Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel 3 stars

Cheriton High Street, Folkestone, CT18 8AN, United Kingdom

#18 of 29 hotels in Folkestone

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 4133 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    5.4
    Dissapointing from a known brand.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    The evening team on staff were rude and unhelpful. We checked in at 3pm, then came down at 17:30 for an evening meal. To be asked "have you booked" when we answered no, were weren't advised to, was told "well we are full you can have a slot at 20:45". When I queried this I was told "we don't have a chef so only taking bookings". That was it, yet the place was packed with people eating. No offer of a recommendation locally, when I explained I needed to take medication with my meal and was even a sarnie they could do, I was told "no, you need to book". Just rude, inexperienced and unhelpful staff. The room was tiny, very bright and modern but a real tight fit. Really basic and the bed was un-comfy. OK for a night but not worth the price. No decaf coffee, no proper tea all out of a machine. They know people will stay because of the location (we would again just for this reason) but expect better especially with staff and tea!

    Great location if you are travelling to France, as only a 5 min drive to the terminal. Very clean, the housekeeping team work hard here. Pets are really well catered for and made welcome, which is really appreciated. Check out Receptionist was very friendly.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    10
    Clean convenient and excellent value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Yapping dogs in the restaurant. I would have liked staff to have said something but then again the owners are at fault ( as are parents of poorly behaved children) and should be more considerate of other diners. I know a group of diners had to move and the owner seemed to think they had the problem. Perhaps make the point stronger about accepting only well behaved pets..... Food was limited and given lack of facilities close by i would have like a little more selection. A change in lighting would make it less canteen like.

    Clean convenient and excellent value for money. Beds also comfortable. Staff v helpful. We would stay again. They give Premier Inn good competition, which we could not get into, and are cheaper!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    6.5
    Stop over for early morning train
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price. It feels like a rip off to exploit the fact that it is close to le Shuttle. Money rather than welcoming. If you can find a room elsewhere in Folkestone, give this place a cold shoulder. Will not use again.

    Rooms goodPrice pZod

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    10
    Short shopping trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pillows

    The re-vamped rooms with new toilets & showers were spotless, one of the best value hotels we ever have stayed at. Hotel location is easy to find, and very useful for the channel tunnel. Staff very good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.5
    Basic but fine
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast really wasn't that great. The muffins in particular were revolting. We didn't touch the cooked breakfast options. There were plenty of Coco Pops though. Better quality coffee would have made me much happier.

    This is a decent, functional hotel. We used it for a simple overnight before taking the tunnel the day after. The room was fine. Beds were comfortable. The aircon worked. Luxury it ain't, but it did the job.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    7.5
    Stayed few times and if your using Chunnel it’s ideal.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Stayed few times and if your using Chunnel it’s ideal. Rooms are basic but clean, foods ok and beers cold. Staff helpful and polite. Will use again.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    10
    Comfortable and convenient one night stop.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being a CAMRA member for 25 years the beer quality was poor in the bar.

    Very good location for us to travel via the Channel Tunnel. Accomodated our dog who was able to be with us in a designated area in the restaurant for an evening meal and breakfast. Plentiful parking. Tesco supermarket and fuel a few hundred yards fown the road. Staff pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    8.8
    The rooms were in excellent condition close to where we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We was a bit put off by the fact that dogs were aloud in the eating area

    The rooms were in excellent condition close to where we needed and the breakfast was catered well

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    10
    A perfect location if you're planning an early start on the Eurotunnel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bigger car park would be an improvement. We were only there for convenienve which was exactly what we had. More tea and coffee in the room and some biscuits would have been nice.

    We booked in to this hotel to ensure we were close to Eurotunnel for an early start. We were less than 5 minutes away in the car and so would stay there again if using the tunnel. The pizza was delicious and breakfast better than we'd presumed.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    7.5
    Quick and easy to access. Breakfast served early. Staff efficient. Basic but adequate dogs welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lighting in the bedroom it was way too dark.

    The bed was comfortable and large enough. Very well situated for the Euro Tunnel and nearby petrol station for last filling up.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    5.8
    Never again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in the Holiday Inn Express Fort Lauderdale for three weeks and comparing Folkestone with Ft L the former falls so far short there not enough room to detail the faults

    We liked the staff and the bed Thereafter not much else

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    8.3
    Does "what it says on the tin"!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was very little not to like but why do you put old age pensioners like my wife and I on the top floor furthest from the lift?!!

    Location was great for the EuroTunnel, the newly refurbished rooms clean, tidy and fairly well appointed. Parking excellent, TV service only OK. Staff were in the main competent but could have been more friendly and energetic in their duties.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    10
    This hotel is absolutely ideal for spending a comfortable...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing negative to report. We are going back in 4 weeks’ time

    This hotel is absolutely ideal for spending a comfortable night ahead of an early departure on Eurotunnel. It is well located, comfortable, pleasant and has a large car park

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    6.3
    Stay bit further away from the tunnel to get a better experience
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The receptionist on arrival (Monica) was rude and seemed uninterested in us and we felt like an inconvenience. We took our dog and I contacted them prior to the visit. When we arrived she complained to us that we hadn't told her and we were on the third floor. All pets should be on ground floor. I said I had emailed to mentioned were bringing our dog and she looked at me as if I was lying. Then as we were getting in the lift could hear her discussing us with a colleague. Breakfast - grab and go!!! No bags to put stuff in, although there wasn't much to grab. Only Fruit and a piece of toast. No yoghurts, pastries or coissants .Piece of toast was only thing we could get.. Expected better. Like a box all prepared. Wouldn't stay there again. Would rather stay few miles away in a better hotel and have a short drive to the tunnel.

    The location was excellent for the channel tunnel

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    9.6
    It is the excellent location for the tunnel, that attracts...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I am not keen on the amount of dogs that are in the hotel. It was packed with them, including a Great Dane. The food is very basic, but then we know this and are happy to accept that the location is the main thing.

    It is the excellent location for the tunnel, that attracts us to this hotel. We know that it provides just what we need to spend a night, comfortably, and then to get to France for breakfast, the next day. It has been refurbed and they have done a great job. Close to a Tesco for fuel and last minute supplies.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    7.9
    Very close to Eurotunnel
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a shame that the menu has not improved though. Very limited evening menu

    This is 8/9 time we have stayed here due to its close proximity to eurotunnel. It is always clean and comfortable, and the staff are friendly.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    9.6
    Great location when travelling through the tunnel. Good breakfast and good size rooms, dog friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    We have stayed there several time before with our dog. This time there was a sign saying you must inform the hotel if you are bringing a dog, which we hadn't don't done before. We were also charged £15 which I don't recall being charged before. It is a perfect location for the tunnel so would probably continue to use, although we have found a cheaper alternative that will take dogs which is probably only 7 or 8 minutes further from the tunnel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    7.5
    Excellent location at a good price. Perfect for Eurotunnel.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Can't fault anything for the price.

    Very convenient for Eurotunnel. Friendly staff and dog-friendly. Clean, well organised, good parking. Very satisfied.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    10
    Better than I thought it would be. More superior to Premier Inns.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only the fact that the dinner menu had no low fat/healthier options like baked potato instead of chips with everything

    Staff very friendly, room very clean and bed ultra comfortable. Breakfast very good. Would recommend.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    7.9
    The staff were very helpful and it was very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Folkestone isn't a very nice town but the hotel was good. Needs more comfortable seating area downstairs so people can chill.

    The staff were very helpful and it was very clean.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    5.8
    Far over priced, but they have the market cornered.....
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    As it was close to the Channel Tunnel, they could charge what they want, I didn't think the price that was charged was value for money, especially as it was only a Holiday Inn Express.....I am a IHG Rewards with many thousands of points, this wasn't recognised when I checked in, when I mentioned this to the checkin staff, they just shrugged their shoulders and couldn't be bothered!!! The food was typical bar food and overpriced for what it was, nothing else in the area, so again they have the market cornered

    Only a few minutes from the Channel Tunnel.........

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    9.6
    Great location for Eurotunnel crossing.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Less choice for breakfast than there used to be. However the standard of food available is good.

    Very convenient for the Eurotunnel. Good price, have stayed here many times before.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    10
    Overall a very pleasant stay
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really. Everything was as good and clean as it could be.

    We were greeted by friendly smiling staff at reception. Nothing seemed to much trouble. The food was excellent and we were allowed to bring our small dog

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    9.6
    Breakfast and Welsh bloke in charge was excellent with many...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing ,all good

    Breakfast and Welsh bloke in charge was excellent with many people both late at night and early in the morning, give the man a raise.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    5.4
    Only location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were extremely dirty, stain marks on the toilets and marks from animals on the carpets!!!!!. Breakfast area was so dirty it had sticky floor !!!!! Don’t bother staying here just drive a bit more and you can stay in France /Belgium at a much better place for the same price.

    Only location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    6.3
    Great location for the eurotunnel but not a great nights sleep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom was really hot, the sofa bed that our children slept in was uncomfortable and the toilet door automatically closed with a bang. As a result we didn’t have a good nights sleep.

    Breakfast was great and the hotel was really convenient for the Euro tunnel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    7.1
    Easy, clean connection for travelling to ferry or tunnel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the food is simple and clearly not cooked fresh but wicro wave pre-prepared. Breakfast, nothing available like a slice of cheese or so. Logical as the kitchen is a "microwave "food warming system. This is the only less positive part of the hotel.

    The ideal place to sleep before heading to the ferry. The staff is kind and helpfull. Simpel, clean well located.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    7.1
    Location was brilliant
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a family room and the sofa bed was very uncomfortable, and as we had a long day traveling the day after we could have all done with a good nights sleep. Stayed at a Premier Inn on the way home and their family room had a double and 2 singles beds in, much better.

    Location was brilliant

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    8.8
    Pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cooked breakfast was very minimal. Only offered scrambled egg, beans, bacon and sausage. It would have been nice to have fried eggs and some mushrooms and tomatoes.

    Rooms cleaned every day and friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    10
    Proximity to channel tunnel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Boddingtons beer was vile. It’s supposed to be deep, thick and creamy with a thick white head. It was horrible I’m afaid

    Proximity to channel tunnel

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    5.4
    Location only, not the best Holiday Inn
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I felt that the staff were rude, our bed was broken, one of the legs had come off, we changed rooms and when we checked out the man on reception said” How was you stay, I said apart from the bed issue it was fine, he said yes I heard about the broken bed, shame really we could have sold your second room several times over last night” I must admit it did take me by surprised, I felt that the staff were ignorant and spoke quite loudly to you, not a good experience overall and won’t go back it’s not worth being that near to the Chunnel

    Location only, not the best Holiday Inn

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    7.5
    My booking from Booking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My booking from Booking.com hadnt properly been sent to the Holiday Inn, therefore there was a delay in being given a room. The staff were accommodating,although after an 8 hour car journey with two young children this delay wasn't well received.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    8.3
    How up to date it was and hairdryer near a mirror thats...
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pull out beds were uncomfortable for the children Didnt like the fact we paid £12/13 for a godfellows frozen pizza with a few added toppings!! Breakfast was a bit of a letdown too

    How up to date it was and hairdryer near a mirror thats always a good start.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    9.6
    Overnight sleep very good beds and room is very clean
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is not great if you are looking for a nearby place to eat, you can eat at the hotel but the meals served didnt look very appealing to be honest and the bar/restaurant area is not very attractive, it is a bit sterile and very busy. A walk down to the center of town takes at least 30 minutes and takes you through a depressing and run down part of Folkstone, we ate somewhere halfway at Jack’s shack, nice meal and very friendly staff! But it was quite a walk back. So either stay of the drink and drive into the center.

    Great hotel to stay before hitting the ferry in the morning (or if you arrive in the evening, after arriving). Good beds, clean and good shower.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    8.8
    Excellent dog friendly stopover before channel tunnel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location, fast internet, dog friendly restaurant, good breakfast, newly refurbished and plenty of parking... Excellent overnight choice prior to channel tunnel crossing

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    9.2
    Perfect location for Eurotunnel travellers
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only problem we had was the internet connection, it wasn't working. We were on the 3rx floor this time. Usually on 2nd floor. When we arrived in the evening we phoned the reception and informed them. They told us that it was working for them. However when I went to the reception the lady was very pleasant and said she would re-connect it. After that it worked. The next morning same problem. This time the man on the reception again said they had internet. I mentioned what his colleague had done the night before but he wouldn't re-connect. He asked me to pass my phone to him and he would connect it for me. This was more of an insult as I am extremely knowledgeable as far as computers, phones etc go.

    We are regular customers at this hotel. As usual we love the fact that it is so close to the Eurotunnel. The rooms are always very clean and the beds are extremely comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    7.9
    Staff very helpful and excellent location for Eurotunnel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant menu is very basic.

    Staff very helpful and excellent location for Eurotunnel! We were travelling with a young child and puppy and it’s perfect for families travelling with pets.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    8.8
    Very clean
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When you pay cash for your stay they also insist on taking money from your credit card and refund this when you leave this is very annoying as we have stayed there dozens of times when you pay at reception you pay cash and they take money out of your credit card very bad practice as you have to make sure when you leave they credit your card

    Very clean

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    6.7
    Only thing I can say is it is very close to the Channel Tunnel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were very miserable. Bar attendant poured incorrect measure of drink for a family member (who owns her own pub/restaurant) and was grumpy and unapologetic when told politely she had served an incorrect measure.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    10
    I shall not look for another hotel in this area ,even the parking was easy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    not to sure about the dog situation,but perhaps that's just me ,as the cleanliness of the hotel was impeccable.

    IT was easy to find check in was easy food was sufficient .It seemed a great place to stop if on the move with children.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    7.5
    Perfect overnight stopover before tunnel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food in restaurant a little inconsistent portion wise. The adult meals were tiny compared to the children's!

    Comfy bed, good breakfast. Soya milk!!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    4.6
    Won't be back...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Both beds very uncomfortable, air con not working, breakfast quite awful and carpet in breakfast area covered in dogs hair...

    Quiet and friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    8.3
    very disappointing.recently stayed in the Holiday Inn at Cardiff Castle where everything was superb.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was a disaster. we arrived at 6.30am, all the bacon had gone and wasn't replaced , the scrambled egg had gone but was replaced later. The drinks machine wasn't working and so many people were queuing for drinks that there was a real bottle neck and no one could get at anything. Eventually the hot water was available to make tea, but the coffee wasn't until we were about to leave the restaurant 30 mins later. VERY disappointing. we felt the hotel was desperately understaffed in the morning. I wanted to check if I needed to pay for any extras but the receptionist was busy clearing tables and wouldn't leave that job until she had thoroughly wiped the tables down.

    The bedroom was clean and the bed comfortable

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    10
    Well presented accommodation and perferctly placed just a couple of minutes from the Eurotunnel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location firstly for the Eurotunnel and an early morning start but the accommodation looks recently refurbished and everything was nicely presented from checking in to checking out. Adjoining rooms was a bonus to keep the family together

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    7.5
    Ideal for Eurotunnel stop overs - just need to sort restaurant menu
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Air con in Room leaked. Restaurant menu poor - we ended-up going out to the Seafarer Fish bar (Cheriton High Street near BP garage) for Fish And Chip supper instead.

    Room was comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    8.8
    Very pleasant and obliging staff, clean and close to the channel tunnel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was extremely hot and although there was air conditioning in the room we had to ask for it to be switched on - twice. It automatically readjusts and switches off the air con at midnight so a comfortable sleep was not possible unbroken. I've never had to ask for air con to be switched on before and at over 30 degrees, don't see that this should have to be requested. Staff quickly clicked the switch when asked - even at 1:30 am and there was no problem doing so, just inconvenient and then had to wait for it to be effective.

    Very close to channel tunnel, which is why we chose it; made travelling much easier. Breakfast was served early and if you don't have time to sit and eat, there are bags so you can 'grab and go', very useful if you do not like eating as soon as you're awake.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    9.6
    Holiday inn Folkestone,a nice place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing that we did not like ,as after all we stayed only for one night.!

    Newly upgraded rooms, excellent bed, Nice restaurant, Truly friendly professional staff ,Very clean room and shower room, situated extremely close to the tunnel,thus making the onward journey easier.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    9.2
    Brilliant stopover en route to Chunnel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing..would stay again without doubt.

    Great location en route to Chunnel. Late night arrival and bar still open...phew! Breakfast from 0600so that was useful and good start before long drive after getting to France later. Very helpful staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    9.6
    Family group
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We were getting the euro tunnel so this hotel was perfect location, 5 mins away. The rooms are a good size, the food was good and staff were great.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    8.3
    For the above reason I would not stay again, would look for other local alternative.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We preferred to pay cash for the room, however the man on reception also insisted we pay on a card to secure the room contents. The money was refunded in the morning but without room inspection, also the money was deducted from my account and as yet 3 days later not refunded to my account, so until the refund hits my account I have paid twice!

    Location and clean

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    10
    Ticked all the boxes for an overnight stay before going through the Tunnel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, only a couple of minutes from the Channel Tunnel. Easy to find. Arrived at 11.30 at night and very friendly, efficient check in. Great cooked breakfast. Tesco next door good for petrol and sandwiches before setting off in the morning.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    7.5
    A good stay which we vwould use again but have our own coffee! I can't understand why it so awful
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The coffee in the dinning area was horrible

    The facilities for having a pet with us was very good. We did book a double room but it was twin so we put the beds togther

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    8.3
    The croissants were not extra flakey they were stale.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Croissants!

    The croissants were not extra flakey they were stale. Otherwise it was very good. Rooms are very well designed and comfortable. Location perfect for Channel Tunnel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    10
    Really friendly staff at check in / out.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Really friendly staff at check in / out. Room was perfect for a family, v dog friendly hotel and breakfast was good. (Loved the option of paper bags to take away).Perfect location for Chunnel 10 mins away. Couldn't fault our stay.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    8.3
    Value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was not cleared away promptly- other guests leaving food all over floor!

    Room was comfy, air con took some working out but kicked in eventually

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    6.3
    Location was prefect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a bad experience with a staff member who was rude and unhelpful. She stated if we weren't happy leave! I have asked for a double room and was given a twin. It was gone 2230 and she just said tough!

    Location was prefect.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    7.9
    Very convenient for the tunnel and lovely breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were very friendly and welcoming. The breakfast was lovely and the setting very peaceful despite being next to a busy road. The room very comfortable. Highly recommended for the tunnel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    5.4
    It was dog friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The directions to it are very poor, it’s not well sign posted, and when after an hour of driving around I finally found it, I told the receptionist but she didn’t seem bothered at all. Put more signs up and update your direction

    It was dog friendly

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    10
    We booked early and got a great price. Staff were exceptionally helpful. This was the first stop we
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Hotel exceeded expectation

    We booked early and got a great price. Staff were exceptionally helpful. This was the first stop we had for a 900 mile journey into France. A great start to our journey.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    10
    Clean, comfortable and suited me for the stay which I was making to attend a family wedding.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was towards the end for breakfast and found it difficult to find a table that had been cleaned.

    Room and en suite clean. Bed v.comfortable with quality bed linen. Appreciated being able to eat dinner outside. Good variety of food for breakfast. Complimentary newspaper.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    9.6
    Stopover
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, originally had booked here for the Eurotunnel but ended up using the ferry at Dover. The hotel is only 10-15mins away depending on traffic.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    10
    Comfortable and very easy access to the tunnel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My brother had a single room and he got charged the same as me and my husband in a double room. It was a little bit expensive.

    We were travelling on Lambrettas and the manager came out and moved his car so we could park our scooters right outside the reception door. Everybody was very friendly and the breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    7.9
    Comfortable stay at good location when travelling Eurotunnel/Ferry.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small serving area cramped in corner. Not very comfortable for people with disabilities. A lady in wheelchair struggled to reach and staff did not notice to help her although one walked around just clearing tables. Felt it was a little overpriced.

    Very comfy rooms and beds - ideal overnight stop for our journey on the Eurotunnel. Breakfast was good but serving area was a little cramped. Not well laid out, i.e. plates next to food rather than other side of counter.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    7.1
    Great location and parking, restaurant not so good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant menu is a little limited. Most meals ok but the Fish and Chips were poor considering its pricing. The fish looked more like a McFillet of Fish rectangle rather than a crisy battered cod. The air con in our room did not seem to work particularly well making for a hot sleepless night.

    Great location for Le Shuttle with good parking. Rooms pretty good overall.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    10
    Excellent location for channel tunnel , entrance 12 M20 ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    SLOW DOWN AT THE RECEPTION DESK , they might have to say it 50 times , but we only here your instructions ONCE . Nothing to chain a motorcycle to , to stop theives.

    Excellent location for channel tunnel , entrance 12 M20 motorway , all good really

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    8.3
    The staff are very friendly and the location is perfect for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant, we went out and had tea in the town. It’s is a small restaurant and when we went it was the hottest day of the year. So the restaurant was boiling. Could do with having air con or if there is, maybe more of it. Over all though a lovey stay and we will be returning.

    The staff are very friendly and the location is perfect for a trip to Europe. Using the tunnel. The rooms are clean also each one have air con.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    5.8
    Only if you have to catch an early train to Calais.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Incredibly basic, dodgy breakfast.

    This is a perfectly functional hotel. its main appeal is that it is 8 minutes from the Eurotunnel terminal at Folkestone. Aside from that I would not chose to stay here. Especially at this price.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Tables in restaurant could have done with cleaning between use and used crockery/cutlery from adjoining table not cleared and none of our used plates etc were cleared and so we moved them to the adjoining table also. More staff needed! Surprised to see dogs in the restaurant albeit they were well behaved.

    Comfortable and clean. Nice breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    8.3
    Visit to relatives
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to ask for breakfast to be re stocked. Reconstituted scrambled egg that tasted disgusting and too salty. No other eggs available.

    Very comfy beds and lovely new decor

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    9.6
    A big relief to be in quality premises with air-con in a UK heatwave.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I told them I think they need to use more/better rinse aid in the dishwashing machine as every cup and dish I picked up had tiny crumbs of residue on them - not nice but could be a temporary issue.

    Great to be in a place where all the furniture is in good condition and facilities work reliably, including air-con. Well located for Chunnel. Staff were very helpful when we had a problem with our car.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    9.6
    It was a wonderful and relaxed time.Please send us a free trip to your hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Absolutely nothing. If it were cheaper we would go more often.

    Breakfast was wonderful and in the evening the wine was perfect.Staff were so helpful and kind.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    9.2
    Would definitely stay here again.
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Price of drinks at the bar.

    Almost everything. Very convenient location for the Channel Tunnel. Lovely clean air conditioned room. Helpful but not over fussy staff. Early start to breakfast. Restaurant had limited choice but service was quick and the restaurant staff were very efficient.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    6.3
    Bog standard
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Poor choice of restaurant menu. Ordered fish & chips, chips soft, peas hard. Limited choice of breakfast would have liked to have seen more variety of yogurt only had one choice - plain. Fruit compote jellyfied. Usually on offer, bacon (we put our bacon on a serviette to get some of the grease off), scrambed eggs, beans & sausage. Didn't like the smell lift, often smelt of dogs.

    Good connection for the Channel Tunnel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    9.6
    Excellent location, fantastic staff x
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I cant think of anything. We had everything we needed x

    The staff were very helpful and were well informed about the Channel tunnel which helped us make a great decision to checkout early and check-in for our journey to France..

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    10
    Fab stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. It was better than expected.

    Excellent value for money. We paid £104 for a room including breakfast for a family of 4 and 2 dogs. It was clean, comfortable and close to the train. Ticked all the boxes for us.

    Stayed in July 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: