Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Ettington Chase 4 stars

Banbury Road, Ettington, CV37 7NZ, United Kingdom

#2 of 2 hotels in Ettington

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1036 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    7.9
    Good value for money, friendly helpful staff, good to have...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Starting to look worn around the edges in places ........

    Good value for money, friendly helpful staff, good to have leisure facilities for this kind of money.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    9.6
    An enjoyable and comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just the fact that the jacuzzi was not working whilst we were there but that can't be helped

    All lovely and clean , housekeeping every day clean towels and we asked for extra milk which was noted and delivered

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    6.7
    Nice celebration birthday break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We kept getting locked out of our room (red key card) which was annoying. The water in the bath didn't drain properly (room 16). The kettle facilities in our room had no herbal teas and was not replenised throughout our stay. The jaccuzi wasn't in use and the pool was green (explained by reception as a change in chemicals).

    The breakfast had an amazing selection of hot and cold food, teas and coffee. The location was perfect for looking around Stratford upon Avon. The buildings and grounds were lovely. Very family friendly.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    7.5
    The location was ideal for visiting both the Cotswolds and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all. The room we booked, a Superior Double, was ideal for us and we enjoyed our stay.

    The location was ideal for visiting both the Cotswolds and Stratford upon Avon

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    5.4
    Never again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On arrival we thought we would relax in the spa but there was a big notice up saying out of order. In our room the shower did not work and the hot tap was scalding hot to the point it scalded my hand. We reported this because if it had been a child it would of been very dangerous. The room did not look anything like the pictures on your website which we feel this is false representation. Why would you put all those lovely photos on of your hotel rooms to be put in one that was awful? The bathroom was very dated and had black mould around it was disgusting.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    7.1
    Hotel is now showing its age ie 30 + years.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel is now showing its age ie 30 + years. Decoration/ design tired. Bathrooms obviously cleaned but no longer able to be made properly clean. Just want's a million £ or so spent on it!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    8.0
    Good customer service and food, but the building and it’s contents are poorly advertised.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pictures on booking.com are deceiving. We were expecting a lovely old building with great architecture. Unfortunately when we turned into the driveway we saw what could only be described as a huge ugly three storey red bricked extension attached to the original lovely gothic building. Both my friend and I thought it looked like a residential home. Rooms were very basic with mismatched furniture and a plastic armchair. Also we were told that the jacuzzi wasn’t working and the pool had turned an odd shade of green. We were advised by another guest that if we were to stay again ask for a room in the “older house”. The view from our window wasn’t good either.....a brick wall and the hotels bins.

    Breakfast and restaurant was good. Plenty of choice on the menu. Customer Service was also good. We ordered room service and it arrived very quickly. The rooms were clean and functional.😊

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    10
    It’s not only set in a beautiful landscape, but the building...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s not only set in a beautiful landscape, but the building itself is beautiful! The leisure facilities were brilliant aswell the pool was warm and the showers were great. The food was exceptional and the staff were very hospitable

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    8.3
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms look a bit tired, but clean. Beds were a bit small, especially compared to a premier in we usually stay.

    Excellent location, great breakfast, personnel very polite and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    8.3
    Good stay. They need to focus on training at the main restaurant. Minor issues. Focus would add valu
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant was understaffed. We had to call waiters each time we needed anything. Food was okay but looking at other tables not consistent in plating.

    Good clean and efficient

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    6.3
    After many happy experiences at the Hotel I now feel very reluctant to return, which saddens me.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had an issue with the bathroom, which we have never had before. I feel that manageress tried to fob us off with excuses, as I saw the issue as a health hazard to us and future guests.

    The pool and gym facilities were good. Breakfast was excellent. The staff were all friendly and willing to help us.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    9.2
    Always a pleasure to come back to, great welcome, perfect for a visit to RSC.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was tired and in need of an update, taps stiff and hard to turn off, towel rail only big enough for one hand towel, strange for a double room, no hook on door to hang up dressing gown.

    This was our second stay, always a warm welcome, comfy rooms and a handy side entrance near our wing for easy access at all times.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    4.6
    Felt like the Shinning!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots of people in our group had dirty rooms that hadn’t been cleaned. There were lots of spiders in one friend’s room and so much dust that she had to ask them to vacuum it. My room was quite dusty and the bathroom had a lot of someone else’s pubic hair in the shower. It smelt musty in the bathroom and the extractor fan did not seem to work. There were earwigs in the hallway. There was mound in the bathroom and on the shower head. There were dirty glasses at the breakfast bar. The spa facilities were broken. There are a lot of paint peeling walls in the hallways which makes it feel like the hotel from the Shinning. Needs some TLC.

    The pastries at breakfast were nice. The potatoes at dinner were well cooked. It was quiet at night. The staff were friendly and polite.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    8.3
    It is on a great location with friendly staff.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was a bit dirty, maybe because it is a very old building. The breakfast lacked the vegetables, there were only the traditional English fried and baked stuff there. We asked the reception to order a taxi and emphasized we have credit card only, however, we got a taxi without this option, so we had to withdraw cash at the airport.

    It is on a great location with friendly staff. The bar has a very good atmosphere.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    5.0
    The staff were extremely rude when I wanted to order room...
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were extremely rude when I wanted to order room service as the hotel was extremely busy! The spa facilities was out of service and the response I got about communicating this message was very rude and received no apology. Very upset to receive a phone call the following day requesting money for the food order.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    7.1
    Good overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    -

    Enjoyed the pool and Jacuzzi Decided to have an evening meal in the hotel as we couldn't be bothered goin out Food was ok, as usual drinks and puds were over priced, but on the whole ok.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.5
    Good location for the brewery tour
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sandwich at lunch time. There was no tuna in it at all and the bread was stale.

    The location was convenient for the Cotswolds distillery tour which we had received as a gift. We were also able to check in early which was useful. The receptionist was helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    2.5
    FILTHY, GRIME INFESTED PLACE THAT MAKES YOU ITCH
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    MOULD IN WINDOW, GRIME AROUND TAPS, RIPPED CHAIR, DIRTY SHOWER, BLACK ON TILE GROUT, THICK DUST BEHIND BED, SMELLY CUSHIONS, DIRTY TOPS OF UNITS NOT POLISHED, COBWEBS IN LIGHTS IN LOUNG, OVERPRICED DRINKS, CHEAP AND NASTY COFFEE, MANAGER NOT OFFERED ANY OTGER COFFEE AND NOT INTERESTED, VERY YOUNG STAFF LINGERING IN GROUPS NOT ATTENTIVE, GIRL PLAYING ON MOBILE PHONE BEHIND BAR AND TOLD US TO WAIT, HOTEL LOOKS LIKE OLD PEOPLES HOME OR ISYLUM, ABSOLUTELY DISGUSTING AND A BREEDING GROUND FOR ECOLI, SO DIRTY, RUINED OUR BREAK.

    NOTHING

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    10
    Wonderful hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unfortunately a member of our family became ill while we were there. The staff were very helpful regarding supporting us with an ambulance and making sure the ambulance knew where to stop ( Hotel on a country road) By standing at the bottom of a long drive in the dark for about 15 minutes. Also checking on how things were afterwards. also letting the family members car remain in the car park while we arranged for it to be picked up as they had to stay in hospital! The hotel and breakfast were everything we would expect and would like to stay again sometime. Thank you.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    5.5
    Beautiful building, spacious room, the ground floor looked...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom very aged, very old stains on carpet and walls, the chair was very dusty and had nail polish.

    Beautiful building, spacious room, the ground floor looked nice and cozy, including the library and restaurant.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    5.4
    Expensive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stay was way overpriced. I paid £238 for two nights in a standard room and stayed in the hotel with many friends who were there for a wedding. Those who paid close to what I had, were in superior or junior suite rooms. A girl who checked in at the same time as me was asked to pay £70 for her one night stay in a superior room. The room rates are all over the place and it would seem booking.com prices the room rate well above the hotel rates had I called directly.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    7.1
    Weekend Overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom in our room needed updating. Always feel soap dispensers in a bathroom makes a place look cheap.

    Location was good, price was good, comfortable lounge and bar

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    5.4
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower went hot and cold and the knob fell off , no bottled water in room tv was very small for size of room , food was very average

    Room was large enough and had a comfortable bed

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    6.7
    It was comfortable for what we needed, and suited our purpose which was for me to do 10k
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom cleanliness wasn't good, stains on toilet seat, plug hole in bath rusty, and huge cobwebs on ceilings in the bedrooms

    Lovely car area, nice pool, jacuzzi and sauna area

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    8.8
    We love the area and the price is particularly good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel had changed ownership since our last visit and we felt that it had lost some of it's 4 star features, small details having been sacrificed. complimentary bottles of shampoo replaced by on wall dispenser for example.

    Vey convenient for Stratford upon Avon and a good price for location.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    8.8
    Midweek break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Restaurant was over priced in our opinion for the food served. The restaurant was very quiet which may have been a reflection of this. The service was very good however. Quite a trek to the bedroom from reception, could have done with a map!

    Excellent value for money room only purchase, with great facilities for those who want to make use of the leisure complex/pool etc. Great car parking & within easy walking distance to Ettington village.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    9.6
    Excellent
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There could definitely be more cafinated coffee in the rooms. 2 sachets Is not enough and there is never enough milk and sugar

    The beds were extra comfy, the rooms were large and spacious and the bathroom was amazing

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    7.1
    The room wasn’t made up so I phone down at 4 I clock some...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room wasn’t made up so I phone down at 4 I clock some one came up but we had to make our pun bed after paying for superior room The service in restaurant was bad had to go and buy our drink from bar, had our meal served but had to wait 10 min before I got our vegetables by which time dinner was cold On 2nd night ordered started but the soup was so hot I burnt my mouth and had trouble eating my dinner The hot a glass of wine which was flat So overall not impressed with the service but hotel was good

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    7.1
    Location and main section beautiful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Felt like an old people's home in the bed room section. Bed was uncomfortable and we spent the night clinging to the outer edges of the mattress

    Location and main section beautiful

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    6.3
    Served it's purpose
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We stayed for two nights but the room was not cleaned after the first night, despite confirming that I wanted it to be cleaned.

    The room was comfortable and the location good for what we needed.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    7.1
    Not for the Disabled or unfit
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was at the top of the building, which i didnt no when i booked and for anyone that has problems with stairs the the mini suites are a no no, i also think, the room for that price bracket should have a good coffee machine not a kettle. and a bigger tv with dvd player, the hotel it self is a good location, would i stay again maybe but in a suite at £165 its abit pricey for what you get.

    The Staff were very Nice, the food was goodish, the bathroom was wonderful the bed was ok

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    7.5
    Family trip to Stratford-upon-Avon for 3 nights
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The accommodation block. The hotel management team need to take a very close look into their housekeeping arrangements in the accommodation block in particular.

    The original building. The Tempus restaurant- staff very attentive and all friendly. The hotel bar staff extremely friendly and accommodating when we ate at the bar with our 19 month old granddaughter - bringing a high chair and ensuring that her food was served first. John - the reception manager. Very speedily reacted to an issue with our original booked rooms and ensured that we were moved to more suitable rooms.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    7.5
    Drinks far to expensive from the bar.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Drinks far to expensive from the bar. We ended up bringing our own. Maybe make the prices more realistic and people would do that as it’s losing you custom.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    7.1
    Good value for money , but needs abit of TLC
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was way to hot and couldn’t open the window , also door banging from about 5.30 outside our window with people leaving! The main sheets on the bed wear clean but the decorative pillows smelt really dirty! Get rid of them! Bathroom needed a better clean pink all around bath and shower!

    The Resturant and staff where nice and friendly! Food took an hour to come but was lovely once it did!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    5.8
    There’s no such thing as a bargain
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above

    I’m presuming as I booked through booking.com and got what I thought was a cheap room for Stratford at this time of year I should have expected to be disappointed. The hotel has a lovely entrance but as you get to the bedrooms that disappears. My room was large and the bed clean and comfortable, but there was no way I could have relaxed in the bathroom as planned. The tiles were brown with mould and the fittings black and in need of descaling. The fittings in the bedroom room were sad, chipped veneer and split vinyl on the arm chair. The bedroom was not dirty but sad and disappointing as I thought I had struck a bargain. You get what you pay for.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    6.3
    Not impressed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My child’s fish fingers were grey inside. I wouldn’t feed them to my cat. Black mold spots on the bed sheets. Awful prosecco and house white wine. Tasteless with a tinge of soap.

    Nice swimming pool

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    10
    First class
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was the second time we had been there in 8 days and it was excellent again couldn’t find any fault. Our room was first class with plenty of room with a lovely bathroom. I would stay here again .

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    7.9
    Good for a 1 or 2 night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room wasn't super clean,the bathroom in particular. I would have liked to have some shampoo, not a 2 in 1 shampoo/shower gel dispenser, that didn't even work properly. The food options were very limited for a vegan person, the only things I could have were a vegan curry or a very bland avocado sandwich.

    The staff was very friendly, the restaurant is nice, also the bar area, we spent the evening there and had a few drinks. The swimming pool looked nice. We arrived late in the evening and left pretty early in the morning, so didn't have time to go for a swim unfortunately.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    8.8
    Lovely hotel, but I'd recommend booking elsewhere for dinner.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The overall staffing levels/seniority were awful - it seemed that apart from Reception, the rest of the hotel was being run by kids working there for the summer and the right hand didn't seem to know what the left hand was doing. Lovely kids, don't get me wrong, but it really was a bit of a shambles. The service in the restaurant was appalling and my daughter's chicken starter was delivered to the table half raw - I had to ASK for an apology which I felt was unacceptable. This was such a shame as everything else during our stay was lovely.

    The upgrade to the premier room was a nice bonus.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    5.4
    I wouldn’t go back for the above reason.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was too soft and the pillows were so soft it was pointless having them. I hardly slept and I had a sore back and stiff neck in the morning.

    The breakfast was fresh and hot

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    10
    very good value for money a great place for a family weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the toilet system in the bathroom was a bit erratic and took some coaxing to flush. it was reported to reception and it was dealt with

    the staff were very friendly and very helpful. the library was an excellent space to relax. the view from the grounds was stunning. the walk into the neighbouring fields yielded excellent long distance views

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    5.4
    A fair stay nothing so rave about.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception staff on arrival very abrupt and seemed to look down on me as I arrived in sports clothing. I’m a person trainer so had traveled straight from work.

    Restaurant staff very friendly

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    8.8
    The swimming pool and gym facilities are very good, staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are very basic and are in need of a fresh coat of paint, bathroom facilities where clean but dated and in serious need of re-grouting.

    The swimming pool and gym facilities are very good, staff are very helpful especially on reception, plenty of parking spaces and a beautiful setting for the hotel. We only ate breakfast there which was buffet style but to a very good standard.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    5.4
    Ok for business trip not for romantic break.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom seem very tired looking and the corridors and bed room needs some TLC.

    Plenty of parking available. Reception staff really helpful. Nice choice of drinks at the bar.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    10
    The staff were very friendly and attentive.
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very friendly and attentive. Food was lovely, room was comfortable and clean. We loved swimming in the pool. Location was good as everything we were interested in visiting was only a few minutes drive away. Would definitely recommend.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    10
    Excellent choice of hotel considering it was a random choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Only a small thing, but the pillows could have been plumper - a little flat. We were also wary of the paving slabs leading up to the bedrooms from the car park (close to the swimming pool) Very uneven and some loose. Could be a trip hazard.

    Bedroom tastefully decorated and plenty of storage. Very comfy king bed. Nice clean bathroom and a storage shelf for toiletries. Terrific choice for breakfasts. All staff, from Reception to waiting personnel, were cheerful and very helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    6.7
    This was a special occasion and overall we all had a good time, but not sure any of us would go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room needed a good clean and refurbishment - there was a used plaster on the bedroom floor which had not been vacuumed and paintwork on walls was dirty with large hand - prints where someone had leaned against it. The bathroom floor and walls needed a much better clean. The leisure facility was good - but the door security keypad didn't work so people were frustrated by this. The drinks were overly expensive eg £4.15 for a small non-alcoholic beer, cheapest wine £19.95 per bottle, and not that good in my opinion.

    Grounds were well kept, public rooms were very good, we felt secure at all times. Food was good and reasonably priced, buffet style breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    8.3
    Great hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall good except bathroom grout needs deep clean.

    Room size was very good. Bed was comfortable. Hotel facilities excellent. Great buffet breakfast excelkent choices.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    7.5
    Short but sweet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sadly our first room was unclean; bathroom had not been wiped down at all. hair and shaving foam in the bath. However prompt room and the next room was better.

    The staff were exceptionally polite, helpful and informative. Especially the lady on reception on the evening of 17.08.2018 - sadly we did not catch her name but a true asset to the company. Breakfast was hearty and filling and cooked to a lovely standard. We are both vegetarian and there was plenty of choice to fill our boots.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    4.2
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dusty room, extractor fan in bathroom broken, bath so dirty wouldnt use. Swimming pool used by kids even during times no kids were allowed. Restaurant very expensive and nothing special

    Not alot

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    6.7
    Good value for money and kind staff but not very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool changing room and sauna area is in need of a good clean and refurb. with the ceiling tiles falling in in the ladies changing room and lots of areas of delapidation. Our room wasn’t the cleanest with mould in the bathroom and smears on the walls.

    Went with a friend. The room was a good size and the staff were very friendly. We chose not to have the breakfast due to the reviews and having walked past it we thought that was a good decision. The dinner was good value and a good standard. The ‘spa’ is more like a leisure centre.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    9.2
    Lovely but take a picnic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food and drink over priced - £14 for a burger, £20 for cheapest bottle of wine. Only 1 pub within walking distance which is closed on Monday, leaving no real alternative.

    Lovely quiet location, friendly staff, good facilities and excellent value for money.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    10
    Very well presented hotel with great amenities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leisure suite on site and it was free for guests.Well equipped gym. Great choice for breakfast, nicely cooked too Good locstion for exploring Stratford upon Avon Would stsy here again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    5.4
    Location was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stuck in a time warp (80/90’s) Bed was lumpy and hard. Bathroom very tired in need of facelift - grout was black in places. Modern flatscreen TV night have been modern 10 years ago. Front of house weren’t welcoming, seemed like a chore.

    Location was good Lots of parking Bar area was nice, friendly staff. Rooms are of a good size.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    5.0
    Bit of a let down.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Place looked ok on outside, nice grounds, lots of parking, inside our room though room was tired and in need of some TLC. Booked a Superior and we were apparently upgraded to a Double Deluxe in the old part of the house. Not the cleanest room Ive ever stayed in and although room was big there were dead flies all over the windows, broken bathroom fittings, cracks in tiles and walls, stains on chairs, dirty bath, I could go on and on. Breakfast looked expensive at £15 and we read poor reviews if it so we skipped that and went to a little place 10 mins in car away at CV35 0AB called Lighthorne Pavilion Café, was amazing and £7 for full breakfast and a little gem. Local village pub Chequers, great for a drink and food, we enjoyed

    Location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    8.8
    The staff were very friendly and helpfull,the breakfast...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We had a superior rm on the first floor very handy to hotel facilities but extremely warm difficult to sleep some ac would have been perfect.

    The staff were very friendly and helpfull,the breakfast layout was excellent and good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    7.9
    Ettington chase
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little moans The kettle had a short cable,selection of drinks limited.Small wardrobe space but as we were only staying one night it didn't matter For some reason , given its grand setting I thought the room would have been better decorated.

    In a lovely setting , the room was standard, the double bed was comfortable.The breakfast was excellent and had a good choice of hot and cold foods.The staff at the hotel were very happy and friendly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    5.4
    It was close and convenient to the location we needed to get...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was not well cleaned . My bath water ran black with bits of dirt. The tv was from 1999 , there was no air con .

    It was close and convenient to the location we needed to get to

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    7.0
    Have stayed here at least 6 times disappointed that things are slipping.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room left open all day by cleaning staff. 730 breakfast in room did not appear until 750 & we were leaving at 8 + had to go downstairs & request again. Only 1 cup in room had to go & request another. Not as clean as previous visits, towel not changed when left on floor.

    Breakfast. Pool. Convenient

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    9.2
    Pleasant but a few nigles
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Window in room small They were slow in refilling the food for breakfast eg. bacon, eggs, sausage ( 1/4 hr) The tiles around the bath could do with a clean, if you were having a bath you couldn’t reach the soap and they could do with a magnifying mirror in the bathroom

    Friendly staff Nice pool and breakfast Beautiful setting

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    5.4
    Look elsewhere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not clean. It was a hot day so we turned on the fan and my husband got covered in dust. The next room they took us to was no better. The third room was better but then I found there was no body wash in the dispenser in the shower so I had to get out of the bath/shower to get body wash from the basin (as much as I could carry in my hands). The staff did not answer the phone at reception or housekeeping.

    The pool and spa were very nice.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    3.8
    Won't bestaying again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Overpriced. Courtyard was filthy when we went to have a drink in the evening and ashtrays were full - still filthy the next morning when we booked out and ashtrays were still full. No bathrobe and slippers in "Superior" room as promised. Small TV - not the 30" promised. Shower ran very hot then cold repeatedly. "Range of toilertires" pathetic.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    8.3
    A very comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was quite chilly and the jacuzzi did not work. Was very disappointing

    Room comfortable and spacious. Staff very welcoming Breakfast very good Grounds beautiful

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    6.3
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The restaurant was a disaster. Poor food, chaotic waiters. the bar refused to charge drinks to the room & demanded cash.

    The rooms are comfortable but not air-conditioned. generally OK

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    10
    will stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    checking to wanted to stay in bed longer lol

    the Bed was the most Comfy ever experienced, what is the name of the mattress would love one, the staff treat us very well it was our wedding anniversary and they send us a drink with our evening meal which was a nice touch, the food was excellent in the restaurant

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.1
    Overall good for the price paid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked the hotel specifically for the spa facilities. However, upon entrance to the spa/swimming pool, there was a notice to say that the jacuzzi was not working! Very dissapointing as this was a deciding factor for booking.

    Clean and comfortable room, although a little dated. Good location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.8
    The room was lovely, comfy bed and nice bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A mini bar fridge would have been good. An outdoor pool would also be great as it was very hot but I guess that isn’t often the case! One more thing that is nice to have is proper conditioner and shampoo - plus a shower cap.

    The room was lovely, comfy bed and nice bathroom. The property and location are stunning. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Very nice vibe in the place :)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    7.1
    Nice enough, but no magic. Presentable and clean, but felt unloved.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were polite, but didn’t go much further, eg didn’t advise of eg WiFi or the ameneties. The decor was beige and brown in common areas and the rooms. In good condition, but no flair, when the setting and original main building were so lovely. The grounds could have done with more benches and focal points.

    The setting was nice

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    5.4
    Lamb Jalfrezi = lamb stew - worst I have ever had
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Day 1. Swimming pools not working today Day 2. Swimming pools not working today Day 3. Swimming pools not working today If you choose this place for its facilities make sure they are workingI stayed here before in what was a decent room (ground floor). This time I was put in one on the third floor which was below the expected standard.

    Parking is plentiful

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    3.3
    Good conference location but bad room experience for price.Fridge in room a must for me.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    small rooms,no Fridge .What for 5* price in a 4* hotel with nothing to show but its a Manor house extended with car park in front so cant even appreciate view through narrow windows . 2. why is the orange and apple drink machine switched off at lunch?Only Breakfast.WHAT!Rubbish

    nada. but the Jacuzzi was great ,pool wrong shape.The manager was great ,changed rooms for us and did as much as he could.Get staff on board

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    8.3
    Relaxing days
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Tried to have an evening meal at the restaurant but was full apparently was advised that there was food available at the bar. Ordered a curry for both of us and it wasn't particularly good lacked taste. 2nd night visited local pub less that 5 minutes walk food was excellent would recommend booking as it is that good.

    the breakfast was really good with an excellent selection. The leisure club facilities were free to use for guests and were good. Not far from both Stratford upon Avon and Warwick.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    7.5
    Although it was a sunny day the room was dark as there was...
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although it was a sunny day the room was dark as there was only one small window facing another part of the building. Receptionist tried to help change it but there was a shortage of rooms.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    6.3
    The location is great, the grounds beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress was very old and sagged in the middle which was not comfortable. No Aircons and the windows did not open much and it was extremely hot. The rooms need to be refurbished.

    The location is great, the grounds beautiful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    8.8
    Great location, great facilities. Recommended
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast selection is quite poor, even though it's a buffet The room's furniture and the TV are old and the bed is too soft to be very comfortable

    Great location, beautiful manor with swimming pool, lounges and garden The staff was kind and helpful, both at the reception and at the restaurant The room was ok, the furniture and the TV are old, but the overall experience was positive

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    9.2
    Very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The superior room has two smaller beds pushed together so has that awful mattress join down the middle. The photos are very misleading the bath is nowhere near the style in the photos. There was no sofa. TV is tiny.

    Very clean. Price is good. The bar was a decent price. The room size was good. The bed was comfortable excluding my above comment.

    Stayed in June 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: