-demanding customer.

    The cleeniless ,willingness of the staff to help, the proximity to the city center,all combine made our stay, good value for money.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 15, 2018

    9.6
    Great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A bit out of town but not too far Small rooms but was expected

    Great staff Clean Cheap Let us leave our bags in lockers after we had checked out Just as pictured Cool common area with game table and lounge chairs and very relaxed environment

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: