Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Ethos Hotel 4 stars

59 Western Road, Oxford, OX1 4LF, United Kingdom

#26 of 35 hotels in Oxford

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 463 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    6.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff didn"'t appear interested. Not particularly welcoming, we had to ask about parking, there was no mention of the fact we had asked for a later check out time.and didn't ask whether we had enjoyed our stay.

    Good location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was very small and compact. The same with the bedroom

    When you arrived you are given a complimentary drink of your choice and various nibbles. The staff were lovely and friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shame breakfast wasn't included. Decor in room was a bit plain. There were only 3 pillows with no extra one in the room. Check in was in the cafe across the road which was fine but access to our room was at the side entrance of the main hotel so we didn't get to enter via a reception area which was a shame as it looked really nice. Would have been good for the free snacks to be available in the morning as we checked out as they had been replaced with all the breakfast items. Only one parking space is available and it costs £10 which I thought was a bit much.

    Bed was comfy and shower was good. Free snacks laid out for guests in the Hotel Cafe and a free welcome drink was a really nice touch.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    At first glance the hotel room seemed really nice then after a few minutes the cracks start to show. - The shower was extremely moldy, all the grout was pink! - The mixer (tap) in the shower wasn't marked with the temperature gauge and it was missing its buttons, this makes it extremely confusing for overseas visitors - luckily we had used this type of shower mixer before. - The plug in the bathroom sink also wasn't connected so it couldn't be opened to let the water go down the drain - my husband is a plumber so luckily he could come to the rescue. Last but not least, my number one piece of advice - If you want hot water you need to shower at night. THERE WAS NO HOT WATER AT 7:20AM on a Tuesday morning. My husband showered the night before and he had a nice hot shower. I hopped in the shower at 7:20 in the morning and had about 30 seconds of hot water (enough to wet my hair) before the water went cold. My husband had help me wash my hair in the kitchen sink! Our friends who were also staying at the hotel didn't have hot water either. Prior to staying at the Ethos Hotel we had hired a canal boat. Out of the two, the canal boat was 100% more luxurious than the Ethos Hotel.

    Comfortable bed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of parking to off load and reload car.. but hey this was not a “ didn’t like” but an observation!

    Enjoyed the experience that slightly different for a hotel in Australia. Narrow staircase, beautiful room, heated towel rack, the huge bay window and the quietness of the room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Payment was very problematic. The system was not working and I understand that it was often not working properly. It slightly spoiled an otherwise wonderful stay.

    Spacious room with kitchen facilities. Very near the river and lovely walks.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very dirty (dust, dead spiders, old socks, etc.) No new toilet paper after the first night because they run out of toilet paper One morning we had to wait 20 minutes to place our breakfast order

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As booking.com did not transmit my reservation to the Hotel, there was only one room left, which was more expensive than the one I had booked. The staff did not even consider to apologize and tried to charge me for the price difference several times. In total I spent about an hour discussing with them. Not good--epecially for a four star hotel. To be fair, the room, cleanliness and location are great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was in a very convenient location, a 20 minute walk from the train station. The staff were friendly and professional. The room was quiet, comfortable and far larger than others I have stayed in in Oxford. The breakfast delicious, they were more than happy to cater to dietary requirements when preparing it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    WiFi didn't work. Breakfast isn't value for money. I know Oxford well so the location was no problem (and lovely situation) but those unfamiliar with the city may find this a little way out from the main sights.

    Beautifully appointed room overlooking a quiet backstreet with a peaceful riverside walk towards central Oxford. Very comfortable bed, lovely bathroom, good in-room facilities. Friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Charged twice for the room. Paid the initial fee through booking.com. At the check in for the hotel I was requested to pay a fee more than the room itself for what was described as a security deposit. The fee has still not been refunded, 12 days after check out.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Woke up short of breath, being asthmatic could taste stale smoke from bedding Limited parking at site although staff made sure I had a space.

    Champagne reception Large room fully equipped Great breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Advertised as pet friendly but charged £20 extra per night.

    Good location for walking into Oxford and did provide parking which was useful even if there was a £10 charge. Good sized room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    lots of different staff who were largely great but not any obvious communication between them

    quirky and reasonably effective once you get the hang of the place since the property is spread out and office and cafe across road

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As above.

    Location not central. Consequently we had to take taxis everywhere. Walk outside and across road from bedrooms to restaurant. Right on pavement bordering road. Unable to open windows due to security. In any case any catch didn’t seem to work. Shower liquid made my skin feel like sandpaper Didn’t try any of the other complimentary toiletries . Very expensive for type of accomodation.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Was very irritated to be charged an extra £10.00 to park on a pavement verge outside the hotel, this was not obvious on the booking and it is not a car park, merely a tiny bit of space between the pavement and the hotel building.

    Room was small but clean and comfortable, staff friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi did not work for our first 3 days. We also weren't made aware that parking was not free until checkout.

    The hotel and location were great.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from neighbours, walls too thin Could hear neighbors having a shower Three out of four bathroom spot lights not working Dust in rooms was visible

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Feels like home. The staff are wonderful and very friendly and helpful. The suite provides plenty of quiet space for me to work, lounge, and sleep! West Gate center is only a short walk away where I can try many different restaurants.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    its completely down to personal the evening staff were excellent and very helpful and welcoming but unfortunately the morning lady was very unhelpful and made you feel every question or request was a nuisance and was very condescending didn't make us feel welcome at all

    the room and location were excellent

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very bright escape light which I know is important but it illuminated the whole bedroom at night!

    Loved the spacious pet friendly room Very clean and fragrant smelling

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The basement bedroom is a little too dark in the day and makes it hard to get up. Two ceiling spot lights are broken in the bath room.

    I felt like living in a quiet and cozy house, being able to use the lounge upstairs by myself.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving

    Great choice of breakfast options, comfortable bed, very well equipped room, staff were brilliant (particularly the Sardinian guy, who went above and beyond to ensure everything was perfect), nice bar.. also loved that each room was named after authors connected to the area - nice little touch!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved my stay at the Ethos and the staff were amazing. So accommodating throughout my stay and everything about the weekend was enjoyable and so close to the city.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower fitting in the bathroom was broken and quite sharp. Also the phone in the room did not work.

    The complimentary glass of Prosseco when we arrived was a lovely surprise

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were lots of flies in the room, when we mentioned this the lady did not seem to care at all. We were also given no information e.g. Wi-Fi code or check out time upon arrival or in the room

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None.

    Very helpful friendly staff at check in and cleaning; a generous supply of good refreshments and beverages, 2 large name brand high definition televisions, good quality appliances and furniture. We ordered pizza and tiramisu cake (takeaway) at their small but very cozy restaurant and loved the food.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heating system didn’t warm room relied on under floor heating from bathroom to heat bedroom. Parking and ease of access (crowded roads surrounding hotel )

    Close to town & Quiet

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls are all extremely thin. Not only did this make it quite difficult to sleep, as the streets are noisy, it meant that this is definitely not an ideal hotel for couples.

    The staff were all incredibly helpful and accommodating. The wifi wasn't working in the room we were in the first night (I believe it was a problem with the router), so they were happy to move us the second night.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perfect room - could not ask for room. Staff were really friendly, welcoming, and unobtrusive. The bed was amazing! One thing missing from the room was a small table in the sitting area for putting drinks on. This is a definite bells and whistles thing tho, and did not detract from the overall experience. Will definitely be staying here again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I think the description of the Ethos as a hotel is incorrect as it does not offer a hotel service, there is no foyer, bar or communal areas. There is a café across the street, the Ethos Café. I don't think it would suit someone elderly as it's a little far out of town, there is a certain loneliness to the place and nobody around after 10pm. It's quite expensive but then Oxford is.

    Room facilities include kettle, microwave, fridge, proper hairdryer which were very useful. The hotel is a 5-10 minute walk to the centre. Quiet and pleasant residential area. Complimentary wine is a nice touch.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little slow getting our room had to wait in cafe bar but eventually settled and worth it

    Graze snack bar and complimentary prosecco on arrival great touch

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The staff were incredibly helpful. nothing was too much trouble. When there was a small problem with the bathroom a plumber arrived immediately and we received a bottle of champagne on our return to the room, which was unnecessary but much appreciated. We arrived for breakfast 15 minutes after service had ceased but the chef stayed to cook our breakfast. An excellent hotel with very close proximity to Oxford town center. We will definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a bit too soft for my liking... but the covers were cosy and warm.

    The heated towel rail and underfloor heating in the bathroom were great. The friendly staff made sure that the room was toasty warm for my arrival. Everything was really cleans and I had everything I needed for my stay. The staff are lovely and at the cafe were willing to accomodate my dietary needs. The location is excellent, just s few minutes walk and I was in the heart of all that I wanted to see in oxford.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above. There was no lift; the staircase was very narrow. The door from the hotel outside was not working. She will keep the outside door open; she said burglars won't know the doors are open!!

    The worst hotel. Had to climb 4 stories; could not open front door to hotel. Checked out of the hotel in 2 hrs; The site showed it as 4 stars. the accommodation was on top of a cafe .

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bedroom was cold and to put the air conditioning unit on you could not hear anything else.The basin waste would not connect and the bath waste would not let the water away

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing we didn't like. The only thing I would suggest to the hotel is that they have clear instructions on how to contact Reception from room. We did not need to contact Reception as everything worked well and we had no problems.

    Spacious and comfortable room. The en suite bathroom was also very spacious. The room was more like a one bedroom apartment than a hotel room. The breakfast was excellent with lots of options. And very tasty. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. We really enjoyed our stay here.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was stressful when we arrived.. another guest had to move their car as the space they reserved (on street) was not big enough! We thought the parking was included but we had to pay extra! Didn't have the feel of a 4* hotel...felt more like a guest house with one lady running the whole thing. Disappointing for the money!

    It was clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service.

    Lovely hotel great staff and we were treated extremely well. Disappointed, just better for couples or adults price is high with no breakfast included and extra charge of £20 for an extra bed for children

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is a poor facility and hugely over priced. It was not in the centre No parking Room was at pavement level right beside the road Room was cold and damp Heater was loud and smelt like it hadn't been maintained Fire alarm was not working due the the break glass having no glass in it and the detector flashing all night before we got there, so in a state of fire I had no emergency alarm system to use Ethos is a poor excuse of a hotel and I wouldn't rate it to anyone

    There was nothing I liked

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The smell. It was smelling like rotten eggs in the bathroom. It was so bad. And my friend a bedroom was even worse !

    Personnel was great and very friendly. Room was big and comfy.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff reception at breakfast / check out was surly and aggressive - quite unacceptable. My wife and I took breakfast separately and were both treated in the same manner. Service was so slow that my wife abandoned and left. Other guests experienced and commented on the same problem.

    Staff reception on arrival open and friendly. Accommodation agreeable within the context of a converted house

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Limited parking (on street) but this is difficult in Oxford and they provided a space for us on both our visits (£10 per day).

    Delicious Italian-style brunch type breakfasts, e.g. smoked salmon bagel with rocket and tomato. The beds in the rooms are extremely comfortable and it is very quiet at night, located on a residential street.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This was the 3rd time I'd stayed here, but this time it was like a different place. The bathroom was not clean. There was no mirror in the room, only one bedside light and no pictures at all. It was very dull. When the beds were made in the morning the milk & teabags were not replaced for the second day. There was only 1 mug and NO spoons, the single mug was also put back in the cupboard DIRTY, and our room was left unlocked! Even though it had been agreed in advance that we could have breakfast early (as I have done before, because I was running in the half marathon) in the morning the restaurant was closed, which was very inconvenient, ESPECIALLY as it had been agreed in advance. The hairdryer in the bathroom did not work - shall I go on? AWFUL!!!

    Nothing!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms was in the same building like the restaurant and there was a very strong smell from the kitchen. Staff Saturday Evening was grumpy and didn't want to serve dinner at 8pm. The drawers where not cleaned, we found papers and garbage from the prior guest. Sunday morning the restaurant had still all dirt from the dinner on the floor (crumbs, papers etc.)

    Staff at arrival was very friendly and helpful and served us a welcome drink.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Two small issues were the water temperature in the shower in my room (it fluctuated hot & cold) and the fact that the room itself was a bit cold. Apart from that, it was a great room with plenty of space!

    The property were very welcoming and accommodating, even arranging my transportation options the next morning and giving advice on where to eat. The room itself was very nice - private and with a large double bed, a wardrobe and a desk with a nice bathroom. It takes about 15 mins to walk into the centre of town but it's a pleasant and safe walk.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some staff were extremely efficient and friendly others were not so eager to help. With a Pram was difficult as no lift access to room. Cot was provided but with no bedding.

    Excellent location to Oxford. Good food. Quiet.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The parking costs 10 pounds for a night, I did´t see it beforehand so it was a bit of a surprise, however there is basically no other good options. This is just good to know beforehand. If you need an extra bed for kids, these are very simple foldable "safari style" beds that can be used for small kids. Also good to know, as this is not obvious from booking or other booking sites.

    Really nice small "family style" hotel. No noice and we had a good night sleep. We appreciated the "kitchen" facilities in the room and the very nice service. This is not "luxury" but very comfy and praiseworthy. It is a 10 min walk to the citycenter and the nice restaurant the Folly is just around the corner

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Ridiculous, our room was in the basement, barley got suitcases down stairs. Parking absurd, down the street around corner in weird lot. combination lock on parking lot had to get out of car to unlock and lock lot. Not worth the $$ and you should be vetting properties. Photos deceptive...still angry

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wi-fi was spotty. I could not reliably access the Internet. Streaming required a paid connection. The hotel was a 15-20 minute walk from the city centre and farther yet from the train station. It required a taxi to get there with our luggage.

    The room was spacious and clean. It wad a comfortable and quiet location. It was convenient to have a cafe across the street. The price was reasonable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    bathroom better maintained.and blinds on Windows.

    very clean except bathroom.bit mouldy round windows.air conditioning did not work had to keep window open. also had to ask for top up tea milk should have been in room when cleaned.but staff were lovely.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately there was a very rude member of staff who I believe had finished her shift but was still on the premises when we checked in. She made us feel rather uncomfortable with loud sarcastic comments which was a real shame because the other member of staff working was polite and helpful. This initial encounter tainted our stay which otherwise would have been pleasant.

    Good size room and location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cafe breakfast building is not wheelchair accesible at all (I dint have breakfast included but that's not an excuse for them) and even if I had agreed in writing a 12 o'clock check out, the cleaning man still knocked on my door insisting he had to do his housekeeping. He left in the end but his supervisor should have told him in advance about my adjusted check out.

    I was disabled and the room they gave me was perfect for my wheelchair condition. The surrounding area is beautiful by the river and not that far from the city centre (25 mins on foot).

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast is bad value - the staff can't cope with a few people turning up at the same time and you'll have to ask for stuff and show them how to turn the coffee machine on. Keep your receipts because when we checked out (having paid on arrival) they wanted us to pay again and a hundred pounds more than we had already paid.

    Comfortable bed

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in the Ethos hotel for three nights my husband, our two small children, and my brother. When we arrived the young woman working in reception was very rude. She continued with the same rude and unhelpful attitude throughout our stay. When asked if breakfast was available for our small children at 10:00 am, she said no and that we had missed breakfast. We then asked for suggestions for breakfast in town and she replied that she did not know of any and that she didn't think we would be able to find anything. Upon walking into town, we found loads of restaurants that serve breakfast until noon or all day. In my experience these are things that a concierge should know or at the very least be more than willing to try and find out. Additionally our first night there, we arrived to the hotel around 9:00 PM after a day of sightseeing. We asked if we could eat in the restaurant and they said they were closing up for the night. The next evening, however, the restaurant was open quite late with a considerable amount of noise which disturbed are sleeping children. Overall, though our room was quite nice, the hotel had much more a feeling of a noisy youth hostel than a hotel for families. Would not return.

    The room itself was quite nice. Spacious and clean.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overpriced in my view - excellent location and good spaced rooms that look stylish but fitted out cheaply so lots of things starting to break - drawers and ironing board specifically. And staffing ridiculous for "hotel" charging these prices - arrived around 7.30pm on a Friday night and had to checkin in the cafe opposite where one very young lady was coping with serving a gin and tonic to one table (and didn't know how), a panini to another table and two parties waiting to check in. She was the only member of staff we saw during our stay apart from one other lady bringing hot food from the kitchen.

    Comfortable and excellent location. Stylish modern decor.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed 5 nights, noone ever welcomed us to the Hotel? No reception, only waitress? In the cafe. Very unfriendly staff during the week, weekend staff OK. Rooms were dirty, dust on all table tops, sink unclean, just wiped with a dirty rag. Mold in the shower.

    Beds OK. Hot water good. wifi very good. Excellent restaurant close by( Folley)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Seal in shower needed redoing.

    Clean, nice area, air conditioning, comfy beds nice bedding, great to have a fridge and microwave at hand nice towels and little extras.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Rude and aggressive personnel (english lady during breakfast). Dirty and mouldy shower. I do not recommend this hotel under any circumstances. There is absolutely NO WAY this is a four-star hotel.

    Only the location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was a understaffed at breakfast, where the waitress was also the cook, which left the breakfast area unattended for extended periods.

    The Ethos is a very nice hotel - great facilities, extremely clean, nicely designed, nice ambience, and very friendly and helpful staff - but it is a little bit quirky. It is split between two properties that face each other across the small road. There is a bit of customer self service keypads and a taxi call button, which is a bit unusual. The food was great.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Inadequate light in bathroom, no place to put toiletries in bathroom, shower curtain in tub, shower controls inconvenient to temperature control, poorly designed and fitted bathroom, poorly lighted rooms and bed, no sheer curtains for privacy during the day. High prices, not a good value.

    Bright, clean rooms, friendly staff, nice bed.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very cool reception. 20 something male didn't offer to carry ie push a bag of a 60 something female traveler. I guess chivalry is dead :(

    Great location; comfortable walk to the centre of Oxford. Smart decor!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room not always cleaned properly and had to complain about state of bathroom. This was sorted while I was out for the evening.

    Friendly reception staff. They changed my room when I said I couldn't manage 3 flights of stairs. I also found the small kitchen area very useful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast can be improved on

    stuff was very nice with welcome drink on arrival. room very clean, breakfast not very good but the stuff makes up for it and the rooms

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too expensive for what is on offer. Double bed not comfortable at all (2 single bed with middle line) too expensive room for its size! Was expecting something better for the money I paid.

    Helpful and friendly staff who has taken into account my disappointment and moved me into a much brighter, bigger and comfortable room!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The website photos are window dressing compared to reality

    No hotel for late arrivals. When I arrive everything was dark. I had to call to get instruction to where to find my key in a key box from a personl who clearly never was there and didn't really have a clue.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Benefits mentioned on website did not match up to what was available. Cheap furnishings.

    Staff were friendly . Large room and unexpected lounge and kitchen area.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee supply at breakfast, other things also needed topping up so we didn't have to keep asking

    Bed comfy Staff cheerful and helpful Mini kitchen in room

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disappointment on arrival as we thought we were staying in a hotel and not having to eat across the road in a cafe. However,our private room was lovely with self- catering facilities. Very clean and warm. Also nice and quiet. The breakfast was really nice, all freshly cooked. No problem having to use the café for eating. We payed for a parking spot and didn't use the car once as we walked into town about 15 minutes away. Two Happy Senior Citizens.

    Very easy-going. Staff very friendly and pleasant.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Uncomfortable bed. Air conditioning /heating smelt damp so unable to use.

    Good location within walking distance of city centre and attractions. Good to be able to book parking.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that I paid 10 pounds to park in the street. Had to request towel twice. The bathroom had only been scrim cleaned. Shower door still dirty and the used shower gel and shampoo from previous guests had been left inside the shower. Cob webs on the ceiling of the bedroom. Just small things but should not happen when paying nearly 200 for one night. Coffee at breakfast not particularly hot. Eggs cooked very nicely and there was a good choice for breakfast.

    It was close to town

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking space booked but not available when we arrived due to confusion among staff. Facilities are graded 4 star but are not (eg: no tissues in bathroom; no extra blanket in cupboard). There is no proper reception and the staff are willing but poorly managed. Oxford hotels are all over-priced but this is not value for money - more like a guest house than a four star hotel.

    Nicely decorated room. Staff tried to be helpful but evidence of lack of management.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots of cobwebs in the room and some problems with heating but this was quickly dealt with by staff. Lack of parking was tricky but understandable being so close to Oxford itself.

    The staff were so lovely. Very helpful and friendly. The pancakes were tasty and the salmon and cream cheese sandwich was unusual but delicious for breakfast too.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only 6 car parking spaces at the hotel. Not enough and all areas around the hotel require a permit. Better hotels available if you are driving to the hotel. You are paying for the close proximity to town.

    Good location for town. Upgraded room has a good lounge/kitchen.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking space is limited and can involve a 100m walk to reserved off street spaces. The extra bed for our daughter was rather small

    Welcoming drink on arrival was a nice touch - friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in February 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: