Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh – Royal Mile 3 stars

300 Cowgate, Old Town, Edinburgh, EH1 1NA, United Kingdom

#61 of 138 hotels in Edinburgh

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2891 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast could do with more variety! Not enough catered for vegetarians! 🙁

    The staff are so friendly and helpful. The bed is so comfy. We just thought it was fab! 👍

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room walls thin, you regularly hear noise from neighbouring rooms so bring your earplugs. Breakfast room too small, very busy so need to get in early

    Super comfy beds and pillows. One receptionist very helpful with great area knowledge.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was not knowledgeable about restaurants nearby. Elevator was screwed up. Got booked into a room where there were screaming children all three nights.

    The location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No frills at all e g toiletries basic and no fridge. It was in an area which you wouldn't walk round at night and not on the Royal Mile. I don't know why a review said it was in a good place for people travelling alone. No restaurant or lounge.

    Receptionist friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location was brilliant for everywhere we wanted to go (Wicked, station, shops, Edinburgh Dungeon), room clean and comfortable, staff helpful and breakfast was a limited choice but delicious

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Almost everything

    It was not on the royal mile as written. All looked simle like a youth hostel. Poor elevator. Evan the taxi charged us 13 pounds to Evis , less than 2 miles. If they have a good respectful service, they would check that customer are not cheated

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    N/A

    We only stayed one night but it was a good location for what we wanted to do. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room was very clean. The breakfast was excellent. Would highly recommend.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I have experience wit these hotels from other countries and I must say that what was served for breakfast in Edinburgh was at the lower range, rather limited choice of pretty basic food, although price-wise this was above the average.

    Good location, walking distance to the heart of Edinburgh

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Didn't realise that hotel didn't have it's own carpark and the only parking was at an NCP car park at a slightly reduced rate. Thought that the duvets were far too thick and heavy. Having a pull out double bed in the family room isn't really the best, thought it would have had a double bed and two single beds.

    Breakfast included was great, plenty of selection to choose from, staff were very friendly and polite and location is great for being in the centre of Edinburgh and very quiet.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Whilst everything appeared very clean, the bathroom had a smell of stale urine - apparently coming from the drains. This was quickly dealt with by the staff.

    Very comfortable bed and a nice breakfast. Very friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We found nothing to dislike Everything was perfect for us

    The breakfast was lovely All the facilities were nice,clean, warm.And the staff were lovely and friendlyBed was lovely and comfy

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    parking discount is OK, but could be better

    Very nice breakfast, excellent Patricia in the reception so helpful with information (restaurant, pub, parking)... And thanks for the card for our anniversary, was a nice touch.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast, despite fair, could have provided more options. But, as it was included in the price and no additional pay for it, was good.

    Very good location, few moments to royal mile high street.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good standard breakfast but some variation would be helpful

    Centrally located.. Excellent, helpful & friendly staff. Albert really made us very comfortable & checkin was super smooth !!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The friendly staff on reception who was more than willing to help, my partner wasn’t well on the morning of departure and I was able to take breakfast up to the room for him.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Poor breakfast choice: there was no cheese and scrambled eggs were made from powder (not real eggs).

    Excellent location, friendly staff. Very clean bathroom.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately both my pillows were hard- but then again I use a very soft feather pillow- certainly didn’t spoil my stay... or my sleep!thiroughly enjoyed my trip

    Comfort and location. Excellent breakfast with ability to pack a lunch

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Not that it I didn't like it but I was surprised to have open shelving for storing clothes instead of a dresser or such. It worked just fine.

    The location was perfect; close to walk to University to meetup with my niece and everywhere else that we wanted to see. The staff was super-helpful and friendly. Having breakfast provided was a big plus and something that we didn't have to worry about finding on our own.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On the whole the cleaning was excellent but under the bed very dusty and used earplugs behind mattress .... also was expecting it a little nearer the royal mile

    Friendly helpful staff ... nothing was too much trouble would certainly stay again asked for extra bedding which was provided immediately ... choices of food at breakfast was excellent ....

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have no conplaints... maybe a king sized bed would have been great. There was a queen sized bed.

    Hot and cold items for breakfast. Was very close to the royal mile. Was close to all the sites we wanted to see.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is not a complaint but the rooms are a little small for 4 people with luggage

    The hotel was very clean and well located to the royal mile. The staff was very helpful and kind. A special shout out to Ana who was always a delight.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had forgotten our phone charger. This is something it might be helpful for the hotel to provide, or sell. In the end we bought a cheap one from across the road next day. this must be something that others might need.

    Everything was great, as expected, no issues. A clean, central hotel, quiet despite being right in the heart of things. Staff friendly and helpful., breakfast standard but fine for this kind of hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff very friendly. Hotel spotless and the room was amazing. Really clean. Beds and pillows fab. Wish I had the same type in my house 😂 I’m disabled and the staff let my husband bring breakfast to the room which was really appreciated. Would happily stay there again

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Able to check in early. Welcoming staff on Reception Given free street map of Edinburgh. Nice size, clean room. Good breakfast. Able to leave luggage on Reception when we checked out.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Adjoining door in the room, we could hear conversations in the next room. Parking is expensive even with the hotels discount at the nearby car park.

    Great breakfast, location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    it says on my booking form that there is pay -per view channels but that was not the case !last time it was but not now ! not sure why .

    clean and easy to check in as always . just all you want !

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just a block off the Royal Mile so you can walk to everything. Checked us in early as well and held our bags the next day while we explored before we left in the afternoon.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing negative to say.

    We arrived early and our room was already ready so they let us check in early. That was pretty awesome!!! Clean, tidy hotel! Close to everything! I would totally stay here again. The staff were friendly and pleasant too!!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The beds and pillows were the softest I ever had in a hotel staff were brilliant we got there a bit early in the morning and still let us check in first time that has ever happened to me. great location would highly recommend this hotel to anyone going to edinburgh and will definitely stay there again myself

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Family room felt a little cramped for space and no drawers to allow unpacking of luggage. Only 2 cups for 4 of us.(I know we could have requested more).

    Perfect location for main attractions. Polite, friendly staff, nothing too much trouble. Clean tidy rooms. excellent breakfast choice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast is not offering options or variety, we may say is below standards ie no cheese, tomatoes, ham, boiled eggs. The room is not appropriate for a family (2 adults + 2 children 11&13years old) and the sofa bed blocks available space.

    The hotel location is very good and close to old town. Very clean and staff was very helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    A lovely family room, not huge, but more than adequate. A Nice bathroom, lovely staff and it was extra pet friendly, the staff couldn't have been kinder. Located central Edinburgh, there is an NCP car park around the corner, and everything (castle, museums, Harry Potter stuff, gardens) is all in walking distance if you have a pair of working legs/feet.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We love the breakfast here. There are tons of options for a hot or cold breakfast. Also great for an on the go breakfast. We like the staff. The location was toward the middle of the Royal Mile. And the beds were quite comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Better breakfast...exact same menu every morning. Eggs were bland.

    Nice sized room. Great location. Staff was very helpful and easy to work with. Breakfast croissants were the best!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing for me was the duvet was too warm.

    The room was clean and comfortable, tea coffee facilities were good. The bed was comfortable and having a choice of pillows was excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    People were a little noisy in the hallway, it's not very soundproofed, but that's minor.

    Excellent location, great and helpful staff, and good breakfast buffet. Clean and updated facility.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I would like to recommend Holiday inn express hotel Royal mile Edinburgh for a great and kind Hospitality and especially Rosie who helped us booking trips and giving us advices for places. We had wonderful time, Ishai & Sigal - Israel

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The friendliness of your staff. They were a great team.

    The staff on duty the night I Checkend in were amazing. Their had been a mix up with my booking which meant their was no room for me. However the staff member went out of way to make sure I had a room for the night. Quality customer service that you don't often see these days. I cannot thank the lady enough for doing that.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Having booked a twin room they told us they were 'over-booked' and could not give us the twin room, instead they wanted to put us in a room with a bed and bed settee. When we explained that we had bad backs they found a twin room for us.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Group
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast - was expecting more options (eg. different egg make, cheese, better coffee quality).

    The Location, not too far from the Royal College and Centre. Lovely milk for breakfast!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unlike other hotels, this hotel ask for an early check out. Around 11am. This is quite inconvenient for me since our train ride is not until after lunch.

    The breakfast was good. There were a variety of selection to choose from. Room is clean and up to my standard of cleanliness.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite a walk from princess street and westend.

    Bed comfy,breakfast lovely,staff friendly.only moan very cold outside blizzards the window in room 7 very draughty.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the hotel gave us 25 percent off with the local car park, it still cost £30.00 to park our car for two days which we didn't expect.

    Food and service was very good and the staff are lovely.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location. Would be ok on lighter evenings but not so pleasant in dark, walking to and from Royal Mile. Dining room in basement area. No windows for a view of Edinburgh .

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast selection was limited and we had to clear away our own breakfast dishes. The staff at the reception need to learn to smile. Apart from that everything was fine.

    The location was very good

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only bad thing for my sister and I was the heating was set at 20 degrees and we didn't realise so we had a very hot and sweaty night. Once we switched it off the next night was more comfortable.

    Very central, good value for money

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super location. Easy parking at NCP carpark next door with 25% off. Easy street parking free between 18:30 and 8:30. 5 mins walk to Royal Mile. Plenty of great and very affordable restaurants nearby. Very good breakfast. Very helpfull and very friendly staff especially Albert.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We could have used more pillows in the bedroom, more options at breakfast

    staff were really friendly and suggested to join the IHG club so we could have checked out a bit later to visit some other tourist attractions

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very pleasant staff. Beds were very comfortable. Liked choice of pillows. Liked availability of snacks to buy near reception. Very convenient for city centre. Very quiet at night.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The lift was a bit small and there is only one.

    AMAZING breakfast included in price of stay. Buffet hot and cold. Friendly staff. Dencent sized room- was able to fit 2 adults and 2 children - 8 years and 2 years plus a buggy. lovely double bed and a sofa bed int he family room. Superbly located in the heart of edinburgh. excellent views from 4th floor over Cowgate, south bridge street and the beautiful mountains in the background. clean and well kept room. Hotel is literally a stone throw away from the Royal Mile, and Castle is easily walkable with children. We literally walked everywhere, and were able to see the castle, the national musem, gallery, camera obscura, st giles, princes street, ramsay gardens, lots of restaurants, victoria street, cleaners very good at tidying up after messy children. Overall, it was an amazing trip- Edinburgh is a stunning city, great for family half term getaways and the hotel was excellent. Would highly recommend.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Asked for a quiet room and it was quiet until the housekeeping services start to open and close doors every morning from 7:30.

    Comfortable, clean, not too far from all the main areas.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Honestly nothing I was very happy with hotel and will be staying again!!

    Breakfast options were plentiful and food tasted great, shower was amazing, bed was super cosy and best night sleep ever, superclass hotel and room and in the absolute perfect location as was central but not too central that was loud.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Central location only few minutes easy walking from Old Town/Royal Mile. Great breakfast buffet with plenty of choice and super coffee. Modern clean functional furnished rooms. Coffee and tea maker in the room. Very clean hotel. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is basic, but confortable and very clean. Bed was confortable, shower good and a very nice breakfast. Location is excellent, walking distance to everywhere we wanted to go.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast room rather cramped and felt like airport lounge. Room on the small side when sofa bed opened out. Overpriced, and only on a par with a travelodge.

    Efficient reception. Able to check in early. Good car parking advice.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    cold cold water in the morning

    bed very good room heating poor in the morning many complaints water cold manager explained boiler not working properley on going problem breakfast good wont book this hotel again

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You could have Extra blanket for us if were cold. Nothing else.

    The bed was very comfy. Better than mine at home. I felt room cold at night but kids were fine so maybe just me . Breakfast was great altho daughter did ask where mushrooms were as thats her fav. Staff were fab. Very pleasent and informative. Great way to celebrate my sons birthday wkend. Thanks everyone. 😁

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are a few minor (and not) things I didn't like about the place. Whenever we turned the heatings on, there was a loud noise that wouldn't stop unless we switched it off. I think that needs some fixing. The breakfast was pretty disappointing. It was basically an English breakfast with pork sausages, tomato beans and bacon. Disappointing. I was honestly expecting more considering how much I paid. A breakfast in a bar would have been fuller of things and surely cheaper.

    The hotel is located just a couple of minutes from the Royal mile and we found it easy to go around the city from there. The staff was kind and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Heating/air conditioning unit noisy and unresponsive to adjustment. Room extremely hot. Had to open windows but then kept awake by loud city noises. Need easier to understand controls ie ON/OFF for heating/airconditioning.

    Bed and pillows cosy, Cleanliness perfect. Excellent location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very small, unsuitable for young children or babies as there's no bath tub plus know where to put your clothes. Very limited food available plus no hot drinks available on room service. Would not stay in a express hotel again

    Good location, close to the royal mile

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Problems with the shower but it did not input too much on our stay, however it does require attention and was reported.

    Ease of access and the friendly welcome received from the staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Woke up on Sunday morning with a note under my door telling me there was a strong smell of smoke in the corridor during the night. It went on to infer someone had been smoking in the non-smoking rooms. Come on people, don't do this or you'll have everyone out on the street when someone hits the fire alarm!

    Staff were helpful and always happy.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Double bed too narrow, no closet in the room and not enough space for clothes. Breafast was disaster - really poor choice and low quality food.

    Good location, tidy, nice staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very pleasantly surprised, from when we checked , until we checked out, couldn't fault the staff or the room or the breakfast , all excellent.. BIG THANK YOU

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The coffee wasn't great at breakfast, but we could buy a coffee elsewhere.

    The location was very central, about 5 minutes walk to the Royal Mile and 15 minutes walk to Edinburgh Waverley train station. The room was comfortable and clean, and had a decent desk that you could actually work at. Our room was on one of the higher floors and had a great view.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor breakfast selection Lack of seating Lack of order & more people than area could handle with no staff taking control of the situation seemed to be a free for all situation.

    Location value for money very good room service

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really small room, we has a triple with sofá bed and we could not move. Too price for the space you get. Matress not so good sofá bed terrible, alhough good sleep after placing the matress in the floor

    Breakfast was very good and included un the price

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    we extend our trip with closed with Holiday Inn Group Hotels all our visits to London, Edinburgh for 10 days hotels were good with front desk services, amenities, rooms only thing it disturbed to us was breakfast same dishes in everyday even on London and Edinburgh both hotels had same, we request need changes in above 1 or 2 days will be ok but whole week !!.

    rooms are good to stay with family.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Honestly can't complain about anything.

    Comfiest bed ever slept in and amazing sleep. Really lovely interior. Great breakfast. Perfect shower. Great customer service. Absolutely great stay. Ideal location so quiet.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very well laid out. My partner asked for a feather pillow which was put in our room for us. Several other upmarket hotels couldn't do this.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    N/A

    Place was comfortable, clean, buffet was a high standard. Staff were helpful, but inobtrusive. Bedrooms were big enough to have an additional sofa bed and this made TV viewing much more comfortable. It was extremely good value for money.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to complain

    Among others, hotel location is perfect - within walk distance of everything. Breakfast was also good, we love grab &go feature which was so convenient. Hotel staff were friendly and knowledgeable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was not very hot and had been sitting a while in the hot plates.

    I liked the friendly and quick check in and check out. The room was a comfortable temperature with clean toilet facilities. The staff were available and willing to assist.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only thing was people before us must have been smokers and you could still smell it a little when you went into the room probably because we have never smoked we are a wee bit sensitive to the smell

    Everything was really good Room spotless breakfast was varied Only thing was that previous

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I expected to have a bunkbed for my daughter as depicted in picture, instead it was a sofa bed which was less practical as it made it difficult to reach the window.

    Nice breakfast

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: