Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay 3 stars

Longueil Close, Atlantic Wharf, Cardiff Bay, Cardiff, CF10 4EE, United Kingdom

#37 of 48 hotels in Cardiff

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1622 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Room allocated on arrival
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn’t open the windows more than a couple of inches. Rooms felt cramped. Noisy plumbing .

    The reception staff were excellent. We had to leave before 7am but there was still a cooked breakfast .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room allocated on arrival
    • Stayed 1 night

    A map in reception would be good.

    I was pleased with great view over water (book room at back of hotel for view!) Also they do a nice hot snack at any time of day. Shortish walk to both city centre and harbour. A map is helpful to make sure you don't get lost. Super smart and clean place.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Paying for On Site Parking, Room was very Small especially when the Sofa Bed was down. I will use Premier Inn as rooms are larger and breakfast has more choice.

    Nice Comfortable beds and very clean rooms.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Room allocated on arrival
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They wouldn’t accept cash payment for the room, I had to pay by card even when the receptionist asked the manager I was refused why ??? I also think £6 to park is a real cheek and most unjust

    Room was pleasant staff helpful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wet room flooded, on using the shower. Room overlooking the river very noisy from factory even during the night and this as a Sunday. Bar food in the evening only adequate, wouldn't recommend. Be warned you have to pay £6 per night for parking I couldn't find this on the website I complained and didn't have to pay.

    Nice location for a walk into Cardiff city

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Couple
    • Room allocated on arrival
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cooked breakfast was not very good

    Cleanliness, helpful staff , car parking secure, free hot drinks at all times of day and night. Centrally placed between Cardiff bay and city centre which were both easily walkable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom door was hard to close and very heavy, difficult with my disabilities.

    Gluten and dairy free options were available, i requested a disabled access room however the lift was out of order. Staff quickly resolved this by giving me a ground floor room and making sure i was happy. Outside seating area is gorgeous.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Room allocated on arrival
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    It’s a lovely and relaxing place very clean and modern quality facilities, quite you can sleep well good looking area l loved it , was my first time in Cardiff we enjoyed staying there, I would love to go back again sometime.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints at all.

    We have stayed twice in a week because we love staying at this hotel. Lauren is a great asset to your company, nothing is too much trouble and she goes out of her way to give everyone a lovely welcome.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was not great. It's included in the price but we paid £99 for 1 night so would have expected better. Limited choice of cooked breakfast options and what was there was not great, a little under-cooked for the way I like it so ended up leaving most of the cooked breakfast and had toast instead.

    The location is perfect. Easy walking distance of both Cardiff Bay and Town Centre. We stayed in Cardiff to see Bill Bailey at the Motorpoint Arena and it's only around a 10-15minute walk from the hotel. Easy! Staff friendly, helpful and professional, free Wi-Fi was good, £6 for parking is reasonable, clean and comfy room had everythign we needed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Initial reception was businesslike almost to the point of rudeness, and the hotel is not value for money - they even want £6 to park in their own car park!

    It is clean and modern feeling, and nicely located with water right outside. Breakfast, although just a basic buffet was tasty and everything was clean and kept clean throughout service.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Room allocated on arrival
    • Stayed 1 night

    Disappointing breakfast.(overcooked Scrambled egg / poor quality sausages/ floppy bacon ) Lift not working . Décor in public areas tatty. and had low budget feel One person on recep sullen and disinterested

    Comfortable bed. Quiet & central location. Clean room. Staff on the whole v. helpful @

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrible smell from car park. Very long wait on “ quick bites” meal at night. We were the only ones there and it took nearly 30 minutes to arrive. My friend was not impressed by her meal, mine wasn’t much better!

    Comfy beds, nice breakfast, nice view of river.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room allocated on arrival
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was inconvenient, the wifi went out, and someone was smoking next to our door. The bed was uncomfortable too.

    They did refund me for the second night.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room allocated on arrival
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lift not working .and was on second floor and ive got arthritis in my knees and wasn't happy with this as I wasn't going to pay extra for ground floor room or a twin room

    View from room was good .Food was good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staff were very friendly and helpful and the Manager there was excellent, had a good sense of humour, made us feel welcome and even put up with my dad!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Chap at the reception desk seemed a bit fed up. Room was not ready when we arrived. Sofa bed not made up in the room and was a bit uncomfortable. Didn’t realise I would have to pay an extra £6 to pay for the hotel car park. Given the rate for the room I would have expected this to be free. Stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in Edinburgh last month. Same price but for a much bigger room, a free car park and a better experience.

    The view over the water was lovely especially at when we had breakfast. American member of staff at breakfast was very nice. Bed was comfy. Location was handy as only a short walk to city centre.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lift was broken! Not really a problem as we didn't have much luggage - we were on 3rd floor but I'm sure the staff would have helped if needed.

    Perfect for our needs. Friendly staff, nice room overlooking wharf, close to Millenium Centre, breakfast nice and relaxed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was in the middle of what seemed like a housing area of apartments and everything was at least a 15-20minute walk away if you didn't have a car. After going out at night, I felt nervous about walking through the deserted estate on my own and had to take a cab. On a grubby little outlet of water, but not near the bay at all. The lift was broken the whole time I was there and I had to walk up to the second floor. I was shown to a dirty, unmade room when I arrived, but quickly moved to another one when I complained.

    The inclusive breakfast was very generous. The staff did their best to accommodate me. Free parking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room allocated on arrival
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No criticism!

    Excellent location. Easy walk to the Millenium Centre and the Wharf and pleasant walk alongside the water into the centre of the City. Meant we could park the car and enjoy our stay with no worries.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room allocated on arrival
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There for 3 days and nights, and every day the life would be out of order, not working, everyday there was a sign to say the repair man had been called and was on his way, no one said he was coming from Australia to fix the lift, not easy when you have a walking stick, my wife was in the room by herself, when the door opened, apparently reception gave another man the key to our room, he was a very nice man, but it could have turned very nasty to say the lest, that is a no no you do not do that, imagine what could have happened, not impressed, had to leave a note for house keeping to fill soap in bathroom, basin soap stayed empty for 2 days,

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room allocated on arrival
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only 1 criticism and that is an additional charge for parking .

    Comfortable. Excellent location 10 minutes walk from the restaurants and bars of Cardiff Bay. Ideal place to stay for a Cardiff based event Very polite staff, who appeared professional and well organised. Great bed !

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Room allocated on arrival
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lift wasn’t working and our room was on the third floor.More choice at breakfast would have been nice. Limited choice of hot food .

    Room clean and bed comfy. No noise . Good location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room allocated on arrival
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too far to walk into the city but that was accommodated with taxis. Bathroom was a little style over substance....the tap was so tight up against the bowl it couldnt be turned fully....also the towel was far too low.

    The room was clean...good bedding...choice of pillows

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room allocated on arrival
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lift was out of order for the whole of our two day stay, they had blocked the staircase of as they had contractors replacing the carpet, the staircase was not cleaned after the contractors finished, no clean towels were left in the room as requested and sink not cleaned properly.

    Dining area was clean., Staff were pleasant and helpful, dealt with our issues well

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room allocated on arrival
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cooked elements of the breakfast didn’t seem to be great quality but otherwise the breakfast was very good. On one of the days our room wasn’t cleaned for some reason - we would have liked to have had a tea or coffee but couldn’t as the supplied had not been refreshed.

    The bed was massive and really comfortable. Employees were friendly and helpful. We got back late one night and ordered a pizza as we hadn’t eaten - it was really good and it was also nice to be able to have a drink at the bar in the evening. Location was good and it was great being able to park for a reasonable amount.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room allocated on arrival
    • Stayed 1 night

    lift wasn't working, male reception staff were miserable, sausages and bacon could do with longer cooking, and mushrooms with breakfast would have been perfect!

    lovely newly refurbished room, comfy bed

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    I couldn't access the HDMI port on the TV to use my Fire TV stick, I take it everywhere and it's always a bonus to be able to watch TV on demand when away from home.

    The staff were really helpful, and they kept the bar open later than advertised due to the amount of people who wanted to stay up. I've stayed a lot of places where they wouldn't do that.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Room allocated on arrival
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lift was out of order. I was on the 2nd floor but being able-bodied it didn't affect me but some people were struggling especially when starting their stay or leaving. Also at the same time redecorating was taking place in the stairwells and it was difficult to manoeuvre workmen who didn't seem to be bothered.

    Easy walking distance to Mermaid Quay etc and also to Cardiff. Castle etc easily walkable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Having to pay parking fee as hotel has own car park. Bathroom floor did not look as though it had been cleaned from previous guest and splash back behind sink covered in marks also from previous guest, when trying to adjust shower head the whole rail came out of fitting. Not enough tea making facilities ( only allow for one cup per person ).

    Staff on reception very polite and helpful. Modern hotel still being decorated.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Room allocated on arrival
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Away from the attraction. After we checked in we found the left is not working (under maintenance or construction)

    Clean, new constructed hotel the view of my room, parking for the car (6£/neight)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room allocated on arrival
    • Stayed 1 night

    The milk and bread wasn't being topped up quick enough. The lift was out of order and there was refurbishment going on in the stairwell.

    The sheets were very soft. There was a choice of soft or firm pillow. Very comfortable nights sleep. We arrived on foot and didn't park.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lift not working & stairs having wet paint & paying to park the car this should be free

    Staff on front desk were very pleasant & really helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room allocated on arrival
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Useless wifi could not get e mails unless we walked to the town. We did not like the fact we had to pay for parking at the hotel it should be free and included in the room price.

    Breakfast and room was good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Room allocated on arrival
    • Stayed 1 night

    Building work going on which wasn't brought to our attention before booking. Communal areas outside our room had rumble on the carpet

    Good breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Room allocated on arrival
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was the dirty or walls floor bedding hadn’t been changed stains bin hadn’t been emptied and to top it off the builders turned nice and early

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrived we were told there were builders working. We decided to have a quiet afternoon in our room on the Monday. Next thing we had drilling and banging right underneath our room it was so noisy. We couldn't even hear our tv.

    It was very clean and tidy

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really.

    Lovely room with modern ensuite and contemporary decor. Ideal location for Cardiff Bay and Millenium Centre. Breakfast was great with plenty of choice. All staff very friendly and welcoming and helpful. Very good menu and availability and comfortable lounge. Would thoroughly recommend.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing I did not like

    Bed comfy. Good location to get Cardiff and Cardiff Bay with out having to use the car.Staff were friendly and helpful. I enjoyed the breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Room allocated on arrival
    • Stayed 2 nights

    That we had a wet room not a proper bathroom and the floor got flooded every time we had a shower.

    That is was in easy walking distance of the cafes and restaurants.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing not to like. About 10-15 mins walk into centre. Whilst we enjoyed the walk in and out others may need to take this into consideration and expect to take a taxi into town.

    Recently refurbished. Very good standard for a budget end hotel. Beds very comfy with choice of firm or soft pillow. Breakfast included standard stuff but very good. Staff really helpful and extremely nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paying car park fees this is owned by the hotel,very little choice for evening meals, 20 min walk to town or bay this forces people in bad weather or families to take a taxi.. If visitors have luggage dont book top floor rooms seems there isn't any lift facility,however reception are willing to assist if you require it, nice jesture, most places leave you struggle...

    Room

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room allocated on arrival
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lift was not available as it was being replaced. The staff offered to carry bags to room.

    Clean tidy room with very good cooked buffet breakfast. Quite location close to town centre.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room allocated on arrival
    • Stayed 1 night

    not expecting £6.00 car parking fee, lift not working and room next to stair so very noisy.

    room was good and breakfast was ok but could have been hotter. hot plates would help a lot.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room allocated on arrival
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room on third floor, not a problem but left out of order and after being out and about walking could have done with not having to walk up stairs. We could have been informed before travelling to give us the chance to change.

    Bedroom very comfy, apart from toilet in bathroom, very low down?

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Was disappointed that more tour groups did not advertise in the hotel lobby. I only found one brochure, went on their tour and it was great.

    Staff helpful and courteous. Breakfast amazing. Location great for both the bay area and city center.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room allocated on arrival
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would like to have had a bath..but the shower was nice..radiator in the bathroom as was cold getting out.

    Central to the city .. all in all a pleasant stay...would stay here again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Room allocated on arrival
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was below average, but you get what you pay. Additionally, vegetarian options were limited and made upon order, but the quality was bad.

    The room was clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Room allocated on arrival
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Was not impressed with the people next door to me with all their shouting and kids screaming at the top of their voices and the parents not taking control and just leaving them,it felt like they were in my room,this was for the two nights i stayed there and both mornings this happened

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Room allocated on arrival
    • Stayed 2 nights

    That we were put in a disabled room (which isn't a problem), the bathroom however, was a problem, with only a wet room that flooded when we showered,

    The convenience to walk into Cardiff Bay. The waiter on breakfast duty was extremely pleasant and friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Group
    • Room allocated on arrival
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel had building work plus when u pay £596 a night u want it nice not rubbish like it was never again

    £595 one night noisy and smelly place what a waste of money never again

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the left hand bedside light kept flopping around so made it hard to read in bed and wasn't v bright either. Noisy banging from quite early as work being done in a couple of rooms along from us

    nice place to eat breakfast with a view of the water very friendly cheerful pleasant manager (or was she chief receptionist? - scottish accent!) even when the fire alarm went off at breakfast ! ( turned out to be a false alarm thankfully) Quiet area Lovely breakfast Other staff v helpful too - one girl couldn't find any more small cartons of milk for us for our room but produced a cup of milk instead for us. Also when I asked for decaff teabags the receptionist kindly found some for me

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room allocated on arrival
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Building work being carried out and mud in entrance and toilets, lift was out of order and a challange to carry baggage up 3 flights of stairs especially if older without any offer of help!

    Breakfast was ok

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    All staff were excellent, breakfast was always topped up and fresh. Bed was comfy and cleanliness overall was excellent. We would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room allocated on arrival
    • Stayed 1 night

    The £6 charge for the overnight car parking took us by surprise. This should be added in at the time of booking for any of your properties if applicable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room allocated on arrival
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price we paid for two nights I thought was quite expensive (£450). But when we checked in we was asked if we had come for “the game” so I’m guessing the prices were increased because of this. When I returned home I put in 2 more nights and it was nearly £200 cheaper.

    The room that we stayed in was very nice as it was one of the refurbished ones. Nice view over the water The breakfast in the mornings was surprisingly good and catered for most people I would say.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room allocated on arrival
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Have more variety on the cooked breakfast 😆

    Self service breakfast was hot and topped up regularly. Bedroom was recently refurbished clean and comfy. Staff were all nice and helpfull and appeared happy in their job.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Room allocated on arrival
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms aren’t the most luxurious but it’s affordable, comfortable, & clean.

    Standard of bedroom & bathroom excellent. Wonderfully comfortable beds, pillows & bedding. Cleanliness excellent. Breakfast very good, lovely views over the river very relaxing. Lovely quiet location with on site private parking.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Refurbishments occurring while we were there & they started a little early for us but it wouldn't put us off coming back.

    The staff were great & helpful when we wanted to book a taxi. We got back late, the bar was empty but the staff were happy to serve us drinks. We enjoyed our breakfast. Great value for money.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Room allocated on arrival
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact I was woken at 7am by someone hammering and drilling in the room next door. There was obviously maintenance going on which we hadn’t been told about

    Cheap compared to other hotels for that day

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    A room that wasn't freezing cold.

    The room was freezing because the window wouldn't close properly. When I called to ask for a space heater, I was told he would be up in 5 minutes to check, and no one ever came. They are also doing renovations and the banging of hammers woke me up very early.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Couple
    • Room allocated on arrival
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I’m not sure why we had a room for people with disabilities but that meant we had a wet room, meaning we got wet feet after the shower was used.

    The breakfast was very good indeed and the bar meals were fine and convenient.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Room allocated on arrival
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Aircon heating not working at all you come to frozen room and have to heaten with the portable heater - it heats up pretty quick but not really nice. Also Saturday morning drilling as works are going on. Bar closes too soon.

    Staff was friendly, location is fairly good, walking distance to the center possible.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room allocated on arrival
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We stayed in room 002 next door to the downstairs toilets. The timed flush on the urinals is very annoying as it works continually throughout the night. Probably not much you can do about that but it would have been nice to have been told and perhaps a fractionally lesser room rate . Also a fight between two guests at 4am on Sunday morning wasn't great and although I know that's a bit beyond your control it could have been better dealt with. It took several calls to reception to get anything done and over an hour of screaming and shouting before it resolved. To be fair, the parking fee was waived by way of an apology.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was adequate and clean but very dated for the money, however there were renovations going on throughout the hotel so hopefully the rooms are being updated. The parking was not included in the stay and was an addition £6 per day. The car park seemed to be private for the hotel only so not sure as to why they would feel the need to charge for parking.

    Staff were very welcoming and friendly, the breakfast was extremely good value and had a variety of items suit everyone. The location was a short walk (15mins or so) from the motopoint areana which was the reason for our stay so saved on driving or getting a taxi.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room allocated on arrival
    • Stayed 1 night

    when I booked I ticked a double bed which it accepted however when we arrived we were allocated a twin bedded room, I question this with the staff and they said because we has booked with booking.com we had to have whatever room the hotel allocated us so it was the fault of booking ,com I book with you very often but having been so disappointed I will probably not use your company again.

    the hotel was clean and friendly

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room allocated on arrival
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location was between Cardiff bay and downtown Cardiff but not close to both places. It took more than 15 minutes to walk there from the central station. This hotel was approprite for car drivers. In the night, walking outside the hotel seemed not to be good. This hotel had beautiful views to the canal but give a corner room to car park.

    Good breakfast and clean room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room allocated on arrival
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel badly needs a makeover, which is currently happening on the top two floors. We had a bathroom where the shower drain was blocked and a lavatory with a faulty flush. The receptionist discounted our stay by the car parking fee. But I think some mention should be made on booking, and a discount applied to the rooms not yet modernised .

    Comfortable bed

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Couple
    • Room allocated on arrival
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a few problems with cleanliness which the hotel could not do enough about they were extremely apologetic we have stayed there before and didn't have any problems then

    The staff were extremely friendly and location ideal , hotel very quiet and bed very comfy

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Room allocated on arrival
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The heater was not working and the elevator was very, very slow and at times one would have to take the stairs. Some staff members were not friendly at all. I wouldn't try it again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Room allocated on arrival
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was having renovation and was a little tired but it was clean and the staff helpful and friendly, an ATM on site would be helpful.

    I like that you pretty much know what to expect, I really liked the breakfast being included with the room, I like the on site parking, I like that the hotel was well situated for our needs. I liked that you could order simple meals from the bar when we arrived - pizza, chilli etc

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room allocated on arrival
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The weather could have been better.

    The Hotel is having some upgrade work done but not to the inconvenience of the guests, the staff are truly excellent going out of their way to help where they can. The rooms are pleasantly comfortable for a budget hotel and the breakfast is outstanding putting many more expensive hotels to shame.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I found that we lacked was conditioner .. That is normally standard every where Ive stayed also the fact that the body wash tripled as soap and shampoo.

    The breakfast was lovely .. Well worth the money.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Room allocated on arrival
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was a little basic, but had all the essentials.

    Room was a good size and the bed was really comfortable. Also, the view from the room was lovely - got to see the water first thing in the morning.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Check-in was quick and easy. Room was spacious, bed comfy everything as expected. Close proximity to the Wales Millennium Centre where we were going to see a show. Overall, a lovely experience.

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: