Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Euro Hostel Edinburgh Halls

Kincaids Court, Guthrie Street, Old Town, Edinburgh, EH1 1JT, United Kingdom

#129 of 144 hotels in Edinburgh

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 589 hostel reviews

7.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7

  • Comfort

    6.6

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    6.6

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    9.5
    Fab location, good value 😊
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3-Person Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A kettle or tea or coffee facility would be nice Need to know to take towel or rent a towel with deposit which was easy Take toiletries, no complimentary soap etc A bit noisy at night from local night life

    Friendly helpful staff, comfy bed and clean

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    6.3
    A series of unfortunate events
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I’d stayed here a month before and value was much better. This time every time I tried to charge my phone the power cut off. The latch broke on the toilet locking me inside. Luckily this was outside my room so was able to call my brother for help. Someone else’s hairs over my bed sheets. Price hike because of fringe festival. As I say last month was not a drama, I guess sometimes you just have a series of unfortunate events.

    The location was central

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    6.3
    Single room, great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift £2 per bag per day if you want to leave your bag in the luggage room Unhelpful staff I made a note when I booked a bed on booking.com that I got a big luggage and asked them to put me on the lower floors in advance but they provided me a room on the 5th floor ! I reminded them about this again when I checked-in but they said that they cannot do anything. Very disappointed with service.

    Single room, great location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    6.3
    Great location, basic accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The quality of rooms varies immensely. One was quite shabby, not particularly clean, and there were some dirty socks under the bed; the bathroom was also quite uninviting, and there was a lot of noise throughout the night. The second room was pefectly ok, the bathroom as well, and more or less quiet. So it's a lottery :) The location is great for the Fringe, but it's still quite expensive for what it is.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    5.0
    Clean rooms & toilets
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult with luggages as no lifts...have to drag everything up to the 4th floor ... Kitchen had no basic stuff like Teas or coffees or milk , not even for a single night stay etc...

    Clean rooms & toilets

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    8.3
    Nice quiet location, not too far from the city centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I have nothing negative to say!

    Nice quiet location, not too far from the city centre Excellent choice of breakfast items Lovely landscaped gardens Great value for money

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    4.2
    Not a recommended hostel
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of their building doesn't have lift, so if you are with big luggage, this might be a trouble to bring your luggage up. Bed wasn't comfortable, and one of their receptionist was a bit rude to my friend because of misscommunication regarding taking photos around the property.

    They have a limited space to park your car, with £20 fee for 24hrs. Location is good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    9.2
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had two rooms booked and would have liked them on the same floor although they were in the same block. I am now aware to state this request at time of booking, thanks to the young receptionist who did try to help.

    The location was excellent for the castle and Royal Mile and good value for money. The secure parking on site was so convenient although a wee bit expensive.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    7.5
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was staying here during the Fringe festival so it was very loud at night and it did not help with sleep at all, especially when I had to catch a very early train the next morning. You could also hear people moving around on the rest of the floor which wasn't great.

    It's a very central place and the rooms are a descent size. It's the perfect place if you're looking for a bed for a short stay.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    3.3
    NEVER AGAIN
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The girl in reception both days was rude and arrogant. Very loud bars just opposite with noise until very late. Beds were the worst we ever slept in. No towels and you have to pay for them after paying £80 in a crap place. The price is not right for a youth hostel. EXPENSIVE ONE OF THE WORST PLACES WE HAVE EVER BEEN

    NOTHING

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    3.3
    There was no price/quality at all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    For the price paid for 3 nights and the pictures posted on booking.com of the bedrooms et other facilities of the hotel, we were very disappointed. There were no service, not even towel for the shower. When you pay 240£ for 3 nights you're expecting a bit more services. The common part (bathroom was not clean) we had to buy extra toilet rolls for the toilets. There should be a bathroom carpet for the customers. As we were sharing a bathroom with other customers, the bathroom was often wet and disgusting. One of the bathroom seemed to have some vomit in the sink. And obviously that hasn't been cleaned by the staff. I know the Fringe festival is a big thing and very busy time for Edinburgh but that doesn't justify the cost we paid and no service. This is treating people like idiots.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    9.6
    Nice student hostel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was too close to the wardrobe and sofa. I think there could have been a better arrangement inside.

    Nice, clean student studio. The location is good, very close to Edinburgh Castle. The kitchen was very nice.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    6.3
    Good price, great staff, but horrible beds and noisy bar nearby
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was down the street from a bar that did not quit until 4am. We were there three nights and slept maybe 8 hrs total. I was exhausted from lack of sleep due to the noise and the horrible beds. You could feel the springs on your back. We got moved to a different room that was quieter on the third night so that’s when I got the majority of the sleep over three days. It was quieter but the beds were almost worse if that is possible. We didn’t go for the fringe so weren’t into partying all night.

    No bells and whistles here, no coffee or food of any type but that isn’t to be expected for the price which was decent. This is student housing so dorm-like, we had private rooms but shared bathrooms. The hostel was full were yet we never had to wait for the bathroom like in other hostels. It felt secure and safe as well. Staff was excellent! Beyond friendly and helpful. I’d go back if we had a quiet room!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    7.9
    The position of the hostel is great and the staff very nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 11 nights

    Something on which to hang the clothes would have been nice, we had to keep our clothes in our suitcases for 10 days...

    The position of the hostel is great and the staff very nice and helpful

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    3.3
    Not expensive but not worth the cost, by a mile.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They stuck us on an upper floor. No lift, narrow staircase. Tiny room - the bed went from one wall to another, had to turn sideways to get to the inner bed. Incredibly noisy outside, it's in a party district of town. Shared bath with two other rooms. No parking if you have rented a car and the driving is torturous in the Old City. No phone, no tv,. Mostly this is for students and backpackers, but it's not worth the price for them, either.

    The room was lousy but there was a kitchen with a refrigerator. There was no room in the room to do anything but lie on the bed - the kitchen had a chair and table.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    2.9
    Horrible I would not recommend the facility
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 29 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Uncomfortable beds, staff just walking into apartment in the middle of the night. Poor cleaning, rooms did not match those depicted on internet, rate charged was inflated from original price sites on booking.com add and there was no hot water available for two weeks until we where relocated.

    Nothing

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    6.3
    Great location, no comfort at all
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Building in terrible condition.. dirty carpets.. very small and soulless bedroom. Terrible mattress. Dirty under the beds. Not a single hand soap or any toiletries on bathroom. You really need to bring everything - it's not a hotel or nice hostel. The worst of student style accommodation: pay for the towels (because people were stealing them), pay to leave your luggage at reception for a few hours, and on and on..

    Location location location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    6.7
    Fringe Central
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit institutional. The odd tea towel in the kitchen and towels in the toilet (paper or hand dryers). Single bed in a twin would provide more room , rather tight for two people.

    Central to our plans

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    8.3
    A decent hostel with a convenient, central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A decent hostel with a convenient, central location. We had a private twin that faced the interior courtyard, so noise not much of an issue (though drunken conversations in said courtyard carry very well). Beds not the most comfortable, and suggest you bring your own pillow (as those provided are very thin), but being right beside Old Town and the National Museum, and a 10-15 min walk to the train, can offset some small quibbles.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    8.3
    Fabulous location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No towels, and was not told to bring one You could 'rent one' - for a price!

    The location was first class - just a few minutes from Edinburgh Castle It was adequate for what we wanted - a clean bed, and somewhere to make breakfast I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to others

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    6.7
    When you book a twin room, you expect 2single beds!
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When you book a twin room, you expect 2single beds!- not a double and a put you up bed, that only just big enough for a child, let alone an Adult. Expected towels not to have to buy them.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    10
    One night in Edinburgh was not enough, and I'd definitely stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location was amazing, right in the centre of town. It was in a vibrant area, there was a bit of street noise at night, but for the price, I couldn't fault it. We had a top floor, which only had 4 rooms, with two shared bathrooms. As we had booked two of the rooms together, we practically had our own bathroom anyway. Check in staff were great, friendly and helpful. Again, Location was the key, right in the centre of the city. Great stay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    7.9
    Great location, very noisy, basic accommodation - it worked for us but you get what you pay for!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location is very nosy. Even closing the window did little to drown out the noise from the street which was four stories below. I've traveled to Edinburgh several times, and while this location was the most convenient, it was the most 'down-market'. Companies like Euro-Hostel rent student housing from the U of E and resell the beds & rooms to tourists during the summer. During prior trips we've (self, wife, friends) stayed in similar university/hostel-style accommodations which were very comfortable. This year I came here with my son, so the two of us in a dorm room/hostel worked out okay. i wouldn't ever bring my wife here (just due to the shared bathroom alone!). Other negatives - no clothing storage other than the drawers from the students' desk and no fitted sheets. In the morning you wake up with the bed sheet crumpled along the edge of the bed, and you're sleeping on a plastic mattress (yuk!). Looks like they took a one-bedroom dorm room, removed the wardrobe and shoehorned another bed into the space. This room was definitely for sleeping only!

    The property is located in the middle of Cowgate, which is a block off the Royal Mile and at the center of the very-youthful bar scene. Very convenient location. For young and single or small groups of people (guys) this facility would be ideal. Excellent value for the money. Just remember you get what you pay for. Had a private two-bed room, in a five bedroom 'suite', but felt very secure.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    9.2
    Great central location close to all attractions
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property was clean, comfortable and basic for the price but went during the festival and thats what you pay.

    Great central location close to all attractions

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    9.6
    Great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You have to pay to keep your bags there on the last day.

    Incredible value for money. Bang in the centre, good shower, clean room. No thrills place, but you can't ask for more for the price.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    6.3
    A reasonable place to stay but great for visiting the many attractions Edinburgh has to offer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The accommodation is very basic, two beds and a desk. It is very close to a night club which made it noisy. Is a place more suitable for younger people out late and up late!

    The staff are diamond! One of my party was in a wheelchair due to injury sustained prior to arrival and the staff moved us to a more appropriate room and were very helpful in enabling us to move around the accommodation. The location is excellent for a range of different attractions in Edinburgh.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    7.1
    Ideal location but very basic and tired accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The whole place is very tired - desperately in need of painting and new carpets - rooms are incredibly basic but fine if you are out most of the time. We actually slept fine in the beds. You do get woken up in the night by people returning from the nightlife etc; the fire doors tend to bang shut loudly. One building does not have a lift.

    Excellent location near to all the Fringe free events (there are loads) and easy walking to all the Edinburgh sights. Staff very good; bathrooms and toilets very clean; good variation of age groups using the facilities. You need to take your own towels and toiletries; kitchen very clean and big - use of this is included.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    7.9
    Great for a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Mattresses were new and large but plastic coated and don't breathe at all No storage or hanging space in the room No towels included

    Shared Bathroom and Shower facilities were new and worked well Kitchen was large and comfortable, Lift worked Centrally Located and Extremely Convenient Plenty of power points in the room Clean fresh linens Good WiFi

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    6.3
    Perfect location, but if you like the comfort and better facility consider alternatives
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pretty basic furniture, which is fine. Too loud to sleep at night due to the clubs around, but nothing to be done about. No elevator so consider that - my parents are not so agile and the 5th floor room wasn't an easy option.

    The location is right in the centre and it's *absolutely perfect* to enjoy the sightseeing of Town and to stop at the Fringe Exhibitions near by. Small rooms are a great solution when traveling in a group of adults. The stuff was absolutely helpful when I asked to move my parents room to a lower floor (no elevator) appreciated that a lot.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    6.7
    3 nights in Edinburgh
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Placed in building with no lift. No hot water in sink taps in bathroom or kitchen, just in shower. Two single beds in a room built for one, so you had to climb over one to get to the other. Had to walk up steep hills to get anywhere from this location.

    Parking available at check in

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    3.8
    there is no elevator, I have to climb 5 floors.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    there is no elevator, I have to climb 5 floors. So much noise from outside. Everywhere is so dirty and messy. I paid 60£ for one night but it wasn't worthy

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    6.3
    Good location but bring towels
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Security doors propped open, smell of cigarette smoke everywhere. Dirty toilets with nothing to clean them with, nothing to dry hands with.

    Very good location and price for during the Fringe

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    8.8
    Old Town value for a group multi-day stay on a budget.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3-Person Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Unbeatable value for a group multi-day stay in the heart of the Old Town. Walking distance to Edinburgh Castle and Waverley Station. Clean, basic student apartment facilities. The staff customer service was excellent.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    7.9
    Old Town value for a group multi-day stay on a budget.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Unbeatable value for a group multi-day stay in the heart of the Old Town. Walking distance to Edinburgh Castle and Waverley Station. Clean, basic student apartment facilities. The staff customer service was excellent.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    8.3
    Excellent central location. Clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had anticipated the bathroom to be en suite but it was shared with several rooms. The door locks were tricky to use and could do with some carpentry attention to tighten up (especially on the bedroom). USB ports in the bedroom would have been helpful.

    Excellent central location. Comfortable beds with clean bedding. Roomy kitchen with kettle and plenty of fridges. Shower was good temperature and powerful enough.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    6.7
    Not happy
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    First when we arrived in, the service desk was not smiley at all but fortunately they served us (arrived 2hours before check-in and they asked extra price for early check-in). The room was disaster, no table although it was supposed to be there. Moreovet, heater was on and the room was like sauna. When we complained enough, finally the service guy devided to came to check the room. Then they realized that we can not sleep there and changed the room. The new room was fine, nothing to complain about. After visiting in ”sauna” I felt like taking a shower. Then we realized that no towels in the room. In reception they took 2 pounds rent from each towel (plus 5 pound deposit). I really can not recommend this place to anyone.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    8.8
    Euro Hostel was great, other travellers not so great
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I stayed with my 10 year old nephew and on our 2nd night a couple of women moved into the apartment along from us. they repeatedly tried our bedroom door despite signs stating all room numbers. kept us awake till after 1am with slamming doors and screaming. spat in the sink and shower without washing it away, even my nephew wouldn't do that! something to maybe look at when assigning rooms, trying to keep family groups together rather than sharing an apartment with rowdy travellers that don't care about others in the block.

    Staff are friendly and helpful. central location but still quiet. easy to find and good for transport links. Costa and Tesco less than 5 minute walk away. Will be booking again in the future.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    8.3
    The room is big enough and the price is ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It does not have the lift! It took so much effort to climb 5 floors. Plus, the posters in the building and the decoration style are little bit creepy(I feel it is haunted anyway).

    The room is big enough and the price is ok.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    3.8
    1.location seems near city centre but actually u got to walk...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1.location seems near city centre but actually u got to walk up and down hill as its located at the bottom. 2.soukd have towel included for single rooom. If dorm understood but single shoild have. And shower gel in share bathroom too. 3. Room i got was noisy. behind back of a pub.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    9.6
    Beyond value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only downside was all the stairs. But you can't really help that

    It was so cheap! I couldn't believe how good it was for the price and such a clean modern bathroom.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    6.3
    Centrally located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom and kitchen were constantly dirty. Unsure how many days the bathroom went before it was cleaned. Kitchen benches and table were filthy with food that looked to have been there for days.

    Centrally located. Staff at reception were very friendly on arrival.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    5.4
    Be prepared to eat out every night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Filthy, unclean, kitchen was dirty, bins in the kitchen were emptied less than once a week. The benches and sinks were filled with unwashed plates. Dirty stairwells and corridors.

    CLOSE TO GRASSMARKET AND EASY TO GET TO. Bathroom (shared) was new and clean and water good

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    7.5
    Worth for what I paid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The building, old and outdated and quite rundown. The room was very basic, it's student accommodation and well worn with outdated furniture. But bedding, mattress and pillow very clean.

    The location wasn't too far from the main attractions 'Royal Mile'. However! The bed including mattress and bedding was extremely clean as any first class hotel and very clean. The bathroom's considering they were shared were also very clean. The building, old and outdated and quite rundown. The room was very basic, it's student accommodation and well worn with outdated furniture. But bedding, mattress and pillow very clean. The staff were friendly and free WiFi was available. For what I paid was worth it for a good night sleep!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    6.7
    Nice staff but very loud hostel. Woken up several times during the night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very loud! Partiers, street noise, slamming doors, etc. It was not very clean (old soap cakes in the bathroom, hair on the floor, posters on the floor, etc.).

    Good location. The kitchen was well equipped. Friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    4.6
    Better than homeless
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is old, bed is not comfortable, very thin matress. Very inconvenient lift entrance, need to go up 1 level for the lift. Use key instead of key card. Service is average. Basically, I was booking for this hostel just so I didn't need to sleep on the street.

    It is a room, afterall

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    4.2
    Totally unworthy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Totally unworthy. I spent £243 for two nights and ordered a two-bedroom apartment, however they gave me an apartment which contains over 10 bedrooms...because it is a student accommodation!...the rooms are quite small, and its on the 4th floor without elevator, me and my families have to carry all our luggages and climb up the all the stairs.......the rooms are untidy and got heavy smell, I just don’t understand why they got 7.2 rates! BTW, please upload your real pictures of your apartments! Don’t cheat people again!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    4.2
    Avoid - incredibly dirty
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    FILTHY room and bathroom. Carpet has probably not been hoovered for days, closet covered in dust, dirty bin. But the bathroom was worse. Shared. Dirty toilet, mouldy shower, loads of used old soaps in there, you could not see through the glass shower door, the walls and floor were disgusting with toothpaste and who knows what else streaking down them. I’ll insert pictures. View of a wall, curtains did not stop the light from coming in. Receptionist kept talking to someone in spanish while I was checking in which I consider rude. Key I was given at first did not lock my room. When I went to ask the receptionist asked me where the key label was I believe there was no label when I was given the key. I had to wait for him to print a new one and label I guess a different key cause this one now worked. Wifi did not work at all. No towels or soap in the room. But you would probably be able to purchase at the reception. Creaking and squeaking floors and doors. No lift so you have to carry everything up the stairs. (In my case 25 kg suitcase.)

    Location was ok. Price was ok. After reading other reviews I noticed travellers had problem with a lot of noise which was not the case for me.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    7.5
    Very comfortable ideal base for a city break or my case for sleeping after being at the Open Golf Ch
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to dislike about Euro Hostel Edinburgh

    The beds were doubles and very comfortable and the toilet and shower facilities were clean and tidy. Location is very good close to the railway station Edinburgh Waverley.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    10
    Great Location, Great Staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    the price i was charged from booking.com £49.00 when all standard twin rooms with sharing toilets are always between £28-31.50 that whole week. Am challenging them as even the hostel was shocked. Also no TV nor storage facilities in room, maybe want to state that.

    Receptionist were friendly and informative, and location is great!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    3.8
    Never again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The kitchen smelt like something had died in it. There was a nightclub nearby that played music until the early hours. The shower was filthy and the water rose up to your ankles while you were showering. And there were four long flights of stairs and no lifts to lug my suitcase up. The sheets didn't fit on the bed so would wake up to find I was on a battered old mattress.

    nothing

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    10
    1 night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only that there was only an elavator and in case of fire didn't see a fire escape

    Everything else was just perfect. Really great stay. Really great help from staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    5.8
    1 single room for 35 pounds is a good price
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    OBS Read the smallprint!!! The info regarding how to get to the hotel and regard stairs/lifts. From Waverly station it is a 25-30 minute walk uphill and then downhill if you have luggage to drag or carry your luggage. Take a taxi. The hostel entrance is difficult to find. There are banners hanging from several houses in the block which is confusing. I arrived late. Could not find the entrance for quite awhile. The smallprint said that some rooms are only reached by stairs. When I arrive late I find that my room is on the 9th floor and no lift. I had a 20k bag to carry. No staff told me that there was no lift in my buildning nor offered to help.(I now understand why) Needless to say what this did to my back. Later I found out that there are several buildings that belong to the hostel but only one, building 4, has no lift. There are cryptic white notes on the doors with roomnumbers, some are firedoors. Very difficult to understand when you arrive at the top. No way I would walk down the 9 flights of stairs to ask. On a wednesday they test their firealarm at 10.30. The reception did not remind me of this the night before. It is also somewhere in the smallprint. Not so fun when you wake up by the alarm on your sleep-in. Sheets were directly on a plastic matress which was extremely hot and uncomfortable. The shared toilets/showers were not cleaned every day.

    1 single room for 35 pounds is a good price

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    3.3
    I do not recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom as well as the room was just not clean at all - shower tub was dirty and carpet has not been hovered from very long time. I had to keep stopping water when taking shower as shower tub was filling up with water in no time and would not go down (I was basically standing in cold water in my flip flops). Bed - it was a folding bed (one people have at home as spare for extra guest) - not comfortable as the legs were a bit shaking and mattress was thin. Key to the room was bend and as a result door was not easy to open. Location ok but I struggled with finding it - entrance to the reception is from the inner square that is accessible through tunnel like gate, and only there was a stand advertising the hotel, but since this gate is on the small rode (not even a side rode) I could not find it. No even one laptop or computer available to use (even for extra charge) - important if researching how to move around and outside the city/between the cities.

    Staff - was ok, helped to find out way to the train station. Bathroom was modern in design.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    8.3
    Overall, good location for sightseeing, restaurants, shops n Waverley.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy street-kept window closed; kitchen cupboards n fridge need deeper cleaning.

    Clean, white bed linen; friendly staff; amazing power shower; central location; bedroom clean n bathroom clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    9.2
    Cheap and cheerful, very handy for centre of town
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Wi-fi signal in my room was quite bad

    Location was great for the centre of Edinburgh. Shower excellent, good kitchen facilities. Beds pretty comfy but too close to wall so I have bruises all over my shins from trying to get past the end of it!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    6.7
    Adequate stay in noisy university area
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3-Person Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It had no stairs so we had to carry our bags up to the 5th floor! You had to pay extra if you wanted a towel.

    It was very big, beds were clean and nice bathrooms and kitchen. Great area for young adults/ students to be in.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    6.7
    Great location but could do with decoration/refurb!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very, very basic ,& furniture very tired /worn. Although bed comfortable enough & clean.

    Great location in the city for sightseeing & going out & about!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    9.6
    We were very happy with it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing - for the price.

    Minimal facilities but that was only to be expected at the price. Otherwise clean, comfortable, helpful staff, excellent location. (It's basically student accommodation let out to tourists in the summer.)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    7.5
    Great value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    4th floor and no lift ,so I left my heavy bag downstairs and just took the little I needed . It worked well . On the last day I discovered there was a kitchen !

    Great value for money ,comfortable and fabulously central.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    5.0
    Location is in a walking distance from the train station,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Noisy neighbour until midnight or 1 AM. Poor building and room condition. Feeling unsafe. Shower was out of control. Heat and shower water pressure cannot be adjusted separately. The hotter the water, the higher the pressure will be.

    Location is in a walking distance from the train station, Edinburgh old town, restaurants and supermarkets. Kitchenette and Highland tour booking are available.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    7.9
    I would stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was not that comfortable. Also, while they do provide towels, you need to ask them at the reception. I only realized this once in the room. I don't understand why they don't provide towels in the rooms themselves.

    Really cheap for the room that you get and in an excellent location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    7.1
    Great location, good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Even though we liked having 2 double beds, this time we got short of space in moving around the room. The lift was out of order at some point. But it was fixed later as we reported about the issue to the stuff.

    We requested a baby cot but instead we got 2 double beds. That was something which exceeded our expectations. Windows were safe for children. The curtains were fine, as in summer it doesn't get dark until late 11 pm.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    9.2
    My base every time I visit Edinburgh.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very old furniture and if you get a window facing the inner courtyard it might get noisy

    My base every time I visit Edinburgh. Clean bathrooms, excellent position.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    8.8
    Fabulous location, loved having access to a common area,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds are a bit “springy”, but lovely pillows and blankets

    Fabulous location, loved having access to a common area, kitchen, and laundry. We initially booked for 2 nights but stayed 5!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    5.8
    Disappointing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Backs onto a very noisy pub. Fire doors slam all night as people come and go. Very few facilities in the kitchen and no hot water in the shower

    Location and price

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    8.8
    Excellent value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No towels. It probably told you in the small print but I didn't notice and didn't bring my own.

    Excellent value for money. Great location. Friendly staff. Would definitely stay again and recommend to friends.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    7.9
    It was cheap and cheerful
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paying for a towel. The mattresses were really bad you could feel all the springs through the sheet.

    It was basic student accommodation, clean and easy access to tourist things. Student hosts were very kind and helpful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    6.7
    Not bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No breakfast, no devices in the room like a hairdryer or an iron ..

    The location is awesome ) the hostel is not that bad , furniture is rather old , but it was good and clean

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    7.1
    Good for quick stop
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Even though is very close to train station it was quite difficult to find at night.To add confusion there were big banners in the street saying"Euro Hostel comming soon"..not what you want to see when you cant find place.. When we eventually found it signage was just sheets of paper on courtyard gate which indicated euro hostel.None of the keys(to the bilding and block) worked, not what you want at 1am in the morning.

    New bathrooms, short walk from train station, clean bed, very helpful staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    9.2
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Wi-Fi is not free. It is the only bad point for me.

    Beds are very comfortables! The bathroom is perfect and has a lot of space. The localisation is very good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    8.3
    because of the great location, everything is walking distance
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no elevator and of course my room was on the top floor, normally no issue but I had a heel injury I had to figure out myself where to park my car to avoid £40 parking which was almost the same as my room rate for 2 days, staff was not aware of alternatives. A good place to park is Straiton park and ride, be aware of the bus times late at night, it's free and for £1.70 you can get the bus back one way

    great location, good price, clean

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    8.8
    Good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpet a little bit dirty and the lift was out of order. Maybe one should consider putting a bin into the bathroom.

    Good value for money. Clean bathroom. Good shower. The beds were bigger thab expected. Helpful staff. Very good location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    7.9
    Good hostel in practical, though noisy location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Be aware that the hostel is very near (several?) pub(s) and the noise at night can be considerable.

    Very friendly staff, Both the rooms and bathrooms were very clean. Perfectly situated for most central Edinburgh attractions.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.9
    Good value stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No soundproofing in the rooms so I got very little sleep due to the noise of patrons and nearby bars.

    Location, staff and cleanliness very good and good value for money. Loved how powerful the shower was! ☺

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    6.7
    Very close to all historical attractions, fiendly staff,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty smelly carpet floor in the room, unconfortable shower, dirty bathroom

    Very close to all historical attractions, fiendly staff, luggage storage for a small fee

    Stayed in June 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: